Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Restaurant Fidder 3 stars

Koningin Wilhelminastraat 6, 8019 AM Zwolle, Netherlands

#19 of 26 hotels in Zwolle

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1132 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothin

    Charming, comfortable, conveniently located three star. very helpful and friendly staff. we enjoyed the selection of beers, remarkable collection of malts.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    had a couple of new staff on that didn't know what they were doing so things took a long time. Breakfast was tasty but they started clearing things away too early

    beautiful place, friendly staff, nice bar

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. The bathroom is very small, which is not comfortable to use. 2. There's no elevator in the hotel, and the stairs are kind of steep. (Thanks to the staffs who help bringing our luggage upstairs & downstairs.)

    1. The staffs are friendly and helpful. 2. The location is near the central station. 3. The room is beautiful, and the foreign tourists can experience a traditional European house.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid extra for a “comfort room” and requested a larger bed. The room was large by European standards, but the bed was standard/full-size with lumpy pillows and duvet. “Free parking” is on the street and it was sometimes not easy to find a close by space. No concerns about safety in the area.

    Small quaint hotel/BnB atmosphere, center of city is within walking distance, simple, yet adequate buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved the beautiful selection of craft beer! The organic witbier was excellent, and the restaurant was delightful. I enjoy the old world charm of the rooms, and the easygoing nature of the staff. I will come again :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator in the building. Wifi was not always working in the room.

    Nice stylish and cosy hotel in walking distance to city Centre. Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed with my partner and two friends and we were all very pleased with the hotel. The rooms were cute, comfortable, and unique - the hotel welcoming and cozy. It's exactly the sort of charming older property we were looking for. Typically, I dread being trapped at a hotel bar, but I was excited to pay a visit to Patrick's bar with my friend at the end of the evening. His service was quick and courteous, and his whiskey collection is beyond that of any bar I've visited in the Netherlands. Breakfast was a buffet with more than enough food, and few nice touches beyond a standard hotel breakfast, including homemade jam and a bit of prosecco! Although the hotel has a restaurant that was well-reviewed, we had a hankering for a certain variety of food, so we walked into the center of town in about fifteen minutes. Easy walk!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When you entered there was a smell of yesterdays friing on the pan.

    Nice breakfast, very helpful staff, nice familylike feeling, and good food in tre restaurant by the way.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A common issue I have with hotels, the double bed is 2 single beds pushed together with separate bedding. Not very gezelig to cosy up with my wife.

    Great breakfast, very friendly helpful staff really made you feel welcome as if a guest in their own home. Rooms are very spacious with great facilities. Located on a quiet street so very quiet, although room was located at the back so had a great view of the back gardens. Nice authentic bar, and lounge area with a library

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good, nothing to worry about in fairness.

    great staff and lovely setting and feel about the hotel, very unique despite being part of a big chain of hotels, would definitely stay again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    If only all hotels were this nice. Great staff, quirky and great hotel. Absolutely best breakfast we got in Netherlands. Spacious and lovely room- about as different as you can get from a modern minimalist hotel room. Parked on street at front door. Staff at reception and doing breakfast were superb. They also have a great restaurant but it was full so we ate out.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was fine - we felt comfortable!

    very tasty and stylish, antique interieur, the room very `"different", but cosy- a positive, homy atmosphere in the whole house and nice garden.--We were happy to be able to park in front of the house!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful team. Nice spacious room. Dinner is good with fresh food and the possibility to eat outside in the garden is great! A special thanks to the reception team who helped me a lot and I got a very nice breakfast pack. I will definitely come back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a charming place. I felt I was travelling to another century. The hotel is full of small details that make a very nice atmosphere. The room was perfect, with sauna and hydrobath....unbelievable! I fully recommend the experience.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs are very steep, as they were in those days in Holland. If someone has problems to climb stairs, better ask for a room on the ground floor.

    This is an old (over 100 years!) beautiful townhouse in typical Dutch style. Very cosy interior with old charcoal fire places in all rooms and beds that would have also suited a king from the style point of view. The interior decoration is quite fresh and new, though carefully renovated in the style of the era of the construction of the house. Old-fashioned luxurious style but with all modern comforts. The staff is very friendly and nice. Free coffee and tea on the room. Nice breakfast. 5 nice restaurants near the hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked with Booking.com it said "dont pay now pay at the property" On going to check out I find that they had taken the mo eh from my account before I even got there. They ha e added an extra clause after you have booked which allow them to do this. This dishonest. And goes against all the principles of Booking.com. Do not go to this hotel until this is sorted out. No writing to complain their complaints system blocked me.

    Very clean tidy and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is quite extensive, but I only fancy a simple breakfast of some yoghurt with cruesli. And that's the bit in the breakfast buffet that isn't so good: no tasty yoghurt and cruesli from 1person packs, not too good.

    I always like staying at Fidder, With its old-fashioned interior it is out of the ordinary. The location is very convenient for me. And the staff always very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no lift but the receptionist helped me with my luggage

    Very nice hotel close to the station and the centre of Zwolle. The room was pretty with every essential equipment

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noone to help us with our luggage. There is no lift and both my husband and I are 60. The booking conditions were so unfavourable that we couldn t cancel one of the nights we were not able to spend at the hotel.

    Indeed, we liked the croissants! There were many things to choose from for breakfast. The furnishings were tasteful and reminiscent of the time the house was built. We were able to leave our luggage in a save place in the hotel while we explored a little more.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old building, creaky floors, the shower was basically a curtain inside the bathroom

    Fast internet connection, friendly staff, relatively close to train station

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Owner was gracious and truly seemed to enjoy his work. The care showed throughout the hotel. The specialty whiskey collection was a huge bonus.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stairs were steep, especially to the 3rd floor. Internet didn't work well in room.

    Very friendly and accommodating staff. Meals were good. Lovely old building...

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We enjoyed a wonderful euro trip this year, together with our beloved eight years old Shih Tzu and we opted for 1 night stay in Zwolle while traveling through the country. We picked this pet friendly hotel situated in a quiet residential neighbourhood, just a short walk to the city center. It was a perfect fit for our stay, the staff was great, the rooms are not very big but clean with a classic decor. The breakfast was good with plenty of stuff to choose from. This family owned hotel is made of some old converted homes so do not expect to find an elevator. If you get a room on the upper floors, be aware that the stairs are quite steep so I would not recommend the upper floors to old couples. All in all it was a great experience and I would definitely enjoy a longer stay in this classic hotel.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fine room, lovely bed, very good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed comfort, lack of AC.

    Location next to train, design of interior, helpful attentive staff, tasty breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice and cosy hotel. Great bar! Friendly staff, good food. All was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice large rooms, great breakfast with multiple teas and coffees to choose from. Helpful friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was old-fashioned and needed a refit, as did the wardrobe.

    Comfortable bed, good breakfast, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed wasn't as comfy as I hoped

    The breakfast was the best I ever had in a hotel, total surprise! Parking is also free.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pillows could have been better. Minibar ok but no fridge.

    Afternoon tea spectacular. Facilities were great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The selection of beers and whisky

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Nothing was too much trouble to them. Shall return next year

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little too far from centre for such a small town

    Style and food

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great rooms with a great breakfast selection

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good

    Whiskey & management

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of lift and not within a walking distance to train station

    Quality and value

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not within working distance to train station

    Superb quality and value

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not Much Heat on

    Close to the Event i was atttending

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are too old and small.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice Decoration

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking a bit of a challenge, old building, old facilities

    breakfast very good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The whole ambience, the furniture, decor and super staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you have mobility issues - no lift, only stairs

    Really good breakfast buffet. Hotel of character.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was a lovely atmosphere, an nothing was too much trouble. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast is super

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice atmosphere in the hotel. Good breakfast. Close to the city center (10 min by foot)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast very good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Hotel was within walking distance of main train station and town centre.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whiskey selection

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff could have been a bit more friendly

    Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    8 euros for a bottle of local beer ? Seriously ?? This is expensive even for 5 star hotels

    Friendly staff, and good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The detergent they use for cleaning the bathroom smells bad.

    Very good and helpful personel, good food and good location. Rooms are clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proximity to Ijsselhallen

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could've had even more options.

    Very friendly staff. Nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Het was gehorig

    De zweer is perfect

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The smelly toilets

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really hot in the room, even when there was quite cold outside.

    Great breakfast and friendly stall.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Verrassende kamer met hemelbed en balkon. Prima ontbijt.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bedroom second floor was quite hot

    perfect place. dinner was great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakast was just about ok,limited choice and warm food

    Bed

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    leaving after 2 nights wish i could have stayed longer

    Quiet location 10 mins walk from station excellent breakfasts and evening meals 5 star food.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very cozy hotel, vintage but maintained. Nice breakfast

    Stayed in May 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Stayed in room 9 and the shower was slow to drain so if you used the shower on full power then you ended up flooding the bathroom.

    Great evening meal at a very reasonable price and breakfast also very good with lots of choice. Also as leaving early on the Saturday before breakfast started they packed me a breakfast to go.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit worn out, a bit old fashioned, no soft boiled or fried eggs for breakfast. Parking can be difficult, it was for us. A bit expensive for what is offered. Street side can be noisy, garden side is better!

    Pleasant hotel, nice garden, decent breakfast. Large choice of beers and whiskies.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bathroom was small and cramped in some areas. Step up from bedroom into bathroom is hazardous until you get used to it.

    Very comfortable bed. Good breakfast. Good restaurant dinner. Quiet location. Main bedroom area was comfortable size; not cramped.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast is until 10:30, however, by 10:15 nearly all food was gone and not topped up any longer. Location is a bit off the city centre.

    24-hour reception Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Charming hotel situated in a nice old building. Staff is friendly and the breakfast was very good with a variety of choices. The room I stayed in had plenty of space and a comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    N/A

    We arrived early and were checked in early, everything was taken care of, directions given, taxi ordered, nothing was to much for the staff at Best Western.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I wish I could stay longer.

    The kind of place where I said myself "I have to come back!". Everything is done for you to feel comfortable, from the reception desk at your arrival to the whiskey tasting late at night in a cosy corner. Two thumbs up.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My only observation was that there could have been brighter lighting in the bedroom.

    This is a lovely traditional hotel in an older building within 10 minutes walk of the perimeter canal. The staff were very welcoming and provided a secure place for our bicycles. The room was good, with a very comfortable bed, a shower above the bath, tea making facilities and a drinks bar. We enjoyed the extensive breakfast consisting of both hot and cold items and also the cozy bar in the evening.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel is situated in a quiet area, has loads of charm, atmosphere and warmth. It is friendly and comfortable - perfect for a relaxing few days away but also close enough to walk to the centre. We were also very happy with the evening meal at the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The stairs to the room. If you have large luggage or problems to take the stairs this will be hard.

    Returned to the hotel after a previous visit and it was great again. Even though it was fuller then before the service was exceptional and the stay was great. Very quiet, very nice breakfast and exceptional staff that remembered me from the previous stay!

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The single room was in the roof and window would not close probably jumped open to reduce thew terrible smell of bad drains so got bit in the night the room

    helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would be better to have a small window that can be opened in the bathroom. Breakfast was almost empty when we arrived more than half an hour before the end. They fixed it ok.

    Nice hotel! Old style, warm and friendly. Checkout time at twelve on Sundays is great.

There are also 39 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Restaurant Fidder traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: