Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Kasteel Geulzicht 4 stars

Vogelzangweg 2, 6325 PN Berg en Terblijt, Netherlands

#6 of 10 hotels in Berg en Terblijt

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 391 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    The location was beautiful, so was the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hydromassage had some problems so we could use it only for a short time, but it wasn't a big issue at all.

    The location was beautiful, so was the room. The staff was very kind and suggested us to visit the near town of Valkenburg which was lovely and reachable with a relaxing walk in the nature. Nice breakfast on the terrace. In a few words, everything was better than we expected.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    The host was so nice and explained everything so well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevator was scary! but funny at the same time. I've never been in a rotating elevator before.

    The host was so nice and explained everything so well. The view from the terras was amazing!! And all the wallpaintings in the castle were so nice to see.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    ideal base for the area short or overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Family Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    lovely location would recommend if you are visiting either valkenberg area or mastricht the rail station for both is a few minutes walks away, lovely restaurant next door if cycling there is direct access on to the quiet roads and cycle paths, first visit here but will stay again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.3
    I'd like return. Next time I will spend more time around the castle.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My friends were not satisfied with the interior, e.g. the bed, no enough plugins, as their room was inside the castle whereas my room was outside the castle.

    The surrounding is fantastic. Take a hiking trail along the river is highly recommended. The staff were very nice, especially the woman who was there for 2 weeks while the owner was on holiday with his family.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.1
    You stay in a castle and you should take all advantages and disadvantages that come with a castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You stay in a castle and you should take all advantages and disadvantages that come with a castle.

    You stay in a castle and you should take all advantages and disadvantages that come with a castle.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    8.3
    A castle on a mountain in the Netherlands...yes there is a mountain!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Type D
    • Stayed 1 night

    The interior is a bit "tired" and could use some updating such as new upholstery, carpeting and in some cases new furniture. It would be nice if they had some snacks available in the room (in the mini bar) or some available for sale in the lobby where the wine is, since they don't have a restaurant (only for breakfast). We enjoyed the wine we were able to purchase from the lobby but it would have been good to have a little something to eat with it. Decaf coffee in the mini bar would also be an improvement.

    The service was excellent. All the staff, especially Monique always had a smile and went the extra mile. I asked about the 2 white wine selections and she immediately called someone to get accurate descriptions about the wines. The hotel doesn't provide conditioner in the bathroom, and when I asked her about it, she got some from her house for me to use! The view is incredible. The rooms are huge. The bathrooms are nicely remodeled. We felt very welcome and as though we had our run of the castle. Great that there was a mini bar (beverages only) and coffee service in the room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    9.2
    Great Place ... Train travelers get directions before you go
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are traveling by train please make sure you go to the St. Gerlach station !!!! We went to the wrong station in Valkenburg and had to walk with our luggage a very long way in the countryside. Also, it would be exceptionally helpful if the hotel could provide transportation to and from the train station, bicycles for the guests and specific directions to/from the train station. If you have a car, then you won't experience this problem.

    The castle was beautiful and the people running the hotel while the owner was away were so very nice. My daughter and I were traveling through Netherlands by train. The train station (St. Gerlach) was about 1 km away. They gave us a ride so we didn't have to walk so far with our bags.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    8.3
    Pretty castle on the hill side
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities like shower pretty outdated, yet clean.

    The castle looks really beautiful and the view is great. Rooms are spacious. Staff was great and helpful. I really appreciated how they offered me a shower when I came to collect my bags after a cycling tour, even though I had already checked out. Gorgeous area to stay, foresty type of surroundings. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    10
    Thank you for a wonderful weekend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Type D
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thank you for a wonderful weekend! Celebrating my birthday and engagement in a castle was so romantic and the perfect setting! Thank you for going above and beyond! :)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    3.8
    Only nice on the outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - tower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was infested with insects and the heat didn't work... it was a long cold night. Bed sagged deeply in the middle and room and facilities were not clean. Very disappointing and not worth the rate!

    Nice views.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    8.8
    Overall definitly worth it .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Family Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    The below are just details which did not ruin the visit. - Be cautious with room you book if you really want to be "like in castle", otherwise you might end up in the annexe. - Wifi was poor and inconsistent in particular in the annexe. Could not make whatsapp/messenger calls in the lobby. - tv reception was like in the 70's.

    - The feeling to be in an unique place. - Beautiful location (very close to many places...requires a car though...and gps). - beautiful inside's. - Bedroom(s) in annexe are spacious (but no particular charm). Huge bathroom (with bath!!). - Breakfast was excellent (quality and quantity wise). - Staff extremely friendly (run by family members). - good restaurant 100m nearby.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    6.7
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Family Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We expected to be accomodated in the castle but we were not. Bathroom with large double bath had to be used as shower. The bathroom is so big that easily a walk-in shower could be installed. We also missed a bidet and double washtable.

    Excellent venue

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast on the Veranda.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Type D
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Breakfast on the Veranda.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Great
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The castle is beautiful and the owner is very friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.5
    The bed was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains were very dusty and the bathroom had a bad smell

    The bed was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful memories made and worthwhile to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The amazing and always present personal attention to detaill, sincere interest and care for all guests: from all staff at the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Special location and nice experience to stay in the tower of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - tower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Special location and nice experience to stay in the tower of this ancient castle. Good breakfast and facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.5
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Family Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was good all around

    Very lovely place. Manager was very nice and helpful. The restaurant was close by and good was so delicious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.1
    good please for a day or two
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bads sheets, pillow, terrece wasnt been fixed for a long time

    nice serroundings for walking around

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.3
    Can’t think of anything I didn’t like.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything I didn’t like.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    Had a very good stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are a bit dated but clean and the bed is very comfortable. Breakfast was simple but good. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful setting, authentic little castle, super staff and very good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent customer service

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    6.3
    Didn't like being given a room in the annex despite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like being given a room in the annex despite booking months ahead

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    8.3
    Really quiet and cosy
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    cold floor of bathroom

    Really quiet and cosy

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    7.5
    Staff very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Family Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were not good. Soft and no support.

    Staff very nice

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    7.5
    The style of the hotel ( a historical castle ) was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi is very weak. The heaters in the room wasn't effective. The drainage in the shower box require a maintenance .

    The style of the hotel ( a historical castle ) was interesting experience. The staff is very friendly Breakfast was very good .

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    9.2
    Beautifully situated, romantic castle (early 20th century)...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beautifully situated, romantic castle (early 20th century) overlooking valley of river Geul. Very friendly staff, welcoming children. Lots of things to see in nearby Maastricht (10 mins drive) or to do, like hiking in the stunning Geul valley region.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    6.3
    The owner was a very pleasant and helpful man.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was uncomfortable and needs updating. It is a shame that they don't serve dinner although I understand that guests tend to go out.But snacks might have been a good idea ie sandwiches etc. We were advised about local pubs, but I wouldn't advise anyone to go to the Windmill as the staff just ignore you. They seem to just want to serve the local people and have sour faces on. We ended up walking out, they didn't seem that bothered.

    The owner was a very pleasant and helpful man. The Hotel is in a nice, quiet location.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel with plenty of history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed in room 9 which was a family room. Lovely and spacious although a wardrobe in the bedroom would be a good idea as not much storage space for a family

    Beautiful hotel with plenty of history. Very clean and comfortable. Lovely terrace with room 9. Room was lovely and big and a great bathroom. Very pleasant staff and nice breakfast. All you could wish for.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    7.1
    Exclusive, extraordinary, different, something that you do...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The location is quite far away from the city of Maastricht. Breakfast was too modest for a 4* hotel.

    Exclusive, extraordinary, different, something that you do not have at home.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    3.8
    The photos in The site !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The reality ! 20 years after the photos !!

    The photos in The site !

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    8.3
    The staff was very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That was a smell of smoke in our room.

    The staff was very friendly

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    10
    The lovely hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The lovely hosts.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    8.3
    Accueil très convivial.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Accueil très convivial. Chambre très spacieuse. Grande salle de bain.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    6.7
    Location is not good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location is not good

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Browse Hotel Kasteel Geulzicht traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: