Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of hotel le bonheur 2 stars

wilhelminastraat 73, 6245 AV Eijsden, Netherlands

#9 of 10 hotels in Eijsden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 420 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    First Class Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent, professional and friendly staff, clean, tidy and convenient, I am incredibly satisfied overall. Way beyond my expectations!!! Recommend fully, book it, you won't regret it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Honest and very very professionals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was incredibly comprehensive and understood our problems to reach the place as Ryanair flight and Belgium trains had many incidents. I think we were not really good costumers this time, but they were awesome with us.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Charming hotel in a beautiful little town, wish we could have stayed longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I'd add some more toiletries in the bathroom (like real shampoo and soap and some toothpaste), but that's all I can think of!

    This hotel is full of charm, quiet, in a great location, the staff very welcoming... it was perfect really. We felt at home during our 2 nights in Eijsden, and will definitely come back if we have the chance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no down side to our stay.

    Beds so comfy, host was amazing, his English superb. I was on the trip with my young daughter, nothing was any trouble for the host. I recommend hotel de bonhour to everyone.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    Affordable romantic hotel in a quiet village
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit smelly and old bathroom

    Quiet location, free parking, good breakfast for the price. Walking distance from the street with all the restaurants. WiFi was fast enough.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Great location, friendly staff! Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are a little outdated/worn out and could use a make-over.

    Great location and very friendly and warm welcome by the owner. Very cozy atmosphere. Perfect for an overnight stay. Have a local beer at the bar ;)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.8
    A great little hotel if you're on a budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A bit too far from the city of Maastricht - if you're not travelling by car you will depend on the train or bus, and those don't stop there often (the train like once an hour, the bus twice as often) Thin walls between rooms make it too easy to hear your neighbours (and to be heard by them)

    Incredibly friendly and helpful staff Delicious warm croissants in the morning Cozy bed One minute walk from the train station and 5 minutes from the bus stop A Chinese restaurant just across the street All in all a great value for money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.2
    What a charming place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located in the typical Dutch village, with the old bar downstairs. The hotel offers a nice experience. Our room was medieval and clean. We also liked the fact that we could park our motorbike behind the building. There was no dinner at the hotel, but there are nice restaurants really close by. Staff spoke good English and they were really nice. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no Wi-Fi in my room.

    Location is really good, very near to the train station. Very beautiful breakfast room and very good breakfast. Room is small but so cosy. Lovely view from the room. Great hosts!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice base outside Maastricht
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trains could disturb a light sleeper.

    Eijsden is a fantastic little town with great train links to Maastricht. The hotel is really close to the station and walking distance from several amazing restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.2
    Lovely cozy old-fashioned hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it's a busy old-fashioned hotel on weekends, so contact the host to request a nice-view bedroom right after your booking

    -love it for its convenient location (10min-away from Maastricht by train, 200m-away from the Eijsden train station, 600m-away from the aldi supermarket, and 700m-away from the Eijsden castle) -stayed in a small cozy bedroom with well-functioned shower room and good wifi-connection -felt homey and warm atmosphere in the breakfast room (romantic details, books, table-top games for children) and good simple breakfast -a kind and helpful host..

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    10
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed 3 nights. The room was not serviced and although we generally keep our room neat and tidy by ourselves, we would have liked a new bar of soap (tow tiny one timers was supplied) daily and some extra toilet paper.

    Clean room, character of the building, free parking on site. Very kind and helpful owner. Although we are from 2 different continents we could in someway understand each other in our own languages.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea making facilities in the room.

    Good clean room and bed. Friendly staff very obliging.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Walter the owner made us most welcome he arranged for a taxi...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Walter the owner made us most welcome he arranged for a taxi to pick us up and take us to our concert

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    great service, beautiful garden with pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great service, beautiful garden with pool

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.3
    Very nice for a good sleap and a good bier outside on the hotel teras
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door from the room 😊

    Good location and very good personal

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    What a great little hotel :).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a great little hotel :). Very quaint, great location, great staff, would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    was very relexed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no ventilation in the bedroom

    Just for some leasuretime - it was just fitting for that purpose

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    4.6
    It is ok if you want to visit Maastricht during Christmas but it doesn't worth to pay for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was poor and not qualitative.The owner can do better than that.

    Friendly owner.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    5.4
    Eijsden Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit run down. It could do with being redecorated and refurbished.

    Friendly staff and a premises with character.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    10
    Nice place near Maastricht.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, very near Maastricht. Very nice village. Friendly owner, good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    8.8
    Lovely room, cozy café and a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely room, cozy café and a great location! Great place for a easy-going weekend.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    7.5
    Nice
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A much better bed would be nice.

    Nice, friendly, very local Limburg admosphere

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    8.3
    Very quiet !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bedroom was a little cold when I arrived (but it took only a few minutes to warm it up).

    Very quiet ! Nice and friendly staff. Very good price. Spacious bedroom. Traditional family-run hotel, far from the standardized hotel chains

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    5.4
    Staff were friendly
    • Business trip
    • Group

    No wifi in room Room very cold even with radiator on full Big gap at the end of the bed so you couldn't sit up. No bedside light No parking as advertised (only about 3 spaces in total for the whole hotel - so had to park right up the street. Breakfast expensive for what it was

    Staff were friendly

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    8.8
    We liked the friendliness of the owner, and the relaxed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked the friendliness of the owner, and the relaxed atmosphere of the, quaint, older building, a 10 minute train ride away from downtown Maastricht. The train station was nearby, and the attractive town of Eijsden had several reasonably priced restaurants within walking distance. Only snacks were served in the charming older style pub on the ground floor, but a filling, tasty breakfast was available in the attractive dining room. Our cosy room was small but clean, and had it's own bathroom.We would definitely go back.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    8.3
    The owners were very helpful .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owners were very helpful .Nothing was too much trouble for them. The town is so quiet and tranquil yet only 10 minutes on the train to Maastricht were you can find everything you need or want to do

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    8.3
    Friendly hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Door hard to open and shut without making a racket which probably annoyed other people more than us!

    Friendly hosts. A hotel with real old-fashioned character in an historic building.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    8.3
    Near to railway,10 minutes to Maastricht with a regular...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Regret unable to get meals other than breakfast

    Near to railway,10 minutes to Maastricht with a regular frequent service.Owner could not be more helpful.Clean & comfortable room.Free adjoining car park

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    10
    Convenience of train into Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    NONE

    Convenience of train into Amsterdam. There were 8 family members in 4 rooms, all very comfortable. Husband and wife (owners) were helpful with local information. They had a bar, all the locals were there. Great conversation!

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    7.5
    Friendly (but not always available) staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bathroom tap spits and needs replacement. Extra cost for breakfast was not stated. Coffee machine needs instructions. Earplugs recommended: can hear the people outside and in the hall when they close their doors.

    Friendly (but not always available) staff

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    8.8
    There are many details to be found (like magazines in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There are many details to be found (like magazines in the stairway). The bar is cozy, the rooms are clean and the owner found it no problem to prepare breakfast earlier than the usual breakfast times.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    10
    The staff was very friendly, we even had a choice between...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I could hear the neighbour taking shower but this was not a big isdue.

    The staff was very friendly, we even had a choice between two rooms when we arrived. There was hot shower and the wifi was working well. There is a supermarket very close to the hotel, and also several restaurants. We parked on the main street, several places available.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    7.5
    Very friendly owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    They could learn how to make poached eggs! But breakfast was wonderful without it anyhow.

    Very friendly owner.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    9.6
    excellent value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    excellent value for money

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    7.9
    the location, the charm of the accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast expensive and probably not worth it

    the location, the charm of the accommodation

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    7.9
    Nice building, friendly owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The walls are too thin, you can hear the TV sound and snoring from the next room

    Nice building, friendly owners

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    10
    Charming town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Charming town. It ia very close to Belgium and have all what you need nearby.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    7.9
    Good beds, good room & good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good beds, good room & good hotel

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    9.2
    Comfortable and homely accommodation in an ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Comfortable and homely accommodation in an ideal location

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    5.0
    There is mold in the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There is mold in the rooms. Cigarett smells in the lobby. The breakfast was terrible.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    10
    everything was amazing;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    none

    everything was amazing; very friendly staff, VERY CLEAN, big room, spacious, great breakfast, etc. Felt like home away from home.

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    10
    all!
    • Solo traveller

    no!

    all!

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Guests also reviewed these properties: