Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Max 2 stars

Hemonystraat 7S, Oud Zuid, 1074 BK Amsterdam, Netherlands

#365 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 840 hotel reviews

6.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    5.8

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    6.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price feels too high for what you are getting. Doors are loud. Stains on the linen (Rest seemed clean).

    Near to the center. Good connection to the tram and metro system. Had a room facing the back of the building, so it was rather quiet. Good place if you just need a shower and a bed (it basically just consists of a shower and a bed).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very warm and their didn't seem to be any ventilation apart from a tiny window to open. Admittedly it was very warm when we visited but it was a shame we couldn't get any breeze into the room.

    The hotel was in a good location with lots of choice of restaurants nearby. Lidl being opposite was a positive for us to get necessities for our 3 year old.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small like a box which was not clear from the pics... toilet was very very small... like they have made a shower in the toilet literally. Also below the bed, there was too much dust...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom and size of room. I am aware that hotels in Amsterdam are small. I've stayed in many. This was by far the smallest. The bathroom was a small square. When you took a shower it soaked the toilet and the toilet paper as it was very close to the shower head. It drained slowly and you always stood in a pool of water

    This was the smallest room I've ever seen. My friend fell off the bed and got stuck between the bed and the wall with his arm trapped underneath him. Fortunately I was there as he was unable to get out on his own. On a positive note it is in an excellent location, but should have been half the price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was smaller than I expected, but it was what I needed for a couple nights. You have to check-in at other hotel across the canal (not a big problem if you travel with small luggage). They were remodeling, so it was super noisy. The sheets had some stains. The bathroom was too small and the shower had no curtains. There is no elevator in the building and stairs are super steep.

    Great location, friendly staff. Baggage storage available. The bed was comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely not up to the money they charge. Missing facilities. Impossible to move around as the space was so tiny. The noise from the other rooms was absolutely unbearable.

    The staff was friendly. 3min check-in, 1min check-out in a completely different building.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thats great that room had its own bathroom, but you can hardly call it “bathroom” because it felt like toilet is placed directly to shower cabin, which is located in your bedroom. If you’d like to have more than just a place to sleep you better look for something more spacy, as the room is predictably tiny.

    Walking distance to downtown

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very narrow even for a single. The white quilt cover looked a bit dirty / grey. No kettle in the room. Steep stairs to the top floor. Had go check in at another hotel, more narrow staits down to the reception, carrying my case.

    Location was great. Staff were welcoming & helpful. Good price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception was located at another hotel which was not too far away but was inconvenient if you had any problems.

    Excellent location, brilliant staff, lovely breakfast at Hotel Iris.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was tiny and the bed was rolling around. There wasn't even a small table or another furniture you can use to put your personal belongings on. No coffee or tea. No staff to ask anything, had to go to another hotel to ask for help.

    I like the location but apart from that everything else is just terrible.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Went in the winter. the bed is closely pinned to the wall (there is nowhere to move) and the wall is very cold (and the window is blowing)

    good price, convenient location (20 minutes walk to the center, 20 meters from the supermarket)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No soundproof. Shower is open which means wet floor after shower. Check-in in another hotel (Hotel Iris) but wasn't an issue to walk for 2 minutes.

    Extremely friendly staff, clean room (and daily cleaning for the room), comfortable bed and a nice quiet area (Dam Square is 2.1KM/25min walking, Amsterdam Centraal is 3KM/37min walking). Moreover, there a supermarket few meters from the hotel. Decided to extend my stay for two more days and booked it's sister hotel "Hotel Floris" which is in the same building.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was together with toilet which wasn't really best as after shower we must dry the toilet

    Was closed to town and Lidl shop was just opposite which was handy for drinks and snacks

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The check-in and breakfast (even though that wasn't a concern to us) is in another building, which is a little bit inconvenient when you are travelling with luggage.

    The room was clean, cozy and bright, with a non-shared bathroom. It was everything that you'd expect (and more) from a budget-priced hotel. The location is absurdly good - it is very close to many restaurants, markets and shops and around 20-25 minute walk away from the central area of Amsterdam.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we checked in at the reception, went to the room and it was not ready. the cleaning staff let us in another room and we needed to recheck-in. bed was awfully soft and the pillows unnecessarily big and hard. the bathroom was tiny without the possibility to sit on the toilet bowl. warm water wasn't available at all times. sounds from the other rooms were loud and consistent together with omnipresent weed smell. the staff didn't change the sheets for the duration of the stay. wifi was in line with the rest of the hotel experience.

    the location of the hotel. the non-dutch speaking staff. cleaning staff listening in on the ongoing intercourse in the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was noisy in the room. The room wasn’t clean in the beginning and all other days too. For this price this hotel is too bad.

    It’s close to the city center...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    1. Checkin! You dont have a reception / staff at reception through out our 8 day stay at hotel max, you need to walk 200mts across the canal search for iris hotel to check in!with all your luggage. 2. Rude and unfriendly staff at checkin as if we are not required at the hotel 3. Smallest room, starts and ends. 4. no facilities, dont even expect glass for drinking water in the room. 5. BEWARE!!!! House keeping staff stole food and cigarette boxes from the luggage in the room. 6. while collecting luggage the staff available on 3rd JAN 2018, Late night was so rude, refused to give his name to me, brown man with african look! says he dosnt care if i want to know the name, i can find out from wherever i want! and shuts the reception gate. Better to stay in a hostel but never ever recommend this hotel. None of the attractions are close by, neither public transport nor the street welcomes a taxi. GOOD LUCK If you decide to go by many fake reviews on booking.com.

    Absolutely nothing! Worst stay ever in my life so far!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No front desk, we had to do our checkin in another hotel (this was not informed before). Heater was not to strong. Wifi was slow sometimes. Safe wasn't working. Expensive price for the service and location.

    The room was small but good. Cleaning was ok.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was too tiny - not standing in any standard... suitable for maybe a single bed surly not for double. The shower/toilet was also tiny, could not sit properly on the toilet. when you take a shower it wets all the room and the toilet - not comfortable. There was no soup in the container. There is no lift.. and very steep stairs. The reception is in another hotel, so you need to go there first to take your key and then go to your hotel... not very fur but with luggage is not ideal.

    The location was good for us. The stuff at the reception in the other hotel were nice and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Superb hotel

    The bed was extremely comfy and the wet room clean with a powerful shower. The room is clean with a good wardrobe and a safe as well as keycard entry to main door and room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size could be a thing,but this hotel is really cheap regarding Amsterdam fares.

    Hotel Max was a better experience than expected. Jeffrey was a great host. Room was nice, clean and really cool to hang out.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is Not comfortable at all , really small . you need to check in in other hotel! And it is expensive also , far from city Centre

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As always with Amsterdam Hotels the stairs were steep and lots of them The separate hotel so you could get all facilities and breakfasts was poor I must have not picked that up in the description

    Good price and fair location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit of a walk to the city centre! But not to far. I used the park and ride to park on the outskirts then a tram in to the centre worked well for us. Will stay here again next time in Amsterdam:)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been cleaner. Our en suite room was actually a toilet inside a shower cubicle. Beds were smaller than single and carpets were pretty grim. Rooms are TINY. But you get what you pay for!

    Good location, only ten minute walk from central. Staff were friendly though we didn't actually see any in Hotel Max - only over the road in Iris. Suited us as we didn't spend any time in the room other than to sleep.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the cleanness there in no reception

    5 out of the 12 people that stayed all ended up been bitten by bed bugs, there was wet paint around the hotel and no signs and flaking paint on the floor the hotel was disgusting

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't care for this, but there is no elevator (as far as I can tell), so if it's hard for you to use the stairs you might want to consider other alternatives.

    Reception and staff were very welcoming and grateful. Room was cleaned every day, with towels and sheets replaced. The hotel is not in the dead-center but it is very close to any public transpiration. It is also very easy to get to the hotel from the airport using public transportation. The room is quite small, and so is the bathroom, but if you only want the room to sleep at night (or day), it is a good value for the money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower was open on the small toilet, so splashing all around... steep staircase, but I guess that's what you get in Amsterdam

    Basically very essential, not bad but don't expect much it's a 2 stars hotel. Bring your own shampoo. Close to tram to get to downtown, 10 minutes tram to Dam Square, 15 min walk to Rembrandtplan.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The information provided by the staff was very sparce.

    Location is amazing. With a bit of luck, you can get a parking apace next to it and its free on sundays. Traveling by car during the week or for more than one night is not a good idea though.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It did warn online about the steep stairs. We were on the top floor and counted haha...60 steep steps which was manageable but wouldnt recommend to anyone not physically up to several flights of stairs. No lift. Noone on our reception which for us wasn't an issue as we didn't have any problems but if we had then it would have been a bit rubbish having to go to the other hotel over the bridge. I would have liked a kettle in the room. There were some stains on the walls which were a bit gross looking but generally room was clean. It was extremely small. We had the light switches right behind our heads/pillows which led to accidentally turning lights on in the middle of the night. Also sounds silly but the toilet paper was the cheapest kind which annoyed me considering we paid well over £100 per night. It was fine. Not good value for money though. But most places were expensive and we were happy with the location.

    The location was good. It was quite a quiet area, a few minutes walk to different tram stops and it was handy that opposite the hotel there is a Lidl. I liked that the room had a hairdryer.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a scam of a hotel. Not only is there no reception here but the place isn't as advertised. The bathroom was similar to what you would get in Thailand...evertime you had a shower everything would get soaked. Had to buy our own toilet paper even after leaving a note for the cleaners. Highly recommend not staying here compete waste of money

    The area was nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price is too high for the room. it is crazy to pay almost triple just because it is saturday. Room is too small, no space even to get your clothes out of your suitcase. Toilet is within the shower and below the bed there were rubbish from previous people using that room

    If you dont mind walking, you can get to city center on foot.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No reception staff after we booked in. Shabby interior. Our room was in the attic and a long way up. Don't use this hotel if you can't do stairs. No lift. Smallest single beds I've ever seen and as for soundproofing! No spare loo roll so when we ran out, it was a quick trip to Lidl for supplies.

    Not very much. Maids every day to tidy up and replace towels when needed. The girl on reception (only time we saw anyone) was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No services in the hotel. No coffee facilities. Had to check in/out at another partner hotel. Room too small. Soap in the shower was like water (useless). The water in the shower did not drain away. Bed not comfortable. Plastic glasses in the room. WIFI did not work. This hotel is vastly over-priced and not worth the expense. Not recommended at all.

    Good location. Staff friendly (in the other hotel)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    That was the smallest room i have ever seen in my life!! i had to lift my feet every time my wife had to pass.also what can i say about the bathroom.. toilet and bath are together so you can save time propably you can shower while in the toilet:( also i had to leave the room every time my wife needed the toilet because the door wasnt closing if you are siting as there wasnt any space for your feet..stay away from this hole!!

    decent breakfast but you have to go across the street to eat

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Reception is always closed, you have to go to another hotel for everything. the daily cleaning.... is not for them, definitively. Space… there are no space. If you go for working or you need a table… forget about it. There is space only for a chair. The open space, it is closed, you have to go to the other hotel. The best…. The supermarket just in front

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Same as above

    Nothing really . The room smelt of wee. No reception had to go all the way to the other hotel to check in and out and for breakfast.theres no lift so had to climb many many stairs.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception was in another location, it was quite inconvenient to walk to the other location just to check in and check out especially with the luggages we had and its also a significant distance.

    Its value for money!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no reception at the hotel! To talk to someone you needed to go to another hotel, crossing the bridge! Very inconvenient The room cleaning dis not include the change of sheets! The carpet was old and stained

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing hotel was clean tidy & location was good for travel by tram.

    Small but comfortable. Weather was amazing meaning rooms were hot air con or a fan would have helped

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. No microwave or kitchen facility - Would have been nice to reheat leftover food or to buy more meals which needed heating. No kettle or other facilities to make warm drinks. 2. Sewage Smell - Room 18 had only one open window which was directly facing some sort of sewage pipe. The smell would slowly build up inside when the window was left open whilst sleeping. Did not really get much fresh air tbh, had to leave window open due to the heat rise (room was a small fraction of the attic) 3. Very thin walls - Kept hearing neighbours next door, also kept getting rude knocks on our wall, due to the volume of the the TV (was already low) and whilst talking during late nights. 4. Housekeeping - Mattress linen, blankets and pillows were not replaced. The beds were neatened up only, so didn't feel fresh when sleeping in them. All other areas of cleaning was really good though! 5. Very steep stairs - Not suitable for people who have knee problems or can't climb stairs. Stairs are quite steep, best to call or email the company before hand.

    1. Nice quiet location- Right in front of Lidl supermarket, which is ideal for getting food and drinks before you travel (especially when walking and/or using public transport). 2. Good for people who like to walk or ride bikes a lot. Other then that, you will need to catch a taxi if you want to go central. Great location with bars and restaurants. There's also a local market place held on a long stretch road, which has good amounts of food, souvenirs and clothings at reasonable prices.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The use of space in the room was not great. Could be a loft bed to make ore room on the floor level. Also bathroom had mold in it, lack of proper ventilation.

    Close to town via tram and next door to a grocery store and a large outdoor market

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could be instructions on the room as to how to call reception using the phone in the room, since I didn't know I had to keep using the intercom at the entrance. Also I had requested two single beds but only received a double bed. This was fine but notification before hand would have been helpful. Finally, I think maybe more notices could be put up in hotel to reduce the amount of noise. As we were staying next to/ opposite a family and their kids were quite loud in the morning.

    The staff at the reception were very friendly and were able to answer any queries we had.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To get the hotel you have to get a train from the airport to central station. Once you arrive at the station you have to get a tram to the hotel. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted with a sign informing us that the hotel doesn't have a reception and we will need to walk to another hotel to check in - This is the last thing you want to see when you're tired from travelling for a few hours. I don't understand why you are not informed of this via email by booking.com or the hotel. The walk to the other hotel isn't too far however it would be nice to have a heads up that we need to do this. When we got into our room we were shocked by how small it was, it was tiny. You literally could put your hand out and touch the person in the bed next to you when you're going asleep. If we were sat on the bed with our feet on the floor and the other person wanted to get past, we would have to move our legs as it was that small. The toilet was also inside of the shower cubicle which was the strangest thing I've ever experienced and as the sink was too small to fit in the shower cubicle, that was randomly placed on the wall in the 'bedroom'. Over all the location was good for the price however if you're the type of person who likes your own space I wouldn't recommend staying here.

    Hotel wasn't too far from the central - only a few tram stops. Hotel was 2 minute walk from tram stop too! Maid came every day and gave us new towels. There is a Lidl opposite hotel so ideal for snacks and drinks.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed in hotel max and every single morning and night it was so noisy. It sounded like people running up and down the stairs dragging there suitcases we could hear everything

    It is basic but good for the price! The location was so good and close to the tram line which took max ten minutes to get anywhere we wanted.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cons: - Felt perhaps the room was perhaps 15% over the value,

    Pros: - Cosy Room - Good Value for Money - Excellent location - Friendly Staff - Very good facilities

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was tiny (Room 10) with the double bed, they probably shouldn't offer a double option as it doesn't fit and you have to climb over whomever is sleeping on the outside! The room is worn and would benefit from being redecorated and the carpet replaced, it was grubby and does not look like the photo's on the website. The wardrobe placed in front of the sink made it difficult to use the sink to brush teeth, shaving etc. No reception in Hotel Max but could contact staff at the Hotel Iris who were helpful.

    Hotel is convenient within walking distance to Heineken Experience, Rijksmuseum, Albert Cuyp Market. Lidl opposite hotel. The room was comfortably warm and the shower was hot and powerful. Wifi was always available. Nice area with different restaurants within walking distance.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception is in a different hotel 5 minutes walk away. Noisy vending maschine. No wardrobe or in fact any kind of space to leave your stuff in/on. Tired beddings. Shower was a wet room with poor drainage. Broken safe

    Convenient location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No check-in staff. I had to go to the Iris hotel to check-in. Also no one there to ask questions in person.

    Clean. Free wifi. Quiet neighborhood. Everything was about a 20 minute walk away.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No reception staff actually means other guests break the no smoking rule. No sound proofing at all, the carpeted areas are not clean.

    The price, location, proximity to Lidl.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no reception in Max Hotel and you need to check-in/out at another place crossing a bridge. Also breakfast is not served at Max Hotel. Also, there is no elevator and if you are on the 3rd floor it is an issue.... Another thing is the horrible soundproof

    The location is great and just round the corner there are local cafe's, a local outdoor market and supermarkets so that you can arrange your breakfast. Access to the central, east or west Amsterdam is really easy and the longest distance would be 30 mins walking

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there was no reception in the hotel. when we entered the hotel, we found that we have to go to another hotel, some 500 meters away, for the keys. in the mid-night the fire alarm started beeping, and we came down in the cold. later a staff came and apologized.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed had hair every where in the bed and on top under the bed had left over things. Not happy at all with this told staff on check out just said sorry.

    There was a shop across the road and the van goth museum 15 walk up the road.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was appallingly small. It was so small we didn't have a place to open our suitcase, the sink was in the living room, and using the toilet often resulted in the door being pushed open by the poor user's knees. The Wi-Fi was utterly unreliable.

    Very kind staff. The location is pretty good, especially with the help of tram line 4.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was far too small for a double bed. Tiny. Bed was uncomfortable, hard, concave so you both tend to roll off either side. Hard pillows. Bathroom tiny. wet room. no where to place luggage. Room was at top of building. no lift, steep , long flights of stairs. You actually check in at another botel as this one has no reception. This is annoying when you arrive late at night and are tired and just would like to sleep.. Reception in other hotel- a locked door with intercom. When you enter you go down the stairs to sign in We were given a double bed instead of twin beds as indicating preference when you book is no gurantee.Receptionist was not warm, caring or placative but fuelled the fire but being righteous. I was tired and annoyed - no twin beds, no lift, tiny room. View from one window was a. ooncrete wall 40cm away. Part street scene from onscured second view. If you want breakfast you have to traipse to other hotel where you checked in. will not recommend this hotel or stay here again. That room was awful. Hotel is located far from top spots.9

    Room was clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very small bathroom but workable with 1 person. If u have a lot of luggage request a room on a lower floor to avoid the stairs as there is no elevator.

    very nice clean room, small but all you need and great location.... even had a little view from my room :) Staff were really friendly, will definitely consider staying there again!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing special bad...

    Very nice little hotel. actually we stayed at the other hotel called iris just on the other side of the river. Little charming walk to the center in the labyrinth of bridges and canals of Amsterdam :-) Nice bedrooms. More then enough for 2 people and 2 nights.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked the room with preference as twins room. Messaged them couple times before the trip to make sure there will be 2 beds rather than 1 double bed. Still managed to give us a double bed when I arrived, after few minutes of complaining. The receptionist managed to sort something out. I wondered if there's a twins room available why wouldn't them give that to me in the first place. Anyway It could have been worse

    Price, opposite a Lidl and coffee shop

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The many steps that you have to climb to get to your room!

    The Location was good in terms of restaurants, Lidl supermarket was right opposite to the hotel to grab a quick morning coffee and close to tram station that takes u to Grote Market in 5 mins!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed wasn't comfy couldn't rest properly . Check out time was a little to early aswell

    Location is good . We took just room only so had lidl opposite us so it was really good for brekfast .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very thin walls between rooms. You can hear everything next to. In spite of earplugs, i did not sleep well because of that!

    Location - close to tram stop N°4 - 15 min away from Central Station

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    all of what I have said before. regard for the guest as well as a decent room for the price I paid. over the top for the accommodation I have received. really speaking you should send me a reimbursement as it was so bad. The 3 points you gave, is far too high. A big 0 would be more appropriate .

    really nothing to like. at 9 pm I had to walk with suitcase to another hotel to get entrance to the hotel, walk back ans the attitude of the Russisn? employee was disgusting. did not want to take my suitcase upstairs but gave a room downstairs with a bunk bed as well as a double at the end of the room, with hardly any room to get out of bed . night lights for reading not working as well as no telephone working. no windows so no fresh air and people walking wast tull deep in the night. overall I am disappointed with the service you supply as I have had the loudest hotels with your booking company since I started bookin online.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    no elevator. You have to cross the bridge to do check out and check in, which means you have to bring all your luggage back and forth. The room is super small too. No space to open my luggage.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception is in a different hotel (hotel iris). There is mess under a bed. Walls are so thin so you can hear neighbours,noise from coridor.

    The staff on reception is great and very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location, not far from the center and Heineken museum, just across the road you can find supermarket with great pastry department and fresh juices, also for those who want to join coffe shop, it is just around the corner. Also rooms are fresh and light, bed is super comfortable. Just a little tip for newcommers-reception is situated in another hotel just across the bridge

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is too small .

    The staff was great . And tried to check my in as soon as possible . Soecially the young receptionist from check republic tried to help me with my luggage and give me her personal phone to make an important call to my credit card company .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were living actually for two places. I don't know the reason. At one place we checked-in and -out, rented bikes, had a breakfast and stored our luggage. At another we actually lived. So we had to move our luggage between the buildings and -1st and 3rd floors, which was especially not easy without an elevator.

    We enjoyed our stay at the hotel a lot excepting an inconvenient detail above. The room was very clean and cosy; personnel was friendly; breakfast was tasty and substantial; bikes were comfy to ride.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was very nice. It was very close to all fhe great views. Gondola ride is about 50m away from the hotel. The room was also very nice. Loved the place.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel's late check-in is very difficult, the Hotel Max Reception is work until 5pm. late check-in should be done in hotel iris is not convenient to new visitors / comers

    the location is good and the Indian restaurant(Saravana Bavan) is very near by the Hotel Max

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    if there have public area for rest will be better. And i requested twin room, however, it offer double room. The hotel was no staff after 5pm that if need to find any help to go to other sister hotel.

    The staff was nice, Good manners and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't up to standard; the shower was just a shower head, and the draining was poor. They provided a squeegee for you to sweep up the water into the drain yourself. The wifi wasn't great either. Additionally, the reception was located around the corner in another building.

    Good location, walking distance to the town center and Heineken factory.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was a little small (think - NYC small), but we managed because we knew this in advance from other reviews and did not have two suitcases but one. There is no elevator, and the stairs are very steep, so the place is not accessible to everyone. The bathroom has a glass wall and door, which might be inconvenient when travelling with friends.

    The neighbourhood is wonderful and it is very close to the city center and very very close to the museums. It is so quiet that you can hear birds in the trees. The room was nice and clean, and the selection of TV channels great. The wifi worked very well. There is a supermarket right across the street, which is very convenient. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is extremely small; even smaller than shown on the photos; t stairs are too narrow even to carry a suitcase (of course, no elevator). There was no sink in the bathroom cause bathroom was extemwly small. There is no reception in the hotel, u have to walk to other hotel for check-on and check-outs and in case of any emergency/need, there is no staff around to help.

    nothing.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were give a room on the top floor, no lifts and we had luggages - not a good experience. Bathroom and room very, very small. There's absolutely no space to move around. And there's no reception. Reception is located outside the hotel on the other side of the bridge.

    It was relatively cheap and within easy distance to most attractions. A good choice for someone travelling on a tight budget and a short stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small room not much space

    Good for quick stay in Amsterdam only thing bad about the room was that it was really small other than that its really good :)

    Stayed in June 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Max traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: