Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Plus Hotel Groningen Plaza 3 stars

Laan Corpus den Hoorn 300, 9728 JT Groningen, Netherlands

#19 of 23 hotels in Groningen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1370 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.3
    Surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No nikes for rent as advised. Shuttle service from 3 p.m. not for tourists that want to start in the morning.

    Surroundings. Warm water in swimming pool. Close to bus stops running cca every half an hour. Easy to get around.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    3.3
    Close to train station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They are under renovation but they are just changing the beds... carpet is filthy (not being changed), ceiling is old 80s and damaged, bathroom not being touched... there is no bar available, vending machine charges you 3 euros for a bottle of water (you can buy 1 Lt for 1 euro down the street).

    Close to train station

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.6
    Fab family room, and great shuttle service into town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny toilet in a massive room, not good with claustrophobia.

    Fab family room, and great shuttle service into town. Ideal for stopping with a car to avoid driving into town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.5
    Bed extra comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At late check-in we were assigned a room where the beds obviously had been used by somebody. After complaint at reception we were assigned a different room where everything was fine.

    Bed extra comfy

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Comfortable, good value room in quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good value room with breakfast. Very good food at both dinner and breakfast. Comfortable beds. Quiet location with great scenery and area to walk in and explore.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.5
    Comfy room good value good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not close to local shops. Not signposted from the motorway. Expensive food in restaurant for not a lot of food.

    Comfy room good value good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location. Relaxing after a long drive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were too soft. A fridge would have been nice as it was very hot.

    I loved the swimming pool and the location of the hotel. We went for a great walk from the hotel. Air conditioning worked well in the room. Food was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Great property, great stay, still some bookkeeping to do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with View - New
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mixup with booking, we prepaid thru booking.com, property could not see payment and charged us for entire stay, so we have two charges for the entire stay on our credit card. Will have to get this straightened out when we get home. I blame booking.com for this as they are who we booked through.

    The restaurant was great, great variety of breakfast choices, large and airy feeling.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Clean, helpful and friendly staff, shuttle service...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy: their condition system works fine, but sounds as an old fridge and in the night it's too loud

    Clean, helpful and friendly staff, shuttle service to/from the station that resolves problem with location, nice territory to walk the dog right behind the hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guest pool opening hours a little restrictive.

    All good, a short cycle ride out of the city suited us very well. Gave us an excellent map for cycling round the beautiful countryside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    A great conference venue.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room with View - New
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The conference facilities and areas available (lounges etc.) have an excellent layout, one of the best I have experienced. South-facing bedrooms with huge windos, very nice bathrooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    4.2
    No second chance, although the surrondings are very green and running or walking is extremly easy
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At check in we were treated like idiots. The Shower at the room is a nightmare. The amount of water is so small that washing hair needs a lot of patience. Water temperature changes often and dramatically. The room is so small that leaving three weekender travel bags actually is a problem. We stayed three nights - gravel from road broad into the room has not been removed during this timeframe. There was broken glas on the aisle for 3 days.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    A place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room with View - New
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very relaxing place, rented a bike for 5 euro and cruised along the dutch canals and around the lake all day in glorious sunlight, came back and sampled the quisine, thouroughly enjoyable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.1
    Not as enjoyable as before
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room with View - New
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very sad to see all the nature trees cut down, hotel now very open, not a good view as last year. Dirty linens re sheets had to be changed due to Staines, towels so thin! Shower floods. Air conditioning horrendous canopy open window enough for fresh air.

    The location as near to city

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.3
    Car friendly business hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Light in the bathroom (too poor). Shower door (did not close enough.

    Free parking. Wifi works well. Friendly staff. Quiete according to car friendly environment.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.1
    It was OK but they can do better for sure!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was extremely expensive for no reason. The first thing the staff told us when we arrived was that we had to pay another (aprox.) 6,5 Euros/night for each room, and that was new for all of us. We all got the feeling that we were ignorred by the reception staff. There was a very scary statue of a dead old lady right in the middle of the building. Very realistic, very creepy! Bad taste!

    Quiet place with enough parking space. Very clean everywhere. The people who were cleaning the room were PROFESSIONALS!!!! Free transportation to and from the city center.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    5.0
    The room was small and it was quite dirty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small and it was quite dirty. The carpets were very dirty and the closets were dusty. The food tasted good, but the dining was under all criticism. We had ordered a table at. 19:00, had to wait long for menu shortly. And since on the food for over an hour ...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.3
    Loved the stay even though there were some minor annoyances.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with King Size Bed and Panoramic View
    • Stayed 15 nights

    Internet speed was somewhat slow, often around 5 megabit download and 5 up - not unusable slow, but it could be better. Aircon didn't do anything, we wanted to increase the temperature in the room since it was fairly cold at times, but the panel kept on saying 19 degrees no matter how we changed the settings. Wasn't sure how the heater worked, luckily the bedding kept us warm at night. The drains in the bathroom kept on clogging up, even when just brushing teeth.

    Room was quite spacious, it had an awesome desk where I could catch up with some work, items in the mini-bar was quite nice. Bed was extremely comfortable, room was quiet and super clean. Room service also did an excellent job keeping the room in pristine condition. Breakfast was fairly decent - was happy to have vegan options available. Staff were very friendly and helpful and even granted a request we didn't think they'd be willing to do. Plenty of parking available. Bathroom was super modern. Room had a nice view on the lake and was just beautiful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.7
    Easy to get to, big parking lot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is out dated, cleaners could do a better job, there are buttons and lights that had no descriptions in our room, was annoyed by it and put it off; not knowing what it does

    Easy to get to, big parking lot

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.9
    Staying in the Hampshire hotel is a very good way to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I liked the hotel because it was comfortable, quiet and beautiful. I especially liked the lounge area where you can have a drink and read a book. I also liked that there is a swimming pool, although I did not swim in the end. The staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    8.8
    Had a wonderful time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t have a bath in my room so I had to wash my baby in the sink but he liked it😁

    I just love Groningen and this hotel is my go to place. Nice staff and rooms. The location is beautiful and easy to find. Checkout at 1200, didn’t have to rush. Had a nice breakfast and even went for a swim before we had to go.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable location at Groningen for people traveling by car.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with View - New
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little far from the city center (about 5 km), but plenty of buses during the week, plus a free-of-charge shuttle service organized by the hotel during the weekend.

    It is possible to park the car without paying (at Groningen this is not common).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.5
    The penny pinching is obvious at this hotel.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We took the cheapest room available. These rooms lack even a plastic cup to have a glass of water. The hotel also has no room service, so we ordered a pizza to the hotel from New york pizza.

    Clean and plesant hotel. Nice bar, friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    I always like my stay in Groningen!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room with View - New
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking lot is designed like a circle, so you might be doing a few circles before you can park. It's a bit of walk to the hotel reception, but not too far. There wasn't really much I didn't like.... I didn't have a breakfast, my only downfall.

    The location of the hotel is very nice. It's just off the main freeway, but not noisy at all. The staff is very friendly and you even get a real key (!!!) from them, not a crappy plastic keycard like so many other hotels do. It's got a good elevator. My room was big enough: the sleeping area was designed to very efficient. It's got a nice view of the park behind the hotel. The bathroom (I should have taken pictures) was big, compared to what I've seen throughout my stay in The Netherlands. Very clean, very modern, very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    6.7
    Hotel is reasonable.
    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That for such a room price breakfast isn't included and costs €15. Why? For cup of coffee and piece of bread with cheese?

    Staff is very friendly, hotel is very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.8
    Nice place with pleasant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit out of town but if you have a car it's ok

    There is easy free parking and the hotel is in a nice quiet location. It has an impressive entrance and the rooms are fine

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.9
    Well located for buses and bike paths.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two single beds pushed together (we know it's a Dutch thing, but about time it wasn't). Smokers hanging about the front door.

    Well located for buses and bike paths. Parking was good. Bicycle hire was excellent. Clean, comfortable, spacious, nice view of some woods.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel to visit Groningen by day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with View - New
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the breakfast too expensive and the room could have been more spacious

    The swimming is very nice, the free shuttle service was very practical and the staff very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel with comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room with View - New
    • Stayed 1 night

    We regularly go to Hampshire Plaza to visit family and friends in Groningen. This hotel has nice, spacious rooms. It is a bit outside the city, but the center is easily reachable. We wanted to upgrade to a larger room (since one some were available), the staff was very helpful in accommodating this.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.3
    Location (close to the lake), comfortable room and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with View - New
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dust on the coffee table. Rather expensive (room, breakfast and bicycle rent)

    Location (close to the lake), comfortable room and facilities, shuttle to the train station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.8
    The staff were all very kind and helpful and the service was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit far away from the Old Town if you don't have a car (I did)

    The staff were all very kind and helpful and the service was excellent. Also, there is plenty of space for parking your car

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    6.7
    A lovely setting and very peaceful hotel. Friendly and helpfull staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with View - New
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a an executive room with a view. The bed was huge but the 2 sheets on the bed did not fit the bed and first night not very comfy. The staff did change the sheet the next day when we mentioned it. There was no bathrobes in the room ( again as soon as we asked these were provided) or tea/coffee to make a cup of tea except a kettle and nespresso machine. (did not use but other people might) The housekeeping in the room was a bit slap dash, and it is annoying when you seem to consistently have to ask or complain about things.

    Very good buffet breakfast and there were some different choices each day. Staff very all very friendly. Lovely location and very peaceful. Easy to get into town either by free hotel shuttle (at weekend) or bus nearby. We had a car with us so seemed easier and cheaper to park in town for the day during the week.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.9
    There are very nice rooms in the top floors, the one we had...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Spacious Comfort Room with Bath
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There are very nice rooms in the top floors, the one we had in the fourth floor was quite old and a bit shabby. Especially the carpet and the bathroom should be refurbished asap. It was very clean nevertheless.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    5.4
    Overpriced
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Spacious Comfort Room with Bath
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Staff doesn't really care, they are very friendly, but were indifferent to my issues. Everything cost so much extra money. I stayed for a week, and had to pay 12,50 Euro per day for my dog (87 euros total), breakfast was 15 euro per day, laundry was calculated per item (from 2 euro each, about 90 euro for a bag full). Renting a bike would be 10 euro per day. The hotel is not cheap for it being so far from the city centre (bus is 30 minutes, same as walking).

    The room was nice and the bed was comfortable. Next to a very nice park where dogs can walk free.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.2
    Very nice hotel in the outskirts of Groningen, comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room with View - New
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very warm even with aircondition (and it wasn't that hot outside!)

    Very nice hotel in the outskirts of Groningen, comfortable room with pleasent beds and super bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.6
    Don't hesitate
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have searched very good, but I can't find anything negative about the hotel

    The hotel is beautiful. The entrance gives you a majestic feeling. The rooms are practical, clean and there is enough space. All floor are accessible by elevator. The restaurant is just great. The food that is served is very delious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location for access to Assen TT.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room with View - New
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shuttle service not running on the Sunday evening although was advertised! Prices in the bar.

    Excellent location for access to Assen TT. Lovely breakfast, very friendly staff. Free shuttle to and from city centre. Very clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    6.7
    Great staff, food and drink. Just need a little updating in the rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor lighting in the room and bathroom. Unable to run warm water just boiling hot or cold. No safe in the room. Not much choice on the menu. No locks on the bathroom door. Location was hard to find may have more signs.

    Great food & pleasant staff. Beautiful lake behind hotel. Right next to the A28 for traveling anywhere.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.3
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room with View - New
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent decor to room and very quiet. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food and restaurant very good. TV and stations hard to use and a very limited.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.2
    Hampshire hotel Groningen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room with View - New
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived after 9pm on my first day due to traffic issues, and wasn't able to get food via restaurant or any kind of room service. So had a glass of peanuts at the bar instead.

    Clean modern comfortable rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. Offer of transport into town, although I hired a bike, as it was only 15 minutes away.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    8.8
    Good place to stay while exploring one of the best towns in the Netherlands.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with View - New
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    watercooker for tea, including some decent tea bags. Quiet side of the hotel meant that we could sleep with open window, despite the proximity of the highway.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Quiet, pleasant and overall wonderful!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room with View - New
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast buffet. I think that a hotel of your category could offer a cook to make eggs made on the spot, at each client's taste, just as they do in Asia.

    I've stayed many times at your hotel in the past two years and have been quite pleased. However, this time I found: 1. the facilities to be cleaner, 2. the staff just as friendly and helpful but more relaxed 3. the dinner menu changed and improve, compliments to the chef 4. the ground were cleaner and well kept

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.8
    Room was very large with nice view.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No public transportation in the close surroundings - but the taxi to the center cost only 12 euros

    Room was very large with nice view. Breakfast was fine, quite a wide selection of different products. Quiet neighborhood.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    4.2
    The only reason we booked this hotel (instead of another in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Spacious Comfort Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only reason we booked this hotel (instead of another in Groningen) is because of the swimming pool. On Saturday the pool was being used for diploma swimming and on Sunday for a baptism. We were extremely dissapointed about this (especially our son).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    4.6
    Not a great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Spacious Comfort Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had stains on the carpet, the shower curtain was held up with paper clips. When we had some food in the room after coming back from being out all day it was still in the room after housekeeping had been. Hard to get the temperature right in the room. When we asked for an extra pillow we were told it would be brought to the room, but it never appeared. Staff were not very helpful

    The location was ok for where we needed to be

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    7.9
    Nice spacious room, good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to do around the hotel. Is on the out-skirts of the city in a residential area.

    Overall good value for money. Stayed in a family-room that had plenty of space for a family of 2 adults and 2 children. The room had a nice view overlooking the park/lake. Bathroom was clean but slightly outdated. The indoor pool was nice and had long opening hours. Staff was friendly courteus.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    6.3
    Just for one night stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Standard Rooms are small and a bit outdated in furniture (carpet in the room). - Towels should be replaced in the bathroom with new and soft ones - Restaurant with a limited menu

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.5
    great stay, great room, awesome employers
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room with View - New
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed was to soft for me and my friends bed creaked all night long when she moved, and she rolled back to one side of the bed all the time.

    beautifull room, great service.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    If you go MartiniDogShow - you should stay in Hampshire Plaza Hotel!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small.

    Very friendly and nice staff. Green surroundings. Very unique and big lobby. Very good breafast. Also it was very nice place to stay with our dogs.The most Dog Friendly Hotel during our 24 days trip with 3 dogs in Europe :)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    6.7
    Standard rooms and pool are old and worn, but overall stay was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in a standard twin room, which was old and very used and not perfectly cleaned, some things need renovations, but overall cleaning could have been better. Pool needs an overall renovation as well.

    The shuttle service to the central service was excellent. Dinner at the Restaurant was delicious. We thought €15 for breakfast was expensive so went to the city Sunday at 10 only to find almost all restaurants closed and ended up paying more than if we'd eaten at the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    7.1
    for weekend in Nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very cold even if i closed window there was Wind coming throught window side, also not fully isolated and i catched cold. Room cleaning was not accurate , last day Towels were on ground dirty. for 15 euro Breakfast could be better. City Tax was not included in my Booking so i got confused. Overall good place with potencial.

    Locations is very good just near pure Nature but you have to walk 45 minutes till City Center or Take Weekends Shuttle or just have own car. Staff is nice. Architecture of Hotel is awesome really good build solid Building.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful lake view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The third bed in our triple room was a sofa bed, slightly less comfortable than a regular bed.

    The location of the hotel is great - near a lake with plenty of opportunities for walking, boating or (when we were there) ice skating, but only a 10 minute shuttle ride or 20 minute bus ride away from the city center. The shuttle sevice was convenient and free, and there are multiple bus stops nearby. Our room was on the 6th floor and overlooked the lake.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    7.5
    Happy New Years Eve at Hampshire Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately there was a dirty towel in our bathroom. Also it would have been nice to have a minibar in the room.

    We stayed here for New Years Eve. The family room was spacious with quite comfortable beds. We loved the location with the view of the park and pond right next to us.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    7.1
    Nice Hotel at reasonable rates.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor transport to and back from the city centre. Public buses are rare, taxis very expensive, and Groningen is practically unreachable by car (no parking places, time limits for parking in the streets). A shuttle from the hotel, or a taxi service at reasonable rates for hotel guests are possible options and would increase the overall rating of the Hotel.

    Good hotel, meets expectations. The service and the breakfast were very good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    3.8
    NO CHANGE IN MANY YEARS
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No debit card handling at present they wrote down the number. Want to put meal restaurant on room waiter answered that the card was refused. Went to the reception to put the card and accepted without problem. Received no announcement that the card was "refused". No pin cod like usual for an payment with the card was requested. On my complain I got the answer this is our policy. Rooms are old and smudgy, heating worked after complain.

    quiet area and parking

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    6.7
    Disappointing start with trying to charge us extra, ok room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had ordered the family room but upon arrival they wanted to charge us 15 euros for an extra bed. After a discussion they waived and it turned out the bed was really just a couch they put sheets on. Carpet in front of the the television was stained with huge spots.

    The room was quite large, clean bathroom and separate toilet (also clean). Nice view on the lake from the window. Swimming pool was nice but great for our small kids. Breakfast buffet was ok and included everything (30 euros for two adults and two kids).

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    6.3
    Beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old fashioned and tiny room, including the bathroom, tv, ... No safe, no minibar Most of the things (like a mini bar) would need to be dealt with at the reception of the hotel Internet was an issue Seemed like a low cost room Far from the city centre Pool is not always open: you need to check the schedules and be lucky they will fit your needs

    Beautiful hotel Cheap bike rent for 24h Nice staff Chilled, not noisy

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.2
    EV vehicle friendly hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel features free charging and enough capacity for electric cars (4 places with 11kW capacity each Mennekes Type 2 plug). Ask for charging pass at the reception desk! Excellent service!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.7
    another guest hair in bed-linen
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    another guest hair in bed-linen

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.4
    it was more or less okay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small rooms, no window could be opened. Depressing all & all.

    friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    The location is nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price is a little bit expensive without breakfast. It was not possible to rent a bike.

    The location is nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    Very clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Off the beaten track a little Parking a little awkward

    Very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Coffee machine on room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with King Size Bed and Panoramic View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Coffee machine on room. Good breakfady.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Very convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast. Great large room. Shower is very nice and spacious. Parking also spacious. Near Groningen city.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Extremely pleased with the whole experience of our stay,from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room with View - New
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely pleased with the whole experience of our stay,from the staff to the food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.8
    Great cosy bar, helpfull staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a swimmingpool, but when we wanted to use it, it was being use for swimming classes....

    Great cosy bar, helpfull staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hell if you’re on foot, the nearest supermarket is about a half hour walk.

    Beautiful place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.5
    Noise outside the window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise outside the window. View from the window.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room with View - New
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is away from the city center

    Quite, clean and relaxing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Clean Fresh Hotel with helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with View - New
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Easy to get on bus to city centre but was 15 mins away. Shame not a bit nearer

    Clean Fresh Hotel with helpful staff. Free Parking which is a bonus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    It's a good place to stay with excellent green forest scenery from the window and wide room.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Room with King Size Bed and Panoramic View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A little far from the centre.

    Very nice scenery from windows, wide room, clean, quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.0
    I have not got my funds credited back for the deposit they...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have not got my funds credited back for the deposit they took from my debit account

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Really friendly and helpful staff, good beds and shower, a...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really friendly and helpful staff, good beds and shower, a fantastic breakfast, and the evening meals are very well prepared.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.5
    Shuttle service was great>
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Just windows that you can't open ( just a bit)

    Shuttle service was great> drivers were more then nice, very friendly. On time, just perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.3
    Great stay would always recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room with View - New
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great

    Excellent friendly and professional staff who were very happy to assist

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Best Western Plus Hotel Groningen Plaza traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: