Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Max Brown Hotel Canal District

Herengracht 13 - 19, Amsterdam City Centre, 1015 BA Amsterdam, Netherlands

#141 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1371 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Absolutely loved this hotel- beautiful rooms and extra...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absolutely loved this hotel- beautiful rooms and extra friendly staff. Amazing location on the lovely canals, couldn't have hoped for anything better

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.3
    Gorgeous atmosphere in a central location
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loft
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The stairs are a challenge, as we expected in the attic room! The mattresses esp on the single bed, very lumpy and uncomfortable but the linen was smooth and lovely We all got eaten alive by mosquitos with the windows open, and no insect spray was available (and we could not find any in the shops either!)

    The location was pretty, quiet and central Right on the canal and close to Centraal station making travel easy. The staff was uniformly lovely! Everyone had a smile and was welcoming and very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    5.4
    Excellent location, great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult to sleep as sound from other rooms and hallway travels through paper thin walls , tired furnishings, uncomfortable pillows.

    Excellent location, great staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Perfect for a romantic stay in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please keep in mind the stairs and there is no elevator so for heavy bags this can be a challenge. We were in an upper story room and the stairs were authentically small and steep. Our neighbors didn’t know how to close their door politely enough not to wake us up each time they entered or left but overall nothing that will dampen your stay.

    Great location and very friendly and accommodating staff. The room was small but very comfortable and well decorated. The location is just what you want fron amsterdam right on the canal and beautiful picture perfect views and bridges. We had a great stay!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.0
    In 2 words, very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very disappointing. We were looking forward to the trip & hotel based on the ratings & the cost. When we arrived the receptionist told us he only had a ground floor room (this despite booking months ago - I suspect we got the booking.com online room). He showed us to the room & the musty smell greeted us as soon as he opened the door. We looked at each other & the receptionist, & he said, "our website makes it clear we have no air-conditioning'. Fair enough, but no windows to open either? Well, there are full length windows, just they they cannot be opened in order to to keep out burglars & undesirables, It's mid-summer for gods sake. So we had 3 days in an airless, hot room with a full-time fan for company. Seriously, these rooms should either be taken off the market, or let at a large discount, with full disclosure of the airless nature of the accommodation. I would suggest any potential traveller specify the do not want a ground floor room, there were 2!

    Location was good near station & canals. Its also near the drug district which provided a lot of 'smokers' sitting by the canals getting stoned. Breakfast was good & plentiful even if the darkness & cramped serving room made it hard to see what some of the items that were available.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    4.6
    Location was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was bad. Quality and selection of food was weak. Rooms partly without or with very small windows and low ceiling. The hotel is to expensive for what you get.

    Location was fine. Organized tours were nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We visited during really hot weather and the room did not have aircon. It was exceptionally hot at night and we didn't sleep well. A fan was provided but the room was still stuffy. Not the hotel's fault, but something to consider when booking in the summer months.

    The hotel was in an excellent location - very central but not too close to the noisy areas. It was lovely and quiet, staff were friendly and the breakfast was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    Clean and comfortable with very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cost was a bit on the steep side, but it might have been due to demand.

    The staff were incredibly friendly and very accommodating. They really made my stay a pleasure! The room was immaculate and, although my room had the shower cubicle inside the actual bedroom it was comfortable and very tidy. It was a rather expensive stay but since I'd (inadvertently) booked my visit during Amsterdam Pride I can't complain too much! I would definitely recommend a visit here.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.5
    The staff were so helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs to the room were hard! (We stayed on top floor!) but the staff did help carry cases up to room. It was so hot! We struggled to sleep because the room was so hot. They did provide a fan but felt it didn’t do much. ( loved the note we found on the bed offering free popsicles at bar to cool off ) again the heat isn’t their fault just bad timing. Our welcome pack and stroppwafels went missing from Our room on first night/day of housekeeping.. it was on shelf near tv and then it was gone.. didn’t even get a chance to look at it due to late check in night before. Also had to ask for more toilet paper at bar as it wasn’t replaced.

    The staff were so helpful! The bar was open 24/7. They make amazing espresso martini! The style of the place was so refreshing and welcoming! I loved the personal touch of welcome pack and notes in room. Check in and out was super quick and efficient. Location was also great and view from room was beautiful. Wifi free and worked well. Bed comfortable. Shower nice and big. Buffet breakfast included and good selection.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.0
    Pricey but a perfect location - a good mid range hotel with lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast adequate - no cooked breakfast, just boiled eggs and limited range of cold choices. Very expensive for a 3 star mid range hotel - but this may just be Amsterdam prices for this area

    Location excellent - short walk from eurostar & central station Stayed top floor single room with separate toilet - nice but very small room and steep stairs Staff excellent & extremely helpful Safe & kettle in room Clean & adequate facilities for 3 star hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Location location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there is no elevator in the building and we had to carry our suitcases to the 3rd floor. No AC in the room.... the summer night turned to be very Hot. No place to put our cloths there was no closet, dresser or proper shelves so everything was on the floor.

    The location is perfect! Beautiful design Nice breakfast The stuff was nice and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Really cool place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy at night but the hotel is in a central location so this is to be expected. No air con in attic room so it got quite hot in the recent heatwave but a fan was provided by the hotel which helped plus it had large windows and a Juliet balcony to get some fresh air. Very steep staircase up to the attic room- wasn’t an issue for us but if you have limited/restricted mobility this isn’t the room for you.

    The staff at the hotel were all friendly, cheerful and helpful. We stayed in the attic room which was very quirky and fun to stay in with great views. The hotel bar is cool with trendy reading materials, decor and cocktails. Hotel location is perfect-10 mins walk from Amsterdam Centraal station, similar distance to the main tourist areas, restaurants, bars and attractions. Hotel doesn’t have a restaurant but the breakfast provided is a nice selection of European options. Easy check in and check out.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    Second time here. Fair value in expensive city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny rooms. Fair but not generous breakfast. No family rooms.

    Didn’t love it first time but liked enough to go back. Walkable distance from train station. Decent breakfast. Tiny rooms. Comfy beds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    The view from the window was amazing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to wait for the check out, as there is only one person checking you in/out.

    The view from the window was amazing. Such a perfect place for a romantic trip (the rooms here are so cozy!). It took me 13 mins to get to the hotel with the luggage, and yet it wasn’t that busy with tourists. The location is amazing - just next to posh Jordaan with cafes and close to the museums. P.S.: The staircases in Amsterdam are not really helpful when you have a huge luggage 😂

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were really lovely, slightly small but that comes with the nature of the property. The location was absolutely amazing!! So close to everything and such a lovely spot to watch the sunset along the canal. We took advantage of the boat trip which I would highly recommend, the driver was very knowledgable and gave us lots of cool local facts. We travelled for my partners birthday and the hotel staff filled the room with balloons and gave us a free slice of apple pie which was delicious. Very nice staff who were always super welcoming. Also a great bar with a great selection of local beers and lovely cocktails. We would 100% stay again, loved it!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    We loved staying at Max Brown, the design of the rooms, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the ground floor by the entrance and it was very noisy in the mornings.

    We loved staying at Max Brown, the design of the rooms, the bar and the breakfast area were stylish and quirky. Our room was cosy and the bed was super comfortable. The staff were all so lovely and helpful throughout our trip. The hotel is on the canal and is a short walk to all the attractions, the location was perfect. We went on a canal cruise with Captain Storm which which we booked through the hotel, definitely recommended, and a nice way to see the city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    It felt like home away from home with none of the concerns, just total relaxation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much, maybe the stairs to the bedrooms were a little steep, but this is probably the same in all older buildings in Amsterdam.

    Quaint hotel, central location yet quiet. Very friendly and helpful staff. Boat trip on Sunday, organized by the hotel, was very good and not rushed, the guide was very informative and answered all questions asked.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.7
    Hotel was in a great spot near restaurants cafes and shops as well the station for the trams
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Being a canal home we were aware that the stairs would be a problem and they were..very steep and quiet dangerous.No lift so had to get the bags up and down by ourselves.and as we are both in our late 60's that wasn't easy.

    The breakfast was reasonable with a limited choice.All buffet style but the main problem was the confined space to self serve.When the breakfast area was full there was very little room to get to the food as a big table was right in the middle!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice potential but not worth the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    From their photos, they apparently have some nice rooms, but ours was not. Small, with one high window that only opened a few inches and the bathroom was down a steep spiral staircase into what felt like the basement with a shower that I couldn't use standing up.

    The location was great and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Charming in that funky youth hostel sort of way.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.0
    Great location facilities only average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was uncomfortable and basically the springs collapsed. The shower was down a flight of very steep stairs. the room was hot and the only ventilation was to open the door to get air flow. Cleaning poor

    The location was good and the staff were generally helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.3
    In the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there was some road construction right in front of the bildung, starting every Day at 6:30. Rooms weren't cleaned until 3 pm.

    Straff friendly. Breakfast okay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.3
    Great location and staff let down by small tired room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely small, which was mentioned on previous reviews but it was even smaller than expected the shower room was tiny, no shelves and no wardrobe or drawers. Room could also have done with redecorating, looked trendy but tired. Breakfast was quite limited in choice and again a very small area which is overcrowded at busy times.

    The relaxed atmosphere and extremely helpful and friendly staff are the biggest asset of this hotel. The location is also very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.7
    Nice but be careful with one of the doble rooms because has no window. Had to complain to be changed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a double room and it was supposed to be a nice room with windows. Once we got there it had no windows just one Velux. The people from the rooms above could see you in the bathroom or in the bed... We had to complain to be changed. If I had known this I hadn’t booked it. I won’t repeat. Look at the photos. One is from the bathroom and the other one from the bed...

    Location very good and staffs very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    5.0
    Very bad breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In first use towel i got vaginal infection Very bad breakfast Very small room

    Very bad breakfast. Very small room not clean room and toilet Location was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    Amazing hotel and perfect location, Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had pre emailed the hotel to order their room decorating service they provide for my partners birthday. However when we arrived the room was not decorated and this was very disappointing. The staff were friendly but no real effort was made to rectify the situation. Would recommend emailing then remind them of the extras you have requested. Also the light in the bathroom continued to flash, we mentioned it to a member of staff but bother was done about it during our stay.

    The Max Brown hotel was lovely and in a perfect location, just 10 min walk from the station and all the main attractions. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was simple but very nice. We also booked the boat trip which was amazing and such good value for money definitely recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    The canal district itself was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t know what the other rooms were like, but our room was on the very top floor. You had to climb 4 flights of extremely steep and narrow steps - challenging for luggage and downright treacherous for kids and elderly. The room itself was ok, but no central air and it was very warm and stuffy during the day. Lighting was pretty poor and there weren’t many power outlets. The staff was great and the breakfast was simple but lovely. This hotel would be fine for adults but I do not recommend it for families with children even though the location is great.

    The canal district itself was lovely. Easy walk to parks, shops, and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    Lovely, but expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was too expensive. While it was a lovely hotel, it was not worth the money I paid.

    Cool design, staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, clean and comfy beds

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    The hotel has a problem with credit cards pre-authorization.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel has a problem with credit cards pre-authorization. The hotel freezes your funds and unblock it the day of departure. It means that your bank will thaw your money during next few working days. Despite the high limit on cc we couldn't pay for hotel because all funds were frozen. We saw other two couples who had the same problem. We travel a lot and first time we had such strange situation...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.7
    Loved Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room (104) was the smallest and hottest we have ever been and not good value for money at €200+ per night. Check in was chaotic not helped by a computer system that could not cope.

    Excellent location, good breakfast, downstairs ambience, friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff, great location, cozy interiors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Approx. 200 euros per night bought us a room that was so small that the faucet was right next to a bed and it was even difficult to get our luggage fully open, Shower lift was broken, so showering was one hand up. On our last day water started pouring from the ceiling across all the room; we were lucky to be in our room at that moment as otherwise the electronics and clothes would have gotten soaking wet.

    Friendly staff, great location, cozy interiors.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Staff are very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Loft
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff are very friendly. The check in process was very organized, everything was explain at the beginning. They help us on how to navigate the City itself. The place closet everything like shops and cafe's.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    We enjoyed our stay and would choose Max Brown again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no screens on the windows and don’t let anyone tell you there are no mosquitoes in Amsterdam. We happened to be there once when it was very warm (80 degrees F), and the room was uncomfortably warm with a table fan that did not work. It was hard to sleep comfortably and the mosquitoes were persistent.

    We love Max Brown Canal District. The location is excellent — the neighborhood is quiet and you can walk pretty much anywhere from the hotel. The staff are remarkably friendly and helpful; they also make a mean latte. After walking all day the beds are comfortable and the linens are nice. There’s plenty of hot water, the breakfast buffet (should you partake) is well above par, and they have lovely live music in the lobby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.0
    A joke of a hotel (with a serious price)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are shabby. The bathroom in one of the rooms had no door - very inconvenient. Then, for anyone taller than 180cm, showering in that bathroom requires crouching. In the other room, the shower was clogged. There is no airconditioning. Floors have carpets which did not seem clean, but the hotel does not provide slippers. The sink is big enough maybe for a toddler to wash their hands. Beds are cheap and uncomfortable. The list goes on... Overall a very bad experience and the first totally misleading overall score for us, after many, many bookings with Booking.com.

    The location is excellent. The bar / lobby is nice. Breakfast was OK. And unfortunately that is it. The front desk staff were nice, but had no idea what they were doing. They were basically just winging it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.4
    Shocked and disappointed, I am embarassed that I paid 200EU for this room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very small, located on the 3rd floor with no elevator, which was not a big problem for us. The small window was located up high so there was little natural light or view. Biggest problem was the bathroom was a cubby hole located at the bottom of a narrow, vertical winding staircase with no door, impossible and dangerous for many seniors and large guests. The bathroom had nowhere to place toiletries or hang a garment, except the stairs, and the room height was under 2m, so, once you stepped into the shower/bathtub, you could barely stand up and could not raise the shower wand over your head and I am only 5ft 10in. The hotel featured a 2nd floor patio but it was dirty and unkempt.

    This is a quaint property at the north end of the canal district which is a great location close to many great attractions and the train station. All of Amsterdam is within walking distance and there are many great restaurants close by. The staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel has a cozy bar and coffee shop and serves a good breakfast. Our bed was comfortable and the room was quiet at night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    We loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could use more space/area to store luggage & hang-up clothing; the bathroom sink & counter were so it was hard to fit our (few) toiletries on it. But these little issues would never keep us from rebooking a stay or recommending the hotel to others.

    Location is great. Staff extremely welcoming & helpful. Really nice breakfast buffet. Room was spacious, clean & comfortable. The bed was extremely comfy. The shampoo, body wash, hand wash and body lotion were divine. Great little bar and snacks available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.3
    In totally - a nice place to stay for a weekend in Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark in the bathroom - they did not fixed the light even after the comment about a deffect lightbulb.

    Perfect location - in the sentrum of the canal district and still a silent place. Walking distanse to both sentral train station and all attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.8
    Fab location and a lovely boutique hotel! Will definitely come again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a room with a window facing out towards a an outdoor area. This made the room a little bit stuffy.

    Gorgeous design hotel and lovely staff!! Brilliant location!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Welcoming staff, and gorgeous rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an amazing hotel. The staff is so very friendly. I arrived on my birthday and they were there to greet me with a bottle of Prosecco and a delicious Chocolate cake! The rooms have amazing views of the canals and the bar downstairs is the perfect way to stay your day with breakfast and end it with a drink. This will now be my permanent base every time I visit this amazing city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    A fantastic mini break in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff made us extremely welcomed and even prepared the bedroom with Birthday cake, prosecco and party balloons. The building was really quirky and wonderful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed was twins pushed together and made up separately. Not good for a couple. The stairs were extremely steep with short treads. There were even steep stairs to get to the bathroom and no handrail. Dangerous! The bathroom was the smallest I’ve ever experienced. We even paid for an upgraded room.

    Great location on a lovely canal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    5 nights in Canal View Room
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't enjoy shower as water pressure is very low.

    Location is walking distance to central station, tourist district, shopping mall. Serves good breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.3
    All the staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Do not book the smallest rooms.The room was far too small even for 1 person. There were no windows only a huge skylight that rooms above could look through. the skylight had no covering. It made it rather awkward getting dressed, the bathroom is too small to dress in.

    All the staff were excellent. Friendly and helpful. The location was quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.3
    Be careful with this one!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was not as the advertising and publicity make out it to be. It is clearly overblown and does not rate the image portrayed. Therefore was disappointing.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.7
    The staf were incredible woth the exception of one gebtlemen...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room was far too small for the amount paid for the room and while very quiet the hotel is bit fuether away from the attractieve inwas there to see.

    The staf were incredible woth the exception of one gebtlemen who was nice enough but wasnt that keen on serving drinks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful staff, comfortable atmosphere, and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi did not work for me anywhere in the hotel. Even though it showed I had a signal, I was not connected.

    The staff were outstanding. Everyone was friendly, hardworking and gracious. The hotel does not have a lift and we were in the very top room up several flights of steep and narrow stairs, with heavy luggage. But the staff helped us carry our bags all the way up and then back down again when we were checking out. Also, the space for the (delicious) breakfast was somewhat limited, but staff kept right on top of replenishing the food and dishes, and the lounge/common area was a cozy, welcoming space to gather with other guests and enjoy the meal. A great atmosphere. We also appreciated the great location, a quick walk from Amsterdam Centraal train station, which was very convenient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is in the center, very close to the Central...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing in particular, just a comment: if you are older or have problem to walk or have large suitcases, request a room on the ground floor or at least only first floor. The hotel is in an old building in Amsterdam, very lovely but the staircases are very small and the steps narrow. It was not a problem for me but something to know for older visitors.

    The hotel is in the center, very close to the Central Station which is very easy for commuting to meetings or walking around the city. Staff is lovely, very helpful. The entrance feels like a cafe/bar and it probably is very nice hanging out there in the evening, unfortunately I did not have the chance. I would come back for sure, it's a nice place and for Amsterdam where hotels can be quite expensive it was good value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    The stay was delightful and I would highly recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs are steep and no lift (we were warned though). But stairs to loft room were almost a ladder - only s prob to those with lots of luggage and a small child. No mini fridge (maybe to be expected). No English cable but I’m not a seasoned traveller so that may be par for the course.

    Comfy bed and sofa bed. Good view over canals. Very helpful staff. Lovely reception/bar. Breakfast was plentiful. WiFi was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Such cute extras - I arrived on Easter Sunday and the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Such cute extras - I arrived on Easter Sunday and the staff had hidden chocolate eggs in the room to find, such a nice idea, families would love it. Very good staff, helpful with everything. Location is perfect for both station and seeing all the sights. Loved it, have recommended and would definitely come back again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.8
    Our second time staying here and we absolutely love it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs to the top floor! Very small and not very well lit, but that’s us being picky!

    Our second time staying here and we absolutely love it. Perfect location, the bed is so comfy. Definitely recommend the Bramble cocktail, it’s delicious!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.3
    We loved Amsterdam and the hotel made the stay really comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Need more space to hang towels in the bathroom. The one rail is too small for all the towels to dry properly. It would be good to have hooks for coats rather than hanging them in the wardrobe area when wet.

    Fabulous location but quiet at night, lovely breakfast, very friendly and welcoming staff. Nice lounge area and great to have somewhere to get a drink when we returned in the evening.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.3
    Brilliant hotel which really made our trip to Amsterdam we will definitely be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have been a little better it was mainly just toast, cereal and cold meats. It was nice and great to have included in the price but there just could have been a little more on offer

    The Hotel was in a great location it was so central to everything that we just walked everywhere. The room was both comfortable and cosy and we really loved our stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.2
    Charming boutique hotel in lovely part of town. Convenient for station and walking to main sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stairs to very top room are rather steep, but we were accommodated on a lower one.

    Wonderful friendly and helpful staff. Kindly left small bottle of champagne, glasses and snacks in our room, on the day of my friend's birthday.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    6.7
    Got way too little for such money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No window in the room. Very small room without anything except bed. Even no chair to sit! Limited variety of food for breakfast and no free places by the table to sit and eat!

    Located in good area, close to the centre. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable hotel in city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast area quite busy.

    Nice quirky hotel in the centre of Amsterdam. Very friendly staff. Only 5 minutes walk to central station and shops and restaurants. Bed extra comfy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.9
    Very central, in a lovely area, staff attentive, very enjoyable, missing the view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very tiny room. Not enough thought given to mirrors and coat hooks.

    The view from the 1st floor window over the canal T junction was terrific (worth paying the extra). The bar/breakfast area was cosy and friendly with cocktails at a good price during happy hour (2hrs).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    4.6
    Good money wasted
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room not as advertised: bed wasn't a double and the second bed was so worn out it was on a sloping angle. We pointed out this bed was not fit for purpose on arrival but were not helped. Noisy room next to kitchen added to the terrible night's sleep. Did inform the staff,

    location / staff pleasant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, easy to get to all the main attractions by walking. Staff very helpful, loved the canal cruise organised by the hotel. Comfortable quirky room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for anyone wanting a friendly boutique hotel in a fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike, just wouldn’t recommend to anyone who has problems climbing steep narrow stairs (although there are a few rooms on the ground floor I believe). Not ideal if you’re travelling with large and heavy luggage for the same reason. Not for those looking for a wild bar scene or in house luxury. Perfect for everyone else. Perfect

    Staff were amazing. Helpful, efficient, charming and gave us good recommendations for restaurants and local markets. Happy hour made me happy and it’s so delightful to have a hotel offer you things for free : the canal cruise exclusive to guests, the walking tour and of course breakfast included. Rooms and bathroom in #209 was small but comfortable and the view was stunning . The hotel is also very relaxed , cozy and in the best location in the city in my opinion. Would stay here again and recommend to almost anyone.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.6
    Great way to experience Amsterdam - will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Keep tea and coffee in bedrooms topped up.

    Views over canals were fabulous. Bed really comfy Quirky fun modern decor Location great for bars, restaurants and transport Staff lovely Boat trip with Captain Dave- great way to hear about the real Amsterdam.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    Terrific
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apart from a few hours of heavy rain (which wasn’t their fault!), nothing.

    Small boutique hotel with friendly staff who took an interest in us and helped with tips and information on places we wanted to go and those we hadn’t thought of!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.2
    Gorgeous hotel and lovely staff
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We’d have loved some bacon or sausages at breakfast but overall the hotel was beautiful and the food is tasty! Room was a little too warm!

    Quirky beautiful hotel right on the canal in the centre of Amsterdam. Fab location!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.2
    The room i had overlooked the street & canal which was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Windows only opened a little bit, but sufficient as it was winter. Bed was comfortable but was two singles pushed together and did move around a bit. Overall though very happy with the Hotel & Room.

    The room i had overlooked the street & canal which was excellent and i hadn't expected. Quite a compact room but fine for 1-2 people. Live band on some nights and great reasonably priced bar. Very good location to see the sites of Amsterdam on foot even with only a few days stay. Very happy with this Hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    Charming atmosphere, cool and comfortable. An absolute gem in Amsterdam.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I absolutely loved this hotel. From the moment I walked in the atmosphere was lovely, staff were extremely helpful and there was even a fantastic guitarist playing and singing in the bar. The staff were extremely friendly and made the check-in experience a delight and my room was perfect. Quirky design, great attention to detail and very comfortable bed. I actually didn't want to leave the hotel it was so unique and charming, so ended up postponing my meeting and enjoyed a fabulous cocktail at the bar listening to beautiful singing. Definitely coming back!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.1
    We went for my boyfriends birthday and they placed a lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had advised them we would be there at 11:30 and wanted to check in early and surprise my boyfriend with a cake however when we got there the room wasn’t ready for another 45 minutes and we had to leave and come back, they apologised which I didn’t mind at all, that was the only bad thing along with the rooms are extremely small and dark.

    We went for my boyfriends birthday and they placed a lovely card, snacks and prosecco for us and some balloons which was a nice touch.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Enjoyable stay in a beautiful quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked it all. Nothing to add here.

    The location is very close to the main train station. The bar area is very nice, modern and clean. The staff were very helpful and polite (very good English spoken). They stored our bags as we arrived too early for check-in, these were taken to our room when we came back later in the day. The breakfast was good, with a nice selection of cereal, toast, preserves, boiled eggs, cheese and cold meats. The room was very clean and the bathroom had a large bath. Overall wonderful stay. Thank you.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    One of the single rooms we booked did not have the toilet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the single rooms we booked did not have the toilet ensuite, to our surprise, but the second night we moved to a room with toilet ensuite. Be aware the rooms vary greatly in size and shape to fit in the old building, but all are clean and modern and comfortable. A bit of a rabbit warren.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.9
    Great position.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Annoyingly they decided to repaint the interior of the hotel during the mornings. Which was annoying - to be woken up by the sound of people sanding walls and talking loudly at 8am. Serious lack of common sense by the management to have painters in so early and then clog up the hallways with their gear. I was going to complain - but enough people already had done. Kind of painful to have to state the obvious to them.

    Great position. Nice staff, lovely hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful trip and we shall be back - fell in love with Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not very comfortable and room would have been better if on one level.

    Lovely friendly staff and nice ambience. Made to feel at home and nothing was too much trouble. Good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    Lovely vibe, great location, friendly staff, but not very practical rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Style over content. Our toilet had no door as it was down a set of steep steps in our room. Not good for privacy. Toilet ceiling was so low, that I could only just stand upright in the shower - and I'm 5'5". Washbasin was miniscule. Had to make tea on the floor as there was no table. Safe didn't work. However, if you need a basketball hoop in your room...

    Beautiful and quiet location. Really helpful, friendly staff. Lovely bar/communal room with nice beers, coffee and snacks. Basic, but good quality, breakfast (nothing hot to eat except a hard-boiled egg). Lovely vibe. Clean. Comfortable beds. Hip decor.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.3
    Really lovely friendly and helpful staff and a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just the bathroom really. And some kind of bedside table would have been be useful!

    Really lovely friendly and helpful staff and a great location for exploring Amsterdam. the Canal district is full of interesting bars, cafes and restaurants and it's an easy walk to other areas. Room was small (which I was expecting) but with lots of character. Bathroom was slightly shabby ..but perfectly adequate and well equipped. Some redecoration going on in the communal areas of the hotel but that didn't disturb us. Great atmosphere in the bar area in the lobby and good breakfast - included in the price which is not the case with a lot of hotels in Amsterdam

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.3
    Very nice staff and would certainly stay there again on next...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only as mentioned above - stocking up of all drinks at the bar as would have drank more in the hotel bar than outside had this been available after running out the first night

    Very nice staff and would certainly stay there again on next trip to Amsterdam One recommendation I have is to ensure stocks of drink are promptly replenished. On the first night, the beer I drink got sold out, but was not available for the following 3 nights. Not a big issue, but I would have stayed in this bar more so had it been available rather than going outside to other bars Great location in the centre of Amsterdam - near tot he action but far enough away that you are not kept awake with loud music / partying as in other areas of Amsterdam.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    Outstanding location / Quirky hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast should be improved. The guests had to slice their own cucumber and tomatoes which meant they were being handled by multiple hands. Not very hygienic. (And yes I am a food safety inspector!!).

    The decor in bar and room was modern and quirky. Room was extremely comfortable. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.3
    Bed was super comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size quite small. Breakfast basic, could have been better. However, didn't bothered me much.

    Bed was super comfy. Cleanlinesss. The overall atmosphere of the hotel and rooms. Staff were extremely helpful and nice. They helped us taking our luggage to the 1st floor where our room was since there was no elevator. They were always there and ready to help with a smile and nice attitude! Easy checkin and checkout. Recommend this hotel for couples and friends.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.6
    I spent two nights while my central heating was being fixed, and it was an unexpected holiday! I'll
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a small room, and there was no space for a table and chair. I sat on the bed to work. The bed was very comfortable though!

    Helpful people, delicious food, good house wine, a library with one of my favorite books and other guests who were nice to talk to. The bedside lamp was strong enough, the bathroom beautiful. Perfect neighborhood too!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.1
    It was ok but there is sharp practice to try to upsell
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I arrived I was told my room was not available yet and I should come back in 30 minuets. When I got back I was taken to a room and told it was a premium room I could have for 50 euros extra and my room still wasn’t ready. But when I said I wouldn’t pay more they then said I could have a standard room straight away.

    The decoration was good. So was the bar.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Max Brown Hotel Canal District traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: