Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Noordzee 3 stars

Boulevard 72, 2225 AG Katwijk, Netherlands

#3 of 5 hotels in Katwijk

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1470 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    Beach front location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check out until 10:30 is a bit early. I would like to feel more welcome by check-in and other interactions with reception.

    Beach front location; spacious room and bathroom, comfortable bed; perfect breakfast (with a sea view!)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Ideal site. Weather was fantastic. Good place to practise your German. Loved it .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The balconies are very small but this is not something that can be changed . It is clear from the picture. Pay more and get a bigger balcony or book earlier.

    1 minute from the beach. Secure place for our bikes. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    The room was tiny with a double bed that probably would have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was tiny with a double bed that probably would have felt bigger with a twin. All in all good value. The breakfast was very pretty nice and staff very accommodating. Awesome location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    We were very happy with our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There isn't really place to store your clothing so you end up living out of your suitcase.

    The room was small but comfortable. Our 5 year old was excited to receive his own soap when we checked in. He also loved to have his bed in the niche rather than next to our bed. Breakfast was very good!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    The beach, the view, the location, the lift and the musical...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to wait an awfully long time for the bitterballen.

    The beach, the view, the location, the lift and the musical Soldaat v. Oranje was near, immediate service

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    7.5
    No problems, enjoyable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was in room 204 and it was on the small side, you can walk around the twin bed & thats about it. Car parking is always a problem in Katwijk centre, there is now a huge underground car park, close to the sea front. It costs 10 euro's a night, which isn't cheap, but it saves on parking fines.

    Bath & shower both available. Nice restaurant attached to the hotel. BBC tv available. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    We were catered for with friendliness and efficiency making our stay a very enjoyable one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing springs to mind

    The staff at the hotel are considerate and friendly. Some staff noted my breathing problems (C.O.P.D.) and gave me a number in case I had difficulties and was allowed morning coffee and juice in our room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.3
    Will definitely spend longer there next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel looking a little 'tired', could do with some TLC.

    Staff were super friendly and accommodating. Was good value for money. Also enjoyed the balconies available to catch some fresh air. Within walking distance to the beach, cafes and bars, really great location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.7
    Hot and noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed at the very back of the hotel, with 'city view'. The small room was very hot. Opening the windows did not help very much. Also it was very noisy because of café with large terrace that was open till late at night. (We had asked for a quiet room - so this was extra disappointing.) All in all not worth the euro 145, not even in high season.

    We liked the overall athmosphere of the hotel. Also: nice bed, good wifi, good breakfast, near the beach, sufficient parking places.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel but terrible bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room 211 had such a small bathroom. The shower is crammed into the corner between the toilet and the basin. There is only a shower curtain which is not heavy enough to prevent the water from flowing out underneath and wetting the whole bathroom floor, even behind the toilet and under the basin. Since there is no ventilation in the bathroom, it was unusable for hours after showering until it has dried completely. We have never had such a small bathroom in a hotel.

    The location was fantastic. The restaurant served very good quality food for dinner. The room was quite spacious. The parking was reasonable at 10 euros a night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    5.8
    we still enjoyed our time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    rooms are out dated including the bathroom noisy street below our room on Monday morning around 04:00hrs onwards with the cleaning and bins being emptied lack of communication skills from the staff, language barrier between Dutch and English??? was not asked once how we were ingoing our stay, about a pre booked pack lunch or our reserved table in the restaurant as we missed it as we was still out and on check out no one spoke to us so we drop the key on the reception desk and left????

    a evening meal in the restaurant car parking was 10 euros a day in a secure underground beach location but not offered by the hotel beach bars sun and sea

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.9
    Great location, pleasant hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room Dune
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has rooms with double beds only (no rooms with 2 separate beds), which is not so convenient when travelling with a friend.

    Location is prefect for the beach, public parking just across the road (10 EUR per day). Room and bathroom are a good size. We had good weather during our stay and were happy to have air conditioning in the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    5.8
    The bed was comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was small and cramped. The shower was not very good - half a shower curtain standing in the bath. The hallways were long and narrow

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    6.7
    the position and the kind staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rooms are quite old and small: I understand the location is very turistic but my opinion is that the price is very high for this kind of hotel

    the position and the kind staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.9
    Pros and cons
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower curtain is an appliance from another age and the toilet is cramped between wall and bathtube, so that you can barely sit. (On the next building renovation, it would be good to completly remove the bathtube for a modern shower and a comfortable toilet).

    The staff was very welcoming and the breakfast had a real, self-made fruit salad (not the out of the tin can stuff other serve).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    7.9
    Great location, tiny rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Deliver what they promised.

    The place has tiny rooms. Despite having booked a twin room, with seperate beds, my same gender friend and I had to sleep on one double bed. I confirmed 2 beds in the morning and before and they tricked us. By the time we came, the place was booked up. So the room was not good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    7.5
    Nice stay in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little dated and over-priced.

    Fantastic location at the beach and in the town. Nice enough, but a little dated, Hard to live up to our expectations after our previous night's accommodation in Zeeland.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    8.3
    Geat location just at the seaside
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly and service minded staff. My room was good with a great view heading the see. The bathroom should need a facelift and a new shower curtain that fill its function. The restaurant is very good, the dish newly presented, but you gets more food than you can manage to eat. Parking in the parking garage was very good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    10
    We loved our stay at Hotel Noordzee
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Seaview Sea
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we did not like. The staff was excellent. The room (420) and housekeeping was terrific and we could not have asked for more. We would stay at this hotel again in a moment on future visits

    We liked everything about the hotel. We did not eat at the hotel as our stay was relatively short (2days) and we enjoyed meals at other places in the town. We enjoyed every evening in the hotel lounge with a nightcap and conversation with the staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Location, hotel food & staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, hotel food & staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    the bathroom was a bit noisy (could hear the other guests)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom was a bit noisy (could hear the other guests)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    very friendly staff, very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very friendly staff, very clean. comfy beds

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful hotel staff, excellent location on...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly and helpful hotel staff, excellent location on the first line, bus stop to Leiden and Den Haag nearby, very good restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Coffee ❤️
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee ❤️

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    A good stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location next to the beach was superb! A good breakfast inside a cozy room topped the morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.7
    Good location but tired hotel in need of refurb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather tired Hotel in need of refurb. Rooms very small.10 euros for car parking.

    Location. Breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Everything was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    Nice place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Small Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice place

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.5
    Good property - good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small rooms

    Good property - good location. Own parking garage not easy to access for a 'large' car.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous location to stay near the beach and lovley staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was too hot.

    Fabulous beach restaurant nearby

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.9
    1st hotel of our holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Enjoyed our stay.staff were helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.8
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coffee and tea in the room. Little more space in the room, bathroom. Air-condition in the room.

    The friendly staff and the nice breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    Nice location at two minutes from the beach and sea shore.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice location at two minutes from the beach and sea shore. Clean room, friendly staff, good breakfast and its own restaraunt and bar

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.5
    Location and sea front facing rooms are excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds and pillows are far too soft. We both Woke with neck and back ache

    Location and sea front facing rooms are excellent

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    6.3
    The room was a bit chilly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit chilly. The parking was expensive.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    7.1
    De ligging was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kamer was zeer gehorig

    De ligging was perfect.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    9.2
    Hotel with sea view
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cozy hotel near the sea, good value for money

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    9.6
    Cleanliness, friendliness & view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    size of bed

    Cleanliness, friendliness & view.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    8.8
    It is a nice hotel located perfectly near the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Late check out should be possible.

    It is a nice hotel located perfectly near the beach. The staff was kind and the food specially the dinner was quite good.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    7.9
    The wonderful breakfast because of the food and of the view
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The receptionist arguing nonsenses and insisting to give us a first floor room while we asked for high floor and these were available

    The wonderful breakfast because of the food and of the view

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    7.1
    Friendly personnel (who are not responsible for the Fletcher...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have used a Fletcher coupon for this stay and picked this hotel because we had the impression that it had sea view, which I specifically put in the remarks field. Beside the room price I was given a number of optional choices. None of these choices did not include Sea View, which should have been a choice, if an extra cost will be added to the room bill. I would never have picked this hotel if I knew that it was without sea view. The beach is right behind a big dune, which prevents sea view for many of the rooms.

    Friendly personnel (who are not responsible for the Fletcher WEB-site, which was the problem for our booking of sea view)

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    5.8
    The location is superb and the restaurant provided a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bedroom was very dated and certainly needs an upgrade. The breakfast was very ordinary and didn't excite us at all. A very basic continental breakfast.

    The location is superb and the restaurant provided a very pleasant evening out.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    8.8
    Wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The manager should be obliged to use the shampoo and soap sachets for a week. The guests will quickly see a better solution. try to open them with wet fingers and get soap out while you are under. Hey, such a great hotel: this can be improved.

    Wonderful location. Wonderful staff. Close to shops and beach.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    10
    Reception and checkin was quick efficient and professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was good but basic as was the price so it is not really a complaint just a comment. :)

    Reception and checkin was quick efficient and professional. Rooms are clean, super view of the sea, balcony with ashtray just big enough for 2, Bathtub all the necessary ammenities. Super value for your money

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    9.2
    Great location, very clean rooms and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfasts were typically Dutch (naturally). I did miss the bacon along with the eggs.

    Great location, very clean rooms and helpful staff. Everyone speaks English

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    7.9
    Great location with easy public parking right across the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We requested extra blankets for our two young children but the concierge never showed up with them.

    Great location with easy public parking right across the street. Our room had a sea view which was very nice (even though the weather was cold and rainy while we were there).

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    9.6
    All staff were lovely and helpful.
    • Couple

    The room was small

    All staff were lovely and helpful. Breakfast was really good.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    9.2
    Beds too old
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Beds too old

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    6.7
    We were very happy to get a room for 4
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The pullout bed was uncomfortable.

    We were very happy to get a room for 4

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    6.3
    Right on the L4 west coast cycle path
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    With no air on we slept with window open was woke at 7:0 am with lorry noise under our window.

    Right on the L4 west coast cycle path

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    7.1
    location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room was small. Parking was not available on site. Breakfast not to diverse

    location is excellent. Staff also.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    10
    Very friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    7.9
    Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff, good choice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff, good choice of parking facilities.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    8.3
    It was perfect for myself and my sons and the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It was perfect for myself and my sons and the staff were helpful.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    9.2
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location! Great hotel.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    7.9
    beautiful view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    beautiful view

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    8.8
    Excellent breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms were quite small

    Excellent breakfast Great location And nice and clean room

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    7.9
    Geweldige locatie aan de boulevard/zee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Geweldige locatie aan de boulevard/zee.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    8.8
    Being so close to shops and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Being so close to shops and restaurants. The meal's are good, a bit pricey.

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

Browse Hotel Noordzee traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: