Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Restaurant Scaldis 3 stars

Langeweg 3, 4511 GA Breskens, Netherlands

#19 of 41 hotels in Breskens

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 462 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 16

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.8
    Terrible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    See above

    We were on a bike trip and had an accident and then were separated. Consequently, I arrived late without my husband and did not know where he was. The person in charge did not even bother to answer the phone when the police called around midnight to inform me he had been located. Rude and totally inappropriate behavior especially during an emergency. The rudeness and lack of concern continued the next day. Would never stay here again PS the local police were wonderful!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    5.0
    Unfortunately would not visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dreary, brown dated decor through outdid not enjoy it. Dinning room was dreary with no atmosphere. Continual breakfast was very basic.

    Large bedroom, nice shower

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    Splendid hotel for a short stay in a nice town at the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no elevator in the hotel and the stairs to the first floor are narrow and steep. This makes it difficult to get your luggage to your room. Since the owner does all the work in the restaurant, it sometimes takes a bit longer to get served.

    The location of the hotel is very good, walking distance from the city center, from the beach and from the ferry to Vlissingen. The owner does everything and is a very friendly man. The hotel is very clean and the food in the restaurant is good. Also the breakfast is good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.1
    good hotel with poor surroundings.
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is average and the location of the hotel is poor in the middle of an area with only houses and no interesting places to go.

    The room is very nice with good beds and extra facilities to make coffee

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.0
    Bad price-quality venue
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff, never have encountered such a grumpy receptionist (even in the Netherlands ;-)) Room was clean but very basic. If I would have paid EUR 70, I would have been satisfied.

    Everything outside the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.8
    Close to Jumbo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to Jumbo. Great, secure, dry bike storage overnight! Wifi loud and clear. I prefer to pay the 2 euros for a password protected wifi, than pay nothing for the open version!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    6.7
    The fact that my credit card was charged.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that my credit card was charged. this isn't the idea aa it's only given as a bond and I wanted to pay cash. The man who checked us in wasn't friendly at all.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    2.9
    Nightmare
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel is not what was advertised, definitely doesn't fit in 3 star category. Our room was not in the main building, we were given accommodation in the small building added to the main property. The floor was freezing, we couldn't find the light in the bathroom for 10 minutes. The walls were so thin that you could hear your people next door sneeze. Breakfast was very poor.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.8
    A pleasant one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Happy and friendly service from owner. We cheekily asked for a cutting from his berry plant, which he kindly gave us. Clean. Breakfast. Garden.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Superb, would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This is s lovely hotel, the owner is superb and looked after our group of 12 very well. We all enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Very friendly staff + all premises extremely clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff + all premises extremely clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.0
    The hotel was fine due to the fact that we were out most of the time but I would not choose it again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are very dated, no view at all, the owner somewhat sullen and the breakfast very average.

    The hotel was spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    7.5
    Good bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good bed

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    9.6
    Clean, modern decoration, lovely garden, rooms with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Owner was not over-friendly. Choices at breakfast limited - no loaves of bread or toast (rolls and croissants instead) and no hot food. Although checkout was advertised at 12 noon we were told we had to get out by 10.45, which was inconvenient as we had personal business to do in the town at 13.00, so we had to hang around in the town. Fortunately, the weather was good; it would have been awful if it had been the previous day, when there was heavy rain, thunder and lightening.

    Clean, modern decoration, lovely garden, rooms with balconies, quiet.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    7.9
    • Location - two minutes walk from centre + beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    • paid wifi only - but still not a big deal for me • a little bit oldfashioned

    • Location - two minutes walk from centre + beach • Green roundabouts + terrace • Steakhouse within hotel - superb argentinian steak

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2015

    9.2
    The friendliest service I've received in the Netherlands.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The friendliest service I've received in the Netherlands. I arrived late but the kitchen was kept open for me, and I had a superb dinner. After sleeping like a saint I got a lovely breakfast. Two days later I realized I had left my charger at the hotel and it was mailed to me (I insisted on paying the costs). Superb!

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 16