Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Riche 3 stars

Neerhem 26, 6301 CH Valkenburg, Netherlands

#36 of 52 hotels in Valkenburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1126 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Proper breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proper breakfast. Hospitality of the staff, we were allowed to store our bikes safely, after checkout we could take a shower when we finished biking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    A very happy stay. I will definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea making facilities in the room would have made my stay perfect.

    The staff were friendly and attentive without being intrusive. I was stsying alone and felt very secure. The location of the hotel is excellent. I loved all the fresh flowers in the reception and restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.8
    Amazing location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was not so comfortable. The bathroom had a very bad smell due to bad ventilation.

    Location is perfect. Easy parking and very close to the hotel. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.8
    Valkenburg, lovely place to visit.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked a comfort room, which we expected to be better than what it turned out to be. The room wasn't serviced on the Sunday and I don't think they probably had a vacuum cleaner. Breakfast was fine on the Saturday and Sunday morning, however, on the Monday morning as there were approximately 8 guests remaining it seemed like the left overs.

    Good location for town, friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.7
    Good location, breakfast ok, room poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Have stayed before but this time was disappointed with the room which was in much need of refurbishment. Carpet badly stained an marks on the walls. Bathroom was poor - louvre doors to bathroom were a nuisance and toilet placed too close to the wall for comfort. Shower head did not fit into holder properly.

    Location, comfortable beds and a reasonable breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    4.2
    Richie hotel sadly didn't give me a rich or memorable experience.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thiniest mattress I've ever slept in. A toilet bowl that is raised so you had to balance real carefully before getting up to it or getting off it.

    At least the supervisor or senior person there(don't recall his name) asked me feedback about my stay. You guys should give true and honest and sincere service as service is regardless of who the recipient is. I'll give your hotel a miss next time but maybe if things improve I'll return. Thanks and good luck RH.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    Room was nice and comfortable, clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiting for the receptionist. There was no information about hotel parking, although it was available.

    Room was nice and comfortable, clean. Tasty breakfast. Good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.3
    The bed in the upper deck single room was very comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The third floor -or possibly just my room- smelled of old cigarette smoke. The wi-fi from the room was not available time to time.

    The bed in the upper deck single room was very comfy. Great breakfast and helpful & attentive staff!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.2
    Great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was only 2 blocks to the main town square, and a short walk to the caves & castle ruins. The staff were very helpful & friendly. The room was wonderfully clean. Breakfast was excellent. If I return to Valkenburg I will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.6
    Great budget hotel in ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's clear that if you want to pay more there are finer options in Valkenburg however for us the price, location and superb staff outweighed the dated but clean rooms.

    Friendly hotel in great location....5 min walk from caves, castle and main high street. Valkenburg is a great place to visit but don't go for the Xmas Markets....absolute rubbish.....caves containing mostly Chinese tat. Still...the hotel entertainer made up for it...very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    4.2
    Way overrated! Better to call it Hotel Povre...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water in room, nor water available at reception or in lobby Room smelled horrible Almost never anyone at reception, when we wanted to leave we could not leave because nobody could give us a coin to exit the parking, I had to go behind reception to "steal" one myself to be able to leave the hotel, at 9 am that's ridiculous. Matras doesn't even have a sheet on it, only the topdeck has a sheet The room was extremely overpriced compared to other hotels. This hotel was ran on a 100% cost cutting strategy, all cheapest amenities (if any) and zero extras just to save a buck. Guest comfort is certainly not priority. Echte hollandse zuinigheid!

    Location is very close to centre

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, Bed Breakfast was suppose to be take away. Despite promising that it will be ready to carry away in the morning. It was not there in the morning.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.9
    I didn't have Wifi signal in my room, whereas the signal...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't have Wifi signal in my room, whereas the signal was very good in other rooms. That was very disappointing. I had to pay 10 Euros extra for parking in the hotel garage. I think that should be free for hotel guests

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.5
    Room was rather outdated, but bathroom was already renovated.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was rather outdated, but bathroom was already renovated. Most of hotel was renovated and in general it felt good, relaxed atmosphere with excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    6.7
    Nice location, easy to reach by car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is not really sound proof, can hear showering in next door. The facility is bit out of date.

    Nice location, easy to reach by car. Good parking and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    5.8
    Not what I expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival there was some confusion and the situation was very poorly dealt with by the staff member. The star rating of the hotel should definitely be reconsidered and downgraded

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is great. On the quiet side of town but still a short walk to everything. Spacious room. Breakfast was nice enough to start your day going. The historic ruins are only a short walk. Literally on your doorstep. It's a great family hotel with wonderful staff. We stayed here for the Andre Rieu concert. Instead of staying in Maastricht which was more costly. The hotel organised our trip in and out of Maastricht with a bus service which worked out great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    6.7
    Good breakfast, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In this 4 star level hotel our rooms were on the other side of the street which were actually 2,5 star level rooms. Parking 9 euros per night but on your own risk and responsibility. No free internet in the rooms.

    Good breakfast, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    3.3
    Avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff, room, bed, my booking was supposedly cancelled and a long "discussion" followed (despite the fact that I most certainly did not cancel and had all the necessary documentation to prove that all was in order my side).

    Not much. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    4.6
    NOT A 4 STAR HOTEL....POOR RECEPTION PERSONNEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The guy on reception, was poor, we stayed for 2 nights, asked for clothes hangers on 3 separate occosions...never came....2 Elederly Dads got stuck in the lift, both rooms were not made up, 2.50 for a tiny bottle of water, was not given a token for the car park when we checked out...had to go back and ask for one ! Very unprofessional and frankly did not seem to care ! Hotel is NO WAY a 4 star hotel ......with 1 star reception service !

    Location and staff who worked in the Breakfast bar and brasserie across the road

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.0
    Hotel Riche could have been a lot nicer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was too soft. Bed was very small. No telephone in room. Television did not work. Dirty spots on rug in room. Toilet was in a separate room from the bathroom. Loud talking from people in hallway and other rooms. You should have signs posted in all the hallways, and in each room, in Dutch, French, German, and English, reminding people to be quiet, and allow other guests to sleep. Was told that parking lot gate would open automatically when I returned to the hotel for the night. This is false. The parking lot was locked, and had to be unlocked by the night receptionist. The day receptionist was not able to provide me with a city map of Maastricht. Breakfast service needs at least two waitresses. The one waitress who was on duty could not keep up with the workload, when the breakfast room was full. Radiator (for room heat) did not work, and it was chilly late at night. Spoons for eating soft-boiled eggs were made of thin plastic. Butter patties were served cold and hard, and therefore the butter was difficult to spread. .

    Croissants were warm and extra flakey. Easy access to the room light switches from the bed was nice. Hotel personnel (e.g., receptionist) were friendly and polite.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    6.3
    Ideal location but bedrooms are very tired. I don't know how it achieves 4 stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very tired. Room very hot. No tea making facilities in room. Bathroom flooded when shower used so could only use bath. Information in room not accurate, - weekday breakfast is from 0800 not 0700 as stated.

    Ideal location. Breakfast good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    5.0
    Certainly not the best hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness Fabric & furniture needs an overhaul Breakfast was ok but the cheese had been allowed to dry

    An overpriced second rate hotel that needs refurbishing but in an excellent lication

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    7.9
    nice weekend get away ;)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds a bit soft for my taste.

    great location to go to the Christmas market in the caves. Good selection at breakfast . big room, nice few of the Ruins in Valkenburg.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    8.3
    Very good stay in a good room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    all was ok. The room I had last year had some dark noise the whole time, which was quite irritating. This time I had a better room without noise.

    I had a very good room, a double room, not beautiful but of decent quality.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Very relaxing. Very quiet. Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning or fan in room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.7
    Good location, friendly staff, rich breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite damp and it smelled.

    Good location, friendly staff, rich breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom has a very loud vent and is very basic.

    Very close to the city center, good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.3
    Nice location near the city center, friendly staff with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    Nice location near the city center, friendly staff with funny "Limburgs" accent, very good breakfast and clean room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom could've been nicer, but it was everything we needed.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfast and location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    5.0
    It's not 4 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not 4 star hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    Value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.1
    T V was not working properly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    T V was not working properly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.2
    Staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Scrambled eggs as hot meals only. No sausages etc. Small amount of veggies.

    Staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    close to the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    outdated and dated hotel room, tv was very poor

    close to the centre

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    5.4
    The temperature of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The temperature of the room. Too hot and therefore i needed the window open and then it was noisy outside.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.1
    Cycling holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Tired and dated. No aircon. Poor shower in our room

    Staff where very nice. Breakfast was good. Good secure parking and safe storage for the bike

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    7.9
    Rooms are big and nice and close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No water cooker available in the hotel room

    Rooms are big and nice and close to everything

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    5.0
    far from where was going
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    reception staff not casual

    far from where was going

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    6.7
    I cannot get in!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Problems with door entry took several attempts to resolve. Battery was flat! Road noise Shower controls did not work properly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    5.4
    Loud location, both during the day for traffic and at night...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loud location, both during the day for traffic and at night with nightlife

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    5.8
    Its a roof over your head
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very uncomfortable beds, no support, far too soft. The wi-fi kept falling out. After it had been out for over an hour one evening I was told there is nothing they can do about it.. Without them even trying. A 4 star hotel (which they claim) is obliged to provide coffee/tea making facilities in the room. Instead they provide a nasty notice strictly prohibiting the use of water boilers.. Someone should report them. To add insult to injury they switch off the water boiler in the breakfast room during the day. I had a huge and peculiar bathroom without any outside ventilation. There were 3 holes in the wall connected to another internal room. This provided a sickeningly sweet perfume type smell combined with undertones of cigarette smoke. Revolting. Breakfast was adequate but entirely unvaried in the 7 days I stayed. Bad service, no answer at reception, the phone is just left to ring. Someone waited there for over 10 minutes after ringing the bell one morning. Desperate to check out he had to go behind the counter to find someone. Eventually madam (who was scrubbing the kitchen very loudly during breakfast) was found, -she didn't even apologise.

    Its a roof over your head

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    10
    Excellent location close to town centre with good car...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location close to town centre with good car parking. Clean and comfortable room. Delicious coffee and breakfast with plenty of choice. Very helpful and friendly staff. Would definitely recommend.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    10
    It was nice to stay in the hotel, it has perfect location ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The WiFi never worked I'm the room or anywhere in the hotel.

    It was nice to stay in the hotel, it has perfect location and it the employee's were very attentive. I wil be back.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2015

    9.6
    Friendly and pleasent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only minor quibble was no tea/coffee making facilities in room.

    Friendly and pleasent staff. Quiet hotel, very close to town centre and dining facilities but far enough from any weekend noise. Clean , comfortable and well maintained room. Good breakfast and reasonable variety of options. Excellent value for money overall. Would certainly consider staying there again.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    8.3
    Very comfortable bed and good range of foods for breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    On arriving at Reception I was met (not greeted) by a man whose demeanour was distinctly cool. He was curt, unsmiling and told me that he had taken the payment from my credit card the day before - I was expecting to pay in cash on the day. I really did not like him one little bit.

    Very comfortable bed and good range of foods for breakfast

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    7.9
    Nice Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice Location

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    7.9
    Best breakfat ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Tea/coffee/kettle in room

    Best breakfat ever

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    6.7
    Alright for one night stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Decor could be improved

    Alright for one night stay !

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    9.2
    Location, breakfast and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location, breakfast and friendly staff. Great room for 3 people

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    9.6
    Friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast with a variety of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No tea and coffee making facilities in room. No view from room.

    Friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast with a variety of food. Comfortable rooms.

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    7.1
    central location, comfy bed, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    grumpy and rude barman, ice cold hot tap water and ice cold shower

    central location, comfy bed, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    6.7
    Staff at reception are not welcomming
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff at reception are not welcomming

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    8.8
    Very good location, close to restaurants bars and shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very good location, close to restaurants bars and shops. Great small town, friendly and welcoming people.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    10
    Friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly, helpful staff. Location - 5 min stroll to restaurants. Value for money.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    7.5
    Nice place to rest after work.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Nice place to rest after work.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    6.7
    Location, personnel, breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    State of the shower, toilet, stairs, etc.: (too) old

    Location, personnel, breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    9.2
    quiet, clean, comfort bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    quiet, clean, comfort bed

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    7.1
    The cheap roomrate
    • Solo traveller

    The cheap roomrate

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    9.2
    Good basic hotel close to the city center and yet in a quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Good basic hotel close to the city center and yet in a quiet zone. Very friendly staff, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2015

    9.6
    Very good choice of food items at breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hard to find fault.

    Very good choice of food items at breakfast

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2015

    8.3
    LOCATION AND COMFORT OKAY
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    PARKING NOT INCLUDED IN PRICE ,THEY should have told us from the beginning

    LOCATION AND COMFORT OKAY

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Guests also reviewed these properties: