Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Schaepkens van St Fijt 3 stars

Nieuweweg 40-44, 6301 EV Valkenburg, Netherlands

#42 of 52 hotels in Valkenburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2079 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying the bill on arrival very unusual Having to buy chips to pay for drinks nothing could be added to your room bill. A 3% surcharge on a Visa DEBIT card. I used it to pay the bill Booking and paying cash for each nights dinner, nothing could be added to your room bill because one had to pay it on arrival. These things are unusual and very irritating which spoiled in a way a very good hotel.

    A good hotel and a gated car park which was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Almost everything was below my expectations, except the bathrooms, they have just been refurnished. The hotel is old fashioned, very different from pictures. Staff is not very professional, especially in the bar, not in good mood, not willing to help clean the tables outside on the terrasse, glasses that were nog clean and smelly. I stayed 5 days for work but they gave me a room just above the bar and terrasse, so there was a lot of noice at night. I could change rooms though when I asked, but they could have given that a thought before. A lot of elderly people visit this hotel, with the respective music at night. Swimming pool and fitness are not in hotel but a 10 min walk to the city center. The garden looks beautiful but the chairs and tables were not prepared for use, often still wet from the rain. In the bar you can only pay with red plastic coins, which you have to buy at reception first day. 30EUR, not less, but you return what is left when you leave. stupid system.

    the location is close to the train station and it only takes 10-15 min to get to Maastricht Central.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all

    The location is excellent; plenty of room for parking; spacious and well-presented grounds; a friendly and efficient check-in; large spotlessly clean room with excellent facilities; plenty of choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Possibly too close to the lifts (room 226) as not all guests respect the request to keep the noise down, and check out on the Sunday was busy with people moving bikes and luggage, so if you are a light sleeper or have pets that are easily disturbed you might want a different room. WiFi was hit and miss, coffee from the automatic coffee machine was not so nice but the filter coffee option was fine. Bathroom needs a coat of paint but was fine otherwise

    Stayed for the weekend of Amstel gold, very spacious room easy access with all the kit I had with me. Left my booking late but was pleasantly surprised by the hotel. Plenty to eat at breakfast and general outside noise levels were fine. Very helpful check in staff, could leave my bikes in a secure location whilst I want and watched the race on Sunday. Plenty of parking, outside areas looked nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a large hotel that has a long history in Valkenburg. There are many function rooms and a nice bar. There is also a large garden with a terras. The room was a bit outdated but that had it's charm in combination with the hotels history. Internet speed was ok The breakfastbuffet was nice and big with good choices.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is small and need updating. Hotel need some tender and care. Ok to stay for a short stay. Stayed in better hotels price/locations wise.

    The location is close to the city centre. Breakast was good and parking at the hotels lot.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel doesn't accept credit or debit cards (Mastercard or Visa) so insisted on being paid in cash. This wasn't clear at the time of booking so had to spend time looking for a cash machine.

    Good location. Short walk into town. Comfortable room with nice en-suite. Wonderful breakfast selection.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location claims to be 4 star, which is not the case. Building is old, rooms are small and dark, there is no hairdryer in the room, no water bottles. Breakfast is average - weekend till 10:30 and 10:30 everything was already cleaned up, so we could not even get an extra cup of coffee. We paid EUR 144 for the night, which is extremely expensive for the service we got.

    Location is very good; close to the city center

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel DID NOT take Visa, MasterCard or Cash Passports which seemed odd. I had to walk into town to find an ATM to draw money to pay for the room. This seemed unacceptable in this modern time of card payments. This should have been mentioned during the booking process.

    The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, hotel was within walking distance of the town and railway station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No bar after a certain hour. We could get water to drink but nothing else. We didn't mind so much but thought it was worth mentioning.

    24 hour reception- as we arrived very late in the evening

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For a four star hotel; torn towel, no kleenex in the toilet, no small plastic bags in the toilet.

    In general it is a good hotel well locketed. Old type but kleen room. nice looking Baroque style ferntures.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was perfect. Just a little surprised that they did not accept visa. No TV reception in the room as the cable in the street had been damaged, there was a note about it displayed but if you can't speak Dutch!

    A lovely friendly hotel, with excellent staff (especially Dominque). The buffet evening meal was superb, plenty of choice, we were only B & B and intended eating in only the first night, but enjoyed the meal so much we ate in every evening. 10 out of 10 to the lovely gardening team who keep the garden area looking so good. Breakfast plenty of choice. Restaurant staff very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    *Labels on the food would have been useful, esp. on mixed dishes - I like to know what I'm eating! (Also husband had to avoid the mixed fruit at breakfast as we couldn't tell whether it included grapefruit, which he can't eat for medical reasons.) *Room rather cramped, with limited storage space (but to be fair, we did book a basic room at the last minute). *TV system was temporarily out of order, though this wasn't the hotel's fault.

    *Very convenient location & parking. *Good value buffet dinner which we had on first & final night. *Wide choice at breakfast, incl. lovely cheeseboard. *Friendly, helpful staff, esp. on reception. We reported a washbasin plug missing & replacement was provided the same day. Plenty of comfortable all-weather areas for smokers. *Ref. previous reviews: using orange juicer at breakfast was optional, as jug juices were also provided; passing trains were very quiet & didn't disturb us at all; mystery smell around hotel has gone, as the drains have been fixed!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was old, no modernisation, at the bar you had to pay with coins that you had to buy at the reception.. So everything calculating because sometimes there was happy hour but if you picked iT up at the bar iT was half price. We didnt know..0,67 was one coin so you had to calculate again and again..shower was not clean and peaces were broken... Not worth the money at all..breakfast presentation could be better and coffee was not my taste ...

    The garden was nice .... And the entranxe untill you got further in the hotel unfortunately

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel had a horrible smell and we had to have window open at all times. The place was just neglected. The decor needed updating as did all the carpets and curtains. Everywhere was gloomy and it was just depressing. We only had the free breakfast the first morning and didn't go back. The coffee was undrinkable. We stayed out as long as possible as we did not want to go back to hotel.

    The location was minutes away from train station and there were shops and restaurants nearby

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is an outdated hotel. Management clearly is not interested in updating it. Staff is grumpy except for one or two young people. Understaffed. Annoyed also at each other. only possible to pay with local bank card. No credit cards are accepted. So cash only. You have to carry your own luggage through the garden to your room. Small rooms: Old carpets that smell. No airco. Cracks in the sink. Only a soap dispenser in the bathroom. No room service. With some investment it could be a great place as the location is nice and the garden also. The local older population seems to enjoy it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom & shower room were awful. Very cramped, no air con or fan & sounded like we were sharing with room next door. Cheap furniture & carpet, lighting dreadful & 3 large nails/screws in wall where picture had been removed. Really bad quality soap/shampoo in shower. Evening meal was so awful that we didn't bother eating it on 2nd night. Gin & tonic served with no lemon & small amount of crushed ice floating on top. No ice cubes available (bear in mind that we were sitting in garden in glorious sunshine). Drinks & any extras had to be paid for with tokens.....bizarre. Bill had to be settled with cash on arrival. Credit cards not accepted & machine rejected 4 separate debit cards....would be advisable to warn people about this before taking bookings. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Good breakfast...fresh squeezed orange juice excellent. Lovely garden & plenty of secure parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Standard rooms too tight. Good for young people. Carpet in the rooms is not the best "save" floor. Place of the hotel, outside, parking (no negative points) and service were nice but sometimes personal was a little "lost". Overall, I will book for the next year but not a standard room. THEY SHOULD CHANGE THE QUALITY OF THEIR COFFEE SERVED AT THE BREAFAST. It is so bad. Coffee served at the bar or outside is ok.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather was hot, the hotel was not ready for this ( just electric fan is enough to solve this problem)

    The location is good, the breakfast is excellent, the staff is friendly, nice trip

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit outdated: no airco, bathroom looked very old, room was quite dark. This should have been better for the price

    Breakfast was ok. The bed was also fine.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room didn't really look like the photos we had seen when making our booking. The room was very small and unimaginatively decorated. I didn't enjoy the flimsy plastic cups in the bathroom. There was no hairdryer in the bathroom, although I'm sure one would have been provided upon request.

    The hotel grounds were pretty and nicely laid out. There was a lot of space to sit in the gardens and enjoy the late afternoon sun. The town is just a short walk away and offers a lot to see, with a great mix of historical sites (most impressive of all being the Valkenburg ruins), canals and vibrant restaurants. The breakfast was excellent. There was a hot buffet, with a really wide variety of food to choose from. The food was very tasty.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very plain bathroom and our "view" was the roof. Couldn't pay with Visa debit or creditcard (mc)! Awkard for our overseas visitors like us!

    Very comfortable rooms. Lovely breakfast with lots of choices.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were maybe a little small but in general it was fine. The Bathrooms felt a little outdated.

    Pets stay for free which was great. The location is perfect in the town and close to walk to everything, and great outdoor space around the hotel for sitting outside and enjoying a drink

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room very small just room for double bed, price paid excessive for size and facilities in room No tea/ coffee making in room. No credit cards accepted, we had to pay cash but booked with Booking.com and you advertised credit card booking .

    Bed was very comfortable Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room quite small, in the eves, bed comfortable but pillows awful. Room carpet wasn't cleaned for three days out of the 4 nights we were there. Although the bathroom was clean and had floor mat when we arrived the following two days no mat or hand towels plus large towels were only changed once. One receptionist very friendly and helpful not the other one and we found just the same with the restaurant staff made you feel a bit as if you were in the way.

    Good position for town centre. Secure car park. Breakfast good selection of hot and cold food, rolls and fruit.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel seemed mainly geared for coach holidays. Seal on the shower door was poor hence you stepped out into a large puddle (they did give us extra towels each day to overcome slipping)

    Easy walking distance to the town centre. Railway station is only five minutes away if you want to visit Maastricht and the train runs every 15 minutes which was great. Good choice on the breakfast menu. Good secure parking facilities.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms on top floor had sloping ceiling which hit ones head. Had to use tokens to pay for drinks.

    Breakfast buffet was very good. Easy walking distance to town.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internally the hotel and our room looked a little 'tired'. No hairdryer in the room, no little toiletries, cheap loo roll. Breakfast was ok but flies buzzing round everything....yuk.

    Great location Outside garden Parking Wifi

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is a lot less equipped than what I've come to expect; there was no tea or coffee making facilities, no toiletries in the bathroom (shampoo, conditioner) and no hairdryer. The only soap available was hand foam in the shower and by the sink; not the most effective after a long day of walking. The rooms weren't sound-proofed; I could here the music downstairs from the second floor. Also the situation with the bar is strange. You can't buy drinks using money, you need to buy tokens from the reception. Alright for one night but wouldn't stay again.

    The location and the grounds of the property are great. Just a 2 minute walk from the train station and a 10 minute walk from the centre of the city. If you're purely concerned with location it's a good place to stay for easy access. During good weather, sitting outside having a coffee in the inviting gardens would be a treat.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are rather small and due to the warm weather stuffy. The corridors are very dated and in need of refurbishing. To buy a drink you need to buy coins instead of having your consumptions charged to your room.

    Very nice garden Located near the village Breakfast well supplied and nice

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel worked out great for us as they have a shower you can use after checkout, which was what we needed after a hard training ride on Sunday, and before heading home.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were put in an apartment when we had booked 2 separate rooms. The apartment was dreadful with no privacy whatsoever. No lock or latch on the bathroom or bedroom door and a see through glass bedroom door. Appalling!

    The location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just about everything! Sorry, but these seasoned travellers were seldom so disappointed in a hotel as with this one! Price-quality ratio totally out of proportion. Worth max. one-third of what we paid.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Delicious breakfast :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was small. We had a standard room.

    Location and breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lights in the room to read. Bathroom with an uncomfortable shower. Good breakfast. No dinner because not enough clients. Good parking for the car.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No door or curtain in the shower cubicle. Flooded the floor every time I showered.

    Helpful staff member. Good choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior+ Room (2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was too dark and some lamps didn't work

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hallway of the hotel looks old and smells not so fresh, but the room was clean and proper.

    The location is great!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that you needed to pay in cash, the token system and the reluctance to replenish the breakfast dishes

    Closeness of the town centre

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking great. Nice hotel bar. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to buy tokens at the reception to use in the bar

    Great location and friendly staff + easy to park

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms didn't seem that clean

    Location of hotel was perfect! Staff was great and breakfast was very good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed too soft, TV did not work

    Easy to walk to centrum, close to railway station and perfect breakfat and dinner!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small with strange smell Bathroom can only fit 1 person.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very warm and tv not working

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very nice breakfast en good evening dinner live music at night was a bonus friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior+ Room (2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needs updating! Dark corridors, sewage smell in the corridors. Beds not comfortable.

    Plenty of choices for food. Nice garden. Good location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We couldn't use a credit card to pay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not take credit card so will not stay again

    staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom was not well equiped: hair dryer was broke; less soap

    nice outdoors space

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Huge choice of food to suit most tastes!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    friendly enviroment for cyclist,good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one chair in room.

    Food and service very good. Pet friendly super!!! Seating in garden wonderful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was Very Poor

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of old people, old furniture and the overall style of the place

    Breakfast was oke and the bed was good enough

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we had smelt of drains so we asked to be moved

    Bed was ok

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a nice stay at the hotel!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Visa and MasterCard credit are on longer us at this hotel

    Breakfast standard had droped since our visit in June 2016

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outdated bathroom, outdated room (even with upgrade), noise in corridors, everything industriel on the breakfast buffet.

    Beautiful garden

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Garden layout with varied seating places. Token payment system for drinks. Large off road parking area.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room outdated

    Breakfast Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is dated and could do with a face-lift.

    Great location near centre of town and train station, lovely grounds, friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Decor a bit dated

    Friendly, helpful staff, good breakfast (for Europe!), great location. Cyclist friendly!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The level of noise in the rooms was disturbing. Not only because there was a noisy group of British teenagers staying in the evening, but you could hear everything from the flushing of toilets/showers, to people in the corridor and the closing of doors, etc... Our beds were also too soft.

    You could make your own fresh orange juice at the breakfast buffet.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Couldn't buy a drink, they have a strange token arrangement. Public areas very dated. Breakfast ok. But can't comment otherwise on food. Place half empty but still got a room at the rear with a view of the flat roof

    Not a lot! Weird place, in a time warp. Was told buffet dinner was "off". Room shabby but clean.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    They have no standards. When there were fewer people the breakfast was very pr. When other guests arrived it was richer. It should not be this way. My room was cleaned only on the third day as the cleaning person had days off. Can you imagine such a service in the middle of Europe?

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2016

    • Group

    I stayed at this hotel last year (booked directly) and had a fair-sized standard room looking onto the quiet garden. This time I used booking.com and was delighted to see that for little extra money I could get a larger Superior Room. However, that was a very bad deal. Yes the room was bigger but like ALL their Superior Rooms it looks out onto the busy main road. So much more noise throughout the nights even with the windows closed (no triple glassing). Based on my positive experience last year, I recommended the hotel to two friends. Again one room was noisy and there were problems with the door not locking. The other one was directly next to the lift. My friends were not impressed.

    The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in at a hotel. We picked this one as it was last minute and not too pricey, so we didn't mind that it was sparse and didn't have anything extra (like shampoo). We just wanted a bed to sleep in. After getting about 2 hours of sleep, we both decided to never come back. The bed had no sheets, one sparse blanket that was itchy, and lumpy pillows that seemed 40 years old. We spent the night being itchy and worried there were bedbugs. The room was super hot and stufdy and had no temperature control. Don't recommend!

    Staff were nice and parking was free. Orange juice press at breakfast was nice.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Noisy inside Inattractive interieur (wall motifs etc.), worn out impression At 3PM the restaurant was out of chicken and only had salmon. Luckily we like that too The coin payment system in the café

    Location Parking Staff Pet friendly

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not recommended for young couples as the main clientele are people well into their retirement age. Lots of wheelchairs, strollers etc - place felt like an elderly home.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Could have done with tea and coffee facilities and the bar staff were a bit off putting but quite funny and made a great end to the night tokens were different.

    Great price and within 10 minutes of the town centre a nice walk down. Friendly staff and clean rooms. Breakfast was very continental but plenty of it.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience but could have done with tea making facilities and hairdryer in room.

    Excellent location a lovely town. The food was lovely and the staff extremely friendly and polite.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had one of the rooms on the top floors. It was quite small with not a lot of space to move around. We stayed during a period of warm weather and the temperature in the room was a bit uncomfortable as it got too warm. Some things were rather basic- e.g. plastic drink cups in bathroom, an actual glass would be nice as it increases comfort standards but that might just be being picky!

    Central location. Helpful staff. Good breakfast. Overall clean and comfortable enough for one night.

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Schaepkens van St Fijt traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: