Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Van der Valk Hotel Stein Urmond 4 stars

Mauritslaan 65, 6129 EL Urmond, Netherlands

#1 of 1 hotels in Urmond

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 965 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.8
    Location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Level of light in the room. In the past there was very good lighting. Nowadays it is too dark. Dinner Meal selection is very limited. Used to be much more versatile.

    Location is perfect. .Sanitairy Facilities are clean and work well. Very good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.3
    Rich breakfast, very nice public areas but poor room conditions...empty minibar...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very bad smell in the bathroom of room 531! shower wall full of mold...very dirty shower walls!! the water in the shower was almost impossible to be turned off completely so was dripping all night...every night (i stayed 3 nights this time) this is really way too expensive (120 eur/room/night) for the conditions in the room offered! not even close to 3 stars...but 4 is way too much! sorry, i stayed many timed in other Van Der Valk hotels (Herleen, Charleroi..etc)...but with conditions much better than this one! i wonder why the made after cleaning the room doesn't announce anyone that the water is leaking on the walls...and why they do not do anything to fix this.

    excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    Most convenient
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the hot summer left a lot of dust on the furniture. More attention needed.

    A lot of space and very friendly personel Very clean bathroom

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very curious way in which the lift numbers worked. For example reception was on the third floor, but you had to press the zero button. The numbers on the hotel floor areas were not the same as the numbers for floors in the public areas. Very cofuising. I got from France to Sweden and only got lost once, that was in this hotel.

    It was more or less perfect

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.8
    Good hotel if you are not a food enthusiast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant food was poor quality. Disappointing. The plate does not reflect the look of the restaurant. Some of the staff seems inexperienced. Regular water is charged 3.5 euros without notice.

    The bedroom was OK. The look of the hotel inside seems of good standard. Can park the car in front of the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Very good and I am back in July.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No swimming pool and one or two of the boys serving at the bar were very slow Nor the girls ???

    The reception staff bar staff abd waiters at our reception meal were all excellent nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Attention to decorative detail throughout communal areas,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attention to decorative detail throughout communal areas, providing lovely ambience and warm welcome. Exceptionally clean throughout with well equipped rooms, hotel facilities for wide range of guests. Easy access for Limburg and Maastricht areas, walking and cycling interests. Excellent A la carte or buffet menu in restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    8.3
    Handy for business in Geleen
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room temperature a little difficult to get spot on. Some more English TV channels would be nice.

    Good location for work, near to science / chemistry park. The turtle pond was a nice touch!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    wonderful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Recommended! Conventiently located near highway A2; comfy beds; very nice double 'rain' and hand shower; coffee and tea in the room; excellent breakfast (buffet, lots of choice); friendly and experienced staff. We wanted the room warmer but didn't find out how - the receptionist personally came to our room to help us out (the airconditioning unit is also a heater!). We couldn't use all facilities as it was a short stay but those are recommended, too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.3
    A good rest stop when having an appointment in Limburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The queues in the morning during breakfast awaiting a cup of coffee.

    The wildbuffet was excellent, prices include wine (white and red), water (with and without bubbles) and a large variety of wild and fish.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable beds, easy on/off highway, clean rooms,...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable beds, easy on/off highway, clean rooms, friendly staff, and lots of amenities in the hotel rooms. We go to this location every year for their event services and are never disappointed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.1
    would repeat visit if travelling with my wife. Alone, l would prefer more no-frills hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not possible to sleep with open window owing to nearby autoroute noise

    room lighting would have been good, but for failed bedside light bulb. room was comfortable with good bathroom/shower

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    4.6
    Usual under deliver experience at this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ground floor room for a lady travelling on her own. Card key for room machine was broken so no card avaialble. Staff didn't drop it off.

    Convenient location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable with helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location of the disabled room was right next to the deliveries at rear of hotel.

    Luckily they had a disabled room spare as we had booked a standard room. Staff booked us into the room which had parking right outside making it so much easier for us. The room was spacious with tea making facilities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    5.0
    Breakfast was good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a very bad odour of cigarette in my room. Despite the room was non-smoking somebody had smoked indoor and leaving the door of the balcony open did not help to get rid of the smell. The hotel was also fully booked and they could not change my room. I had really a bad night because of this. Service at the restaurant was not good either. I sat with my colleague for a long time at a table. Nobody paid any attention to bring the menu or asking us what we want. The quality of the food that my colleague ordered was not good either. According to her, the meat was very though.

    Breakfast was good. WIFI speed was reasonably fast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    7.1
    The van der Valk hotels offer a consistent quality, which...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The van der Valk hotels offer a consistent quality, which was the case here as well. It's always a pleasant stay, the food is good, and the rooms are spacious. The bathroom was completely renovated and very modern. We asked for a ground floor room which was provided, and we could park right in front of the room, which was convenient.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    10
    Excellent Service / Great Salad bar.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To be honest I am not sure what more could be done. Keep up the standards.

    Comfortable bed and good size room. Love the Limburg Stew. If you consider sending this dish to people please send me some. Friendly atmosphere and helpful staff all combined to make a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.2
    Excellent place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains in the room should be tightened up: the ends are hanging down in a sad way.

    Very good breakfast, good Service, good Restaurant. Nice big room and renovated bathroom. I like the turtles in the hall.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel, excellent location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some in our group found the beds too firm - but perfect for me. We also ordered a double room but they were just two single beds pushed together.

    Beautiful bathrooms with bath and shower, good quality toiletries, a firm bed and excellent continental breakfast. The bar is beautiful too!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    8.3
    There is a gym and restaurant.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is really expensive.

    There is a gym and restaurant. The room I stayed in was modern and clean and the temperature was good. Good hotel. WIFI was good only had trouble one night.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    5.4
    Huge noise people until 01 AM .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Huge noise people until 01 AM ... 1st they atribute a room that had half celling ... and after telling that was not correct since I slept more then 25 nights in this hotel I had the worse room, they change to a better one !

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    8.8
    The hotel is good for business trips.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is far from the city. No buffet dinner during the week. As a foreigner you don't have many options to eat here. It would be good the hotel opens the buffet dinner daily.

    The hotel is good for business trips. The location is near to the industrial park. Nice and clean.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    10
    I enjoyed the (renovated) bathroom.
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit noisy caused by other guests and the entrance has quite some stairs.

    I enjoyed the (renovated) bathroom. The rest of the room is not fancy, but it has quite some comfort: comfortable beds, coffee machine and plenty of choice for breakfast. For me it was convenient the hotel was near the motorway.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    5.8
    OK, but staff were ignorant. Isolated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff need lessons on politeness, there are no shops or bars/restaurants anywhere near without needing to drive.

    A quality Hotel, clean and well kept

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    7.5
    Proximity to all the freeways to get out of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for two rooms next to each other because our daughter was with us that time and although they said they would do that we were on the second floor and she was on the 5th floor

    Proximity to all the freeways to get out of town. Although the place was booked full they did have plenty of parkingplaces.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast is really good and nice to have air conditioning...
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room prices are quite expensive

    Breakfast is really good and nice to have air conditioning in the rooms

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    3.8
    The brasserie food was ome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room very very old !

    The brasserie food was ome

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Was a great stay. I really enjoyed it. I will definetly come again. I highly recommended it
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room does not have Soft tissues, only toilet tissues are available

    Food quality was fantastic, outside setting is spacious and pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast. Clean and comfortable. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    A lovely hotel with great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    It's a friendly, efficient and very well presented hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    I like the Hotel it is comfprtable the beds are good the breakfast is good the staff on reception a
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I know you were so busy with Andre Reui and a wedding and a Masonic meeting and had new staff some of whom needed a little extra training....

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable stay, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much plastic in the bathroom (cups, soaps). Not enough bars. Hooks to put the towels.

    Friendly staff. Room size good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    good restaurant as usual at van der valk ;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    one of the older type van der valks, could use some 'updating'

    good restaurant as usual at van der valk ; very nice dinner !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    8.8
    Great!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to improve. Keep it up!

    Incredible breakfast!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    Breakfast buffet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty old elevator

    Breakfast buffet

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.8
    Restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff

    Restaurant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.3
    Great
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautifull bathroom with bath

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.5
    Bar manager was miserable all other staff were great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar manager was miserable all other staff were great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Everything we stayed before and will be back next year
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything we stayed before and will be back next year

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.3
    Almost everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No window could be opened during the night

    Almost everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    The staff was very friendly;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very friendly; excellent. Famous restaurant! We liked the hotel very much.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.6
    Perfect price/stay combination
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could use an update

    Awesome gym! Clean and new bathroom. Great Breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    7.9
    Business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    SIlent room has been requested, but was noisy ( direction to high way). Be carefull.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    9.6
    Extremely pleasant stay. Enjoyed it very much.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillars were poor in the bedroom

    Breakfast was very good Room was nice and outdoor balcony was lovely

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    9.2
    Everything was fine.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was fine.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    9.2
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not take breakfast - too costly

    location, staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    7.1
    Good facilities.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The gym was only open from 9:00 to 13:00... so I couldn't use it.

    Good facilities. Good comfort. Good restaurant (a bit expensive, though). Good staff.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    7.5
    Staff is nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel is a bit old, bed not very comfortable and old.

    Staff is nice. Hotel is next to the office of DSM which is great, good breakfast, nice and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    5.0
    There is a gym and good breakfast selection.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was very cold throughout the night and I had the heating on. There is much noise from the pipes and others. This may just be the rooms on the ground floor that has this noise. Also the bathroom was not clean.

    There is a gym and good breakfast selection.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    5.4
    Room was nice and clean and big.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Gym hours were poor. Staff was not knowledgable about the area and couldn't show me on a map where a good running route would be. There was no remote control in the room and staff's response was "yes this happens frequently". Smokestacks and highway was what I saw from my window.

    Room was nice and clean and big. The restaurant looked nice though I didn't use it.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    6.3
    single beds are small, cover even smaller.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    single beds are small, cover even smaller. paid 15€ for one hour late check-out. quelity of food in restaurant far below what is normal van der Valk quality.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    7.5
    As with most Valk properties this is comfortable with quiet...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed felt rather soft and worn

    As with most Valk properties this is comfortable with quiet rooms, lots of parking close to the room and very good restaurant and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    10
    The breakfast had lots of hot and cold options.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast had lots of hot and cold options. The staff were very helpful and answered queries politely. The outside area to eat and/or drink was an asset, especially as it was really hot on our visit.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    7.9
    The administrative staff and kitchen host
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The female cook on the second day and forth would not make a cheese omelet upon request. The male cook was able to grant request the first day. After the first day the eggs were cold for the rest of the week.

    The administrative staff and kitchen host

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    9.2
    The breakfast was awesome.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room 203 was next to the elevator. Not a good idea. It was very loud all the time.

    The breakfast was awesome. It took me 30 minutes to check due to an issue. Kim was very patient and we work it out great front desk service.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    10
    Doorgaan!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Niets

    Doorgaan!

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    8.8
    Real Value for money .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    none

    Real Value for money . top class comfort

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    10
    Alles het was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Alles het was perfect

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    9.6
    Check in manager very friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Check in manager very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    9.6
    Nice room good food and very nice staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    All was ok for me

    Nice room good food and very nice staff

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2016

    7.5
    Nice restaurant.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Restaurant service quite slow.

    Nice restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    10
    Bar, Restaurant and also the room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bar, Restaurant and also the room

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    7.5
    Personnel was very helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Gym closes too early in the evening.

    Personnel was very helpful! Gym is very-very good.

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    9.2
    Staff are friendly
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Nothing is in a walking distance and had to use the car for everything

    Staff are friendly Nice breakfast options Comfortable bed

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    6.3
    Good position for commuting - saves driving into Antwerp
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No restaurant Tiny gym A little dated

    Good position for commuting - saves driving into Antwerp Very large rooms

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2015

    8.3
    Excellent hotel, good facilities/ wifi, convenient
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Close to the main road, can be noisy

    Excellent hotel, good facilities/ wifi, convenient

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    8.3
    Breakfast, gym
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms a bit noisy

    Breakfast, gym

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    7.9
    Gym
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noise every time door closes

    Gym

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    9.6
    Great location, nothing missing for the traveller,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Entry area poorly marked

    Great location, nothing missing for the traveller, everything you need is there.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    7.9
    Close to Chemelot, good hotel for work.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Close to Chemelot, good hotel for work.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    9.6
    Everything was great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything was great. Excellent location for a DSM business trip, otherwise perhaps a strange location but it was a very enjoyable stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    9.2
    The hotel was modern and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was modern and clean. Great bathtub! Good variety of food at breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    10
    Everything was superb from location to rooms staff and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was superb from location to rooms staff and food

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    9.6
    Overall an excellent place to stay, a comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Overall an excellent place to stay, a comfortable room. This hotel has a lot to offer to all kinds of guests.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    8.8
    Rooms were nice, clean, big, big TV, excellent Internet,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms were nice, clean, big, big TV, excellent Internet, good breakfast

There are also 44 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Van der Valk Hotel Stein Urmond traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: