Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Tesselhof 3 stars

Kaapstraat 39, 1796 AE De Koog, Netherlands

#13 of 17 hotels in De Koog

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1036 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Location is excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was a bit unstable but being in a place with such nature around I guess it’s possible to deal with. Room had balcony to the back part of the hotel; so sometimes you hear employees pulling the rubbish cart or talking

    Location is excellent Room was clean and spacious Room had sauna for 10€ a day and it fits 2 people. It’s great quality sauna. Parking for free and in front of hotel Walking distance from beach, restaurants and supermarkets Bed is comfortable It has a mini fridge Coffee/tea facilities Suggestion: I loved to have a cat around and being able to touch and play. As most of restaurants have something where dogs can drink water, why not to provide water and food to those cats and a mini shelter? Also neuter them. TNR method. They are around that area cause they are being fed but still skinny. So an idea is to provide them help. They work excellent at the restaurant and food is great. We will come back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Great overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike but be warned about chiming church bells on the hour through the night.

    Staff amazing and very accommodating. Huge room and exceptionally clean. Great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.1
    More of a hostel for walkers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    La Casserole, the lack of any ambience, and the basic feel.

    Not sure about other facilities on Texel but this felt more like a hostel for walkers. The staff, however, were very helpful and friendly. Although we had to search for someone to check us out at 08:00. I think our main reflections are governed by the in house restaurant. It can never be a dining experience when people are sitting at their table in walking gear of hoodies and walking boots; and in some instances with their dog. It wasn’t helped, despite having booked weeks before, to be told our table was being made ready when in fact they were waiting for a table to be vacated. We were finally sat down at 19:30 and three courses and one hour later were the only people in the restaurant and realised they were finishing. Good food, excellent service but felt like a refuelling excercise. There did appear to be other restaurants on the strip that looked more of an experience, rather than a cafe, and still serving at 20:30

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    6.7
    Pricy for what u get, but location makes up a lot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sauna
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced. Rooms are not cosy. Plastic furniture and charged extra cost without letting us know before.

    They made extra effort for our (diet) breakfast. Staff is very nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Staff are wonderful and the hotel is very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    we thought we were getting a double bed not two singles pushed together? Also we love a cup of tea but no kettle facility's.

    Staff are wonderful and the hotel is very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The chairs at the dining table were a little uncomfortable. This was only important to us as we like to stay up late and play cards.

    We enjoyed our stay. The location is great. Close to the beach, grocery stores and restaurants. Family friendly. Great breakfast!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.6
    It's situated in the city centrum, everything was really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sauna
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's situated in the city centrum, everything was really close. Beach is just 5 minutes away and plenty of restaurants are nearby. Lovely place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    8.3
    Large suite with small kitchen for reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    A carpet in the room would make it feel a bit warmer.

    Large suite with small kitchen for reasonable price. Good breakfast included and even the possibility to get a packed lunch.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    8.3
    A sleep in the 'heart' of De Koog!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We stayed in the apartment and it provides us with lots of space and well-equipped kitchen. It would be great if the apartments could be renovated and upgraded as the furniture are old and floor needs to be fixed. We found the plastic plants downgrade the room. Instead of plastic plants, perhaps a bit of fresh flowers would be better. Perhaps some nice pictures would be a great addition on the bed (cause it looks empty). I assume this is a friendly hotel for pets. We don't mind at all. However, the smell on the hallway was uncomfortable. I wonder if there could be a solution so whenever we enter the hallway to our room we would have a good feeling (holiday feeling not a damp stinky place).

    Location is GREAT! In the heart of De Koog. Lekker Timmer Bakker is just in front of you. Staff is friendly. Spacious and clean apartment room. Breakfast!! We love the different smoothies every morning. Great croissants. Offer 4 different types of coffee. Would be great if sausages or frikadelle could substitute bacons (so there will be variety of warm food served in the morning - not always bacons). Love the fruits salads! Perhaps quark could be added. :) Love the 'play' area with different activities. Tesselhof is the 6th hotel that we've stayed in Texel. It's great to have the opportunity to stay here. Now we know that this hotel would be an option whenever we are back to Texel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    7.9
    Good facilities, great location, reccomended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit more friendliness and engagement with the customers. The staff did their jobs but no more.

    Management was flexible in giving us alternative appt when there was a problem in first appt offered.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    10
    Great hotel on a perfect location!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sauna
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the breakfast, the location and the sauna in the room! Staff was unbelievable friendly and helpful. Very happy we got to stay a week in this great hotel. We will be back some day for sure!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    9.6
    This is a great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a great hotel. The rooms were large, very clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. Walking distance to the dunes/beach and a great location. We had a "Do Not Disturb" sign up on the door and the cleaning staff left a bag of clean towels outside the room. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    WE HAVE TO DO IT AGAIN
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sauna
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sauna wasn't working and the fridge stoppen working on the last night

    Friendly people - great location - walking distance from the beach

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Great Location, Friendly Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing special. Breakfast is okay, but it could be better.

    Staff is very friendly. The hotel is at the center and close to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast. Hotel was clean and had nice decorations. We liked the playing room with football and ping-pong tables. Good parking place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Alles was in orde
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sauna
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alles was in orde

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.8
    Everything was perfect, except the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect, except the breakfast. This was improvable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.8
    An amazing stay next to the nature and the village!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sauna
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would prefer a double bed instead of 2 singles

    The location and the breakfast was great. The staff as well. We loved the room with the sauna!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyable staff pity about the weather
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view from room

    Staff were very friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.8
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No thermastad or Airco. \my balcony was facing the hot sun in the afternoon. no where to get a cup of coffee before 08:00

    Nice room, great location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.5
    Great place, but too much noise at night to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room to hot , had to leave windows open, ATM across street caused so much noise at night could not sleep.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.3
    breakfast food was average and the kantine tables was sticky.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast food was average and the kantine tables was sticky.....but a part, all went ok

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.6
    Sauna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sauna
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No views

    Sauna

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.9
    Great beach accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    cold look and feel

    Friendly and good location Great wifi coverage and speed

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hairdryer in the room

    We got an upgrade for a renewed room with a better bed and bathroom. Nice breakfast and polite staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    10
    5 minutes from the beach, comfortable and clean plus a great breakfast!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My son and i had a fantastic stay, we felt at home immediately, and we definitely come back, very comfortable and cosy!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    9.2
    A wonderful place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We loved the small suite, very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    8.3
    Friendly Staff, Good private parking space, nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly Staff, Good private parking space, nice location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    9.6
    Location was poerfect (in the city center and near the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was poerfect (in the city center and near the beach). Super shower with sauna.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    9.6
    great hotel in Texel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    that we had to leave...

    The great stuff, the breakfast the location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    8.3
    location and breakfast, very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel close at 22.00 hours

    location and breakfast, very friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    9.6
    Everything but the wifi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi wasn't strong in my room. Could use boosting.

    Everything but the wifi. Awesome place totally recommend it. Will be returning again for sure!!

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    6.3
    Location, room size and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy in the morning, really expensive for what you get, and we really don't like those type of beds (two single beds pulled together).

    Location, room size and breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The receptionist first certified we had no reservations and was hardly polite. Finally found our reservation but gave us 2 rooms at 2 different levels, not ideal for a family.

    Location Clean and spacious rooms

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2015

    6.3
    We have a young kid of just 3 years, carried our own bed,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We have a young kid of just 3 years, carried our own bed, and it was fully charged for kids price similar to 14 years. Undiscussable, very unfriendly.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    9.6
    Exactly what I was expecting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds were a bit soft.

    Exactly what I was expecting. Everything was fine, very good value.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    6.3
    The room was not clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The room was not clean. WiFi - full WiFi, but connection to internet was more than slow.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    10
    Great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Limited parking.

    Great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    10
    Great location for exploring the island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location for exploring the island. Food excellent too, especially the shepherds stew.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    9.2
    location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location. bang in the centre.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: