Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel van der Valk Wolvega-Heerenveen 4 stars

Atalanta 10, 8472 CA Wolvega, Netherlands

#1 of 2 hotels in Wolvega

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 375 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Hotel staff was super nice and helpful. Room was very clean and spacious, free parking, lovely garden and also a childrens play room inside the property was life saving. Hotel staff was also providing A4 sheets along with coloring pens for children which is really nice as my kids love painting. I'd definitely recommend this hotel to everyone especially for families.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very moist, had silverfish, and windows were completely wet/moist, no option to air the room with a small window or something. Not a showstopper, but not very ‘fresh’ air as such.

    Staff was amazing! Lady at reception helped printing out a picture of Sven Kramer, so we could get it signed by him when he stayed at the hotel!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found this a great place to stop on our trip around Holland. Just a few minutes of the main road. Rooms were much better quality then we expected. We had dinner there and this was excellent - probably one of the best in our travels. Great selection at breakfast too. As there isn't much around there make sure you book with the breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice comfortable with great location, good furniture, friendly staff. I have nothing negative to say and I recommendmit to anyone who wants to relax and enjoy thier stay

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows could have been slimmer.. Air conditioner was not effective & No air conditioner in the attached room & .. Hotel could have provided a ventilator..

    Room was spacious

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ac not working. Money waster

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Big rooms very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, easy connections (highway), spacious room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price

    Room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing absolutely

    Romantic hotel on extraordinary location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything was perfect

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dont like the carpet and toilet

    Its a kids friendly hotel, didnt meet my standard of cleanness, overall still a nice experience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we liked everything

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was beautiful everything was perfect without exception

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved our stay very much,it all radiates luxury from the moment you set a step in the lobby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seems a bit outdated in the rooms

    Excellent restaurant, easy to find with plenty of parking, very nice location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Put tissues in the room. Supply breakfast at no charge. Just a simple continental breakfast would be fine.

    Loved the beds. Nice big room and bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything is perfect.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    cant think of anything negative

    Excellent place to stay. well connected and good quality of amenities along with very nice staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large and comfortable family room was perfect Very good location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very comfy large rooms and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely everything we needed and more

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good restaurant. Nice lounge and bar area to relax. Free parking and good wifi. Breakfast buffet. Next to motorway, ideal for business traveller.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent location...big rooms..nice view..comfort lopy.. smily staff..great kitchen..free parking

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    see above

    With my wife and 2 small kids it was almost perfect. Except the blankets it was too heavy in the summer. Could/should be less

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel is a little way out of town if using the train, but good for the road network. All that is missing is some spa facilities!

    Very helpful staff. Excellent food quality and value in the restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It was good

    The restaurant team was super friendly and they arranged the kids food to arrive earlier, i liked the family room structure, it was nice to have the kids in the same room but seperated

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Check in procedure was rather difficult, we had to guarantee the rooms with a credit card after check in, although a credit card was requested at booking. Also, at check out we had to wait overnight for the invoice, although it was already paid...we were offered just a preview initially, apparently invoices are issued overnight.

    I had an excellent stay at this hotel. Room was very spacious and comfortable. Breakfast offers a wide variety of choices and the restaurant was very good for the evening meals. Staff is really nice and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - no pool for a 4 stars? - breakfast costs too much for being a standard one (42 euro for 2 adults, one 7 year old and one 2 years old ) - the small town where is located does not have much, you have to move 12km at least to find something nice ( dinner out or sightseeing )

    - positioned nicely nearby a small river. - really professional staff. - confortable family room. - nice view if you take the room option. - quiet

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wolvega town centre is a good walk into town for local services and might be too far for some. We ate 4 times in restaurant but found service was very inconsisten. One evening we decided to sit outside and service was poor, food was cold and not great quality. We eventually were able to let staff know but didn't let this ruin our stay.

    The hotel is an excellent place to stay. Food was excellent especially the variety at breakfast. Rooms are spacious and most staff were very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    I like fresh air when I sleep but room was stuffy with limited fresh air option as door only very slightly opened

    Comfortable Room, excellent breakfast choices, free parking, good location

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel and furnitures are very old. A renovation was on going and it was noisy. The door of living room locked by itself. Had to call the staff to come but she couldn't open it too. It took a while to settle the problem.

    Spa Jacuzzi in bathroom. Spacious Suite. Nice view. Bathroom is newly renovated.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I would prefer a playground for children outside

    Breakfast was very nice, and the room big and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No complaints whatsoever

    Spacious room with direct access to the parking lot,very fine restaurant

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    decoration is a bit outdated, and the room cleaning service is a bit basic.

    location, and price and restaurant. Staff are friendly.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    noise from highway in the morning

    breakfast quality

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    no.

    clean, quiet, and nice facility, a little far away from Giethoon, it is better for stay with a car.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    great room, great meal

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Perfect option for the overnight while visiting Friesland

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent food and room

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    We booked the executive suite and that was just great, the whirlpool bath and steam room added a very nice touch

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Browse Hotel van der Valk Wolvega-Heerenveen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: