Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Oostergoo 2 stars

Nieuwe kade 1, 9001 AE Grou, Netherlands

#4 of 7 hotels in Grou

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 354 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 21

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff, good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were charged extra 30 euros for our 2 children under 5. It's true we booked without declaring them, but it was the only way to get the size room we needed (double room/bed) online. Considering we all ate a tasty breakfast at a lower rate, the value was still fine and no reason to complain other than the change to the bill.

    Friendly staff, good food. Clean, comfortable, and functional, accommodations with some charm, if not much space. Booked at no-breakfast price, got (delicious) breakfast included anyway.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    6.3
    With some modern touches this could be a great venue. It has missed it's potential.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was difficult. Only six spaces and if all spaces filled then moving cars in/out not easy. Bedroom was clean and spacious but a bit sparten and could do with upgrading the furniture. Mattress on bed not comfy.

    Hotel is in a lovely location right by the canal. Lovely terrace overlooking the water.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel in beautiful Friesland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, although no lift could be a problem for some.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was very quiet and the bed was really comfortable. Large shower space. The room was at the front of the hotel and on the second floor. It had a view as requested, albeit a bit limited,over the water. We would use this hotel again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.5
    Small rooms with thin walls. Nice village at the water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds are a bit narrow (friends of us in another room had a wider bed, but a very small bathroom (they had to sit with there knees under the sink when using the toilet). The walls are so thin that we could here the neighbors snoaring and talking.

    The location close to the water is beautiful. Staff is friendly, but you have to search for them (as the reception is mostly empty). Restaurants in the village are good and in Grou is also an Icecream shop that has won the 2nd price in The Netherlands.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    7.1
    The room had lots of space and was comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we got there there was a private party so we couldn't eat inside and they only allowed us small things like soup and salad. They were both terrible.

    The room had lots of space and was comfy

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Good deal for foreign travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Alles was goed

    de haven

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Generally good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to get an evening meal. Very steep stairs.

    Good location. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.5
    The location was fantastic right on the water. Lovely little village, friendly people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was fantastic right on the water. Lovely little village, friendly people.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.2
    Beatifil place, nice restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom in our room did not have a door. A simple curtain would provide some privacy

    Beatifil place, nice restaurant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.5
    De matras was te zacht bed zakt door
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    De matras was te zacht bed zakt door

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Great service in a stunning location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect in every respect. Highly recommended

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.1
    great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No fridge or air conditioning in room

    great view

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and nice room. Comfortable beds. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    8.3
    Breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Close to a church, with a loud chime every half our. Rooms were warm, but opening window had the church issue...

    Breakfast was great. Eggs were prepared to order

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    6.7
    Great location in the middle of the village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the Staff is not so service minded and engaged. When calling ahead on where to park, they were not willing to give accurate descriptions. Other eaxample is that they did not point out that breakfast wasn't included (which was actually quite expensive for what you get)

    Great location in the middle of the village. Very authentic building, directly on the water with proper rooms

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    9.2
    We only had the budget room but it was perfectly adequate...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We only had the budget room but it was perfectly adequate for our needs with a very comfortable bed and a nice view across the water. Unfortunately we didn't get to dine at the restaurant, which is very ambient and has a very good name. Arrive by boat and you can moor directly outside.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    8.3
    The best we like the of the position of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Miss an elevator. Via booking.com we had a budget room, which means a rather small bed. Church clock during whole night.

    The best we like the of the position of the hotel. Dinner and breakfast are fine.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    7.5
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    not a one

    great location

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    10
    Hotel was perfect for us!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hotel was perfect for us! We rented a boat and the hotel had place for it. Good and clean room! Bed comfortable!

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    10
    Quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Menu in restaurant could be more varied.

    Quiet location.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    8.8
    Atmosphere (traditional Dutch), view, great food at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing to complain about

    Atmosphere (traditional Dutch), view, great food at reasonable price, very friendly and helpful staff

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 21

Browse Hotel Oostergoo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: