Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Historic Huis ter Duin 5 stars

Koningin Astrid Boulevard 5 -1, 2202 BK Noordwijk aan Zee, Netherlands

#8 of 23 hotels in Noordwijk aan Zee

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2014 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.3
    Not 5 star I'm used to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive for one night no details in room about hotel facilities or breakfast did not get asked if we required any help for additional coffee or that you could have an omelette or pancake or fried egg. Nothing to say about mini bar being extra and parking. Let down by housekeeping in deluxe room.

    Entrance is the only thing that gives this motel the grand status

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.9
    Overall it was a great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I will agree with some other comments. The rooms can be a bit out dated. When they cleaned our room, they didn’t give us any clean glasses.

    The hotel is very grand and enjoyed the theatre of it. Parking was easy, but had to pay. Our view was stunning from our room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Central European beach holiday paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Amazing hotel, beautiful facilities and restaurants, very friendly staff, great energy, spacious room, clean, classy interior design, right next to the beach

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    5.0
    €255 buys you steerage accomodation and second class treatment in a 5 star hotel unless you argue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolute bait and switch through Booking.com. "Deluxe room seaside" for "special" price of $255 was, in reality, a worn out, ratty room in a non-renovated part of the hotel with old amenities, worn and stained carpet, cigarette butts under balcony railing and much more unpleasantness. The pictures on the website are misleading. Completely unacceptable for a 5-star hotel! In my discussion with a member of staff this morning I said that this kind of action made me feel like a second-class customer - even having to take a separate, ugly elevator to reach the rooms. Awful feeling! €255 for this? I understand now why the woman who checked me in didn't make eye contact with me! She was embarrassed! Or should have been! I told the staffer that this kind of trickery creates conflict with the guest and that I cannot be the only one who has complained about this - to which he said, "no, you're not." I am so disappointed in this hotel's approach to customers that even the upgrade to a better room hasn't fixed it for me. And, oh, the surprise €12.50 parking fee is also a nasty thing to do. Guests are captive to the hotel's location! What, am I supposed to walk with my luggage from somewhere else? By then, I was so disgusted that I didn't argue the parking fee.

    Breakfast good, terrace brasserie very good, service from waiters at both brasserie and breakfast very good. the guest relations manager Gerard was very friendly and solved part of my issues by giving me a room upgrade.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Great time!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything.

    Beautiful classic beach hotel, child and dog friendly, yet quiet and peaceful. Lovely terras and beach restaurant in addition to restaurants and bars inside of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.9
    Location, Food & Drinks, Staff (with the exception of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Charm Room with Land View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are slightly dated (in terms of design/looks, etc), but work well and are clean. Balcony could have been cleaner and could have some seating arrangements

    Location, Food & Drinks, Staff (with the exception of some of the male receptionists who were on the arrogant side). Service has been very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent enjoyed our 5 days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing we didn’t like except having to pay 12.5 euros for a sun lounger if you have a swim.

    The staff are all excellent will always help when needed. The breakers restaurant on the beach is lovely The position of the hotel is excellent as you can walk in to town within 5 minutes where you will find great shopping and restaurants. We have been to this hotel 3 times for short breaks and would highly recommend it to anyone .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Super cosy bed, awesome beach location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charm Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We tried to have dinner in the beach club and there wasn't a table without a reservation for that evening. This can happen, but we did not feel welcomed and the communication of the fact was strange at best. Sending us upstairs to the hotel restaurant again to ask if there is a table still available is not customer friendly. I would have expected that the waiter would have called them to give us the information. Luckily there are enough other nice places on the beach!

    Great welcome and a very comfy bed. Nice breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Best choice for beach hotel in the Netherlands
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Very nice, old fashioned beach hotel: a combination of luxury and kid /dog friendliness. Quiet. The service is great. Many areas to sit, eat and relax. One of the few, hotels in The Netherlands that lies directly on the sea..Our family has been coming here for 5-6 generations and hope to keep doing that.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.5
    the view & location is awesome but no 5 star rooms nor 5 star service
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Charm Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    this is the sevond time for us in this hotel. This time we got an upgrade for free but the room was very old. Especially the bath room was terrible and needs renovation. I have never seen such a terrible hair dryer in a 5star hotel. The add. requested bed was not ready at check-in and also not when we returned late night.

    upgrade to seaview room, parking at reasonable cost

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    I stay quite often in this hotel, and specifically like the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Charm Room with Land View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This time check out was a challenge and leaving the parking was a challenge too. I did not get support i would expect from this hotel staff, and i was delayed as in total check out and parking problems took me 20 minutes, which resulted in traffic hours in the morning. It is not the first time I have difficulties with check out here..

    I stay quite often in this hotel, and specifically like the location, the beach, the Breakers restaurant on the Beach, the size of the rooms, the atmosphere in the hotel in general.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast in the great ballroom did not appeal to us- the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast in the great ballroom did not appeal to us- the quality of food was good, however the room was far too big and impersonal with far too many people- it felt like a canteen. The beach restaurant was permanently overbooked and although we were guests of the hotel, we did not manage to get in on 3 consecutive days. The pool and wellness area were closed for repair, without any prior announcements being made! A very luxurious hotel but level of service needs to be worked on.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.0
    Not a completely happy bunny
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Plus Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a problem with our bedroom due to overflow pipe in the wall from outside (or so the reception said). As the weather was horrendous, awful rain, there was a gurgling sound all night from this pipe. It was like water emptying after a bath. We were moved at 4am, after staff tried to find another room on our floor. The gentleman couldn't believe my husband had managed to sleep at all. I wasn't so lucky. He likened it to a choking pigeon (not my description). There were problems with a number of rooms they checked. The staff were very helpful but no compension was offered apart from an upgrade when we return. I don't think this will be happening. Hotel room was rather dated and in need of refurbishment. No where to hang dressing gown, which was provided, in the bathroom. This is supposed to be a 5* hotel. Breakfast was rather expensive €20pp at hotel, even dearer though through booking.com. I know we were unlucky with the weather, which wasn't hotels' fault but indoor piping is. They actually thanked us so that they can correct the problem for their next guests - great!!

    Great location not too far from Keukenhof Gardens and on the beach. Which was the reason we'd booked in the first place. Nice and quiet. Dressing gown and slippers included in room. Large bedroom, comfy bed and warm soft quilt. Back of property leads down to the beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel ... but
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Room with Land View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They tried to charge us more than the booking.com amount!!! There were 2 different types of coffee capsules in the room and nobody could tell the difference between the two.

    Excellent location. There is a bistro restaurant next to the hotel with good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.1
    Lovely room. No pool due to maintenance. Booked the hotel specifically as it had a pool!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that we couldn't get a reservation!

    I am afraid that we only spent one night at the hotel. We couldn't get in to any of the restaurants as we didn't know we had to make a prior booking for Dinner

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    My wife's parents had stayed in the hotel regularly in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel seeks to be classy but falls short of its aspirations. As a Grand Hotel it does not quite work just like the coffee machine in our room. Someone should check that the cleaners actually clean, not leave dirty cups and glasses in the room.

    My wife's parents had stayed in the hotel regularly in the 60s and 70s. We were on a trip meeting relatives and visiting sights from my wife's childhood. We spent two nights in the hotel. Of course things have changed and for the most part the experience was positive. The food was good and as the weather was nice it was great to sit outside and have a spritz or a wine, eat bitterballen and walk on the beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Super relaxing and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super relaxing and comfortable. Definitely high end in a peaceful location. Carpeting was a little old but I had my dog and figured they put pets in certain rooms...also I got a sea view when I paid for a city so I was SUPER happy :) Beds were comfortable and staff was very professional. I’d drive up there again just to stay there. It was so peaceful. Absolutely perfect only complaint is the pet fee is about 50e when most hotels are no more than 15e...but that’s really the only complaint.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    The hotel itself is plush and very cosy, the location is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not being able to get a jug of tap water to go with the great wine we ordered was both bewildering and unwelcome. I do not want or need designer water to accompany my wine - please do something about your policy as this would have made a difference to out stay!

    The hotel itself is plush and very cosy, the location is superb and the staff exemplary! The beach bar is worth a visit, the food there was very good . The staff were very accommodating and friendly and nothing was too much.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    6.3
    They promised a one kingsize bed and we had a king size bed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They promised a one kingsize bed and we had a king size bed with two matresses. Also booking stated that the pool was closed for reparation so we didn’t expect to use it but it was open so it was a pitty. A little noisy and some bad smell on the bathroom

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    6.7
    Overpriced hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Charm Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was an incident at night. There was violence on the hall way between a couple. Whatever was the reason we dont know but it was pretty bad. The hotel did not take action but did know the next morning. They could have at least offered a gesture instead of sorry we did not do anything.

    nice staff. a bit overpriced in the restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.2
    I really like the location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The new electricity system in the room. Why do you need to make it so complex? you really need to study it, and - the worst - even when you switch off everything, you still have some light in the room. It is not nice to sleep with still some light. I personally don't like it.

    I really like the location. It is a bit further from the airport, but it is still in easy to reach distance and gives enormous relaxing nature place (the hotel is on the beach). Very helpful staff. Nicely refurbished rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    Loved the interiors and design of the hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charm Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet was disappointing. Scrambled eggs from powder? You can tell it’s not fresh and real eggs. Chocolate muffins were also so bad that my daughter (who loves chocolate) had to spit it out and wipe her tongue clean; i had to do the same when i tried it. Didn’t dare to try the other pastries. Variety was good but quality was below expectation.

    Loved the interiors and design of the hotel! It lives up to it’s name “grand”.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.3
    1990s luxury in a fab beachside location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dated (1990s) decor. Expensive. No jacuzzi in pool area. Pool cold. Small bedrooms (we even got an upgrade). Average breakfast. Very Dutch - not really catered to international guests (no English reading material, all other guests were Dutch - unusual for a 5 star hotel). Very old bathrooms. €12.50 charge for parking (no mention in advance, car park was empty as it was winter).

    old style luxury. Great location by the beach. Great service. Great dinner in Breakers. Sea view. Rituals toiletries in the bathroom. Comfy bed. Really good duvet. In room wifi. Nice sauna area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.6
    Most enjoyable and Memorable......would definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Charm Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not sufficient milk sachets and sugar in room. Hotel Guide not easy to read! Particularly for English Speaking Guests.

    Staff were very friendly and accommodating! Breakfast area and food was amazing! Location was perfect and the Beach Restaurant was phenomenal.....service great and food was heavenly!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was clean and welcoming. The staff immediately made you comfortable and helped with any queries. The room was very clean and we'll presented with lovely addition features to enjoy your stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.6
    Large, very comfortable bed, room quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large, very comfortable bed, room quiet. Amazing view over large beautiful sandy beach and then out to sea at back of hotel. Great breakfasts. Lovely group meal at hotel's restaurant down by the beach. Staff very helpful. Enjoyed the swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Great place to be!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Plus Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is beautiful and confortable. The friendly staff makes you feel welcome .The service is excellent , they make you feel great and appreciated. We really had a great time!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.9
    Wonderful location on the beach, good restaurants inside...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Charm Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows (too big) and the fact that the card key system didn't work properly. Exchanged them 6 times in 3 days.

    Wonderful location on the beach, good restaurants inside & outside.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.8
    Stunning beach position
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Charm Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Im afraid the breakfast on each day was expensive and really not up to the hotel standard. The service was very poor, very slow and every time I had a hot drink it was tepid warm. The hot buffet food had been standing so long it was dried and cool and not at all appetising. Food ordered to be cooked in the kitchen took so long to arrive that my breakfast was finished. The selection of fruits/breads and cold meats was acceptable, but only had one two slice toaster for the whole restaurant which was an utter joke. On one morning residents had to carry breakfast from one restaurant to another as it was closing to get ready for early lunch, not what I would expect from 5 stars.

    The Hotel has a very relaxed atmosphere. The beach club & terraces are excellent although the service is not too swift. The Beach club has a lovely relaxed feel and the meals were excellent it has the most wonderful atmosphere. The beach is so close to the hotel and the views from my charm room were exceptional. The swimming pool was lovely and warm. Overall it was very pleasant stay and I would highly recommend for a relaxing weekend in the summer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.5
    Nice but too expensive and in need of refurbishment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Plus Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is old and needs refurbishment. The hallways and elevators were not super clean. Breakfast room was nice but massive and had a bit of a canteen feeling to it. Balcony tiny and with concrete, very uncosy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.3
    The gotel is very well located, with convenient parking and...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Generally the rooms merit already a slight renovation, you start to feel it.

    The gotel is very well located, with convenient parking and helpful personnel. The access to the sea side and the city is very convenient. Breakfast is ok.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    A relaxing and luxurious get-away to the coast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entrance hall is too dark. It could be more welcoming if it is lighter inside. During the summer its not that big deal but during the winter time, it is too depressing I think.

    The bed was huge and comfortable. The breakfast was wonderful. A lot of choices and the location was great. The staff at the check-in desk was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    7.9
    Great hotel but avoid busy weekends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Charm Room with Land View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Even though I had mentioned it when reserving the room that we would like separate duvets/covers, and had confirmation e-mail from the hotel, the reception staff did not know and did not manage to tell housekeeping .. only when I asked housekeeping myself it was changed. A minor thing: The system with registration plate recognition in the parking never worked. Long queue for check-out.

    My second stay in the hotel - this time a busy long weekend. The room was nice, big and a very nice bathroom with Rituals amenities. Very nice breakfast buffet with a good choice .. even though it was more cosy last time where it was not in this huge room (a bit like a charter holiday feeling - a few separating walls would do wonders). Pool looks nice - unfortunately full of children this time, so did not go there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    5.8
    Horrible experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Charm Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff when we checked in we're not informative about anything. How we needed to use the room card for turning on the electricity. How we needed a towel card to get a towel st the beach. Nothing. Horrible front desk service. I booked a room with 2 beds and got one. Went to the front desk again and they said that room doesn't come with 2 beds. So I said that why did it show me a picture and tell me it did online. They didn't care. The manager didn't care. The bed was so hard we were in pain. Left early. Will never stay here again

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.3
    Very nice location and good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Charm Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool and spa is very dated No kettle in the room and no room menus Couldn't call reception from the room

    Beautiful view and lovely hotel. Family club for kids is amazing, very kind stuff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    7.5
    I really had expected more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast choice was rather limited and not at all the expected 5-star level for a holiday stay. This was really poor and no recommandation for the hotel. Possibly due to pre-season (May) and limited number of guests. Noordwijk is not a location for shopping during holidays.

    Directly located at the beach.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    6.7
    Bit old-fashioned and outdated hotel with bad bar/lounge staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was not well trained and not giving any service. Not even polite. Only exeption is te front office, they gave excellent service. Staf at the bar/lounge was lazy, just not walking around so you could not even order anything. Staff did not had any knoledge of the food and was just not friendly. Housekeepimg does not greet you at walking by. Lack of education. Pool and steambath area outdated. Oldfashioned. Rooms clean and spacious. Bathrooms outdated.

    Check in/check out proces perfect. Parking good. No concierge. The location is perfect.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful views and ambiance
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Plus Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved that we were able to bring our two dogs with us. We weren't so happy that they were not permitted in any of the restaurants or bars on the property.

    The sea views were great and we loved the ambiance of the hotel property. The hotel was very conveniently located and we were able to drive easily to our chosen sites. Many choices of restaurants and bars were within walking distance and most allowed our dogs inside.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.6
    Top quality 5 star hotel with great beach restaurant to easily access Keukenhof Gardens.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dogs barking in nearby hotel rooms .

    The Restaurant on the beach was superb, delicious food and great ambience. Hotel was high quality and rooms very comfortable with beautiful sea view .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    7.1
    We absolutely loved the beaches and royal feeling in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel facilities and the the rooms really needs a good face lift since it felt really really old and out dates. Especially the outside of the side complexes, the bathrooms and the interior.

    We absolutely loved the beaches and royal feeling in the hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    5.0
    Watch your bill!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charm Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    upon arrival we were told that we had to upgrade because of children in rhe room. at check out there was an extra 50.- fee apart from the upgrade. a manager was very unpolite and refused to take it off untill I said I would write the GM. she did not greet us. a discrage for a 5 star hotel and a 375,- room rate breakfast excluded.

    location and lounge

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.1
    Great location but an out of date look and feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a 5 star hotel, but to me it seemed a bit out of date. The hotel and rooms do need some paint and it looks like the hotel was perfectly in style 15 years ago. Now the classic interiour feels some old. The ginger lemon tea (4,50 EUR) I ordered came without lemon and was cold, not hot at all. While checking out, I got two receipts to pay for they weren't mine. And the barrier refused to open as we waited 10 minutes before driving out. Some small things, but I don't expect this in a 5 star hotel.

    De location of the hotel is perfect, right next to the beach. The bed was very big and comfortable with nice soft pillows. We had multiple nice and big towels in the bathroom. The room was spacious and offered all I needed. They have a good lost and found service. We had an event in their beach house Breakers which was perfect: great location, staff and service!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.1
    Not a 5* experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Charm Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service (reception, restaurants) was very average. During phone call we were given wrong information on the price for the kids, when mentioned that at the check-in we were told that we must have had not understood. Breakfast - average. Common spaces and swimming pool - rather dated and would need some renovation/refreshment. Even though the hotel was informed that one of us would celebrate birthday, there was not one simple gesture (not even "happy birthday" at the check-in). Certainly not a 5* experience.

    Location (on the beautiful beach), comfortable and big room. Nice cafe outside.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    9.2
    Great place for a weekend getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Charm Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The staff was very friendly and helpful at check in and check out. They also helped us make dinner reservations and offered to help arrange bicycle rentals. The property is right on the beach and our room had a great sea view. The room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The length of the bed (2m isn't good enough for me). Pillows are huge, quite uncomfortable for the neck. Room has not been renovated yet, clean but old.

    Wonderful location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    7.1
    Bed was comfy.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows too much depth for sleeping .Dog pillow way too hard could not use we used the dog towels provided. Hotel should advertise dogs allowed not dog friendly as they are not allowed in bars/private lounges or restaurants only the lobby and bedroom

    Bed was comfy. Good wifi. Helpful staff at checkin and with luggage. Good service in La Terrace for dinner

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    8.8
    There were 4 pillows on the bed but all of them where pretty...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were 4 pillows on the bed but all of them where pretty big (high?). A combination of 2 big pillows and 2 smaller ones could give the guest a choice for I like smaller pillows.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    9.2
    Wonderful beach-side hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Charm Room with Land View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room felt a bit cold with the curtains drawn as the radiator is behind the curtains and the heat is not getting into the room. And the electronic device to indicate whether you want room service etc. has small lights that are a bit annoying at night when you're trying to fall asleep, also because they're reflected in the mirror. The possibility of making a cup of tea or coffee in the room would have been nice but there's no coffee maker or kettle. Public transport is a bit inconvenient, especially if you'd like to spend a day in Amsterdam or elsewhere (Utrecht, The Hague). Most would require a taxi, at least to the nearest train station, which isn't very cheap in the Netherlands.

    The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful and they all speak English. The room was very clean and comfortable and the restaurants that are part of the hotel are absolutely fantastic! The food was excellent and very well presented. The view from the sea-view room is wonderful and it's very nice that the window can be opened. It's not too far away from Schiphol Airport (about 40 minutes by taxi) and the hotel can organise the transfer for EUR 85 one-way. The bathroom has lovely Rituals products and was kept very clean. It's lovely to walk to Katwijk from the hotel over the beach and both Noordwijk and Katwijk are very pleasant beach towns. The beach is also very clean and wide. Apart from the beach it's nice to follow one of the dune paths for a walk in the direction of Zandvoort. The hotel is situated at a quiet and pleasant location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    10
    Fantastic Hotel and Staff. WOW amazing experience we all had!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Charm Room with Land View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything from service to friendly staff amazing hotel loved how dogs are allowed in as well. Atmosphere awesome can't say we were unhappy with anything❤️ It!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.6
    Great stay at the Huis de Duin
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was hard to get into asbath high and the fixture did not hold making it jarf to shower.

    I love the relaxed yet beautiful surroundings. You feel special from the moment you come through the entrance.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.2
    An excellent weekend stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some prices high - service in restaurants was slowish

    Luxury and comfort- excellent food- good service- beautiful seaside position with direct access to Beach

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bathroom could use an upgrade

    Beautiful place. Very well placed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    great and the concierge was brill.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    stuck up toffs staying who look like they have a rod up their butts.

    great and the concierge was brill.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    I had a room on 9th floor with an amazing seaview - highly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a room on 9th floor with an amazing seaview - highly recommended. Really nice restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    4.5
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room. Old and dated.

    Very nice hotel, lobby and restaurants, very nice staff. Room old, not clean, out of date, and not appropriate for the facility.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Most things were good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Plus Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from train station. No jacuzzi

    Most things were good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    service in restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Plus Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    service in restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything is perfect

    Wonderful place. Nice view. Friendly people

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.1
    Food was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weather

    Food was good. Nice for 1 day stay I guess

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Location was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was fantastic. Able to walk to nearby restaurants. Ocean view was beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Great service, location, seaview, breakfast, bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was under renovation.

    Great service, location, seaview, breakfast, bar...everything was just perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Very comfy, great location, no fuss.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Charm Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower head fell apart!

    Great bed with comfortable mattress, great view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location with steps from the hotel right down to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location with steps from the hotel right down to the beach and sitting in the beach side restaurant watching the sunset was fabulous.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned style, parts of the hotel definitely need an upgrade.

    Great location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.6
    Lovely weekend in a superb hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Plus Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    Sea View from the room. The friendliness of the staff doing their utmost to make our journey perfect

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Wonderfull!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Charm Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pets not allowed in restaurants

    Pets friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    7.5
    Cold room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Plus Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold room. Not possible to regulate the temperature or not working. Small beverage service in the room. Minimal Coffee and teabags.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    Brasserie food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Charm Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in bar

    Brasserie food

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    I had a wonderful stay at amazing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The masseuse I had at the spa was to inexperienced no power 💥

    The view from the room and what a beautiful room it was!! the restaurant on the beach

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    The best hotel in Nordwijk
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Plus Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The must hotel when visiting the European Agency!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.3
    missed the baked eggs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Charm Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Massage was short and soft. Not very good

    missed the baked eggs. They had scrambled eggs however. Loved the sauna area

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.8
    Great room overlooking the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Room with Land View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great room overlooking the beach

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    6.7
    Sea hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Charm Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An update will be necessary

    Close to sea

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.2
    Location is excellent, nice hotelbar
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cousins and bedcover were synthetic

    Location is excellent, nice hotelbar

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Historic Huis ter Duin traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: