Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis Amsterdam City West 3 stars

Transformatorweg 36, Westpoort, 1014 AK Amsterdam, Netherlands

#224 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3823 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    7

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    This was a basic hotel that suited our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both, on site restaurant & breakfast options were very expensive and not great value, but an easy option.

    This was a basic hotel that suited our needs. This location was a little out of town but the bus stop across the road made it an easy 10 minute trip into town. It was comfortable & clean, bathroom was very small but ok. The staff were very nice & most helpful. All staff spoke English.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    A clean, modern budget hotel with excellent, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room didn't include kettle. It is possible to borrow a travel one from reception, but I didn't find this out until day three. Hot drinks expensive to buy at the bar, so worth buying a pack of tea from a supermarket. Breakfast nice, but very overpriced.

    Staff were all excellent. Public transport allows for easy access to central Amsterdam. A good budget option.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Good overall would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid for a kettle but to be told they didn't have a spare one so we were given 2 cups of hot water the first 2 mornings.

    The staff were very helpful and helped us with things we needed to know as we were going to see Ed sheeran during our stay which wasn't anywhere near the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.7
    Ibis Amsterdam City West
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough staff on at reception & bar. One member of staff had to cover both areas on a few occasions We tried to buy the tea & coffee package but they couldn’t supply a kettle. The said we could get cups of hot water from the bar. Since we were in the 8th floor - we declined due to health & safety issues & inconvenience

    The location was good with good transport options. Outdoor area was good. All staff were polite & spoke very Good English.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    4.2
    I booked a room mentioning on Booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a room mentioning on Booking.com for 2 adults and 2 kids but at checkin I was forced to take 2 rooms and I paid double price. Still we used only one room to stay and the other room stays vacant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    6.7
    Nice, clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The distance may not be to everyone’s liking but it didnt bother us too much. Drinks and snacks etc. were very expensive in the hotel.

    Nice, clean room. The property is a small bit out but easily accessible by taking the 22 bus from Centraal station. Staff were polite and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice and quiet place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is the only bad thing so far away from everything and have to get a bus for 30/40 minuets every time you wanted to go somewhere

    Nice and quiet place Staff are friendly and helpful Rooms are great size

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    Overall is superb with a small room. Feel extremely safe during our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The entire space is kind of small especially the toilet. It will be great to increase the diversity of breakfast.

    The staffs are warm and helpful, quiet location with well transportation spots, nice and tidy room with a super comfy bed. It's really convenient for the business traveler if your client is Dell lol (right beside it)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is modern and really clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is modern and really clean. The toilet is small but well organised. I'd suggest it for sure. Location: far from the caos of the city but just right in front of the bus stop!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    2.5
    I forgot my I phone charger cable plugged beside the bed in the room (I'am SURE about it). One hour
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I forgot my I phone charger cable plugged beside the bed in the room (I'am SURE about it). One hour after I called to the reception and they said the housekeeper didn't find and the next guest had haven't entered yet....So, the stole it!!!!!! And what the hotel did? Nothing!!! Worse hotel I ever been to.

    When I arrived, they were nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Good Value for money, perfect distance from both the airport and city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Easy check in, clean comfortable room and liked that even though we was out of the city centre, we were able to purchase travel tickets and jump on the bus from outside the hotel. Staff were very friendly. Would definitely be returning

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    Clean, nice room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant so no lunch or dinner, only breakfast. Breakfast expensive Rate of rooms expensive but maybe is because of Amsterdam

    Clean, nice room...cheap parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    The room that we were in was a decent size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    The room that we were in was a decent size. There was room to move around and leave our big suitcases. It was very clean, the bed was comfy, and it was a room you could walk in and feel relaxed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.8
    Good hotel, a bit remote
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you plan to explore downtown, the location is too remote. The closest supermarket is at Sloterdijk station which is 20-25 minutes walk. No coffee pot in the room.

    Room was clean and comfortable, burger king is downstairs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.9
    Good and practical. No frills.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It wasn't that cheap. I normally book into another hotel for a similar price that is higher quality. I guess like many they put their prices up at certain times of the year when they are busy.

    It does what you need from a basic hotel. Good, comfortable and functional. No frills but perfect for me as the location is within 5 minutes from work. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.9
    Very convenient at affordable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Twin beds and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No convenient stores around the vicinity of the hotel.

    Very convenient at affordable price. Across the cross there's bus 123 that takes directly to Amsterdam train station.Burger King is just next to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.1
    Very nice hotel, we didn’t spend that much time in the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generally the staff were very pleasant, the lady that checked us in on the first day didn’t have any customer service skills whatsoever. Very blunt and rude.

    Very nice hotel, we didn’t spend that much time in the hotel as it was 10-15 min bus journey from the main centre of Amsterdam. But saying that the bus stops are right outside the hotel so very easy to get to the main centre. They don’t have tea and coffee in the rooms but the lady’s on the night shift at reception were happy enough to give us a kettle, tea bags, milk etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far from city, no amenities nearby

    Clean, comfy, bus stop nearby, can buy a 48 hour travel card for 7 euros 50. Breakfast an extra 16 euros but not a lot of veggie choice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely room, and breakfast was good selection. A little far from the centre but good bus service and train station very nearby. Rooms cleaned everyday.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    Good distance to the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was in a plastic pod inside the room so it was a step up into it with quite a small door.

    A little out of town but good links into the city. Perfectly comfortable, but not luxurious. The staff were friendly enough and knew English well. For the price it was certainly passable and not worthy of complaints.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    Location is far away from the city center in a bit of an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is far away from the city center in a bit of an industrial area, but it is well connected trough train and metro, only restaurants nearby are the one of the hotel and the burger king next door

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel great but i didnt realise when i booked it that it would be so far away from centre

    the staff on reception were all very friendly and helpful there was a burger king next door

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    The staff and room were excellent!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast and lo cation just out of center of town.

    For amount paid 16 euros, I didn't feel the breakfast was worth it. But everything else was great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    IBIS WEST AMSTERDAM - 😉
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was expecting to fine more towels in the bathroom [because I paid for a double room] and some slippers.

    I received a quiet room as I requested. Clean room. Good breakfast. The bus station across the road.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    Everything was ver clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was ver clean. The staff is very kind and helpful. The lady that checked us in, really Nice. and helpful with information about the city and public transports. There is a bus in front of the hotel, very easy to go to the city center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.8
    Amsterdam in 4 days
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Twin beds and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a way too small for accommodating three people, no minibar in it and the wardrobe was just useless. Moreover the hotel itself was a bit far from the centre.

    Breakfast was really good. Hotel it's new, friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    Good but could so better for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had paid for a business room and when we arrived the tv didn't work, there was a kettle with used sugar and coffee and no fresh cups or tea or coffee! We also only had 2 towels...They did resolve all these issues within the 1st 24 hours but the manager came in and pulled the tv off the wall with us there and replaced It! A bit un professional. Also when we arrived back at the hotel at about 2.30 after wandering around since 7am there was a clear problem with our room and they put us in a different room! We had to ask for more tea and coffee and milk and sugar every Day as it was not replaced.

    I liked how it was out of the city bussle.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Staff were really friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of beggars approaching you at night when you're sitting outside. Wont take no for an answer

    Staff were really friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.9
    Small but nice room with the shower inside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small but nice room with the shower inside. Breakfast is good. Located not close to the centre but the bus station is very close and you can rent a bike from the hotel. Personel is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Ibis hotels would be our first choice in the future as the service is good and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had stayed at the Ibis when we first arrived in Amsterdam for the start of our cycling tour of the Zuiderzee. The location was perfect for the ferry at Ijmuiden, both on our arrival and again on our return to the ferry to sail home. Public transport into Amsterdam was good on our non cycling days.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    3.8
    Staff were polite and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was kind of awful...not because it was necessarily far from the centraal station but mainly because it was in the middle of no where. No corner shops ...no supermarkets...nothing lol. Our 2 night stay was also very extortionate without breakfast. We requested Ice from reception for our drinks as they don't have a refrigerator and were basically told to come and get it downstairs.

    Staff were polite and helpful Burger King next door ... I guess

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Recommend Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only criticism for our room was that the lighting was rather dark at times and the lighting above mirror was not the most flattering when getting ready.

    The building had a modern urban style similar to many of the other Ibis hotels I’ve stayed in. The reception area was attractive and well laid out, with plenty of comfortable seating areas and a bar. The area was spacious and airy and appeared to be kept to a high standard. Reception team were very helpful and we had a warm welcome upon our arrival. During our trip, we brought a two day bus pass from reception for 12.50€, this will saved money on taxis and the bus stop is right outside the hotel and gets straight into the centre in roughly 10 minutes. The room we booked was the Business room with view which was very comfortable for the two of us for our stay in Amsterdam. Many Thanks to the Ibis Team.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.9
    The rooms are very small but clean and efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There were no restaurants or breakfast eateries nearby (the hotel charges Euro 16 for breakfast!!), aside from a small (and friendly) pub.

    The rooms are very small but clean and efficient. Staff is very helpful. The hotel is on bus line #22 to Central Station, which is perfect. It is also near a regional train station and the metro.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.5
    Parking cost was just 7,5 euro per day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far from center. But bus is just next to the hotel.

    Parking cost was just 7,5 euro per day. If you want to see not only Amsterdam this location is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    6.7
    Not good value for money, location good, staff and cleaning service bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I arrived at the hotel early morning and the staff told us they would let us know when the room was ready and asked us to sit at reception and wait. We had a drink and after 3 hours of waiting, we saw lots of people being checked in. We went and spoke to the staff who then told us that the room was ready about half hour after arriving!! They weren't too busy to tell us as there was no one else in reception they were on their phones! The cleaning service wasn't good as the bed sheets didn't get changed once while we stayed there, which I have never had in a hotel before, especially when the cleaning staff are walking round with clean bed sheets but don't bother changing them!!

    The room was good size and the location of the property was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    A good standard hotel but expensive
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is expensive for what you get at £138 per night and doesn't include breakfast and doesn't include coffee in the room.

    A good location, clean hotel and friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    Good choice outside the core of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No refrigerator. Not much shop near by, only BurgerKing. Distant away from the city central.

    Facilities are new and good condition. Staffs are helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    5.0
    Not value for the price paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Verysmall room size, No electric keetle in the room, Location bit far from Tourist area, Exhorbitant price for the facilities

    Close to Sloterdjic Bus station. Bus stop to Central station just across the road. Helpful reception staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    3.8
    Uninspiring, expensive and poorly located
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee facilities in room, Water available to purchase at 6 euros a bottle which is outrageously expensive Location was poor - very far away Bathroom feels like a portaloo

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.9
    The bedroom was spacious, and the bed was very comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were not very helpful when I asked how to get from the hotel to some of the main attractions in Amsterdam.

    The bedroom was spacious, and the bed was very comfy. I liked that there was a TV in the bedroom with some English channels too!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.2
    Hotel was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Twin beds and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing I didn't really like.

    Hotel was lovely. Very clean. Staff were lovely. Bus stop across the road from the hotel (No: 22), takes you straight to Central Station. I would advise getting a 48Hr travel ticket from the hotel. Cost €12.50. This can be used for Tram, Trains & Buses. I didn't eat at the hotel as we spent most our time in the city centre. Burgerking is next door to the hotel and also a café to the left of the hotel (hard to spot it as it looks like a car park) but when you get inside there are climbing facilities for both children and adults.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.3
    Spotlessly clean & really comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hair dryer was awful, I’d expect a better standard in a hotel these days. No refreshments provided in the rooms, hotel shop/bar was ridiculously expensive as there’s no shops nearby - stock up on snacks & drinks in town.

    Spotlessly clean & really comfortable room. The room was fully serviced each day. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Good selection of choice at breakfast. The location isn’t central but that’s clear when booking and the hotel has great transport links, we got a 72 hr bus ticket for €17.50 and had no issues. Also if you don’t mind not being central you’ll save a good chunk of money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    2.5
    Never again, small dingy dark room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, need a bus to centre or 15 min walk to tram stop which then you have to change again, not worth the money for an Ibis. Was undercharged by the hotel (their error) and expected me to pay at check out. Unprofessional.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.8
    Very satisfied. Would stay again. Certainly better than hotels we have stayed in in Florence, Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little far out but that was our choice to save money. Very easy journey into Amsterdam and buses are very frequent.

    Very courteous and efficient staff. Best shower ever - so much instant hot water and a very large show cabinet. Lovely foyer with large lift to every floor. Bus stop for Number 22 just across the road for Amsterdam central.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.5
    Standard Ibis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The location is a bit further out than we had realised when booking, but it is cheaper than the central Ibis by the station. There are virtually no restaurants etc nearby (except for a ghastly Burger king next door). Towels were rather meagre and scratchy.

    All very standard Ibis room with an extremely comfortable bed and pillows. Friendly staff and modern place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    A great mini break I Amsterdam in a comfortable location and nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea and coffee in the room and having to pay €7 for two cups of lemon tea !!!!! Yuck.

    Comfortable room with a lovely bed and a great shower . Easy to find and accessible to the metro and bus into Amsterdam central.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The restaurant only served snacks on a Saturday night, where as a full, very good menu was available during the week. Food was excellent when we ate there during the week. This was an issue as other than a Burger KIng next door there are no local restaurants.

    Cleanliness. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    2.9
    Sad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Twin beds and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing

    Nothing twin room for family is small camp bed for kid and dubble bed for adult is two single bed and over prise and under statement when they say twin room its a shame I payed all that money for cramped up room never again.and the bar look so dry and charges 15 euro for a cup of tea and its not a five star hotel nothing in the room to even make a coffee or tea what a disgrace for a hotel they should take an example from ibis hotel in fraia street in Reading Englannd is one of the best.and am a gold member so so disappointed .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.1
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was very far from the city centre. More could have been done to help us to locate local taxi services and public transport. The rooms were not very noise proof and there seemed to be a lot of dogs staying in the hotel.

    The beds were incredibly comfortable. The restaurant and staff were very friendly and approachable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.3
    quiet location,
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel canceled my reservation for the first night and offered us a room at IBIS Schipol free of cost (without notice and 4 hours before dead line). We wanted to stay late night in city but hotel called us and interuptet our night out because we did not make Check-in after moving from one hotel to another (it is not my fault you screw up reservation). I have payed breakfast separatly and in the morning they had to double check the payment, intrerupting our meal.

    quiet location, nice breakfast, close to the Metro station, friendly staff at breakfast. They payed for the first night and taxi from one hotel to another

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    I would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is all my fault. When looking at Google maps looked a bit closer than I thought. Had to be on the bus for about 15 mins. But bus times were running late which was good.

    Location is out of town but there's a burger king right next door. It was quiet and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.1
    Amsterdam amazing city. Having fun but in total security.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just to point out that the hotel is not very central and it's located in a industrial area, no an amazing landscape. OK it is very well connected with the Metro or Bus, but it is not 5 min by walk from the city center as they mention on the description of Booking. I would say between 3.5 km and 4 km from Amsterdam main attractions. If you have only the multi ticket you can use only the Bus or metro so to get to Central Station you will need to change line (red or orange) with in total 15 stops (calculate 25-30 min). Otherwise you can pay 4.30 Euro for each journey, to get train with only 1 stop. For the rest nothing to complain.

    Quality / price and the standard of Ibis. The hotel was really clean, very quiet, no noise. Perfect to sleep. They kindly kept our luggage at the check out to let us visit Amsterdam for the last few hours.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    4.2
    Got a fine for parking car in front of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When I checked in, I clearly stated that I had a car parked in front of hotel. I even asked if it is ok to park there and the front said "it is ok you just need to pay 50 cents per 10 min." I asked how much the fee was per overnight and he just repeated the same thing as if I was bothering him asking the same question, and I could pay when I check out. So, I left my car there for two days, and I got a 49 EURO fine. I thought it was hotel's car park and I asked a couple of times if it is ok to par there. I was not directed to a hotel's car park even no idea where it is. When I went to the front, the lady said, "Ma'am you know we cannot pay for the fine". I wasn't even asking for her to pay the fine but at least I was expecting some apology or explanation. She was saying she does not understand why her colleague would not tell me where their car park is. Well, that's not for me to answer, obviously. It is so upsetting. Ok, maybe it is my fault that I didn't realize it was not a hotel's car park and didn't ask exactly where I could park, but all I was told was it is ok I could leave my car there. Honestly, the room rate was half of what I had to pay for a room in NH hotel, but I did not expect the service I get is also half. I don't think I would ever use IBIS even for my business trip as so on.

    Close to a bus stop. Tram station 10 min away

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.1
    Check in was smooth and the guy on check in was lovely,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drinks was a little pricey and for £349 for 3 nights would have like tea/coffee facilities in the room.

    Check in was smooth and the guy on check in was lovely, clean spacious rooms and the shower was brilliant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    5.4
    Clean and comfy room but very basic and too far away from centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee facilities in room, staff weren't very helpful. Room was entered and tidied when we put a sign out to say we didn't want room service. It's about an hour or so walk to the centre of Amsterdam and £20 euros in a taxi so works out expensive to travel to the center every day

    Room was nice and clean, very basic just a bed and bathroom but all you need if your just sleeping there

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were very helpful in arranging the right transport for us to get to the city center. Me and my partner will be using the hotel on our next visit to Amsterdam!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Lovely weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having a cheaper taxi alternative to the city centre as cost us a fortune. Had to pay for tea and coffee in your room. The room next door left their window open all night and made huge banging noises on our door.

    The bed was extremely comfy. The shower was powerful and large. Clean room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.2
    Every member of staff at reception were happy & charming. Thank You!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I still find the absence of tea & coffee facilities (in this day & age) within Europe very mean. I saw in the lift would you like tea/coffee in the room? 15 euros! No thanks. I am also dismayed to see that having spent three nights in the same room at £89 the charge goes up by £30 just because it is Friday night. WHY????? I didn't see rose petals strewn about or a chocolate on my pillow.....

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Loved this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee in rooms.

    Loved this hotel! Perfect location to get into Amsterdam central, bus stop right outside the hotel. Easy access! Rooms were clean really modern. Staff were friendly up on arrival. Will defiantly stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    5.8
    4/10 is more accurate
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Twin beds and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Do not bother booking a 'triple room.' Turns out that all the rooms are the same size; they removed the table from a double room and replaced it with a cot. Three of us could barely move round the room and had to climb over the beds to get around. The towels are tiny! Hardly bigger than a hand towel. I was also bitten by something and have several bites all over my face! My eyelid swelled shut too. Lastly, there are no amentiies in the room; no iron, no ironing board; no kettle....not even one complimentary bottle of water. Not that we would have had the space to use any of these things. Just spend a little more money and stay somewhere with space.

    Good transport links

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    4.2
    Not impressed, I wouldn’t go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices in the hotel shop were steep, for breakfast they ran out of bacon and forks so I ate my beans on toast with a knife and spoon. We were woken up three times in two nights by drunk people. The first wake up was by a drunk woman at the wrong door who we had to move along, that was at 3:30 in the morning!

    Fast WiFi.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.1
    It is a reasonably good hotel for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is slightly out of the way. But there is a bus stop right in front of the hotel.

    It is a reasonably good hotel for the price. Staff were very nice and polite

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.1
    So nice, would definitely come back and stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The house keeping came around to early and didn't come around again then afterwards so our room wasn't cleaned everyday because of this. Little bit far from the city centre

    Loved the room the bed was so comfortable I didn't want to get out of it! The hotel was really nice and quiet all the time aswell

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.1
    Very good e-mail communication with the hotel stuff before...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very good e-mail communication with the hotel stuff before we came. I wanted to make sure they know what time we're supposed to arrive and also if the credit card authorization got through. They answered my emails pretty fast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant stay and eventhough hotel was a bit of a distance from Amsterdam central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The deco on the feature wall could do with being toned down, as difficult to watch TV. Maybe if the room was bigger this might not have been a problem. Stayed in Ibis hotels before unsure why it was so expensive.

    Room was modern, spacious, clean and tidy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    5.0
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room Not meticulously clean. Towels were dirty although they got replaced as soon as we asked reception. Location is remote and a bit far from city centre although transportation is of good frequence

    Friendly staff. Easy acces to town centre with either bus or metro

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.1
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows not as comfortable as before! Before they were just nice and thick now too flat. Room not hovered properly dirt behind the bed.

    Good location.Good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.1
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not that I didn’t like just the location was a little Far our but there was a bus which took you to the train station

    The mini shop downstairs and the bar area

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.1
    It was the best #noitching
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During our stay I experienced bed bugs which ruined my holiday of relaxation. Luckily the staff were very understanding of this and changed my room and gave me a partial refund. On the other hand this did have a spiralling effect in which I had to go to the centre for pharmaceutical purposes and also having lack of sleep at night. I also have been informed that the bites can itch/be uncomfortable for up to two weeks.

    The staff where extremely helpful and caring and understanding of situations, when we arrived we had no bus pass they showed us how to get into the center and also gave us a copy of the bus time table which was very useful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.8
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My car got towed and impounded , the hotel told me to park out the front I was ok till Monday and Sunday my car was towed it was a discrace cost me 374 euros to get it back and missed my returing ferry ,also the staff were so in helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.5
    Easy access to public transport to central/airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free tea and coffee. Had to pay extra which we decided not to.

    Easy access to public transport to central/airport. Clean and well presented. Bar downstairs

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    5.4
    Not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff didn’t provide the business room i booked and the room wasn’t prepared. I paid for the same amount of money and didnt even give any credit. Then i told the staff name Cane at night regarding this. He said he will gave me a breakfst coupon and sent it to my room. But i never received it.

    I stayedd here before and the staff were ok.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    Great, comfortable hotel easy access to central via bus would definitely stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Twin beds and Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite small for 3 adults with one on a sofa bed which wasn’t comfy at all but okay for a base to see the sights and all the amenities you need.

    Staff were fantastic,friendly and knowledgeable. Helped us with transport and things to see and do. All types of people from couples to family’s

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.5
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed in the breakfast offered. I appreciate I would have to spend Amsterdam prices but €16 per person for what we got offered was very poor in my opinion . Not much to choose from at all. Would stay at hotel again but wouldn’t spend any extra money on the eating breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is not much to do around the hotel which I thought was a bit sad.

    This hotel is only 15 mins away from Amsterdam Central station using the bus which runs very regularly even on Sunday. The staff was very nice and helpful. The breakfast was decent I would have excepted a bit more variety in the choices. They decorated our room for my partner birthday which I thought was very nice we had a bottle of champagne, snacks and a card. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for an affordable hotel not too far from the city centre

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse ibis Amsterdam City West traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: