Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis Amsterdam Centre 3 stars

Stationsplein 49, Amsterdam City Centre, 1012 AB Amsterdam, Netherlands

#221 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 6002 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    4.2
    Central walking location To everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to take two lifts and walk across a sun trap of a tunnel just to get to our room. Now bear in mind it was 25 degrees in Amsterdam and there was no cold air from the moment we stepped in the first lift. We avoided having to go to the room as much.

    Central walking location To everything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    3.8
    Terrible stuffs and very hot room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ROOM: the hotel is not good with baby as the room is very very hot though it’s already air conditioned. the aircon is so noisy and not working well in our room it’s a nightmare experience specially during the summer. No kettle, baby crib is broken, pillows are uncomfortable, room is very small. NOT ADVISABLE FOR FAMILY! STUFFS & PROPERTY: the staffs are not even nice when we arrived like 1:30pm the receptionist says check in is by 2pm so we waited outside the property because the waiting area are full of other guests and it’s noisy as well due to renovations going on which is not stated or mentioned during my booking in booking.com. after 30mins of waiting i went again to reception to check if we could now check in because waiting outside the property is very hot and not comfortable with the baby. however the receptionist seems feel upset and answered me that the room is not ready yet and will be ready by 3pm.so again we waited for another hour outside the property toasted in the sun. PAYMENT: Please note upon check in if you book via debit card you will be charge twice and will advice you they will gonna refund after 3weeks as they only accepted credit card.

    location is good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.7
    A convenient stopover but rooms uncomfortably small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are tiny, the layout of our twin room meant my son’s feet were very close to my face! Building works going on meaning limited reception and common facilities yet we weren’t emailed about this and reception didn’t make any reference to it or apology.

    If proximity to the station is important the location is a perfect travel stopover.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    3.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No irons staff not helpful when asked for iron was advised they dont do room service and no u cant have a iron. Also room only cleaned once stayed 2 nights

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.4
    The central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was construction work happening outside and inside the hotel which we weren’t made aware off. The beds were uncomfy, the cleaners came in our room at 9:30am, which is far too early. We were placed on the second floor so the trains going past were ridiculously loud. This is the 3rd time I have stayed in the hotel, and I won’t be returning.

    The central location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.4
    Rate for the location, but not others.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi is poor, i cannot connect at all. I have requested a room with strong wifi before i visit because i need it for work but this is disappointing. I also mentioned the time that i arrived in the morning because i need the room for a quick change and shower to rush for my appointment but when i arrive the room was not ready until 6pm, not even a place for me to get shower or refresh. The room is small, if solo travel should be fine but if two person with a big luggage, you barely can walk.

    The location is absolutely fantastic, just few minutes walk from Amsterdam Central station, i will rate this hotel only for the location. Easy access to train, tram, bus, boat...etc and is located at the centre of Amsterdam attraction spot.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.3
    Bed is really comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room is small

    Bed is really comfortable. Staff is very nice and eager to help. Breakfast included is very good Excellent location! walking distance for Central Station!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    good location, next to centraal station cant miss it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    mattress was terrible, didnt get a good nights sleep at all. Also got several bed bug bites which isnt great. due to the hotel literally being in the station all you can hear in the morning is the trains!!. Lastly slightly annoying having to take two lifts.

    good location, next to centraal station cant miss it. staff very helpful and friendly helped up change rooms easily and swiftly. breakfast was also good food. can get some good views of amsterdam depening on which room you're in

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hold they put on the fee for the room was never released after I had settled my bill resulting in a block of funds from my bank. I had to call my bank to release the funds.

    Great location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location, not so great air con!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con was terrible and in the middle of summer, it made for some uncomfortable nights!

    Amazing location, we had a great room with floor to ceiling windows and a great view of Amsterdam! It’s literally next door to the train station!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.8
    It can be better
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think that even if it was in high season the price was too high compared to the room and the facilities available. Also there was construction on going which despite no sound did affect us yet the setting was a bit unrepresentable. The room and the hallways had a very bad odor. Finally the staff wasnt as friendly or helpful, although we did request for an early check in which is applicable in most hotels they refused to give us the room except at 2:00 sharp. I have been to other ibis hotels in spain for example its much much better.

    The room is pretty convenient size wise for a short stay trip and comfortable. The location is perfect next to the central station and 10 to 15 min away from the center.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    4.2
    location which is not the only hotel in this place
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    i reserve 2 rooms one city view and one river view when i reach they insest to give me 2 river view and they said there is no empty city view ....staff not cooperative....rooms are very small....no mirror.....really very small rooms

    location which is not the only hotel in this place

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    Location was more than excellent, staff are friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are so tight and small, not sure if this is a standard thing in Amsterdam

    Location was more than excellent, staff are friendly and very efficient

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Slick.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning was a little noisy, but as it was constant it didn't disturb sleep.

    The air conditioning worked and the sound proofing did too. The room was well laid out, maximising use of space. Everything worked and it was clean. No frills, no fuss; but completely functional.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.7
    Location clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where to start. Was my 6th time In Amsterdam this was my second time to return to this hotel. There will not be a third. We walked into a bomb site as renovations goin on. Never informed. No where to have an evening meal or drink and still had to pay full price. Then AGAIN for the second time had trouble with payin by card. Waitin now on a refund for 1st night. Staff didn’t give a crap or any way sorry for it. Lady at reception have me a “luxury” room after I said this is not what I expected to walk into. It was same as last time. Never again. It is clean and location is good but not fair spending €456 for 3nights in a hotel that u can only be in your room when u get back after a long day. Be nice to be able relax in bar. Or at least be told by email before you arrive to expect this. But no cause that would have meant people rebooking else where!!! I never give bad reviews EVER. A joke.

    Location clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.8
    Not recommended!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    * Rooms are not noise proof and the hotel is above the train tracks. As a consequence, you can hear all of the trains passing by, which limits your sleep to a 5 hour time window. There are 2 layers of window, but this doesn't isolate the noise of the trains. * Breakfast is a lot more basic compared to other (cheaper) Ibis hotels. * Hotel was busy renovating, and caused the check-in process to take a lot longer.

    * Practical location * Friendly staff * Basic Ibis rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Great Location so easy to get too
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ground floor was under construction, check in area was hectic due to temporary location and some staff where untrained and confused on what to do. Check in process took way to long.

    Step away from the train station. Clean, comfortable and simple rooms. I have stayed here a few times now and love it because of how convenient it is to get to from the station especially if you have a early flight.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.9
    Location could not be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lack of a gym.

    Location could not be better. Renovations were underway on ground floor but these were just finishing up and getting back to normal as we left. Staff were accommodating and excellent attitude, room was clean and bright. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.7
    I liked the coffee and room was nice too and so were the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was construction work on at the hotel and we were never informed of this before we traveled

    I liked the coffee and room was nice too and so were the staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.8
    Average hotel great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there was no explanation about the hotel being refurbished and that the bar and reception area were always too crowded to get to talk to any staff and over priced bar for it being a temporary one!

    Comfy bed clean room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable, nice comfortable bed and good size shower. Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in. There were major renovations taking place, chaotic. We booked in after 2:00 but our room 668 was not ready. We were offered a complimentary coffee and sat and waited. We were forgotten and only when we asked after about 30 minutes did they check again and then room was suddenly ready.

    Location is ideal. Ask go a room overlooking the harbor, IJ

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    6.7
    Great Location, comfy rooms, shame about the renovations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were renovations going on so there was no proper reception, there was a makeshift one set up in the restaurant which was a bit manic when we arrived. We were early and wanted to drop in our bags and use the bathroom before we went out again and there wasn't a public bathroom, one of the staff had to let us into one of the rooms. The restaurant had loads of staff sitting around in the entrance so we didn't even get a proper look at it.

    Nice spacious clean room, super comfy bed, great location next to centraal station. Vending machines were well stocked with snacks, soft drinks and beer. All staff were polite and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.8
    Average service but A1 location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was being renovated so the reception was in the resturant. There was someone xown stairs always to help but they mostly just sat on their chair on their phone. To get to my room i needed to use two lifts. I assume also to do with the renovation. No where was i told that this desruption would be going on during the booking process.

    The location was very central to the station, ferrys and trams. Very convientient to resturants etc too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location and good sized clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No organisation at all at check-in, the hotel needs a full sized reception desk where there is room to form a que. This hotel just have small standing/open desks in the middle of the lobby where people are trying to enter and exit the restaurant and bar and also access the lift. Staff were rude.

    Great location and good sized clean rooms. The view from our room on the 7th floor was also great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    1. Great location- a minute walk from central train station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Rooms small and simple 2. Weak water pressure and water temperature constantly changing from hot to cold 3. The hotel was under renovations during our stay 4. Expensive breakfast

    1. Great location- a minute walk from central train station and train from airport 2. Clean 3. Rooms were simple but reasonable 4. Safe 5. Last minute cancelation

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    I would stay again, but I would not pay for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was far too over priced. 17€ per person per day. I was expecting something put of this world. Nope

    Very friendly. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Great hotel - highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives.

    Great central location. Clean spacious room. Very kind, friendly staff - extremely welcoming. Will 100% be staying here again on our next holiday.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice location—train station was very close and the hop on hop off buses & boats stop was out front
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some construction on site made entry ways tight.

    Great location, close to everything. Staff was friendly. Had a door man each day—I think because the main entrance was under construction.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    we always use ibis hotels as they are value for money and are always in good locations. most major
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    slight disruption due to new reception being constructed, however it is nearing completion.

    overall we enjoyed our stay. location was great as it was right beside central rail station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.4
    Charged for the room twice!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the train tracks, the reception area wasn’t very nice, and we ended up being charged twice for our hotel room which we didn’t notice until we got home!!!

    The location was very good and the bed was comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Location and price were the best. Will stay here when we return to Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location can’t be beat. Price exceptionally reasonable compared to nearby hotels. Across from train station so you can easily go anywhere including back to airport. Very clean room, comfortable bed. Staff very helpful and efficient. Checking was very fast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.8
    Nice hotel but defrauded us by not having room we paid for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They defrauded us by not having a room during the period that we had rented a room. Very unhappy with the booking.com arrangement. Will not work with either Ibis or booking.com again.

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful location, very clean, rooms were beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They took money out of my bank account before I arrived at the hotel even though I was paying with cash. But it was back in my account next day so I was happy

    Loved the room, great location, new towels and bed were dressed everyday, would deffinately book again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Good for an overnight transit stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Hectic at check in time - No room service - Wi-Fi patchy - Be careful what lanes u walk, some erotic stores and marijuana shops nearby...not appropriate for kids

    + Excellent location + Across the road from a supermarket + Friendly staff + Comfy bed + Plenty of hot water + Quiet + There's a halal restaurant (Istanbul Restaurant) only 5mins walk away

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.0
    Having stayed at this hotel before we felt pretty confident it would again be suitable to stay in..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not informed of renovations being carried out Bathroom was filthy and small Snot was found wiped on the wall Bed was just a base with a mattress topper on it

    Location and not a lot else

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    4.2
    Never been ripped off like this in my entire life! DO NOT BOOK!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So I booked this hotel months prior to the trip. I booked 2 rooms at a mere £450 per room for 3 nights! 😶, paying such a price I assumed the hotel would live up the photos advertised on Booking.com but wow was I wrong. Not only was I wrong I was massively wrong! Walked in and the check in desk on the photos, quite literally does not exist. Some bloke stood not having a clue what’s going on checking up in for 45 minutes. So let’s actually talk about the rooms when this is what you’re paying for. The rooms are abysmal. I have never stayed in a more depressing hotel room in my entire life! Wood chip wall paper, cheap furniture. The floors were always filthy, I felt I had to wear shoes at all times in there. The bedding wasn’t changed at all, I spilt something on my bed and what the cleaners did was turn over the sheets thinking I wouldn’t notice. Comical! The bathroom is the smallest room known to man. Want to sit on your toilet and close the bathroom door? HA don’t make me laugh! If you are a small child or under 4 foot then happy days! The shower had no water pressure what so ever, nothing was cleaned! The air con just made a noise, no cold air. I literally felt depressed and like I was in a prison for my entire stay at this hotel. I have been to Amsterdam numerous times and you can find much nicer, cleaner hotels for a fraction of the price. Don’t let these guys take your money. Do not choose Ibis. Had to laugh it was that pathetic!

    Location was okay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent place for stay for heavy sleepers!!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It did not bother me as such but you can easily hear the train noises and hence if you are a light sleeper, you may have trouble sleeping at night!!

    Excellent location, helpful and nice staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.9
    Want Affordable Well Located hotel? Ibis is Your choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    N/A

    The Ibis is not a luxury hotel, but it is affordable, clean and situated in an ideal location, very close to the central railroad station, the waterfront, nearby excursions (canal rides), and a tourist office in which one can arrange tours of the city and outlying areas featuring the Dutch countryside (wind mills). The room was not very big, but by European standards it served its purpose well. After all, you're not going spend the entire day in your room. Breakfast was excellent, offering a wide variety of foods like cold cuts and cheese; cereals; yogurt, scrambled eggs, sausages and beans and sweet roles.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC doesn't work for me.

    Location. It's is at less than a minute from the train station. Good enough if you want to go for the day to Amsterdam.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    Great stay as always
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom are quite small and being a tall guy was a little tricky to move around in but still very nice and clean

    Location this is my 5 stay here i love being based close to the station when i visit

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    N/A
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was great.

    Location by central station excellent. Everything within easy walking distance. Easy access to train to and from airport. Good -sized. comfortable and very clean rooms and a great view of harbour.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    As always smooth stay. Very central & close to all the fun & transport options.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar was under renovation but it is only temporary. Can always walk across the road/canal for all the choices.

    Very central right next to Amsterdam Centraal station & trams, canal cruise station & walking distance to Dam Square. Good breakfast spread. I stay there every visit to AMS since last 7-8 years. The restaurant & bar is under renovation this time, so missed that. Friendly staff. A great transit hotel too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone has entered my room with his key when i was sleeping, have no idea how. Then next day the cleaner left the day opened and stuff did not even responsed on this. Awful! Totaly insecure place. Poor breakfast as well.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.5
    Location gets marks but room related service sad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rate of room. Lack of service upon request and why a room is differently allotted when all 3 rooms are paid for together at same price n time. No action inspite of bringing to notice.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a disappointing hotel from the Ibis brand. Staff on arrival were not overly friendly or helpful. We arrived early and had to wait a few hours for our room to be ready and so asked if we could hold our luggage - we had to take it ourselves to a “storage room” on level 3 and the room was ridiculously hot and not air conditioned like the rest of the hotel. The food in our bags went off and the toiletries melted and went warm. The beds were ok, but the pillows were terrible and old. Bathroom was not overly clean. Only amenities provided are towels and some soap. We only stayed here for 2 nights, which was fine. But feel like for the price we paid we could’ve found a better hotel.

    We stayed here for 2 nights with our baby. Good location, just a 2min walk from Amsterdam Centraal. Air conditioner worked well. Wiindows were double-glazed which was great for the noise since the hotel/room was located directly above the train station. Very no frills.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee where not replenished for second night of our stay.

    Great location for Amsterdam. Central to everything. Will use again on our next visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    Right outside train station and tram station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Went for our luggage in the room provided there was 3 people in the room with cases open. Didn’t feel comfortable leaving our case there . 17.00 Euro for breakfast think it’s a bit expensive

    Right outside train station and tram station To go where you want

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    Location was good for getting into the city, the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite dirty. We had two rooms and both felt dirty underfoot, marks on the walls and woodwork above our bedstead .

    Location was good for getting into the city, the staff were very pleasant too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.0
    Was not worth my money. I will not return to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not comfortable, the walls in the bathroom were dirty, there wasn’t even a kettle in the room with coffee of tea (they do have them but you have to ask, but you still won’t get any tea or coffee with it). Nothing was complimentary. You have to pay for breakfast if you want any in the mornings.

    The view was nice, the room had AC and location was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, quiet and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would have been good if the room was slightly cheaper, but we all say that! Compared to similar hotels I checked in Amsterdam, the price seemed competitive.

    Love railways. Room overlooked the station! Quiet and clean. Easy to reach from the station booking hall. Close enough to central Amsterdam for walking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Great Stay - deffinitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The price was a little expensive - however expected in city centre.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Location was excellent. Room clean and comfortable. Even though right next to the station you hardly heard the trains.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    Definitely Worth The Money and will make your stay so convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I wish my room wasn't so far from the entrance to the hotel. 8th flr and 2 elevators to get to my room is challenge after an afternoon of wine tasting. It's nice to have a corner room but the price for that was it faced the train tracks Which are incredibly noisy if you're trying to sleep in. Also, I believe the hotel is non-smoking However, I had many instances of cigarette smoke wafting into my room daily. Someone should think about more than 1 key to the luggage room. I understand the policy of not being allowed to check in until a certain time However, it makes more sense for there to be more than just 1 key so you're not waiting for 10-15 mins for the previous person to return it so you can place your luggage.

    This hotel is the epitome of centrally located, you can walk to EVERYTHING. It's 2-3 min walk once you get off the train at Central Station. Expect the minimum in amenities as there are no extras. You'll get a clean room, comfy bed, towels and soap. Everything else you should prepare to bring with you. However, the breakfast included with the room is tasty with a decent selection and definitely worth it. Quite pleasant staff and just a good place to rest/clean up and lay low between enjoying Amsterdam.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.1
    The staff was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathrooms so tiny you could hardly turn around. A TV, but no chair you could sit in to watch or rest a while. Mattress kept sliding off the bed. There was no lobby seating area.

    The staff was excellent. Especially Claudette in the restaurant. She went out of her way to help us. Requested help with window, it was immediate. The convenience of the tram and train nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.7
    Good for my trips purpose, but be wary of staying for longer times for leisure.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This whole 'easy going' atmosphere at the reception does not work. Staff at reception (oh yeah, there isn't one. just work stations) are just milling about doing there own thing. Want to check in? Well, you'll have to grab their attention. If its busy, they will get overwhelmed and people will skip in front of you to grab their attention in a bid for service. I see where they are trying to get to with this new flexible way of working, but it does not work very well for guests. Want to leave your bags post checkout? You'll have to take them to the lock-up yourself on the first floor with a lift. this is a BIG BIG no. I could easily have passed for a guest, gotten the key during a busy period where the staff were stressed, and helped myself to a bag or two. Staff should always accompany a guest or bring luggage from back of house. Although happy with the room, their airco was horrid. Firstly, there is a small touch screen environmental control. But instead of putting it by the door, they put it right by your pillow by the bed. Nice idea in theory, but the blinding light at night when you activate it really is frustrating. Furthermore, it does not go off for about 3 minutes, meaning you'll have blinding LED light in your face for that time. The airco itself is also not very efficient. My visit in Amsterdam was during a very hot period, and my room was facing the sun for most of the day. I found that having the aircon on at full blast at 14.5 degrees (!!) still did not manage to get the room below 24.5 degrees. Opening the window was not an option as the Central Station is a notoriously noisy place in Amsterdam at all hours.

    Very easy to get to by the station. The room is clean and the windows are insulative so you don't have any noise at night. Rooms are well outfitted and clean. Great bathroom. Comfortable beds. Perfect for what you need if you are staying for a short trip

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    5.0
    Bad value for money I've paid - I'd choose it again only in case if other hotels are fully booked
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not a good value for money: awful breakfast - not only due to food but cafe is too small so it's even difficult to find free table, very small rooms with trains in front of the window, too high price for such accommodation, there is not places around to have late dinner or sit in a bar or to work with a laptop

    friendly personnel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    Great stay, will be back in future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t have any food in the hotel but the staff were great really friendly and helpful. The bed was good size & super comfy! Bathroom was small which is ok but it was also a little dirty upon check in, location is good too less than 5 minutes from station and short walk into Amsterdam. Will definitely be back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.8
    Very minimal accomodation..tiny, no ammenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have used another pillow,some washcloths and didnt like the do it yourself luggage lock up room and the running around to get a key for the bathroom by breakfast room.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Freindly staff, quick check in and check out, location is...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise of the trains, basic stuff like charging adaptors not available, breakfast substandard compared to most hotels around Europe.

    Freindly staff, quick check in and check out, location is perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.4
    Good for 1-2 nights stay and not long term
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff does smile but they wouldn't go the extra mile. They will leave you to bring luggage to the luggage room for storage and will not escort you. They will also not tell you where the luggage room is until you asked. Small things like this does make a difference to tell if they do have passion to serve. They would assume you know how to get your way around. It is a very basic hotel and the linens are poor in quality. The toilet is tiny.

    WIFI easy connection, Speed was reasonable for internet surfing and texting. Location is superb.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    4.2
    Not recommended if you want a good night sleep
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Could hardly sleep at night due to the noise from the trains which are right below the building. I advice to not take the river view rooms as it is at the 2nd building closer to the trains track. The shower tub was also dirty and yellowish. The whole building actually was dated, felt like we were staying in portacabins or something!

    Staff were friendly and helpful and good variety at breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.8
    Not happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel room 310 bad stay hardly slept as train was going past every 2 mins also tv didn't work. Spoke to reception they said we couldn't move rooms an someone will be up to sort tellivision out but they never come.

    Stayed here 6 times

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    4.6
    Amsterdam is an amazing city but for your own sake avoid this awful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    View of the train tracks. Train noise every hour of the day. An anonymous box in which to sleep. A box with an utter lack of any appealing qualities.

    Just about adequate. It was a room with a private bathroom. That's it. No decorations on the walls. Soulless, featureless. You should only consider staying at this anteroom to hell when every genuine hotel in the city is full.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    Location was fab, very central, rooms were comfortable, warm...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from trains, reception felt very chaotic on arrival, no discernable queing or order to checking in

    Location was fab, very central, rooms were comfortable, warm and practical

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.8
    A good place to stay in a very beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was very cramped and uncomfortable when using. There was also a big lack of storage for your clothes - 3 plastic hangers for two people -very poor. Beds were OK. Why we were given 3 pillows between 2 people which was very strange?

    The hotel has a great situation near the canal and central railway station. Very easy transport links from this location. The hotel staff were very friendly and pleasant. Good breakfasts were available if a little expensive when staying for more than a few days. We stayed in Room 231 which overlooked the canal at the front of the hotel which gave us a great view across the bike storage facility and canal. Doesn't sound great but it is. Surprisingly there wasn't much noise at night either.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    Very central position and easy to travel (trains, trams,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very central position and easy to travel (trains, trams, buses canal trips) to all parts of Amsterdam and Schiphol Airport. Lovely view from the window with plenty to watch eg boats, ferry, cruise ships, barges, trains. Very helpful staff who helped enormously when our EasyJet flight was cancelled.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    6.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was so tiny, not great for the price. I’d stay there again if it was only for 1 or 2 nights. Payment was taken twice and took ages to refund.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location with friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were extremely small, but it is somewhat expected.

    I loved the customer service shown by the staff especially the front desk people. Also, the location was perfect because we could jump on the train line easily.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.1
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in process. People just milling about. Check in staff taking too long. No evidence of a queue and staff either too busy or not inclined to try and keep an eye on who was next. It allowed people to jump ahead of others and took nearly half an hour.

    Location. Just beside Central Station, tourist office, boat trips etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.1
    Best location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is so small. We travelled with 2 big luggage. So eveytime we need to keep the luggage close and put in in the stand up positio after we took our stuff from the luggags. Otherwise theres no space between bed and the toilet.

    The location and the staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.5
    Rooms small,but clean & safe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms small,but clean & safe. Well located. Beside train station so easy to get to airport & also on tram routes to explore more if the city. Main sights & river cruises within walking distance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Walk about to find the best venues for value/atmosphere for eating/drinking than tourist spots £££££
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    Everything was above expectation, located just outside of central station, views of the canals, super comfy beds, towels and bedding changed daily, tv, safe, friendly and useful staff, great atmosphere, rooms were clean and tidy when we arrived.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    Handy location but very over priced for a budget hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very over priced for a basic hotel. The rooms were too warm even with the air conitioning on so the coolest setting so we had to sleep with the windows open which is not ideal as you will hear the noise from the trains. Otherwise when the windows are closed the sound proofing is excellent.

    The beds were very comfortable and the showers were very spacious and overall the rooms were quite clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.8
    Touristy Amsterdam Vibe Trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although from the map, it may seems far from the city centre, however, if you are in Amsterdam for one day or two, you can easily take the bus which is right in front of the Amsterdam Central Station to anywhere you like. Additionally, places are within reaches by your foot. Great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    6.7
    pricy but a good hotel location and prefer to have slight daily variety of breakfast spread
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    hotel staff was not able to provide spare power adaptor overnight which my one did not work and I had almost zero power left on my phone during my checked-in hotel around 11pm that day.... while I saw another customer able to get other accessories borrowed from the other staff. The same staff did not provide correct information on whereabout buying the adaptor..told me to get it from supermarket in AMS Centraal train station which they don't sell at all.

    location is good. next to Amsterdam Centraal. easy to move about from this hotel. check-in and check -out is prompt and efficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.9
    Close to the station, Dam square and beautiful view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room size - The room is quite small when compare to the price (657 EUR for 3 persons 3 nights). I think the room's size is slightly bigger than twin room because the table in twin room has been changed to be sofa bed. However, with the location this price and room size are acceptable. Toilet - Just feel that water speed is quite low but still acceptable

    Location - Hotel is located very close to the station, in fact parts of the hotel was built over the railways. - Take the exit near platform 1 to go to the hotel. View - I booked the triple room in the hotel for 3 nights and asked the staff for the river view so he changed the room to river side and it was very beautiful. I can see the train station, river (or sea I'm not quite sure), ferry and also the IAMSTERDAM sign on the opposite side. (If you want to take photos with IAMSTERDAM without having other tourists in the same frame, I recommend you to take the ferry behind the station to another side and take photos with this sign instead of the sign in the town.) Noise - Although the room is located on the train station, the noise of train was not that loud. I still sleep well every night and wake up with beautiful view. Staff - Staffs are quite friendly and kind because he gave me the room with very beautiful view lol. Restaurants - There are many restaurants in the town, including No.1 Frites. River cruise - Many river cruises are located in front of the hotel so you can take the cruise at night and go back to the hotel easily. Supermarket - There are many supermarket near the hotel and in the station.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse ibis Amsterdam Centre traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: