Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera 3 stars

Valkenburgerstraat 68, Amsterdam City Centre, 1011 LZ Amsterdam, Netherlands

#177 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3455 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.7
    It was ok, but after having stayed in other hotels, it was lacking in many ways.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast was inadequate Toilet seat was broken and always made loud noise when it was used. Therefore, It could be heard in the bedroom in the middle of the night. No hooks to hang clothes/coat on. Very small and squishy.it was

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.5
    Excellent trip away
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No option to pay extra for canal view.

    Easy walk to the rail station and other places of interest. Staff from minute walked in very friendly and helpful. Room was lovely

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.1
    Decent location and bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy - could hear people flushing the toilet or using water upstairs. Our door would shake anytime the main door would open/close. Bathroom was small - only slightly bigger than the ones on the train.

    Decent location and bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.9
    The hotel was in a good location with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn’t included in the price which we would of liked since the overall cost of the stay was quite pricey. The cleaners didn’t always clear up the whole room too, leaving food rubbish making the room smell a bit.

    The hotel was in a good location with friendly staff. The room was clean with a beautiful view from the window. We didn’t have breakfast at the hotel because of the price. Me and my partner went for his birthday and when we arrived we found balloons on the bed with some sweets and a card which was a lovely touch.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.1
    The location is perfect.
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small and bathroom too , the elevator was many times out of service , the price was expensive comparing with services or room size

    The location is perfect.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.8
    This hotel was in a perfect location for our trip and offered everything we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a lot of traffic noise at night. However, the air conditioning was quiet so closing the window was not a problem.

    The staff were always as helpful as they could be, and always friendly. The breakfast was delicoius, relaxed and a brilliant start to the day.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    4.2
    very small rooms... even smaller bathroom... basic amenities missing from the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the rooms are too small... and the bathroom feels like we are travelling on a ship.... no fridge no electric kettle available in the room... the room ends before starting and there is no space to open even 3 luggages side by side... in the name of budget hotel the hotel has taken away a lot of basic amenities but the prices are not like a budget hotel... i could seriously got a better deal in the prices i paid for a room here.... please stay here only if there is no option avaialble...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.2
    Would stay here again but not have breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was awful, at 17€ it’s a waste, there not enough choices, no bacon, sausages (only chicken ones), eggs (only hard boiled)! Really poor choice, you can go for a walk and in 15 minutes find a better beeakfast for half the price

    The room was perfect, really comfy beds, good size rooms!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    My stay at Ibis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything I didn’t like

    I loved the modern decor and location by the canal we picked a room overlooking the canal. Staff were very helpful and friendly and it was our anniversary and they put balloons in our room and I pre ordered wine staff allowed us into room early and stored our suitcase when we left as we wasn’t travelling until the eve. The canal view from our room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.8
    Great time in Amsterdam but would probably not use this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No coffee/tea facilities in room. Rooms were basic with very little storage space(no drawers at all).

    Great location, not too close to the tourist area but near enough to walk in 10 minutes. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Awesome !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Fantastic breakfast. Excellent computer/internet facilities - made it easy to print out our return boarding passes. Great bar. Fabulous staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.5
    We had a nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a nice stay. The room was clean and big enough. Clean toilet and comfy bed. The breakfast was good. Good location, walking distance to the old town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    Extremely enjoyable stay in the hotel will definitely be recommending it to anyone going to Amsterda
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weren't given new towels on the second day but rang reception and they were sent up

    I liked everything about the hotel. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff was extremely helpful and polite. Great choise for breakfast and in walking distance of everywhere.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    Best staff ever in this hotel!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We arrived at the hotel few hours later than informed (at 9 PM) and our reservation was canceled. Well, there was free rooms and we got one at the same price than was in original booking. Everything seemed to be ok, but later the hotel informed us, that we have to pay 17 euros per head for the breakfast, even it has included in the original booking. In the end we had a discussion with the staff and we did not have to pay for the breakfast.

    Staff. Everybody smiled and asked, if everything was ok with our staying. Hotels personnel made us feel the hotel's most important guests.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    Lovely staff very helpful with everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is not so great and no kettle or any sort of refreshments in room.

    Lovely staff very helpful with everything. Comfy bed. Nice bar/restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    Great fun, great value - highly recommend 😎
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t dislike anything BUT tea/coffee facilities in room would be nice

    Good location, all staff speak several languages. Services available 24 hours. 5 mins walk to transport links. Modern hotel, rooms nice and more than adequate.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel. Polite and friendly staff. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I could not get any airline frequent flyer miles because I had booked through booking.com Many airlines have partnerships with many hotels. Many customers can earn airline frequent flyer miles for many airlines from staying in many hotels worldwide.

    The bed was comfortable. My room was clean, comfortable and cute. I liked the view from my room. I liked the bar. Food, drinks and comfortable seats. Polite and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    6.3
    The location was great.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is not worth the price I paid. It'svery small. There is no room to move, especiallyin the bathroom. I felt stifled.

    The location was great. That's about it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    Good location if you’re alright to walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The prices of the drinks in the downstairs bar area. A bottle of water was €3 which just seem unreasonable but there is a supermarket not far away wheee you can get it cheaper.

    Good location to walk places and wasn’t noisy so didn’t have any trouble sleeping. Didn’t have any problem here and I’m sure if I did the staff would be more than happy to help.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Lovely Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast rather expensive

    Unusual Reception and welcome, informal and comfortable. Great room overlooking canal. Handy for best bar in town - Slyshuis

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a lot of money, so we are elsewhere. If it had been cheaper we would have ate at the hotel.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. The bed was to die for, I had the best sleep ever. Late check out was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was so comfy and the room was so spacious for Amsterdam. They gave out free pastries left over from breakfast so to ensure no waste. Great wee spot 🙌 Staff are so friendly and helpful couldn't have done more for us.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.3
    Helpful and polite staff, very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service could be little better, especially the "new" and "clean" towels should be more clean. However, overall hygene is good in hotel. Just the towels :(

    Helpful and polite staff, very good location. You can walk to center in 10 mins and all public transportation is really close. Comfy room and bed as well. Temperature of the room is also good, you don't have to set anything.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.3
    Location is close, not locsted in a crowded area, staff was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very basic, nothing special for the expensive price you're paying

    Location is close, not locsted in a crowded area, staff was friendly(most of them)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    Great base to explore Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Busy street, big hotel (I prefer smaller hotels), no fridge.

    Fairly new building and room, great, big bed (though only 3 pillows, not 4) and window that opens. All was there, safe, coffee & tea making facilities, a/c (which we did not use) spacious shower could fit the both of us and to top it all the bed was decorated with balloons and we received a voucher for a drink at the bar and sweets + gift card for his 50th birthday. View of the canal was nice, though we not really sat at the desk to work but explored the city. Breakfast buffet was sufficient, though no waffles or omelet. There were poffertjes and roze koeken and speculaas (famous Dutch cookies) and more than ok cappuccino from the machine.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.1
    4 night stay which on the whole was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Biggest let down was no tea or coffee making facilities in our room which we missed when waking up. The hotel is slightly out of things and has no trams running in the street with the only tram stop about 600 metres away.

    The staff are helpful and friendly, the hotel and rooms are clean and tidy. Public areas clean and accessible.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    This place was the perfect location to stay in Amsterdam!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place was the perfect location to stay in Amsterdam! Everything was so Central from here. The hotel rooms were spacious and always clean, friendly staff and I will absolutely stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.9
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One morning we wanted to sleep a bit later but cleaner was quite loud in other rooms and corridors. Sound proofing could be better.

    Good location. Nice, basic room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.3
    Central location, nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was small. Since it is the same company that owns the Motel 6 brand, I wasn't surprised at the prefab bathroom installation. Very thin towels. The brand does a good job of smoothing over the plebeian size and train cabin bathrooms by layering on style.

    Modern design, interesting reception table concept. Extremely helpful staff members, very nice and professional. I've stayed in another Ibis property in Chile a couple of years ago so knew what to expect.Amsterdam is expensive so the price was about right for the area and amenities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.5
    Walking distance to center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not in a scenic location but easy to walk there. We did not have breakfast as there’s a great grocery store around the corner with good selection. Many cafes too.

    We stayed in one of the premium rooms with canal view. Got a little more room that what other reviews mention. Kettle in room. Seems like it was worth it. Still a basic room as one would expect from an Ibis.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.5
    The hotel had not checked our requested room arrangements (I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel had not checked our requested room arrangements (I room with a double and 1 room with 2 singles) so there was some delay on arrival until this got sorted out. Otherwise no problems

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice for a short stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is really small, the towels are so old they have holes! :) But otherwise, we had a clean room and bed where to sleep and we were 10min walk from all interesting spots in the city.

    Great location!! Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    The hotel exceeded my expectations overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast wasn't included, but we paid for it when we checked-in. Everything was done electronically in the system, and yet each morning we were asked whether we had paid for it. Perhaps it's a glitch in the system that needs to be sorted out. Bathroom door couldn't stay open, had to wedge it with a chair. Some milk for the coffee/tea in the room would be nice.

    The hotel exceeded my expectations overall. I have stayed in Ibis hotels before and it's usually a good value for money, but no frills hotel. This one was different. It was nicely decorated, the breakfast was good, the room was spacious and clean and the check-in was a breeze. Many thanks in particular to Lennart for being super helpful and friendly!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    We had a great time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ate one time at the hotel, and we thought it was a little bit expensive.

    The room was clean, small and cozy. The location is great, staff is very nice and you can feel that you are welcome. Thank you for our lovely stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Will definitely be staying again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I would say is to bring your own hairdryer. It's the first time I didn't take my own and the hairdryer was awful!

    Will definitely be staying again Great hotel. Great location and staff were lovely!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Very convenient place to visit downtown Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I can't remember.

    Breakfast (buffet) had plenty of choices, from fruits to croissants. Delicious breds, yogurts and fruit juices. The location was fine. We're able to visit several historic attractions by foot. The hotel is near restaurants, shops and a very good supermarket.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small and difficult to manoeuvre around

    The location was perfect, only a short walk from the city centre and the rooms were fantastic with a beautiful canal view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.3
    Good value compared to hotels close by and much better bar...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    rooms are dated and small. Location too far from the centre for us. Worth spending a bit more on something more central.

    Good value compared to hotels close by and much better bar than the much more expensive Monet Garden Hotel next door.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    4.6
    very dissapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was the worst hotel that I ever stayed. First of all they charged my card but I wanted to pay by cash, second they were super unfriendly!!!! They did not allow my brother to visit my room and told us to leave the hotel if we are not happy. For any question that I asked they avoided to answer or answered very rude like: If you are not happy about something take your cloathes now and take another hotel. Reception staff is just horrible and super rude! Room was smaller than in the picture, Even window did not open well, room was a bit dusty so all of us,we were 4 girls, got sick after because could not open the window to have some fresh air, went to doctor to treat allergy. Really horrible hotel dont recomend it! Ruined all our trip!

    just location, nice cleaning lady

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    Confortable hotel with a great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the breakfast is 16 euro, ok is an "all you can eat buffet" with quite a good selection BUT is too much for me, the other "option" is the small breakfast that consist in 2 croissant with jam, if you want coffe or tea you have to pay separately.

    The view of the canal is worth the extra money for the upgrade. Is 15min walk to the station and 15 min to the old part of the town. The fact is not in the old town make it quieter but walking distance to it. The museum area is 20 min walk but transportation is generally very good there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    We loved it, can’t wait to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Super friendly and helpful staff, the breakfast was very generous and stayed open until 11 so we could lie in and still have breakfast. The bathroom was very charming, clean and efficient, comfy beds, everything in the room we needed, and very quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Expensive bottled water - The seats outside were shut off later on so we couldn't sit outside the hotel. It would have been nice to come back from the centre and sit out front at night time.

    - Room was very clean, spotless infact! - Staff were friendly and always on hand - Location was great - hotel had a lovely warm vibe at night time - good food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Ibis always best choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interier was great modern, simple and chic. Staff friendly and professional like in every ibis I was. Hygiene on highest level. Room have everything you need. Food great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Loved Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame no kettle as this would have been perfect but ask downstairs for cups of boiling water if needed. I did this at night for a herbal tea before bed. Hairdryer wasn’t good wish I’d taken my own.

    Good location walked from central station and all over Amsterdam from hotel. Comfy rooms. Really comfy bed and pillows. I asked for extra pillow and was fetched straight away. Compact room and basic but only four nights. Supermarket a minutes walk away turn right out of hotel then right again. Over the road to supermarket was MOOK an incredible pancake restaurant for breakfast. We didn’t eat at hotel. You must go to the Dutch resistance museum! Also went to Annefranks house but book online before your trip as almost sold out!! Hop on hop off cruise and bus was great as got audio tour as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    The staff were fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More firm pillows would be ideal.

    The staff were fantastic. Plus the fact we could store our bags before checking in, allowing us to go see some sights. The standard of cleaning was first class too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    Good location, comfortable, friendly and efficient staff, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    An extra Chair in the bedroom would be ideal. Otherwise, the hotel was as expected.

    The Location was ideal for what we wanted to do and visit. Staff were very obliging and always courteous. Will stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    Amazing first experience in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was perfect for us. Short walks to everything we wanted to see. Staff was extremely helpful and kind. Room a bit small but was expected. would stay again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    6.7
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea making facility in room. Couldn’t even buy one when the bar was shut. Shower not very powerful. Air conditioning not that good.

    Location was good. Very nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel, location and staff. Will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not many channels on the TV and Mattress toppers moved around a bit could do with fixing down better.

    The hotel was very good and I would recommend to anybody. For what you would expect an Ibis to be this exceeded our expectations. The beds were so comfortable, room was clean and the location of the hotel was perfect it is only one stop by bus to the central station or a short walk and the journey to the airport is easy also. Location and room is great for the price. Most of the staff were very helpful, I look about 12 years younger than I am so I am used to people talking to me like a teenager and most of the staff did not do this which was a pleasant surprise. You can store your luggage with ease and they do not make anything difficult for you, if you have any questions or need direction the staff are more than welcome to assist. There is a small shop on the same road and also a Spar if you need supplies.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.1
    Good if one does not mind the absence of the tea/coffee set/fridge and eat outside in the evening
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is no tea/coffee set in the room and no fridge. I found this extremely disappointing for the money. Also, I tried the dinner at the lounge and ordered the chicken burger. Unfortunately, by contrast to the nice breakfast, the burger was a let down. It was made of a fried "re-built" chicken meat and was truly tasteless. Honestly, bad value for the price. So disappointing I could not eat it.

    The room was very clean. The breakfast is very varied and good quality. The service during my stay was considerate and helpful. Special thanks to one of the managers who gave me a room overlooking the canal as I was staying 4 nights and wanted a quiet room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Had a great stay in this hotel, good location. My only negative was that there were no tea/coffee ma
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there were no tea/coffee making facilities in standard room

    Hotel was quite close to city centre and was an enjoyable walk when weather was dry.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    Ok quality but too expensive for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible value for money, extremely expensive rate for what you get. Even water and snacks were unnecessarily expensive.

    Location and breakfast were good. Room was ok comfortable but nothing too much.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    A great hotel, a great location and brilliant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One little thing was the sound of the music that seemed to come from the lounge below our room, it was not over loud but you could hear it and once you turned off the tv in the room it was more noticeable.

    Great location, a very relaxed atmosphere and staff are fantastic and make you feel very welcome.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.5
    Friendly and welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel in general was extremely clean, however on the day we arrived there were women’s hairs on the toilet seat and when opened public hairs on the rim of the toilet. Didn’t comfort me regarding the cleanliness of the room. The location is also out of the way. For what we wanted but that is our fault for mis judging the location.

    Man at reception over night and early morning was very nice and helpful. Please make sure he is aware of what a great asset to your company he is.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.9
    A perfect break in a modern but simple hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price and the toilet- clean but small and like an airplane toilet, no drawers to unpack and only 5 hangers in wardrobe between 2 people

    Staff were great so friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    Modern, well positioned Hotel with lovely staff and rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No coffee or tea making facilities in room. This would have been lovely on our visit in an unusually cold March.

    The bed was amazingly comfortable and warm. the shower was large and had great water pressure for a lovely power shower.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the money it was good value. If i am going to be really critical, the bathroom felt a bit cheap as quite plastic-y but the point of the holiday was to see Amsterdam. Not about a luxury bathroom so really wasn’t a big deal

    Good value for money, great location, walking distance to Anne frank museum and red light district

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money, exceeds expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slightly better air-conditioning. I would expect in summer to be a bit too war,. We visited in winter which isn't a problem.

    Great value for money! Exactly what is required for a quick city break.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Great romantic stay away in Amsterdam!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    On arrival the staff were very friendly, we loved how high tech the hotel was, the reception had all the information projected onto the walls. The restaurant, lounging area was really nice, well designed, the staff again were brilliant, food was very tasty especially the nachos & burgers, &smoothies.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    Our stay at the Ibis was very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything about the hotel that we didn’t like although there wasn’t a wide selection of food for breakfast.

    The staff were very welcoming at the hotel and always available for any questions etc. The hotel was quite central and was very good value for money, very clean and comfortable. I’ve stayed in the Ibis hotels in England before and this has definately topped this all. I would definitely recommend and will stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I'm being picky, one of the lifts wasn't working. I assume this was due to the refurbishment that was taking place.

    Friendly staff. Was pretty local for most things. Would certainly use again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel with friendly staff in the city center of Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom could have been cleaner.

    The staff was really nice and friendly. The hotel was perfectly located to explore the city by foot. Me and my family really liked the small restaurant and bar of the hotel where we could finish the evening together in a relaxing atmosphere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    5.4
    Small rooms, separate beds for couples but nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was too small and tight. We could not even open up the luggage anywhere. There were 2 single beds combined as a double bed but it was very slippery and uncomfortable.

    Breakfast was nice, a lot of options to choose from. Room was warm compared to -2 degrees outside. Location is not very close to the center but not so far so you can walk or bike if you feel like it..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    5.8
    The hotel floor was under renovation; noisy, broken equipment and missed room service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We've been allocated to a floor that was under renovation. The tap was leaking, the air-conditioning was noisy, and in the morning - outreageously enough - I was roughly woken up by workers doing renovations. Clearly the floor was not ready to receive guests, but they sent us there anyway - to the detriment of our experience. I did not receive room service for 2 of the 3 days I stayed. In one of the rooms I was moved the telephone did not work. I was reimbursed for the final day of the stay, but overall with regards to the amount of money I paid and my overall experience, it was not worth it.

    Good location, modern design, very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel with very friendly staff and perfect rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk to the centre was about 15 minutes but cold made it worse. If it was warm the walk would be perfect.

    Room was very clean and staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.1
    Great location but I thought it was an average stay due to the issues we had whilst we was there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The thing I disliked was each time we had an issue we approached the reception. We couldn’t ring as we had moved room twice because of our phone not working and even in the second room the issue still hasn’t been resolved. So having to go down to the reception each time we had a problem was very frustrating as we didn’t find it relaxing at all and when your on holiday you do want to relax. Each time we spoke to someone we was being told something different which you can imagine is very confusing. The most helpful person was the last day when we was leaving we told the young women on reception how we felt about our stay and she kindly apologised and offered us free breakfast.

    Due to our phone not working in the first room we got upgraded to a canal view room which was a stunning view and the bed was really comfy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More storage facilities in the room

    Location was superb, room was simple but clean and perfect for a city break, staff very friendly and will be returning in he near future.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.8
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with a little more storage space and a kettle etc in the room.

    Great location, great staff, clean and lovely hotel. Breakfast until 12 was ideal. Would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    5.8
    A good overall stay, good customer service & facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was awful couldn’t control head or speed, breakfast was very pricey for two

    Bed was very comfortable, property clean & good location a 15 minutes walk from central station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.9
    In a great location only 15mins from central station, 10 min walk to Rembrandt Square,Red light
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    was late up for breakfast as I forgot to put my watch the hr forward. People were still eating but we were told we couldn’t get anything . I asked if I could some of the jam/bread that was still out but was told no but could pay 3.50 euros for some . Although they did give us a cup of tea!!

    Great location, nice bar area, friendly staff even put balloons up in our room and left a wine for my husbands birthday.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    Amsterdam was a great place. People are so friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No faults what so ever

    Location was excellent. Only a 10 min walk to the center. Staff was totally 100% friendly. They were so helpful in all matters. Have not encountered this in a long time. Will definitely pay a return visit to here.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    5.4
    i love amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    my back hurt after sleeping on the bed. maybe i jus have a bad back. i would like to smoke in the bedroom. very basic rooms no kitchen no kettle means you need to eat out all the time. decent 10 minute walk from damrak

    cosy comfy clean rooms good staff reception looked very nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.9
    Fine for a couple of nights. Location good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot breakfast collection poor considering the amount of English guests. Scrambled eggs burnt and dry by being kept hot on burner. No fried eggs or bacon. WiFi poor in bedroom - was fine in main areas.

    Staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.1
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too small Bathroom looked as an airplane bathroom Had issues while receiving an Amazon delivery although I checked beforehand and let them know when it was arriving Overpriced breakfast

    Nice location Modern

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.6
    Nice and friendly staff with a clean, pleasant environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was far too overpriced considering the selection of things to choose from.

    The rooms were clean and comfy. The hotel was clean throughout and staff were helpful!

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: