Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sandton IJsselhotel 4 stars

Worp 2, 7419 AD Deventer, Netherlands

#10 of 15 hotels in Deventer

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 620 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ridiculous impractical wash hand basin, design gone mad. Air con didn't cool the room enough. Breakfast was €25 extra but we only wanted a light breakfast, so not good value.

    Lovely situation in a park by the river. Very easy access to Deventer by the ferry which runs every few minutes all day. Big bedroom. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small single fried egg with microscopic bits of bacon thrown into the egg because I dared ask for bacon. Rooms well equippef but designed by an architect who had more understanding of stark aesthetics than comfort.

    Good omelette

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a tiny bit cramped.

    Clean room with a lovely view. Bathroom with a luxurious feel to it. Staff was amazingly friendly and professional. Food is great and the location and view are amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is expensive and far too slow for business travellers. I went there at 7 am, and I had too wait until 7h30 to get my eggs. But I had plain eggs and I got eggs with curry! Basically I paid for eating nothing, I am very disappointed.

    Very good hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Cosy Double room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little space between bed and wardrobe: bit narrow

    Beautifully situated at the river IJssel and Deventer centre just across the river. Easily to be reached by ferry from the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom could be better serviced, e.g. cleenex box was empty

    Hotel is very good and even rooms on the groundfloor are quite and offer everything you need.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was located next to the ventilation shaft from the kitchen which was very loud in the night and started again from early hours in the morning. It was impossible to sleep because of that noise. The fact that it is a know issue was the most disappointing

    The hotel is nice and the view from the restaurant is really beautiful. The staff was really helpful and friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom sink was impractical (although nice looking). You hit your head against the shelf if you want to take a zip from the tab/brush your teeth :)

    Service was excellent! Nice breakfast. The comfy bed/television set-up was nice, although we did'nt use it. The city of Deventer was more appealing :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room in the modern part of the hotel was ok, but not great. Small window and a bit dark.

    Great location and view. Nice, served breakfast and very good dinner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately our stay coincided with a breakdown of the air conditioning, however this was not a big issue as the temperatures were lower during our stay. Regrettably the TV in our room also did not work during our 4 day stay.

    Staff were attentive, helpful and friendly, paying particular attention to providing excellent customer service without being overbearing. Room and bathroom were of good size and we enjoyed view over the river to the old town. The hotel was situated just two minutes walk from the ferry jetty for the 2 minute crossing to the Old Town. We ate in restaurant on one evening and the meal was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely stunning location on the river! Rooms on the non-river side also have beautiful views of the park. The kitchen was able to accommodate a late (and delicious) meal on arrival, although the restaurant was already closed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cosy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast menu all very nice but a little confusing. A buffet breakfast table suits me better. At the evening meal, I did mention to the waiter that my duck breast was a little chewy, it could have been more thinly sliced.

    nice clean room with air con, free wifi, luxury comfortable bed. We dined in one night and had a very enjoyable meal. Good choice of wines. Lovely setting for an evening on the terrace watching the sunset. I forget my iPad & left it in my room. The hotel went to the trouble of calling me, & I was able to pick it up later in the day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Charm Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't quite clean, a little dusty on the chairs.

    The position of the hotel is delightful. Easy access to the town centre by water taxi. The bed was very comfortable ....

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The basin in the bathroom was cramped and nearly unusable due to the shelf above. the desk at the base of bed was too big therefore not allowing access to the wardrobe, we moved it to allow access.

    The location and quietness, friendly staff, the very comfortable bed, the simple 2 minute ferry ride into town that operates daily until 11pm. The attention to detail. The quality of food. Well equipped bathroom with wet room. We will return but will upgrade the room for more room. We chose the cosy room and it was.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Double room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    modern fresh rooms with a beautiful view of Deventer. Which city was within 5 minutes walking distance as there is a ferry next to the hotel which brings you into the city.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room did not have a great view for the price we paid. We expected something more special

    Everything was great, the restaurant was excellent. Service amazing

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cost of extra's at breakfast, for a hot meal a bit over the top.

    The closeness to other facilities i.e, bowling club and the water taxi at the pier outside the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a lot of furniture in the rooms making it feel quite small The staff were incredibly slow at breakfast! One morning we waited 50 minutes to be served!!

    Lovely location along the river with great views!! Short ferry ride into Deventer town which is very picturesque Clean and tidy rooms Comfy bed

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not a lot of choice of food for dinner and it was rather expensive. The breakfast was very good and all served at the table not DIY buffet style normally found.

    Super bed and modern room the hotel is very conveniently located next to the ferry across the river. Very smart helpful staff. We would certainly go back as the adjoining city is wonderful

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast expansive

    Gentillesse du personnel. Bicycle rental very kind.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were efficient but cool in their interaction with their guests.

    Good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    noisy room

    great view from the terrace superb food friendly staff comfortable bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were increasingly helpful and polite. Amazing value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of our favorite restaurants with a great view of the town lit up at night. Great for special occasions. Restaurant staff quite the best.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel great nights sleep

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Consistent quality every time I stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    super

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was strange. Tou had to pay extra fotr bread

    The view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough parking spots. Beds not too comfortable. Expensive breakfast.

    Nice location. Decent bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Double room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    room too small, outside of window dirty, no place to put things in the shower. Flies in the veranda and the restaurant.....

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    De kamer was nogal warm en benauwd.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Charm Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Comfortable friendly quality place

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great Place to be.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor breakfast no value for money at all Shower not properly working For such expensive hotel a very average service.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kamer gedateerd en onpraktisch ingericht.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were a little too formal. A smile here and there or a joke would be nice.

    Everything was clean and nice. The rooms were quiet.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cosy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    View over the river. Close to Deventer city center.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cosy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food a bit too fancy and pricey. All indidually priced which makes for an expensive breakfast and dinner.

    Rooms very nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very expensive breakfast - great quality & good waitress service - but not worth that much money for breakfast. Rooms small & modern designer sink with no plug in shower room - very poor for environment

    Great location, handy for passenger ferry across the river

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we did not like being served breakfast - it was not what we wanted,and it was expensive

    Very good smoked salmon. Friendly reception. Delightful position with park , river and ferry. Comfortable bed. Easy to reach the beautiful town of Deventer.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was very cold at check-in. (I had to keep my coat on for 20mins) Rang to order room service meal - nobody answered the phone. After going downstairs to order meal, the main course was delivered with the dessert supposed to follow on after 15 mins. Dessert was delivered about an hour later (i was in bed)

    Location is good. Room was big with nice view.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The glasses in the room were not changed and the bar fridge not restocked. The sheets were not changed.

    The hotel is well situated near the peer and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I like everything about his hotel. This was our second visit. The hotel is delightful. The location is perfect, on the quiet side of the river with a little ferry about 50m away. Deventer is a fascinating town.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was a bit silly sometimes with our room key, but remained friendly.

    The view was great. The room lovely. Lovely new bathroom and a excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Couple

    The bar and communal sitting area were booked by groups for the greater part of our stay. Nowhere to go within the hotel except for own room.

    The location of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Restaurant was fully booked on early evening arrival, and offered room service. Front desk staff later relented and I was allowed to eat in the conservatory.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast very poor for a lot of mony. Room cleaning bad. During badweather there is almost no place to relax. The view from my room was not the river but a huge tree

    The location & surroundings. Lunch &dinner very good quality. Friendly people. Bathroom ok &clean

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great, helpful staff. Fantastic riverside location - room, restaurant / terrace with views. Fun little ferry across the river to the beautiful old town. Great room - spacious, quiet and well fitted. Our bikes safely put away for the night.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a problem with using the wifi. No connection was working, but maybe I'm not enough expert on these matters. Could not find any help from the ladies in office.

    The location, the building, the terrace, the quietness

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ontbijt niet zo bijzonder, kamers zijn toe aan renovatie en opfrissing.

    Mooi zicht op de rivier en op Deventer. Vlotte verbinding met de veerpont. Parking beschikbaar.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    • Couple

    The shower/ bath was difficult to get in and dangerous to get out of. Although everything was available at breakfast the hot food was cold, and tea served in coffee cups.

    Quiet with private parking, in pleasant surroundings. Comfortable beds.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pre-fab tasteless bread at breakfast is a shame. Bad television reception + limited channel choice. Not acceptable anno 2015!

    Good beds. Spacious room overlooking the river. Quiet.

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Their is nothing that I know of that is not likeable.

    Deventer; is a place that has hidden gems, that are noticeable to the eye, where ever you happened to look. Even though at times the park is often under water when the IJssel floods. The Tower opposite, The Ship Bridge. Never to be forgotten. (A Bridge Too Far)

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Located right next to the river this hotel is perfect for relaxing days and nights.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms are good, but not too spacious.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms are on the small side

    Excellent place for a good night's rest

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed too soft

    Nice room, good shower, good staff

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice staff, good kitchen, nice view on the river

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast only average.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No in-room coffee or tea or hot-water maker. No cups, etc

    Great location. Modern. Quiet.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I couldn't find the hotel bar.

    The location is really fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Browse Sandton IJsselhotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: