Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Imperial 2 stars

Thorbeckeplein 9, Amsterdam City Centre, 1017 CS Amsterdam, Netherlands

#158 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 650 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    Location is good , there is house keeping service , offer...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    stairs dangerous and tight,noisy at night

    Location is good , there is house keeping service , offer you 5€ breakfast from any restaurant and clean room by the way

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.9
    Amsterdam in September
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little outdated, there was some water damage to the floor causing some creaking when you walk in the room. Bathroom is small. Stairs are very steep - two flights to our floor. If your room is facing the street, the night life can get loud if you want to sleep early.

    Our room was large, beds were decent, location was amazing - central to everything lively, especially at night. Everything within walking distance. Clean and homey.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    5.8
    Very steep staircase. noisy street parties and loud music from the bar 40 meters away until 2 am
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No breakfast room. Told to go anywhere and each as much as we wished but.............ask for a voucher and redeem at the hotel for only 5 EUROS. We had to leave very early in the morning and there was no staff to pay us our 10 Euros.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    6.3
    Air con would be nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little noisy at night as the club's across the road party till 5 am. As no air conditioning in room (1 desk fan not sufficient) the window had to be left open for air flow.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Had a lovely stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn’t awful the sound but we had a room at the front where all the bars are and with the window open was very loud but when we closed it it wasn’t too bad but still some noise through (as expected) but if you don’t like loud music than maybe ask for a room at the back. Other than that enjoyed our stay very much.

    Liked how the rooms got cleaned everyday, so after being out all day we came back to a clean room, they changed the beds and towels everyday. Loved how close it is to everything, there’s a great Irish bar just across the road everyone there is so friendly and the food is good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.8
    Good place for short business travel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A bit noisy street. Stairs are very high (practically vertical). A strange system dealing with breakfast, but managebale anyway.

    Quite a nice place to stay. A large room, private bathroom with all nessesary things in it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.5
    Very comfortable, really enjoyed Amsterdam which was helped by great location of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room/hotel lacked amenities (tea coffee making facilities, fridge, breakfast) but this is reflected in the star rating of the hotel and the price of the room compared with other Amsterdam hotels, so we were not upset, it just would have made our stay a little more comfortable. The stairs are VERY steep, and we were top floor - this was not an issue for us but could be for groups with children, older member or those with injuries/disabilities.

    The room was lovelly and spacious, clean and with comfy furniture! The location was excellent wth really lovely restaurants near by - we walked nearly everywhere from central location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.2
    Hotel and the room were very nice, and very clean, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only downside was how noisy was during the night as we had a room at the front of the hotel and it was very hot, so we had to open the window, I guess if it was cool wether should be fine.

    Hotel and the room were very nice, and very clean, great location, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.1
    Great location at an okay hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioning would have been nice. Steep stairs. No elevator. Cable tv was out of service except for one day.

    Clean room, nice staff, except once when I got a snarky answer on the phone about the lack of cable tv. great location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.8
    Recommended for youngsters
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It advertises breakfast included but you are told to have breakfast in apny surrounding place for which you are given a €5 refund per person per day. This covers the hotel’s cost and not even a crossaint and coffee. It also means leaving the hotel and having to climb the stairs again. TV NEVER WORKED. TV Service not paid for.

    Excellent location. Not good for elderly persons because of the stairs and noisy location surrounded by bars and clubs.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.9
    The location was great, really central to everything and had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room itself could be doing with an update as it was quite old fashioned (not a big issue) Stairs were crazy I’m just glad we were on the 2nd floor.

    The location was great, really central to everything and had loads on the hotels doorstep. Room was nice with lovely view from our window.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.6
    We asked for a room facing away from the street, and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is weird. They ask you to save your breakfast receipts and offer to compensate up to 5 euros for each guest. I forgot to save one receipt, and one of my receipts was not detailed, so they did not compensate me for 2 breakfasts. It’s not hard to spend way more than 5 euros on breakfast, and we aren’t going to not eat breakfast to try to scam them out of five euros. I felt like we were looked at with a very suspicious eye. Not a good feeling when you are a paying guest.

    We asked for a room facing away from the street, and the room was nice and quiet despite the crazy night life right outside the hotel. The room was larger than I expected and very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.8
    It was a great holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    In the pictures from the site they are showing only the large rooms and we are not expecting such a small room, but even so, they come with a plus for location and a small surprise giving back 5 euros /pers for breakfast.

    A small room but with a comfortable bed. Enough for two people who won't spend the time in their room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon in summer is a bummer

    Location 👍 You get what you pay for folks and it is more than just OK for Central Amsterdam. Have a chat with witty Peter at reception, he will point you in the right direction whatever you may want to see in Amsterdam.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Most pleasant stay. Exceeded all expectations.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Peter is a wonderful host and welcomes the guests kindly. The location is brilliant as its directly at the canals and right in the heart of Amsterdam. The rooms are cozy and the decoration is unique and well picked. I will definitely be back and stay at Hotel Imperial for my next visit.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.8
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was included but you get your own breakfast and get the money back, not really handy

    Quite central and comfortable , nice room and clean, staff was really helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay, will be returning next year!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lot of noise from the street as we were opposite a strip of bars. This didn’t bother us in the slightest but for those wanting a quiet holiday, it’s something to consider.

    Fantastic room, lots of space. Bed was like sleeping on a cloud. The location was perfect, 20 mins from central station and within walking distance of everything! Great bars and shops across the street from the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    About hotel Imperial Amsterdam by D. Hadzhivalchev
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not that I didn't like something, the only thing is that people with disabilities might face serious troubles with the stairs. I think this should be mentioned in the article.

    Quiet, clean small hotel that contains everything the common tourist needs. The staff is nice and friendly. And last but not least is the location - the nearby Rembrandt square is one of the most attractive spots in the city center.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Central and spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom felt dated.

    Good value for money, as it was very central. Easy 10 minute walk to Red Light and 20 minutes to the main train station. The various bars and restaurants around Rembrandt square meant we didn’t need to go far. The room was HUGE. It was fantastic to have couches to lounge on and space to repackage our suitcases. Street noise wasn’t a problem, though we were at the back of the premises. Staff were happy and willing to give advice. Excellent WiFi!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    The place is in a great location, owner is really nice,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    two issues: tiny single bed you can hear all other people go and talk in the stares. beside that, really nice staying.

    The place is in a great location, owner is really nice, place is clean and shower is really good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    2.9
    Location is close to everywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You cant check-in after 8pm. There is no breakfast but they pay 5 eu per person when you show receipt. BUT YOU NEED TO HAVE IT BEFORE 11AM.BESIDE YOU NEED TO SHOW FULL RECEIPT TO PROVE YOU REALLY EAT SOMETHING TRUE. They never throw your garbage away. To test it we left a plastic bottle during 4 nights and they never threw. Then we added more but they did not throw them as well. Stairs are crazy. Funny thing is that they never ask if you need help. I was trying to carry 2 luggages to 3rd floor. Even other guests asked me if I need help but hotel staffs were in cocoon mode. Really bad hotel.

    Location is close to everywhere.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Great location with walking distance to everything, lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I wish I could stay for more time))

    Great location with walking distance to everything, lovely room & cosy bed, friendly helpful staff. Definately recommend the place!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.1
    Since the hotel is in rembrandplein, it can be too loud at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Since the hotel is in rembrandplein, it can be too loud at nights. Closing the windows shuts out most of the noise but air conditioning could be better to compensate. Also the breakfast deal is not too great. Finding a cheap place to have breakfast(compensation is 5 euros) between 7-11 AM is not easy in Amsterdam for a visitor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    A great location for a fabulous stay in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous team at the Imperial Hotel. A very central location with the main attractions within easy walking distance. Tram stops very close and the Metro is 10 minute walk from the hotel. Peter and his team are so welcoming and the rooms are beautiful and spacious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.8
    Great Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was so absurdly tiny it was uncomfortable. It was so HOT in the room that we couldn't sleep. You must climb a daunting flight of stairs- not faulting hotel- just uncomfortable. Not a cup of coffee or bottle of water to be found. NOTHING in the immediate area opens before 8:00-9:00, meaning no coffee to get your day going. Strange "breakfast"... Go to any restaurant before 11:00 and bring the receipt to front desk staff and they will give you 5 EU per ROOM. But, the receipt must have the restaurant's name and a detailed list of items... Odd. Good luck finding 2 cups of coffee in for 5EU. Plus, if you plan to leave before 8:00, you are not reimbursed for the last morning, because the desk is closed. It was also VERY loud. Again, no fault of the hotel, but something to keep in mind. We needed ear plugs to sleep. Soap/shampoo provided is a large "community" bottle, like from home. Gross. TV didn't turn up loud enough to even hear.

    Great Location. Historical feel. Genuine, not commercial.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    5.4
    I do not eat breakfast so roommate is breakfast included...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I do not eat breakfast so roommate is breakfast included does not make sense, worse, you have to go outside to eat before eleven I and present a receipt at end of stay to get money five euros a day makes it inconvient enough that you might not get the money..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel with a perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean hotel .. very big room ..the location is perfect in the heart of Amsterdam .. the staff was very friendly and very helpful .. value for money ! I definitely recommend this hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful base for exploring Amsterdam
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A lovely hotel in the centre of Amsterdam, this is perfect for weekends or longer breaks. It is also a few steps away from the tram for the RAI center so ideal for those attending a convention in the city. Very clean, my room was quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.8
    This hotel is sustainable for a short stay 1-2 days with small luggage and just for sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - No Breakfast provided in hotel, the hotel give us 5 Euro per day for breakfast. - Narrow and steep stair , inconvenience for heavy luggage - Too simple room decoration,we noticed that if we booked the room passed booking.com we will get second class room in that hotel compared to we booked direct to the hotel - Unfriendly reception staff ( Chinese women staff ) - Room size quite small for 2 person , not enough spaces for 2 luggage , we have to put on the floor - Really small hotel , cannot called the hotel . no public area or any hotel facility support.It should called guesthouse. - Hotel location quite far from main station - Hotel downstairs are pub & restaurant and crowded on the weekend from evening until over midnight

    - Guestroom and toilet are clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Great stay. Felt like I was staying at someone’s house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the staff was straightforward about their policy regarding breakfast, I would have preferred it if they didn’t charge me the five euros per day. I’m not good at tracking receipts so I couldn’t get reimbursed and I’m not really a breakfast person anyway.

    The Hotel was very, very clean and the room was larger than I expected. The bathroom was small, as expected, but was extremely clean; it looked brand new. You definitely can’t beat the location, I loved it. My room had huge windows and a great view and didn’t have the impersonal feel of a large hotel. I knew about the stairs before I arrived but you should definitely pick lightly; they are very steep. I’d say it’s a place best suited for the independent traveler.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.3
    The location is excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed isn’t so comfortable

    The location is excellent! The staff is very friendly and helpful. Toilet is clean. Overall is Fair with price. I would stay here again. It’s close to everything you want

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    4.2
    Frustration
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Debited two nights before arriving (because of late arrival)... No sound isolation at all... Expensive!

    To avoid ! Hidden extra charges ! No breakfast (despite booking description) !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location of the hotel is perfect - right in the city center, on a street full of restaurants and bars to choose from. Walking distance to almost everything. The staff were very friendly and willing to help if needed. Our room was a quiet one, on the back of the building, so very nice to relax after a long day. Also they cleaned our room everyday.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Friendly service, and very clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could get a little noisy in the front room at night, but it’s such a conveniently placed, central hotel! All fine with earplugs.

    Friendly service, and very clean rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    The information given by the accommodation on how to get...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The information given by the accommodation on how to get there from the airport was spot on and made things a lot easier when we had no data on our phones to use our maps. The room was the perfect size and clean. It is within walking distance from all the sights we had planned to go to.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Perfect stay in Central Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If in the room there wase tea/coffee facilities, it would have been much better to start the day with a cup of coffee since all restaurants/cafe bars open after 8:30am.

    Hotel is in perfect location, close to all amenities and visiting attractions. Perfect to explore Amsterdam in 3-4 day trip.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.3
    We arrived late and were given instructions where to find...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived late and were given instructions where to find our room keys , as reception closed at 830 pm no problems whatsoever and were in room within minutes, great hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Really convenient close to all the shops and attractions will be staying here on our next visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with some double glazing as the street outside was noisy

    The location is very convenient. Staff really friendly. Shower was excellent. Had everything we needed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.9
    Great location. Good sized rooms. Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decoration could do with a revamp as some of the wallpaper was marked or tearing in places. But that was a superficial rather than a cleanliness issie.

    A good size room. Location was in Rembrandtplein, which is close to most sightsesing spots. The train station is only a 30 minute walk with lots to see though it goes by quickly. There's also a tram spot 1 minute from the hotel that will get you to the station in 10 minutes.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    4.2
    I hated it and had I been able to claim back my money on arrival I would have walked out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The owner, the unenthusiastic staff, the disgusting entrance stairway, the lack of assistance, the lack of interest, the stupid breakfast policy, the lino on the floor of the room, the remains of someone else's shampoo etc in the bathroom.

    There is no breakfast room, although the website shows one. The ridiculous arrangements for breakfast whereby mine unpleasant host offers you a 5 euro refund if you eat in the street and bring him the receipt is humiliating and absurd. When I asked whether breakfast could be bought for 5 euros he became rude. What on earth is this policy for?

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    Very neat and the location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit odd, mattress wasn’t even. Lack of kettle in a room. Also, clubs are just outside the window so very loud till 4am

    Very cosy and very tidy and great location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.3
    Nice staff and location was very conenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room was on 3rd floor with no lift! Carrying bags up was difficult! A bit noisy due to bars and clubs outside

    Nice staff and location was very conenient

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.3
    Great location and nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was never cleaned, towels never changed, had to ask twice for more toilet paper at reception which was rationed at 1 roll at a time, shower head holder was broken in our room (26) which made it awkward to shower.

    Great location and nice staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    6.7
    Good location, especially for the quick visit to Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noisy place, surrounded by night clubs, especially it affects the rooms in the front. Also, the room we stayed was freshly painted and there was a very intensive smell of the paint.

    Hotel located close to city attractions, bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.9
    Imperial is rather delusional name but this is a bit better than most two star dumps - and pricey.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I asked for a quiet room but mine faced the street with MANY bars. Fri and sat nights sounded like there was a violent riot going on. Sun and weekdays fairly quiet. They charge extra 2% even if you pay with EU debit card which is ridiculous (perhaps illegal?) these days. But most of these two star dumps do have one or another small scam like that no matter what they claim.

    Asked for early arrival and the room was ready when I got there around noon. The wifi worked most of the time and often even well (and that IS rare).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    3.8
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was dirty on the floor with hair. There were no individual packets of shampoo etc, only large family sizes. No coffee or tea amenities. For $150 per night, I expect a better class hotel even in Amsterdam.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.3
    very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no lift in the property-Staff helped with my luggage. as it is located at the heart of Rembrand where is in walking distance to most of the sights and night life, you will not be able to sleep well but who goes to Amsterdam to sleep?!

    very clean. staff were friendly & helpful. great location. right next to the Rembrandplein tram station (3 stops away from Central Station). tram works from 6am & so it was cheap to get to the airport from the hotel: 2.5 euros for tram (less than 10 mins), 7.0 euros for train (less than 20 mins)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Nice and good, I bet it´s hard to find a better place for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Stairs are often steep in Amsterdam but if you are reasonably healthy that shouldn´t be a problem

    Everything was clean and nice. The area is very lively but we got a room that was facing a way from the street so we slept well. We liked the staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    6.7
    No posibility for coffee or Tea-maling in the rom or in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No posibility for coffee or Tea-maling in the rom or in the Hotel. A lot of stairs to get to the room. Difficult to bring large/heavy suitcases.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    Amazing - totally recommended!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff extremely friendly and helpful, Location in hearth of Rambrantndplein were is lots of bars and restaurants. Only walking distance to city centre and Cafe De Klos (best dinning place ever!!!) We could have breakfast anywhere and anything we wanted. Hotel refunded €5 per head. Best option ever seen.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.0
    The hotel is in a brilliant location and the staff were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a room facing the street where there are many bars/restaurants. Even with the window closed you could hear the noise clearly until about 3am

    The hotel is in a brilliant location and the staff were very helpful with any of our queries.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.8
    The decor in the room looked a little like my Grandmothers...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs were a shame but good for fitness 😂

    The decor in the room looked a little like my Grandmothers powdering room but having said that, it was comfortable & perfect for my needs

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.9
    Amsterdam is a vibrant city and Hotel Imperial is right in the midst of it all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There are no tea and coffee making facilities or fridge (mini bar) in the room. We love a cuppa before bed but it may not be an issue for others. There are stairs - steep winding stairs to get to the room, not really a suitable property for older or disabled people as the stairs are hard to navigate and there is no lift or elevator.

    The position of the this hotel is within easy walking distance to all the sights we wanted to see. The shower was hot and the water pressure fabulous.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.2
    Great central location with beautiful rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was quite loud on Friday and Saturday nights, as the hotel is located above the clubs and bars, however we brought earplugs with us, closed the windows and it was fine. We were on the top floor, so there were a lot of stairs to climb with our bags - had to stop and catch our breath!

    Beautiful rooms with gorgeous furniture and a nice bathroom. The TV had endless channels so we could watch movies in bed at night which was great. Convenient location, right in the midst of the clubs/bars and restaurants. Easy walking distance to a lot of tourist spots. Good breakfast deal - if you eat breakfast out before 11.00am and keep the receipt, you can get a 5 Euro refund per person, per day at the end of your stay. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Before we choose this hotel we looked it up and the reviews were not all that good, I don't know what happened to those people but our experience in the hotel was great! The staff is very nice, kind and helpful (we had a few things we needed to do, just ask them and they would be more than happy to help) the location of the hotel is incredible, right next to Rembrandtplein with a lot of restaurants and bars, the tram station is very close which makes everything easy and there is a coffee shop on the other side of the street.  All and all we had a great trip and the hotel was a big part of it. I would highly recommend you to check in with hotel Imperial and I'm pretty sure you won't be disappointed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    6.7
    Excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The smell in the hotel is funky - I was literally retching every time I walked in there. The smell was not so bad in the room (with the windows open all the time). They are meant to give you 5 euro/day credit for breakfast, but you have to produce all the receipts at the end in order to get the money back. If the receipts were made after 11 am (too late for breakfast apparently - I was not informed about this "clause"), they were rejected - this is really petty. There are very steep flights of stairs (no lift, no help from the staff)- I had to climb up and down to the third floor with my suitcase - extremely difficult even for the young and fit. The guest rooms are all on the 2nd and 3rd floors (4 to 6 flights of stairs).

    The location is excellent - right in the centre, within walking distance from everything and a tram close by. The room was very quiet, and despite the hotel being on a very busy street with numerous pubs, no noise was heard in the room. The room was serviced daily, although the floor got quite dirty by the end of my stay. I was able to check into the room earlier (early in the morning), which was greatly appreaciated after 30 hours of travelling.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    5.8
    Be warned stairs very dangerous a lot of them and steep. Room roomy, bathroom tiny. Great positition
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Be warned these steps are super high and dangerous even without luggage. There is no lifts available. Unhelpful staff, the man manager would rather watch you struggle than help. Staff uninterested in visitors. Noise its on top of a restaurant and loud pub.

    Position...the beds were comfy and room of a decent size to spread out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    5.0
    it was a dreadful hotel after being traveling a long enough way to get there not comfortable at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    every thing

    The room was awful wudnt stay there again very inferier no breakfast included for the price we paid which was 390 euro and was told when i complaind that people staying longer than 3 nights got bigger rooms we walked out a 8the following morning and fair play he gave us back the money for the other 2 nights and we fotnd a nicer hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    Overall we had a great experience, both with the choise of the hotel, and during our trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Well, I've written the full review above. To sum up the downsides: - Noise at night. - Steep stairways. - Absence of ventilation with the windows closed. - Hotel buffet is somewhat expencive (which is not a problem if you just eat outside and get a return of 5 eur).

    The hotel was great overall, except a few downsides we've experienced. The owner and the staff at the reception were very friendly and helpful. We could just have a friendly talk with them or ask for any information about the city and possible entertainments in it. The room was located at the last floor, that isn't such a problem per se, but there's a really long and steep stairway leading there (well, like any other Dutch stairway). But that also isn't such a problem for many people... One other problem was the noise at night. With windows closed the noise was somewhat muffled, but quickly it became pretty hot in the room. There was no special ventilation in the room for such cases, but we managed by opening up the window later at night. The hotel is located in the center of the city (that's why there's a lot of noise), it's surrounded by a lot of caffes, bars, clubs, some coffe shops etc. Every landmark location in the city is easily reachable by foot, so we also had no need in public transport. The beds and bedsheets are very comfortable and clean, as well as the bathroom facilities. The room is tidied up every day when you're out. There's also a safe in the room where you can put all your valuables, and nothing got stolen from there (and at all, even if we would forget something on the table), so my compliments to the cleaning staff as well. You can get a 5 euro return per person for a breakfast in the area (caffes, shops), a very good option if you don't want to pay extra for the hotel buffet that is somewhat expencive. Overall we had a great experience, both with the choise of the hotel, and during our trips in the city! Thank you!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.7
    Comfortable, small hotel in central Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It seemed expensive, at $175 a night. However, we do realize that Amsterdam is a very expensive city. Also, the three flights of steep stairs were a bit much, but, again, we realize this is pretty standard in older hotels in Amsterdam. Also, this is certainly not the hotel's fault, but it cost us €22 to get from the train station to the hotel, which is only a few blocks from the station. This apparently has to do with the fact that Amsterdam has closed off a lot of streets two automobiles and made a lot of others one way.

    Our room was pretty and charming and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    6.7
    OK accommodation in a high-density tourist area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The neighbourhood was very overrun with tourists. The price was, objectively speaking, outlandish, but typical for Amsterdam. The towels were quite musty.

    The room was relatively comfortable. The hotel is located near some lovely urban scenery.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    Rooms were small but tasteful, comfortable & clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am not keen on steep narrow stairs but staff were very helpful getting my luggage to the top floor.

    Rooms were small but tasteful, comfortable & clean. Brilliant location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Perfect, would stay again in a heartbeat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, were always willing to help and answer any questions about the city. The area itself can be a little rough after 3:30am however I feel it will be like that anywhere in the city. All in all 10/10 service and the room was great for the price paid.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.2
    Cozy hotel at a perfect location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The sound insulation wasn't so good, I could hear the sounds coming from the other rooms quite well.

    The location is perfect, the staff were super friendly, everything was really clean, and the hotel has a very nice "home" atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Great location to explore Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lots of stairs to get to the room, not very accessible.

    Great sized room with a nice view overlooking a square. Close to Rembrandt Square and lots of restaurants and other attractions. Great location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.5
    Location exceeded expectations. Everything Else was as expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you just need the Hotel for sleeping its ok and sufficient. There's no place to chill but you can go to any of the Cafés in the Vincinity. The room had only one window.

    Perfect Location for experiencing Amsterdam at day and night. Most interesting places can be reached by foot. Go to one of the close Cafés for breakfast and get 5€ back from the hotel. Authentic building.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.9
    Family run business by the looks of it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family run business by the looks of it. Great location. We are young so we were fine with the noise if the main strip as we had boozy days and fell asleep easy. This might be an issue for people who want an easy night sleep so please keep this in mind. Stairs were steep but not an issue for us. Bed very comfortable and room good size to spread out in.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    6.3
    Good hotel for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very busy area especially at night and could be quite noisy. Stairs up to rooms are very steep, no lift so not suitable for someone who has difficulty climbing stairs. Hotel is clean but in need of updating decor.

    Hotel quite central, easy access to shops and trams.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.1
    Superb location, kind staff.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 23: Very stale air in the room that could not change properly due to only one small window that could open. The window was just against a roof of a neighboring house, so no view (this was OK, thus it was quiet there at night), no draft of the air. No air-conditioning just a vertical ventilator that needed to be switched on all the time we were in otherwise it was unbreathable there (while the weather was not hot!). No fridge in the room. The bed was a little too small for two adult people (but originally I ordered a stay just for one person). The bathroom smelled like an old public one, of unwashable urine. This applies to the first room we were accomodated in. They needed to move us to another one (room 25) for the last night of the stay, a bigger, lighter one, with much more comfortable bed, view in the street and a clean smelling bathroom.

    Superb location, kind staff. Amsterdam is beautiful and special, and the hotel offered a genuine feeling of the place, narrow; steep stairways (no lift, so guests need to be fit to climb in), lively neighborhood.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some noise from outside at night in the weekends, impossible to avoid in such a central location. The bed was a little hard for my taste, felt like I could roll off at the edge. And make sure you don't bring food to the room!

    Perfect location on Rembrandtplein, walking distance to everything in Amsterdam. Friendly and helpful staff, clever solution with reimbursement of breakfast from nearby restaurants. Clean and very nice room, happy to have a little table and chairs and spacious shower.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location on Rembrandtplein
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I knew Rembrandtplein would be noisy because of all the bars and restaurants but that is why I selected the location but the hotel has done an outstanding job with great sound proof windows. It was cool enough with the room fan to close the windows and once they were shut there was no noise at all- they were amazing!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.5
    The room was very comfortable, clean and wide.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Two flights of stairs were a bit difficult to handle for someone with a heart condition and heavy luggage. The only thing I didn't like much was the location as it was near a club and it was really noisy during our stay there.

    The room was very comfortable, clean and wide. The bed and sheets were clean. I liked the vintage feel of the room, especially the flower decorated wallpaper. The owner, Peter was cordial and his son helped us with our luggage. He was really nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.9
    The staff was very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was very soft, no elevator ( it was stated in the website), no breakfast of coffee.

    The staff was very nice and helpful. The hotel is located in a great central location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.1
    Overall decent for the amount paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Small single beds, no AC during heatwave but a fan is provided. Very noisy at night to open the windows.

    Overall decent for the amount paid. Excellent location walking distance to everything you might want to visit and Tram stop only 30 seconds away.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.2
    Central to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no a/c and windows open only partially keep in mind there are lots of stairs to any of the rooms and no elevator

    location and cleanliness room size good for european city sufficient storage space mattress was comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Imperial traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: