Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Iris 2 stars

Sarphatikade 17, Amsterdam City Centre, 1017 WV Amsterdam, Netherlands

#348 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1600 hotel reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    6.1

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There were plenty of nuisances with this stay. First of all, the room was very small and inconveniently shaped, with no space to put anything, let alone having a chair or a desk to work or place your things. Which means that I had to use the other bed to put stuff. The walls are so thin that you can easily hear people talking in normal volume, and you wake up whenever someone's walking in the room above or next to you. And since the curtains don't do much, you basically have to have a sleeping mask and good earplugs if you want peace and quiet. The bathroom is a joke; it has no shower curtain, so everything gets wet (but it would have been easy to install one!), and there are no towel racks, so your used towels stay damp most of the time. Very small basin where it's hard to properly wash your face or drink from the tap without spillage. The mattresses were okay, but rather narrow. The pillows were much too big and hard, so I took another blanket as a replacement. The TV remote was broken, which I brought to the reception to have it fixed, but I had to ask for it again two days later until they replaced it. If you think of it as a hostel, then probably your expectations will be better matching what you get. But for that it was much too expensive anyway. Would never stay again.

    I can't name many positive things, other than that the room was clean (contrary to other reviews) and that the WiFi worked without problems. Checkin and checkout was easy. The location is okay, the metro is very close. I cannot judge the breakfast as I didn't notice it was not included in the price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel. Super clean. Very friendly staff. Super location. 5 minute walk from metro stop. 20 minute walk to Heineken Experience. Lidl across the road. Very quiet. Loved it!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast not included in price

    great location for some of Amsterdam's attractions. Room reasonably priced but would have been nice to include breakfast, £9 euros each was a bit steep.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The stairs and the rooms. The hotel is what it is. I imagine most of the hotel in Amsterdam will have similar problem due to the width of the buildings.

    The buffet breakfast was the best experience staying here, we used it every day and it was good value, though the tea and coffee left a bit to be desired. The rooms were extremely small and the stairs were very steep, narrow and dangerous I really struggled getting up and down them. NOT suitable for disabled or elderly people. Tram service to centre regular and only a 5 minute walk away

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is very small and the bed is basically filling the entire space. The stairs are quite narrow and steep so be ready to watch your step and make a plan if you have a heavy suitcase. Cleanliness is pretty average, and FIY don't bother opting for two single beds because it is not really offered even though you opt for it.

    Great location and atmosphere. The room is perfect for cheap layover in Amsterdam .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were very small and not very comfortable. I was able to hear each and every sound from the outside of the room.

    Perfect location. There was a nice balcony in my room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was tiny wasn't what we was expecting considering how much we paid, only got clean towels when we asked and only received one between us! Also considering how much we paid for the hotel, was defiantly below our expectations. Wouldn't book again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls could have been painted again as there were a lot of markings and the WiFi password could have been put in the room as the receptionsts don’t work 247 and extra pillows would have been nice. Parking was very pricey so it would have been nice to have free parking as we traveled all the way from london. So free parking would have been amazing!

    The bed was really comfy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't get the twin with ensuite facilities we had booked. The room was so small you could only get out of the bed on one side. I had to go to reception to ask for some towels.

    It was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small I asked for 2 single beds and got 1 double and there were no windows in the apartment it was 30 degrees and too hot in the room no fans or iron

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are nicely decorated but incredibly small, almost cell like. My friend and i shared a twin room but it was very intimate,almost too intimate. The The room was located on the ground floor, unfortunately so are the vending machines, they are very noisy and woke me up several times every night over my 3 night stay, along with the people who would congregate and chat very loudly in the early hours.

    Location is very good with lots going on in the area, a very large market a street away, plenty restaurants and a couple of decent "coffeeshops" nearby if that's your thing. Staff very friendly and polite, the beds were also very comfortable and clean.it is a great location with a very easy route to the centre of amsterdam, around a twenty minute walk. Outside the hotel to the right is a bench on the corner of the canel,my friend and i found it a lovely place to sit and relax while taking in the beautiful surroundings.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our radiator was broken when we arrived, but the desk attendant provided us with a space heater until the radiator was fixed. Beds were comfortable but both beds had holes in the sheets. Space to spread suitcases out is limited and there were limited/oddly placed electrical outlets. No hot water to bathroom sink. There is no elevator and the stairs are narrow and steep.

    The hotel is located close to Amsterdam Centraal, making it easy to get to. It is not centrally located, but it near a grocery store and lots of "hole in the wall" restaurants, and it is a 3 minute walk to the tram line, which was very convenient. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful and the room was clean (aside from holes in the bed sheets). I would stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs! If your on the top floor get ready or just laugh your way up and down them like we did

    Good location outside the hussle and bustle but not too far to walk into it. Room clean staff friendly would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was absolutely terrible, there was not a toilet in the room, I did not get the bedside I reserved and the room was not much larger than a closet.

    The staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom very small, stairs steep but other than that we liked much much more than we didn't like!

    Thank you for fulfilling our silly request for a framed photo of Lionel Richie in our rooms!! We thought it was hilarious when we arrived a bit tired from travelling, thank you so much! Location was great and the room was perfect. Stairs very steep but we expected that in this city and reviews were accurate! Very pleased and would definitely recommend and stay again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better for 10e. Also cleaning started very early in the morning, woke up to vacuuming upstairs every morning at 7am.

    Good location, clean but very small room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing was there was no a/c in the room and the room would get really hot even with the window open.

    Property was good location close to the tourist destinations. Within walking distance or else the tram was nearby by. Staff were friendly and helpful too. Room was pleasant, clean and simple.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are very comfortable, the staff is very helpful and the hotel is very well maintained. It's clean, it's very nicely located (you should ask for a room with a vew to the canal) and it's overall a very good choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was so uncomfortable , pillows are so high and firm definetly not comfy to sleep on it. The room was very small and toilet and shower was in the same place so every time when we took shower the whole floor was wet and slippery beacuse the shower wasn’t separated from the toilet with curtains or something that stops flowing the water everywhere. Windows are very old fashioned and couldn’t close it properly .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we had a very nice stay, no complaints

    The room was very clean and the bed big enough and comfy. Delicious breakfast and really kind and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cleaners don't speak in English at all and they are not working properly driving the poor receptionists mad...!

    Great location, really close to Rembrant square and to a tram stop. The receptionists are very helpful and they do care about the guests. I cannot say the same about the cleaners which are not professional at all. They placed dirty pillowcases and dirty bed sheets in both beds, also blood marks were still visible.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the top floor so there were alot of very steep stairs to climb every day and no elevater.

    Close to the tramline to get everywhere within a few minutes, very clean and quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had top floor so lot of stairs and they’re very steep but that’s just Amsterdam for you.

    Very close to the square with lots of bars and clubs. Shower was excellent, more powerful than mine at home and I have a shower pump!! Comfy beds and nice staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All

    Nothing at all! I extended my arms and touched both walls!! The toilette in the bath , you hace to use it by side!! My legs touched the oposite wall!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small space for price but clean. While staff was courteous, I was extremely disappointed that when there was no understanding of our personal situation when a billing/reservation cancellation issue arose. Will not not be recommending nor returning to Iris Hotels.

    Nice staff despite billing issue.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was more of a hostel than a hotel..the breakfast was very expensive for what you actually got

    The location was great,easy to get to everything an the staff were lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a DOUBLE BED in a double room and ended up with two tiny single begs which when pushed together were at slightly different heights. We were told by the very lovely receptionist that the hotel was fully booked and there were no other rooms with double beds available. If this was the case then why was my booking accepted by the hotel and booking.com? If this had been made clear at the time of booking on line then I would have chosen another hotel. The hotel and Booking.com need to get their joint acts together on this one - totally unacceptable. If I book a service I expect to be provided with that service or else what is the point of booking in advance with Booking.com? Moreover, parking outside on the road was charged at 4 euros per hour even on a Sunday from 12 noon until midnight. again this was not made clear when making the booking. As my late father used to say, 'please book your ideas up' Booking.com.

    The young lady receptionist was very friendly and helpful but could not do anything about the bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we got, the heater wasn’t working. Even though we had a staff member come check, he said that it was working. We then asked for an extra blanket but they didnt have any extra. Very frustrating and cold.

    The location was good, located close to a tram stop. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was small with no shower gel or shampoo. The property has a lot of very steep stairs. This was fine for my group but it would definitely be worth consideration if you're less able bodied as there is no lift.

    The quiet and convenient location makes this a good place to stay away from the crowds. It's still close enough for visiting central Amsterdam, especially if you're happy to walk a little. Our 4 bed room was basic, but comfy and it suited the groups needs at a reasonable cost. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was a little further out of the centre than expected but so easy to get to on the metro.

    Cosy little room with bathroom, and was cleaned every day with fresh towels. Staff very helpful, friendly and polite.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I read up on reviews before hand so I knew there where steep stairways which where fine, just hard to climb after long days of walking miles.

    Very cheap and cheerful- comfortable and receptionist was happy to help in anyway including advising us to use the trams over taxis.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could be relatively cleaner and when we firstly get in the room the windows were open, as a result the room was cold. We liked the fresh air, but would be nicer welcoming the guests in a more cozy environment!

    Really friendly and helpful staff and comfortable bed. The location is convenient with a nice neighborhood close by with many options for food and drinks. Supermarket and cafés in 8min walking distance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bathroom, struggled to close the door when using the toilet. Sink was located with the beds. There was a very strong smell of marijuana and the other guests were very loud (not the hotels fault)

    Location, close to markets, Heineken experience and Vondelpark. Walking distance to rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum. We got around to the major sites by walking, but public transportation is close by. Nice buffet style breakfast. English speaking tv channels. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room small. Steep staircase but ok for us at time. No tea/coffee making facility in room.

    Excellent friendly accommodating staff. Close location to vibrant artisan area. Clean basic room and bathroom. Canal view on upper floor room 10. Secure luggage store. Would visit again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of rooms with Shared Toilet is Very very small and they should be Cheaper and you need to be lucky and hope for quiet room neighbours.

    Location and staff are great.Easy to reach by public Transport.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On our last night the room above had the music on loud and was moving about a lot which resulted in us struggling to sleep on the last night

    We liked how friendly and helpful the staff were.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like anything will not be back again

    We did not like anything we got there early and could not check in, the room was tiny and there was two single beds for me and my partner, the amount we paid we expected a lot more

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff really unhelpful and rude, given dirty bed sheets which werent changed for 5 days, room was freezing cold and no storage, windows were mouldy, shower was full of water in the base when we arrived, breakfast cold and not nice

    location was okay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows let in a lot of draft when the curtains weren’t closed so it was sometimes cold but the radiator was on at all times so not that noticeable

    The bed was so comfortable, breakfast looked great with excellent array of choice! Outside area was beautiful both in the daylight & at night with fairy lights Staff are amazing!!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The young lady on reception was extremely friendly and greeted us well and answered all our questions. She was helpful with directions and provided us with a map. The hotel is well located about 100 yards from the Number 4 tram stop. The Hotel was like many in Amsterdam with steep narrow staircase which may not suit all visitors. Breakfast was very good hot & cold choices. Our room was basic but clean. The shower was vey good and a hair dryer provided. We would be happy to return.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel took more than the paid amount for a prepayment twice, resulting in a huge deduction from my account that they still haven't paid back to me

    Facilities were clean and spacious

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise, sometimes the guests were very rude, but it was not happening often

    It was clean Staff was very kind Close trams (tram4 3min walk, trams 7 and 10 5min walk) Lidl supermarket across the street 40min by foot to the Centraal

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small rooms and bathroom but not a big problem

    Clean and quiet, very friendly staff, good location for local museums and short tram ride into central Amsterdam.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    our room was an absolute disgrace.

    i was so disappointed with this hotel. it was nothing like the pictures. our room was way too small and stuffy and the shower flooded every time we used it. i would not have payed the Money if I knew it was going to be like that.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are very small and so if you have large baggage it can be a tight squeeze. Also, our bathroom had a very awkward layout and the toilet faced a wall and was half way into the shower. Also, we could not figure out how to turn down the heating and so we had to keep the window open continuously to prevent the room from getting too hot.

    The staff were very friendly and check in was extremely quick and easy. The hotel was in a great location and we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go with ease, including the Heineken Factory, Anne Frank House and the Red Light District. The hotel also has luggage storage facilities which is a bonus.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was freezing. Specially during the night. The room was the tiniest thing ever. Literally you left your luggage and fell into the bed. It fit a double bed, and that was it. Me and my friend had to take turns to move around the room, and to pack because there was no way we had room to do anything at the same time. Since I was travelling with a friend, I paid close attention in filtering my search for twin beds. We got a double bed room for some reason despite of me choosing two single beds, so we had to share. The shared toilets are super small. We hardly fit in, and we're petite ladies. It was the shortest stay on out trip, and the most expensive one. I'm aware that Amsterdam is a popular city, but considering the price of the room, I wouldn't stay here again.

    All the staff was great. Super helpful, all of them. Breakfast was a bit expensive for my taste, but considering what you'd pay outside, it was good value and you have lots of cold and warm food options. The lounge is nice looking.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If I can recommend something. Would be nice if will be possibility to choose about you want cellar room or not during the booking because in that case you can avoid the surprise.

    Actually the hotel is in a nice and peaceful area by walking 20-25min you can go to the downtown.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I requested a double room but was given a twin room. Shower rail fell down while in the shower and water ran hot and cold to the point of scalding myself.

    The location is good. Not in the centre but easily accessible

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing....It was very much small room. I felt like suffocating. Heater was very small and the room was very cold.I could not sleep the whole night. I had to take the medicine tomorrow morning because of cold. My vacation was completely ruined. In room there was not enough place even to put your shoes and suitcase. When you open the door, you'll directly reach to bed and that's it. I had never seen such a small bathroom. In addition, the restroom was also horrible and separate.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Size of bathroom and the wet floor always after a shower therefore unable to use the hair dryer. Stairs were very steep and small width.

    Location was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very misleading online and smelt very very bad very small shower in a bedroom and did not have any room to even get into the bed. Very unsatisfactory facility and would never return

    Nothing. I did not like one thing about this property

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep stairs. Stayed in room 19 and was noisy of a morning because of the reception desk

    Great location! Very quiet of a night, close to trams and underground station into central! Rooms lovely cosy and clean! Lovely welcoming staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows kept opening, the bed sheet was dirty, the bathroom was a wet room soaking all the time with no drainage. Defintley not worth the money

    Not a lot

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are thin so you can hear people talking in other rooms and TV etc but people were very considerate.

    Really lovely staff! And I travelled with my young daughter and she also really enjoyed the stay. Everyone was very friendly. Plus its close to the tram abd you can walk to a lot of museums!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was good value for money, very close to the tram which takes you directly to the center and also central station. The hotel was also close enough to walk it to the center the Rijksmuseum The room was spacious enough, clean and practical. The heating was great and also the check-in and check-out was very fast and done in an efficient way. The receptionist at the hotel was very welcoming. We had the view of the terrace from our room and it was lovely as it proved to be very quiet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room and bathroom are really small but for few days, it is no problem.

    Great place to stay, very nice and professional stuff, clean and comfortable room and great location. Wi-fi works perfectly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed had no bed head but no big deal.

    It was an easy to find, convenient location close to restaurant only a 15 minute walk to the centre of the city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, paid near on 10 euros for breakfast and all they had was broccoli, dried beans a boiled egg and some toast.. Was put into a tiny twin room when I paid and requested a double, wasn’t clean, could hardly move in the room and I felt very uncomfortable there. Was definitely not worth the money I paid

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only bad things I can think of are noisy people in the room next door and no tea and coffee in the room.

    Clean, a short walk from the center and main attractions, great bed and good staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact it said hotel. Looked like a hotel on pics but then turnt out to be a hostel. Shared toilets. Very thing walls. Pillow was awful. The money we paid.

    I liked that we had a balcony! Otherwise I would of been very disappointed in the price we paid. The staff were alright. Easy to rent bikes . Wasn’t too far of a walk to get central.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the first night heating system doesn’t work at all and it was disaster... so cold in the room at November! But the worse thing was this noise at next day ... all the time you hear noise over the pipes even at night !!!

    comfortable bed ,friendly staff :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower was not separated from the rest of the bathroom and the water would reach every corner of it. Noisy, especially the room next to the reception.

    The small garden. Some of the personnel was really polite and smiley :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I must warn anyone looking to book here that the room was infested with bed bugs. Over the course of my two night stay I ended up with almost 50 bites all over my body. On the second night I awoke to find the bugs crawling on the bed (photos attached). The room itself was quite dirty, with mould in the bathroom, and the bathroom tap and balcony door were both broken. Overall it seems like little care is taken in the upkeep of the property and it certainly didn't justify the £75 per night we were spending to be there.

    Location was OK for exploring central Amsterdam and the staff were reasonably friendly although didn't follow up on the issues I alerted them to upon checking out.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were marks on the sheets that were changed on the third day. Room was quite hot even with the heating off

    Situated in a quiet area, comfy bed, friendly and helpful staff, hair dryer in the room was helpful, plug socket next to the bed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the worst experience I have ever had booking a room. It is embarrassing that the manager of this hotel is working in hospitality, after booking a twin room and paying well in advance (specifying the need for 2 single beds) my 70 year old uncle and I were offered one small 3/4 size bed in a terrible room and were told that it was our mistake after the hotel had said they were overbooked. The attitude was terrible, the room was dirty with hair in the bed sheets. There was no soap, no access to drinking water and the manager told me to “get lost!” I have never come across such a rude, confrontational member of staff working anywhere. He did not address our concerns and escalated the situation to the point where I had to pay for another room at a different hotel for my uncle to stay in. Restaurants were closed by the time we resolved the accommodation situation and the hotels response was that it was booking.com that were to blame.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staircase is ridiculously steep but that seems to be quite normal in Amsterdam.(We even heard someone fall down the stairs at one point, as did my friend who I shared the room with.) When we checked in, the receptionist tried to tell me and a friend that our room with 2 single beds was unavailable and that we'd have to share a double bed. I was unhappy with this and he "rearranged a few things". The room I had booked was obviously available. The room itself was what I expected for the price. Clean and tidy although the bathroom sink was leaking. My main complaint is the amount of noise from what sounded like the third floor. We actually went up because it sounded like there was a bar or a gym up there but it was just rooms.

    It was near a great coffee shop and a shirt walk from the Heineken experience and other attractions. It was also cheap.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel iris was terrible. The photos online are completely not accurate. There were bed bugs. The concierge had such bad body odor that the entire hotel smelled like armpit. The bathroom had mold on the walls. The bed felt like a rock. To get to the concierge you have to go down narrow stairs. It is easy to fall and die because they are so steep. NOT WORTH THE MONEY. It is so sketchy.

    Hotel iris was terrible. The photos online are completely not accurate. There were bed bugs. The concierge had such bad body odor that the entire hotel smelled like armpit. The bathroom had mold on the walls. The bed felt like a rock. To get to the concierge you have to go down narrow stairs. It is easy to fall and die because they are so steep. NOT WORTH THE MONEY. It is so sketchy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Hotel is very noisy. The walls are thin and heavy doors. we could not sleep well. It has many, steep and narrow stairs. It was very difficult to climb with the bags.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely basic. Could hear every word through the walls and also from the street outside as the window didn’t close properly. Also smoke from peoples cigarettes outside was coming right through the vents/closed window as we were trying to sleep.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Shower and Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room upstairs very spacious but could be a bit cleaned.The area downstairs very cramped.Reception dining and terrace area.If you rearranged the space you would have a lot more space and it would be easier to move around especially with luggage etc. Great location.Also don't show promotional photos of people enjoying drinks on the terrace and then have a sign downstairs saying no drinks or food on the terrace !!

    Location excellent and my spacious room upstairs with views.Staff very nice and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ordered a double bed but ended up with two singles. Also it is a little noisy at night when people are on the corridor going to the loo. Walls are on the thin side

    Clean no frills. A good 30 minutes walk from central station but the hotel is in a lovely area with lots of good eateries,CAFES and bars. Beds were comfy and we had own toilet and a balcony to use 😀

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst experience ever! On the 3rd floor with no elevator and no help, going through narrow stairs.. it's too expensive for a dirty bedroom, with a small bathroom without windows, small shower and the sink in the bedroom instead of the bathroom. 2 roof windows facing THE ROOF! no Space to open the window, it was terrible. The sheets were ok, the towels were old and the walls were dirty and damaged. Nothing was good about the place, AVOID!! 110€ per night, there are kidding with people..

    Nothing!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beware! There were many issues. There is no 24h reception since I expected to get into the hotel, leave the baggage there and then come back later to pick keys, we arrived at 6. We had to wait for 2 hours with no cafes open around. They should open at 8 am, but we had to wait till 8:35 !! and got in only because other guests were leaving. Rooms have nearly nothing in them. Some things were broken. You are infinitely better off staying in somebody's house. Stay with the local, support people, not huge company chains. You know what I am talking about.

    Be aware there are very steep stairs and some facilities are broken. Location is not too bad, you can get to the centre in 25 minutes, hopefully, this was the last time staying in the hotel ever.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I accidentally ordered an extra room. I called the hotel immediately but they refused to refund, not even partially. All emails took at least 24 hours for them to respond, or not even responded.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My boyfriend and I were really disappointed with our room. We paid a lot of money for a 2 night stay in a double room and we were given a tiny room. There wasn't any room for us to walk around, there wasn't even a table/dresser to place our belongings which meant everything had to go on the floor which meant even less floor space. There wasn't even any room for myself and my boyfriend to walk around the side of the bed. I do understand that rooms are allocated on a first-come first-served basis & also my boyfriend's flight was delayed so we were quite late checking in, but even still we had paid a lot for this hotel room and the room we were given was not worth a quarter of what we paid.

    Really good location - close to the metro station and a tram stop, great coffee shop just around the corner. Really comfortable bed and really friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Iris traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: