Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam

Frans van Mierisstraat 69A, Oud Zuid, 1071 RL Amsterdam, Netherlands

#360 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1439 hostel reviews

6.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.6

  • Comfort

    5.8

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room (female only)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, just few minutes walking to the city center. Its just a little tiny, like its litterally impissible to stand up between the bunks beds with someone else in the same moment, but on the whole is ok 😝

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room (female only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Then space in the room is too tight.. can barely open my suitcase.

    Great locations. Nice city views and easy access to anywhere. Great for backpackers.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 12-Bed Female Dormitory Room (female only)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the staff to be a tiny bit more knowledgeable about the surroundings so that they can give proper recommendations to any guest at any time. To have 16 people in one room is challenging. In summer the air gets stuffy quite easily. Sockets! In the rooms, they are practically non-working! I had to go out in the corridor to charge my phone.

    The staff were friendly and eager to help. Bathrooms are located on each floor, which is very convenient + there are sinks in the rooms. A 24-hour reception desk. Good Wi-Fi connection. Fast check-in / check-out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was hot in the room especially in the summertime. Small windows in the room to let little to no breeze in. You’re lucky if you get assign the top bunk beds next to the windows. No fans or air conditioning in the room. It made it so uncomfortable to sleep because my clothes were all drenched in sweat. Maybe in the winter time, this would be the perfect place to stay.

    I like the cleanliness of the whole hostel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rooms smell so bad. there was no friendliness. it was small and cramped but to top it all off they have some sort of mites on the bed that my friend has to be treated for. she couldn't stop itching. just don't..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 12-Bed Female Dormitory Room (female only)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed bug alert! Even if they do not bite you personally, forget about calm sleep. There is cruelly little air in a 12-bed room, so prepare for the morning headache.

    Location is good if you are into museums. Friendly staff. New shower rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the hostel is in a great location, I don't feel like the hostel itself has enough to offer to warrant the price. The rooms were small and some of the rooms looked as if they could use some renovating. The staff for the most part were very friendly, however on my last night there, one of them woke up everyone in my room accusing one of us of being in the wrong room. It turned out that there was a mistake made in their system, but he could have easily avoided inconveniencing guests had he simply checked it before entering our room.

    The hostel is close to many restaurants and museums, so it wasn't hard to find something to do walking from it. The rooms inside of the hostel were clean for the most part, including the bathrooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A small kitchen would be great, had to put on our own bed sheets.

    Upgraded our room for 10 euros, just to get a private toilet in our 4bed dorm. As there are only one shared toilet on each floor. Everything seems clean to me, you get what you pay for. Location was very easy to find, plenty of places to park your bike. You can also rent your bike with the hostel, although we did not.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bed in 12-Bed Female Dormitory Room (female only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were fleas and I got many bites when I was in the lounge next to the reception. They still hurt me.

    The location was great. The stairs are so small and there's no elevator.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room (female only)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is quite cozy and not worth the money actually. Quite old and not very clean I would say.

    The location is absolutely great, very convenient to approach any public transportation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower

    The staff was very helpful and friendly. I rented a bike there, which is great option to explore the city. Hostel is located close to Museums District.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 12-Bed Female Dormitory Room (female only)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room for how many beds were fit was a little squished. It would have helped if there was more room to move and since we all had at least a big back pack or hand carry, we needed that extra bit of room to mobilise. Sleep was generally okay though as we only went to the hostel to sleep and pack. However my mattress was unusually loud when I moved around during sleep and I didn’t want to wake any other people. Bathroom wait was tedious however this was expected as there was one shared for each floor and so I knew it would be a bit of a wait to shower however the residents and room mates were really nice and kind. The wallpaper and colour theme for decor was nice, I loved the feel even the steep stairs were fun. It emphasised we were really in Holland where the tall buildings save a lot of space width ways and make use of its space height wise. Loved the experience over all.

    The location was pretty good and getting to the hostel was easy. Reception staff were genuinely really helpful and I got to meet a few new friends who came and went during the few nights we were there. People were genuinely friendly and we greeted each new room mate who’d come each night. One more main point was that there was no actual common room or lobby and this marked the hostel for me as one to literally comeback to, only to sleep. No other opportunities to meet others than those in th same room but this was expected when booking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 12-Bed Female Dormitory Room (female only)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are far to many beds cramped into the 12 bed female dorm. At least one set of bunks should get removed. I definitely didn’t like the MALE cleaner coming through the female dorm changing sheets... it would be more appropriate if there was a female who could do it. There is also no kitchen or laundry or anywhere safe to keep your stuff.

    The locations is pretty much the only good thing about this place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Male Dormitory Room (males only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hostel did not have written identification in the door so, it has some difficulties to find the hostel. another the outside door is closed then to enter at the first time it is not simple.

    it is silence, clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 12-Bed Female Dormitory Room (female only)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    stairs quite steep. no locker in room. too hot water for shower. very very basic amenities. not worth the money i paid for 3 nights.

    helpful staff at counter.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room (female only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit too narrow for 8 beds. I arrived before check in time and wanted to leave mi backpack there and go to the city center but they had no more space for storage and had to drop my things at a storage place in the city center for 5€. There were also no lockers in the room.

    It was close to bus/tram stations. The room had a bathroom inside (pros and cons) but also there were other bathrooms outside that you could use. There is a 24hr front desk and they take a 10€ deposit for the key.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 12-Bed Female Dormitory Room (female only)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hostel is rather tight, the amount of space available in the 12-person girl room is really very small, the room was very hot at night. Seemed like there weren't enough shower rooms in the beginning, but to be fair I never had to wait for my turn, so maybe it's enough after all:) The common area is very small. There are absolutely no frills included in the price, you have to pay extra for a locker room, otherwise everything is very basic. Kind of disappointing considering the price, even in a city as pricey as Amsterdam.

    The location of the hostel is good, the hostel was rather quiet at night, the checkin and checkout were swift and hassle-free.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 12-Bed Female Dormitory Room (female only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable and cramped dorms, my friend had her bed switched on our second night without notification so we came home to anoyher person in her bed and the bathroom lights constantly turn off while you're in the bathroom

    Nice staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 12-Bed Female Dormitory Room (female only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms weren't clean enough. Leaving your luggage after checking out time is only possible until 16.00 and also itsn't free of charge. This rule was too meaningless.

    location of the hostel was really good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't know that "mixed room" will mean me staying together with 5 guys... Even though I asked a guy at the reseption and he said that there are 2 other girls in the room...

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Male Dormitory Room (males only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    no air in room 209, someone kept shoe in door to keep it open for air, locker down stairs i.e not on the same floor, very very small toilet, no sign board named "hostel cosmos Amsterdam"

    girl at counter was very helpful if possible mention bus number to reach place e.g "take bus 397 from airport to museum then walk for 5min"

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was the most disgusting place that I have stayed. I ended up sleeping in jeans and a thick jacket with a dress over my pillow. I did not use the blanket and I didn't want to touch anything. The paint was peeling off the walls and the sign on the door said "we are not responsible for any insect bites." Everything was dusty. There was one bunk bed that had bed bugs and the staff changed that beds sheets but didn't even bother telling the others in the room or changing the sheets on the rest of the beds. Absolutely gross.

    One staff member was helpful in figuring out how I could go about taking the bus to a specific location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 6-Bed Male Dormitory Room (males only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is suitable if you are looking for a place to sleep at night only after a long day outside plus you should be a heavy sleeper so you won't get disturbed by the other people in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 6-Bed Male Dormitory Room (males only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is suitable if you are looking for a place to sleep at night only after a long day outside plus you should be a heavy sleeper so you won't get disturbed by the other people in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels are not available (bring your own ones) There is no lift lot of stairs be prepared Bathroom tiny

    Staff was nice Bunk beds Location is central

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room (female only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I stayed was very small for 8 people, no locker to keep your backpack, only 2 adapters

    Location-close to the museum, Helpful staffs,attached toilet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roommates on some nights

    The bed was great, the location etc. The venue was what it was. Extremely cheap /goedkopt(?), with the shared dorm bringing disturbances in my sleep, but the staff went out of their way to help me and my enquiries. Charger, Wi-Fi and a comfy bed. Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 12-Bed Female Dormitory Room (female only)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is packed with beds. You have just enough space to walk around. There's no lift.

    The location is great, a walk distance to many attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Difficult to access bathrooms as so many sharing.

    Hostel was only a 30 minute can journey away from the airport, 20 minutes by walking to the downtown. The staff were SUPER friendly and helpful. Thanks!! The location is great. The bathrooms are pretty new and it was very clean, but difficult to access bathrooms as so many sharing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Male Dormitory Room (males only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Something need to be done about bathrooms. More showers so could be shared, and waiting.

    Very attentive and helpful staff. Simba in the reception adds a bit of "home" atmosphere to the place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 12-Bed Female Dormitory Room (female only)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom and showers are one per floor which means that even if you just wanted to use the toilet you had to wait if someone was showering. Also at the entrance there was a very seep stairway to the first floor where the reception was.

    It was really close to the Rijksmuseum. Couple of minutes walking distance. Though the cleanliness was not top notch it was decent for a hostel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room (female only)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    theres not even hot water provided in this hostel (need to insert coin in the vending machine in order to get a small cup of hot water)

    I like the room and its very clean. most importantly I LOVE samba the CAT <3

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the pictures you have shown on booking.com do not match with the rooms in the building they are shabby you haven’t even got proper mattresses you get the foam one with plastic cover like in a prison. Not once one did booking.com said that we had to pay the rest of the hostel in cash when we got there they wouldn’t take credit card or debit card. We came in the 1st night of staying there and found 2 men on the floor sleeping or passed out right outside our room door. Booking.com said we were a 10 minute walk from Amsterdam central and it’s not it’s a 40 minute walk and a 15minute tram ride the reason why I booked this place because it was close to Amsterdam central.

    The only thing I like it’s that the young guy with the dark hair who’s worked nights there he helped me find trams to get on helped me print tickets.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No alcohol in the premises, seriously? Its a hostel and its Amsterdam! The bed was a bit hard, it wasn't made. Way too many people in one small room (12 to be accurate). I had checked in at 11:30 pm in the night, and the room was pitch black dark, one cannot even move around properly without hitting to hurting himself. In the morning, the girl came in and started telling "You need to check out". 10 AM check out is early! I could go on..but I will just leave it at "a very unpleasant and uncomfortable experience".

    The location and the price for a one night crash (I will use the word 'crashing' because this probably was by far one of the worst hostels I have stayed, and I have backpacked the globe over).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small. Cleanliness was questionable. Staff was nice but some were useless in terms of helping to fix problems with room e.g lights not working, towel rack falling off...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    requested a private room but upon arrival was placed in a room with a man who cause great uncomfort as he was twice our age and his behaviours

    open 24/7

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bedroom excessively small from my point of view, but we didnt be in the hotel so much, good stayed

    i like so much the location of the hotel, very near of voldempark and the museumplein

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 12-Bed Female Dormitory Room (female only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 3 bathrooms-to little for all the people living there. Not very friendly receptionist (when I checked in, the other when I checked out was nice and smiley) The roommate girl who was maybe a junkie or just a crazy who was literally offending me without a reason, raising the voice and saying much impolite stuff. Plus she talked with herself. It was scary to sleep above her in a bunkbed that night:( but I know that wasn't a hostel's fault.

    A bed with a big window and a nice view to a busy street- felt like I was a local. A sink in a 12-bed room with separate lights and a mirror right for the make-up, thnx!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Male Dormitory Room (males only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress didn't fit the bed, there are no stairs to the upper bed it means that I had to jump every time I want to get on bed, the bathroom was too cold and no heating condition, no soap or towel you have to pay for them, lockers in the entrance instead near beds and also you have to pay for them

    Good Value for money, cozy and near city center, all kind transportation are available, stuff is very very friendly, I would recommend for groups of people but one person might be not good Bottom Line: Good value for money but you can find something better if you search more

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is far from the city center/where you want to go out. Each time you go out, you probably walk around 4-5 miles... and that's if you don't get lost. Really nice place though- only downside is location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had bedbugs in the room but they asked for full price. All of us was bitten by them. One of us got allergy! We couldnt talk to the boss no answer for emails nothing.I will write for consumer protection cause this is terrible whats happening there! They should close that dirty stinky place! A have pictures and proofs as well!

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room (female only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No manner from the boss

    Everything is poor. Specially the boss! They don’t try to be a little helpful. Check in is 1 and if you arrive earlier they wouldn’t let you stay in the common area. No matter how cold and dark is outside . So disappointed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's just too less space everywhere! Couldn't do anything properly :( and light is turning off when you're in shower

    Stuff was wonderful! Thanks for everything!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom and toilets were very clean. Having sinks in the dorm was great too. Staff was very friendly and nice. Location was great too as there are tram stops just 2 minutes away.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There isn't public place or even kitchen. You have to pay for boiled water and for key for lockers. You can't leave your luggage more than 4pm after check out.

    Location is very nice. It isn't in the overcrowded city center and near bus station to the airport.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was far too small and we were under the impression that we had a balcony however we had no such thing.In addition our toilet was extremely small.

    Hostel was only a 15 minute can journey away from the airport.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing that wasn’t to my liking.

    The staff were really friendly and helpful. One of the ladies helped me so much with all the sites I could go to and see. Which I was very grateful for. Stayed here before and will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was tiny, a little more space would have been nice.

    Hostel Cosmos allowed us to stow our luggage - a great convenience! The soup restaurant on the corner was delicious, as was the patisserie across the street. They have a wonderful bookstore on the street also!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 12-Bed Female Dormitory Room (female only)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cramped space with barely enough room to get between beds. Terrible sheets, not sure if washed between guests. No towels to rent, only to buy. Only one bathroom on each floor.

    Great location, easy walking to the city center and right next to all of the museums.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room (female only)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet was really really bad. You have to pay 1 euro per day for locker... So if you stay long, you end up paying more

    It is very very quiet place, no partying roommates, so you can go to sleep at 10 pm. Dorm had a private shower and toilet, so you share only with 6 people, there were only 4 of us. The shower is super clean. There are snacks and vending machine

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 12-Bed Female Dormitory Room (female only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostel need to publicise further on the website that it does operate a strict no alcohol/drug policy. Understandably it would be a bonus for smoking and there are plenty of places to smoke it Amsterdam. But it was a shame that we weren’t informed prior to booking about alcohol consumption on premises. We had visited on a strict budget and had hoped to do some drinking in the hostel only to be informed of 150€ fine if caught. All previous hostels I have been in the area did not prohibit this and a pre warning may have influenced our decision. Drinking on the street isn’t something we wanted to do and I wouldn’t expect it from tourist visiting London.

    The staff were excellent and the rooms/facilities were adequate for the payment made.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unclean , untidy , very less toilets , wifi slow , no lifts , very expensive for one night. I had to stay here as I had no other cheaper (nothing less than 70 euros) option compared to this

    Any time check-in

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it could be a bit modern and renovated, check out time is early (before 10 a.m), 11 or 12 would be better.

    The staff are friendly and helpful, they have a cat called simba, toilet were clean, bed were comfy, close to public transports (bus 197 to the airport).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 12-Bed Female Dormitory Room (female only)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When I arrived I was given a bed in a 10 person dormitory. This was not the issue as I booked knowing this. The first bed they gave me was about an inch from the floor. I asked the person at the reception desk for another bed in the room and they changed my bed. Later that night I woke up at around 3am to bug bites on my legs and stomach. I then took my phone flashlight and tried to see if there was something in the sheets. I found a BED BUG crawling in the sheets. I immediately went to the front desk and checked out. I did not tell the receptionist because I was embarrassed as well as not trying to cause a ruckus at now 4am. I checked out a day early which inconvenienced me a bit. I will NEVER stay here.

    The staff was very nice and accommodating.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible! I got bed bugs bites! I am itchying until now, seven days latter... Old and dirty, hygiene is fundamental in a hostel. Be aware!

    The only thing ok in this hostel was its location, very close to the museums square

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I am now covered in bites, which I can only pin to bed bugs as we are all now itching to death after we stayed here. Cold shower. Light goes off every 5 seconds in bathroom. I was then overcharged by 120 euros due to me paying on card.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty much all Bed terrible bed bugs hidden costs bad when you see a sign in reception saying they will take no responsibility for bed bug bites or other...

    Bed terrible bed bugs hidden costs bad when you see a sign in reception saying they will take no responsibility for bed bug bites or other...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 12-Bed Female Dormitory Room (female only)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the Hostel welcomes many people and has no space. I stayed in a room for 12 people. the bathroom is in the hallway and had a queue of waiting. There is no space to make meals and you need to eat in the street. in the reception there is a table but it is small and uncomfortable

    Staff and location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Male Dormitory Room (males only)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Accommodation in Amsterdam is expensive, be very aware of that. This was the cheapest option I could find...and there is no value for money on this hostel. It's not to say it's bad, but it's to say that it isn't worth 50 euros a night. In some other European cities at 50 euros a night, you get treated like royalty. Here I was in a male dormitory room with 5 other guys, every night there would be 5 new people, and each time someone was either drunk, stoned or couldn't stop farting (probably due to cakes). No breakfast is included. If you rent a bike (15 euros per day), they take a 50 euros deposit. If you rent a locker (2 euros per day), they take a 10 euros deposit. And like all hostels, bring your own shampoo, body wash, towels and toothpaste - or buy them from the receptionist.

    The location was good. They have a pet cat who is cute. The showers were surprisingly neat. The staff was friendly and helpful and are all available 24/7.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hidden costs and conditions, we were charged extra for leaving our bags there for a few hours, and not even inside a locker!

    Proximity to tourist attractions, 24 hour front desk, free wifi

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 12-Bed Female Dormitory Room (female only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staircase! It's hell if you bring big luggage. And there's no common room and pantry

    The staffs were amazing. They helped a lot with my stay there. And the bed is very comfy. The location is great. Just a 5 min walk from museumplein stop

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the only problem is everything is so far away from the center we spent hourssss walking to and from my legs and feet where so sore this can not be helped tho I guess just location

    Bed was OK covers where nice and thick. Staff super nice rooms OK sized with the place its self no issues at all

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room (female only)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the water in the shower was too cold the wifi connection is bad the bed and mattress are not comfortable no free water

    the blanket was thick enough for the cold staff were nice and friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room (female only)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mosquitos are horrible, my arms and legs were bitten terrible, more than 50 bites. I took 40 mins to apply ointment every night. After 3 weeks, the marks still clear. This is the worst experience I had on Booking.com.

    This is the second time I lived here. The room is clean but warm.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 12-Bed Female Dormitory Room (female only)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Ich habe ca. 25-30 Flohbisse davon getragen. Sehr grauslich! (I was bitten by fleas about 25 to 30 times. Horrible!!!)

    The staff was very friendly and the cat Simba is awesome. :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room (female only)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water is too hot or too cold. It's hard to take a shower. There is no railing around bed, so it is dangerous for upper bed.

    Staff are very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Female Dormitory Room (female only)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building needs some repairs but the rooms are comfortables and clean. The lockers is out of the rooms and there is no pc for guests in the receptions! But it a nice place for a few nights!

    The location is great, staff very friendly and kind. The building and bathroom is very clean!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Male Dormitory Room (males only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed was not completely levelled. The bathroom was very clean, altough I found the shower to be a bit hot sometimes. U cannot change the temperature. It is not allowed to consume food and drinks in the room, only at the reception area, that is super tiny. U can pay by (credit)card, but pay an extra fee if you do that.

    very friendly staff and quite good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some shady people stay there. €200 was stolen from pants pockets while we slept. Be careful and safe guard your valuables

    Great location, friendly staff and the rooms are clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This has to be the worst hostel I've ever stayed in. The staff friendliness was the only positive thing. Firstly, the rooms are overcrowded and does not have AC. Then, the room faced a busy with with constant traffic 24/7, making it impossible to sleep. Overall, the place looks like it's not being maintained as is falling apart. I'll never set foot close to this place again.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 12-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is old property. With very poor natural lighting as well as inner lighting. As well beds are not that comfortable and too much clumsy. Didnt felt like i Should stay ever again.

    Near by central Amsterdam specially van gogh Museum.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was really bad design inside the rooms, was looking like we are prisoners. You need to pay for all, including 1 euro for hot water for tea! I was before at cheap hostels, but they do nothing to make rooms more comfortable

    Good and friendly personal

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 12-Bed Female Dormitory Room (female only)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slept really bad in the dorm with 12 beds, people didn't take into account other people were sleeping... (No fault of the hostel, but too bad)

    Really kind person at the desk. Nice and clean hostel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 12-Bed Female Dormitory Room (female only)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To many beds in the rooms, there's almost no space to move. They could have made it a much nicer place by having less bunkbeds. Very few toiletts and showers, considering the amount of people staying there. No bedlamps or aircondition. I was glad to leave.

    The only good thing with this hostel is the location. Its located in a quiet area with good resturants and close to many museums, and the airportbus stops just a couple of minutes away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is too small even for a hostel, you run the risk of becoming claustrophobic even if you weren't before. The bathroom as well and the light in the bathroom kept turning on and off (supposed to be a sensor light). No towels and toiletries, can get then at extra charge.The bunk beds didn't have a ladder on them so climbing up was challenging. The check in was at 1 pm but our room wasn't cleaned up yet. Even after the cleanup, we found a cigarettes bud and trash under the beds. Although it was very close to the museums,it was still bit far from the centre, definitely not recommended if you want to enjoy the nightlife and get back at the hostel later. Too high a price for getting no comfort at all.

    Next to all the museums.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: