Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Joops City Centre Hotel 2 stars

Langeveerstraat 36, 2011 DB Haarlem, Netherlands

#13 of 16 hotels in Haarlem

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1314 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    View from window. But it did not matter.

    We were very comfortable. It was an excellent location. Thank you Booking .Com for suggesting Haarlem. Amsterdam was too expensive and too busy! Haarlem is a delightful place - very attractive and easy to move around and has quite a few attractions. Our first night we dined by the canal in the warmth of a summer evening.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (3 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As with some other hotels, when booking a refundable pay-at-the-property option, I do not understand why the hotel has to withhold the entire amount off my credit card (which might not even be used for the actual payment as it happened in this case) not just until the date of the reservation, but for almost a week after that. It’s absurd!

    Nice spacious comfortable room Central location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air condition because in the afternoon it was hot and fan was not enough to ease the temperature in the room but it was just a little issue maybe it was only that time.

    The staff are friendly and accommodating then the area was a busy location easy to find different necessities like food to eat, shopping centre, transportation and etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV picture was snowy on some channels. Wi-Fi kept dropping out. Not good signal on 2nd floor. A bit of noise from revellers on the street late at night.

    Central location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was good but they were very slow with refills. For example, we waited 45 minutes for croissants but every time they refilled the basket other people wsiting ran to the buffet and emptied it within seconds. Staff wouldn't refill it afterwards for a long time until the next run. In general the breakfast room was way to small for that many people and they were not prepared for it.

    Great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No aircon and in the summer it's very hot. You have to check in at their sister hotel which isn't the most convenience

    Good location, right in the city centre, clean room and easy to access with the lift

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really could of used some kind of room cooling. Rooms were not air conditioned as much of Europe and there was not enough fans available for each room.

    Got pretty much what was advertised.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1, The curtains is not black-out, the sleeping is not good, and waked up early in the morning. 2, The hotel forgot to change bed linens after previous customers left , it was really disgusting to see the bed linens with a lot of hairs

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet did not work the entire ten days I was there. Connecting every 5 minutes and dropping out again, I used multiple devices which now I am in Bordeaux are working perfectly so defiantly Joops hotel internet was faulty. DID NOT get to use it once; totally useless. :( The hotel looks nothing like what the picture they show on the web. It is literally “a hole in the wall” I include a photo so you can truely see what it looks like :(

    The room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were cheerful but there was no "ownership" of problems. Internet failed and it took 3 calls before anyone rebooted it. The staff on each call said the would "forward the problem to the IT department...no follow up. Breakfast was paid for but the staff couldn't find the record even though it was on my credit card. In short, the staff tried but there was no management coordination.

    Location to central Haarlem

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Another stay, been in the same room before, again everything was clean and in working order. My wife and I did spring for the breakfast, even though expensive. It was great, worth the cost.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff not unfriendly, but certainly not warm and welcoming (in comparison to hotels we stayed in various other European cities). This was not only during check-in but also when we sought information during our stay. No issue with an older building but ensuite is well overdue for refurbishment.

    Room warm, beds comfy, room on upper floor, quiet location close to centre of Haarlem.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only single beds, no double beds. Parking fee is very expensive near the hotel, and hard to find a parking place. When we arrived we didn't where to go as the reception is not at this hotel but in another hotel at 10 min walking. Had to call the hotel.

    Big room in the city centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a double bed but not available on arrival. Housekeeping very bad, didn't clean room during 3 day stay just replaced towels upon request and left dirty ones on floor. Staff not very helpful when we asked to leave things overnight in a fridge. Quite disappointing.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (3 persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It wasn't very clean, refrigerator didn't work at all. Garbage wasn't thrown away next day. Curtains were torn.

    Apartment was quite big and quite nice for 3 people. All shops and restaurants are directly near the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Apartment spacious with a lovely view overlooking a quaint laneway and local coffee shops. No cars only bicycles and pedestrians. 10 minutes walk from Haarlem train Station, bus close by. Supermarket 10 minutes walk. Enjoyable area to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start?!? We arrived late, like 11pm. Finding the location was a bit tricky with oneway streets and limited street parking. The room was a an old apartment converted into a family room. Our bed linen had multiple hairs (pubic) on it. The carpet was disgusting & while there was a kitchen sink, it was by no means a kitchen. The bathroom also had multiple hairs (pubic) all over the floor. The bathroom was just one room with the shower & toilet, so that when you showered, the entire room gets wet. The drain also had problems and water floods every shower. The first night sounded like a club next door...blasting pounding music starting at 0400 and not ending until 0700!!! We complained the next morning requesting to be moved, but were chastised that we didn’t call when it happened. Our phone did not work in our room...just static... We seriously thought we were placed next to a club... The second & third nights were quiet, but the cleanliness was totally subpar... We will definitely not be returning or recommending this hotel. Had our reservation been refundable, we would not have stayed. It was way overpriced!!! We‘ve stayed in cleaner hostels...

    The location was very convenient to walk around Haarlem.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our window was right above the restaurants so there was quite a bit of street noise. It also looked like one of the windows didn't close properly. If it was fixed it may help make it quieter, and easier to sleep.

    The location of the hotel is excellent. It was great having St. Bavo Church and the Market Square right outside our window. Everything was very easy to walk too. And it's in a great area to just wander around and explore the beautiful city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noice of water running in another room - really loud - but it never lasted long.

    Wr got promoted to stay in the main building, so nothing to blame. Nice room, beautiful hotel. :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's quite overpriced for this quality. There was only one power point in the room. It was a challenge for us to synchronize who will use it and when. There was no kettle. In cold weather it's a must! Again for this price, I believe they could provide it. There was no reception in place. With any questions, check on/out, breakfast, etc you have to go to Ambassador, not really convenient.

    Location is great. Probably that's the main and one benefit of this hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    just double check for people in room first before entering and double-checking equipment or appliances to ensure it's working properly :)

    Staff at Joops was pleasant, friendly, and very accommodating. We arrived waaay too early for check-in, but they were able to hold our luggage for us. Staff was also very understanding and able to eventually check us in early. This was a last minute booking/stop for us during our trip; we had a family emergency and had to meet-up with a family member in Haarlem and our flight back home to the US was pushed back by a day (we almost didn't get on the 2nd flight too!). The price for the room was reasonably priced and was very easy to book through booking.com. We got a good deal and definitely lucked out that I would find ONE room available in our price range at 3am (remember: emergency trip) considering all of Amsterdam and Haarlem was fully booked that weekend because of the Rick Steeves tour (whom by the way the front desk staff told us also recommends Joops). Our stay at Joops helped forget the stress traveling can sometimes bring. It is in the PERFECT location in Haarlem, and my goodness-- I still dream about going back to the Grote Markt (it is an absolute must for every Haarlem visitor). It's the best Saturday market I've been to so far! Thank you Joops and amazing staff for the very clean, comfortable, spacious, and nicely furnished studio with kitchenette that came with a FANTASTIC view of Haarlem streets. The beds were very comfortable, the windows allowed for a nice breeze to come in the room, and the room had plenty of plug-ins for charging electronics. The only small issue we had was a housekeeper accidentally walked in the room probably not realizing people were in it already (we checked in early) and the kitchen faucet was loose and came off when the hot water was used, but was easily screwed back in place. We let the front desk know about it at check-out. WiFi also sometimes would disconnect, but works again just fine once you reconnect to the network-- no problem.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception desk in another hotel.escort to the room would be benificial as it is around the block for the first time not easy to find.Ambasador hotel reception staff very friendly

    Basic Big room. Clean.comfortable beds.Perfect location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some coffee/tea making facility would be nice

    Room was nice and comfortable. Lift available. Excellent view of St Bavo. Haarlem beats Amsterdam hands down!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scruffy entrance no reception area as had to book in at hotel around the corner. Upgrade to a studio which was basically a sink and a portable grill top and ironing board. Pots and pans were old and the whole place was scruffy.

    good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The description of the family room was inaccurate, there were no table or chairs in the room. They seem to be in the middle of renovation of the room.

    The room was quiet and clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1)The safe was locked. I had to tell it three times, to wait half an hour at reception and after 2 nights (!) the safe was in service. 2) I did not sleep well. Not very comfortable bed(s). 3) The price for this category (€220.- for 3 nights without breakfast) is too expensive.

    The location was very centrally located, clean and quite. Friendly staff and free upgrade from superior room to an apartment.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (3 persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Windows were too dirty. That spoiled the view and the general very good impression. The street was too noisy, but that is due to the central location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom a little dirty. No trash bin in the room or room safe. There is a kitchen but nothing in it. The room would be more popular if they equipped the kitchen.

    Perfect location and large family room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parkingspace at the hotel, bút good arrangement with taxicompanie.For Little price we weer picked up andere broughed tot the hotel. Room was very basic, but clean. Nice shower, sofa's in the room not clean.

    Great location, breakfast was good, clean room, most of the staff friendly!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't cleaned up the day following our first night and we had to walk around to the ambassador ourselves to pick up clean linens and towels. Not impressed on that note.

    Location and size of room were great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I left some trainers in the room (which I really liked as they were at that point where they were worn in just enough to be amazingly comfy, but were still looking pretty clean if you get me). I contacted the hotel the day after I checked out and they have not yet come back to me to return my shoes. I guess this is my fault for leaving them there (purely an accident) but that whole mentality just annoys me, you know? We pay for things in life and people just take from you without a care in the world. It makes me wonder, if we can't give people their OWN possessions back, how on earth can we expect philanthropy to work on an international scale, as nice as a thought it is. I'm pretty sure that driving international benevolence and humanitarianism is out of your scope at Booking.com but you asked, so you get. RIP Puma suedes.

    Was clean, warm and nice and friendly staff :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was unhelpful and rude. The website information was not accurate. It did not offer laundry service for everyone so we had to find a laundromat. It also wasn’t as close to the train station as they made it seem. The room was bland. Beds were uncomfortable and pillows were awful. The water they mopped the room with smelled dirty.

    We liked all the restaurant options around the hotel. There was a cute cafe for breakfast just across the street. The TV had English channels which was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Take airplugs with you, the bells ring every 15 minutes and the church is next to the hotel. Overall it’s ok, but the walls and chairs were dirty. It’s not hard to paint walls and clean chairs. If so, the review score would be 9-10. Please note, that there is no reception in the hotel, it’s mentioned in the hotel policy that you should check in at another hotel near the Joops.

    Haarlem is great. We stayed two days in Amsterdam and then 3 days there. We liked Haarlem more. Hotel is in the center and not far from the railway station. The beds are comfortable. It’s not noisy, you do not hear your neighbors. The price is good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location for the hotel, approx 15 min walking from the train station. Joops hotel is placed exactly in the city center next to a bunch of restaurants, pubs and a coffee shop.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two small beds instead of one big bed was weird. Staff said all rooms at this hotel (and in neighboring Ambassador) have double small beds instead of large...maybe it's a Europe thing because doors, halls and elevators are small. Bathroom was old, small, one-room configuration with no shower curtain, so after shower entire bathroom floor is wet. Staff did not clean bathroom or floor when room was cleaned. No carpet on bedroom floor. Window latch was awkward, didn't work. Room was small. Wish there had been photo of room online.

    Breakfast buffet was yummy and large (but cost extra). Location was just what we wanted...we were promised a view of the old St Bravo church and had a great view!! (Not all rooms will have this lovely view.) Staff was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no reception at the hotel. For reception you need to go to a different hotel in a different building a few minutes apart from Joop hotel. Decoration very poor compared to photos on booking.com

    Location is top

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 16 had no fridge or tea and coffee facilities. We put water and edibles outside the window for them to be chilled only to find out after 2 days they went missing which was extremely annoying.

    Small room but warm.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Joops is basically an annex to the Ambassador hotel on the main square. It’s basic but clean , quiet and comfortable. You cannot get a better location in Haarlem

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little uncomfortable & it would have been nice to have a double rather than two singles.

    The room was a lot bigger than we expected which was a nice surprise, lovely big windows & very clean. Location was great, very central to everything & nice to do close to the market square.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    requested a double bed since it’s nice to not have separate beds for you and your partner. However they still gave us two singles which was very disappointing. Invest in some double beds!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The room is extremely spacious. There is no reception on site, but that is no problem. You check in and check out at The Ambassador, which is just around the corner and you can access the hotel and the room with your access card, which makes it very convenient. We have stayed here a number of times and would go back a next time.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower splased all the floor and i was worried my 72 year old mother would slip. I really missed not having tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

    Very secure (travelling with a family i was worried), very quiet, lovely and warm, fabulous location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a challenge to find the location of hotel. The hotel room was not clean. Does not have a kettle for boiling warm water.

    Hotel is located in central area with a lot of shopping place and good restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The servicing of employees could be more friendly. Extra charge for the use of room for 30min above the check-out time..

    Down town hotel. Value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No parking facility, but this is the rule of the city. The hotel is located in a car free zone. But underground parking (3 euros/hour at day and 3 euros /night) is only 50 meters away.

    Right in the center of the city, very great. But car parking is a hassle.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (3 persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it is situated in the middel of the citycenter it was pretty noisy until 3 o’clock.

    The location is superb... the room is pretty basic but comfortable enough and clean!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the room would have a kitchenette however this was not the case.

    The hotel was a 10 minute walk to the train station and right in the centre of Haarlem. The room was cleaned everyday, shower was very good and beds were soft memory foam. Overall I was impressed with the hotel, it served its purpose which was to sleep and for the price I paid I couldn't complain.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no hotel facilities apart from in the Ambassador Hotel down the street. A kettle for tea/coffee would have been be nice. The cleaners turn up around 9/9.30, so unless you are out by then your room doesn't get cleaned.

    Nice clean room, which is easy to access. It has a really nice shower and an incredible location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Annoyingly, there was no kettle or drink making facilities in the room! Breakfast was not included in the price - but was available at an extra cost of 12 Euros per person, which we declined.

    Most crucially the room was quiet and we had no noise disturbance from neighbours or outside. We stayed for 3 nights in mid November and had a 3rd floor room on the side of the hotel away from the street - and so had a great view of the nearby Grote Kirk (and the fire escape) - see attached photo. It's a good central location. The room was bare but functional and is really just a "cheap and cheerful" option for overnight stays.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds seemed small, pillows far too small and hard, quilts too small, needed to put one put one cross ways to keep me covered. the room could have done with a tea and coffee tray in room or a machine in the reception entrance so could get either a cold or hot drink.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent location. Cleaned and given fresh towels every day. Basic but exactly what you need for a getaway where you aren't in the room much anyway!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was staying in the apartment 52 of Joops City Centre Hotel. There was a big problem with the heating system, I mean it didn't work at all and the temperature in the rooms was +16°C at our checking-in, all through the night and at 10 a.m. and +17°C at the time of our check-out. I was traveling with two small kids (1 and 3 y.o.) and we had to sleep and then to have our breakfast in many-layered clothes. There is no reception in-house and you need to walk a bit further to check-in. At first I was ok with that even though my kids were tired after long trip. However, the evening shift of the Ambassador Hotel reception (Nikita) failed to ensure that the room is warm by the time of my check-in. Later I made two inquiries at night but the guy from the night shift at first told me that he turned on the heater and I need to wait 1 hour, but since the heating system didn't start working in 15 minutes, I asked him to come again and check it again, after this he told me that the heater will only start working at 6 a.m. according to timer. And (surprise-surprise) when we woke up at 9 a.m. the rooms were still cold. To amend my dissatisfaction, the hotel management offered me a free upgrade for my next stay, but that's totally useless as I will stay away from this "family chain".

    Location is great, very central and it was pretty easy to find the hotel after alighting the bus 300. I needed a kitchenette, as I travelled with small kids and there is a fridge, kettle and some other appliances in the apartments of the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Group
    • Studio (3 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Money frozen on my account for two weeks - in addition to what was charged It is not easy to find keys: no any mention that reception is at the Ambassador hotel

    Big room, kitchenette, no noice. Center of the town

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was not cleaned properly- bathroom especially,you could also find all sorts of interesting stuff between the sofa pillows- it seemed no one checked it for a long time. Pub on the ground floor is open until late at night, so it if you are looking for a good night sleep- this is not the place to stay.

    spacious room in modern style ,hotel in the heart of the city

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I knew beforehand that the Joops is an annex round the corner from the main hotel,but felt I could have been given clearer directions on how to gain access from the street.Entrance is unwelcoming and shabby,outside and in.Room was spacious but with minimal furnishing of the "distressed" variety, therefore not the sort of room to spend any time relaxing in.Basically my only requirements were hot showers and a comfortable bed so I was content,but I could understand other guests expecting more. Pricey,but not many options available when booking last minute.

    Both bedroom and wet room were very spacious with excellent supply of hot water.Bed was super comfy.Television was in good working order with at least four english speaking channels.Having stayed in several typical,old Dutch houses with the steep,narrow,spiralling stairs,I was relieved to see this property had an excellent wide stairwell,albeit uncarpeted,also a lift,so no problem with luggage.Toiletries were of good standard and replenished as required.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked to be able to make a cup of tea.

    Only slept and showered in hotel the bed was fine the bathroom was clean .the pillow was a bit lumpy but overall I was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nearby public parking is very expensive even for Haarlem/Amsterdam. Would have been nice to have been informed that check in is at a different hotel, it would have saved me walking past the other hotel only to have to turn around and go back... Only one power socket in the room and it's nowhere near the bed.

    Nice big room. The location is excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were no chairs in the room. There was no desk in the room. The only furniture other than bedside tables and a wardrobe was a smallish tallboy type of thing. So not much room for putting things down, including clothes, phones, papers, maps (etc), if both beds had been in use. As it was, I was on my home and could use the second bed. And nowt to sit on, other than beds. No fridge. No kettle. You do feel a little bit "out of it" not having any kind of manned reception - you pick up your card from the main hotel and, from then on, proceed as if in a block of flats! OK, but still a little strange. I had no problems and didn't have breakfast, but, if you did/do, you need to go back up the street to the main hotel. I presume Haarlem is very expensive, as I didn't seem to get all that much for my money!

    There was nothing massively wrong with the accommodation, it was just nothing overly special. Room was OK, if a little spartan. Bed was comfy enough. Bathroom was OK, but nothing more. Location is pretty good - close to main square and about 15 mins from station. But still quiet (with the window closed). Clean, though. Good TV.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom heater wasnt working and staff couldn't do anything except to give us more blanketsz Hotel rooms were in a separate building from reception which was inconvenient.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos did not reflect the truth as the room was half the size and shower had no partition which flooded the whole bathroom. It was not good value for.money. As a first time user of booking.com we were "caught" with a "special" rate, by not being able to cancel and were charged with the whole amount a month in advance off our credit card. Managers were not accommodating. Will never want to stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (3 persons)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would have been good if a few extra things like a toaster, cereal bowls and wine glasses were provided. A curtain in the shower area could have prevented the bathroom becoming so wet. A lightweight duvet cover or a top sheet would have been good as it was rather hot.

    A great location - a lovely sunny room and great to have windows to get fresh air coming in. Also great to have kitchen facilities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was good :)

    The location is perfect, in the old city center, 5 minutes away from the bus station and 10 minutes away from the train station (to go to Amsterdam). I had breakfast just one morning, it was good, plenty of choices. The room was very clean, the bathroom also, clean towels every day, quiet, perfect temperature in the room and the surveillance camera at the entrance made you feel safe. I totally recomend it!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's 13C outside and zero heating. No heating at all. Only one hand towel in the bathroom no body size towels at all. Free wi-fi.. Slower than snail. Oh have i mentioned that there was no heating?

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    The WiFi was really unstable and completely unusable at times. Their main building has much better stable WiFi. My room had no desk so not great for work.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lacking atmosphere. The room was enormous (three bed) yet seemed like converted student accommodation rather than a hotel room. A few more pictureson the walls etc would have cheered it up.

    There was everything I needed except tea and coffee in my room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (3 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately I had the worst sleep there ever it was no air conditioning in the property so we had to open the window and as it is located in the middle of the town noise of drunk people shouting and breaking glasses wouldn't let you sleep we didn't get any towels bed sheets was shouting that they haven't been charged there is no free car park and the cheapest one is €4 per hour

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Only the size otherwise it is jjust a roof over the head but that is what you expect with a 2star hotel but it is all we wanted anx expected as we had been there twice before.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door opened from our room onto public balcony where people were on and off all night to smoke and occasionaly trying to open the door into our room to see where it led.very noisy drunk people on the streets below ..last folk went homecirca 06.45am every morning...impossible to sleep.....this accomodation is for young people who want to party all night...reception at ambassador hotel(owner hotel) should advise older people that joops is not suitable for people who actually want to sleep at night.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First, we had to go to another hotel to register. Then, we could not open the front door (the card reader was broken), so we had to go back to the other hotel, again. Otherwise, the ambiente is (overly) simplistic and not particularly inviting. Finally, the WIFI was working only barely...

    The location of this hotel is very good (very central) and it was comparably cheap.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was not very clean. We had to go to the main hotel to check in, we were not informed about that. So you must walk a lot with youre luggage, The parkings in Haarlem are very rare, and cost a lot of money. In the haotel they have no good alternativ.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An hour to hang around until the room was ready. Three trips to get a key that opened the front door, room and bike park. Not sure whose room they were cleaning but it wasn't mine. I wasn't expecting the Ritz and worn and tired doesn't need to be dirty. Left wanting a shower.

    Location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to check in at time stated...waited for over one hour!!!!!! 32 steep spiral steps 😱😱😱. Not good for retired people...

    Location, location,location!!!!! Kitchen a plus. On hearing that we would not be able to get our suitcases to room, spiral steps too steep and narrow. Manager ..Mick... caried them up for us...4 adults 🤗🤗...THANKS MICK....he was also able to take them down on check out day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit too warm and we couldn't open the window enough to get sufficient air.

    Bed was most comfortable in Holland. Super nice and efficient staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have a kettle/ tea or coffee making facilities. A small refrigerator too.

    Nice size room. Very comfortable. Nice bathroom. Great location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no breakfast included in the fee and no parking which made the cost for our stay a lot higher.

    The hotel is perfectly situated in the center of Haarlem Close to the Big impresive church, shops and restaurant and the canals. The room was Big with an sofagroup. No frigde though to store water and no water heater. But a balcony to enjoy the rooftops of Haarlem.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Joops City Centre Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: