Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Kap City Centre 2 stars

Den Texstraat 5, Amsterdam City Centre, 1017 XW Amsterdam, Netherlands

#314 of 446 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 618 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.9
    Nice for the weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor needs updating, room was very small, location is a bit of a walk.

    Really nice staff, bed is very comfy and everything is clean. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    4.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms and the beds are tiny .literally the smallest beds I have ever seen . Also the tv had no signal and the wi fi was ok . The location is the only real plus of this hotel

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.9
    the staff was very helpful and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room was comfortable but smelled it really weird . there is no elevator and the stairs Re very difficult to go up . if you have problems with stairs I dont reccomend it

    the staff was very helpful and kind. and the location is really good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Central!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs were quite stiff, and no lift, so not really recommend for people carrying heavy luggage.

    Central! but quiet! with lots of restaurants and bars near by! Facilities are a bit old but for the price, it is good. The staff was super warm hearted and gave us a lot of helpful tips. Nice one!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.1
    Location was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In my booking, it was stated that the breakfast was included in the price, but there were no breakfast at all. The towels were not clean. When we complained they told it was not their responsibility to check the cleanness of the towel and it was the laundry's responsibility!!!

    Location was great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.7
    Pretty good location even though the main city centre still...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    4-bed room pretty small but hardly can expect such a type of room larger. Very difficult to climb up the stairs (common problem in Amster hotels) with all the luggage but the receptionist helped us. Even though the quality of the hotel fits to my requierements, i consider the price quite a bit high, might be problem that Amsterdam actually is pretty expensive. Not possible to park the car by the hotel, need to drive to the parking house, very nearby, price for hotel client was 20 EUR which is ok. Without a hotel parking car the charge would be 50 EUR.

    Pretty good location even though the main city centre still quite a bit in a walking distance. Depends what you are really looking for since Amsterdam has various "points of interests". If you love museums, this is excellent location. Nice and friendly stuff working in the hotel. Good bathroom but stream of water could be stronger.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    The staff is very kind and they help us a lot with...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is very kind and they help us a lot with information and recommendations. I loved our room on ground floor where we had chance to open our wide windows on a sunny quiet Amsterdam street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    4.2
    Don’t expect to enjoy your time in your room!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not very good! Very small, dirty! You can hear every guest in the building from your own room! The balance quality/price is clearly negative!

    The location is very nice, close to the city center!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    4.6
    The reception staff was very friendly gave us a map showed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were located on the top floor, stairs were literally a nightmare. The room was a shoebox with a shower.

    The reception staff was very friendly gave us a map showed us where to eat etc help us with our bags

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.8
    very close to the museum area, possibility to reach the airport with public transport in 40 minutes
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was at the first floor so not the best place to sleep, in a chaotic city like Amsterdam, but I think it depends on the room.

    Area 25 minutes on foot to the center, and also connected with public transport. Found out very nice people at the reception.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Chang was amazingly accommodating, and very helpful with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chang was amazingly accommodating, and very helpful with local restaurant and tourist activity recommendations. He also went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    EXCELLENT HOTEL. EXCELLENT LOCATION. LOVELY STAFF.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything! So welcoming and really helpful. One of our friends arrived back at the hotel before everyone else without a key and they let her in no problem (it was late sorry).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    The staff was very helpful and always nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was very helpful and always nice. We asked for a kettle in the room and when we arrived was already there. The room was very big and clean. The location was great, we were able to do everything on foot.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.9
    Good value hotel, ideal for a short sightseeing holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very small. However, this didn't bother me much.

    Good location, friendly welcome and local info provided. Room was clean and fresh towels provided every day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    Easy, safe, central location. Staff helpful and knowledgeable. Clean and bright. Very good thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked it all, another socket in room or extension plug for charging would be helpful as couldn't charge both phones at the same time and have a lamp on.

    Staff helpfulness and knowledge

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    5.4
    just what i needed short stay nothing to fancy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    i asked to push beds together as i was with my partner after the first night they stated when room was cleaned this would happen witch it didn't so we had to deal with 2 singles pushed together

    over all great stay as i new it was 2 stars so wasn't expecting much it was perfect for what i need it for

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    We loved our hotel and definitely would choose Kap if ever we came back to Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs to get to the rooms were a bit too steep and lighting was not very good for girls who use them to put makeup on.

    We loved the comfort of the beds. The size of the bedroom was very good for the 3 of us. The shower was amazing and temperature was lovely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    3.3
    Disappointingly Overpriced!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom looked new but the shower had no pressure. No wardrobe to hang clothes no safe, there were drill holes in the wall. Noisy even with window closed and curtain was not long enough. I was only there two days for the new year celebrations so didn’t stay in there long, didn’t complain but I Should have !Vastly overpriced,would never go there again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    6.7
    Decent hotel i was impressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds where small and pillows were not good. The mattress was too soft(could be personal preference) I wish the wifi was better, it didn’t reach the rooms This hotel would be really good if it had a lobby for guests to sit and just lounge around.

    Clean property Bathroom was good. Toiletries provided and clean towels everyday which was good. Kettle for hot water and hairdryer Location was good it was near the museums and good food options nearby The manager was really helpful and give us alot of helpful information. We also arrived early and the manager still allowed us to check in early.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.2
    So much fun and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing Rooms didn’t have any views but this didn’t bother us at all anyway

    Very friendly staff Good clean rooms perfect for a group of friends travelling to Amsterdam for a long weekend away Easy to get everywhere and would definitely stay again

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.2
    I would suggest this Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They guys at the reception are really nice and treated us really well. The Hostel has a really good location. When we arrived to the room it was super clean and smelt super good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.2
    hotel kap made our visit to Amsterdam a lot more pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing, well maybe the very steep winding staircase - that was interesting and all but challenging after visiting the coffee shop getting up to our room! :)

    After a terrible start to the holiday we decided to check in here, wish we had stayed there from the start of our trip! Staff were great - I liked the friendly greeting, hosts were very welcoming and accommodating. The rooms were simplistic but had everything we needed and clean. Not a noisy hotel and close to everything in the city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.8
    Awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There could have been some coffee and tea provided, although a kettle was provided upon request.

    The bed was super comfy and the room was spacious enough for the two of us. More importantly, it was the staff and the location that really made the place stand out! Very friendly local staff with loads of maps and info about the city!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    4.2
    The staff was really really perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is the smallest room i have ever seen. I couldn’t wash my hands on the sink i think its just 15 cm. There isn’t shower stall and it was terrible, housekeeping never visited our room and there arent blow dryer.

    The staff was really really perfect. When we need something they did it perfectly and location is on the city centre. ( 200 metres to Heineken Experience)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    6.3
    It is what it is, a cheap hotel in Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Description of the room with the separate shower and loo arrangement, our shower room in the big room leaked everywhere, flooded the whole room on our first night, we had some sort of mop but ended up putting towels down. Quite a lot of noise at night, doors slamming, people laughing and tv's on late but thats expected.

    Upon arrival we were greeted by a very friendly host, we were a party of 5 with 2 rooms, our room wasn't quite ready yet but one room was. Upon booking we were told both rooms were en-suite but was offered a room with a separate shower and a downstairs loo which was not what we booked. The hotel receptionist said he would swap our room for an en-suite one in the morning as they had no other rooms. So we dumped off our bags and went to a local bar until the other room was ready. Got back, checked in great, rooms were somewhat tidy, big and warm.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    4.2
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is really small. Bathroom smells so bad like we are living sewer. The toilet was plugged. We told that to the staff but they didn’t change our room, they said there is no available room. The internet is so slow only working in 2nd floor. The stairs are high like other Amsterdam hotels.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    5.4
    Just a place to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Stained / dirty towels - Bathroom would flood (was at the same lavel as the bedroom) - Very few plugs (only 2 & not placed at handy places) - Very small room (just enough space for 2 beds - no space for lugagge)

    The location is perfect for someone who wants to explore the city. Also good price in comparison to other accomodation in Amsterdam.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    5.8
    Good location but very basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet was smelly when we got there and didn't flush properly, room very small with nowhere to hang up clothes. Room wasn't ready when we arrived.

    Good location, friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.8
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we arrive the bathroom had a small problem, but was fixed.

    Very nice hotel, super recomendable, just a problem with the bathroom that was fixed when we informed to the Hotel. Nice service, and good quality / price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    6.7
    Not all bad.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Kettle provided but nothing else - no cups, tea, sugar, milk etc. World's smallest room - should really be a single rather than a twin - luckily we are VERY good friends already, or it could have been a very awkward trip. The beds are less than 6 inches apart from each other. Toilet seat was not fixed on properly, so almost fell off the toilet whenever you went. Shower soaks the whole bathroom so you end up with a wet toilet and roll, and then walk water into the room afterwards. VERY steep steps - we already knew about this, but I think it needs reiterating! You need good stamina to walk into the centre everyday, if you're not fit, you'll spend a fortune on trams or taxis. No storage provided and no room for any luggage to be placed to get clothes etc out of.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. Clean and tidy and quite nice new bathroom. Clean towels every day. VERY comfy bed! Quiet neighbourhood.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs were very steep however this was the case everywhere. The staff do help with your bags up the stairs too.

    The staff were so nice, they helped whenever they could (carrying bags, questions about the best routes). The hotel was in a good location too, we thought it was far looking at the map but when we was there it wasn't. There's a tram stop right outside too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    4.2
    The worst value stay ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hostel pretends to be a hotel. It is not, there are no communal facilities, no 'river terrace'. It is a down at heel hostel. The charge for staying here was £905 for 3 nights! The full amount was immediately taken from our account at booking - against the guidance in booking.com. It was the worst value trip I have ever been on. BEWARE!

    The location of this hostel is good near to the museums, canal rides and and tram to all other parts of Amsterdam

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.1
    Good location, nice beds - but no breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The WiFi was not working well and I missed that the hotel did not serve breakfast (but there are options nearby). The room did not have a table so this was not so nice as I had some work to do.

    Location was good, nice room and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.3
    A short sight-seeing trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no food at the hotel. The toilet / shower room was tiny with no hooks in it for hanging a towel or clothes. Impossible to shower without wetting the entire floor of the toilet / shower. There was a kettle in the room, but no cups / teabags until we asked for them. The stairs are narrow and very steep with no lift. However staff offered to carry luggage up and down.

    Very helpful man at reception, he gave us cups and teabags, advised about transport and brought down / looked after our luggage after we checked out. The location was quiet but convenient for the tram.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.5
    Good location, just a place to crash during the night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole bathroom would flood every time we would take a shower, it was really annoying. The stairs are really steep and the steps are really small, so if you are not very comfortable with going up and down stairs, i would recommend going to another property

    Good bed, good location of the hotel. We would be out all day, so it was a good place to just crash after long days of walking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.8
    Good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stayed two nights. Very helpful and warm welcoming by reception . Area is very quiet and nice also close to many attractions including Heineken, Museums and vondelpark.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    6.3
    The location is the best bit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water available in the room, limited availability of towels.

    The location and excess to the city centre was excellent and staff were very friendly! Housekeeping was poor and room was very small.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    4.2
    Not even hotel. Avoid at all cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like anything to be honest. Paid £235 for a small little room with no window. Too small not even a room more like a storage room.

    I didn't like anything to be honest. Paid £235 for a small little room with no window. Too small not even a room more like a storage room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    5.4
    The staff at the property was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the property was very nice. However, the staircase was very very steep. There was no way we could take our luggage upstairs. I would recommend only backpackers to stay here.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    4.6
    A stay of last resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very bad and lumpy. You will have a stiff back and neck sleeping on it. The rooms were very hot.

    It cannot be called a hotel. The only good thing was the location which was excellent. At best we can call it a hostel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.1
    Good hotel, not really a hostel, with friendly service but an alright location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a little weird because it wasn't closed off. There were a few bugs crawling around the place, and the location was decent because it was still a 10-15 ride to central station.

    I liked the comfortableness of the beds, and the patio in the back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.2
    Very pleased
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was a bit far but walking distance so good

    Very friendly staff Very nice bathroom and living area Outside garden and balcony very nice

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all, the owner was really accommodating. We came in early to check-in and he was able to give the room because they we're not busy. He saw that our luggage were quite big and the room i booked for wont have enough space, so he ended up giving us a room for 4 people. Bed was comfortable, big clean washroom, and quiet property. The tram heading to the redlight district is a 5min walk. Everything is close by with an average of 10-20min. Walk. I definitely recommend this property.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    9.2
    For the price, I was pretty happy
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little too small

    Good location (close to city centre), room was clean, was provided clean towels on a daily basis, comfy beds, rooms window opened on to fire escape which meant smoking outside was much easier

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    7.5
    A GREAT little hotel with both Huge Plusses and Minuses
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    GREAT STAFF! Fun, funny, smart, helpful. GREAT LOCATION! A few minutes walk to all the major down town attractions of Amsterdam. And on a quiet and safe street. BUT: This hotel is undergoing major and continuing renovations to bring it into the modern world. Some facilities are new, high quality, but only "OK = 5/10" when put together...not everything works, many small features are missing: e.g. no towel hanger near a wonderful new shower; using a far away towel hanger didn't help as the shower did not confine the water, so the whole tile floor was wet, soapy and very slippery over the whole new bathroom. Then, not even a small desk, so as I had work to do, I made a pile of suitcases and pillows to use my laptop. Other facilities are a JOKE! Hotel KAP would NOT be a licensed hotel in the USA. The stairs...being both impossibly steep, and with very, very narrow old steps with carpet in poor condition, would not meet code! My wife (we are both about 75 years old) could not have stayed in KAP even if we wanted to, as she could not have used the stairs. However, Amsterdam is Amsterdam, and space is tight. SUMMARY: So in the end this was more like a good time camping out, than staying in a real hotel

    The great thing about KAP is that ALL the STAFF were fantastic: smart, very good humored, very funny, well educated and very helpful. The two "managers" are excellent. The location, for a lower priced hotel is quite amazing: a few minutes to walk to Concertgebouw, Rijkjsmuseum, van Gogh, to the #24 tram which takes one right downtown, to shopping, the canal houses of Amseterdam, to the Dam, and the Centraal Station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    7.5
    Cheap, clean, friendly, helpful staff, great location very satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like. You get what you pay for and I was happy with the room and location for the money.

    This hotel isn't a Hilton luxury type place it's a real Amsterdam cultured building it's something different I liked it

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    7.1
    Cheap and nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower flooded our bathroom. The water never drained during the 3 days we were there and the room smelled like humidity. There was no cleaning service. We asked for a mope but it was never delivered.

    Great room and not too far from the city centre. Very good price for Amsterdam!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    4.2
    Somewhere to sleep that's close to De Pijp
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The side lamp had a broken plug and couldn't be used; the towels were often torn or in holes; there was rubbish left at the entrance for 24hrs which the staff didn't clear; the sliding door to the bathroom often came off the rollers and was also noisy; there was no communal lounge; no catering at all; very steep stairs and no lift; the room was next door to reception and the staff would smoke cigarettes outside.

    The shower was recently installed and was easy to control the water temperature and jet.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    5.8
    Simply, will not go again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you have luggages and you geta room in second or third floor then you are in big trouble because the stairs very dangerous and narrow. I was lucky one of the staff offered to help and take them upstairs. If you have young kids, be careful of the stairs. Duvet and bed cover were not clean.

    Staff who helped me a lot and without them I will give this hotel Zero if possible. Location is good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.3
    Cheap and centered place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A mini fridge would have been cool!

    Clean, quiet, close to city center and museums, great place if you're looking for a inexpensive place to just sleep and shower.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    8.3
    Short but good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no plug in the bathroom so blow drying your hair becomes complicated. There were also glasses missing so it was hard to have a glass of water

    The service and the location is amazing. This was my third time staying at this property and I love this place.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    5.0
    Good location, friendly staff, smelly noisy room, sorry sheets..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Half way through refurbishment. Smell of pot in room, the second morning was so strong I had to leave the room early. I don't care if other people smoke but I rather get my own. Walls paper thin, may as well sleep in the corridor. Pillow cases sorry and stained. Looked like they hadn't been changed.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Good location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    10
    Lovely stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, the guy at reception was amazing! So helpful, anything we needed he helped us with! Beds were comfy and the bathroom was nice and clean!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    8.3
    Friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast included About a 20-30 min walk to centre

    Bathroom very clean and modern Opposite Heineken Museum Staff very helpful for first stay in Amsterdam and held our luggage as our flight was after our check out time

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    7.9
    2 nights in kap hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no elevator as they mentioned in the information and the stairs are very high

    very friendly stuff , quite area and very close to a lot of metro lines which facilitates transportation.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    8.8
    Good price/quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thin walls, you can hear a lot (but luckily located in a quiet street and we were staying on the ground floor as well). Tip for the owners: in a room for 3, a mirror in the room itself (outside the bathroom) and an extra rail for towels and some small hooks for clothes in the bathroom would be welcome. :)

    Clean room, thick and dark curtains, friendly staff, good wifi and nice location. Good price/quality.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    8.3
    Great staff, strategic location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    beds matrices could be better.

    Definitely loved the staff friendship and the hotel strategic location in the city. I could manage to go to all my business meetings taking am approx 20min walk. (bizmeetings in Out West, Pijp and at the RAI convention centre) Good restaurant around the hotel, and old-city centre at 10 minutes walk. Many museum surrounding the Hotel. Direct Airport bus 197 for 5 euros only at 7 minutes walks from the hotel! (it takes 40 min @ traffic peak time, less than 30min if fluid -> Rijksmuseum stop) Also even if modest facility great value deal for its price!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    7.5
    Great staff, comfortable beds :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    bit of a walk to dam square but the tram is just outside the hotel and its only a 8 min cycle if you rent a bike!

    Staff were sooo nice! Beds were really comfortable, good value for money. Nice and warm and constant hot water!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    5.4
    Basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room wasn't ready when we arrived around 4pm. Receptionist had little knowledge of area and were no niceties or interest in whether we enjoyed our stay. Stairs very steep to rooms. Room could do with a lick of paint.

    Quiet location, bathroom & beds clean and room was warm.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.1
    Cheap hotel near centre, do not expect 5 stars :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was according to the description. Stairs very steep, but - again - this was mentioned in the description, no surprises.

    Quality adequate to price. Did not expect much and it was fine.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    4.6
    Below expectations
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Vertiginous stairs, both toilets *and* shower on the landing, ultra tiny room, outdated equipment, no place to store clothes (coat-peg falling from the wall), neon above sink not working, shared toilet not fixed on the ground (beware not to fall when you sit), ext room so ...below expectations - seeing the other comments, it seems that lot of guests lived in a parallel world and visited a different hotel.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    8.8
    Great location with even better staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No lift unfortunately and very steep stairs.

    Great location with even better staff!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    3.8
    Deadly staircase
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staircase is dangerous, curtains handing off, smoke detector covered!

    Location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    Clean, central, friendly! Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly staff, pointed out places to go.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No windows, smell of sewage from the shower, no security safe in room

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.5
    More like a hostel than a hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs TLC.

    The location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly and helpful stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the bathroom has no curtain.

    Very friendly and helpful stuff. Provides additional informal about the area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    6.7
    Very small room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very very small for two adults.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location, very kind and very helpful smiling personnel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms are really too small and has very very small bathrooms.

    Great location, very kind and very helpful smiling personnel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.9
    Very friendly and helpful receptionist.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful receptionist. Clean room and comfortable bed... It was quiet at night... Near metro station and supermarket...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.3
    The balcony we had was great for the evenings and location...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balcony we had was great for the evenings and location is perfect just a short walk (15 mins) to main city centre

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.3
    Best staff ever
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Excellent service and very friendly and helpful people...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator.

    Excellent service and very friendly and helpful people working there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.3
    Very friendly staff, excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, excellent location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.5
    Amsterdam does not disappoint.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    mattresses on soft side

    Staff incredibly friendly and helpful. Room fine, quite basic, clean. Good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Kap City Centre traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: