Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Relais & Chateaux Kasteel Engelenburg This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Eerbeekseweg 6, 6971 LB Brummen, Netherlands

#1 of 3 hotels in Brummen

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 228 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    6.7
    Terrible service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Double charge because of their mistake in the reservation. Service was terrible. Same name in the credit card and reservation and they did keep charging me twice. Unfortunately, a terrible experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    10
    Our stay was a highlight of our trip, quite special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can’t think of anything.

    Loved the beautiful room, the view and the surroundings. Great location for visiting nearby places such as Giethoorn, Het Loo Palace etc. A special highlight of our stay was our dinner in the restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic stay in a beautiful suite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was too warm in room, due to huge windows and sunny location.

    Location was beautiful, very nice suite in the building next door. Warm welcome by staff, coffee and petit fours in room. Restaurant was great, we had a delicious dinner and enjoyed the wine tasting in the wine cellar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    6.7
    Perfect location, but behind the game compared to other similarly priced hotels or restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We felt the staff were not rude but also there was no warmth in the welcome. My main issue was the restaurant. Unfortunately they had hyped up the experience so we were very much looking forward to it. We both went with the Chef surprise menu. My parter is vegaterian and whilst there was nothing wrong with the food it lacked imagination and presentation expected for this price range ( we are no strangers to Michelin or top restaurants but were dissapointed here). The wine was good though and the staff in the restaurant friendly.

    Very nice, quiet location. Dog friendly. The suite itself was lovely but the coffee was cheap and the mini only had cheap wine despite the restaurant having an excellent selection of south african wines

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    10
    The dinner, the room, the area, the staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The coffee in the room and at the breakfast could have been of better quality.

    The dinner, the room, the area, the staff ... all met our expectations !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2017

    10
    Absolutely superb
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Impeccable experience. Top class everywhere you look, everywhere you go, everyone you meet. From the reception welcome, through the room, great in size, comfort, lighting, general atmosphere, to the club room, the bar and last but not least: the restaurant - a feast for the senses. This is one of the most convincing 10/10 I have ever given to any hotel, I did not have any doubts about it for a fraction of a second. And I will definitely come back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2017

    10
    We spent our mini honeymoon in the castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We spent our mini honeymoon in the castle. We booked Orangerie suite with terrace for few days. The bed was amazing and huge. We had a good weather throughout our whole stay so we got to enjoy the terrace to the maximum with a nice view of the golf course . Wonderful breakfast with champagne, excellent room service, very friendly staff and relaxing hotel bar. Perfect place for a little break.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2017

    8.3
    Really enjoyable, tarnished just a little by dinner options and poor transport.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Eating options are poor. It's either an expensive nouvelle-cuisine type thing or a very small and basic snacks option. Not enough of an option for those wanting something tasty, but simple. Even something like steak & fries or burger, etc. would be good. Travel options to the hotel are limited too. Very poor links, very hard to get a taxi of any kind and there's no hotel shuttle to stations, etc. It wasted 90 minutes of my time and 2 hours for my colleague, just hanging around until we could find a taxi somehow

    Location is lovely. Breakfast is amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2017

    8.8
    Breakfast and diner were really wonderful.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On both nights there was a wedding taking place, which took away the peace and quietness of most of the night because of the music. I actually came there to enjoy the quietness of nature surrounding and clean air, but I had to keep my window closed because of the music.

    Breakfast and diner were really wonderful. The room was really clean and they even put a bowl with food and present for our dogs in the room. The area is really peaceful and beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2017

    8.3
    Good times here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furniture in the room: the bed was too old, it makes noises everytime i get up or i sit down; and the sofa, so old that the leather scratches everywhere

    1. Excellent food, not much choices but just enough to make a family very happy :) 2. View from the room, it overlooks a beautiful garden 3. The building and surrounding (beautiful golf course), you should just check it out, perfect view for a photo

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2017

    9.6
    A picturesque stay in Gelderland
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was a little pricy (but the food was brilliant).

    This hotel is located in a beautiful part of the Netherlands. It's tranquil and picturesque. 30 minutes to either Apeldoorn and Arnhem and a stones throw from the Veluwezoom national park. There is a plethora of walking and bicycle trails to pick from. There was an absolutely amazing breakfast spread (Easter special). The restaurant has a great wine selection.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2017

    9.6
    A Gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we couldn't stay longer!

    What a gem of a hotel - family run with love, care and attention to detail. A beautiful hotel, with attentive staff and a wonderful location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2017

    9.6
    A real treat for a small break. Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No negative comments.

    Super comfort room. Staff where very friendly and helpfull. Dinner was super, but abit on the expensive side with a wine arrangement. The experience was fantastic and we will most definatly be going back

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2016

    10
    Picturesque setting for Christmas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely nothing to dislike at all.

    The staff were exceptional- very attentive making sure we were aware of breakfast times when we did not appear for breakfast so as not to clear away before we had eaten. Barbara & Denis in particular were fantastic - thank you.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2016

    10
    most attractice on all counts
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing !

    The prices are excellent (115 Euros for a 50 m2 bedroom) The staff is very friendly and helpfull The food is very good The location is most beautiful

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2016

    10
    A genuine find! Seclusion in central Netherlands!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing hotel, just 30 mins from the motorway and the perfect stop on a trip through Europe. The room was stunning.... and the weather made it so much better!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2016

    9.6
    Incredible setting with exemplary service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Friday night there weren't enough staff working the restaurant. But the food was brilliant.

    The attention to detail in the service staff- always responded and deal my with things and problem solved. The food across all facilities was really excellent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2016

    9.2
    Quality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too much ice in my G&T. A little expensive but the best things in life usually are!

    The food in this place was the best in 2 weeks of great hotels - like nothing else. Super grounds, lovely people.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    10
    The perfect stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Every thing was perfect

    Every thing was perfect. Soon I will visit you again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    9.6
    All the staff were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing at all

    All the staff were excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    8.8
    The place is amazing and the staff is super friendly, if you...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place is amazing and the staff is super friendly, if you travel with dog they provide you bowls and little snacks, very nice and caring

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel , very relaxing and luxury atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful hotel , very relaxing and luxury atmosphere

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    10
    beatiful setting, excellent friendly personnel, great dinner...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelled a bit moldy at first entrance, which is however soon forgotten.

    beatiful setting, excellent friendly personnel, great dinner possible

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    10
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    everything

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    9.2
    beautiful location ,friendly people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was fine

    beautiful location ,friendly people

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2017

    10
    The hotel you do not want to leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cannot think of something.

    Very warm and friendly staff, beautifull hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2017

    6.3
    it was ok stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bathroom and location

    the property

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Eveything is perfect

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2016

    10
    Very great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Fantastic Location,very friendly people,excellent condition,excellent kitchen

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2016

    9.2
    May be good to have breakfast serve freshly made omlette.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    May be good to have breakfast serve freshly made omlette..

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2016

    10
    Amazing place to relax and unwind
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    More amenities in the bathroom (conditioner, better shampoo, etc.)

    Amazing dinner at the restaurant and lovely lounge to have drinks in.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2016

    8.8
    Excellent, classy place with excellent cuisine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reception didn't have much information avaialble as to what was available nearby. The internet was pretty slow. We were sometimes unable to use the lounge as booked out and these are the only comfortable seats. The chairs in the bedroom, although stylish, were very uncomfotable.

    Excellent, classy place with excellent cuisine. We loved the set dinner with wine. A real experience.

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2016

    9.6
    The main house (Castle) is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The rooms could be a little more modern, perhaps with better lighting. The breakfast was a bit disappointing, especially after the superb dinner we had had. Maybe a larger selection of fresh fruit/veg juices & smoothies. More information (brochures etc) in English would be appreciated, especially for non-native Dutch guests.

    The main house (Castle) is amazing. It is old yet modern, keeping the 'feel' of this beautiful very much alive. The restaurant served fantastic food that was stunningly presented. The staff where extremely attentive yet hands-off not to be intrusive. The basic rooms (comfort option) are simple, clean and serve the purpose of sleeping and getting dressed. The owners are very approachable and take their time to honestly and openly talk to the guests. They are extremely welcoming which was a very nice surprise. The free WiFi is easy to access and the speed is great which is an absolute essential in this day and age.

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2016

    8.3
    Staff was courteous, the grounds were gorgeous, and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The door to the room did not block any noise, and the rain shower was of poor quality. Breakfast was not worth the price and did not include eggs made to order. Restaurant was lovely, but food only okay, and the acoustics were awful.

    Staff was courteous, the grounds were gorgeous, and the lounge and bar were excellent.

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2015

    8.8
    The restaurant and bar/fireplace are excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was a bit hard, room safety deposit box faulty, no shampoo etc kit in bathroom first night. Breakfast good but not very remarkable.

    The restaurant and bar/fireplace are excellent. We had an excellent dinner with wine pairing, the waiter was very knowledgeable and personable. The building and surroundings are stunning.

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2015

    8.3
    Beautiful rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Paying 22 euros to borrow 2 bikes for 45 minutes. Would have thought that this should be a free guest service in a hotel such as this and in a country like The Netherlands. Dinner was expensive for what it was.

    Beautiful rooms

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2015

    10
    Everything was perfect - reception, Restaurant, room,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Everything was perfect - reception, Restaurant, room, running, breakfast! The People were extremely accomodating! I travel a lot, and I was very impressed with this Hotel.

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2015

    9.2
    The ambiance of the house, our wonderful room, the ease of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That we had to leave !

    The ambiance of the house, our wonderful room, the ease of check in and our wonderful dinner and breakfast, relaxing in the cosy lounge after dinner.

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2016

    9.6
    Exellent food as well as the service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Exellent food as well as the service.

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2016

    10
    Absolut Top!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Absolut Top!

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful grounds, wonderful restaurant.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    It took a little while for the room to warm up because of the single panes of glass.

    Beautiful grounds, wonderful restaurant. Comfortable room.

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2016

    10
    Lovely hotel, very large nicely decorated room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely hotel, very large nicely decorated room. Great restaurant with a huge selection of South African wines

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2015

    9.2
    Location, ambience, friendly staff, mystery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, ambience, friendly staff, mystery

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2015

    10
    Lovely room on the water, terrace with seats for us,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing at all.

    Lovely room on the water, terrace with seats for us, friendly staff, nice location.

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2015

    10
    Alles is er perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Niets

    Alles is er perfect

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2015

    10
    Nice furnished rooms, very clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    All was very good.

    Nice furnished rooms, very clean. Great restaurant and very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2015

    10
    Beautiful property, sensational room (#315), excellent meals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful property, sensational room (#315), excellent meals. Staff was delightful.

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2015

    9.6
    Wonderful location
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Staff in restaurant during the evening was kind and good service Breakfast wasn't worth the price and slow service

    Wonderful location

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2015

    10
    cottage style rooms but you can order room service meal as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    cottage style rooms but you can order room service meal as well. Everything was comfortable.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Guests also reviewed these properties: