Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kasteel Kerckebosch 4 stars

Arnhemse Bovenweg 31, 3708 AA Zeist, Netherlands

#5 of 8 hotels in Zeist

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 524 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.9
    Romantic hotel, but partly outdated
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was quite outdated and definitely needs some fixing. Therefore, it did not feel like a 4* hotel. In the lobby area we found no plugs when working on our laptops. Bikes cost €15 a day, but one of the two was not riding properly.

    Great location, friendly staff and beautiful restaurant. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice stay in quirky semi-old castle in the woods
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We thought food was heavily priced and under portioned, and breakfast was nice, but because it is individually portioned, tons of food are thrown away on a daily basis. We made a choice partially based on a reasonably priced menu on the website of 3 courses and that was not enough, as was immediately said by the waiter. Carpet in room was rather worn down, rooms could do with refurbishment.

    Quirky building, nice bar and lounge, quiet location, great balcony adjoining the room. Overall the hotel is well designed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    4.6
    The great location, very nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old room, old tv, few programs, dirty towels full of hair and lipstick, small windows, updated bathroom, no elevator!

    The great location, very nice staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful setting, nice room, very small dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu was limited and the qualities were poor. Ravioli for a main course was only 3 pieces, and almost an hour between ordering and getting any food and a further long wait between course.

    Dinner included a combination of lovely flavours. Waiters very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.1
    Clean, quiet hotel with lovely staff, but some things need upgrading.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The carpet in the room was stained, so you get a bad impression as soon as you walk into the room. The mattress was hard and lumpy and the pillows too big, very uncomfortable. Definitely need replacing! The shower curtain was about 5 centimetres too short and didn't close properly, so the only way to have a shower without flooding the bathroom was to stand in the corner and direct the shower head towards the wall! Also there was nowhere to put our toiletries - a shelf would have been nice!

    The building is beautiful, and I loved being surrounded by trees and hearing the birdsong in the morning. It is 5 minutes walk from the railway station, so even though it is in a very quiet location, it is easy to get around even without a car. The food in the restaurant, where we had dinner, was exceptional!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.5
    Castle full of mixed experiences
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waitresses and waiters at eating area are way beyond any standard. The kitchen wants to get up in fine dine but servants are untrained. Also by the breakfast table. Maybe it was a part of the "experience menu":) Also, fine dine atmosphere would not allow to wear worn out snekars on servants, when the guestswore white proper shirts and elegant dresses.

    I liked to view from the terrace and older parts of interior.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    Again nice experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some noise from outside airco ventilators up to 23h30 in room 19 Couldn’t close the heating completelyagain nice experience

    Castle building Interior design Great environment with park Great kitchen Very clean Easy going staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Stylish, relaxing experience; a must-visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only one small grumble - the coffee was not replaced by the housekeeping staff on either of the mornings so we had to go without and then the following day cause some inconvenience to the reception staff who tried their best to locate it.

    The style and ambience of the hotel was wonderful - tasteful, classic and elegant. The staff were incredibly helpful and warm and the restaurant deserves a special mention, the food was exquisite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bistro was under construction and work started Monday morning around 0730. Bring ear plugs if you’re a light sleeper and wish to sleep in.

    Decor and ambience were great. So many interesting details to explore inside and outside the Kasteel. We enjoyed the evening aperitifs at the bar and by the fire. Breakfast ample, varied and delicious. Lovely quiet location close to major sites. We stayed here to tour keukenhof, Amsterdam and Amersfoort by car. Bikes available for rent with wonderful bike path access anywhere you’d like to go.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    Experience surely to be repeatd
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lightsin restaurant - too dark! Parking overcrowded Room little bit small but overall value for money OK T V old model

    Remarkable historical building Contempory interior design very pleasant Restaurant ++ Quiet location Very clean Good bedding and duvet pillows

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    Castle king
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beyon expected. Truly great and rare find on booking Value should have always 10 stars for accommodation like this. Feel like a king of castle for day or two

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.5
    Very Nice, just not quite top class!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tower Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar staff were not the most polite and we were turned away from the restaurant due to an influx of external diners showing up. We had actually specifically requested dinner at the property and Booking had confirmed that this was available...if we knew it wasn't we would have cancelled free of charge. By the time they told us they were unexpectedly fully booked for dinner, we had a few drinks and we're unable to drive to Zeist. The guy that served us all the alcohol did not seem to see where the issue was here. It put a bit of a downer on our experience as we just wanted to come here to relax, eat, drink and take in the grounds. We ended up having to catch a bus to Zeist, but there are some nice places and the town itself is pleasant. Be careful of the marble steps in the bathroom, very slippery! On checkout I was offered a receipt and breakdown of costs incurred during my stay which I accepted, but I never got this neither on site or by email.

    Beautiful surroundings and the building itself is quite an experience. We stayed in the tower suite which has a stunningly carved wooden bed. Breakfast is great and well worth having, you can ask the chefs to cook you something up if you need such as an egg but most of it is traditional continental breakfast. The breakfast staff are very polite and attentive, you want for nothing here. The view from the Tower Suite room overlooking the gardens and dining terrace is serene. Hot tub in the bathroom is always a bonus! This place is perfect for couples wanting a quiet weekend together, also it seemed to have a lot of people scouting for potential wedding venues, which we would consider if they changed the bar staff 😂

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    4.6
    Broken promises
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfulfilled promise of table for dinner, alternative restaurant suggested and booked (but had to take a €50 taxi there at own expense). Promise of follow up at reception on check out but nothing heard since then.

    Beautiful building in the forest, nice breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    8.8
    Excellent stay in a hotel that exhumes atmosphere.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although I really don't like a concrete mattress the mattress was so soft it hampered our sleep. The unexpected step when entering the room wasn't a pleasant surprise for my wife's ankles.

    Excellent hotel with a great atmosphere !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.1
    Wait until after the renovations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are renovations going on at the moment, which they use as an excuse for a lot of things, e.g. there were no fridges in the rooms, no food available for lunch/dinner, no drinks menu, no bowls to eat cereal out of so we had to use cups! It was less funny when the diggers right outside our window woke us up at 7am! I would stay again, but definitely not until after the renovations.

    Beautiful buliding

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    5.8
    When restaurant is open fantastic, otherwise useless...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tower Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant closed. Was not informed. No food/drinks when restaurant is closed.

    Price/quality Fantastic venue Combination old style castle/restaurant/garden/style

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    8.3
    Great Breakfast, very nice athmosphere, friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately due to renovation works, the restaurant was not available. Bathrooms need a makeover ( I didn't like the curtain, much better a glass cabin for shower)

    Great Breakfast, very nice athmosphere, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.8
    Wake up with the voice of forest;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better

    Wake up with the voice of forest; birds, wind, trees. Great ambiance. Also because of historical architecture you feel like you just did a time traveling. Enjoy your wine and rest well

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    6.7
    Non-existing Dutch service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tower Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so cold, it was impossible to be inside without warm clothes. There was a small heater inside, but it didn't help at all. We went to reception to say that and all that receptionist said was "we have no other rooms and no more heaters" and went back to his computer. The staff in the bar is very unfriendly and untrained. We ordered some simple lunch and had to wait for it for 35 minutes, and when we asked how long we have to wait? The waiter answered rudely "for what?". It turned out that there was a wedding of other guests that day and they were the priority for them, they didn't care about us, so that's why we had to wait, while we actually also got married that day and mentioned this in the request box for the hotel when made a booking. No compliment or small present was given, absolutely no personal approach or attention knowing that people just got married and chose their hotel for staying there and actually booked the most expensive room in their hotel. After we came back to the room from dinner in their restaurant at 23 PM, we found a bottle of red wine on the table. So somebody went to our room so late in the evening and brought it, while we were not there. We didn't even understand what was it? A compliment for marriage as there was no note left or for that fact that we were complaining about the cold? An advice for the future: if it was a compliment for a marriage, it should be brought there when we check-in and not late at night when we are not in the room, and some person is walking around our things in our room. We found it very weird.

    A very beautiful location in the woods and the hotel itself creates a very special atmosphere. Very pretty inside, especially the stairs! The room is spacious and it has a huge amazing bed and an interesting unusual bathroom. The cherry on top will be amazing restaurant downstairs, the cuisine is outstanding! Even though the waitress couldn't answer a simple question about the wine flavor, we still loved it, it was unbelievably tasty! We arrived earlier and they allowed to check-in earlier too, it was for free. That was nice! A bus stop to the train station is just opposite the hotel, very handy! A very good and tasty breakfast!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    7.1
    Great hotel, tired room in need of a refresh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very tired looking, no safe, no refrigerator, grubby carpet, only 2 clothes hangers in the wardrobe, no toiletries in the bathroom.

    The hotel was in a great setting, all communal areas were very elegant and stylishly decorated. Lovely cosy bar and lounge area with open fire. The food was very good for both dinner and breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    8.3
    Nice staff, nice surroundings, good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    small room, sufficient but small, no safety deposit box, mini bar . Outdoor noice from business christmas gathering

    Nice staff, nice surroundings, good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    8.3
    The restaurant and the breakfast are really nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are nice, but not at the same level as the hall, bar and restaurant. Check in is always a bit slow. (It was my 3rd time in the hotel)

    The restaurant and the breakfast are really nice. Great food. The common areas very stilish and cosy at the same time: I like the fireplaces.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    A character property with free parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food service Beth slow

    A character property with free parking

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    goede ontvangst en verzorging!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rituals in bathroom and coffee and teamaker available

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    The receptionists were beautiful and very helpful x
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eveything

    The receptionists were beautiful and very helpful x

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Great to be back after almost 16 years .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great to be back after almost 16 years . Superb location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    Amazing food!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing food!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    7.9
    The breakfast was great!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was great!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    6.3
    Rooms didnt had any castle ambiance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms didnt had any castle ambiance.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    Cosy Atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tower Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cosy Atmosphere

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    8.8
    Good place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No swimming pool

    Lovely place

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.1
    Got a smaller room thanks I booked
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got a smaller room thanks I booked

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Professional and beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Professional and beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.8
    Nice property
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff and nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very courteous staff. Lovely castle and grounds.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    7.5
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Coffee, Breakfast

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    9.2
    Nice castle in a beautiful surrounding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outdated bathroom.

    Small very nice castle in a beautiful surrounding. Big rooms, building excellent maintained and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    10
    Quirky building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No walk in shower

    Quirky building. Great staff and restaurant

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.2
    Excellent service from all involved
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was well, rooms a little outdated

    Excellent service from all involved Location also great

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    8.3
    Staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    shower curtain.

    Staff. Breakfast. Supermarket nearby.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    8.8
    lovely atmosfer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lovely atmosfer

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    5.8
    Nice terras in front of the castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The little castle is beautiful and the estate as well but just next to it is a newly built 12 story appartment complex that kind of ruins the nice admosphere. Furthermore, the restaurant and a few rooms are located in the old castle. We got a room in the new part which was nothing special. It could have been a room in a highway hotel or average 2/3 star hotel whereas priced as a 4/5 star hotel room. So if you are coming to stay in a castle hotel i would suggest to look elswhere.

    Nice terras in front of the castle. Reataurant looked good.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    10
    Such a beautiful location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom in our room although clean and completely functional, needs a little attention. The shower curtain run had been repaired cheaply which didnt match the "tone" of the rest of the hotel.

    Such a beautiful location! The lounge/bar area is wonderfully cosy with open fireplaces. The breakfast is possibly the best hotel breakfast I have ever had.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    9.6
    Great atmosphere, lovely old romantic castle lounge with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great atmosphere, lovely old romantic castle lounge with cosy seats near the fireplace. Service was wonderful, we were with six friends who can be critical but we felt this was from the first moment a great treat. After dinner we had drinks in the bar and had a great time. The food and breakfast was very good and rooms cozy and comfortable beds. We read outdated but not at all, just a great castle feeling! We enjoyed it so much and will come back!

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    5.8
    excellent restaurant food, friendly and helpful staff.
    • Couple

    while the restaurant food is very good, we felt it was over priced for such small portions. room also felt overpriced as the room view was uninspiring, drapes could not be opened that would have let us see the stained glass window, which definitely needed cleaning, but is a part of the charm of the building. some marks were on the walls, which reminded us of a motel room decor, and the carpet could have used a good cleaning

    excellent restaurant food, friendly and helpful staff. a nostalgic and welcoming sitting room, bar and restaurant decor.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    5.8
    Location, loung with fireplace was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I thought that breakfast was included and that we had booked an upgraded room. Room was alsonoisy. Could use some upgrading

    Location, loung with fireplace was great

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    7.9
    Very friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Restaurant is not suitable for families - however they were willing to cook something for us. High dining is not for kids !

    Very friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    6.3
    Had a nice warm welcome was offered to carry my bags to my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bad wifi signal in my room was over charged for drinks I didn't recive asked for morning call for breakfast I didn't get woke up had to check out at 11am I woke up 30 mind before had to rush shower and pack or be charged for another night

    Had a nice warm welcome was offered to carry my bags to my room

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    7.9
    Very nice bar and sitting room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The light next to the entrance didn't work. I have to go half way the room to figure out the next lightknob.

    Very nice bar and sitting room. Easy to relax and drink a nice beer.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    9.6
    All the public spaces were lovely - the ground floor lounge,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were in the old part of the Kasteel on the top floor so needed to walk up two flights - this was only a minor issue and part of the charm. Although we booked a Superior King, the room itself was not that spacious. Due to its layout, the lack of A/C could have been an issue. Fortunately, it rained when we arrived, so the humidity and temperature dropped and we were fine. The pillows were luxurious but far too large - so I did not sleep well. In the morning I was told that smaller ones have been ordered. I hope these are provided soon.

    All the public spaces were lovely - the ground floor lounge, restaurant, bar area and large outside terraces. The bedroom was nicely furnished and the bathroom was plenty large with a large bathtub/shower. For only a little extra we booked a Superior king and the discounted price was very good value for money! The staff were all super helpful. The location was excellent from the motorway and I loved the run through local wooded parkland in the morning.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    9.6
    - location, building, breakfast, surroundings, politeness of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A very noisy night, which the owner solved very wel: he offered us a free extra night!

    - location, building, breakfast, surroundings, politeness of the staff - the way the owner of the castle solved the fact the we spent a very noisy night: he offered us a free extra night! What a great solution!

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    8.8
    Very attractive building, nice rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Menu OK but would have preferred a range of main courses rather than just a tasting menu and a chef choice.

    Very attractive building, nice rooms. Dining terrace lovely on a summer evening. The food we had was very good but did not want just a tasting menu.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    6.3
    Nice quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room on third floor - no lift. Not suitable for older guests. Only one (very nice) girl dealing with bar guests and reception. She offered to carry suitcases up, but was very busy so we did it ourselves. Hard work!

    Nice quiet location. Good restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    6.3
    The style of the hotel ,, very cosy and you will love the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The billows were not comforting and if you have bags there is no elevator to carry them upstairs

    The style of the hotel ,, very cosy and you will love the small touches of flower and lights

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    8.8
    The bar, restaurant and service was lovely.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bar, restaurant and service was lovely. The rooms were very spacious and a very comfy bed bud rooms a little basic. No air con but only an issue as I stayed on the hottest day of the year!!

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    6.7
    The terrace and the view of the hotel from outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Toiletries, or better said lack of them, no seif, no fridge, no air conditioner, no bathrobe, no slippers, small and old (not in a good way) room, overpriced for what it has to offer.

    The terrace and the view of the hotel from outside.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    9.2
    Beautiful building, it was great having the chance to walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On the whole the service was exceptional throughout and the waiter who served us most of the time was outstanding, although I did not feel that the service we received in the restaurant was the same as the older guests received. It felt like we were of secondary importance. The waiter who did serve us a number of times when our main waiter was not around was shocking and left us feeling cross. We ordered wine which didn't arrive and had to reorder with another waiter. Moments later we watched the same waiter offer bread rolls to the table next to us, and when it is declined by the customers, he offered it to us. Not a good sign for a restaurant at the higher end of the market. Take it into the kitchen and pretend that you are bringing it to us at least! Also if you take an order for coffee at the end of a meal please don't leave the customer waiting for it and sit down and join another customer. When I went to cancel the order like the wine we ordered initially, it hadn't been put through the system. Please remind your waiting staff that younger guests need not be treated any differently than the older guests.

    Beautiful building, it was great having the chance to walk around and stare up at the grandeur of the building. Sitting by the large fire reading a book with a glass of wine was a great start to the evening! The service was on the whole superb, check in and out was hassle free. The room was very cosy and had all the gadgets you could ever need or want. The food was top quality - I recommend trying the 'Chef's surprise' when ordering meals. Real foodies will love the food this place! The waiter we had explained the meals and provided all the information imaginable. Elegant and delicious food with a twist! Brilliant!

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    4.6
    The garden and other common spaces and rather cheaper and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The room is not clean with dust on the floor and rather small. No phone and no air conditioner in the room although I booked a suite room. In the summer,it would be extremely hot to stay in the hotel room.

    The garden and other common spaces and rather cheaper and less full to stay than Utrecht

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    9.6
    Very helpful staff, taking care of a pleasant stay and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bring your own soap. Just like with every hotel, the stuff in the provided dispensers doesn't clean and takes 15 minutes to rinse.

    Very helpful staff, taking care of a pleasant stay and helping out with additional wishes.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    9.6
    I have stayed here for many years but a few years ago it...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast takes a bit longer because it is freshly prepaired, which I only realised when my time was up but my eggs had not arrived. So, if you are in a hurry tell the kind lady serving, she will help you out.

    I have stayed here for many years but a few years ago it because a bit old. With the new lay-out, nice open bar, 2 restaurants, sitting corners, they are all back. Try their new approach in the fancier restaurant with the special dishes, very nice and tasteful and not too much. Accompanying wine selection was very good.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    4.6
    Breakfast was outstanding, although at €14,50/person, a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Housekeeping was poor: the room was full of dust, I've counted four spiders, and the heating was lukewarm, although we've complained twice that it was too cold in our room. For €250/2 nights, certainly not its money worth.

    Breakfast was outstanding, although at €14,50/person, a bit pricy.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    8.3
    Suggestive location and very kind staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I went for a deal so probably didn't enjoy the best room of the Hotel. Though enjoyed the common spaces.

    Suggestive location and very kind staff. Breakfast absolutely work the extra surcharge. Also loved to have dinner here.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    9.2
    Such a charming old building that has been renovated very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Some things weren't really finished (such as the numbers of the doors) and you could notice that the staff was a new team, but they'd only been open for one week.

    Such a charming old building that has been renovated very carefully, the charm is still there with open fire and lovely armchairs that made you NOT wanting to go to sleep. Good location and the gourmet restaurant is truly worth a visit!

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    3.8
    We liked all interior inside the hotel, so beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The room was probably the most expensive in the hotel, but was waste of our money, as was not clean for the money, which we have paid and our expectation was to see a really good standard for these money. Also in the website was written that there is a coffee machine in every room, but actually there was only in the most expensive room, but not in the cheapest ones. Even that we had a coffee machine in our room we did not have a capsules and we were not able to make any coffee.

    We liked all interior inside the hotel, so beautiful

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    9.2
    A calm place for very good resting and relaxing with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A calm place for very good resting and relaxing with a beautiful interior!

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    8.8
    very friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    very good breakfast but expensive

    very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    9.2
    Staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    8.8
    I loved rooms and all staff
    • Business trip
    • Group

    I loved rooms and all staff .I feel like as my home

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    7.5
    n/a
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    n/a

    n/a

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    9.2
    Beautiful grounds and interesting building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful grounds and interesting building. Good food.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    9.6
    Excellent staff, very good food and service.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Nothing.

    Excellent staff, very good food and service. Free Wifi, I will not stay anywhere that doesn't offer it.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    8.8
    Super ambiance!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Super ambiance!

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    9.6
    The staff made our stay an excellent one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff made our stay an excellent one. Helpful and friendly, ready with a smile and made us feel at home straight away.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    5.8
    Breakfast, quite place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bathroom is old with broken tiles, stained tub, furniture in room is old as well.

    Breakfast, quite place

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    9.6
    Location is absolutely amazing in an old castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is absolutely amazing in an old castle. Restaurant is very nice!

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Kasteel Kerckebosch traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: