Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kien Bed & Breakfast Studio's

Tweede Weteringdwarsstraat 65, Amsterdam City Centre, 1017 SV Amsterdam, Netherlands

#35 of 250 B&Bs and Inns in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 192 B&B reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Wonderful host. Wonderful apartment. Clean. Great location. Easy walk to great restaurants, bars, etc. The beds and linens were SO comfortable. I will absolutely stay here again and will recommend it to anyone going to Amsterdam.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not negatives as much as a wish list: More cupboard space (storage was a bit tight for 2 with winter clothes) A bench in the garden would have been nice

    Great location in a quite neighborhood Very, very helpful staff We had the ground floor studio with access to the garden In general a comfortable place to come back to after a long day at the sites

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Martin and Joyce were so helpful and providing everything we needed . The flat is in a quiet location and close to the Rijksmuseum and the concert hall etc, so if art is your interest, this location is ideal.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Martin was a perfect host, giving us lots of advice on where to go and taking the time out to sit with us. The room was always warm and clean. Close to everything, we walked everywhere!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Took covers off the bed and found a strand of hair and a piece of small twig under the covers. Mentioned it to Martin of Kien B&B.

    The accommodations were good and studio very roomy. Location was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Narrow steep steps so not great for older people

    Great location, high quality contemporary property, kitchenette, its own entrance, near shops, restaurants and cafes. Near museums and many sights. All walking distance. Friendly helpful owner.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing

    This is a fantastic apartment and owner Martin is very helpful. Location was close to most attractions in Amsterdam, beds & cleanliness were okay, good WIFI. quite area I would certainly recommend to anyone visiting Amsterdam.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location - so convenient for the museumplein and 2 minutes from an excellent tram route. Martin was incredibly hospitable and helpful and really made us feel relaxed and welcome.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to lots of bars and café's but just far enough from it all to get a good nights sleep. Very friendly and helpful owner would definetly stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a very beautiful room, very clean and actually, they were cleaning it every single day. A very well equipped kitchen. There was a very quiet and lovely garden in the back of your room and smokers are gonna love it. The room was in a very quiet and safe neighborhood, very close to everything by foot. Martin was an enthusiastic host ready to help us with everything! Next time this room will be my first choice!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Martin, our host, was very helpful giving us ideas to where to go. This place was very easy to find!Good room, walking distance to attractions, you can use the bus and train to go places. Thanks Martin for your hospitality!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Martin was fantastic, he explained us everything, where to go and eat, the most important attractions of Amsterdam, and a lot more. He gave us a wonderful service!!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely welcoming and warm apartment within very easy walking distance to all the main attractions, cafes, restaurants etc. The apartment is situated in a pretty side street with wonderful quaint shops in the neighbouring streets. Martin, the owner, obviously likes people and had lots of interesting things to tell us which made us feel very welcome. We plan to return later in the year.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Joyce and Martin are spectacular. They were extremely helpful in helping us learn the lay of the land, where to eat and what to do. The hospitality was above and beyond. We would recommend this place to anyone visiting Amsterdam.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wifi worked really badly ... all of those they offer (there are 4 or 5 networks you can connect to, but all have very bad connectivity and often just don't work

    location is awesome and the host is kind and welcoming

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy from next door but it's acceptable level.

    Beautiful rooms, convenient location and great host! I like the kitchen with gas heaters for self-catering :)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom tiny especially basin, no microwave , noisy neighbor in the middle of the night on the patio when it was very hot and we had the windows open. Closing the double bed Windows helped a bit. Thank goodness that wasn't repeated on second night.

    Host was very helpful with extra restaurant suggestions. He supplied a pitcher and washcloth when I requested it. The room was available early in the morning when we arrived though he didn't promise it beforehand. M

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    N/A everything was top notch

    high ceilings, excellent new furnishing and stylish decor in the room and the bathroom (bathroom is large and luxurious), large windows, lots of sunlight if window covers are open, strong WiFi, fresh flowers every day (!!!!), fresh fruits, cookies for coffee, a special touch for every single detail, very friendly and accommodating hostess. The location is also +++

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was perfect.

    Great location, quiet and peaceful. Well equipped and very comfortable with everything provided. Martin the owner was extremely helpful and very friendly. Gave us lots of advice on places to visit and where to eat. Plenty of restaurants close by and a small supermarket 5 mins walk away.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative! we will certainly be back !

    breakfast wasnt included and we didnt expect it to be either. There is plenty of local places to grab something or you can make your own in the kitchen area.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - We had a wonderful stay.

    Host was extremely friendly and veRyu helpful. The room was very comfortable and is in a fantastic location (only a few minutes walk to museums and many restaurants).

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Martin, the B&B keeper, met us & wad very helpful to point out sights & have a map ready to mark. There was a kitchenette & they provided delicious breads, meat & cheese. We were able to make sandwiches to go for the day

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location, very clean!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Martin was so friendly and helpful, despite the weather was cold, we had a wonderful time in Amsterdam. We will definitely come back :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower

    Ideal location, owner very friendly and happy to help, even lent us chargers for our phones because we forgot them

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment was really comfortable and plentiful food and beverages were provided. My gluten free needs were exztemely well catered for.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is not very clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is clean and convenient. Owner is so kind. Breakfast is strongly recommended.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great spott to stay has everything you need !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed to have 1 double bed.. not 2 singles

    The whole place was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price

    All things

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, quiet residential street, but close to museum quarter and Leidensplein. The owner was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    perfect location for exploring the city Very clean Very nice and helpful landlord Great service

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    close to downtown

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All fab.

    Fab welcome from Martin, lots of local recommendations, located in a lovely area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Congratulations martin!!!! Everything was extraordinary.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was excellent. Good location, excellent facilities and fantastic host. Very impressive

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it was all good

    Clean, comfortable, friendly service

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything :-)

    Nice location, very friendly host, everything in perfect order.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found spider's web in kitchen.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Very clean and comfy!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much to dislike

    Warm welcome and a very friendly atmosphere

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Host was so friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Step stairs

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Ideal location, very studio, feel like home, very clean, nicely decorated

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    lovely apartments, great location. Martin was very helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cartoons did not block the morning lights, and the bed was not very comfortable.

    Excellent location, big room, clean, lovely

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quality rather than quantity of breakfast provisions. Maybe have a standard list of food items to choose from in advance, so as not to waste any food.

    A perfect space for us.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A lovely welcome from Martin, he is so helpful and a lovely guy. Great position to stay, so quiet, very clean and comfortable. Everything we needed. Would recommend this place if you visit Amsterdam!

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Thank you Martin for looking after me and my sisters. We've had fantastic time. We've booked for 2 nights with a garden view room and the room was cosy and clean. The property is in the residential area which created a very peaceful and relaxing atmosphere but easy access to everywhere in the city. We've arrived early and late departure and Martin was so kind to let us in early and stay until the evening flight and we understand that it might not always possible if the room wasn't available but we're really do appreciate what he did. Thank you Martin!

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only problem was the internet was kind of a mess... none of the 5 networks provided worked reliably and all seemed far range away. This was a real problem since i had to work from the apartment - I had to leave and work from cafes. But it could have just been a bad day for internet so not sure if host's at fault or not

    Great place, great location, great host. Really cool designer-friendly touches! I would stay here again

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There really was nothing I would have improved.

    Location just brilliant on a quiet residential street but very close to Rijksmuseum. Owner very helpful and provided detailed info before our visit.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we didn't have the correct amount to pay so had to give 900euros and were promised the difference of 24euros would be left on the table the next day. It wasn't, so we asked for it but we still didn't get it so we're out of pocket by 24euros. This was the only thing that spoilt our stay because we like fairness.

    Very clean and comfortable. Breakfast excellent

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower Room is small If you are 6'. Water pressure in shower could be better.

    Location, location, location. Spacious Bedroom, Dining and sitting room. Nice Decor. Good transport links. Close to main museums. Out of touristy areas. Good small restaurants nearby. Very quiet. Martin ( the owner) was very attentive,

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Toiletries pack for arrivals with hand luggage only? I'm sure Martin would if requested but would be a great start on arrival.

    Lovely apartment, really spacious and cleaned daily. Really lovely homely feel and tea/coffee provided. Out of city but tram system awesome and about a 30min/2hr walk depending on how many bars you visit on the way!

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Amazing place! Martin was very friendly and helpful. Very beautiful apartments in the city center. We'll back to this place definitely <3

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Storage for clothes were a little basic but this would not stop us using this as a base again.

    Superb location both for the major museums and the canal network. Excellent host who refreshed the breakfast requirements in an unfussy way. Martin also had a caring attitude. On a tram route - but generally chose to walk.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Martin was really friendly and helpful at every opportunity, even before we arrived. The place itself is really spacious and modern, and in a great location right by the Rijksmuseum.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is right in the heart of Amsterdam. The hosts were fantastic and made us immediately feel at home. The bed was comfortable and the room modern and clean. Yes I would stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The bethroom is super tiny, (about 1meterx2meter), water was slow. No oven, microwave, washing machine, Iron.

    Although it is an apartment, they came and cleaned the house daily, this is really convenient. Breakfast offered good quality ham, cheese, milk, eggs, different breads and drinks, need to cook them by ourselves, but this is not a problem. Specious room with dinning area. Service was excellent, they gave all helps that we need. There are quiet a few supermarkets and restaurants nearby.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was all great- just mind the narrow stairs if you have vertigo! (also, very typical of Amsterdam apartments)

    The design, the hosts were wonderful - Martin is just lovely!! And it felt incredibly authentic. Wonderful shower, and great facilities.

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Great location. Really friendly welcome from Martin who organised a taxi to the airport and gave us loads of information and advice. Apartment very clean and inviting while also lots of nice little extras, Very thoughtful

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Maybe the bathroom which could be renovated a little but still fine

    Martin the host is kind and helpful The space and the decor on the studio The proximity to the center, museums and nine street quarter

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A couple of things, the location was excellent as we could walk everywhere. Second, Martin give us such good directions to get there and gave us so much help with our baggage and where to find places.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Didn't stay long enough...

    Wonderful modern comfy apartment in a great location. Martin himself goes all out to ensure everything is good, and that you get the most out of your stay in the apartment and Amsterdam itself. Would highly recommend.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Martin helpful with advice on where to go in Amsterdam. We could walk everywhere. Safe and beautiful. Quiet area. Nice interior. Will stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    our trip was too short!

    central but very peaceful at night very friendly and helpful owners easy to hop trams or walk loads of information/tips and maps from owners

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very handy location, to city centre, public transport, food shops, cafes, tourist attractions. In the city and a retreat from noise and bustle. Martin is lovely.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Good location, clean, comfortable, quiet with a lovely calm atmosphere, the owner was extremely helpful and left us chocolates every day.Everything we needed in the kitchen, spacious dining room with plenty of room if anyone needed to work.Supermarket and organic market just round the corner with lots of places to eat and a convenient tramstop, although it is very easy to walk to the museums etc.We very much enjoyed our stay and it was well worth the money especially as good accommodation is so expensive in Amsterdam. We would certainly stay again.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It is a beautiful apartment in a very pleasant and convenient location. Joyce and Martin both very pleasant and helpful in any way they could be. Would highly recommend.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    nothing

    Nice B&B, excellent location, quiet, good breakfast at your disposal in the kitchen (i.e. you have it whenever you want with no need to call anyone), welcoming staff

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very clean and superb location, close to everything we wanted to do in Amsterdam. We walked everywhere - Anne Frank, Van Gogh, markets, Rembrandt square, shopping, restaurants, train station. Martin, the owner, was there when we arrived so we had no wait for getting settled. He was extremely nice and helpful. Gave us a map and a brief overview of the city and things to do. Place was very clean and cozy. Comfortable sleep - was even surprised that we weren't waken by street noise. We did not use the kitchen facilities at all besides making a cup of tea but there seemed to be plenty of cups & dishes if you chose to eat in. Would definitely recommend and stay here again!

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi was a tad sluggish connection wise here and there, but still very useable. Walls are a bit thin so you'll hear people passing by/talking outside occasionally, or the neighbours entering/exiting their property. No issues during the night though and this shouldn't put you off at all.

    Great location (especially if you're over to see a concert at the Paradiso like we were!) Comfortable beds. Handy kitchen facilities. Spacious, clean apartment. Very friendly and helpful owners. Extended check out was offered on the last day due to there being no bookings, really appreciated the lie in!

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great location, very good space, Martin was sooooo nice

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, very friendly host generous with local information and history. Close to restaurants and museums.

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Kien Bed & Breakfast Studio's traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: