Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Koopermoolen 2 stars

Warmoesstraat 5, Amsterdam City Centre, 1012 HT Amsterdam, Netherlands

#360 of 449 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2102 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.7

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    7.1
    contented customer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room lighting was inadequate. room could have done with bathroom hooks for towels.

    excellent location for all Amsterdam visits - happy with welcome and facilities overall.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    7.9
    it was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it looks like the ceiling was falling. The carpet didn't look as clean as it was

    The location of the hotel is perfect because everything is very close. The breakfast menu was really good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    5.4
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no tea-making facilities provided so you cant have a hot drink in the room. No hangers on the wall for wet towels but saying that they changed the towels everyday. I noticed damp on the ceiling but at least the room didn't smell. Bring your own hair dryer. Breakfast was basic. I wished more hot choices rather than toast was available.

    The location was great and the staff were really friendly and helpful. Room was cleaned everyday and towels changed too.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    It is good place without noise between The central station and central entertainments.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In my opinion, it is reasonable to add hooks on walls for hanging clothes.

    Great location. Amazing view from the little window. Rather large bed. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    5.8
    Stay away
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mice. Or rats. They didn't let me sleep most of the nights. It was dining too loud on furniture or wall in the corner. Then another one came in under the door and looked at me. I complained to reception next morning, they didn't look surprised and they did nothing , not even apology. I had to stuff the towel under the door at night to prevent more to come in. That was the worst hotel stay for me ever.

    Location. Close to everything.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    8.3
    Worth staying there for the location. It was the cheapest I could find in the area at short notice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was a little upset to find that they’d given us two single beds pushed together when I specified a double bed. It meant that my partner and I couldn’t really cuddle as we’d slip through the middle. Very tiny tiny shower.

    I enjoyed that the breakfast was included at a good time of 7-10 and very close to the centre. Fantastic location. It had a desk and chair in the room which was pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the walls need a clean and we weren’t allowed to leave our bags when we got there and had to traipse round with them for another hour.

    Location wise this place is perfect. If you want to be central to the Red light district then this hotel is the right one! Basic accommodation but clean and comfy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.0
    Staff were good and helpful, they also did warn us about...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Apartment (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Linen provided not clean for the bed I slept on ,duvet on my and another bed was torn. The duvet on my bed had a red stain. Shudder to think what caused that stain. No kettle provided, no cutlery crockery, nothing provided.

    Staff were good and helpful, they also did warn us about the steep staircase. So we have no dispute about that.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.7
    Was in penthouse room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guy on reception on arrival wasnt very helpful when I tried to ask about places to see etc. He gave all the hotel information and left it at that. Small lift and steep stairs. Thought was a bit pricey for what you get.

    Was in penthouse room. Was with jacuzzi bath which was good to relax. The fittings were bit dated but clean and tidy. Quite average breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.5
    Excellent no-frills B&B with a great central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Asked for a double bed, got two singles pushed together. The room was a bit dingy, didn't look anywhere near as nice as the photos online. Those are about the only negatives I can think of, though, and you get what you pay for.

    Free breakfast, friendly & helpful staff, and a great location. If you're looking for a reasonably priced, well-located no-frills bed and breakfast in Amsterdam, Koopermoolen is the one for you. Would definitely visit again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.3
    Our stay at Koopermoolen was a great experience, the staff were friendly and helpful, would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the window was just a wall but apart from that it was great

    The staff were friendly, the hotel breakfast was excellent and you couldn’t have asked for a better location There was a luggage room so when we checked out we could keep our bags until we were able to get the train back which helped so much Staff cleaned our rooms as we were out and refreshed towels/bedding which was a lovely surprise

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.1
    Room was uncomfortably hot and stuffy - windows don't open, no A/C or ventilation in rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was uncomfortably hot and stuffy in summer - windows can't be opened, no air conditioning or ventilation in the room.

    Fantastic central location. Friendly staff. Very clean room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.3
    Great price & location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located on a busy street so it was quite noisy during the night and very early in the morning. The elevator is only for one person and is a bit of a challenge to get large backpacks or luggage in. However, given the low price, these are pretty minor inconveniences. I would probably not choose this hotel for an extended stay, since the rooms are somewhat cramped. But the price and location make it a very good choice if you are passing through the city.

    We got stuck overnight in Amsterdam and needed something inexpensive and close to the Central Train Station. This place is ideal for what we needed. It is literally across the street from the train station, about a 5 minute walk. The rooms are small and not air-conditioned, however we could open the windows and they did provide a fan. The place is clean and the bed comfortable, with a great shower. They also had a surprisingly nice breakfast buffet. And it is right in the heart of the city so there is no lack of activities nearby. For us, we were just delighted to find a place so cheap and convenient at the last minute.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.1
    A bit noicy during the night time, but maybe it is not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noicy during the night time, but maybe it is not surprise since the location is middle of the very popular street. In addition we were there during the pride week and holiday season.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    6.7
    Brilliant short break..as always, wanted to stay longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very hot and stuffy and windows couldn't be opened. It made it difficult to sleep in. Also room was very dark and a bit gloomy. Bathroom would benefit from refurbishment. However it was still good value for money if you are looking for a budget hotel in great location.

    Brilliant location and very good value for money. Breakfast was excellent..best coffee from a machine I've ever tasted!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.1
    Clean and well located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was ok, but the furnitures could be arranged in another way. Unfortunatly we could not use the dressing table because it was in a really small corner.

    The location of the hotel is great. It's directly in the city and there are many restaurants, bars, ... Furthermore every day the bedroom was cleaned.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    5.8
    Bare bones no frills room in convenient safe location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Steep steps ascending from elevator to floor then descending again down to the room. Window did not open very far. Difficult to obtain a fan for the room despite reserving one weeks in advance. Early checkout time. Very limited space in room for moving around with luggage.

    Nonsmoking property, well enforced, good location, quiet environment, reasonable rate for the area, decent breakfast included in room rate with copious quantities of food and a good variety. Free map available as well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.3
    This is a budget hotel & I suppose you get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No ventilation in our room. Non opening window looked across to neighbouring room 4ft away. No A/C & had to keep fan on all night to keep cool. Towels replaced daily but beds not made. Breakfast room hot & stuffy with no ventilation.

    Location - 5 mins from station & very central. Reception staff very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.5
    Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The accommodation was very basic & next to a very very busy noisey main street. I do think a hair dryer & kettle could have been added to the room. We paid only slightly higher for accommodation up the street last time & the facilities were a lot better.

    Clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    6.3
    Just a basic place to stay in the middle of the action
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The street is busy 24hours per day so don't expect to sleep a lot. The room could be cleaner and the furniture and lightings need to be changed. Price was ok if you compare it with other hotels and that it was in high season. Just a basic place to stay in the middle of the action

    Centrally located near Red light district , central station and near Dam Square. The room was ok and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was ok too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    A good place to rest your head at a reasonable price
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic room not very clean and lacked plugs

    I liked that they're animal-friendly had 2 dogs with me and the location is very central with friendly helpful staff the breakfast was great with an excellent variety loved the fresh warm bread

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Worth every penny
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Instructions on how to work the hot tub in the room night help, took us a minute to figure it out. Apart from that everything was amazing

    Everything was great, breakfast was fresh, extra towels if you asked which was good as there isn't a curtain or wall around the shower. Perfect room for a romantic holiday, surrounded by everything you need. Less than ten extra stairs to stay in the most romantic wee room in Amsterdam. We loved every minute of it!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    3.3
    Don’t even think about it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the worst hotels i have ever been too. . No air-conditioner . Room was small, you can’t even walk . Outside is so loud you can’t sleep at night . Guests have to pay €35 if they want to come and visit . Sheets are dirty They had a poor breakfast meal as well. The reception workers are very unfriendly. They wont even try to help you when you’re in need of anything. They wouldn’t even let me call overseas when my phone wasnt working. I got looked upon as if i was a hassle.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    3.8
    I will never stay here again!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is very unfriendly, for some reason I didn’t feel safe there. While in my room, I have to keep the door open, it was like an oven in there. Place is dirty, room was dirty, no air conditioning, very small, felt like inside a closet. Carpet inside room very old, stained and the bedding look old and dirty. For the price, this place made me feel robbed!!

    They have a lift (elevator)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    5.4
    Bad hotel in great area
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very unpleasant, cheap breakfast not worth getting up for, torn up sheet covers that when we asked to replace them the staff said " everybody all the time complain, this is a 2star hotel what did you expect..." . The staff also checked our group Everytime we got to the hotel for no reason, we felt unwanted to say the least. no windows in a lot of the rooms. No AC, no working TV and door cards that have to be replaced daily because they don't work

    Clean sheets, can smoke in rooms, the location is pretty much the reason you'd want to stay here

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.7
    The location is convenient for the railway station and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lack of air conditioning in the very hot weather experienced this summer. This meant the small window had to be left open and in a busy and noisy location this impacted on the ability to get to sleep.

    The location is convenient for the railway station and the city centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.8
    Location of the hotel couldn’t be any better.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of the hotel couldn’t be any better. This hotel has everything you need. It isn’t posh and fancy, and it is basic. But the price you pay for the location of this hotel... it’s what you expect. Or what you should expect. The staff are really helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    4.6
    Close to train station and main attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One person from the staff was really nice and even helped us with our luggage. The rest of the receptionist looked very uninterested and didn’t even say a simple hello or goodbye. One guy that was there to do maintenance was actually right out rude. Not satisfied with telling me off for being in his way he went ahead and complained about me to the receptionist who just nodded but didn’t do anything. The rooms were filthy, I found balls of hair on the carpet, and they smelt awful. We had to stay there because we decided to go to Amsterdam in short notice but DO NOT stay if you have a choice of staying anywhere else!

    Close to train station and main attractions. Dog friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    The location, simplicity of service, and the overall value...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the facilities do not have air conditioning, I think it would be a wise investment to provide rooms with fans - at least during known hot summer months.

    The location, simplicity of service, and the overall value of the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful time !!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms needed a bit of an update.

    Rooms a little dated but overall hotel was great. Perfect location, central to everything and breakfast room was clean and plenty of choice for continental style breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.8
    £400 for 3 nights location great but cleanliness would have expected better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was rather dirty and we spotted a mouse in our room too.

    Location was excellent if you want to be in the heart of the city and close to everything only downside to that is the noise but it is to be expected if you want to be in the centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.0
    Good location, that’s about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was surprised at how little the room had been cleaned. Dust on several areas that was thick enough to notice. The sheets could stand slightly better laundering. The one window in the little room I stayed in on the 4th floor was filthy. I was grossed out by that, honestly speaking. No coffee maker or even a kettle in the room. It was a place to drop your stuff and lay down your head at night when you weren’t out doing something.

    It was reasonably cheap considering it was the Cannabis Cup weekend. The woman tending the reception desk during the day was very competent and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    2.5
    Abysmal. Spoilt our stay completely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor staff. No manners. No respect. When i told them about the mice in our room they smiled. They must have been aware already. The mice were openly vidssable. We tefused to eat there.

    Nothing to like.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.7
    Needs improvements
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They urgently need new mattresses! Our room had an old ventilation system, which was great to keep the air flowing, but couldn't be turned off. Which meant constant noise throughout the night, in addition to the water noises coming from other rooms.

    Great WiFi. Decent breakfast. The location couldn't be better. Staff was super friendly and helped us with everything we needed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.8
    Hotel's street was too noisy. It's not suitable for family, couples and children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillow were not comfortable at all! On the street was too crowded and noisy all night long, so we could not sleep. If you are going to sleep during night , don't book this one.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Enjoyable and great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms could have been more up to date, but where clean which is more important.

    Staff were lovely and very helpful with maps etc. Even after we checked out they let us leave our luggage in the luggage room, so we didn't have to drag it around for the rest of the day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.7
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room overlooked a very busy street and we were kept awake by street noise until the early hours. The window was chocked open with a piece of wood..this being our only means of ventilation. Everything was a bit run down but it is in the old part of Amsterdam.

    Location was great. Walking distance to Central Train station and many points of interest. Breakfast was plentiful and more than adequate. Staff were friendly and helpful. Does have a lift which was helpful as we were on the 4th floor.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.0
    The location and the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We saw a mouse running in the restaurant and when I told them about it. They said mice are everywhere in Amsterdam. They took it very lightly. The bed covers were torn and the towels were stained.

    The location and the staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.8
    A bit expensive for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The man working on reception was impersonal and stern. He wasn’t welcoming. He didn’t answer the door when I arrived back to the hotel late, so I was briefly locked out. Choice for breakfast wasn’t great, in hindsight I shouldn’t have booked it as there are lots of good cafes nearby.

    Reasonably comfortable room. The location was very central in a bustling area of the city centre, with plenty of choice for food and leisure nearby.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    The location was great, near central station, and the red...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great, near central station, and the red light district, within walking distance to everything, the staff were really friendly and had a 24 hour reception so no curfew, which was great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.7
    Location location location, very basic room, outdated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very outdated. The bathroom was very small. The bed was two smaller beds pushed together.

    The location is excellent. A 3 minute walk from the train station. Had the basic necessities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Quaint hotel very near the Central Station value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant location with very helpful staff. Hotel very quaint and quite basic but clean and spotless bathroom. Breakfast was plentiful and good. For the price this is a great little hotel which I'd happily use again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    6.3
    Walking distance from central station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room on fourth floor with "spa" has strange approach with uncomfortable stairs and steps. Noisy till late in night. And some panes in the window with clear glass and no curtains.

    Walking distance from central station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.0
    Cubby hole in a good location. Breakfast was sumptuous though
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms seem to be very small, but then it is central and touristy area of Amsterdam, but if you hate small rooms you should avoid this hotel like plague. Guests arriving at various times in the morning were all asked to come back at 2pm. But at 2 pm the small reception area became quite crowded. The hotel should start check in people a little early to avoid this congestion. The rooms should get cleaned in 2 hours. Even though I checked in at 2pm, I saw a wet towel left in the showerroom. The cleaner lady came and collected it in my absence. It seemed a bit strange - she knew that a wet towel was left, so was it from a previous tourist or did she use the bathroom herself before I checked in?

    Convenient location and great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.8
    A cheap hotel which is OK for a short stay if you want to be close to the tourist sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The twin room had no opening window and was very stuffy. The bed in the double room was against the wall on one side so one could only get out of the bed on one side and had to climb over the other person. There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms. The shower cubicles were very small and the sliding doors were in danger of coming off. Hotel very noisy at night.

    The hotel is located in an ideal position for the train station and is in walking distance for all the sights. The price for the accommodation was good and included breakfast which was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.3
    great location, fantastic breakfast and very comfortable for...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were a little unfriendly, but the lady running the breakfast buffet was great.

    great location, fantastic breakfast and very comfortable for me and my dog.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.0
    Location brill, staff cheerful & helpful, food good, although basic it does the job for a great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was rather high and proved uncomfortable getting on and off. We had the suite with spa bath., although basic it was clean. The lift in the hotel is incredibly small and comfortably only holds 2 adults. We had bunk bed type ladders we had climb getting into our room, these were tricky when had a few alcoholic drinks. None of this was enough to put us off staying again!

    Friendly staff at the hotel. The hotel staff let us keep our luggage With them after check out time and late flight. Breakfast was continental & help yourself. Food was good and served from 7am - 10am so plenty of time. Location is superb to all areas. Very busy area and noisy but no problem if you like being in the hustle & bustle.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    2.5
    Bedbugs!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedbugs! I am completely stung...

    I'm sorry, but in my room there were bedbugs. I am completely stung and that for the price of 90 euro and a single room??? I am completely stung.... And I still have no answer to my complaint! Anyway the location was really perfect and the architecture of the building very interesting.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    5.8
    Good location but disappointed in the room with the cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few of the windows were not covered so you could see right in our room where the bath and bed was which made me feel uncomfortable. Also, paid extra for the suite with the jucuzzi bath and the jets didn't even work.

    The bed was super comfy and the location was perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    4.6
    If I hadn't spent most of this trip in coffeeshops, I wouldn't have been able to sleep in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was absolutely no ventilation and no way to open the window that looked directly into someone else's room, so the heat and the result of morning bodily functions was trapped. The only way to access the higher floors is a one person lift or a very tight staircase.

    The management offered a free service to look after your room card for the day in case of loss.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location but basic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No open window. Poor facilities. Room was looking a bit tired. Fitted carpet was stained and dusty. No air conditioning and no open window. No place to hang towels in the bathroom. Dim lights. Blanket had holes in it. Had to give room card key to the receptionist when we headed out. Basic hotel and need freshening up for that price.

    Stayed for four nights, location is excellent. They have a lift. Our room was quiet and had one window which wasn't openable. We could hear people moving in hallways but no noise from streets. Breakfast was repetitive but tasteful. Towels changed everyday. Staff was pleasant and polite. Free WiFi

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    2.5
    Rubbish hotel in my life
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like anything in this hotel. The most useless hotel ever in my life. 145 € for such hotel ? Not even worth €50. In fact I have few photos of this hotel . If booking .com wanted to see I will be happy to share. More over the manager was argumentative and did not solve my problems. The room was stinking, duvets were torn , carpet were dirty , TV was so small and rubbish. Breakfast was rubbish and do not even maintain sufficient hygiene Very very inconvenient. If you don't refund for this, I am not going to bother with booking.com for my next hotel.

    Nothing . Rather I would recommend booking.com to not advertise this hotel in their website.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    The hotel was basic and adequate but I wouldn't stay again if there were other options
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were quite shabby and the bathroom dated. The process of having to leave the room key at reception was a bit annoying as it needed to be reacivated each time. The room price was on the face of it quite ridiculous for the standard of hotel (over 120 Euros per night) but I suppose being central Amsterdam they can get away with it. Charging 5 euros per night for a safety deposit box added to the poor value

    As expected from the description and reviews this was a fairly basic but acceptable hotel with the main bonus being its location close to Centraal station. It was clean and the staff were friendly. Breakfast was included and was ok.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.4
    Very good location very bad hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No windows in the room at all so no ventilation the carpet was old the smell was unpleasant all the time a lot of dust everywhere not even window or ventilation at the toilet it seemed to be more like a bunker than a hotel room

    The location extremely central

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    great position, quiet room to be in the center of the city,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    dim lights in the room, impossible to open the windows, we have requested a matrimonial room but they gave us a double. The place is adapt for a vacation with friends or family, I won't suggest it for a romantic one.

    great position, quiet room to be in the center of the city, plenty of food at breakfast, a lot of clean towels every morning

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.8
    The state of the hotel and size of room was disappointing. We would not choose the hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was disappointingly scruffy (unusual for The Netherlands) and could do with serious redecoration. The shower cubicle was not very clean and the shower doors were close to falling off. The room was a squeeze for two people (bed jammed against wall so one person had to climb over the other to get in or out). Storage for cases etc was very limited. Room was hot - had to leave windows open (including the one to the toilet!) to get some air flow, and the street was VERY, VERY noisy until the early hours.

    The hotel was near the station so was very well placed for the transport network. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and gave a wide choice of fresh ingredients. The shower worked well with plenty of hot water. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Room service was good (fresh towels and bedsheets every day). Lots of useful tourist information. Good left luggage room after checkout. Desk manned 24 hours with a very good security system. Extremely good English spoken.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    A good choice for a brief stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep stair case, low ceilings in spots (bumped head). Another pillow would have been great.

    Breakfast was wonderful. Staff accommodated (stored) luggage before check in as well as after check out. Having a lift was great. Room was very clean. The bathroom was great. Lovely hot water!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.7
    The property is a great location and very central Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is located at the end of a busy street which by day is brilliant however, by night after the bars and shops have closed lone travellers or women should be a little wary. My partner and I (both female) decided to pop down to the red light district at around 2:30am and was approached by numerous strange people (not drug leaders we can handle that) which made us both uncomfortable which was surprising as we travel alot. Females and lone travellers just be wary in the early hours once the bars and shops have closed.

    The property is a great location and very central Amsterdam. The staff were all quite pleasant and helpful, the room was very basic but you do get what you paid for. Breakfast was a really nice treat and plenty of it. The concierge desk is manned 24hrs which is great. All in all a comfortable stay at affordable prices.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No A/C, fridge in room.

    Location. Included breakfast. Staff is so kind. You are one block from red light district and coffee shops, and all of Amsterdam’s point of interest are at a walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.3
    The location was good but that was pretty much about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillow that I was given was not a proper one but two cusions stuffed together in a pillowcase! It was a warm night and there was no airconditioning so had the windows opened and the room next door was blasting very loud music until the early hours.

    The location was good and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    Very Satisfied
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel interior is a bit dated. Rooms generally need to be freshen up, considering the price.

    Location couldn't be better. Bed was pretty comfortable. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.8
    Don’t bother
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wake up in the middle of the night as there was mouse in the room ! Scared the life out of me. Told the person at the reception and they thanked me for feedback!!!!

    Location is very central. Close to central station so handy when you travel away early

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    I did like the stuff, They make you feel like you are at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    That room did`nt have any windows...

    I did like the stuff, They make you feel like you are at home :) I did like the location, cause everything was near

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    6.3
    Location is really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not good. Wifi is not good. I couldnt use even my sovial accounts. Room is really small.

    Location is really good. You can go everywhere by walking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small, dark and airless. It had weird fake window with view to the next room. No daylight in the room and you couldn't open the window for fresh air. TV didn't work and also other things would have needed renovation and facelift. Way overpriced.

    The best thing about the hotel is the location! Very close to the train station and the city attractions. The breakfast was good as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.0
    OK Room in a good location but noisy area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit noisy outside and bed was saggy. Expensive, but cheaper than most other places I looked at. No air conditioner, and room was hot when I got there, so had to keep window open so lots of noise came from outside because it's a busy area.

    Great Location near train station and restaurants, etc. Seemed very clean. Staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    2.5
    Nothing!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - That's a very big mistake, I didn't get the room as I booked. I booked the 2 single beds room but I got a double bed room. I spended more money for a 2 single beds room!!!!!!! - unimpressive service, they didn't even try to find the way to solve my trouble. - unimpressive place, I couldn't take a rest because of the noise around the place. The room doesn't have air-con so I have to let the windows open. For this reason I couldn't do any activities as i have planed on the next day. - unclean room and bathroom I just feel like it wasted my money! I want to know why Booking.com suggest this place.

    Nothing!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed the whole experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit rough around the edges. In need of a bit of decoration & TLC.

    Staff very friendly & helpful. Location was excellent, really close to Central Station. Plenty of eating places close by. The breakfast was adequate to start the day. Towels changed every day. Great for few days away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    The best hostel in Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is very friendly and nice. This hotel is very strategic that you don't have to spend on train ticket since every look out point of Amsterdam is nearby. The provide store to put luggage after check out too which is very nice. This hotel located 5 min walks from the Amsterdam Central. The good Thai food nearby this hotel is Jasmine Thai Cuisine which take only 6 minute of walking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Enjoyed it in this property!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little dated, steep stairs to the breakfast area.

    Staff helpful and friendly. They have a lift. Location is excellent if you have a short stay as it is very near the central station, Oude Kerk, and red light district. So many restaurants and shops around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    3.3
    Not a second time!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dirty sheets and the duvet was smeeling. The carpet was full of stains and dirty. No towel was provided for when you go out from the shower. Everything is dirty and old.

    That they provided breakfast even if was basic. The location is great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location great price and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little tired looking and in need of some decoration .

    Staff were great. We had a problem with a tourist booking but my daughter was poorly and the receptionist called them and changed everything for us. Always helpful when asked questions

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff, 2 minutes walk away from the train station and near the heart of red light district.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in wasn’t exactly modern and wasn’t really worth the extra. Unfortunately, the bath wouldn’t fill up but there was a shower. Also the bed frame was miles too big for the mattress and is a little tall to get in (if you’re short)

    Staff are so friendly and can’t do enough. Breakfast has something for everyone but no cooked food (isn’t a bad thing just to let people know) minutes away from Amsterdam central station. Lovely traditional building, close to lots of shops, coffee shops and the red light district.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.3
    Best location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room needed updating/decorating - for the price was tired looking.

    Lovely receptionists, helpful and friendly. Great location. Good speedy check-in. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    More hostel than hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very shabby. Dull room. No hairdryer, no kettle. Broken wardrobe, lamp and handle on bathroom door

    Great location . 5 min walk from train station. Lively location corner of 2 popular tourist streets

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Koopermoolen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: