Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Family Hotel Kooyk 1 stars

Leidsekade 82, Amsterdam City Centre, 1017 PM Amsterdam, Netherlands

#291 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2011 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very very small if you have a big luggage you are not able to move around the room. The bathroom as well too small no space to sit or move around.

    The hotel was in a central position very good for people who like walking around the city without taking any buses.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't bother to pay €10 deposit for TV remote control, so no remote.

    Fridge, TV and fan in room. Showers (shared) good and powerful. Left luggage room. Near Museum Quarter.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi was essentially unusable and kept going off. One of the shared showers stopped working and the whole floor had to share one. Balcony door in the room was broken and would not close properly.

    Our room had just been re-done so it was lovely to stay in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs are like ladders. Bathrooms are not in the rooms and shared which are fine but are the size of a broom closet.

    It was located in the city so we didn’t need to take public transport

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs to the top floor are extremely narrow and steep, room hook was somehow broken (and from neighbors as well) so you have to apply extreme force to open/close doors causing loud noise. Interior of the room suits more a student room than a hotel room. Hotel still has a lot of potential for improvement.

    The location is great. Quiet neighborhood, but still walkable distance to the main sights or main train station. Staff was formally polite, shared showers clean. Good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners employees were very nice it was clean shower was good

    The owner wasn’t very welcoming bit abrupt when we asked tif any other room as it was like a furnace we asked for a fan she said we have none but one of her lovely employees managed to find us one I asked if we could have some boiling water to make a cuppa as we brought some coffees there was no tea facilities not a kettle but said kitchen shut thought could of been bit more accomadating costs nothing to be nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin or Double Room with external Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom down the hall. the room was the size of a phone both. could not open our suitcases and leave them on the floor, no room to walk. shower floor got wet/floored after use. slippery. no bedside tables, no reading lights. the light above sink was burned out.

    The breadfast was good. The staIRS WERE WAY TO steep. No elevator.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is super rude, inconsiderate and impolite. I simply asked them where the charging port was (it was hidden behind the walls of the bed, which I had to move), the staff replied that this isn’t a five star hotel which would provide such fancy services. Bed was super uncomfortable. Bathrooms were decent, but small and cramped and not attached to our rooms. For the money we paid for one night, I expected better service.

    Location was fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shared toilet was very small like a closet. The view was bad because the room’s window was overlooking a small inner patio and was very close to the opposite room.

    The room size was good and had comfort bed. Also a small fridge to keep some drinks or cold water!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in the room, had to pay a 10 Euro deposit for the TV remote control, and then the TV still didn't work (& no effort to remedy the situation when we complained), no handles on some drawers, cobwebs, window couldn't stay open - was propped up a few inches with an aerosol can! Tiny toilet - hand basin just about on our lap. No mats next to the bed. It's like they lost interest in maintaining their rooms. So much potential, but so little interest from the staff.

    Great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View and Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The picture on booking for com of the superior room with garden veiw was false advertising the veiw was the bins and staircase no garden

    This is fine if you just want to get your head down, we spent very little time in the room,breakfast came with room but it wasn’t great we eat out, don’t get a superior room with garden veiw, the veiw was of the bins and steel stepped fire escape no veiw

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No storage or room safe.

    Excellent location and fabulous breakfast. Lovely staff. Good bathroom. Room a little small and stuffy but we were there during an exceptional heat wave and the staff immediately provided a fan on our request.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room with external Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room with view on the wall (room no. 3) that we didn't get information about it before

    Very nice and kind people working there, good location and great breakfasts

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very small. The pillows not so comfortable. Noise from the room above every night.

    The exceptional owner who made us feel totally at home. The helpful staff and the cleanliness of the premises and the room. The excellent breakfast which started our days in the best way possible. The ease of going around the city from the hotel which is so central and close to all amenities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Canal View and Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    check in can be very slow.

    great room, not too far from center Amsterdam, clean enough, showers were great. this actually had a toilet seat ON the toilet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fridge was closed and I didn't get the key. And also asked the man at the reception where I can park my car cheaper than in front of the hotel and he said to go somewhere 3km away and next morning I realised it was 60 euro!!! (the public parking in front would cost you 35). Well I know its also my fault, but just all of you to keep attention - always double check!

    Perfect location, good view from the window

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The recepcionists were terrible no helpful at all and very rude.

    Great location, a minute walk to leidseplein. The buffet was great to start your day and the Dutch lady that gave the orange juice was very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms were so small so if you weigh more than 100 kg you cant use them:)). The pillows and the bed must be better. When you have booked a double room you cant have two single beds together and think this is double. I Don't know for the price I paid this was what i might be expecting.

    It was a misunderstanding with booking.com. I was waiting a normal room not a shared bathroom room. I cant imagine how did this happened. Anyway the staff was very welcoming. The rooms were clean, The location was great. You could use trams on Lideseplein station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very convenient location. The owner was amazing and very helpful with our travel plans! The rooms were clean and the accommodations were great for us! I can’t wait to go back, I would definitely stay here again! Thank you!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the beds and pillows were uncomfortable. having to share the toilet and shower, and how tiny they were. other guests on the same floor as us slamming the doors so loudly at early hours of the morning

    the location and staff were friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No remote for the tv

    Location was excellent the hotel is very clean and breakfast was good with a good choice.Hostess was very friendly and made us feel very welcome A great stay we were very happy with our choice and although the room was small it was confortable the shower was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We knew we were in a standard room but the room we had was more like a single room with no space for our cases to be left out, the bed was a just a small double although the mattress was comfy. There was dirt under the bed and the furniture was old. Do go there but choose a bigger room.

    The staff were lovely and the continental breakfast was good and varied. The bathroom was spacious with a great shower and the location is excellent near the museums and bars and restaurants. Also public transport including the bus to the airport are all very close.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't read info correctly I thought in 21 century you wouldn't have to share showers and wc for this cost and I couldnt sit on shared loo without sink being in my face . Very steep stair no good for elderly or those with mobility issues

    Very friendly and very clean in good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room with external Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our double-bed would at times split, because they were to singel beds put with two separate materaces put together. Also be carefull when booking, because our room had a private bathroom which was not attached to the room.

    Breakfast was very nice. Fresh products and a decent variety to choose from. The location of the hotel is phenomenal. It is basically located in the Amsterdam city centre, and still in a quite area and very close to the main museums and Amsterdams biggest park.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff spoke loudly outside window early morning and woke me up every day. Woman on the desk said it would take one hour 45 minutes to get to the airport. It took 25 mins. She wanted us out because they had no space for bags. Beds were uncomfortable. It’s more of a hostel than a hotel which is fine if that’s what you’re after

    They made the bed every day

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were right beside the kitchen so a bit noisy in the morning.

    You have a buffet breakfast quite alright. The breakfast is until 10 so there's no need to wake up very early. Staff was friendly. They allow you to keep your luggage in till 6pm after the checkout, that suited us very much.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Canal View and Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom door had loud squeak -needs oil, outside noises could be heard during night - but did not keep us awake

    Friendly staff, efficient check in/out, breakfast buffet well stocked, table set-up great, beautiful view of canal from spacious room, shower worked great, close to city trams and bus to airport

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    toilets too small,no tea or coffee facilites in room,stairs too steep, room key unreliable. Twin beds for married couple.....really??????

    staff were friendly,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room with external Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    As the building is old, the bathroom was far from our bedroom but it was clean. It got all flooded when taking a shower making it impossible to get changed in there. We could hear some noise in the night, but you expect that in old houses. But apart from that, our stay was pleasant.

    The hotel location is great, close to public transport and touristic attractions. Our flight was delayed and we couldn't find parking close by so our check-in was pretty late and the staff was helpful and friendly even if we had to wake her up in the middle of the night. We really appreciate the extra mile here! The breakfast was really really good!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No furniture for clothes or other things, the furniture which we had were rubbish, window could barely be opened

    The location was perfect, the beds super comfortable, room service and the breakfast good as well - we were happy with the hotel because we just slept es there

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Floors under the beds were dirty. Amsterdam is an expensive city, so this worked for our budget and is in line with others, but is still expensive for what you get. It would have been great if my sick family member could have at least stayed in the breakfast room after check out until we took our bus.

    It was essentially what I had expected- very small room with toilet and shower down the hall- beds were ok. Great location and close to a wide variety of restaurants, and easy to take the bus to/from the airport. They were able to store luggage during the day after check out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View and Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was comfortable but the pillows were very lumpy; the cold tap often ran only lukewarm; a floor lamp didn't work.

    The landlady was very friendly and other staff very polite. I've stayed in four star hotels which haven't done as good a breakfast. The hotel is in an old canalside building within a ten minute walk of the Rijksmuseum, and there are plenty of places to eat within a 10 minute walk in the other direction. WiFi was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View and Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed for the Easter Weekend from 31st March-2nd April, we stayed in room no-7 with private toilet & shower & garden view, very clean & comfy bed, room cleaned daily, very friendly staff, breakfast was great (buffet style), the owner Mary was lovely, good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Helpful staff and owner who helped print our return tickets. Rooms lovely and clean with fresh towels daily. Breakfast had lots of choices for everyone

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small room, but this didn't bother us. The position of our room (on the bottom floor, next to communal toilet) meant that we could hear EVERYTHING staff were saying when getting breakfast ready in the morning, but again didn't bother us as we were already getting up (at 07:30am) - maybe a problem if you want a lie in!

    Great location at the bottom of the main part of town, and near to Vondelpark. Great river location and easy to get to everywhere from this place. Near many bars and restaurants and not too far a walk into the main parts. Breakfast available each morning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Canal View and Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs are quite narrow so someone with mobility might find them a bit of a challenge

    Convenient location easily reached from airport bus and close to main sites. Overlooking a canal, peaceful and nice breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    10 euro deposit for the remote for the telly was a little much.

    Location was amazing, close to all the major attractions. Room was small but it had everything you needed. Very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was included and was very tasty each morning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I liked everything...no complaints whatsoever

    Friendly staff, rooms cleaned daily, having visited Amsterdam for over 20 years now and staying in many different hotels/rooms I would highly recommend this property for good value and friendly staff...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a little bit grubby, and the communal toilet door didn't shut properly, leaving a visibly gap straight into the hallway whilst your sitting there. But a little bit more TLC and this place would be great.

    It was great value for money for our two night stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite noisy you could hear everything above you and next to you. Window wouldn't shut properly so had to tie down.

    Breakfast was good. Great location and room was small but we expected that :) overall I would stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is not for anyone who isn't fully able-bodied. The room felt crammed, with a window facing bricks, very claustrophobic. The mini-fridge provided was warmer than the room temperature. The bathrooms are shared, which we were aware of, but the shower rooms are really small with no space to place towels/clothing/toiletries and cosmetics. There was an unexpected 15 Euro fee added at Check-in for "state taxes" despite it not being mentioned on the original bill which was already paid.

    The staff was very friendly and the location is great. Close to the Leidseplein tram stop and several places to eat or shop. The breakfast was alike most hotel breakfasts. The hotel was clean overall.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny - the bed touching the sides of the walls. There is absolutely NO away the room could sustain 2 people, nor was the bed acceptable for 2. Also, the hote insisted on a further payment at the front desk for Dutch tax, despite having paid fully via Booking.com.

    The location is good, not great, but good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms did not have a functioning radiator And it was cold.

    The shower in the small double room was large. The beds ok but the walls are very thin upstairs guest were shockingly noisy. The staff were adequate and the breakfast was basic but sufficient. It is a few miles from the central station but only minutes from the centre of the city. Right near Hard Rock Cafe.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath rooms and rooms are very small. Stairs are very narrow. It is very difficult and tiring to take the luggage up to the first floor through very very narrow staircases.

    Staff excellent and always willing to help. Location good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Decoration in my triple room : a long headboard from the 1950s with an old clock that had stopped working a long time ago, and two lights that didn't work. On the wall near the door there was a useless black lamp with black lace lampshades on it's little lamps that gave a greenish light when plugged in ... on the other side of the wall where the outlet was next to the door, so the black cord was strung out all along along the wall. LOL There was also a bar fridge, not plugged in, with a card telling you to dial 9 to restock it, except that there is no longer a telephone in the room. The worst was no soap in the soap dispensers in BOTH showers located in the hall.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone from staff got our documents and walked away from us in a separated room without telling us what was happening...

    The window from our room had a beautiful view from the canal!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms very small and not so clean

    Simple old little hotel with simple rooms and shared bathrooms, but in excellent location very close to the museums and the center

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I knew from the website that the room would be small but I didn't think it would be as small as it was which was a great shame and quite uncomfortable, the bed was not quite a double so we did not sleep well. Also we had no view from our window which was extremely disappointing, especially as practically every street has a canal.

    Central to everything and spotlessly clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Considering it's a shared bathroom and shower, they was very small a box room I couldn't even move in the Bathroom or shower! Also the window had to be wedged open with a can of hairspray and it was very difficult to open and close! The stairs was very very steep so hard to get our cases up and down stairs with no help from the staff!

    Just very basic for the price you pay! The lady was lovely who made us a hot chocolate though!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had some difficulties opening my door. My towel also looked a bit worse for wear. Other than that I got what I paid for, which wasn't much.

    The host was very nice and made a lot of effort during the check-in. The location is great and it was easy to come and go. Even though the room was tiny, it didn't feel cramped.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Canal View and Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was only one window in my bedroom; it was a large and heavy so it was hard to open for fresh air, as a result the room became a bit stuffy.

    The bed was incredibly comfortable with a beautiful view of the canal

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms wasn’t clean floor was dirty, bins not empty from previous guest hair in the bathroom and bed sheets looked like someone else had slept in them

    The breakfast was nice and location was great right near city centre and on the canal

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep stairs, would not be completely safe to carry a heavy suit case down but I do understand it's the way these properties are. You could always request a ground floor room.

    Good budget hotel in a good location, you are right next to a main square with coffee shops, bars and restaurants. There are tram stops a few minutes away, to get to the hotel from central station just catch the number 1 and get off at the stop just past the bull dog palace. Overall it was a good 3 night stay for an amsterdam budget hotel, it only cost a bit more than a hostel so was defineltly worth it to have a private room. The staff were friendly would defineltly return. For smokers you can't blaze in your room but no problems lighting one up by the canal outside or like I say there are coffee shops near by I'd recommend Rookies (10min walk) enjoy!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Group
    • Superior Twin or Double Room with external Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like the fact that i mentioned 3 times that i want a double bedroom and they had two twins in my room until the last day the lady who owns the hotel was mean and she said this is what we have! And then went into the kitchen and start talking in high volume to the staff. Not very good.

    I did like the staff was friendly a lot and helpfull

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress!! The peice of foam is ridiculous... linen was always clean and tidied.. the only let down is that peice of crap foam on such a nice bed frame.

    Clean and fresh.freindly staff.ok breakfast i am picky though.good location and quite this time of year.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Canal View and Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing was really well. Only complaint would be the right bed by window in room 1 was pretty worn and could feel the springs in my bony body all night. We just took turns sleeping in it 😁 Otherwise top marks!!

    I only expected coffee and pastries for breakfast really. Happy to find a small buffet of hot and cold options included in the price. Location is excellent and staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. Should really be more than a "One star" accommodation.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Notice that restrooms and showers are shared and really small (in the case of the toilets), good enough for a hostal as a place to finish your day and go to sleep, but not the place to go if you want to relax inside the structure, either with your family or friends.

    The good attention by the staff members made it less worse. Help you anytime if you find problems with your room. If you're thinking about booking a room in here, contact their email directly to have the correct information from them.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    * doors slams veeery heavy.. small corridors and many doors.. all slams veeery heavy.. hard to sleep in that noise at night * bedbugs !!! * I was charged twice for city tax. First when i paid through booking.com, second on site. Lady ask my or paying ~22 Euro in Cash, After i came back I noticed first payment on bookingcom :(

    good location, near to city center, not so crowded. Personel is nice and helpfull

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower in the room (no. 15) is very shallow and it's not easy to took it without making a lake :-(

    Room was bigger than expected, breakfast tasty, staff very helpful :-)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    terrible and discusting hotel to stay in. Because the bed has insects and bite me whole over my body and I could not sleep at all.the staff reception has not good haracter when first check in to hotel.

    The location was ok with this cheaper price

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great breakfast, walking distance from the center and a tramstop nearby as well. Small room on the ground floor but just enough space with a nice modern bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy hotel, incredibly thin walls, we could even hear how a phone in next room was vibrating. Our room had a window to the shaft, which we didn't realise until we arrived. Also from the shaft we could hear the talking from hotel staff in the mornings, incredibly loud. Super small toilets, you touch the doors with knees.

    The location was good, also the size of bed was nice and good supply and quality of towels and bed linnen

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Canal View and Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are tired and need updating but not that bad,

    Very basic facilities but were expected for the price and rating. Staff were exceptional, breakfast was great and the bed extremely comfortable. For the price couldn’t have asked for better.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room with external Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very noisy, you can hear people talKing on next room. Bathroom get all wet after shower. Double bed with 2 matresses, leaving a gap in the middle.

    Staff was very nice and hotel well located,out of red light district and at a walking distance from all touristic places. Breakfast was very good!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Canal View and Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit noisy at night with people coming and going but not the hotels fault!

    The room was very clean. Breakfast was lovely and staff very friendly excellent location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no problem with the room size because it was stated that the room is 8m squared in the description. I know what I was getting into. Also the steep stairs, I know this. What they dont tell you is the building is so old - this makes moving around SO loud. I can tell where the people in the room next door were going around in their room. Had to get ear plugs for the second night onwards. Also, because of how old the place is, you can hear and SMELL every single plumbing line that goes through the room. Someone was using the sink to drain down some cooking liquid and my room just filled with the stench in seconds. I'm lucky that it's not the toilet line. I dont know if this is from the hotel next to me, or above me, or room next to me, I dont care. Not worth it. I stayed in the single room.

    The hotel is close to Leidseplein. Within walking distance to tram stops, restaurants, bars, etc. Good location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Window faced to the other room's window, very close, no view at all. Small toilet.

    Close to the downtown, easy to arrive by tram or by walk. Clean and comfortable room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Garden View and Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to center and near bus station for airport. Nice hotel. Very friendly staff. Rooms are clean. Good beds. Breakfast was good. They made us breakfast to go because of early checkout. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was like boat, not so comfy. Breakfast was good, but only one cup of juice?! Also at earlier hours(6 or 7 am.) the staff was very noisy..

    We've got the room immediately after our arrival. The room was warm, bathroom was great and the the fridge in room is great extra!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Canal View and Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a bit out of the way from the train station and no Uber drivers will come down that street - you have to walk over to the Marriot to get a ride.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathroom was quite small for a tall man .but was very clean and wouldn't put me off a return visit :)

    Staff very pleasant . Very nice modern room :)shared showers where sparkling clean and very spacious . located close to everything.would highly recommend

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Canal View and Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Canal side location.Nice breakfast, with great coffee and hot food. Lovely staff. Great location near the museums and the Leidseplein, with trams to the rest of the city.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Canal View and Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV in our room was a little wobbly and wouldn't allow us to position it downward so there wasn't a glare from the bed. Due to previous unscrupulous guests, you have to pay a fully refundable $10 to get the remote for the tv.

    This hotel is conveniently located near the #2 Tram, allowing for easy access to the city center. The buffet breakfast was awesome! This was the best breakfast I'd had during my whole trip. There was plenty of variety and everything was fresh! This is a family run business, not a chain. The owner was very friendly and accommodating. For the price and location, I recommend staying here.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We was designed our trip for 8 to 10/11 but the travel company canceled the flight at this dates. We try to inform the hotel about this unpleasant situation through the booking.com to transfer our booking at other dates but the hotel was completely negative (the booking was without cancellation and already takes the money from my bank account). Finally we loose the travel and the hotel was not entirely helpful to help us in this unpleasant situation we found (not even changing dates when we informed the booking.com two weeks ago for this unpleasant situation I found myself). I'm very disappointed at all this.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's about a half hour walk from the main city attractions. There was a funky smell lingering in the halls but other than that it was great.

    Clean rooms, toilet, and shower facilities. Tram stop around the corner with a number of restaurants and not loud with the nightlife.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Family Hotel Kooyk traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: