Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Amrâth Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen 5 stars

Gevers Deynootplein 30, 2586 CK Scheveningen, Netherlands

#14 of 26 hotels in Scheveningen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 5543 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small and the bathroom had many mouldy spots

    This is an experience per se- Observing the amazing beach location and the majestic ballroom, along with the hotel's history, makes you feel special, like a part of it! It is a lifetime experience!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive car park (30€/day), 1 elevator was out of order = long waiting time, overcrowded breakfast room

    The location right on the beach, lots of restaurants & pubs around

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff weren’t very welcoming, I found them abrupt, they were also blunt and a little rude when I asked a question regarding tram timetable. They did not seem keen to help or pleasant.

    The location was lovely. The building was lovely and very grand. The room was spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast quality was poor, my booking could not be found, not even a bottle of water in the room, room had a sigarette smell. Could not phone reception or room service. Great location but this place has had it's time.

    Nice old building

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like leaving this hotel.

    What a magical place to arrive on a sunny Sunday! We want to live in this hotel! The food and facilities are fabulous, the beach front pavilions sensational.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To less attention to details for a 5star quotation, breakfast find a table as far as possible from.the buffet, unless you like not to able to move as tables are unconfortably close to each other.

    Nice hotel, great location and good service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room phone didn’t work, room service was two hours and then they forgot. Area is enmeshed with lots of tacky high rises like florabama

    Nice view beautiful building. Free mini bar , nice spa

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's hard to find anything that wasn't a complete joke about this 'famous' hotel. It's so outdated and the staff so arrogant or overworked that there is no value in anything about the stay. Arrogant receptionists that do not greet or smile when you walk by, no clear and hospitable answers to questions like 'Is it possible to have a late checkout?' For example. Smelly stuffy room with bad ventilation, dirty carpet, the toilet was not even 100% horizontal??? Moldy bathroom, dirty tiles. Wallpaper coming off the walls in the hallways... As if this wasn't horrendous enough, they dare charge you 25 euros per person for a complete joke of a breakfast. 50 (!!!) euros for some crappy plastic packaged food items, cheap bread and half empty self service buffet which was not even being refilled properly 45 minutes before the ending time. So many things were empty. How is it possible you ask yourself. Overheard other guests saying their water and electricity didn't work in their rooms. Some lights in ours didn't work and the hair dryer was so old and got overheated several times after just using it for 1 minute. This hotel is really a sinking ship and the reason anybody even stays there at all is because it's a famous landmark that probably was amazing 50 years ago. We are stunned at how bad and how pricy the stay was. Would really recommend everyone else to stay some place else, this was just a complete joke.

    If there is nothing else good besides the location, I think it's a clear failure.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    only hot water in bathroom during night time

    no cold water in bath room,i want seaview room i ordered many times like before,but this time did not offer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Not welcome check-in, at all. Staff had poker face, almost rude; 2. Breakfast costs 25€ and is not worthy this money: you have to ask waiters to clean the table, food was not refilled after 10:30am even though breakfast is until 11am; 3. Pillows are with dawn. When we called reception desk to change them to anti-allergic, staff told that this is the only type of pillows in the hotel and it is already anti-allergic. After complaining we finally got another type of pillow with comment that “this is the last one in the whole hotel”. Seriously? Nowadays even budget hotels offer variety of bed linings! And here they charge >200€/night; 4. Bath towel had a big hole. Picture added. 5. Outside sea-side area of the hotel has plenty of chairs and table where it would be nice to seat and enjoy the sea view, but everything is dirty because of seagulls; 6. Underground parking in 2 mins walking is public, costs 30€/day; 7. Room service has only eight dishes during the day and only two (snacks) at night; Overall feedback: hotel is too large and gets all guests because of the historical building and great location. But no one is interested in providing decent service (even worth 4-star hotel).

    Great location directly at the beach; Beautiful (from outside and in atrium area) historical building; Rome (standard) was spacious. Free minibar in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The guy at reception was really snobby and we could tell he didn't want us staying there

    Nice location next to the sea, the hotel is a beautiful old building that we walked around for ages in

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuff was very rude and to some extent racist during the two occasions I had contact (via phone and personal) with them. Highlighting the fact that they were both different persons and both from the same nationality. Very surprising for a country like the Netherlands and especially at a city like The Hague with SO MANY international people around due to the embassies. Shame!

    Location and the decoration were pretty good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Did not have enough time..

    Amazing historical hotel situated right on the beach. Staff were very helpful/Spa was lovely. View stunning. Room was beyond expectations with all inclusive mini-bar. Breakfast was ample with selection of meats/cheeses/juices/fresh pastries/fruit/yogurts/the list goes on. Great place for relaxation and watch the world go by.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a partial beach view, but the windows looked as if they had not been cleaned for ages. The breaeckfast was not impressive

    No doubt the best location, directly on the beach. Beautiful hall

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - very expensive for such dissapointing level of quality and service-> we were expecting more from this luxurious hotel, living on his reputation. Only for one night, just to see ... - small room, with a door communicating with another room ->we were hearing our neighbours - cleaner staff knocking at the door at 9h00 - noisy corridor - rooms far away in a remote wing of the hotel -> 5 minutes walking from reception - no free public parking at less than 2km from hotel, hotel parking super expensive

    - mythic old school, luxurious hotel - scenic and magestic dining and ball rooms - just in front the beach - free acces to very nice sauna&hammam and internal swimmingpool - free minibar

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Well, I guess large, imposing buildings like these do need an awful lot of maintenance so there were one or two areas which could have done with a lick of paint but hey - really not a big issue.

    A grand old lady of a hotel. Stunningly beautiful but you can see the wrinkles (much like myself) ha ha! My husband and I met when we were teenagers 50 years ago on a trip to this hotel and we decided to re-visit. The rooms manager enjoyed our story and upgraded us to a sea view room and also left a lovely welcome card and chocolates. The staff were efficient and friendly. The view of the hotel from the beach is awesome - terribly grand at a reasonable price. A hotel with a difference. So glad we stayed there!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not cleaned on one occasion. One of the windows was broken. I wish they provided bath robes in the presidential suite.

    We have been offered a free upgrade to a very nice suite which offered an amazing sea view. Good beds. A close proximity to the beach and the promenade makes it a wonderful choice for any time of year. The porter was exceedingly helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa center is small and steam bath didn’t work! The water in the pool is not heated plus there is no relax zone with heated beds!

    The hotel is really nice, room has everything you need plus excellent free minibar 👍👏🍾! Location is perfect and staff -professional!! Th bed is super comfortable. Excellent value for money!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was my fourth visit to Amrath within a couple of years and the first time with my husband. Entrance to the hotel seems to be as problematic each time: any special wishes are lost, even my prepaid booking was twice lost, and no matter how early you enter the room is hardly ready by 3pm. However, I love this hotel and will soon come again.

    Sea view, beauty & historical flavour of the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stay was too short to use all facilities. The breakfast was excellent! Staff was very helpfull and friendly, special thanks to the guy in Valet parking!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was excellent, but the window very dirty. Also the smell in the room was stale. There was no bathrobe to use for the sauna. Staff did bring them when we asked them, but that took half an hour. The light button for the bathroom is behind the sliding door. This means one has to close the door in order to switch on bathroom light. Not practical, especially at night, when partner is sleeping. Sliding door makes noise.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I've paid extra money for superior room with a "best" sea view. Instead of view, we had a sheet of material behind the window, so we couldn't see anything... Room was dirty and in a really bad condition. We've showed the pics to the lady in the reception, she said, that she understands that we are disappointed but doesn't have another room in the same standard for us, cause they are fully booked. After we refused to stay there, we've been sent to a cheaper room with lower standard. When we've asked the lady to give us back the money for changing for a cheaper apartment, she said, that we've accepted the change, so we can't ask for it :D At the end, after talking with other receptionists, we got the money back. Making long story short... We've been just really disappointed. Spending a weekend in Hurhaus was always my dream and we've been extremely happy to go there finally. I find it extremely rude to ask 200 Euros for a room with an "extra view" without even mentioning that you gonna stay in the part of the hotel which is under construction and has no view at all! Dirt and furniture in a bad condition is also not something that you are expecting in that kind of place. It's the first time I'm complaining about any hotel, I don't have extremely high expectations, but well... This place, although stunning from outside, was a big disenchantment inside.

    The location of hotel is great and building itself really beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is out of date. Step into the shower is too high and could easily result in a nasty fall with minor or serious injury as a result.

    The bed was big. The room was clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balcony and the balcony chairs where very dirty. The door handle to balcony was super stiff and very hard to open and close. Such a shame when the balcony view was so beautiful. Also there was scaffolding being set up just outside our balcony and construction work which made the stay during the day not very private.

    Excellent breakfast, dinner and room service although pricey. Good with handeling allergies. Nice with all the artwork around the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, I think the price is higher than what to except, the room were not that fancy as the pictures. The pillows were not comfortable, and the bed. It was not five stars hotel as I saw it.

    The location, near the cinema, restaurants and beach. Staff are nice but not all of them

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To be asked to pay the room by arrival. And if you book 'sea view', it should not be necessary to wash the window before you got the view. The balcony was out of reach - covered with dust and bird dirt. The gliding door to the bath was a joke.

    The guys helping with the car (valet service) were super. But for the price of the parking they should be so; 39 € for one night. Free minibar was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is not the right value for money - some of the staff could improve on customer friendliness

    Very impressive building with long history - excellent location and good value for money for stay. Very nice views from the restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kurhaus used to be a great hotel. Since it has changed to Amrath Kurhaus ,it only get worse and worse...Terrible waiter/res. To slow,not paying any attention. I was waiting and waiting and waiting. All i´ve heard from them were, that they didnt have enough employees.....(KURHAUS??? ) Sorry, but after staying at the Kurhaus for many years, i defenitely will not return back here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a "executive" room with sea view and got a room without any view at all. This part of the hotel was being renovated and blinded with look-proofed foil. Nobody notified this until we checked in. We only got the refund of the sea-view (30€) to sit in a room without any view at all. The smaller rooms who were cheaper at least had a view...

    beautiful building, nice location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed was dirty, i just found a tissue between the sheets. If the bed was clean there should not be a tissue. Staff has a big attitude. They dont solve a problem but ignore the customer. We wanted to book a massage in the spa.; We called reception they were going to call us back, but no answer. We also left a note on the desk of the wellness to call our room if there is place available, ALSO NO ANSWER. We send an email prior to our check-in ALSO NO EMAIL BACK. So the people dont do their work. You dont feel like in a 5-star hotel.

    Food was nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of the breakfast, tax to be paid at check in (just include this in the price...), Wait at check in was longer than expected (every person checking in took too long, again, just pay tax at booking), toilet paper was not what you'd expect (the cheapest there is, really different than the grandeur of rest of the room and hotel), room was enough but didn't breathe the luxury of the hotel, outside of room Windows weren't cleaned in a long time, we could hear the people in the neighboring room when they were talking at a normal volume (guess this comes with the age of the building), bathroom tap overflowed the washstand weten not fully opened.

    Breakfast was great, great view (we got seaside view even though not booking it), mini bar included with a good collection of drinks, mini bar included the best coffee I've had in a hotel room, ambience and grandeur of the hotel is among the best.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything in the hotel is pretty old and old fashioned, you feel that the place hasn't been renovated since early 90s. The room that we stayed was extremely loud, as there was party in the pub of the hotel until 3:00am in the morning and our 3 year old boy barely slept. Also the room was dirty - the windows haven't been cleaned since ages! Everything in the hotel feels dirty and untouched since decades, it's very far away from it's 5 star rating and the price is definitely not worth.

    The hotel is just next to the beach

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Scaffolding outside the window, but a nice building must be maintained so I do understand.

    Nice stay in a good hotel due to the SPE black-tie diner & dance.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had no view at all, as the part of the building was under construction :( Was very sad to stay in a dark room, as the window was covered from outside.

    Really loved the building, check-in process is hassle-free, staff are very nice. It's on the beach, and ideally located – very close to the city centre, there are lots of restaurants around. SPA and wellness are amazing, massages also good. Loved the pool with the view, and the sauna was hot and clean. Perfect weekend to relax.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely, overrated. No view from the window but only roofing materials disposed just in front of the windows. Very noisy until midnight, impossible to sleep, because of a wedding. Very poor breakfast, the products were like bought from a cheap supermarket. Disgusting tastless coffee. Not enough heating in the room. The Turkish bath in the Spa did not work. The access to the Spa passes through a reception room where there were people having drinks....?!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked this hotel for the sauna facilities but on the day of our arrival the facilities were closed. On the website it states sauna is open all year round, so we were very disappointed. I received a email one day before our arrival to inform me of these foreclosures but because we booked the room with no free cancellation we were not able to cancel. While showering in the room pieces of dirt and a plaster came out of the drainage we were digusted and couldn't believe something like this would happen with a four star hotel.

    Beautiful architecture, friendly staff, good location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The swimming pool was closed, the staff would call us to check if we could swim in another hotel but never called us. The hotel also was in a renovation so our view was blocked because of this which was ashame.

    Beautiful classy hotel, clean rooms & perfect location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would've rather had 1 2 persons bed instead of two seperate matrasses. while checking in it took a while as there was only 1 person and it was forming quite the queue. Might've been unfortunate timing.

    Great view from the room. Beautiful balroom/central hall. Room was decently large enough to move around in. Good amenities in the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was quite happy to book Kurhaus again. It’s a great hotel. Esp. late evening staff at reception very friendly, the same guy welcoming me again. Weather conditions were bad when I travelled and the staff were quite flexible when I called to tell them about my late arrival or no arrival at all due to heavy snow. I will definitely stay Kurhaus again while visiting Den Haag. The sea view is magnificent, and totally different at night and in the morning. Listening to the sea waves is wonderful. Did not use the spa this time, but will do so during my next stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that I didnt like when I went to spa and beauty rooms nobodys there and I was waiting for 15 min and no one showen up. You need to work on this part of the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not informed of maintenance scaffolding right outside our windows. Radio playing loudly outside from 7:30 in the morning. Loose stone panel in the bathroom. No hooks in the bathroom to hang towels.

    The hotel has the greatest location right on the beach and is conveniently close to the tram stop. Lots of nostalgia and wonderful facade of the building. Good size room, very good beds. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sparkling wine was not served during breakfast unlike last year around the same time. Hopefully they just ran out of supplies. If they discontinued this practice, it is highly regrettable...

    Fabulous as always! The spa is beyond comparison, with the heated indoor swimming pool overlooking the immence grey sea - a very special experience in the winter season

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Restaurant service and quality way below expected. The food served was average/low regular Bar quality for a way more expensive price. Also the waiters during the day and evening were very “new” and for instance didn’t ask for drinks a few times during dinner or came by our table during lunch 2x with wrong orders. - 1st room very cold (heating didn’t work), 2nd (upgraded) room was fine, but to my experience had a very small (140cm) bed which I would not expect if you need to pay €280 per night. - glass in hallway (can happen) even after 3 visits to our room not cleaned (would expect employees to then see it and tale action) After taken the time to provide above feedback in person to their service team, we were suggested to write a summary per email. Unfortunately, 3 days after sending that email we are still waiting for a response. (Would have appreciated at least a “thank you for sending, we’ll get back to you / we will work on it” message.) Perhaps we had bad luck this time, but we had higher expectations from the Hotel. (Reviewer is staying in hotels every month)

    Great nostalgic building, beautiful grand ballroom and location directly in front of beach

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room nicely furnished but needed maintenance - for instance: the tv was hanging loose and seemed to be almost falling down from the wall. Not very impressed by practical solutions in the bathroom: the water tap spilled water over the whole sink if it was placed in some positions, the bathtub could only be filled via the shower head (no ordinary tap) which meant the water would be lukewarm before the tub was finally filled... etc (small but annoying things). Check-in and check-out took forever, there was evidently a lot of paperwork to be done..

    A grandiose, old hotel. All possible amenities and great location on the beach in Scheveningen. Comfortable bed. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a 5 star hotel but the regular rooms feels more like 3 star hotel. Therefore in my personal view it is a bit overprices. Although, it was my dream since i was a kid to stay in this hotel and now it happened :) Very good breakfast. Friendly stuff. Fantastic area. Very good access to public transportation. Free entrance to casino ;)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't clear we had to bring our own towels to the spa. One morning also the spa was not switched on so we couldn't use it. This was the main reason we chose the hotel!

    We enjoyed the view and the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    unfortunately outside the hotel ugly buildings were built in front of big parts of the hotel and now for the Winterseason they put an ice skating rink in front of the main entrance as well!! Part of the old grandeur of the hotel at arrival is unfortutanely gone by this.

    The wonderfull sea view from both the room and the restaurants. The grandeur of the hotel makes you feel to be in a special place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An ocean-view room was nicely offered but it was not mentioned that due to renovation a scaffolding was covering the window. A button was missing to call the elevator. While the front-desk staff was friendly, the same can't be said about the staff at the breakfast.

    Nice location, in front of waterfront, near good restaurants, nice pool/wellness area, comfortable room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room not being cleaned every day, no robes in room for the swimming ect, the Roos where cold.On booking .com it said breakfast included when their not.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It looked empty. Not many guests at the time I was in there. The staff at the reception on late evening were kind of detached. I would not definitely call it friendly and the one who checked me in was on the borderline of arrogant under the disguise of acting professional. I arriving late in the evening after a long drive was hoping for some friendly face and useful info while I struggled with the parking. There was no one in sight to assist when I went into the Gallery by mistake and was searching for where the rooms were, dragging on my luggage in rounds. In all a good Hotel which perhaps is in high demand during peak season and during off season they just don't care any less attitude.

    It is a nice classic building. Old but grand.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I specifically booked for a king size bed While checking in and arriving at the room it were two beds Going back to reception they accommodated another room. So Was well taken care off

    Location and historical landmark building The staff was very friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room lacks design. Details were terrible - the hair dryer was defected and it seemed to be like this for a while. I booked a single bed room but I got two split beds. Funnily, my room could be connected with a door with another, and that led to tragic noise cancellation.

    I always dreamed of spending a night at Kurhaus, but reality is not really a match with my expectation.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The interior design of the room that we got did not give a real 5-star feeling, it was rather simple, but not bad at all.

    The atmosphere of the hotel, old-fashioned in a classy way. The architecture of the building, it looks magnificent from outside. The location, just on the beach of the North Sea, surrounded by bars, restaurants, cinema.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel staff was not very welcoming. It is probably due to the fact that they don't have any regular clients and don't care about the incoming tourists very much. The hotel charges for everything, hotel and parking, even before you start using the service, at the entry to the hotel. Be ready for that. Also, they offer everything in the mini-bar, but do not supplement anything in it in the coming days. The hotel rooms did not have swimming pool towels, slippers and bathrobs. When asked at the reception, the answer was - we ran out - sorry :) I cannot and I am not going to do anything about it. They might reappear later. The same was true at the swimming pool: need to ask for towels separately. Limited availability of shower gel. The sauna part is really strange (especially for those who like saunas and who have been to real ones): no steam in the steambath, hardly any heat and only electric heat in the sauna itself. Safe did not work in the room, some lamps were not functioning in the room, which required some renovation. Dirty windows were also spotted. Additionally, as to parking, it is just outside the hotel (no underground parking or else). Well, the basic problem of this hotel - they don't care. Poor management of a very big establishment too.

    The view from the hotel and the old-style hotel premises.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovation works at the facsade and the roof are currently performed. Rooms that are impacted by construction noise are not blocked by the hotel (as usually at a 5 star hotel). No turn down service at the evening to check if the room is clean. The SPA area is pretty small compared to the advertisement made by the hotel. Not towel service at the pool or in the SPA. To reach the SPA you have to cross the conference/ banquet area.

    The bed was very comfortable. The hotel is located close to the beach allowing a wonderful view to the sea.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel rooms need a refresh! 25€ per person for the breakfast it's too much!

    Pool and sauna are beautiful! The hall is incredible! Position is unbeatable!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs a serious face lift and no atmosphere. Also having to pay up front for you room not a good idea usually we pay on check out so didn't like this.

    Location of the hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in process was like herding cattle, long queues. Found rubbish under the bed. Cups missing. Phone not working so had to use mobile to contact reception.

    Hotel was beautiful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to pay the accomodation completely in advance when checking in...this is not usual in a Five-stars-hotel... Valet-parking (if space available) is about 32 Euro p. night!

    Free Minibar, comfortable beds, oceanview, dog-friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The door to the balcony was lose and rusted. We booked a double bed but received two singles pushed together, normally this is fine but the bedding apart from the duvet was only for single beds?

    Fantastic view of the beach (we paid extra for it). Spacious room. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were poor for the money charged, service was a 1 star offering Breakfast was a lottery re getting a table and no staff were present that I could see So tables were not cleared for new arrivees The hotel did not even have a decent resteraunt. I have stayed at this hotel many times and and have watch it go down hill but this time was the worst.

    Not a lot there's no management and the staff need training,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wellness Area - no restroom - children at the pool all the time - children at the sauna area - noisy and not relaxing Don't do wellness there

    Room was nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the carpet in the room was very dirty with big splashed dark spots right in front of the bathroom and all over the rest of the room. It looked terrible. Unfortunatel we were too jetlagged to complain the first evening, coming from Singapore. There was a Nespresso machine in the room but no capsules for the two nights we were there. My sister stayed at the same hotel and got a cheaper room with ocean view, like us, but on the nice upper modernised floor, with a nice view and a working coffee machine with all the selection of Nespresso capsules. Also she had a breakfast included and payed less. She did not book with booking.com but directly with the hotel. There was construction on the roof in front of our room starting early in the morning. Hardly a view, because we were so close to the front lower level where the repair went on. The valet parking made a large mark on our nearly new rental car, nobody was responsible for that according to the hotel.

    The room was heated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not meeting expectation of luxery hotel. Acted as if client was bothering them when checking in and out. NB rooms on first floor have windows but sea view is blocked by building. If you want sea view ask for higher room

    Location is great for beach access

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked the room with the view but the view was carpark view :( on next day housekeeping staff not ever come and clear the room. for me this is not the 5* Hotel .sorry!

    Location was great! front desk staff are friendly. free mini bar.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately only one lift was working. Carpets were badly stained. But didn't stop our enjoyment.

    Beds extra cumfy. Breakfast was varied and very fresh.the whole ambience of the hotel was wonderful. The upstairs floor grand room was changed every day for a different function. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Room , is was dirty old , the pilliows on the bed where disgusting . the breakfast very poor , not fresh . Hotel is absolutely no 5 stars , more 2 stars .

    i liked the good indian restaurant near the Hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The - although beautiful- hotel is in dire need for a refit/update.

    Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Perfectly situated on the Scheveningen Boulevard.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -check carefully what you get confirmed when booking: instead of a seaview room I got a view directly on the parking place (but it was "superior" according to category) -prosecco was removed from breakfast buffet and is not even available as a paid extra. quite poor for a Grand Hotel I think -no previous information that the spa area is not available due to an event -no previous information that a quite loud event is going on almost the whole night -cleaned the window in the room ourselves to be able to look out -minibar not refilled on two days during the stay -cracks in bed linen -house keeping cleaned the room not before 4 o'clock in the afternoon

    A very beautiful hotel next to the pier with a very charming lobby

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    -room service is really bad (and because of an event on the beach they told me we can't serve any food for two days!!) -room cleaning need to be improve -this trip for me and my wife was to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary ,but the hotel didn't care -the staff don't have enough area knowledge to help guest tourist -i had to park the car my self in general its wasn't bad but its not what we expected ,i thought we gona stay in a luxury hotel but its not at all..

    -great location -the hotel looks very nice out and inside (but not the rooms)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room carpets very badly stained. Room extremely cold, heating not working. Cold winds from sea creating draughts. TV channels not tuned in. Breakfast tables not cleared and dirty. Empty washing facilities in showers in wellness centre, dirty and no towels.

    Location and helpful reception staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They were very professional and caring. I was unwell on one night and they went beyond their service to ensure I saw a doctor at a nearby hospital. The hotel also paid for my taxi fares. The view was great. I had to pay extra Euro$30 for 2 sea-facing rooms as they claimed that I did not opt for the sea-facing rooms. I thought the amount was reasonable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are old and dirty- staff are not cooperative at all- bad management. They sold us 2 rooms with their knowledge that the A/C is not working and can't be fixed

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    poor service , the room air conditioning was not working and opening the room windows was not enough during the hot days of summer , the noise outside was horrible , they did not change the our rooms and offered us fans in a 5 star hotel . the house keeping was poor they don't add amenities if they finish. you have to buy your drinking water not complementary as a 5 star superior

    the location was perfect , the bed was soft

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent beds, really comfy rooms, nice staff! Superb value for money! Excellent location on the beach with lovely beach front restaurants and bars. If you have meetings in the area of The Hague and Amsterdam. This is the place!

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: