Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Netherlands hotel reviews
  3. Zuid-Holland hotel reviews
  4. Scheveningen hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Grand Hotel Amrâth Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen

Reviews of Grand Hotel Amrâth Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Gevers Deynootplein 30, 2586 CK Scheveningen, Netherlands

#17 of 26 hotels in Scheveningen

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 6644 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2019

    6.7
    We had a pleasant 2 days but were slightly disappointed by the quality of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Premisies need attention. Dirty carpets. Neglected outdoor areas. USELESS elevators. Breakfast a bit chaotic (no plates no cups no cutlery etc.). VERY disappointingly no use of any of the facilities after (very early 11am) checkout. First room we were given had been smoked in and did not have the requested King Size bed.

    The location is excellent. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2019

    6.3
    Location namely beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Is was great.

    Location namely beach. The reception was not very friendly. They ignored me for white people, probably thought I was the help 😡. I waited until they finished helping white people for direction 😓.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2019

    7.1
    Loved the art areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Executive Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    cleanliness of corridors. The lifts were super slow and it was an adventure whenever they were used. The bar staff were very slow at service.

    Loved the art areas. Great old building. perfect location. The reception were great, attentive and very helpful. The room cleaning and service was very good.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2019

    9.6
    Location is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location is great! I was there with my elderly parents and everything is nearby, beach and restaurants. Hotel staff is superfriendly. The soa is great too! A special thanks to reception staff member Marc

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2019

    8.3
    Very pleasant stay with an annoying departure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The organisation of the breakfast could use a better planning on busy days. Plus, the early check-out time (11AM) is annoying - worse yet, the shutting down of the room card at 11AM precisely (with no tolerance margin whatsoever) is an absolute no-go for a venue of this price class. Leave your room at 10h58 and try to get back to pick up your stuff 5 minutes later, and you'll be stuck in the staircase, for example. If the hotel management really wants to impose a strict discipline on their (paying) customers, they should at least inform them!

    The Kurhaus stands as a historic beauty amidst the mass-tourism oriented landscape of the Scheveningen beachfront and is a stylish haven for those who are looking beyond the purely functional; the staff is friendly and always willing to help.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2019

    7.9
    Still pleasant, but not as special as it used to be
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I've stayed at the Kurhaus quite a few times over the years, and although it is still a pleasant place to stay, I find it is losing a bit of its shine and feeling of 'specialness'. There is a real feeling of cost-cutting. I saw various signs of delayed upkeep + maintenance throughout the hotel and even in our room (scuffed walls, torn and tired-looking Kurhaus flag drooping from a pole at the back of the terrace, towel holder that kept falling off the wall in the bathroom, holes in one of the sheets). The once fantastic in-house restaurant now has more of a mass-tourism feel. And the lovely main ballroom/hall area upstairs - unless it's been hired for a private function - doesn't seem to be used for much of anything anymore: it's just empty, echoing and kind of sad with a feeling of lost glory and grandeur.

    Location is outstanding. Great breakfast buffet. Free minibar.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2019

    5.4
    Mismanaged place, could be awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking situation is a disgrace, had to walk >1 km in storming sand since all parkings were full. The floors weren't cleaned in 4 days that we were there. No bell boy. Breakfast staff couldn´t handle the guests @ primetime (no disrespect of the staff, it´s just mismanagement), late check out >1 hour costs 25 EUR - even if you book the only spot for a massage on departure day,

    Location is top! you are at the beach in no time, as well you have beautiful restaurants in front of the hotel where you can hang out until 0100h and longer.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2019

    4.6
    Never again!
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hallways and the room were old and in bad need of refurbishment. The shower was in the bath tub and there was one of these very old hair dryers fixed to wall. It barely worked and quit after 2 minutes. We wanted to order breakfast in the room and needed to walk back to the reception to pick up the order form. This was a copy of a copy of an old form with a different logo on it. After filling it out we needed to walk back to the reception to hand it in. And all this for the staggering price of 300 euro.

    The location

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2019

    8.8
    Exceeded my expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the check in time was at 3 pm and I did request an earlier checkin upon booking but sadly it wasn't possible, it would be nice to have this request even if it was chargeable for future visits .

    The location is perfect

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2019

    5.8
    A bit of a letdown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    From the pictures you get the impression that you can eat in the beautiful ball room and that it is something special, which is why we booked it. However when we went, although impressive, the main hall was just an open space with people trapsing through it off the beach, willy nilly, push chairs 'n all with nobody saying anything. Parking was also a bit of a nightmare, although to be fair we went on hot day and Scheveningen was generally busy. We didn't bother with breakfast there as it was €23 each, so we went down to a beach restaurant which was lovely and we had a great breakfast for that for the both of us!

    The Kurhaus obvioulsy has history and a former glory.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2019

    8.3
    Would book a room second time
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Elevators didn't function all the time. Also in the room the sink didn't properly work. For the room that I stayed in some wall refurbishment would be needed.

    The room was very comfortable. The location of the hotel is great and the building it's self is impressive. Cheerful nice staff

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2019

    6.3
    expected more, but all-in-all it was OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    they have no bellboy, so be ready to carry your heavy stuffs alone, also if you are a lady and pregnant. the door of the room is not soundproof at all, you can hear anyone passing in front of the room. the phone in the room is not working and they did not repair it even after reporting them, so I had to use my own phone to call reception. we also found some mould in the bathroom walls. most of the machines in the gym are broken.

    the location is great as expected, the breakfast is also how it supposed to be in a 5 stars hotel. they have a lot of facilities to relax inside the hotel such as sauna, swimming pool, closed terrace and sofas in the gallery.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2019

    10
    Excellent hotel in an excellent location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price of the breakfast was completely too expensive.

    I loved everything and will be back again!!! Price for rooms, location and staff are incredibly perfect:)

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2019

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very long wait at reception at any time, including getting car, one cloth-hanger-extra never arrived, pool closed on first day, leaking ceiling in bar, dirty floor in room, dent in car that was not mentioned, city tax paid via booking.com asked again, cancellation for sick family member made impossible. For me only one conclusion: NEVER AGAIN

    Location

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2019

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1-No parking, the nearby parking used by the guests takes 1 hour of waiting. 2-The swimming pool closed due to an event at the restaurant 3-Toilette coud have been cleaner 4-Beds uncomfortable 5-Signs of wearing of several doors or windows.

    Have been to hotels with 4 stars that were way much better in every aspect.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2019

    9.6
    I recommend to stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I read reviews before taking this hotel and can tell you that hotel is big and the staff is working super hard, they always helpful. I had completely no problems in this hotel. The checkout time is 11 and while housemaid yet didn't get to my room I left at 11-30. Nobody said nothing, so I wasn't stressed. SPA is super nice with a lots of great features, room has a lot of toiletries made from of Rituals, bathtub was super nice, and the bed. Value for money - I took the promo discount so for me it was good.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2019

    7.5
    Great for a short weekN beach holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1) Breakfast not value for money. 2) the Bath tub may not be suitable for some as it's slippery & too high for elderly

    1) Walking distance to all amenities 2) Surrounded by restaurants & shopping malls 3) Very near tram station, so it's accessible to everywhere

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2019

    7.9
    Breakfast was the same buffet style setup as almost...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower over a very high-edged bathtub is absolutely unfriendly to older visitors. All other amenities were very nice. Comfortable beds.

    Breakfast was the same buffet style setup as almost everywhere else. The hotel (decor, etc.) very old-world charming. Staff well trained and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2019

    6.3
    the location is just perfect with the beach right in front...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the hotel and particularly the rooms urgently need a redo. The wallpaper is run down, the light switch in the bathroom was broken, the telephone did not work at all, not even the direct line to room service or the reception. The furniture does not justify the 5 stars of the hotel. It is not very clean either, and the cleaner left her cleaning cloth in the bathroom. Parking fees in the garage next to the hotel are €30 per night, and there is no special discount for hotel guests.

    the location is just perfect with the beach right in front of the hotel. The hotel is very big and gives you a good insight into the history of this fantastic building. the Spa area and the treatments are just amazing. The pool is quite small but offer a great view on the beach.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2019

    7.9
    The view was awesome, as was de staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was small and walls were filthy with black stripes. Not to be expected from an establishment as the Kurhaus.

    The view was awesome, as was de staff. Very nice bath in the room.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2019

    7.1
    building is such a big asset, but they could do a lot better on cleaning and service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is scaffolded, so that is an eyesore. cleanliness wanting (dust under the beds - I lost something and had to search all over - dirty sheets not being changed. Tables at breakfast (after an early-morning invasion of a group of Asian travellers) were not properly cleaned; breadcrumbs, stale coffee, dirt on the tables. The terrace was not really operational although Saturday was a fine day sunny with thousands of people everywhere else. Sea gulls pestering coffee drinkers and leaving dirt/excrements on the hotel terrace. Air in the spa area smells of mould.

    I liked the wonderful old building and atmosphere. Location was good, close to the sea, but still in the centre of everything. This is essential if you want to be close, since driving and parking cars in towns in a real nightmare. The lady at check-in was very friendly and upgraded me to "lateral" sea view! Breakfast staff also were friendly.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2019

    10
    Superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely nothing.

    The hotel is amazing and very grand. Staff and service brilliant. Room and bed excellent also a great free mini bar. Location couldn't have been better it's right on the beach where there is loads and loads of bars and restaurants. Also the pier. We were upgraded to a sea view and was so pleased we were as the views were amazing of the beach. Although there was scaffolding up the front of the hotel this did not spoil a single thing. Loved the terrace bar and drinks service was again first class. Well done to all the staff for a superb hotel and friendly service. Will definitely be back in the very near future. Also a big thank you for the chocolates and complimentary drinks for my husbands birthday it was a lovely surprise.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2019

    5.4
    Beautiful old hotel that needs help. Over priced for room that isn’t clean and air cond broken.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel needs a lot of care, and it’s not getting it. There were inches of dust in light sockets and mold on caulk in bathroom. It was obvious that room wasn’t cleaned as carefully as an old hotel needs. The air conditioner didn’t work. Then in the middle of the night thecentral air system started flashing for hours, then turned to heat. It tried to cook us when the radiator on wall behind curtains got very hot. 2am and has to sleep with windows opened to survive. Even if I turned off the central system and waited to turn on it did it again after a few hours. So do not count on having central air. Elevators are slow but interesting. This hotel could be amazing but missed the boat. Waves restaurant was cleaning when it was supposed to be open for lunch or even coffee. It was not inviting. I am glad I saw the hotel but wish I had stayed someplace cheaper that was really clean and normal things worked. Plus scuffs of paint on wall and just needs more care.

    Beautiful hotel inside, wonderful staff at front desk. Nicky and Thomas, both from Front desk, are outstanding and made the stay better. Beautiful views of water and the Pier. Many places to eat and shop nearby.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2019

    7.9
    Beautiful property but avoid during high season
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The furnishings in the room were a little dated. The cleanliness was not top notch. Someone opened the drapes at the top and left food stains! Although I paid for a superior room with sea view, we mainly overlooked the roof.

    The breakfast was delicious but a bit pricey. The breakfast room was overcrowded and loud. We stayed at the property over Easter weekend. It was super crowded and loud. Wouldn't go again in main season.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2019

    9.2
    A gem that needs some polishing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms in need of renovation, doors that won’t close, dirty carpets, moldy bathrooms, stained pillows and broken fawcets

    The best location in Scheveningen, the archictecture, the guest service

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2019

    9.6
    Location and building amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking is expensive. Massage schedule is easily full.

    Location and building amazing. I read comment about the need of refreshing, but our room was very nice (is it because 5th floor - Executive floor ?) and up to date. Nice bathroom and confortable bed. Balcony with nice view. Minibar free is a nice treat. Staff is very friendly, they kept my phone to charge it for quite some time as I forgot my charger. We could use the spa for the afternoon although we had checked out from the room. Overall is a bit pricey, but for 50€ more than other average budget hotels from the area, it is worth it for a nice week end.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2019

    6.3
    Great location- underutilized
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Though described as a five star hotel the service was far from it. Though they were friendly at the reception for the time we checked in, the experience as a whole was very transactional. The house keeping was really not very good. One of the robes in the room had make up stains on them from whoever used it before and when we left it on the floor to be changed, got back to find that it had merely been lifted off the floor and left on the counter - not even folded. Beds were not made in a standard you would expect from any hotel housekeeping. All in all, nothing to compare to any of the other four or five star hotels or even some Airbnb’s I have stayed at. As mentioned in some of the other reviews here, the room did have a stuffy smell, but we kept the balcony door open and that seemed to help. Overall, I would not rate this experience as being in the value for money category.

    Loved the location! The views of the sea (from the sea view room), especially at sunset was pretty special too! Lots of bars and restaurants close by! Beds were super comfortable! Check out was fast due to the ‘express check out’ option for guests paying by credit card. Connectivity to The Hague is great too!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2019

    8.8
    Breakfast was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom had mold stains between the tiles and also some silverfish.

    Breakfast was great! Also de refreshments in the mini-bar (which were inclusive) were nice. The beds were OK, though a bit smaller than expected.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2019

    7.5
    Overall, me and my husband had an amazing time at the Kurhaus hotel. We’ll come back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a long queue at the reception for the check-in.

    The hotel is located on an excellent position facing the sea. The breakfast was really good! Interestingly, the minibar in the room was free of charge. The interior architecture of the hotel was just amazing!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2019

    5.8
    The location and historical building is perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms need serious refurbishing, whether it’s the walls (plus lovely three dead mosquitoes on them), the nightstands or doors. A big disappointment was also the fact that the queen size bed was actually two beds put together. The staff was definitely overwhelmed with the amount of guests, receptionist, waiters as well as housekeeping. While the view of the restaurant is lovely the interior has serious canteen vibes. All in all the price is solely justified by the history of the building and it’s location!

    The location and historical building is perfect!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2019

    4.2
    The main hall is impressive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Breakfast was terrible. Durty tables, coffeemachine defekt, no Butter available, Bad quality of everything. No one seems to feel responsible. The floor to our rooms was the most durty floor I have ever seen in a hotel.

    The main hall is impressive.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2019

    4.2
    Highly overrated, plus there are (rather high) hidden costs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking.com indicates that there are 'parking facilities', that is technically correct, but these facilities are extremely expensive. The room was small and noisy. Checking in took half an hour.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2019

    8.3
    Nice experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the bathroom looked new, there were black mold marks on the corners of the tub and wall. To go to the wellness center, you need to walk pass through the main hall. It would be nice if there was a more discreet route.

    It's an amazing building, beautiful and well located just at the main entrance of Scheveningen beach. There are three types of sauna and an indoor pool for the guests. The bed and pillows are very comfortable and the minibar is free of charge. There are several restaurants around, from Seafood to Burgers.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2019

    4.6
    Well located close to the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We called it: do it yourself 5 Star Hotel! The organization of the stuff is not at all efficient and you need to ask for everything. Please clean the table, please fill up the bread, could I get a cup for the Kaffee (which is by the way not good). A lot of guests were upset. In addition some of the stuff reactions were not ok. So, relation price / performance is not given. We were very disappointed.

    Well located close to the sea. Nice place to be in the center of Scheveningen Nord.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2019

    6.7
    Five Stars my hat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you are a wealthy, able bodied person who doesn't care too much about value for money then the Kurhaus is right up your street. However, if you are wealthy, disabled and concerned about value for money then avoid the Kurhaus like the plague. Specifically, key cards that fail twice a day, resulting in long wheelchair trips to reception. No car parking worth speaking of, except distant 30 Euros per day dungeons. Absolutely lamentable lunchtime and evening restaurant service in terms of vast waiting times. But the best laugh is breakfast at 30 Euros a time. Its like some all inclusive bun fight at the costa del pond life, constantly running out of crockery, cutlery, milk and pretty much everything. This place is resting on laurels grown in 1885.

    Excellent housekeeping staff, diligent, efficient and helpful. Comfortable rooms with all possible facilities. A grand old building in a prime location.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2019

    6.3
    Won’t be going there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Long wait to register Long wait to get served for a drink on the terrace

    This hotel was once a grand hotel; now, it is poorly staffed, and most of the restaurants that were part of this once great hotel have gone, leaving vast areas of the hotel empty with only an indication of what it was once

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2019

    4.6
    There are nicer Dutch beaches
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not 5 stars Average quality restaurant, poor service Unexperienced staff Chaos in front of hotel on streets Construction work going on outside

    Building has potential, but inside it looks cheap

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2019

    5.4
    Under Construction
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was facing the main road, not on looking the beach. Inside the room was very dusty and the floor had not been cleaned. Very poor lighting in the room.Key card did not always work upon trying to enter the room. Over priced parking and breakfast. Scaffolding all over the building.

    Location was great, spa facillities were good. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2019

    3.8
    We were happy to be "home" but shocked to see how sadly the Kurhuis is now.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff needs training, the hotel needs to improve the lighting in the room, it was dark in half of the room. There was one friendly person on the front desk, she stood out because the rest were not. There was no help with the luggage when we arrived, strange.

    The breakfast was outrageously expensive. We loved being on the beach, the hotel was strangely not all being used. The staff were mostly not friendly. The idea that they only changed the sheets after 3 days, stupid. We had to go to the desk to get towels ourselves after asking and not getting them from the front desk/ We had been living in The Hague 25 years ago, I had a photo exhibit there then, and it was so grand and impressive. Now, sad.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2019

    9.2
    Very nice address and situated grand hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the restaurant nearby the beach side closed up early in the evening, we had not have our diner at 9:30 pm.

    We have got a up-graded room, it is a good surprise.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2019

    5.8
    The hotel spoiled my trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really dirty hotel old fashioned ! When i went to the room different doors were open for the cleaning! The look if the outside does not correspond of what you find inside

    Only the location

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2019

    6.7
    Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in. We arrived at 13.00 as The first of our party of 11 persons. We had to come back at 15.00 for check in but then there was a big line of people. Rather they had let us fill in the papers and payment at 13.00 so we had only had to pick up The keys.......

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2019

    3.3
    Not happy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - there is a lady amongst the staff who is stiff and not frindly and non cooperative. - i was shocked to find the linens dirty and so weared - it does not include a 5 stars facilities at all - cost is so exagerated for a hotel at this rate - value for money is not fair for residents

    Location by the beach

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2019

    9.2
    good but oldie
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel shows the signs of its age The gym was really poor for such kind of hotel

    Marvelous location on the sea Excellent breakfast Minibar included in the room price

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2019

    6.3
    Overpriced hotel with mediocre room, but great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - mediocre room for a 5 star hotel - "stuffy" smell - besides the exterior and the ground floor, it isn't really beautiful - most 4 star hotel rooms are so much better, cleaner and more beautiful. Would recommend Marriott any day over this

    - great exterior/architecture - great location - friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2019

    10
    Hotel super excellent even better bathroom slippers carpet...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very very cold i was tired and did not call the staff but i was not able to switch the heating on. I had to use my cellphone light to get a proper light for the not working heat switches because the lamps in the room were not powerful enough at that small distancec but still felt the cold holding my hand in front of the vent waiting for some warmth but the device failed . I went to sleep next morning room cold and i had to leave

    Hotel super excellent even better bathroom slippers carpet bath soaps salts big bed excellent breakfast with beautiful sea view is the minibar for free??

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2019

    4.2
    To be honest .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    To be honest ... not a 5 star hotel; dirty rooms ... Wall and carpet very dirty ... dark hairs in the bed ... I took pictures to confirm my rate ... paint could be renewed

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2019

    2.5
    Worse experience I have ever made:
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Worse experience I have ever made: The Hotel charged me extra money. After requesting the money back, they cannot „find“ a booking of this amount although I sent the paper / confirmation of my bank account. Most unable Rezeption and Accounting Department I have ever get to known. If you decide to book a room, be carefull and doublecheck the amount they charge you!!! After 3weeks I still did not receive my money back!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2019

    6.3
    Underwhelming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a grungy place and the rooms and the breakfast are the equivalent of what you'd find in a budget hotel next to the highway. it is NOT a 5 star hotel, anymore.

    The access to the beach and the old faded glamour of the main ballroom. Not to mention the overabundance of art throughout the hotel. it's like they have too much of it which is kind of cool.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2019

    7.5
    Vintage stay in the heart of Scheveningen
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building in its entirety is quite old. It does give you this nice vintage feeling but honestly, it's not good value for money. One of the tiny elevators was broken which meant that we basically walked the stairs every time we went to our room because the other tiny elevator was overcrowded. You pay for the location and the status of the hotel but honestly, we stayed at cheaper rooms in other places that were a lot more modern, more spacious and better equipped.

    The location of Kurhaus is amazing, it's right next to the beach and very close to a lot of restaurants and tourist hotspots. The breakfast buffet is quite good and we enjoyed the sauna facilities as well.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2019

    9.2
    Beautiful historical building, the grandeur, directly at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The construction works going on during our stay: scaffolding blocked partly the view to the sea, plastic and loosely hanging material Blowing in the wind was quite noisy at night.

    Beautiful historical building, the grandeur, directly at the seaside.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2019

    9.6
    A night full of surprises!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That the Turkish bath in the spa area was not clean on day 2

    The location was amazing, directly on the beach front with an amazing view. The pool was relaxing and an added bonus that we could use the spa facilities as well! In the room you can use the minibar free of charge (i think I have NEVER seen this before.. this was very useful as the kids where sleeping next door and we did not have the opportunity to go downstairs. Thank you for the friendly service and complimentary late check-out.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2019

    8.8
    Staff still influence the opinion
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check-in staff was rude, slow and lazy. They did not explain the facilities and rates. Some things they just did without approval. Check-out staff was perfect.

    The location was great. The bed was fantastic. And the breakfast was very good, even perfect.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2019

    6.7
    Hotel made double payment, therefore I made complaint to...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel made double payment, therefore I made complaint to Hotel and booking.com. I am waiting for hotel's action. I could not understand why I paid double.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2019

    6.7
    Great potential, could use a better eye for detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check-in took 25 minutes, 20 of those were waiting in line. My bedroom had a symbol of a view on the room (which I assume was a view to the sea, it turns out view means it has a window (to the street - on that note the isolation is not the best, so it was a bit noisy). I had booked a massage, no one could find my booking and the kept changing the responsibility to another department until someone told me that the masseuse was out sick that day. one of the lamps in my room was broken, after contacting the reception I was told that someone would be in my room within minutes, I waiting for half an hour (which is not something I like to do, special on holidays) an no one showed, went to reception and again I was told someone would go fix it, but no one ever did. The toilet was not really spotless, also for example the hair dryer has dust and was a yellow-ish (not by design).

    The bed was quite comfortable and the amenities in the room were very nice. The location does not get better than that. View from the swimming poll is amazing.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    9.2
    Very nice and calm hotel at a super location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the 2 single beds on wheels is not my preferred option as they keep on drifting away. It would be nice if the beds had a possibility to connect them together. It’s very inconvenient to land between the beds during the night sleep.

    The room was excellent although we have not paid extra for seaview, we had a room with view to beach and sea, as politely asked at booking. The hotel is very quite and the room was perfect.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2019

    8.8
    Gorgeous building, fabulous location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We couldn't get the aircon to a temp we liked. The door to the patio got stuck open and we informed the desk but nothing was done. The lighting in the room was really bad, impossible to see in our bags on the luggage rack.We seemed to have a reasonable room rate (maybe because it is winter) but the sundries were very expensive. Our dog, the car parking and breakfast costs were much more than anywhere else we stay.

    The location was perfect. The beach is fabulous. There is a lot to do/see in the local area. The building is beautiful. The free mini bar was a treat.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    7.1
    Nice, but not quite the 5-star experience we had hoped for
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A big minus point was this: we booked (and paid a lot for) a room with a sea view. When we got there the building was covered in scaffolding, partially obscuring our view. We were not warned of this, and did not receive a discount. Some of the staff were very friendly and helpful (e.g. the receptionist I spoke to on the phone). Others seemed rather inexperienced (e.g. the receptionist who knew nothing about the replacement bus for tram 1). Also, the helpful receptionist had noted that it was my birthday. I was given a hand-written birthday card, which was nice. However, we had booked a table for 9 in the restaurant and it was only at the end of the meal that one of the staff said 'Oh yes. We see it is your birthday': acknowledgement earlier in the meal would have been a nice touch. Somehow we had the feeling that we paid 5-star prices but didn't get the full 5-star experience.

    The Kurhaus building is spectacular, particularly the central painted ballroom. We loved walking through the ballroom in our towelling gowns to get to the spa! Spa facilities are good, and the swimming pool has a lovely view over the beach. Location is excellent: close to the beach and with frequent public transport direct to the centre of The Hague.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2019

    6.7
    a bit disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    on checking in- we were given room 428- when we arrived in roomk- it had not been cleaned- beds unmade- and dirty towels on the floor. The desk clerk went up to check- then gave us an üpgrade" to room 326- which was more central in the building.Plus a drink at the bar. Room was adequate- dirty spots on the carpet- old and outdated furniture which needs replacing. The wash basin in the bathroom had a thick layer of mould on the near side- to be vieuwed in the mirror- I reported it to the desk clerk. One lift was being serviced- but on check out - the other lift wasnt in use- member of staff took us down to the lobby with the service elevator- The desk clerk was surprised that the lift wasnt in use.There was a line of visitors waiting to get back upstairs.

    Th bed was comfortable- crisp and clean linen- the bathroom had been updated The breakfast was good

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2019

    10
    Great hotel in a great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only complaint, and I had to think hard about this, would be that the shoe cleaner had no creme in it ...

    The room had superb views over the beach and was very well equipped. Good bed as well -slept like a log. And the location is ideal; many restaurants nearby and the beach right in front.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    4.2
    Definitely NOT a 5-star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - Checkin in was done by an unfriendly trainee that first had to finish his personal phone call - First room was very noisy with two separate beds (asked for a king size) - After complaining they gave us another room but was not clean (dirty towels, bathrobes etc) - Waves, their restaurant, was terrible. Very bad services and overpriced - Spa: no staff to give you towels or point you in the right direction, not clean, beds at the pool are old and ripped

    To be completely honest, nothing.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    7.9
    Should be better for the Star Rating
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could be improved, as it has changed a lot during the last years that I know the Hotel; quality of WiFi; Room a bit cold. Wear & tear of the bathroom

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    9.2
    perfect location in Scheveningen
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very nice to stay here with a two years old child. All the activities are near-by, even in January it was a super adventure! Of course, the swimming pool in the hotel makes it very special.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2019

    7.1
    Good but not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms small and not what we expected when you enter the building. Facilities outdated, value for money not really good.

    Breakfast (the meal and the location/view) were great. Helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2019

    8.3
    Very nice ambiance, great room. Most certainly items to improve.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Please invest in a new mattress. It was not enjoyable that the person who welcomed us invited us to stay till next morning 12:00h CET before leaving, while getting a call next morning at 11:45h CET with the message we were late for leaving. While the two of us went out for diner, we used the elevator to go down from the 5th floor to the ground floor. During a stop half way, someone of the personal entered with a large trolley. We had to recoil to the back of the elevator. It was a bit intimidating.

    The location, the ambiance, the luxury of the room, the hygiene of the room. The view, the breakfast in the room, the person who delivered the breakfast. The extra flowers in the room. Just great.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    7.9
    For travellers who like old-fashioned beaches and hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are a bit oldish and not at the same level as the common facilities.

    It is an old fashion hotel on the Northern country, with a lot of atmosphere and excellent facilities (spa, swimming pool with view on the beach).

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    7.9
    Amazing historic building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast really wasn't that good, especially considering the price. I've had better hotel breakfasts for a lot less. We also found a bug in the bathtub, and overall it was a bit underwhelming.

    Amazing historic building. Wonderful gallery. Great, friendly staff. Beautiful location.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    6.7
    The building is beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bar is disappointing. I booked a sea view room and was give a partial sea view with a big building in front. I got a sea view room upon request but the view was limited by scaffolding for renovation. Appreciated the flexibility and effort but was disappointing.

    The building is beautiful. Pool is small but with nice view. Sauna and spa are nice ( except for people walking around in bathrobe even in breakfast room).

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    6.7
    Pleasant
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    From the beginning, we requested a water bowl for our pup which we never received. Additionally, I had booked an extra large bed but we got two twin beds joined together. This made sleeping difficult because the mattresses would move away from each other and cause a huge gap in between. Although we paid 25€ per night for our pup, we received nothing like a food bowl or water bowl to provide her a meal. The location itself is great but the view, not so much. As for the swimming pool, it had a very (very) salty taste which almost made it unbearable to stay in any longer than 15 minutes. The bathroom did not have any toothpaste, which I usually don't have to carry around as the hotels have them. Although these are my complaints, I am being nitpicky but had a wonderful time here.

    The staff at the hotel were polite and did not treat my partner and I (who are University students) and out of place from their usual crowd any different. They had a nice little pillow set up for my pup; which was a pleasant surprise. The bathroom had amenities like a shower cap, vanity kit and a face towel; all of which were welcome The fitness and spa facilities were nice and well maintained.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    9.4
    We felt quite at home and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Terrace door could not be completely closed. On windy days there was a draught through the door. One lift was out of action for several days. There were a number of unsightly cables hanging down out the TV. Dangerous for children.

    Charming atmosphere in whole hotel and especially in the room. Very friendly staff. Delightful location right on the wide and long sandy beach.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    6.7
    Great Location, needs refurbishment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stay in hotels at least once a month and normally at a 4-5 star hotel and I must say, this hotel does not compare to any 5 star hotel I've ever been in. It really needs a lot of refurbishment. No doubt, the hotel is beautiful and impressive from the outside, and could have been magnificent during its prime but now, it really needs a lot of nips and tucks. To start of, the elevator is really outdated, then there are the carpets that lead to the rooms, they are dirty and faded and has a lot of stains. The room is quite small for and the towels, oh my, the towels, there were holes in the towels that were provided in our room and the stitches at the edge were falling apart. Again the carpets in the room were also dirty. This hotel is really beautiful and has a lot of potential, hopefully the management takes action to update it and keep it a good state.

    The hotel architecture was really beautiful, it really shows a lot of history. The location was perfect, close to a lot of establishments, so plenty of things to do, right in front of the beach.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable and peaceful along with good food and excellent, friendly service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely room and the hotel met my request for a quiet one with lovely views. Excellent breakfast. Very friendly staff. Sorted out a couple of small problems in the room very quickly. Complimentary mini bar was a lovely touch.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    5.0
    Very dissapointed. I will never stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No welcome letter in the room or info about the hotel. Bad roomservice menu card only 3 things you can order and they charge 15 euro extra to bring the food to the room. No info about that the minibar was free. There was a coffeemachine in the room but there where no coffeecups for the machine in the box, they forgot to refill it. The room looks very old and the styling of the room doesn't match with the carpet and furniture. This is not a 5 star hotel, it's a 3 star. No info about Scheveningen and things to do or see there. The staff is not very professional, the hostess didn't know wich direction our roomnumber was left or right side of the building. At 9am the staff where ringing at the door to fill the minibar, they wake us up. No Christmass atmosphere in the hotel.

    The comfortable bathtube. Good beds.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    7.1
    History of the property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The whole interior was covered in curtained up areas, literally black curtains everywhere, felt like a morgue The pillows and duvet were down. Who uses down still? Dirty, stuffy, animal waste product in the bed. Asked for double bed and bath. Got the bath (thank you!) but our double bed was made up of two singles. I was not on a school camping trip! There is a huge picture of Putin drinking beer with the Dutch royal couple, with a text about diplomacy next to it. Very disturbing.

    History of the property

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2018

    8.8
    A really enjoyable stay - thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite a high step into the bath/shower. Might be difficult for older guests.

    Excellent breakfast buffet with splendid views over the beach and the pier. The sauna and swimming pool were a real bonus. We really enjoyed walking straight out of the hotel onto the beach. The room was spacious and well stocked with bathroom products, tea and coffee making facilities, an iron and ironing board, etc. The bed was particularly comfortable with the silkiest cotton sheets and high quality pillows.

    Stayed in December 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Grand Hotel Amrâth Kurhaus The Hague Scheveningen Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: