Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Lahaye 1 stars

St. Gerlach 5, 6301 JA Valkenburg, Netherlands

#34 of 52 hotels in Valkenburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 599 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Will come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt very welcome, very friendly and hospitable people, amazing calm atmosphere, we were explained everything about events, lovely places to eat, given maps and directions and timetables for trains, wonderful room and hearty breakfast. Bar opened all night. Extremely pleased, thank you!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    Good enough for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could hear all the noise from the rooms around, from the street, from the reception. It was frankly hard to sleep

    Staff was very welcoming and helpful, they make you feel like home, they even had coffee ready for us at 3:30am when we had to leave, fantastic

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    The staff is very friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is very friendly! The location is nice and quiet. The parking place is behind the hotel and there is a garden where you can sit and relax. The hotel garden adjoins the gardens of the castle. The room is basic but clean! Old shower but clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant, lively environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so welcoming and friendly, and were always on hand to help with anything. We went for the cyclocross world championships and the atmosphere in the bar was fantastic. Would certainly go back. Thank you!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    6.3
    No frills
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hostess was very abrupt with us at breakfast; believe this was a miscommunication between the owner and her however this was not our fault and made us feel like an inconvenience Very strong smell of cigarette smoke Advertised as a restaurant but it is simply a bar

    It fitted our need for a bed for the night Parking was excellent Host was very helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.5
    We enjoyed our stay at the hotel, as well as the nice walks...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We enjoyed our stay at the hotel, as well as the nice walks you could make from it. But what we really appreciated was their offer to prepare us a breakfast (- on - the - go) in the early morning of our departure day. We think that's good service, thank you!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    Excellent place to stay unless you like a big city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 16 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am a little larger than average, towels were. Good but small for me. So use two.

    Peter and Carol Were extremely helpful an knowledgeable. A basic accommodation, very clean, good breakfast, l would recommend to any one unless they want chocolates on their pillow.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.2
    Perfect basic hotel for cyclists
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are a bit short for people taller than 1.80m and there is indeed a distinct sigarette smell when you enter the bar of the hotel, but the rooms do not smell and are really clean.

    The owners are really friendly. They had no problem with storing our bikes inside and when we returned from cycling we could use their garden hose to clean our bikes. I enjoyed the old school atmosphere in the hotel. It is a truly relaxed place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.2
    Great Staff and value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room window was at road level in the access ramp to the parking (window had to stay closed for both privacy and noise... not a big factor). Able to connect to the open WIFI network only (A bit slow). The shower tent did not offered much protection from flooding.

    Great Staff. Peter is very welcoming the guests. He also offered a room upgrade for free. Lots of parking space (both in the parking and alond the road). Excellent value for the price

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    8.3
    Nice family hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    You could smell smoke on the landing from the pub downstairs.

    Good bed, clean hotel, looks old, but clean. The staff was really nice and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.8
    The owner/bartender is a very nice fellow who allowed me...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The "smokey" atmosphere in the room (number 1), it is directly above a bar (with separate smoking section, no smoking allowed in the rooms, yet there is a distinct cigaret smell noticeable. But you can easily open the window and having a bar at the entrance was a big plus for me. For people who really hate this smell in a bedroom maybe the other rooms not directly above the café are a better choice.

    The owner/bartender is a very nice fellow who allowed me, free of charge, to park my oversized van there for the whole day after checking out. I had three bikes in the back which we used to visit Valkenburg and Maastricht. The bar was lively in a good sense, and open until very late (depending on the public until 03:00). For us it was perfect, probably will be staying here again when having a mini holiday in Valkenburg.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    7.1
    Basic but clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is really basic. Its not for luxury travellers. But if you know this, the hotel is fine.

    Breakfast was included and the owners were really nice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    7.5
    You have seen the pictures so you know it isn't the Ritz...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar below smells smoky- but there is a separate entrance.

    You have seen the pictures so you know it isn't the Ritz right? A clean, honest place that has everything you need. Nice surrounding countryside, short walk through the fields to Valkenburg. Super clean, friendly staff, decent breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    7.1
    Good for 1 night stop over
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived we were told straightaway that somebody already checked in on my reservation. Of course the staff eventually sorted this out for us. I think something like this is unacceptable. They should check IDs to avoid such problems in the future. Also, the car park at the back of the property should be organised somehow so that there is still sufficient space for late arriving guests.

    Quiet part of the town, good location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    7.1
    Excellent basic Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee in the room

    Owners Peter and Karin excellent. This hotel is basic, but with a good sized room and ensuite. Nice breakfast in dining room. Small lounge near bar with TV. Twenty minute walk through the fields into Valkenburg, taxis available at a cost of approx. 10 Euro

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    5.8
    We were surprised to find that there was no soap in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very very loud during the night. Our group did not get much sleep at all.

    We were surprised to find that there was no soap in the bathroom for washing hands.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.6
    Nice stay in the middle of a long car ride.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very welcoming and friendly.All of them very fluent in English.The bar stays until early in the morning.The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    5.4
    breakfast is really poor no fresh fruit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast is really poor no fresh fruit

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location very friendly owners but basic rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No TV in room no kettle tea,coffee in room

    Very nice location very nice people who run it

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    very friendly personel, big room for 3 people, rich...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    very friendly personel, big room for 3 people, rich breakfast, free parking space

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable, basic and noisy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were very loud in the corridor early in the morning and at night.

    Extremely basic but it was comfortable enough and cheap.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    The location and the beds were incredible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and the beds were incredible. Spacious parking and near a beautiful walking/biking trail to Valkenburg.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    everthing
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    everthing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    5.0
    the room was an attic hole, a hard resignation to room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was an attic hole, a hard resignation to room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.9
    breakfast is good, location is good ,staff is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast is good, location is good ,staff is good. cheap and simple hotel: that is what you pay and what you get!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Style from 90'
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is really nice place without any pretend to be someone else

    Style from 90'

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    Excellent stay will come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners work in the hotel and are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and great for the city break.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    Nice staff & clean property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice staff & clean property. Location of my choice with beautiful landscape views and nature

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Brilliant place with a fantastic host!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant place with a fantastic host!! Quirky little bar in the hotel With the coolest Dutch guy who owns it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.9
    friendly innkeeper, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    friendly innkeeper, good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    6.3
    Cheap and fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelt of nicotine

    Price

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.9
    Nice reception and nice people, has the private parking lot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The equipment in the room is simple. But equal to the price.

    Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.3
    Lovely bread rolls!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely bread rolls!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    6.7
    We decided to not have breakfast there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We decided to not have breakfast there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.2
    Very friendly owners, good location, minutes away from...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly owners, good location, minutes away from Maastricht. Clean room,nice breakfast. Would definitely go back and recommend to friends.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    6.3
    have to drive 10 km out of maastricht to find decent priced room
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hidden cost extra tax 3.8eur to add to price from booking.com.

    Good Breakfast included.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    8.8
    Friendly staff n clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smoking smell coz the bar is downstairs.

    Staff, maybe the owner is very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    8.3
    Basic accommodation but adequate, very friendly staff and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic accommodation but adequate, very friendly staff and extremely helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    7.5
    The kindness of the owner in preparing breakfast before the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nulla

    The kindness of the owner in preparing breakfast before the normal time because we were living early in the morning. Very nice location in the country village. Only 15 min by car from Maastricht. Early in the morning you can do jogging in the countryside

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    7.9
    Friendly serviice, excellent breakfast and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Booked a double room and ended up with twin beds pushed together. Also, not really in Valkenburg despite the description.

    Friendly serviice, excellent breakfast and very clean.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    8.8
    The gentleman who welcomed us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing really. It's not in the middle of the city, but that is clear from the description.

    The gentleman who welcomed us. The view outside from the breakfast room. The very reasonable price. The ambience.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    7.9
    The host was very friendly and helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Since clients are allowed to smoke in the rooms, there was a strong smell of cigarette smoke in the room. I'm asthmatic, so I had problems being in the room.

    The host was very friendly and helpful! He gave us directions and a map to get to Valkenburg and he was very concerned about our well-being. The hotel wasn't very far from Valkenburg and the walk to the city is very pleasant!

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    5.8
    Hotel was in a pretty village and the Train Station was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Basic room. The staircase would be difficult for guests with mobility problems. No TV. If you want to use the Train the ticket machine only accepts maestro cards. Luckily for us a local used his card at the station and we reimbursed him.

    Hotel was in a pretty village and the Train Station was nearby with frequent services into Maastricht. There was free safe car parking. The Owner/Manager Peter was very helpful and full of knowledge about the area. It was also only a few miles into the pretty tourist town oi Valkenburg. We chose the Hotel for its location close to Maastricht as we had booked to see Andre Rieu and his Johann Strauss Orchestra in Maastricht, We travelled by car from England UK. Hotels in Maastricht were expensive and there were few vacancies because of the demand for rooms whilst the Concert venue was there. Also difficult for car parking in Maastricht then. We stayed 3 nights in the Hotel and had a pleasant stay. The Hotel backed into a beautiful nature park and grounds of a Château and Church celebrating its 850th Anniversary. The nature park would be ideal for hikers.Also the area was a cyclists paradise!

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    9.2
    Perfect breakfast and very Nice personnal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect breakfast and very Nice personnal

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    8.8
    Very friendly and helpful staff, nice hidden location, cozy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is far from the town, but the walk is pleasant.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, nice hidden location, cozy atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    8.8
    Nice staff, tasty breakfast, cozy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only one toilet on the floor

    Nice staff, tasty breakfast, cozy room

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    7.5
    Cheap and very cheerful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cheap and very cheerful! Basic rooms, friendly staff. Not hugely luxurious, but if you need somewhere stay - it's clean and comfortable!

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    8.3
    Clean and comfortable .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It's basic but that's fine .

    Clean and comfortable . Friendly

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    7.9
    Friendliness of staff, breakfast, surroundings of hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was clear that shower/bathroom were shared, but not the number of people to do so.

    Friendliness of staff, breakfast, surroundings of hotel

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    6.3
    Prima ontbijt
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Geen professionele betaling: klant moet wisselgeld uitrekenen

    Prima ontbijt

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    10
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location. The service. The people.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Guests also reviewed these properties: