Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Conscious Hotel Museum Square 3 stars

De Lairessestraat 7, Oud Zuid, 1071 NR Amsterdam, Netherlands

#114 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1844 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.3
    Fresh, Clean and friendly hotel in a great quiet location, close to transport and attractions.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are two pillows to choose from in the room - one very soft one and one very firm one. The soft one is feathers and gives almost no support, the firm on is some kind of synthetic and is almost solid. Something in between would have suited us.

    Super friendly and helpful staff, very warm welcome, great location. Everything very clean, breakfast good. Wine hour in the reception lounge was a nice touch. All facilities as described. We had a great stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    Great spot for museum hopping!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's slightly on the pricey end but considering the fact it's Amsterdam...

    Bonus point for this place: A wine happy hour from 5-6pm everyday! Staff was super helpful and friendly, providing museum reservations, commute to the airport (there's even a bus schedule posted on the wall), etc. I love the bed, big, comfortable, firm. It really offered a sweet spot for resting after a long day hopping between sites in the city!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee not provided in room.Flip flops in rooms not provided.

    Location perfect. Cleanliness. Friendly staff . Proximity to tram station, bus station, is close by .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Really enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have nothing to say here it really is a great hotel.

    The staff are amazingly helpful and friendly nothing was too much trouble for them. The rooms are very clean and spacious with great showers. The living wall in the lounge is beautiful and loved the decor throughout. We didnt stay for breakfast but it looked very nice and unlimited tea and coffee 24 hours was great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel 5 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great hotel in a lovely location. The staff were amazing and so helpful. Have us restaurant recommendations and an umbrella to hide from the rain. What a great place!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    The room was large and comfortable, so was the bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was large and comfortable, so was the bed. Breakfast was generous and offered a lot of choice. The staff were all super helpful. Loved it!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    A great option on Museum Square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A great option near Museum Square. The room was very comfy and larger than I was expecting. The staff were all excellent and the common spaces were welcoming. Very easy to get to using transit.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    The room is very cosy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great except for the bathroom. It definitely could be cleaner. The breakfast was just fine, nothing special.

    The room is very cosy. The personnel is marvellous.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Amsterdam and Conscious Hotel were spot on to our expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we did not like

    The location was a VERY short stroll to all major museums. Staff was great to us. All requests were met with prompt assistance for maps and directions , reservations.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    Relax, cosy and good comfort hotel. Close to museums zone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good hotel's location is you want to visit the most important museums. Shops and calm streets. The hotel offers a 100% organic breakfast. The staff is friendly and if you ask they give you good tips or advices for what to do. Amsterdam is a beautiful city.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.8
    Great place to visit Amsterdam in a nice and quiet place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The taxi (onderdeed by the reception) back to the station made a big detour and therefore too expensive. Tea/coffeeshop on the room would be nice.

    The staff was very friendly, great neighbourhood, nice back garden.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.5
    was lovely, would recommend to a friend.
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    hanging lights plus no air conditioning added to the room temperature, couldn't turn it off an individual light .

    Was a lovely little hotel, the location suited us perfectly. My family and I only stayed for a short number of days, which this property is better tailored too, short stays. Bonus was that you could rent out bikes which then made it easier to move about the city.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.8
    The bed and pillow were super comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Conscious Hotel has this sliding rate. On weekends their tariff doubles. Very annoying.

    The bed and pillow were super comfortable. I rested so well, I needed it after coming from a gruelling sight-seeing schedule in Russia and BERLIN. Amsterdam is always my point of landing and departure in Europe. So it is good I get adequate rest before and after my tours. I like the Conscious Hotel Museum Square because it is easy to find. The trams and busses pass by it, so you can arrive after dark and not miss getting to it with the airport shuttle Bus 397.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Great place to stay if you're museum hopping!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice hotel within walking distance of the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum. Staff is very friendly and helpful, rooms are clean and comfortable, and the decor was modern and inviting. Breakfast was very nice :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and clean place to stay in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast is not included in the price. Many hotels at similar price point do include breakfast. I knew this though when making our reservation. Certainly was not a deal breaker.

    Clean and comfortable. Friendly and helpful staff. Close to museums and an easy walk to just about everything we wanted to see and do.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable, friendly, fresh and superb location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    For 15 Euro the breakfast wasn't great value for money, few options and ran out of fresh tomato/cucumber at 9am. The room had no AC, I was staying during a heat wave this was difficult to sleep. I imagine during cooler times this would not be an issue. The writing on the room doors is a bit strange....

    The staff were extra friendly and accommodating - arranging laundry, transparent about costs and very helpful with frequent strange requests. They also set up breakfast 1 hr early to ensure I could east before my flight. The bed was incredibly comfortable. The breakfast was delicious, fresh bread and croissants, yoghurt pots and all you could drink coffee.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Very cute room tucked in the center of the city near...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very cute room tucked in the center of the city near everything a tourist would want to see. Only one block to Museum Square, and many other interesting things, including the river, were within walking distance. Great staff!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location, friendly welcoming staff, rooms ok, on pricey side but that seems par for the course
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Inaccurate information about paying for rooms on two different cards, which led to complications (still not resolved despite a phone call after return home); unclear invoices. Would prefer an a la carte option to also be available for breakfast.

    No the croissants were not extra flaky they were oily and heavy! The bed was not super-comfy but was ok. I loved its staff (the welcomes, the friendliness) but there were major flaws in their responses to questions about paying (when two friends wanted each room cost put on separate cards) and this wrong information caused continuing issues even after returning home and after a phone call to the hotel from Scotland. The breakfast was I suppose good value for that kind of food, and again the staff was delightful; but it's not really the kind of food I prefer to eat during warm weather, and if all you want is an apple and a couple of soft boiled eggs, it's not good value, really. I did very much enjoy the large spacious light room (404 I think) and loved the words about each room posted on the outside doors:-) I absolutely loved the location - by the Concertgebouw (2 min), the Keyser restaurant (ditto), Museum Square (3 min from Van Gogh Museum whose show about Japanese influence on VG we had come to see), and canal open boat tour at far side of Rijksmuseum. There is also a great seafood bar (recommended by staff - thanks! - a 10 min walk up main street from hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable, friendly, unfussy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For us caricature English tea drinkers there were not enough mugs! The tiny coffee cups are useless for tea.

    Comfy bed! Really unfussy hotel but comfortable and great attention to the environment (except for the coffee creamers!). Loved its location, central enough but quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    Loved Amsterdam very friendly staff at hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure to bathroom taps poor. Not a biggie.

    The beds were very comfortable. The location was excellent tram and bus stops outside. The customer service excelled able to provide directions to concert in the evening and provided local knowledge rather than being reliant on google. Wine hour was a nice touch.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    The hotel is placed in a very Central Area in Amsterdam,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is placed in a very Central Area in Amsterdam, hence if you are committed to sightseeing, and for tourists such as ourselves it is just perfectly located and museumplein adjacent. The entire place is endowed with a very cozy atmosphere, the staff is positively charming and the installations just make you feel at home. This place was a true finding for me, with an authentic feel that went as far as the hostess ( a most dazlingly outgoing Ethiopian whose politeness is second only to her willingness to help a rundown latin-american traveller feeling down in his luck after missing a flight home) offering me a bike rental to roam this beautiful city and yet being an enough host to acknowledge a guest that very much embraced both the local attitude towards life and the and the environment while being notoriously and embarrassingly( and more so than ever in a city where everyone rides a bicycle) unable to ride a bicycle (aka yours truly). The breakfast offered on the morning i partook in it was both satisfying and plentiful, with harty and choice options for both those who would favour a rather English styled breakfast and a variety of bread, dairy, fruit, deli meat, cereals and pastries to fulfil South American ( and dare I say fellow peoples of Latin origin expectations...) tastes! Overall I would wholeheartedly recommended this hotel to anyone that would like to stay in Amsterdam and have their stay feel like a temporary dwelling in the city ( in the most positive of lights), as opposed to a "prefabricated" experience ... as most international ( as well as large and local) chains would offer as pristine. This hotel is, in my view a Jewell in the heart of Amsterdam

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.3
    LOVE LOVE LOVE
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    COULD HAVE CHANGED THE LINEN WE STAYED FOR 6 NIGHTS , HOWEVER IT IS CONSCIOUS SO I UNDERSTAND

    I LOVED THE LOCATION , THE FRONT DESK STAFF WERE FANTASTIC EXTREMELY HELPFUL WITH REGARDS TO ANY QUERIES THE HEAD OF HOUSEKEEPING YAEL WAS GREAT , I WOULD DEFINITELY RETURN

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    Great place for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room quite basic - very limited room to hang clothes & only 1 drawer for 3 of us No bin Room right next to toilets Would have liked drinking water in the room

    Close to museum square (about half hour walk from Amsterdam Central) Really comfy beds Free tea & coffee (from restaurant) Lovely outside seating area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location, and staff were exceptionally friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, and staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. It was very relaxed and we had a quiet room at the back. Free tea and coffee at all times was a welcome bonus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location and a very comfortable hotel with lovely staff. Will definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was good but we felt it was a little overpriced. The chef was was very nice to talk to and eager to provide items we liked.

    the beds were incredibly comfortable. Staff were most welcoming and helpful and the overall atmosphere was relaxed and homely. Great location and so nice to have a glass of water provided on a hot arrival by the delighful housekeeper. This was followed by a delicious glass of wine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.7
    Too warm to stay during hot days
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioning and the rooms were stuffy on a hot day. There was no in room facilities to boil hot water. Felt more like a hostel than a hotel. To pay about 200 euros a night you expected more.

    Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    This was my second stay, it will always be my first choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, walking distance to museums, one block to the Concert Hall, great near by cafes and restaurants... Walking distance to the Center. Near by the street with designer shops P C Hooft Straat....easy excess to all trams...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed our stay, the staff and the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The price was quite high - 200 euros a night for 10 nights. We booked about 2 months in advance. I saw lower prices as we approached the time of our visit. Unfortunately the booking was not eligible for cancellation.

    Nice quiet room on the top floor on backside of hotel. The staff were very pleasant and courteous. They smiled a lot which is wonderful. They also served a complimentary glass of wine in the evening. Nice touch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    EXCELLENT!
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    THE BEST ATTITUDE AND SERVICE WE MIGHT EXPECT. ALL OUTSTANDING KIND STAFF, HELPFUL AND WELL INFORMED ABOUT ANYTHING WE NEEDED IN ORDER TO GET AROUND. VISIT . WARM AND PLEASANT. WE ARE GOING TO CHOOSE THIS PLACE ON FUTURE PLEASE SEND OUR RECOMANDATION TO THE HOTEL THANK YOU RUTH BAUM

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    A great location with rooms of a good size and always cleaned well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes it seemed understaffed at breakfast and wine hour. Only one person couldn’t possibly keep up with her responsibilities at the wine hour, keep her eye on the front desk, be pleasant and make sure everyone had what was needed (but she did very well). At breakfast, with one person(?) tables sometimes weren’t cleaned off as quickly as they could have been. It seemed like that person also had to run the dishwasher at the same time so there would be coffee mugs available (but she did her best and was always pleasant.

    Convenience to major museums and trams. Helpfulness of frontdesk staff - giving directions to places, etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    An oasis of calm, within easy reach of the cities' attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The garden needed a tidy up, and perhaps more seating. A larger selection of prepared fruit at breakfast would be good. The shower was slippery, especially for my husband who has balance problems, so a rubber mat would make it safer.

    Lovely large bedroom, and nice bathroom. Lighting was good. Croissants were delicious, and coffee from the machine was very good. We enjoyed sitting in the garden, especially with a glass of your good wine. The scent from the wisteria was wonderful. Yaeli, your housekeeper, was charming and very helpful. It was lovely chatting to her, and she rightly sings the hotel's praises.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Very efficient check-in and check-out, friendly and helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The "minimalist" style in the room is nice, but maybe large expanse of white wall could be relieved by a little more decoration - felt slightly stark?

    Very efficient check-in and check-out, friendly and helpful staff there at all times. The room was very comfortable, large and perfectly clean, dining area and nice garden area to sit in. We had a front, ground floor room, so we were worried it might be noisy, but in fact it was very quiet. All round excellent stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was delicious but a bit pricey.

    The staff was super helpful with directions both for the tram and by bike. They helped us find a canal cruise and a bike tour. We borrowed their bikes for the day and had a crazy wonderful time! The room was clean and super eco-friendly. Perfect location, 5min walk to the Museum Quarter.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel, great staff, excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi not working - but not the end of the world

    Excellent quite location just off Museum square and very close to the bus stop from the airport. All the staff we met were friendly, welcoming and approachable with excellent English.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.3
    The hotel was a comfortable place to stay with good tram/bus links to the airport and city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little too soft but that could have been rectified if we had told the management sooner.

    Free tea and coffee in the cafe/ reception Free glass of wine and nibble at 5pm Extremely friendly and helpful staff Breakfast was tasty and plentiful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.9
    Good value, clean, friendly hotel in great location; fabulous staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A touch more comfort; seat pads on wooden chairs in bedroom. Need walk-in showers rather than ones over bath; which I couldn't use (mobility issues) and large dispenser bottles (eco) need to be next to where they are used! Understand refurbishment planned in 2019

    Helpful, cheery, friendly staff. Good breakfasts. In great position, by stop for airport bus, near concert hall and a few minutes walk from Museumplein. Loved the humorous touches around the place. Had fantastic meal at MOER restaurant at sister hotel The Tire Factory.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable stay with friendly, helpful staff ....clean, comfortable and great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked to see more mugs as I like to drink tea ...and fresh milk.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Nice informal feel to the hotel which is helped by not being too large.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.5
    The bed was quite comfortable and the room quite big for two...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It wasn't clean enough , it hasn't got fridge and it was a little bit far from the centre square.The price was to high for sure it could be a little cheaper for the benefits he had.

    The bed was quite comfortable and the room quite big for two people.Also it was very warm and modern.The staff was incredible and very helpful in all the things we asked.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    A Week in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near to museums and art galleries. Easy to walk into the old centre of the city. Great organic breakfasts. Good WiFi. Near to good restaurants. Free coffee and tea, wine hour 5-6 pm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location, lovely staff, A little expensive but you pay for the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Alvin kept the breakfast there for us latecomers!! Staff very friendly but you seldom saw the same person on 2 days except for the lovely girl who checked us out ( Sorry but staff have no name tags ??)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    April 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This isn’t really an issue with the hotel but there aren’t a lot of restaurants nearby. You need to plan whee you’re going to eat before venturing out. Alternatively, you could book a meal with the hotel.

    The staff were so helpful and friendly. The room was big enough for our needs and the shower was perfect. We had a hairdryer in the room too which helped. Breakfast was plentiful and very filling. Location was fantastic! From landing at Schiphol and arriving at the hotel, it took 40 minutes on the public bus. Great location near tram and bus stations meant getting around the city on wetter days was no problem at all. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would book again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast with all organic and fair trade products was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room etc could use some paint.

    Breakfast with all organic and fair trade products was really good. The wonderful specialty coffees are available all day at no cost. The immediate vicinity to the Concertgebouw and several museums is perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Reasonable, comfortable hotel with excellent location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not like that my room was at street level with road users looking into my room. Also the lighting in the room is all or none - just one switch for all the lighting. The bacon at breakfast was all overcooked and too oily.

    Location is excellent. Shower / bathroom was very good. Bus from Schiphol stops just a few meters away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    Very close to museum quater, only 3 minutes to walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    .

    Very close to museum quater, only 3 minutes to walk. To get at the cental station is very easy you can get the tram number 16, in front of the hotel. Hotel is in a quiet area. Staff are very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    4.6
    Good location but could be more confortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not as expected Bed not comfortable Room was very big but no fridge, not even a luggage rack. Safe did not have a key and they said they would make a new one, but that never happened.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Amsterdam is cool and the staff in this particular hotel are cooler.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We didn't like that we had to come back home

    The staff were so warm. They treated us like friends. It was so nice to feel comfortable straight away in their company. The room was really good with sufficient space and storage.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.8
    fine
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfasts were rather basic but I didn't put on weight !

    I was after ART and their location was perfect. I didn't want much in the way of facilities and what they have suited me though they were not extensive. The staff were friendly and helpful for what I asked.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    The bed was super comfortable, really easy to get to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was super comfortable, really easy to get to the rest of Amsterdam via public transit or walking! Staff was also very accommodating with anything we needed. Thanks!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location, amazing staff and a great little hotel, let down ever so slightly by the bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds and pillows weren’t great and by day 3 i was ready for my own bed

    Staff were absolutely amazing, and couldn’t do enough to help us. Hotel was situated in a fantastic location close to the museums and all Amsterdam central touristy spots. Bedroom was clean and tidy and i loved the wine hour the hotel put on every night from 5-6 with a complimentary glass of wine

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.3
    Excellent helpful staff, free glass of wine in the evening,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room... No 14. A very poor place for a guest room. Right next to the lift and the check in desk on the ground floor. You could hear conversations and the lift being called day and night. Such a shame because otherwise the hotel was excellent

    Excellent helpful staff, free glass of wine in the evening, free tea and coffee, very clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.6
    A great value base for exploring Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee making facilities in the room. Otherwise perfect and great value

    Fabulously large room and comfy beds, friendly helpful staff and great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.3
    Great location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast too expensive considering that you can buy more affordable food at the Albert Heijn located nearby. This is a "green" location, you cannot pay cash, only by credit card which in my case also included additional conversion fees from my bank as I was not having an euro account.

    Great location - 2 mins from Museumplein - and good value for money. Friendly staff and very clean. Room was spacious - we had expected a smaller room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.3
    Great place to stay for a two night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a little tired looking

    Location excellent - very close to cultural properties and exhibitions. Quiet area. Transport to and from hotel very near

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    Perfect location and spacious rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sanitaryware could use a retouch.

    We had a room for three people, and it was incredibly spacious with really comfortable beds and good selection of toiletries. There are happy hour deals between 5pm and 6pm, too!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    Pleasant, comfortable, clean and satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I could give a negative on would be the late check in time of 14:00 but it clearly states in the ad about this

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Everywhere was very clean and looked exactly like advertised. Highly recommend staying here.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.2
    Stayed f. a night due to unexpected flight cancellation. Very convenient loc. + liked the tea !
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about, but - imagine that having breakfast in summer (indoor courtyard) must be really nice ! - bedroom clean etc. , did not exceed my expectations

    I liked especially: - Super friendly and helpful staff - Very good and complementary tea and coffee day + night (in the lobby) - Breakfast (Personally, I would have liked a little bit of curd/cream cheese in addition, but that's just my personal taste and probably not a very Dutch thing. ) - Spacious and very clean bathroom with nice towels - Location: bus stop maybe some 100 metres from the hotel, museums really close

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.6
    Great location, near museum square (super easy to arrive on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed topper and pillows were really soft - I prefer firmer.

    Great location, near museum square (super easy to arrive on the airport bus). Close to nightlife, tourist attractions, and nice restaurants and cafes. Very large room, friendly staff, nice bathroom, quiet at night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable stay in a convenient location for the museums.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was okay if not a little basic for 15 euros each.

    Very comfortable bed and I am very fussy. No feathers in bedding as I had requested due to allergy. Very friendly and helpful staff who were knowledgable about the facilities, restaurants, trams in the local area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.6
    Great location /accomodation made our trip to Amsterdam
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quilt was a little thin for me , but other ppl in my group found it adaquate , Pillows a little soft & bed a bit to soft for me - everybody is different , can’t please everybody’s taste

    Spacious bedrooms Friendly staff especially the cleaning lady (can’t remeber her name something beginning with a Y , she was in the military ) she was extremely friendly & helpful Very clean Unlimited Free coffee//cappacino/tea Location Free glass wine between 5-6 pm

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.2
    good for business or holiday travel, excellent service, very friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    sound insulation to next door rooms could be improved.

    good for business or holiday travel. excellent service, very friendly staff. not luxurious, but sufficient and very clean. quiet at night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    Feel at home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location, very close to museums and many places of interest. Easily reached from the airport and all public transport is nearly outside the hotel.The stuff was very friendly, communicative and helpful , available 24 hours. The room was very warm, cozy, clean with comfortable beds. We were pleased with the ecological policy of the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    We loved the welcoming relaxed manner of the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In room 407 it was difficult to open the shower screen door. There were only hard or very soft pillows. I would have preferred a medium pillow. (First world problem?!)

    The service was excellent. My daughter loved the croissants, cinnamon bread and petit pain au chocolat. I loved the natural yoghurt and kiwi fruit. My son loved the bacon. My husband liked the scrambled eggs. There was something for everyone.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.3
    Would look for more suitable accomodation for young children! Safety first!Child rates!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I booked for 3 adults and 2 children aged 2 and 7.We had 2 rooms.The rooms were not child friendly as the 2 year old could open the door .As you can imagine this posed a danger if mam was to use the bathroom.I did mention it to staff who expressed their surprise!Second challenge a 2 year old could fall out the window if this was not supervised.Therefore I think the hotel is not suitable for young children.The stairs is quite steep and we were charged full price 15 euro for breakfast for the 2 year old until I pointed this out.I think the rate we were charged was the rate5adults would have paid..There was different staff at the desk all the time.

    Very comfy beds Great location Friendly staff in dining room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Excellent position and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The breakfast was excellent. Lovely choice of fruits, meats, cereal and breads. Three types of fruit juice and yoghurts. The coffee machine was wonderful. Our room was very comfortable, plenty of space and of a sensible temperature. The bathroom was roomy with plenty of tops to stand creams ad soaps on. Very friendly and kind staff who were extremely hellful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.8
    Lovely, relaxing, cool, central, quiet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No fridge in the room. Cost was quite high (but it was a very busy week in the city as a whole due to ISE exhibition at the RAI)

    The room was spacious, well provisioned, with a friendly welcoming vibe. The bed comfy and warm. Great main reception, breakfast/coffee and waiting area. Very helpful staff. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.5
    perfect eggs, on request custom made by very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    noisy hallways, doors slamming and big gaps under doors with light and noise coming into the room at night..

    perfect eggs, on request custom made by very friendly and competent cook!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.6
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff and confortable rooms. This was a reasonably priced hotel in a quiet neighborhood but still easy to access the main part of downtown Amsterdam. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    10
    Great friendly 3 star hotel, with museum location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A shame we didn’t wake up early enough to enjoy the breakfast, the beds were just too comfy. 😃

    Great location, happy, friendly informative staff. Close to restaurants/cafes. Comfortable room with a lovely shower head. And they stored our luggage in a locked room while we explored further on our last day. 😃 oh and the airport bus was just round the corner at 5 euros who could ask for more.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower cap, toiletries fixed to wall were empty

    Design and comfort of room and bathroom. Knowledgeable, friendly and helpful staff. Excellent location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.6
    One of the best hotel in town in terms of price/performance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    noting really

    very nice hotel. amazed with spacious room. we were spoiled with happy hour wine :) very clean decent breakfast. comparably decent fare nice location, very close to every popular attractions welcoming staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.2
    Friendly and clean hotel very close to the Museumplein!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows are a little too soft for my taste, otherwise nothing else

    Very clean rooms, shower pressure, good location in a quiet neighborhood but still a quick walk to any museum or the Concertgebouw, very friendly and informative staff. Note that this is a hotel that provides everything you need and only that, which means they don't have extra shampoo bottles/tissues, etc. That is how they stay eco-friendly :) But if you need something (I needed a power adaptor, forks, bottle opener), the front desk was very helpful and was able to provide everything I needed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel for what we were looking for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bath would of made it better but that’s been picky.

    Very comfy beds with clean fresh sheets. Everywhere was clean and tidy! Such nice staff who gave us maps and held our luggage as we arrived too early to check in. Always someone on reception to ask for help and directions.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The cleaning of the room was not too good, but acceptable. The room had a bad sound insulation, we listened some noises from the hall and from other rooms

    The hotel was very cozy and beautiful and the room was very large and with a nice decor. The staff was very friendly and gave us many good advices We were celebrating our first anniversary and they sent me a nice bouquet of tulips, beautiful!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    - Great Staff, polite and very helpful giving...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Great Staff, polite and very helpful giving recommendations. - Nice Breakfast - The room was very nice and clean. - The area couldn't be better with great transport and activities. Is not close from the most touristic area but that is a benefit for me.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    A lovely comfortable hotel with a very friendly staff and good location to museums.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was too expensive and not many choices.

    Nice quiet neighbor with shops and services. Buses not far from Hotel to reach Central Station and city shops.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Conscious Hotel Museum Square traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: