Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tulip Inn Leiden Centre 3 stars

Schipholweg 3, 2316 XB Leiden, Netherlands

#7 of 17 hotels in Leiden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1370 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit noisy (traffic)

    Good location. Close to train and bus station and only short walk to the city centre. Modern room, maybe not OK for people who are just friends because there is not much privacy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No toothbrushes or apology for not having them. No air con in room or toiletries - apparently because thus was ‘only a 3rd star room’ - missed connection meant I had no luggage - expected better of this hotel chain.

    Bar staff were most helpful in providing help that reception wouldn’t eg food, drinks and searching for toothbrushes

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Absence of hot drink facility in the room.

    Excellent location to explore Leiden and so close to the train station (but we weren't disturbed by noise from trains). Room was spacious and very clean. Bar perfect spot to unwind after a day of sightseeing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I know, the Netherlands can be pricey, bu we felt that for what we paid, the value was not great. The hotel is fairly average, just like any chain (Travelodge or Ibis for example). The rooms are modern enough, however they are lacking any sort of additional comfort. I for one was really missing a kettle, I thought this was standard in hotels nowadays. Also the room was quite dark. Room service costs an additonal 7,50€ which seems disproportional. 7, 50€ only for bringing food up? The view from the hotel was a dire look at the multi storey car park next door. Altogether it was an average stay and I don't think I would stay again.

    The housekeeping was excellent, everything was very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast buffet was not as good as it used to be and beds although newer are now getting soft and need refreshed.

    WiFi worked very well, and hotel is well taken care of.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wouldn't waste money on paying for the covered parking (12,50 € per day). You can park outside the hotel in a secured area free of charge.

    Quite well situated, close to the railway station and within ten minutes walk from the town centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My laptop was stolen from my room while I was out in the afternoon. The staff did not provide any clear explanation about the way the thief went in. So, in addition to economic damage, I felt unsafe during my stay and slept with a chair in front of the door to prevent someone to get inside again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is rare in my experience that a 3-star hotel doesn’t offer tea kettles in the bedrooms. For that you’d need to ante-up to the 4-star Golden Tulip wing!

    Wonderful breakfasts, fully worth the extra cost. Excellent kitchen overall with innovative and delicious dinner menus. Great location near station and city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Need extra electricity, at least 1 power between bed in family room (4 single-bed). Need to mop under the bed.

    There is 1 halal kebab restaurant outside Leiden Central Station that open until late. Leiden Central Station (train & bus) is just 5 min walk. Parking is on the same building surrounding with office building. We stayed during week end, so parking was always available.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I prefer hardrer mattress. I would also appreciate minibar or small fridge and tea kettle.

    Standard clean room with new bathroom. Very good location nearby the central train and bus station and also few minutes walk from the city center. Easy and fast check-in and check-out process. Baby cot in the room (free of charge) as it was agreed with the hotel before our arrival.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location of the hotel is excellent and the service has been outstanding. We also tried the restaurant and it had both vegetarian and normal options, great wines and a cheese platter with local produce. Most days we took trains to Amsterdam and the area and it was very convenient. We enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was perfect for getting to and from the train/bus station! Parking on-site east and convenient. Walkable to all the great restaurants and city sights.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The room was very clean and modern with a large and comfortable bed. A great bathroom with a good shower. A good location close to Leiden station and walking distance into the centre of the town. Overall the room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Access and car parking not easy to find - the road tunnel rather spoils any view! Be prepared to circle the block a couple of times until you find the back door/car parking.. Restaurant food was good but the menu is not the best.

    Normal business hotel, convenient for train station and on the main road network. Leiden centre itself is a short walk away with reasonable choice of cafes/restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small coffee maker or electric kettle to heat water in the room for tea or coffee would be nice but otherwise the room was well equipped and comfortable.

    The location of the hotel is perfect near the Centraal station and everything is within easy walking or biking distance. This was a very comfortable and affordable hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid the price for a 4 Star hotel and got a 3 Star room. No coffee facilities available only at the bar, and charged to your room.. Breakfast was overpriced as well. No fresh OJ for €16.50. Car parking is overpriced as well..

    Didn’t have dinner there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t like the price of the breakfast so we opted to go get food elsewhere.

    This property is nicely located with plenty to do around it. The staff was very friendly!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed in the Tulip Inn was probably the worst i have soent the night in. We had to upgrade to get a decent room. The original bed was so uncomfortable and i had a particularly small pillow and it smelt old and unpleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My view was of a parking garage, other than that...no complaints.

    The hotel was nice and clean. Great proximity to the train station and a close walk to all the restaurants and centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff is great, but there are only two agents at the front desk at check out during a holiday, which can make the waiting time longer than expected.

    The hotel is just walking distance from the central station and the city center, it is very clean and cozy. It has been 12 years since my first stay, and I am positive to say that they still serve the Best Buffet Breakfast in town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little hard to drive to due to construction, but that isn't the hotel's fault.

    Very good breakfast with meats, cheeses, breads. Many beverage choices. Good location close to train station and center of town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At arrival we had to pay extra for parking and breakfast (also breakfast was a bit pricey), as well as tourist tax. So an additional 25 € per room. This was not super clear to us in advance. Maybe we did not read carefully enough though....

    I liked the size of the room and the view. In general the atmosphere was friendly. We forgot our toothbrush and got new ones at the reception.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy street next to the hotel. It was still quite noisy in the room even with windows closed. Then need more sound proofing.

    Network hotel, clean and nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room had a curious square pillar in the middle of it, right up against the bed.

    Very good location near to railway station. The room was a reasonable size, and very quiet even though on the front of the building. Lovely buffet breakfast each day, hot and cold selection. The staff were all helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking situation is not acceptable. We were supposed to pay 13 euros for one night parking. At the same time the streets surrounding the hotel are free between 9 pm and 9 am. Regarding the quality of the hotel and the price for the room a parking facility without extra charges should be possible.

    The breakfast was great. Same for the room. Overall a good hotel to stay foa a couple of nights.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Easy to find hotel a short walk from Leiden train station and an equally short walk from the local market square and centre of town. The staff were very helpful, when we arrived we had lost some property on the train and they did their best to help us find it. The hotel is comfortable with a good bar and restaurant and the hotel is good value. Leiden is a lovely Dutch city and well worth a visit

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is very basic. No tea/coffee facilities available. We were charged 2 euro for a small pot of hot water.

    The location is very good, close to the train station which handy for a day trip and easy to get to the old town. The room was clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What we did not like was the state of the room because there was a leakage in the roof which leaked into the room. The carpet on the 4th floor where our room was had staines. We got an other upgraded room. At night, in this second room, going to the toilet, my husband stepped in glass sharves. and had a small wound under his foot and hand , not realising in the dark what it was.The next morning we found more glass sharves in the carpet. We were angry about this and went to the floor manager who came first thing to vacuum.At the reception we reported what we had found but the reaction was first:'impossible.' Then apologies. We expected a discount at the end of our stay for two mishaps of the rooms, but we did not get anything apart from ten euro off the only breakfast we had in the hotel.

    We did like the location, close to town. Staff were friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the staff were really cold and unfriendly. After breakfast closing time I wasn't allowed another cup of coffee. Yes I was actually but it would go on my bill. Never had something like this in all my years of travelling. The way she said it was really unfriendly. It can ruin a stay and experience. The carpets in parts of the hotel looked old and dirty.

    Big rooms and big bathrooms. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only slight niggle was being automatically checked out before the 12 check out time, meaning we had to get a key card to go and get our luggage - we got back at 11-50. Reception staff were absolutely great though. Otherwise all was good.

    Family room was very spacious, bathroom was very big. All very modern. Room was exceedingly quiet as we were at the rear. Being about 300 yards from the station was great, but it was only a 10 minute walk to 'the action'

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We couldn't find anything to improve on.

    This location was very easy to get to from the station and only a short walk. Our room was spacious and very comfortable, with good facilities. The staff were welcoming and friendly and checking was easy. We slept well and breakfast the following morning was lovely. Plenty of choice both hot and cold. Only a short walk alongside the canal took us into the centre if Leiden too which was great. All in all a lovely stay and we would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    When we arrived, e were asked would we like to upgrade for 10Euro per night, this included tea/coffee/mini bar and air conditioning. I was really taken aback by this, what modern hotel doesn't have air con as standard? We had to take it, I don't like feeling like my hand is forced. Got to the room, tea/coffee/mini bar consisted of tea bag and no milk?! The mini bar was a menu left in the fridge. Our cups were not changed or cleaned over the five days and the tea /coffee was minimal. I found the staff at reception very unfriendly. The bar staff were very nice.

    Excellent breakfast. Great location. Bar staff were nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Standard class is said (by reception) to have only a centrally regulated air condition (you can NOT control it individually/seperately in your room!!!), which is not custumous for us in Austria... We insisted to change the rooms during the night, which was possible - but took exactely 45 min. (which is round about midnight too long - we had a child 14yrs. old with us). Hotelmanager kindly charged us "ONLY" for the supplementary bed and not the upgrade... Execept this fact the standard room would be great (and even "better" than the upgrade double-room/appartm.)...

    close to Centraal/Bus-Station... breakfastbuffet

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed consisted of 2 single beds. And they were seperating from each other, so that a gap was occuring between the two beds. This was really uncomfortable.

    The breakfast was great. The staff was smiling and helpful. The check-out time was not early, which is 12 noon.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No toothbrushes & paste provided Not enough Children's channels No tea/coffee making facility No in room safe

    Location was easy to get to and from

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Showers on non-renovated rooms are rather small, showers in renovated rooms have no doors, so you get the floor wet easily and it's a bit annoying. If you get a room with windows to the main road it can be quite noisy. Do not book your stay here or in any hotel in the same area around the 2nd and 3rd of October if you are on business to the city, it will be noisier as it's a city party and there's entertainment on the streets until late.

    Very close to train station and restaurants, easy walking distance. 10-15 minutes tops to city center. Nice rooms (there are some that have been updated, but they are all large). Bed is comfortable, the breakfast buffet is sufficient. The Tulip in is the 3-star hotel. You can also stay at the 4-star part of the hotel called the Golden Tulip.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I personally couldn't find anything to improve on.

    Convenient and very easy to get to the hotel from the station. Comfortable beds and pillows and decor. The breakfast was great, very good choice and pleasant surroundings to eat in. Staff were friendly and polite and ready to help if needed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No possibility to do tea or coffee in the room. It is already standard in 3 stars hotels. Few peple on the reception was just cold to the clients. So more kindness to feel people welcome in the hotel would be well seen.

    The hotel has very nice design. It is really peaceful. There is the very comfortable parking which can be used by both golden tulip 3 and 4 stars hotels. Hotel is located quite close to the city center and many restuarants. Anyway i would advise to try the hotel restaurant as it seems to be very good. The manager of the restaurant (i guess) organized a very nice table for the birthday little party for our baby. We ate some snacks and sweets and they were very good!!! So presume also the dishes must be as well. Special thank to that very nice woman who organized that fantastic birthday party and the very nice waiter (unfortunately i dont know their names) !!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It was all good

    Secure value for money and excellent staff. Location was very goos for exploring this part of Holland. Better to visit Amsterdam from here than to pay much higher rates for less in Amsterdam.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The road from the train station to the hotel can get pretty busy w/ bicycles and cars especially during weekday peak time, no mini-fridge (was told that only 4star rooms have one) provided in the room, no kettle as well. Elevator seemed old, was a bit scary riding them.

    Close to the train station, smoking area w/ benches provided just outside the entrance, hotel had 2 elevators, ice machine (free ice) available on the 2F, free wifi, train info was provided on the screens placed around the front desk leading up to the elevator hall, room was large enough to open up 2 large pieces of luggage w/ no hassle, hair-dryer was stored under the sink

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much. Our shower was the smallest I've encountered.

    This is an excellent place to stay for touring this part of Holland. The hotel is 2 mins from the railway station and we used it to plan our trips. The hotel itself is well presented with friendly staff. Reasonable prices ,good bar area. Our room was very quiet at the rear of the building.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Helpful staff, clean and silent room. Five minutes walking distance from Leiden Centraal. Near the main tourist attraction, places to eat and shopping places. Excellent breakfast (although a bit expensive) with many alternatives. Fine restaurant downstairs.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We need a double bed but we found there 4 single beds.

    Big room, clean and you find everything you need, if you are traveling. The location is excelent, next to the train station and near to places to go out.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Generally, hotels should publicize that there are options other than the breakfast bufett, which is too expensive for people who would prefer a continental breakfast. This would didn't offer it, but was accommodating when we asked for it.

    Beds were the usual standard for the continental Europe hotel category. We didn't take the €16 breakfast option but the hotel restaurant gave us a sandwich and coffee at a reasonable price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was disapointed that there was no waterboiler and i had to go down to the bar to get tea and coffe all the time. It was also only two extra pillows when there was 4 beds. We had two rooms, and the other was ok. It was also too little toiletpaper. ( 2 half rolls for 4 people for 2 days.)

    The breakfast was exellent. Plenty of tasty bread and things to drink. One in my company is allergic to gluten. She said that the glutenfree bread and cerial was very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was disapointed that there was no waterboiler and i had to go down to the bar to get tea and coffe all the time. It was also only two extra pillows when there was 4 beds. It was also too little toiletpaper. ( 2 half rolls for 4 people for 2 days.)

    The breakfast was exellent. Plenty of tasty bread and things to drink. The glutenfree bread and cerial was very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It was difficult to understand that there are two different hotels by the same name at the same location and that the room we booked belonged to the three star inn. The shower was extremely small and in the room there were no coffee corner [water heater] and no mini bar. When we asked about the availability of a water heater we got the reply that only 4 stars room get one.

    The location near Leiden station, the center and the Supermarket is very convenient.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I would appreciate mini bar or small fridge, I also prefer harder bed mattress.

    Spacious room and bathroom, good wifi connection. Very close to the Leiden Centraal station, so you can reach airport in about 15 minutes and A'dam in about 30 minutes. Leiden center is about 10 minutes by foot.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I prefer tea-coffee making facilities in a room,to have your own hot drink any time when you want.

    Very polite greeting,parking £12,50 for 24 hours ,even if you have checked out .Nice interior ,good size room,very clean.Perfect buffet breakfast.Good location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not get rooms facing highway, incredibly noisy from traffic and people wondering around until all hours. Fortunately we were able to move to another room for the remainder of our stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little warm would have been nice to have some coffee in the room.

    Great WiFi. Comfortable beds. Fresh breakfast. Good decor. Well located. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very comfortable beds, excellent breakfast worth the rather high cost and easy walk from the station and beautiful town. A perfect base to explore delightful Leiden, the Keukenhof and bulbfields.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was NO MINI BAR, so could not keep my drinks cold. NO SAFE either. Lighting in the room is poor, very small lamp on desk, lamp on night-table small, should have light above me in bed, no washcloth in bathroom, the heating element is below window behind couch so heat may not reach the room through curtains and couch. There was space along the wall to put the couch, would have been better. It would be good if you offer a price including breakfast.

    Did not have croissants, buffet breakfast was good, varied. Bed was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are not air conditioned if you stay in the summer. The carpet is stained. The maid did not do a good job cleaning our room. The bathroom floor had a piece of trash that remained there for 4 days. The extra toilet paper roll was not replaced. There could be shampoo given as an amenity.

    The location of the property was great if you arrived by train. It was about one block within walking distance of the train station. You could also walk out the back door to explore Leiden. The hotel is within walking distance to a good selection of restaurants. There is also a Jumbo grocery store nearby. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They delivered items promptly to our room that we requested. The beds were very comfortable. For a budget hotel this is a good choice as the price was very reasonable. There also were a lot of electrical outlets in the room. The WiFi was fast and easy to use. We ate dinner twice in the hotel restaurant. The soup and desserts were delicious.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road noise was loud all night as our room overlooked main road.tea and coffee making facilities would have been nice.comfortable friendly hotel

    Easy check in all staff were very friendly and helpful.Bed was very comfortable and room was clean and spacious.Good selection at breakfast could not want for more.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No real complaints.

    We were in Leiden for one night an had a family room (4 single beds in a double configuration). Nice large bathroom, everything clean. Breakfast seemed a little pricey at E16 per person, but they had a very large selection of nice foods, juices, etc. and that kept us satiated for most of the day so worth it in the end. Checkout was noon which was great because we didn't feel rushed to be out by 10 or 11 like other hotels, and in fact were able to do a little driving tour before returning to freshen up before checking out at 12. Parking was great at E12.50 for 24 hours. Even though we checked out at noon, we were allowed to keep our car in the small secure lot the entire day of the checkout. The hotel is located just across from the train station on a main road so convenient, but not a tourist neighbourhood, but a short walk of about 300 meters puts you right into the old town city centre. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows could not be opened Carpet should be renewed Small shower

    Very friendly staff Good room size with enough storage possibilities No noise from outside, even though station and main road are close

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No refrigerator in my room. The body care products were only given on the first day

    The location is in the centre. It is easy to get to all the places from here even by foot

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking the rooms for ample shower gel and soap. Not a big problem as the front is open 24 hours and soap arrived promptly.

    Central to buses and trains. Easy stroll to the centre of Leiden. You can catch the train to Amsterdam Central, the Hague or even the airport. Great location and hotel. We even saw snow. Rooms well heated and insulated.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sure there are minor minor details but completely ecclipsed by the rest of the hotel's service

    Unexpectedly the staff were not only fantastic but the experience in the restaurant was rather lovely. Specifically: we took the menu of the day (carpaccio of tuna and prawns) which was really good, the small steak (bavette) was very tender and for dessert the creme caramel was crusty and splendid. The Chablis was really good value too. Service very good too. Well done them!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, right beside Leiden Centraal station. Very comfortable beds and good shower. Staff very pleasant and efficient. Leiden is super close to Schipol airport and a quick train trip into Amsterdam. Its also a very nice city to spend time in, good museums, canal walks etc

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price for the breakfast per person could be included in the room price

    The location of the hotel is perfect, one minute walk from the railway station and the city centre. Good choice for the breakfast, and good rooms. Definitely a good place if you want to explore the Netherlands by train

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They only have twin beds in their rooms...There is no safe box in the room.

    Great breakfast (at extra cost from the room rate) and good location if you want to stay near the central station.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Disappointed there was no tea / coffee making facilities in bed room. No plug in basin. Found the bed a bit soft - we like a firmer mattress

    Location to the train station. Excellent service in bar one night when we came in after mid-night and wanted a hot drink and they started up the hot drink machine for us.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow uncomfortable, lack of coffee and tea in the room, inconvenient arrangement with the car park ( needed to carry with me piece of steel pipe attached to actual garage pass) pass arrangement needed to be returned every time to reception. Card like for the room would do the job. Bikes cost fortune for a day, can't rent for half a day.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was decorated a bit boring (this is obviously not a real issue)

    Nice hotel on a good location. Room was very clean and bed was comfortable. Breakfast offers plenty to choose from, so everyone will enjoy it.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Wifi signal was really weak, and I had to move to right next to my room door to get more bars.

    The location was unbeatable, just right in front of the train station of Leiden central.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Minibar,Minibar! There was no minibar and this hotel deserves a minibar no matter what! And of course when you need a fresh air the windows are semi open as a standard dutch mechanism. I hate it. Also there was no climate control in the room.

    I definitely loved the breakfast! Lot of choices, staff are ok, nice hotel. Very closeby to train station. One more thing, there are small displays are actually showing train departures which is totally cool.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast too expensive. we had two rooms booked first we were in a family room. and after we had a twin room Wi-Fi was not so good.

    The staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant require a reservation ,The reception / reservation didn't inform us about it , even on the room card mentioned that the restaurant is open from /to a specific time without any information like ( reservation is required ) .

    Everything is fine ,hotel is so clean and location is perfect ..

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the pillows, they were pretty uncomfortable.

    The location was great for the train station and the center.I also liked that the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room is not really soundproof

    the hotel is at a superb location, 3 min walk to central station and 5 min into town; the room is huge and well equipped, esp. a water boiler is a plus.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Shower way too small, with much wasted place around it...design fault. Breakfast very crowded, but it was July.

    Price very fair for Leiden. Staff good. Room a good size. Bed comfortable. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room temperature was too hot and no means of cooling. Did not use bike rental as it was 16 euros a day compared with 7.50 euros a day elsewhere .

    Good selection of cold and hot items for breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No do not disturb sign, tea/coffee facilities or ironing facilities

    very comfortable room and good shower and the room was very comfortable and clean

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Tulip Inn Leiden Centre traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: