Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lloyd Hotel 3 stars

Oostelijke Handelskade 34, Zeeburg, 1019 BN Amsterdam, Netherlands

#214 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3050 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the living room and bedroom lights were on the same switch so if the living room light was on so was the light in the bedroom. Would have been better if lights were independent.

    I like that the rooms were a bit quirky.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Couldn't locate the Quooker point on the first floor to make a morning coffee, but no real grumbles at all!

    Contemporary, modern, multi-designer interior in an historical building, that still makes you feel a sense of the impact the Lloyd had upon Amsterdam's past.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The physical layout of the room with the shower located in the middle of the living area without being enclosed (!) proved challenging.

    Positive experience in the dining room over several days with staff and quality of food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasnt made feel welcome. Hotel was all over the place. The shower was in the middle of the room which was weird. Definately not worth the money for the room. 3 stops away on the tram from central station so that wasnt too bad. Chairs and table made from rubber and very noisy downstairs outside. Theres tea and coffee making faxilities but thats in the corridor behind doors and no milk provided. Didnt feel welcome at all in the hotel and do not recommend to stay.

    Bed was very comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Each corner, floor, stair and view is exciting and astonishing! Never had such a good bed, a huge wardrobe and so many coat hangers in a hotel room. Staff was very helpful. Breakfast was okay in spite of some shortage at the egg-front. Lloyd is a perfect starting point for excursions to Amsterdam-Noord. Bike rental and change of bike after a flat tire very uncomplicated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms and the building are extraordinary. Lots of history. The staff is super friendly. Location is super! Just out of the city centre, away from mass-tourism. Rent a bike to get around.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was quirky and interesting but a little creepy feeling, with lots of banging and clanking all the time as it backed right onto the elevator shaft, and the walls were so thin. Also the bedside light was dodgy and kept flicking on and off. I would visit the hotel again to go to the bar or to eat but I wouldn't pick it to stay again to be honest.

    The staff were lovely and helpful. The breakfast was also very good with great variety.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite nice hotel, good area, tram station next to hotel, 10 minutes to Centre. Docela pekny hotel, dobre misto, tramvajova zastavka vedle hotelu, 10 minut do centra

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a confirmation on a dubble room with shower and bathroom and also our little dog was confirmed. When we checked in, we were told that our dog was not welcome because the hotel had changed their roles a few days after we bookends and that they now would offer us a dubbleroom with sheread bath and toilet in the corridor. Finally after a big discussion, we where offered a normal dubbed room with bathroom and shower and our dog didn’t had to sleep in the car. After all this commotion, we had a nice stay in Amsterdam. So be aware of your confirmation and if in doubt, cal the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Amazing place to stay - if you're okay with a 15 minute straight walk to central Amsterdam, stay here - amazing hotel with friendly staff, supermarket nearby. Who can ask for more? We will stay again, thanks :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Keep in mind that all rooms are different. Our room had the toilet in a place with little sound isolation. Simply ask at the reception for a room with a more isolated toilet/bath room if you find that more convenient.

    Good place to stay for reasonable price. The hotel is clearly not average and has a long history. This makes it stand out from the hiltons etc. Very easy to reach by tram and bike from central station. Clean rooms, friendly staff. Supermarket and restaurants around the corner. We booked one week in advance in May and had a low price, the evening before we would have paid 25% more. Something to keep in mind.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 215 was sterile. A little color would help. We found the shower in the room to be inconvenient. It needs a shower stall not just a shower fixture on the wall. Other rooms seemed better.

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Bright and convenient cafe with good choices.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clear about room. We booked twin but said for an upgrade and move us to something like basement without view. Like cheating. I am not happy with thí.

    Staff is helpful all the time, even i can feel she is annoyed a bit and trying to answer my quétions

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We definately over paid for the room without a doubt. Customer service was shocking when we rang up about a very undercooked burger and was refused for a new one. I was also disappointed as on the ad it stated the hotel was 250 yards away when in fact it was around 2900 yards away

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A staff in the reception was rude to us when we complaint about a cleaning issue

    Food was excellent. Cleaning staff friendly and helpful once the problem was identified

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For a tourist, the Hotel felt a little isolated, however tram was close by.

    The hotel had a unique atmosphere and you felt somewhat attached to the history of it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We originally had 2 nights booked, our airline then went on strike so I reserved a room for 3rd night all though this was pay on arrival. A few days later the hotel told me that they had no rooms left but that I could uograde for a few hundred euros. It was clear that they just wanted to book the room out at higher rate for someone that had pre-paid, was a shame really as otherwise everything was ok.

    Quite good value (by Amsterdam's standards). Cool design and building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cool Design, high ceilings, our room was very unique with artdeco design elements We enjoyed really enjoyed it. The Lloyd hotel is in short walking distance to different public transportation stations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the reception is small and by the door, always a bit of a queue and a bottleneck for guests passing through on the ground floor...with all that space relocate it! no shelves in the 2 bathrooms we used to put things on or hooks for towels or clothes.

    The hotel vibe. Easy going feeling great terrace in the sun for drinks and meals realxed experience

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not have tea or coffee drinking faciltiles

    The room wasn't very clean. Stains on the divans and pillow cases. Hotel itself was fantastic. Staff brilliant especially Sarah. Hotels location fab.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think to pay 145 for a a room is overpriced. For the same price I can stay in a Hollyday inn hotel in London in a better area. The staff is just ok, except the old gentleman who works in the morning. The apartment was noisy because of the cars and the curtains di not block the sunlight so I woke up earlier than needed.

    the artsy aspect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not suitable or comfortable for 3 single people. Open shower without a door and one uncomfortable fold away bed which was eventually changed.

    Nice buffet breakfast, nice bread and coffee. Interesting quirky hotel design. Good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - it's was a brilliant stay for Kings Day.

    Having travelled to Amsterdam on several occasions this hotel without a doubt is my most favourite yet! It's 1-5 star rating all under one roof is unique and quirky and I personally loved this. The staff were friendly and helpful and the position of the hotel was excellent (it's ideally situated near a tram station making travelling around the city exceptionally easy). I will most definitely will be staying here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms didn’t feel very cosy but this could be simply a matter of taste! The hotel was further from the city centre than we anticipated but Uber worked well from outside.

    We loved the quirkiness of this hotel. It wouldn’t be everyone’s taste but it suited us well. We didn’t like our first room but the manager was very accommodating and let us choose from 2 alternatives.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a quirky hotel with different designs in each room. I'm sure some are fantasic but ours fell a little flat with having to mop up after every shower and having no bathroom door. It was also quite expensive for what we got, I read a previous review that said The Lloyd was like a glorified expensive hostel and I do agree with that statement.

    The location was fantastic. Beautiful residential area that was quiet with nice views and restaurants. Majority of the staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A misunderstanding about whether the breakfast was included or not on the reservation made us pay extra 30 euro. The breakfast was good but very expensive.

    The room we got was really interesting. Looked like an apartment with a real touch of an old building. Impressive

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Free instant coffee and tea are a value, having none of the room/floor is not. All power plugs in the room elevated on the wall. Shared bathroom sign written in dutch "Badkamer" did confuse me.

    The artistic sense and demonstrating the history of the building. The co-working space and library is a real added value. The view from the room is the best feature, waking up to the sight of the dutch IJhaven. Super easy commute to central (3 stops on a very frequent tram line)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located in an excellent area. Peaceful close to tram with which you can reach the center in less than 10min. Bar, pubs and restaurant around are great. We received an upgrade and we stayed in a room that was super cool with a big living room and the theme of the room was Pharmacy. Quite scarry at the beginning but after few minutes we loved it. Staff is really friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be prepared that you could take a shower in the middle of the room. I had this experience in room called Swan.

    Definatelly it is not boring. You never know how your room will look like

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe tea and coffee in the room or perhaps a continental breakfast included in the price. We paid £90 per night per person which I feel should have included some form of breakfast. The hotel was very far out of the centre so the only option was to pay for breakfast at the hotel which was very expensive. Also there was no mirror near a plug socket to dry my hair.

    The style of the hotel, old prison very interesting with lots of history.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service skills of one member of staff.

    Check in lady was a little strange at first. For some reason booking was not put into my name even though I had booked it and frankly she was rude initially in trying to sort it out, making it appear like somehow it was my fault. Anyway afterwards we were dealt with by her again and she was absolutely fine. Everyone else was fine. Frank the bartender and Stephanie in particular. Overall a beautiful hotel that I would recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The history, the library, close to tram line and therefore convenient to get into the centre of the city. Staff very helpful and housekeeping staff in particular were charming. The building itself was fascinating and so comfortable, like a home from home with comfy sofas in the hallway and a sunny, book filled library where you could curl up in a soft chair. Also, the room choice of 1-5 * meant you could have access to luxurious surroundings and services whilst paying an affordable price for the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is definitely not much that I could complain about! Just two staff members didn’t seem as friendly as the rest.

    Staff is super friendly and the whole location and architecture is absolutely stunning. Every room is very unique und has an artsy character.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have preferred a kettle and more amenities in our room but understand this may come with the higher rated rooms.

    I loved the decor of the hotel and how original it was. The staff were extremely helpful and location was brilliant; 2 minutes walk to the tram!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room facilities were not worth 681e for 3 nights ... the room was big and different but not confortable and it was missing a lot to be that expensive ... but thank god the staff was really cool! We slept in the 4stars room the Apoteek

    The staff was really nice and the room was original .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for what the size of the room is. Nice idea to convert the old building (possible old hospital) but rooms and bathrooms don’t feel comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no kettle or way to make a hot drink in my room. The heating wasn’t on and the windows were open when I arrived late in the evening which meant it was very cold for the first night.

    Style of room and color

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very nice to stay in a place with so much history and different concepts around the building. The location is very good (central, but far from the city center buzz).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I travel for business and forgot a toothbrush. I was told i had to buy one from the shop. This isnt a cheap hotel and for the price i would expect a but more. Breakfast was not good either. Overall, I would not stay again.

    Some excellent pieces of furniture

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had a share only 1 toilet and shower with loads of people which was not clear whilst booking this. The toilet did not even have soap to clean our hands and both facilities smelt. There was also no drawers to even put our clothes.

    The bed was comfy. Staff were very friendly too which was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We reserved for 1 night me and my brother we paid extra to have a delux room! No view ! We ask for 2 bed ! 1 bed add to paid 17 EURO (that we add to negotiate because it was 35 EURO) for another small and no confort at all Bed!!! The worst 209 EURO INVEST IN MY LIFE !!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They were not entirely truthful about their distance from the city center. Maybe they confused "walking distance" with "walking to the tram lines next to the hotel and using that instead".

    They can be cheap, interesting and have fun breakfasts. Character, reliability and customisation abound.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were “rustic”. Mine was in the basement so you could hear everybody outside and the windows didn’t seal properly. No chair in my room to sit down in. Just the bed. Comfortable bed though!

    Staff and inside of the hotel were great!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I felt at both check-in as well as check-out more as a disturbance than welcome. First night I was woken up 3 times due to loud people in front of my window (1st time) and then twice in front of my room door. Second night was OK then.

    very fancy and nice hotel with cool room designs

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problems with booking - the cheapest rooms are very noisy . No seperate heating in bathrooms.

    Nice building - design - original - location and good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taking a shower in the middle of the room was new and interesting. I guess one time is enough though.

    It was fun to explore the hotel. Nice architecture. The staff were helpful. They always tried to meet customers requirements. Also, the bed was very comfy!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room where we were originally allocated did not have a closet/wardrobe and the shower section was very small with the toilet seat just next to the shower head. All the electrical sockets were located high above the wall-panels that the mobile rechargers were dangling/hanging unless otherwise you have a long lead. No closet means that all clothes /costs/jackets had to be hanged along the top of the wall-panels along the walls. The room itself had enough space to create a closet and a more practical shower/bathroom space. There is a ventilation shaft above the beds, which was closed but still cold draught was coming through. We had to change a room for our second night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were in Room 611, 6th floor.. the bathroom is unfit and inadequate for a shared room, especially if you are travelling with colleagues: the door does not close (!!!) and there is not a proper separation with the bedroom, just glass partitions. Also, the lights in the bathroom were very poor.

    Helpful and kind people from the staff! Nice and quiet location, public transports within walking distance, easy to reach the city center. Good price in comparison to the rest of the City.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Does not correspond at all to what we expected. Furthermore, it was never stated anywhere while booking that we would have to share our bathroom with other people.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shared bathrooms are not cleaned frequently, they can be quite nasty at times.

    The staff was nice and very professional. The location of the hotel is great, and you can also find restaurants/cafes/supermarkets nearby. Public transport is also easily accessible even at night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little smelly The lighting wasn’t very good There weren’t plugs close enough to the mirror

    The bed was really comfy and the staff were extremely helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the money, I think the mattress could have been much softer. I have a very bad back anyway, so this would have made things easier for me.

    Excellent room size and great features. It was presented very well!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The "buffet" breakfast was TERRIBLE, MISERABLE and overpriced. All cold food for 15 euros per person, when we could have gone across the street and gotten HOT food for much less. Then the waitress wanted to charge us extra to make us a simple scrambled egg!!! Stay away from this buffet!!! When we checked out the receptionist just apologized and said that's the way Dutch breakfast is - in all our travels in Europe I've never had such an overpriced breakfast buffet without hot items.

    Good location, about 10-15 minutes in tram, 30 minutes walking along the water to Centraal Station. We walked to Centraal Station from the hotel along the water and it was refreshing. We liked the history of the hotel, but it's obviously old and has basic amenities so that's something to consider.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didnt save our room had to ask for them to clean a double otherwise sleep in bunk beds. Then didnt clran the room had to ask to change the bedding.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The original room was in the basement and there was a party going on directly above us in an event room (we checked in around midnight) and could hear everything. Also the beds were twin when we requested 1 double. Pretty pricey for where it is and what you get.

    Staff were really friendly and helpful (as is everyone in AMS) sorted out the issue with our room immediately. Quirky and unique building with lots of fascinating history.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit small There is no roll-down blind in the room

    Free Wifi Really interesting interior design Amazing artistic platforms Clean Terrace outdoors, in case you get to have better weather than us :) Quiet area near to the city center Good price (last minute booking)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in the cellar and the corridor was REALLY warm...I'm just picking here though, it wasn't a problem at all as the room was a perfect temperature.

    Really novel place to stay. Travel links to the centre of town were fast and close to the hotel and it was fantastic value!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room furniture is old and not appealing. sofa in corner is useless. and the wood bench is old and not appealing. staff was not very friendly. Cold personality. Multi tasking sort of ignoring us. Not so pleasant.

    the morning breakfast and the eating area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was very clean and nice. It was better than I expected because I payed so little. Definitely a big bang for you're buck. The only negative was the distance from the Amsterdam city center, but there were restaurants, bars, and grocery stores nearby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sharing a bathroom

    My only issue was sharing a bathroom. I loved everything else, location , comfort and cleanliness.the staff were very helpful and professional

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    what bothered me a little was that it was about a 20-25 -minute walk from the center, the trenches and the entire Old City. There is a tram that brings you to the city in 6 minutes so that it is solvable.

    The hotel is built in an old, architectural-style building. It has "hidden" corners and hidden entrances to designed spaces. The proseboards are furnished with second-hand old furniture that looks really cool. The service is pleasant and lots of people in the public spaces, having fun and drinking beer. It's like a club for travelers in Amsterdam.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly out of town but the tram is right outside so 10 minutes into the centre

    Such a cool building in a nice location, the room we were allocated wasn’t our cup of tea but the staff were very accommodating and moved us, even at 11pm! We were offered a few alternatives and found our Japanese themed room super cosy and stylish

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I paid more for a double bed since I was traveling with my partner and the hotel did not know about this and gave me a twin bed room. After asking for a change they gave me a very dingy room in the basement with a double bed. I was very disappointed with this option as well since the bed was inside a box and it felt extremely claustrophobic. Finally, the third time they gave us a more or less decent double bed room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were offered a poor room for the price we paid. We did get moved on second night to a much better room

    Hotel was a bit rough except for the luxury suite which was amazing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The kitchen took up most of the room, leaving nowhere to sit and watch TV minus the bedroom which was a closet bedroom. The hairdryer was also faulty, and cutlery was covered in dust.

    The hotel has lots of character and history. Although the hotel is located outside of the city centre, it is 50 yards from the tram stop, with trams running every 5 minutes and taking 5 minutes to get into the centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and helpful staff. We bothered them a few times for extra blankets, kettle, fridge for our food, even the history of the building. Always got quick help with smiles.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was asked if I wanted breakfast.. I was not told that it would be a buffet and would be charged at 15 euros. As I only wanted coffee and croissant this was rather extortionate... Wish I had been given the choice of a la carte at check in.

    Beautiful room, lovely atmosphere in the hotel ... quite like a club!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room with open bath room

    make sure you will check if you get a room that you desire, as there are different quality of rooms and some with OPEN bath room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bathroom is in the room, and the water splashed and the room is wet after we take a shower, my husband had to clean the water,lf you have a shower curtain,lt is better

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bad smell coming from the bathroom toilet.

    The location and the room are amazing. The staff service was great, at first we got a room that was already occupied but as soon as we told them they apoligised and gave us another room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Check-in and general service very poor. Had a terrible check-in experience, room smelled like an Amsterdam coffeeshop: weed and cigarette smoke, especially bad in the bathroom and sucked into the curtains. It was supposed to be a non-smoking room. Staff first offered we could change within 30min, but first wanted us to experience their 'magic spray', which of course didn't work. So we went back to the reception and opted for the change but were scolded for changing... And had to move our luggage to the new room ourselves.

    After changing rooms, we had a great room, very bright, double height ceiling with tall windows next to the bed. Breakfast was great, and restaurant staff also very kind in general.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiled floors lead to a lot of noise, thin windows and curtains kept out little outside noise and street lights. Bathroom was so grotty my daughter didn’t want to use it but as it’s all we had she had to. People noisy inside and out at 1am taking showers at midnight

    Staff were helpful and friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was €17.50! Should be discounted for people staying in hotel.

    Nice hotel, very unusual with lots of character and a little bit creepy but nice and comfy bed and clean too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paid 185 euro to stay in an old prison, the room is so empty that you can hear yourself talk. No confortable chair to sit or to work, the shower is in the room so if you book a room for two make sure its your partner you are taking. I would def not recommend this hotel for business people

    size of the room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't find any faults at all.

    The building was very interesting in itself with a lot of culture of it own. Public transport right around the corner going all different direction which was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Lloyd Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: