Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Netherlands hotel reviews
  3. Noord-Holland hotel reviews
  4. Amsterdam hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Lloyd Hotel

Reviews of Lloyd Hotel 3 stars

Oostelijke Handelskade 34, Zeeburg, 1019 BN Amsterdam, Netherlands

#283 of 449 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3340 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2019

    8.3
    Love this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was very expensive for what it was, however this is my opinion so should be taken with a pinch a salt! The room, whilst amazing, was also a little dirty, and did not have many plugs.

    Room was absolutely stunning, hands down the coolest room i have ever staying in at a hotel. Staff were also amongst the kindest, most accommodating people I have ever met in a hotel! A bit far away from central Amsterdam, but was easy enough to travel to and from.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2019

    6.7
    Everything was not as we expected
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They offered us one large bad, instead of 2 separate, that we booked. Moreover there was completely transparent window in the bathroom. You could get any privacy because of this. That was not acceptable at all, taking into account the fact that we were staying with colleague. Also we found out that this building was a prison for 40+years that’s what also ruined impression of staying.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2019

    10
    Felt like at least a 4 star hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing about the hotel at all. Not related to the hotel, but in their restaurant they don't cook their burgers all the way through which was off putting and I didn't eat it.

    Ideally located just 8 min walk to tram stop. You can buy tram tickets from reception. We stayed on the 5th floor on the end. Hotel room was amazing. Shower was clean, bathroom was so cute as it was wooden-blinded off as apposed to walled-off. Perfect temperature, nice fresh smell. Heavenly soft bed. The reception let us borrow an adapter for the entire stay at no additional cost just a deposit that we got back. Amazingly friendly staff who was helpful at pointing out things to go visit on a free map. It was my girlfriend's 21st and the hotel bought her a chocolate bar and put balloons in the room free of charge!! No complaints about anything.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2019

    6.3
    Has potential, lacks delivery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The reception team at Lloyd were pleasant, helpful and I couldn't fault their customer service, however, with service staff and builders that were constantly taking up the lifts, pushing ahead of guests and it felt as though guests of the hotel came second to their needs - it was quite strange if I'm honest. We had a superior room as it was our honeymoon, sadly, not much was superior about the room which was quite deflating - although the hotel were informed of our exciting news, they hadn't gone out of their way to recognise the occasion either (no points added for attention to detail and customer service). We liked the quirky layout of the room, although at points impractical when someone is using the bathroom. To get to the bedroom you walk through a small living area and the bathroom (with shower and toilet). Despite lots of room on the walls, there were no mirrors (or pictures) in either the living room or bedroom - with only a small mirror above the sink - if you want to see what your outfit looks like perhaps spend a little time in the lift which is fully mirrored. Overall, it is a brilliant quirky place with a story and character. Friendly atmosphere and we would recommend the hotel, whilst setting clear expectations.

    It was incredibly easy to get around Amsterdam and to Lloyd hotel. The design is quirky and it had history to the building which is explained in the stairwell. We were offered the opportunity to dine on a remote island, a brilliant suggestion by the hotel staff, they were brilliant in arranging this and it was a real highlight of our trip. This hotel has huge potential.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2019

    8.3
    Great building, magic atmosphere in a perfect location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the female staff were helpful and lovely, however one boy was a bit up his own a.. in reception. To quote Friends: "in a weird way he had too much power".

    The bed was very comfortable and I slept very well. I received a free upgrade to a 4 stars room which made all my colleagues very gelous. HISTORY and design Combined.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2019

    5.8
    Hip and happening not if you are looking for comfort
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very industrial room interior with bathroom in a box. Lighting very bad, in particular in bathroom and no closet or usual amenities such as tissues.

    Ambiance of hotel and restaurant in particular

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2019

    8.8
    Great, quirky, interesting and historical hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar over the road was a little noisy until quite late but it’s a great bar if your there. Otherwise nothing negative.

    The bedroom was huge, comfortable and industrial in style. The history was really interesting with lots of photos of its previous life. Breakfast was good. Close to the trams and good restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2019

    5.4
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sanitary towels in a un emptied bin ! Two ex prison single beds with wafer thin mattress when we requested a double bed ,, cob webs all over !!The windows that couldnt open plug half way up wall !! And last but not least ... mirrors should be hung for English dwarfs I didn’t get one look at myself all weekend 😂

    The friendly staff !! But lacks cleanliness!! The history of the hotel ,was my main purpose of staying !! But staff was to busy to help with my questions So I had to discover my self because no one knew its history !! So disappointed 😔

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2019

    7.1
    Close to cruise ship dock stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Design is old and entry to room is through bathroom. Not cupboard to hang clothes. Noisy on Friday night due restaurant across road.

    Walking distance to sea cruise ship dock. Close to supermarket and shops. Room has river views.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2019

    6.3
    Ok, decent hotel but a bit unconventional.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold at night- no way of regulating the temperature at night. A bit strange- not sure if I like the shower right in the middle of the room with no door.

    Good location. Nice staff. Room was good for one night but had a bit of a strange layout

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2019

    5.0
    Mixed - underground/basement room and humid smell in...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room smell & basement location that was not properly advertised on booking.

    Mixed - underground/basement room and humid smell in otherwise really nice hotel, great location and friendly staff. Strange walk-through shower bathroom at room entrance.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2019

    10
    We loved the history of the Hotel, who knew it was an old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All was amazing!

    We loved the history of the Hotel, who knew it was an old prison! How cool! All very clean and tidy! The lady on reception welcomed us with a bottle of champagne as it was our honeymoon, so lovely! The restaurant is one of the top restaurant's to go to in Amsterdam so that was handy! Train right outside so super easy to get to and from central! I recommend staying in a room on one of the top levels with a view of the river and make sure it is with a private bathroom! SUPER COMFY beds!

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2019

    7.9
    The Lloyd Hotel is very interesting 😃
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we were given was in the basement, that was fine. Unfortunately the tub/shower was in the middle of the room, again we could deal with that. The shower part didn’t work at all. The staff was very nice and moved our luggage for us so our day in Amsterdam was not interrupted. The second room was great!

    The location was great. Easy access to central station. Rooms were clean and interesting. If you’re looking for something different or out of the ordinary this is the place for you. The rooms were clean, staff was very helpful. They offer a lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2019

    9.6
    The Hotel is very interesting with its history and the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Hotel is very interesting with its history and the modern design integrated in the old building. Definitely a place for those, who like history and the hotels with soul. Try the restaurant - surprisingly good offer, great food and drinks! Easy access to the Central Station (walking, tram) and the centre (tram).

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2019

    8.8
    I booked a few nights stay in a level 2/2 star room with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like that there was no curtain option for the open shower. We were aware that our shower would be open in the room itself but we didn't think it would mean you'd literally be showering infront of the other room guests. Rooms were clean but a bit dusty.

    I booked a few nights stay in a level 2/2 star room with Llyod Hotel and we recieevd a free upgraded on our second night of staying. It was a nice surprise. Our orignal room was exactly what we expected (although a little crepy) and our upgrade room was very nice too.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2019

    8.3
    I booked a few nights stay in a level 2/2 star room with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like that there was no curtain option for the open shower. We were aware that our shower would be open in the room itself but we didn't think it would mean you'd literally be showering infront of the other room guests. Rooms were clean but a bit dusty.

    I booked a few nights stay in a level 2/2 star room with Llyod Hotel and we recieevd a free upgraded on our second night of staying. It was a nice surprise. Our orignal room was exactly what we expected (although a little crepy) and our upgrade room was very nice too.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2019

    9.6
    Reasonable price, away from the tourist crowd. Super nice friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because it is an old cool building and the architect is special too. The hallway is really narrow and my room was hidden. so at night if I walk alone in the hotel, I feel a bit creepy. But just my own opinion. It’s an fantastic hotel

    The staff was super friendly. The hotel design is way cooler than I expected. Beautiful building, clean big room with lake(see?) view. Quiet and cozy. The cafe looks super nice too, we didn’t have breakfast there but the price is reasonable.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2019

    4.6
    I liked the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no flooring basically in a attic spider cobwebs everywhere there shower an toilet was just in a little cabin in the room not ideal whatsoever.

    I liked the location

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2019

    7.1
    The fact we didn’t receive what we had booked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact we didn’t receive what we had booked. But instead of a big room with a double bed we got 2 singles. As this was a anniversary gift for my partner I was not happy.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2019

    7.9
    Great room but facilities and staff could improve
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bald man who seems like he runs the place was rude and condescending when asking us not to lay on a couch. Check out is at noon and there is nowhere in the entire hotel to wait if you have a late bus or flight. The rest of the staff besides him was very nice and helpful.

    The room was large and nice. Shared bathroom was better than expected.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2019

    10
    Gorgeous little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can hear a bit of noise from outside but no worries because earplugs are provided.

    The shared bathroom and toilet was nice and clean. Staff very helpful. Excellent customer service. Close to tram stop.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2019

    6.7
    Expected better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quirky room. Open shower. Nowhere to hang towels. Noisy hallway.

    Friendly staff. Places to sit and relax. Good location near public transportation.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2019

    7.9
    A nice place to stay for a few nights. Basic but stylish!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was rather loud at night. The guests in the hotel were very quiet, but there was quite a bit of noise from the restaurants across the street. Not too bad for being in the city though.

    Overall we had a good stay, and would stay here again next time I am overnight in Amsterdam. The public transportation is just a block away. The room we had was small but had everything we needed and didn’t feel too cramped. The bathrobes were a nice touch, especially with the shared bathroom. I also liked the bathroom amenities (shampoo, conditioner, etc.) And the person who checked us in was really nice and helpful!

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2019

    5.8
    Location was great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has this really weird smell. Rooms were the same. Some old odor was in the room. For a hotel like this it was a bit too expensive

    Location was great.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2019

    10
    We would stay there again !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Very friendly hotel, we have got an upgrade for free with a waterfront view. Very interesting hotel. Fits Amsterdam spirit. Great breakfast. Amazing staff.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2019

    7.1
    Hotel with fabulous history outside the hustle and bustle of central Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel faces a tapas restaurant, which on the Friday and Saturday night was incredibly noisy - luckily the hotel provided earplugs in the room! It was quite an expensive room, but the accommodation in Amsterdam seemed to be expensive the weekend I travelled.

    The building is incredible with such a rich history - this is shared along the walls of the main staircase, with fabulous old photos to accompany the story. The hotel is in a great location just outside the hustle and bustle of central Amsterdam - it's only 2 stops on the tram or a very short bike ride into the centre. The room was a great size with lovely views of the clock tower and the water.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2019

    8.8
    For four nights it was great but the failings of the room would have irked thereafter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quirky room lacked decent hanging space and hangers. There were no drawers. The bed was in an alcove with no room for bedside tables or a shelf. The lights above the bed were too large and Ill-placed. The handbasin was the size of a teacup and placed beneath a wide ceramic shelf making it very difficult to clean ones teeth! Function should always come before style! Why is breakfast no longer included in the price?

    The bed was very comfy. The room was very clean. There were facilities for tea and coffee making, though not enough teabags or proper milk. The latter is unusual in a Continental hotel. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The food was delicious if a little expensive. In a nice quiet location only three tram stops from Central Station. ( The transport system is very efficient)

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2019

    8.8
    Rooms were basic, but really spacious, I loved the design of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air condition was missing, but the celings were high enough and the window was large, so there was enough circulation in the room

    Rooms were basic, but really spacious, I loved the design of the rooms, the amenities, the high ceilings and the view

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2019

    7.5
    Quirky rooms in unique building!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were quite distracted at times & mixed up food orders. Bathroom setup was unique & needed an upgrade.

    Bar/restaurant had a great vibe. Food was tasty! Room was a good size.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2019

    9.2
    I would recommend it to others
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was very dark as it was in the attic & only had one tiny window.

    The staff were amazingly friendly & helpful. The hotel is so unique & has so much character.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2019

    9.2
    Amsterdam break #1
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really cannot think of a thing I didn't like. It was a very good hotel.

    Very friendly and informative staff. Clean and well maintained, lots of space and great transport links. We could easily get back to the hotel by bus at 3am. We loved the place

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2019

    4.6
    Dated rooms with poor cleaners
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms and interior are dated, unsatisfied with the layout, the facilities, light and cleanness of the rooms assigned we asked to upgrade to a better room. The second room was not properly clean, we found hair bunch sticked on the wall, asked reception for a proper cleaning but upon return nothing had been done according to our request. Upon checking out we expressed our disappointment about our stay , still the extra charge for a better room was cashed in and nothing but a verbal apologise was done to the bill. Naturally would have expected that a least the charge for the upgrade would have been waved from the bill. A gloomy stay lacking of management attention

    Historical building

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2019

    7.1
    Nice stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was in the middle of the room. And there was no shower curtain or anything. Bit awkward if you are staying with a friend. Floor was constantly wet due to water from the shower being all over the floor. Light in room was quite dim.

    Location was nice. Bit outta the city centre but nice quiet area. Staff were nice. Directed us to a bike rental around the corner. The hotel had a supermarket nearby as well.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2019

    8.8
    Interesting bedrooms deco and building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I understand that Amsterdam accommodation is very expensive, so taking that in consideration the price was fairly fair... sharing bathroom is not my ideal; however, we were very lucky to use it just both of us.

    Friendly and polite staff. Very clean bedroom with very comfy bed and pillows. New bedding sheet.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2019

    7.1
    Interesting buildling and location, friendly staff, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ear plugs were provided for a reason - we were on Level 4 and impacted by street noise.

    Interesting buildling and location, friendly staff, good tram access to Centraal and the Museum District.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2019

    7.9
    Great location easy to get to and from central Amsterdam .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much in the room except beds. No proper light fixtures or window to look out from , there was no coffee making facilities. Over priced for what you get .

    Great location easy to get to and from central Amsterdam . Staff were good

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2019

    9.2
    I'd love to come back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    General bath is not for everyone.

    Authentic design and the atmosphere of that time. Cozy bedrooms. Friendly and extremely nice personnel. Breakfast is really tasty and fulfilling.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2019

    6.3
    Fascinating overnightstay in the setting of "Hotel Cortez". :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The possibility to rent a bike from the hotel at costs of 17,-/d and 100,- EUR deposit seems too expensive and inconvenient. Of course, the hotel is an "Oldie" but the interieur is at a very good level and we felt comfortably! The only thing is, in my opinion you cannot offer the rooms in the basement because they are very dark and you feel prisonned behind the barred windows. I think, your experience depend from the room you get. We were assured of living at the fifth floor but this changed later. I recommend to replace the rooms below by sporting facilities or something. But nevertheless we will come back!

    The hotel itself is a MUST-SEE, like you`re in a Hollywood movie or featuring "Hotel Cortez" from AHS. Superb and highly interesting. The location is fantastic, the hotel is situated close to the station (2 min walk) and from there you get to the main station of Amsterdam within > 10 minutes, even at night. Highly recommended!!! We will def. come back!

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2019

    8.3
    The staff were fantastic especially in the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lighting in the room wasn't great. Needed to use my phone light to find things in the closet area.

    The staff were fantastic especially in the restaurant. I liked staying a little out of the centre. Trams were frequent. The bed was so comfy.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2019

    7.9
    I loved the attic room with the swing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location isn't in central amseterdam, although a short taxi drive away.

    I loved the attic room with the swing. Although you will need to pay extra to reserve the room.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2019

    4.6
    I understand the concept of "quirky", but what they rent out is simply impractical and expensive.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first room they gave me was in the basement, more like a retrofitted storage space. After I complained, they moved me to a room that you enter through a bathroom. For 200+ a night (without breakfast) it's a total rip-off.

    Location is fine.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2019

    9.6
    Very quirky and interesting hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very quirky and interesting hotel. Right next to the tram station, so super easy to get into all parts of town. Supermarket directly opposite. Incredibly friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2019

    10
    An amazing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff is extremely helpful and professional. The hotel looks beautiful and the rooms are very well designed. The neighborhood is quiet and there are a few restaurants nearby, even a supermarket across the street. We had an amazing view to the canal. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. The hotel exceeded our expectations.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2019

    8.8
    Loved the location, right next to tram stops to central...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath in the middle of the room. A bit awkward when staying with a friend.

    Loved the location, right next to tram stops to central station and the museum district. Really liked the layout and quirkiness of the hotel. Staff were friendly too, they upgraded us without asking. Even if I did turn out to be awkward when sharing with my friend, the room was nice.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2019

    7.5
    Comfortable hotel 20 minutes walk from the city center, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the top floor right under the roof. the ceiling was not, lighting is not enough. The wall between the room and the toilet is not solid, which causes inconvenience.

    Comfortable hotel 20 minutes walk from the city center, good breakfast and polite staff.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2019

    8.3
    Hookless but funky
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were NO hooks nor shelves to hang away or place clothes and misc in the room. Everything was on the floor....

    Funky. Great history. Helpful staff. Great location. Great view.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2019

    10
    Room was clean and good size location is good about 20 mins...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower in my room only a bath but the bath did fit into the quirky style of room that it was.

    Room was clean and good size location is good about 20 mins walk from station or 3 stops on the number 26 tram and when you compare the cost of the room to it's location it's really good value.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2019

    6.3
    Staff were lovely but rooms didn’t live up to expectations ! Need to have more honest photos
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Frankly the rooms were disappointing for the price we paid! Looked like prison cells when we arrive. No fixed lights and mirror. Bathroom was dark and smelt, toilet light was very dim Showers temperature kept changing. Need to make it more clear on photos for the type of room your buying

    Staff were lovely and polite

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2019

    9.2
    Excellent staff in a quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallways leading to my room on the 5th floor are dark and dreary. An update is needed.

    The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. My room was upgraded — wonderful view. I dined in the restaurant one evening and the tenderloin was good (a wee bit tougher than I expected but flavorful).

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2019

    7.1
    Good option for central station area
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was kind of slow and rooms a bit pricey for what they are

    Very friendly hotel with a good restaurant and I appreciated the coffee machine in the room. Quirky feel with the decor as they have kept a lot of the original features. Comfy bed so slept well. Location ideal for our needs as close to central station/bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2019

    9.2
    Had a great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    While the food was really good for breakfast, the price per person was astronomical.

    I loved the hotel itself, my room was very comfortable, breakfast was amazing. The bar was also really good!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2019

    7.5
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I wish a refrigerator was in the guest room!

    The restaurant in the Lloyd hotel was excellent. Also there were good restaurants supermarket and fresh fish store. It's good location!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2019

    4.2
    Very unhappy and unsatisfactory and being ill treated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overprice for giving us a basement room, at end of corridor, next to the laundry room, with no Wifi service. We checked in at 9 am in the morning, room not ready, of course. We stored our luggage and returned by 7pm. Assigned the last room out of their 117 rooms. Our room was prepaid at time of booking and how can they didn't reserve a decent room for us as we have paid and already checked in by 9am. We request to change the room, but stated no rooms available. I didn't meet any other residents in the basement. In fact I envisage the hotel is not full that day at all.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2019

    3.3
    Way over priced, and felt like I was in a tourist trap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Way over priced, and felt like I was in a tourist trap... they try sell you on everything! Also, one of the loudest hotels I’ve been to, they even have earplugs in the room for you... not staying here again

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2019

    8.8
    The breakfast buffet was quite good, many different choices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms along the road are noisy. Do not waste your time or money at the spanish restaurant across the street. It was awful! You would think that since it is so close, it would be decent but ugh. Terrible. Other than that, lovely stay.

    The breakfast buffet was quite good, many different choices. The staff were friendly and (mostly) attentive. Rooms were comfortable, unique, albeit a bit small. grocery store Jumbo that is right across the street has good food for a quick bite,

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2019

    8.8
    This hotel is special because every room is in a strange way...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is special because every room is in a strange way individual in form and furnishing because is was a prison once. I really like it and it is very near to the center.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2019

    5.0
    Not a 3 star hotel. Not for business traveller’s.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a business hotel. Not 3 star. I use Booking.com all 5 years, because I always end up at a supoptimal address. So, will be back in 5 years - hopefully with better description and a better cancellation policy.

    The staff.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2019

    9.2
    Loved my stay in Amsterdam!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Even though the food was excellent at the restaurant, it was a bit inconsistent - two nights I got bread with my meal (ordered the same 2 nights) and one night I got water, the other 2 nights I did not get any water with my meal. However, they young staff was friendly and fast. The shower in my room was an interesting contraption with a "wall" that swung out. The room was very big, but the floor did get wet when I showered, even though the drain was sloped quite a bit. Not a big problem, just un-expected. They could use some sort of instruction on how to use the shower, and also on how to use the coffee maker.

    excellent restaurant - and nice location - easy to get to everything I wanted to see.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2019

    9.6
    A cool design hotel near the water
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing. The whole stay was perfect. We told them we'd like to check in early and they even had our room ready, 3 hours before the usual check in time.

    The hotel is really cool and we love it's location. So easy to get into the centre and you get so much more room than hotels right in the centre of town. The staff are super friendly and helpful. We always love staying at this hotel. There is parking opposite the hotel which is very secure and you just go back into the hotel when you are leaving to pay. Very organised.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2019

    5.0
    a great disappointment in a place where we loved to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After we have been several times to the Lloyd and it is always a surprise what kind of we room we will get,this time it was a terrible disappointment, the room was extremely small and dark. No place for your suitcase or clothes,no place to hang your towel in the bathroom. It felt like the juvenile detention center it once was

    breakfast is not included

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2019

    6.5
    Fine but wish I’d had a better/quieter room
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was over the toilet, the bedroom was a bit like a locker room with cool furniture but worst of all was all the noise! We were on the grounds floor and could hear people in and out of doors, going into breakfast etc. felt like this was the worst room in the hotel so make sure you stay above the ground floor!

    Very comfy duvets!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2019

    10
    Location & Staff Excellant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing disliked. All good.

    Great helpful staff. Tasty breakfast. Fantastic location 2 blocks to #7 and #26 Trams to Central Train Station. Very clean & comfortable room. Loved it.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2019

    7.5
    Nice room, friendly staff, great location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a bit small but the toilet/bathroom is spacious.

    Clean rooms, friendly staff, nice location - very near the tram station, restaurant, supermarkets, and other shops.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2019

    5.0
    I was given a room n.317 and I have doubts I was given a room I'd booked! I was not happy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was untidy. Wash basin: water doesn't drain properly. Uncomfortable to use bath-tub without any shower curtain - water splashes everywhere. Room given to me (room n. 317 located on the 3d floor) doesn't match the description of a "Comfort double room" booked via Booking.com, though hotel managers tried to convince me in opposite. The description said that entire united is located on ground floor (by fact - 3d), that there is a desk (nothing,) that there is a coffee machine in a room (nothing except electric teapot), ironing facilities (nothing, but was given by request right away), carpeted room (no carpet), chocolate and biscuits - nothing.

    Pillows, bed linen, bed

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2019

    10
    It’s a good hotel as for a little trip as for business trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a good hotel as for a little trip as for business trip. Very beautiful building, interesting and unusual, but comfortable rooms with river view. Very good location, not far from city center. Near there are some shops, supermarket, some cafee, thats also very convenient. I want to note breakfast, it’s perfect, with continental food, different kinds of fresh juices, fresh bread. Oh my god, it was my own paradise in the morning, when I had breakfast. Amsterdam thanks for you hospitality, I’ll return, I promise 🖤

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2019

    7.9
    Overall, good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I and my girlfriend had no problems, but some of our friends had problems with the checkin as there was a mistake in the hotel system and the room my friends received was not as the room they booked.

    The checkin was easy and fast, we got an upgrade but I have no idea what the upgrade was as the room was like my friends had without upgrade.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2019

    9.6
    Great Hotel near Cruise Terminal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tissues box

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Restaurant basic but good meals. It’s 3 stops from Central Station on tram 26 (exit station towards Centrum NOT bus station side)

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2019

    7.1
    It was an OK hotel experience and was one of few hotels available in our price ranges for this time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My only complaint is with the bathroom. It is very sparse and old. If you're looking for a spa experience ...this is not for you. There was no place to hang towels. It's very spartan. We stayed for only 2 nights so it was not a deal breaker but for a longer stay I would not like. Not sure if all bathrooms are like ours.

    The hotel is 3 tram stops from Central station and it's easy to get into central Amsterdam. Room was fairly large; beds comfortable; breakfast was good. There are several restaurants very close to hotel--a tapas place which was good but not the greatest service. Other than breakfast, we did not eat at the restaurant in the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2019

    5.8
    Needs significant comfort improvements to the building before matching the expectations.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    felt like a hostel, very thin walls, could hear every door slam and footsteps on floor. Also there was a problem with hot water in the shower, there were some evenings where there was no hot water for taking a shower. I was disapointed as i was introduced to the hotel with the mono japan event, and enjoyed the spaces, but the experience of having actually stayed there really went below my expectations.

    nice and spacious restaurant, friendly service in reception and also at the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2019

    10
    Perfectly situated hotel, away from centre, but so easy with Hotel very comfy and welcomi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only small gripes which didn't spoil our stay. No safe in the room, lockers available on a different floor. Plenty of hanging space but nowhere for non hangable clothes, more light needed in clothes area.

    Lovely out of town hotel, but only a few moments walk from direct tram to city and museums. Very comfortable, helpful staff, good food.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2019

    7.9
    It was fine as an experience, but we would think twice about going again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was in an alcove with nowhere to put anything (like a glass of water) and rather high up - difficult to get into for elderly people. I would have preferred to be asked about the suitability. The breakfast was ok but rather overpriced for what it was.

    A rather quirky building with an interesting history. The location had excellent transport links, our room had a nice view of the water. Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2019

    7.9
    Very nice history of the building, good looking and kind...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On our floor was very noisy and not well isolated, so I woke up both days with a lot of hotel staff passing around the whole morning.

    Very nice history of the building, good looking and kind staff. Big room, but dont get the -1 floor.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2019

    10
    I got free upgrade for my stay and the room was really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I got free upgrade for my stay and the room was really nice. I also really like the soap and shampoo brand that is given in the room (Stella Maris). The staff are very friendly

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2019

    7.9
    Location + the whole concept (ex.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shared bathroom, as also the rooms, remained old "prison design" - but I got a feeling it could be cleaned a bit more often. I understand, that with shared spaces that could be an issue.

    Location + the whole concept (ex. prison) and a design of the hotel. Although we booked late and a budget room - with shared bathroom - the value for money was OK.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2019

    10
    marvelous
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location. Just 7 minutes by tram from the central station, and 2 minutes on feet from the nearest tram station, rietland park. Also The building is very easy to find by eyes All the staff guys are friendly and heartwarming. Good meals in breakfast. Buffet style I ordered and the quality was very good. The rooms are kept very clean and it makes me feel very relieved.

    Stayed in May 2019

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Lloyd Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: