Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken 4 stars

Jan Luykenstraat 58, Oud Zuid, 1071 CS Amsterdam, Netherlands

#124 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1313 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location. Helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you can’t step into a tub for a shower, call ahead to reserve a room with a walk in shower.

    The location! Walk to the museums, shopping, dinning. Beautiful street

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Loved our room and its comfort and the cleanliness in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a strange smell of pee coming from the carpets which were a bit off putting and we think it’s probably caused from a pet that may have been with the previous visitor staying in that room. Thankfully staff were efficient in getting our carpets cleaned however the extra charge at the end of the stay for room cleaning services was a bit of a shock as I thought this would be automatically included in any hotel.

    Loved our room and its comfort and the cleanliness in the bathrooms aswell as the location was incredible and absolutely perfect. Staff were so helpful and so efficient in seeing to any issues we may have had aswell as helping us find our way around Amsterdam. When we arrived we had a young blonde gentleman help us check in and give us a map and explain the good places to go and see in Amsterdam which was super helpful and made us feel at ease with exploring Amsterdam. 10/10 for customer service for sure

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    Comfy neighborhood location just on the outskirts but close enough!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought it was a little pricey given the time of year and amenities.

    Only two blocks from a bus stop, two blocks from Van Gogh Museum, Diamond Museum and Rijkmuseum. Easy walking distance to many restaurants on Lange Leidsedwarsstraat

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    Room 7 is very small
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked for my in laws and unfortunately they were in room 7 which is a very small room but still clean.

    Great location, close to museums, Heineken and bus & tram stops. The rooms are clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little soft for my liking, but did manage it. Being on the street, it can be a little noisy but luckily it’s not a very busy road.

    Fantastic location that is right by the main art museums, Heineken Experience and shopping street. Also very close to bus & tram stop. We were in room 1 &2 , which were big, comfortable and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.4
    Okay not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was advertised - not parking available - parking is on the street on a metre at 36 euros a day - I would have booked at another hotel that had parking if this had been the case - This is always the part about Booking.com and the lies of the hoteliers that annoys me. Staff were brusque and non caring - having come from a lovely hotel in Bruges the difference couldn't be more apparent. WIll not be going back

    Hotel was in the location that Booking had suggested

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    comfortable, nice neighbourhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked 2 twin rooms, and the 1 room I got in the corner was smaller than the other. Too small for 2 adults

    quiet neighbourhood, close distant to tram and museum, comfortable space

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Great stay. We look forward to our next stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything.

    We stayed at the Jan Luyken many times and love being there with the friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are clean and have all the amenities to make staying there comfortable. The breakfast is delicious and the bar/ lounge offers tasty snacks and drinks.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Pretty neighborhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was sooooo small - we were expecting a little more room to walk around. We were on the ground floor with a step down from the entry/bathroom area—had to be careful in the dark. Our window opened onto the bar patio and conversations from patrons kept us awake into the wee hours.

    Pretty neighborhood. Close to museums, park & more. Not overrun with cyclists & cars. Bar was cozy & comfortable with nibbles & drinks— perfect for our first jet-lagged evening. Staff was kind & attentive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable stay in the Centre of the museum district
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very small room which we initially had booked ... we misjudged the size when we initially booked. We were very grateful for the helpful way in which our request for a larger room was handled. There was no milk for tea and coffee, but the staff happily supplied fresh milk at no charge.

    The position of the hotel was excellent for our purpose ... close to museums. We were able to upgrade our room (which was minute) to a more spacious comfortable room. Though we didn’t eat at the hotel, the bar is comfortable and the service very friendly. The hotel also has an elevator, which was most welcome.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Fun, relaxing, very interesting things to see and do
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really can’t think of anything.

    Staff was very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable and tried to make our stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.3
    Amsterdam in may
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initial room we were put in was a dog box. Was told we had the last room in the hotel (we booked 6 months in advance)

    Located in museum district. Close to trams

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were not always visible and the bar was closed earlier than advertised one evening - inconvenient.

    Clean and comfortable and really well positioned to access everything in a nice area of the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Recommended if you find it at a good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My wife and I decided to stop in Amsterdam while on a road trip. We booked short notice and got a good deal for one night. The hotel is in an excellent location and we even found parking right in front of the hotel which was free on Sunday. Unfortunately, parking is 36 Euros for 24 hours on all other days so keep that in mind. Well, we liked Amsterdam and the hotel so much that we wanted to stay a second night. We found out that the deal we got through booking.com for the first night was a really good one as the additional night was going to cost us more than double that price due to a big convention that week. However, the person at the front desk was very accommodating and made us a deal, meeting us somewhere in the middle between the two prices so we gladly accepted to spend another night in this great hotel and city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Superb location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms we had were a bit small for two people for five nights

    The location was perfect and very peaceful. Continental Breakfast was adequate. Staff were very attentive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.7
    Didappointing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was much too small, quite uncomfortable. For the price you pay here you expect a room at least twice as large and a shower that is convenient to use.

    The location is excellent the hotel is clean and well maintained

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.8
    Great location but no other reason to stay there, I was really happy to leave
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The only breakfast available is a full, very expensive breakfast; it is impossible just to get a coffee and croissant. The cost is more than I wanted to spend for my dinner! So, very inconvenient. Also, my room was so teeny tiny and the ventilation was noisy and cold.

    Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    A quiet, pleasant hotel ideally placed for the major museums.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although sufficient for our needs, the room and bathroom were small.

    The staff were particularly helpful at all times. The location could not be better for Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum (and others) and also for Concertgebouw.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Warm feel with friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tripping hazards in bathroom with shower over the bath and some leaking from screen. Also the raised strip in the bathroom doorway is dangerous. Otherwise everything was most comfortable.

    Warm feel with friendly helpful staff. Beautiful surroundings. Hotel is very convenient for transport , dining and sightseeing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.9
    Location was great and the room was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We tried to reserve a trip to keukenhof and there was a bit of missunderstandig with the staff. They were not very helpful with trying to solve the problem...

    Location was great and the room was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Excellent service and nice stay at this hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect. The area is very quiet despite being so close to the museums and the city centre. It took 20 minutes only to go to the airport by bus. The room was spacious, clean a comfortable king size bed plus a good size balcony. Tea and coffee in the bedroom. There was a wide range of choice for the breakfast (some organics). We had a guide dog with us and the employees at the hotel made us feel that it was not a problem at all. The dog even received a present from the hotel. The nice staff at the reception gave us all information we needed during our stay, this was really helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic location and pretty comfortable but nothing more
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Food in the hotel is simply bad...don't waste your money with their breakfast go to an Albert Hein or a restaurant for food. I ordered a pizza my first night there because I arrived late and everything was closed. Pretty sure they just warmed up a frozen pizza. Also 6 euros for a small ice cream is ridiculous Rooms are VERY small, especially my single room. I felt a little bit clostrophobic. I know this is nothing new for a hotel in Europe but still I was surprised at how small and narrow the room was. The AC is good but loud. When on the room was cold but if not on the room was very warm They seem to pre authorize credit cards for amounts a lot greater than they should Most of the staff were very nice but there were a few that I wondered why they were in the industry I will say my stay was fine but if I were back in Amsterdam anytime soon I would find somewhere else to stay probably one of the name brand chains

    Just finished up a 6 night stay here: Absolutely fantastic location Staff were very nice and helpful Housekeeping was great and my room was always made in a timely manner Shower was really good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    This is in a great location near the museums.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the have an elevator some rooms are only accessible by going up several steps.

    This is in a great location near the museums. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable about the area and can recommend good restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.3
    Expected boutique hotel but got unappealing single room with tiny bed but excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - extremely narrow bed, even for a single room - room on the ground floor with all the street noise - shower flooding the bath room because not separated - ordering a taxi at the reception which only arrived 10 minutes after the requested time, (hopefully just bad luck)

    perfect location if you want to visit the Van Gogh museum

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Very good, central location, still a quiet street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room (probably ok for Amsterdam standards).

    Very good, central location, still a quiet street. Safe area / building for female traveller. Direct connection by airport bus. Traditional building, nicely renovated. Cute staircases.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    Expensive, but worth it in terms of location, and comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing not to like

    Very comfortable and the cleaning staff goes the extra mile. The overall service was excellent and will without any doubt stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.2
    It was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The folks there were real nice. I wish they had a Universal. The area is a bit expensive-that’s not the hotel’s fault. Good breakfast but wish they served caffe au lait.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.3
    Position
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms we have (2) were incredibly small with a bathroom fit for a budget hotel. We had to find our rooms ourselves and help my older friends to climb the stairs with the trolleys. Breakfast poor and repetitive. We have another concept of a four stars hotel. And we are usual travellers. Never again.

    Position

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.5
    excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the rooms were small. Also, the door to the hotel is locked in the late evening, so one has to ring for someone to open it. On a cold night, this could take a while.

    excellent location. The rooms were small but comfortable. The bar was very small and not really conducive to spending time there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    It was a pleasant stay. Staff and location are great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There didn't seem to be any vent in the toilet.

    The staff from all shifts were friendly and helpful which really put travellers in a god mood. They were willing to find solutions for problems. I also loved the thoughtful lighting in the room. And the location is just fantastic

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Quiet hotel in very good neighbourhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were efficient without being super friendly. Did not bother with breakfast at EUR 19/person since it was located in a windowless basement.

    Very quiet neighbourhood with minimal traffic. So quiet I could hear the birds singing, not bad for sleeping in the middle of a capital city. Location is brilliant too - easy 397 bus from airport takes 30 minutes. Old building with creaky floors and steep Dutch staircases add to the charm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable, pleasant stay. Traditional decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first room (standard)had problems with the bathroom and was small. The lift was not working up to the top floor and the stairs were steep (very common in Amsterdam). We were able to change to a much nicer, larger room at no additional cost, which we appreciated as we were staying for three nights.

    Very pleasant and helpful staff. Excellent location for museums, shopping, green spaces, public transport and good restaurant choices. The nearby streets were quiet, just the distant rumble of trams.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.3
    Spacious comfort in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Our room low on north side (1st floor) had a little street noise from deliveries and collections, which was surprising for a low-traffic side street.

    Large room (for Amsterdam) with comfortable bed and good shower. Capsule espresso machine and fridge/mini-bar in the room. Breakfast is mostly cold buffet with a couple of hot dishes (eggs, bacon), but high quality - juices, fresh fruit (watermelon, pineapple), breads, cheeses, smoked salmon and prosecco. Front desk staff very helpful. Guest computer and printer in the lobby. Small bar offering free welcome drink. Nice separate lounge for sitting and chatting. Great location, obviously the museums and concert hall, but also easy walk to Vondelpark, American Grand Cafe, Leidseplein restaurant district and Spiegelstraat art/antiques street. Transport connections at the end of the street (Rijksmuseum stop) for 397 airport shuttle bus and 2/5 trams into Spui and city centre, or out to South Station and RAI conference centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.1
    The room was spacious and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff weren't the most courteous. We had an issue with our bags not being taken to our room and the man at reception was less than helpful. The heating in the room was also an issue, it was too hot to sleep but the air conditioning didn't seem to help.

    The room was spacious and clean. The bar was pleasant. Location was excellent, in a quiet area of the city but close to museums, parks and a short walk to the Leidseplein area and beyond.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    Very good all around. I would ask for a larger room next time, if available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    A card in the room asked for housekeeping info/rating. I mentioned broken desk lamp and asked for more whiskey in mini-bar (instead of so much gin and vodka). Neither was attended to. But these are small matters, no big deal.

    All good. Breakfast excellent, except for coffee. (How about an espresso machine?) Charles at the desk especially nice, also Kelly (Julie?). Weekend bartender good man too. All staff eager to help.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    5.0
    Over priced and under perform
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was boiling hot (outside temperature -2C). You could not shut of the radiator in the room. The room itself was 9 m2 (excl. bathroom) and the window 40cm x 60cm. More like a closet than a room. Also very noisy. Very bad experience.

    The bed was good. The location is also good, very close to the museums and other attractions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel, lovely people, wonderful introduction to Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Wonderfully friendly and helpful staff, spacious room, quiet, perfectly positioned for museums and convenient for walking or trams to everywhere else, great breakfast. We’ll certainly stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice enough hotel in great location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small and a bit run down. It could do with a small facelift but as I was only staying one night it didn't bother me that much.

    It's a Green Key stablishment, which I like. The location was good. It was a really nice neigbourhood near the Rijksmuseum & Gogh Museum and on a comfortable distance from the more seedy downtown areas. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    A very enjoyable experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was most satisfactory!

    The location of this hotel is excellent! Staff is welcoming and took the time to answer all my queries. Like it so much when I stayed at the Bilderburg two years ago, brought my sister and niece to stay as well!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.9
    A friendly hotel within easy reach of the main museums
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has no restaurant. The snack bar meals were quite poor and expensive. Our standard room was quite small and there were some unexpected supplements - e.g. for servicing the room each day, 5 euros for each use of room service from the snack bar, and the daily tourist tax which we only discovered after booking.

    Overall a comfortable room and very friendly staff and good breakfasts. Excellent location for museums and bus and tram stops.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel in a prime location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was a bit costly but the location was superb. The walls are rather thin so there were often sounds coming from other rooms.

    The staff was incredibly helpful and courteous. They were very proud of their service and hospitality. The location was fantastic as well. Also, the snacks in the bar were better than expected, and little garden in the backyard is adorable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    6.7
    nice hotel in a great area for restaurants and museums
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are really small, but the bed was very comfortable, also for whatever reason the road outside the hotel was very noisy every night, mostly cars starting up and general laughing and shouting. Don't know why because the hotel is in the middle of a very exclusive boutique area. We were also slightly off-put by the addition Eu49 for city tax and services as we checked out, no mention in the literature. also be aware that the best way to get there from the airport is by taxi which is another Eu50 each way.

    The location was excellent, just across the road from both the Rijks museum and Van Gogh, just a short walk to the Casino area bars and restaurants. staff were helpful and the room was clean and you were able to control the temperature which was required.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.5
    Location and staff are great, but small, cold room
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room, absolutely poorly designed and furnished. The room was so cold, that we had to ask for a space heater and we had to put it right to our feet. Breakfast was okay, but with limited choice of food. Stairs are hard to climb, elevator does not bring to all levels. Toilets near the lobby were not working properly, which led to a certain smell.

    Location is great. Staff are wonderful. Rooms and all areas are clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    4.6
    The room is so small that my suitcase can hardly fit in it...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is so small that my suitcase can hardly fit in it ) The bathroom is 1 square meter including a shower and WC, all in one )) No pillows variety. Couldn't sleep at all.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    We much enjoyed our visit andd never had to queue for the museums.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We didn't think the breakfast was brilliant. The scrambled eggs were hard and had obviously been cooked some time before. The coffee was OK and we ha to ask for proper milk. We have had better breakfasts in other hotels!

    Staff were all very friendly an helpful. Hotel very convenient for the museums an trams

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    A whirlwind of a weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints here.

    I like that the staff were friendly. They were very helpful, especially one staffer Skyler. He was gave us some pointers to where we should go and visit. Although the room was a little small to my liking, it was very clean and comfortable. The location was perfect for explore Amsterdam. I definitely recommend the hotel to anyone that wants to visit the city. It is close to just about every attraction you want to visit there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    6.3
    It's quiet, close to the museums
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window in room 209 needs to be fixed it kept shaking when it was windy and this made it difficult to sleep, room was pretty tiny and the shower made it drip water everywhere

    It's quiet, close to the museums

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel, museum quarter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa was broken... it also cost 15 euros to use it. A bit expensive, even though it does not include breakfast. City taxes are not included in price and it ended being 30 euros extra.

    Amazing bed and bathroom. Located in the museum quarter which is quiet and pretty but a bit far from centre. Nevertheless it is right next to trams 2 and 5, which will take you from/to train station in only 20 Minutes. Nice hotel. Kind staff. We were welcomed on New Year's Eve with fresh pastries!! So kind.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel - check your bill on leaving and also when you get back home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Been woken up by bin men very early at least twice -had requested a quiet room. Been charged more than the amount my bill stated!

    Staff were friendly and location was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    Perfect location, wonderful hotel and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous hotel in a quiet, traditional street however close to the designer shops, Van Gogh museum, Rijksmuseum, Christmas market, ice rink. Easy walking access to all major attractions as such a flat city - just beware of cars, bikes and trams!! The hotel was beautiful - a warm welcome, amazing and friendly staff, lovely bar and lounge area and a fab spa which you could use for an hour and a half for only 15 Euros!! The room was lovely with all facilities you would need. Nothing was too much trouble. Loved the hotel, loved Amsterdam and the people there. Will definitely be back

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Location to the museums ,the entertainment of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location to the museums ,the entertainment of the Leidseplein ,the ease of transport into town and Airport (bus 197 ) almost form door to door for 5 euros .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    8.8
    Perfect Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our second day the radiator had stopped working and it was a snowy day. Because there were no technicians at that moment they provided us a small heater and also there was a/c. The other they fortunately fixed the problem.

    The location was perfect. It had direct connection to/from airport via bus 397. Also it was 3 minutes to the Museum Quarter and 10 minutes to Leidsplein. Our room was clean and cosy. It was spacious enough for my mom and me. Staff was kind and very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    5.4
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is way too expensive, there is rather little choice for a 4 star hotel. They charged mini bar stuff which we did not consume and on the last day a breakfast we did not order. The shower was in bad shape, the water pressure too low. They smile a lot but this hotel should not be a 4 star one.

    Perfect location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.1
    It's a decent hotel in a very good location. It served us well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are small but functional, there was no extra bedding in the room and it was slightly cold at times.

    The location is great and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.6
    Safe, clean, and a beautiful location, i would absolutely come again and recommend to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is unbelievable. Two blocks from the Van Gogh , a hop from the palace. Amsterdam is so walkable and this seems to be in the center of it all, while remaining on a quiet and comfortable street. I traveled alone and as a woman in my mid20s safety is always a worry. I felt really secure and comfortable here my whole trip.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Excellent .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is only minutes away from the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum .Its close to the tram into town and also the direct bus service from Amsterdam airport (197 ) .It takes about 30 minutes and only 5 euros . Hotel is a 10 minute walk from the Leidseplein and around there are plenty cafes

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.2
    Quiet street
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Choice of English tv channels ( no Sky news or BBC news) Expensive set price breakfast (but excellent cafe nearby)

    Quiet street Spacious and comfortable room Spacious bathroom Perfect location for museums with good cafes and restaurants nearby

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel with good service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought I paid a lot for a rather tiny room, but it was Amsterdam on a weekend, so nothing would have been cheap.

    Nice hotel in a good location. I took the bus from the airport. 35 minutes straight past the hotel. The street is lovely and not in the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam's vibrant night life which suited me. I was in a single room which was tiny tiny. But I was comfortable and had a nice view as I was on the top floor. The breakfast was good and staff very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable hotel, conveniently situated . Room and bathroom very small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room and bathroom were both extremely small. Ok for acouple of days when you're out and about a lot. Unfortunately it was also extremely noisy from early in the morning We could hear doors banging. Sliding metal doors banging up and down, bins being emptied. Think this was because we were on the ground floor. Sure it would have been much better upstairs

    Room was very clean. Bed very comfortable with fresh white bedding . Location suited us. A bit of a walk to the city centre, about 1/2 hour, but the surrounding area of the hotel was lovely . Lots of shops and restaurants and very close to the museums.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    5.8
    Well location but doesn't deserve 4*!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not well cleaned (hairs on the floor, fingerprint on the window, missing lights in the room, mold in the bathroom...

    Good anf comfortable bed, bath in the bathroom

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    5.4
    Very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pictures showed fantastic rooms which looked much larger than they really were. I think the photographer deserves 10/10 for his clever photography of VERY small rooms and a hotel which was nowhere near as opulent at is looks on the website.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.6
    All together a worthwhile stay at reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room cleaning start already at 9 am. Parking facilities in Amsterdam are very expensive.

    Location, close to many musea, e.g. Rijksmuseum & Van Gogh.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.3
    The hotel cleaning staff didn't replace coffee (had to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel cleaning staff didn't replace coffee (had to request more coffee). The hotel cleaning staff also left the door ajar after cleaning it for the day. Upon returning late in the evening, we were able to just push the door open. The hotel cleaning staff were also unnecessarily noisy when cleaning other rooms. At 8am you could hear them moving things and making loud noises with the metal trash cans.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Was Great!!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We thought the breakfast was a bit expensive at 19.50 each, but about par with other hotels we reviewed in the area.

    The bed was wonderful, with a room that was bright and sparkling clean each and every day. The staff were wonderful and answered all questions and requests immediately. The location was in the middle of the museum district and we could walk or use convenient public trans to go anywhere in the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    We felt our stay was very short. We would like to go back to the same hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a problem with room temperature. We found it too warm.

    Hotel exactly where we wanted to be. Staff were efficient, friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and clean. We had a great time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    6.7
    The hotel has a very convenient location, just next to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception staff was very unpleasant.

    The hotel has a very convenient location, just next to the museums and fashion stores. The room was clean, breakfast reasonable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    6.7
    I found the rooms absolutely tiny.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I found the rooms absolutely tiny. We had 6 rooms. The single room was in the attic, cost 199 euros per night and was so small it was good it was only a child sleeping in there. Definitely not value for money. The photos made it look extraordinary. 5 stars go to the photographer because it was not extraordinary in any way!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    3.8
    For the price you'd be better off booking into a proper large chain hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Way over rated. It's a 3 star at best. It may have been renovated but it was a long time ago and it could do with a major refit. The room was dirty - actually dirty, the window had a rotten section. The room wasn't sound proof. The lift is ridiculous. The staff are a bit surly and could do with lessons in smiling. I left a day early. A huge disappointment. I wish I'd just booked into a hotel chain instead.

    Location is fine and ideal for the main museums. The tram was very close and once you get your bearings and realise the right directions to be going in then it's relatively easy to figure out a route to get around and go to different parts of the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.9
    A pleasant hotel for visitors, where you pay more for the exclusive location outside the old city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The a/c unit kept the room too cold for the fall, and it was too hot without it.... One of the reading lights was not working. In terms of location -- and this is a personal preference -- I will choose a hotel in the Old City next time.

    The hotel is well managed and the staff are helpful. The room was pleasant and very clean. The hotel is next to three major art museums. Vondel Park is nearby for a walk.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.6
    Very Good Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bad wasn't so comfortable

    Close to museum area, 10 min. By tram from city center or 25 min. Walking . Uperclase neighborhood. Very clean, and service is excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.3
    Very welcoming, clean and efficient - good location - though overpriced on room decor/fittings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have expected more up to date decor and fittings in the bedroom for the premium price charged. This comment excludes the bathroom which, although very small, had been updated.

    It was a very welcoming hotel in an excellent location. It will be even better when the single rooms have been updated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    5.4
    Location and Staff really excellent, but thats it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was absolutely dreadful. For over e.240 per night (not including breakfast!) was given a tiny boxroom (room 414) in the eves, with even smaller single bed, and disgraceful bathroom that stank of damp. Prisoners get (much) better. Complained and fortunately given another single room, (3) but wasn't much better. Never to be repeated. A disgrace.

    The Staff on Reception were excellent. They couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. Exceptionally good, particularly the lady on the desk the evening I arrived. The location is also perfect. next to the museums, in a quiet street of a very exclusive shopping street, but a very short walk to the livelier side of Amsterdam.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.8
    Well located comfortable hotel that is a pleasure to have as a visit base
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Wifi
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is in an old building so one has to put up with a quirky lift and internal stairs & passage corners - but there is still some charm attached. Worknen were digging up the pavement outside - not the best form of alarm clock in the early morning, but this was just unlucky for us and not a permanent feature

    The hotel has a great location, for museums, shopping and Vondelpark, but is itself in a peaceful area, not on the main tourist strip. It has a very comfortable feel to it: nothing is too new, everything is clean and works, our room was large, and the staff are always helpful and friendly. Food and drink are available if you don't want to go out. The hotel breakfast lays a good foundation for an active day out. We will stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.1
    goood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Did not book the breakfasts through booking.com stung with tourist tax as a result. Poor vfm as a consequence. Breakfasts not good for the quality of hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    6.7
    although the request of reservation was to stay in silence...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    although the request of reservation was to stay in silence room, but they put me to the street side. Two nights continues I woke up by noisy people shouting talking outside at 200 am!

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: