Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Maggy's Room

Martelaarsgracht 9, Amsterdam City Centre, 1012 TN Amsterdam, Netherlands

#245 of 250 B&Bs and Inns in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 147 B&B reviews

4.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    4.6

  • Comfort

    4.1

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    3.9

  • Staff

    5.2

  • Value for money

    4.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    3.3
    Stay away. You may break your bones on unsafe stairs while running away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window opened into an air shaft with foul air so bad that had to remain closed entire time. When booked, it appeared that the outraged 35 euro cleaning WAS included but was demanded upon checking in.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    5.4
    If you just want to have a place to sleep than its ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you just want to have a place to sleep than its ok. Because theres nothing else. No bed and breakfast its only bed. And they dont keep your luggage the other day you have to check out at 10am. The heating is off in the morning. Just sleep? Than its good. So close to everywhere very handy for that. Veey close to station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    4.6
    It was good to find a place to sleep, anyway.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    See above.

    It was good to find a place to sleep, anyway. The beds are clean, but overdue. The floor is difficult te keep clean, furniture was partly damaged. Outside Amsterdam, for a place like that, you would not pay more than €30. With the concierge I had to speak English. I only could pay cash, I did nog get a proper receive. Further, the room was easy to reach, parties in other rooms stoped nicely at midnight. Had a good sleep.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    4.6
    Good position and overall poor quality
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are very uncomfortable and quite dirty. They charged us 35€ for the cleaning of one night.

    The space the room had and the good position of the b&b.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    3.3
    Would rather spend 2 nights in chains on the street than Maggys death camp it's an absolute joke
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely everything" it was the worst accommodation I have ever seen not fit for a dog never mind a human it was very smelly and I saw numerous rat dropping in my very small room with kids covers and a towel which had seen better days years ago also the toiletries on off were 3rd hand never mind second if I'm completely honest I will never book through your website again as I don't believe you carry out any checks on any hotels you advertise it was a crack den in the heart of Amsterdam to be honest thankyou very much booking.com you ruined my holiday !!!!!!

    Absolutely nothing it smelt of fish

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    2.5
    We had to pay 50 € but in the hotel said us that we had to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to pay 50 € but in the hotel said us that we had to pay 85 €. We have to contact with booking for these difference. The hotel was horrible, very noisy and smells so bad

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all we waited for her coming and checking about half an hour. The room was very small acording to the pictures on booking. She wanted 30 euros for cleaning. The was a hole blanket. There was no slipper and hair drier.

    It location is very good. It is very close to Amsterdam Centraal.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    6.3
    Not impressed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No soundproofing, could hear guests in next room coughing & talking half the night. very very old buildingg. Floorboards very soft in places, stairs so steep It's almost impossible to carry luggage up.. Property is probably more for backpackers. I wouldn't call it a "guest house".

    Just the location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.1
    Basic but close to main station. Not recommended if you have heavy luggage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On 4th floor, steep stairs, no lift. Very dim lighting, impossible to read in room. Reception not businesslike. Fridge did not work properly.

    Location was convenient to central station and trams. Reception person was helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    5.8
    It is better pay more for another place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My bedroom or mini flat was in 4st floor, the stairs are very hight and narrow, was very very difficult up my luggage, there is only one personal in this place (guest house is completily different to hostel/hotel), there isnt reception in this place just a man, and you have to pay him, dont accept cards because there isnt reception (informal place), after pay him 200 euros per 2 nights, i received a mail from Maryguest house in where said that i go to pay less for this "bedroom" but i've already payed all to this man (finally i payed 200 euros, not less), the ilumination of the place is very bad and the wifi is very bad too... In general that place made us feel totally unconfortable, definitely bad experience in this kind of place.

    Close to station

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    2.9
    Poor wouldn't advise anybody to stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was so secretive the lady phoned a male to take us up to the room they was acting dodgey on the phone wich scared my partner and she was not sure, the place was messy so was the room the beds were uncomfortable definitely not value for money and won't be booking ever again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    3.8
    Great city bad hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost everything. Even more that they charged us €70 MORE than what we reserved for and the said to "contact the main person(Maggy)" to get the money back. Absolutely no customer service and the rooms were filthy and windows have no sealant so the cold air leaks in all day and night. Heaters do not work.

    Only thing good about the property was the location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    6.7
    Reasonably priced rooms in a Brilliant location, five minute...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we aren't experienced mountain climbers so the 3 flights of Steep stairs were a struggle to say the least.

    Reasonably priced rooms in a Brilliant location, five minute walk to prix d'emi and train station. Ideal for Just getting your head down on a lads holiday. The beds were pretty comfy too.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    7.5
    Pretty good for a fair price
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gets too cold at night during winter time

    Very close to central station and downtown, not expensive, Maggy is so welcoming. Very easy to find and rooms are cozy.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    3.8
    Stay at own risk a dump
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not easy to find little sign in door that's says magus and it was little plus the extra £35 had pay on top to clean room when leave didn't make this noticeable when booked only when you have a look at hotel services shoud be shown clear when booking that extras are £35 to clean room upon leaving it had string on door that had pull when leaving the place to open door whole place needs tidying and cleaning thought had cheek to charge for cleaning when whole place needed cleaning

    Leaving

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    4.6
    Its locazwd at very good place of Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mould in bathroom, no proper light in the room, When partner went to ask, lady gave him bulbs he can try to change himself, socket With vybledli out of the Wall saying please do not touch?! 😂

    Its locazwd at very good place of Amsterdam

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic, and be ready to climb stairs

    Fantastic location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    2.5
    Awful cockroach city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolute disgrace for accommodation, place really hard to find and dirty, scruffy and dangerous

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    4.6
    Only the localisation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bed was broken, the bedside table too. The curtain rod fell on me.

    Only the localisation

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    4.2
    not bad ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    stairs!! too many tight and terrible stairs!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.3
    Very central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very central location. Can smoke in room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.9
    The steep stairs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The steep stairs

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    3.8
    Bad accomadation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive location fees , not clean and the window was open all night long it was broken and we frezzed cold at night

    lication

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    2.5
    They tried to over charge us
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They tried to over charge us

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    2.9
    I stayed in a prison.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Like a prison

    Nothing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    2.5
    We did not feel safe here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not feel safe here!!!! Do not stay here!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    2.5
    Total wastage of money. I will never do booking through booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In my country even cheapest rooms without any rating are much better compare to maggy's guest house.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    5.0
    close to the railway station and city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room was dirty, small and stinky

    close to the railway station and city center

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    9.2
    Mini break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs

    Beds are so comfy you just melt into them owner very friendly woman looks like moana

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    2.9
    worst place in Amsterdam
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    everything

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    7.5
    Location close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower wasn't working

    Location close to everything

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    2.5
    Noisy, not worth with money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos and description in the advertisement did not show the real situation. Noisy at night.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    3.3
    The fact it was absolutely awful made it absolutely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    My human rights were breached.

    The fact it was absolutely awful made it absolutely hilarious. The lack of stair banisters that are replaced with a bit of rope nailed into the wall adds a sort of Go Ape experience to your stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    4.6
    The position is simply perfect and you can smoke inside the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The woman who recibe us said we didn't have to pay the clean of the room but finally the last day she asked us for 35 €.. the light in the room was orrible due to his faint bulb generally his service was very bad.

    The position is simply perfect and you can smoke inside the room

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    5.8
    If you want a cheap place right in the centre, this is the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    If you want a bit more, a bit nicer feeling to where you stay, do not go for this place.

    If you want a cheap place right in the centre, this is the choice.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    4.2
    only the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    awful state of the rooms and the "hotel" itself. Staff offered me a discount, however they said I need to say to booking I did not come. I refused and paid full price. You will definetely be able to find a better place for the same money.

    only the location

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    5.8
    Imagine you are living in appartment in the very center of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bad news for those who don't smoke - room smells because it is allowed to smoke inside! Extra fees. Ok, everthing is writen on the booking page with this small letters but who reads it!

    Imagine you are living in appartment in the very center of Amsterdam. The guesthouse is actualy several floors bought out for a hotel. Good news for those who smoke weed - it is allowed to do it inside the rooms.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    4.2
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The price we finally paid was 50% more than the one on Booking!!! Apparently in the Booking.com's price were not included the ''cleaning services'' which were 35€! That's too much, in my opinion, since the room was so tiny. The owner welcomed us in an unfriendly way, which was not appreciated by us.

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very dirty place, uncomfortable beds. Misleading website which in fact you end up paying more that what you booked (small prints States €35 for cleaning and City Tax). They are not included in the actual price which is very misleading for the customer. The landlord seems to be aware of it as is the first thing she mentioned when we arrived. Last place I will ever book.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    6.7
    The staff, so friendly and cooperative :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The rates and heating was off during our stay (April 2015) though it was so cold and no additional covers are available in the room.

    The staff, so friendly and cooperative :)

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    8.8
    Quiet room, warm, comfortable sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Steepest stairs in the world

    Quiet room, warm, comfortable sleep

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    5.8
    Location is good and you can smoke weed in the rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The lighting was terrible it was very dusty and needed a bit of a better clean.

    Location is good and you can smoke weed in the rooms

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    8.8
    Very welcoming fit girl at reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was all good

    Very welcoming fit girl at reception.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    5.8
    Clean and close to touristic attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Low value for money

    Clean and close to touristic attractions

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    4.6
    Location ideal
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hidden fees, charged for cleaning with rubbish under beds when we arrived. Fridge did not work.

    Location ideal

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    6.3
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    3.8
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everyhting else.

    Location. That's it.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    2.5
    Nothing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything!

    Nothing!

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Steep narrow stair

    Location

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2015

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All is bad

    Nothing

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

Browse Maggy's Room traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: