Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of De Mallemoolen

Warmoesstraat 7, Amsterdam City Centre, 1012 HT Amsterdam, Netherlands

#325 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1127 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.7

  • Comfort

    6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spiral staircase up to the room was treacherous. Had to walk to another location to have breakfast for some unexplained reason.

    Dark and dingy but right in the center of town. Very basic room but that is reflected in the price. Staff were very knowledgeable and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The stairs are not stairs, but ladders. Think this must be common to buildings in this area, but trying to lug a 24kg suitcase up a set of ladders and you'll understand what I mean. However, this is what a lot of the "old" houses in the area will likely have these kind of stairs. The room I was in was so small my head was on one wall and my feet were hitting off the door. Foul smell coming from the sink in the room, and a tiny window with bars on it... A shock considering it was about £100/night. Main annoying issue was a staff member who just took the piss - we have to go into reception for them to buzz us into our building next door. On four separate occassions, I went in and asked this individual to please buzz me in...to then walk back outside and be stood like an idiot waiting to be let in, then having to go back in and ask again. I would recommend the area, but not the hotel. I would not stay here again.

    Perfect location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t know where to begin the beds are absolutely appalling but then again for a cheap hostel it is to be expected. Now my main problem is the staff. The staff are absolutely disgusting and vile human beings. The guy working the morning shift not bad but still horrible. As you have to leave you key behind next door every time you leave, I came back late in the morning and the night shift guy didn’t want to let me in. He sighed and took his sweet time coming to the door and why was it locked anyway? I will expect either a call back from the hotel/booking.com to explain this or i will call them. But yes he was so rude didn’t answer any of my questions, didn’t talk have me my key FINALLY and then slammed the door in my face. The guy in the morning not bad talked more but he seemed more interested in talking to and serving girls as when I arrived I was in front and at the desk yet he decided to serve the girls behind me first. Disgusting PLEASE JUST STAY AWAY FROM HERE.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shared bathroom.

    Th staff at the front desk was very friendly. I knew I had booked a room without a private bath, it was all that was left available. The toilet was down one floor from my room and the shower was separate, across from my room. I would stay in the hotel again but only in a private room with bath. The breakfast was lovely, eggs, meat, cheese, breads and cereals, and coffee.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Carpets full of built up dirt and sticky. Shower didn't work correctly, you could either scald yourself or have a cold shower. Drain was blocked in shower, a friend bravely pulled out the grime from the plug hole

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs are extremely steep. The room smells (I don't smoke and it's a smoking-room). I couldn't stand it, it either comes from the room itself (smoking room) or from the general polluted air in Amsterdam, I hate that smell and the cause of it. It's an old building with wooden floor so if anyone passes by or goes on the stairs, you would hear it. I think it's normal like that in Amsterdam with all the old buildings.

    The breakfast was quite okay, the staffs are good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room allocated was very small, unclean, half broken facilities, no ventilations, no proper air. Could not sleep in the heat, smell and discomfort. Toilets commodes were too small to sit on and bath area was basically dirty.

    Location is central, staff was polite and breakfast was decent enough

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairway was very narrow and a little tricky, otherwise it was a pleasant stay, the location was perfect and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    The location was excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only negative for me was the toilet, which was two floors down on the ground floor.

    My friend and I stayed in a twin room, number 13 on the second floor. The room had a shower, which we were not expecting, so that was a bonus, especially as there was constant hot water. Very basic, but clean room and it perfectly suited our needs. We were allowed to smoke in our room, which again was a massive plus for us. The beds and pillows were extremely comfortable. Towels changed every day. A complimentary breakfast consisted of several kinds of cereal, bread, jam, meats, cheese and fruit. This was plentiful even towards the end of breakfast. The location of the hotel was fantastic, a couple of minutes stroll from the train station and on a busy street full of restaurants, coffee shops, cake and snack shops and a couple of little supermarkets. The famous Redlight District is situated on the next canal. An ideal location from which to explore this beautiful city. I would recommend this hotel to family and friends and I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toillet (WC) was 2 flights of stairs down. Dutch very narrow stairs, no elevator. Expensive for what you get, but this is central Amsterdam.

    Old Dutch hotel located 2 minutes walk from train station. 3 more minutes and you are at the Dam. Really central! I got a small room with 2 single beds, fine for one person. I had a sink in the bed room and a private large shower. Bed and pillow just ok. Quite room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    - only one room key that you weren't allowed to take outside - spotty wifi on the top floor (room 10) - 3.5 flights of very steep, narrow stairs to get to room 10 (more like ladders than stairs) - tiny room, run-down, paint peeling off, 5 foot high ceiling banisters, huge mouse trap in corner - multiple stains on floor - no bathroom in room: shared toilet, shared shower (with poor temperature control)

    Excellent location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great place to stay as a starting point for Amsterdam. Great transport literally at the end of the road. Walking distance to almost anything. More coffee shops, bars, restaurants and shopping close by than you could ever need. Great friendly staff. Can't wait for next year!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no toilet in the room but instead we had shower. Other way around would suit much better.

    Breakfast was lovely and location just fabulous. We would defiantly stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The showers were slightly smelly but could cope

    Amazing location, great value for money. If your ever looking for a cheap hotel this is the place for you

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It isn't perfect, but all the downsides are known before booking - and one should not expect too much when booking an inexpensive place! :) If you are used to a certain standard, this might be below you (bathroom outside of your room, for example, or the steep and narrow stairs not suitable for older guests or big suitcases). These are all known to you before booking, so it would be ridiculous to criticize or complain about them!

    Friendly place, at an affordable price by Amsterdam's standards. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It can be noisy during the night because the walls are thin and other guests can be loud. The one thing I really didn't like was the shower room. It was inconvenient to use (there was no room to place things like cosmetics, to change clothes, to leave slippers, it is just a room with a shower, not a complete bathroom so it is inconvenient to use).

    The location is great! The room is large enough and comfortable. The breakfast was great, the staff very, very nice and friendly. I would stay here again because of a great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and shared bathroom.

    The location is perfect. Step out onto the main high street of amsterdam centraal. Could not have got a better location. It waa very good value for money for location. However the room did not have its own bathroom and had dated decor. Thats just a personal prefrence though. The staff are friendly and the reception is open 24hours. You must leave your room key with them when you leave and they keep it safe behind their desk. Therebare safes that you can use for €5 per day. They also offer discounts on museums and other activities there. They offer breakfast with each room however I chose not to eat their as I wanted to explore different resturants around amsertdam. They also called before we went to check if we wanted 2 singles or 1 double bed. You can smoke in the rooms also which a lot of other hotels do not offer. Overall, the hotel is worth staying at if you want to be able to walk to everything!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the shower kept overflowing every time you used it, but we learnt to use it wisely.

    That there was a fully layed out breakfast buffet in the hotel every morning! That you could smoke in the rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Late night staff were miserable, one in particular. - Stairs are difficult to walk up, even for me at 18 years old. Very steep.

    - Location is great. - Room decent size. - Bathroom located near the room, toilet and shower separate. - Cheap and cheerful. - Beds are comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    it is not easy to sleep before 3 a.m. Window was almost broken and could not close. Room was very noisy.

    It locates in the city center. Breakfast was very succesful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a good place to stay just for one night not more , there is lots of scary stairs so it’s better to have no luggage.

    Great location, almost front of the central station. good breakfast. Fair price. Clean enough.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi kept jumping between two connection as both networks were of the same name and I would lose the signal every now and then.

    Location is perfect, staff brilliant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small room but better than i was expecting and could do with taking own pillow tbf. Sink in room and good tv and mirrors etc, very good for money

    Right in the centre, coffee shops on same street!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside are the stairs when you stay at the 2nd or 3rd floor but it wasn't a big problem for me. You just need to be a little careful when you go up or down because they are a bit narrow.

    Very nice and decent option for a budget hotel at the perfect location. Totally recommend it and will visit again. Perfect option for solo travellers who want a private single room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we knew ahead of time about the steep stairs (which are almost more like a ladder than stairs) we did not know the toilet was on the ground floor while we were on the third floor. This made for some interesting excursions for two seniors in the middle of the night.

    Breakfast was great. Lots of choice of healthy foods. Room, while small, was comfortable enough and quiet. Desk staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic. Room was average ...2 uncomfortable beds and a sink.

    Brilliant location. Chose this hotel for the location rather than anything else as it was central and near all the bars and nightlife

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Got woken up a couple of times by drunks lurching back in early hours.

    The rooms were small and cramped and at the top of a lot of stairs; - but acceptable as the hotel is right in the centre of things.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    a bed to sleep in, a breakfast to eat, a location to er..... hang in, rather than have to walk to, a price not to be upset with - all prerequisite items if u r looking for an ok cheap centrally located bed and breakfast. nothing to complain about at all

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small for 3 persons, stairs are too steep, some of thier staff were not so nice , furniture is very old, dirty carpits, baths are very tight

    Great Location, warm rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is soo small, dirty bathroom, very old of everything!

    Only the location and staff were great. Everything else was horrible to the maximum level

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I really did not appreciate the woman providing the breakfast. She was cranky and rude. On Saturday morning we needed to get the train but 7.45am, we arrived for breakfast at 7 am (which is what time breakfast starts) and she started shouting at us because on the weekend 'shes a bit slower' (her exact words). At 7.27am I attempted to make some toast and she shouted at me from across the room saying '3 more minutes cheeky girl' and glared at me until I took the toast out and sat back down. We were eventually allowed to make breakfast at 7.40am.

    The staff at reception were so nice, friendly and really accommodating. The location is so central and next to the train station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I dont like that when I use Booking.com to make a reservation, the website says I can pay cash upon arrival, but I always arrive to find they have already processed my credit card- please make Booking.com's terms of partnership more clear with your suppliers.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single room was very very small. And the guys in next room was crazy. I think they were getting some drug things as i heard.i didn't feel in safe. i changed my room with more 20 euro for double room. That room was so silent. I felt more safety.but it has not a window.

    Location was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside of the hotel name is different to the one which is stated....koopermoolen I think! But other than that nothing atall.

    The bed was really comfy...the toilet and showers were really clean and close to your room to use. Having a sink in your room is really handy too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very worn down rooms. Mattresses terrible. On one even the metal spirals looked out. Staff just turned it around. We had a six bed family room. Had to climb three tiny narrow stairs with a baby and a small kid. We didn’t expect a luxury accommodation for that price in Amsterdam but the place was not maintained well and equipped poorly. Cleaness also below standard.

    Good location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stair was too narrow and high. The smell of cannabis to the entire room. the Wifi signal was very poor and unstable

    location near central station

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If you're looking to be in a great location but dont mind a very basic place to stay then this is perfect but only with the ensuite otherwise I would not recommend at all

    The location is excellent! And you can smoke in the room! We had booked a room without ensuite but were given one with ensuite when we arrived. This was great as after seeing the shower and toilet outside I would have hated to have to use them.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got a good deal on booking.com and probably got their shittiest room. It was up some crazy steep stairs, the shared shower was really tiny and if you are tall, you couldnt even stand in it. The heating was running really hot, even when i turned it off. The room went out to a roof and a kitchen of a restaurant. During the night you could hear music from a bar or drunk people yelling. Would recommend to stay in the jordaan tbh

    The breakfast was ok and the location is fun

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water in room until last morning of trip Loud people in next room..slamming doors Changing breakfast times No 3 room size..small dark..not a good place to chill..tiny window is up high with bars over outside

    Location and the lil flat screen TV

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water leaks from the ceiling just outside the door of our room when it rains. Also definitely need a lift access to improve the overall facilities. The only waitress that mends the morning breakfast table comes with an unpleasant attitude towards the customers. Forbids the entry of my family member to the breakfast table after he left to visit the restroom. On another day, same waitress does not allow him to wash his hands in the kitchen and he has to take the trouble to go up the flight of steps to get his hands washed before coming down again.

    Definitely the location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The window did not close fully in the bathroom, that's why we had to use a shared bathroom instead of ours.

    Location is great, right in the heart of the old town. Great value for money. Supportive staff available 24/7.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could barely get in door because room was so cramped. Poor quality, small bed. Mattress kept sliding off bed support (a piece of foam). No room for luggage. Toilet was very cramped- hard to get in and shut door. Took forever to get hot water.

    Location was convenient to train station and many visitor sites. Staff friendly and helpful. Storage room for luggage was convenient. Shower was decent. Breakfast okay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The quality of the furniture could have been better. The plastic glasses that we had in the bathroom always cracked. We didn't like the fact that in order to leave the room we had to give the room key to the reception. It would be much better if we could get a key and keep it with us. Also, in order to get to our room we had to get to the reception and ask them to open the door that leads to the rooms. it would be much better if we had a key or an acces to open the door by ourselfs and get to our room.

    we liked the breakfasts, the kindness of most of the staff, the room service and the location of the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To climb those stairs all the way to the top was such an effort. Very narrow steps, quite dangerous considering that you are carrying a suitecase

    I liked the breakfast I really liked the lady at the reception(super polite smily, kind and professional) Wi fi connection seemed to be ok

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is very good, comfortable to reach all the main objects in the city centre. However the room windows were facing the street with all the bars, which have closed only 6 am... The people, who were coming back, were slamming the door constantly and you could always hear if anyone was in the stairs. Have payed this hotel pretty expensive and got really poor facilities. It's really not worthing the money value.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact that we had to hand in our room key every time we left the hotel, as we went in and out the room all the time. The number one reason I chose De Mallemoolen was their open smoking policy, however, I received an email on the day of our booking saying that we should limit our smoking to a couple of cigarettes. Though this was not a problem since the smoking detection was on the opposite side of the room from the window, I was angry since this was the reason for our choice.

    Very nice staff, great complementary breakfast and cheap.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a single room.The bed was terrible. It was not firm and the middle of it was sunken down. The windows were not closing well and the sound insulation was bad. It was full of potheads talking loud till the morning. Wifi was very slow and weak. I paid much for a good time but the result was bad. I do not recommend.

    Location. It was very close to the Amsterdam Centraal and also to the tourist attractions.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Tiny rooms and beds which were a touch uncomfortable, wifi was OK but did drop out from time to time.

    Ideal location and super friendly staff. Cheaper than most others in the area

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Already know about, but just to mention: Lots os stairs, breakfast +/-, hotel next door access outside. Like every hotel in Amsterdam, too expensive for what you get. It was a good experience. Drop your luggage at your responsability in a small room.

    Amsterdam style hotel. Confortable beds and cleaning ok. Right in city centre (red light district), great access for transportation. If you stay in a room at the back of the hotel you can get silence.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult getting my bag upstairs but made for an adventure nonetheless!

    The breakfast was exactly what I needed and I didn't even know the room came with a breakfast!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was a nightmare, dirty, dirty I hope I haven't caught any disease, but I have been bitten by bedbugs. Shut it down, and Booking staff, how dare you even present it on your website, shame on you too. Describing this building as a hotel, youmhave lowered your standards too, so I will just do it myself in future

    We all have different standard when it comes to quality , so at someone this place might be appealing, if you like dirty walls, linen, smelly rooms, couldn't care less attitude from staff, or indeed bedbugs, yes, perfect. Or like me I will never let this establishment exists as a hotel. Disgusting, no dignity from the owners to care to accommodate their guests Ina clean hotel. More of a pig sty...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Much more than I liked. Basin in room filled with water, and was very slow to drain. Tap in bathroom needed to be held in place when you wanted water. The drain pipe is filthy. Small window, low ceiling, roof below window where people like to smoke.

    Your website generated the Mallemoolen when I requested 3 star, however it is only 1 star. I know the area (was born in Amsterdam) and we wanted convenient to Centraal Station before a flight back to Australia. No lifts, 2 flights of extremely steep and high stairs and we are both in our 70's. No ensuite - toilet and bathroom in passageway; took just one look at the shower curtain and I wouldn't shower. Staff are very helpful and breakfast was good - room atrocious and I want a refund.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can be noisy at night- price you pay for being close to bars and restaurants.

    The breakfast was excellent. The location ideal, bang in the centre of town close to railway station and all attractions and easy to get to from airport. Good value and secure, as a single women fantastic. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelly shower & rooms. Very small room right on street so very noisy. Extremely steep staircase. No lift. So difficult to drag cases right up three floors. Even though a budget accommodation (it still was not very economical. Expected a little more in comfort and decor.

    Location. Breakfast ok.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The insulation was really poor, we heard everything that was going on the outside (in the street) and on the inside (in the building). Moreover the crunch of one of the bed kept us awake all night long ! The sheets did not look good and were riped in certain spots.

    Good location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful guy on reception and good breakfast. Great location, 2 minutes from Central Station and right on top of all the action. I would definitely stay here again for the convenient location and nice staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well i think cuz the hotel is really in the ciry center, but wtill its kinda over price

    The staff where super friendly, nice and helpful. Beds were comfortable and toilet is clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very steep and narrow stairs to the room. Don't take this lightly. My cousin couldn't get her suitcase up and had to leave it at reception for our whole stay. Also, we have to be buzzed in by reception every time we want to get into the room. No independance or freedom. The showers were very small and not very clean.

    Great location, right next to canals and red light district. Short walk from the train station.Reception staff were nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs were very hard to walk but it's was jokes...

    The fact you could smoke in the room..all the staff was so nice..what ever we asked for we got done...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs were very steep and the doors to the other rooms slammed shut every time they were used. Unfortunately some of the others staying there seemed to think they were in a hostel and were very noisy. The shower room was very small and it was difficult to find room to put your clothes somewhere and keep them dry.

    It was in a great area. Very handy to Central Railway Station, Red Light District and trams nearby. Most of the reception staff were extremely helpful. It was good having a window that could be opened wide at it was hot when I was there

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    My single room was located right next to the communal toilet, and anytime somebody used the hand dryer there was a god almighty rattle coming through the thin wall.

    Centrally located accommodation, but the benefits of this place just about end here.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bad attention of the receptionist of the night.

    The zone, the breakfast and the conection wifi. Good attention for the recepcionist of the morning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The noise at night was really disgusting.

    Great location. No needed public transport to visit the two important parts of the City. Good breakfast. At the weekends, you have to breakfast outside the building.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Attic room was dirty, hot and smelled like cigarette smoke. Beds were saggy and very uncomfortable. The coffee machine was also broken during breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was so hot here and they placed me at the attic in 3rd fl. It has a steep stairs and narrow hallway. I asked for a fan which they gave me after few follow ups. The bed was tight and you won't have a privacy here once you ope the window.

    just the proximity to the train station

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Linens could of been newer both days my had wear rips and where breaking down. Bed was completely bents broke!

    Price and location, Well. Look this what it is! You're in the red light district: on the street, it's loud ,there's no A/C, building is over 200 years old, stairs will kill you, room is really a closet, bathrooms smaller then airplane, and every hotel in the district is like this; it is what it is!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift. No toilet bowl in the room.

    Excellent customer service. Front desk helped me to move my heavy luggage up the stairs in 2nd floor. Let me leave my luggages at storage room after check out. Answered my questions like a tourist advisor.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very rude kitchen woman, treating my friends like children, my friend asked for a spoon and her reply was "you look you see! i understood we had to share bathrooms but didnt realize how many other people we had to share with!

    easy to walk to from train station, access to a few decent coffee shops, could smoke goodies in the room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is exactly at the bottom of the RDL, so it's almost a non-stop noise of pedestrians and the smell of weeds permeated the place. The room I got was prob the smallest and right above the entrance staircase so I cld clearly hear all the other guests running up/down the stairs and doors banging/closing. It was really difficult to sleep. Those steep stairs were also hard on my knees and back as I had to carry my luggage up/down. The room itself was so tiny and depressing, felt like I was in a coffin.

    Location was close to Central Station and several tourits attractions and restaurants. Price includes a humble breakfast and staff was relatively helpful. Toilet and shower were small but adequate.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    douche sur le palier et wc etage inferieur le tout commun!!! chambre trop petite manque porte manteau lavabo instable tablette incline!!!! difficile de poser les affaires mais pour trois nuits juste pour dormir et se doucher ca passe et la situation est excellente

    a cote de la gare centrale pratique pour toutes les activites au calme chambre 12 super petit dejeuner hotel securise surveillance 24h sur 24

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was slightly dated and it did have Mice scattering around, which didn't make for the most pleasant thought. I wouldn't recommend this to families/couples.

    The location of the property was second to none for our group holiday. As Central as you can get; 3 minute walk from the RLD, 5 minutes from the City Centre and plenty of restraunts/cafe's to eat on your journey. The room was a good size, had decent facilities and free breakfast - perfect for a 'lads' holiday.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the forniture in the room: only a little round table, no any kind of wardrobe but only two crutches and some hooks for the clothes; the bed wasn't very confortable, maybe the mattress was seasoned; in second order, sure the stairs was unconfortable but it wasn't a problem for me and I knew the fact in prior.

    the old style building, the cleaning, the reachability, the district around the hotel; also good the presence of a sink in the room. The included Breakfast was accettable enough, but you can consider to have it outside

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a room facing the street and the insulation of the window was bad, so very noisy, specially early morning with delivery trucks.

    2 minutes walk to train station, close to bars and restaurants, really in the center of city. Clean bathrooms. Good bed and pilow.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed sheets were torn and stained, there was a hole in the window covered in tape and graffiti on the underside of everything.

    The property was near the city centre as well as countless restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfasts, rooms and bathroom/toilette in good condition without any luxury - perfect if you want to have place to take the shower and sleep. Stairs are very hilly -charakteristic for old building - but it was OK for us. In my opinion very nice hotel in the great location for good price - I think I will choose it once again for visit with friends. THIS IS NO HOTEL FOR FAMILIES !!! Perfect place in the center of old city, a lot of restaurants, pubs and bars, Red Light District starts 3min from hotel if you want to sightsee in the evening ;-)

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse De Mallemoolen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: