Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bed & Breakfast Hotel Malts

Zijlstraat 56-58, 2011 TP Haarlem, Netherlands

#3 of 15 B&Bs and Inns in Haarlem

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 780 B&B reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.9

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    10

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    10
    This is the one to book.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reviews very absolutely RIGHT. The hotel is amazing. The people , the location, the breakfast, the accomidation make tour stay memorable. I cannot say how much the hosts made our stay easy and fun. The were attentive to every detail and were always available. Their breakfast and their friendliness made for a great start of the day. I ABSOLUTELY recommend this place

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hotel Malts is in a perfect location in Haarlem. Shopping malls are just nearby. The breakfast with so many options to choose from. The owners are very welcoming, very nice and very helpful. They even give me a breakfast to go with a lovely note. The bathroom is very clean. Bed is comfortable, room was cool and restful. Overall, the service is superb.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.6
    Awesome B&B in the heart of Haarlem with great hosts and excellent amenities!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no lift and the stairs are steep. We were on the top floor so it was a bit of a slog after a long day of sightseeing. We're both in good shape so not an issue for us. The bed was hard for my wife and when we told Henk and Annemarie this, they added a winter duvet to the bed that helped soften it for her. There was no air conditioning in the room, but a fan is provided which moved air around and kept things comfortable for us. Our room faced the street and while generally quiet, there seemed to be at least one or two very loud motorcycles that passed by at 2 or 3 AM that woke me up. I would request a room that faces the rear of the building if you're a light sleeper.

    Henk and Annemarie were awesome hosts! They were very friendly, helpful, and accommodating during our 4-night stay. Their B&B is located in the heart of Harlem and is a convenient 10 minute walk from the train station and a 2 minute walk to the city center. The room was a good size with high ceilings, well lighted, and had a large, modern bathroom. The breakfast is continental style with plenty of fresh fruit, baked breads, cheeses, cured meats, and mixed yogurt cup. The coffee was delicious. There are two bikes on site you can reserve ahead of time and Annemarie provided a map and overview of the town of Haarlem and some things to see and do while there. Being vegetarian and my wife vegan, we were able to find a number of restaurants nearby that had great options and food for us to eat. We were due to arrive later to the proper than the requested hour and when I called the property Henk said, 'no problem, I'll e-mail instructions to get into the property and your room.' The process was straight-forward and easy and Henk followed up to make sure we arrived OK. If you will arrive outside the requested arrival hours, you should contact Henk a few days before arriving to set things up.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel experience in Haarlem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish we had a fridge in the room. Otherwise perfect !!!!!

    Very welcoming and friendly staff. Gave us great information about the area of Haarlem and great dining options. Thank you again for the hospitality.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Fabulous - 5 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    That we didn't stay longer :-)

    We highly recommend staying here in beautiful Haarlem... the perfect location in the centre with lots of choices of restaurants and cafes. Upon check in we were greeted by the lovely hosts Anne-Marie and Henk who provided plenty of information of what to do and see in the local area. The delicious breakfast with a choice of yogurt pots, breads, croissants, fresh squeezed juice, meats and cheeses, fresh fruit and much more, was a great way to start the day. The room was immaculately clean and comfortable, with lovely linen and towels. We bring back lovely memories of our time here. Thank you.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    A relaxing and fantastic place to stay..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hospitality of the owner(s)Henk and Anne -Marie was totally professional.We would gladly recommend to all friends and family..The location was excellent,close to all amenities.We are more than happy to return.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    A fabulous stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    Great location in a delightful town within easy short train ride to central Amsterdam- a lovely comfortable B & B with great breakfasts and informative charming hosts.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    cared for and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing to dislike

    Henke and Annemarie were so warm and helpful, lovely breakfast and very comfortable beds. We liked the fact that there was a place to sit and socialise and make ourselves drinks regardless of time

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    The hotel was located in a great area near restaurants and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was located in a great area near restaurants and attractions. Everything was clean throughout the entire hotel. Breakfast was great and the hosts were friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed the fresh squeezed orange juice each morning. It is within walking distance to train station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Very nice B&B near Haarlem's Grote Markt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very friendly and helpful hosts, excellent breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice and homemade yogurts,, nice room with a couch, close to a supermarket and a bus station

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic place in a great location. Expect warm welcome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a back view over the roofs - there is a big vent flue that ran up outside the window, which is noisy and there was some smoke as well. We were woken up once in the night by the rattling sound and loud voices.

    Amazing service! The owners were so welcoming and kind :) Great breakfast with lots of choice & fresh orange juice. We had Small / Twin Room with comfy bed, pillows and soft towels, lovely bathroom. Overall an excellent place to stay right in the town centre and close to everything you need. Fantastic location. Would stay here again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel in a wonderful Haarlem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything!

    Everything was great. Hotel is on best location, owners are amazing, rooms clean and nice, breakfast delicious. Posters on walls, fresh flowers and music in the kitchen create a lovely atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    Home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Henk and Annemarie made it feel like home away from home with their warmth and hospitality :-) especially seeing that we were from South Africa. We enjoyed our stay and nothing was too much trouble for them. We even received a packed breakfast when we had to leave early for the airport. Definitely recommending Malts to anyone visiting the Netherlands! Leuk!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Everything was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was excellent. Fantastic and polite hosts Hank and Annamaria. If you don't know what to do in Harlem hosts will explain everything for you, They will show best locations, restraunts, shops, answer all of your questions. It is a big pleasure to stay in this Hotel. It's a pity that we had only one night. Strongly reccomended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Perfect location, perfect room, perfect hosts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Leaving!

    Exceptionally well run, and exceptionally thoughtful and considerate management/hosts who understand the needs of tourists. Their recommendations to ensure you have the best experience in Haarlem was much appreciated and spot on! Perfect!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic BnB run by a young couple and their cousin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No smoking area for guests

    Fantastic BnB run by a young couple and their cousin. They greet you upon arrival and take their time to explain highlights, restaurants and transport infor about haarlem. Delicious breakfast, fresh juice and coffee with a big smile. Also, Honesty bar, great concept and very useful. Thank you For a great stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    Friendly, clean, and convenient to all major locations in Haarlem...would stay there again!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steps were very steep, narrow and curvy.

    Henk and Anne Marie were wonderful hosts/innkeeper. They personally welcomed us over coffee and explained where things were in the city and what things we could do. The inn is very conveniently located, clean and with a wonderful breakfast area with a nice breakfast selection. The only down sides were the rooms were a little tiny. Our room was on the 3rd floor with very, very steep, narrow and curvy steps. Henk was very helpful in getting our luggage upstairs. I would definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Nice to discover a place to stay which is both convenient and full of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs are a bit challenging, but the host is always happy to help with the luggage.

    The property is located right in the centre of town, easily accessible to the station, restaurants and features of interest around the town. Even though it is right on a major street it is quiet in the bedrooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Staying at the hotel malts was a very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staying at the hotel malts was a very enjoyable stay. Henk , Annemarie and Catalyne were the perfect hosts. Great breakfasts and perfect location. Highly recommend staying there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Couldn't ask for better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our hosts, Henk and Ana Marie, were fantastic. Helpful, informative and friendly. Our room was super quiet which is very important , and the breakfast was fantastic. Fruit, coffee and tea available all day was a nice touch. Having bikes at our disposal was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    A happy stay in Haarlem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs from street level are quite steep and would be a problem for anyone with mobility issues.

    It's great when a hotel exceeds expectations in the way Malts did! The owners could not be friendlier or more helpful. The hotel itself is spotless and right in the centre of Haarlem so the main sights are within walking distance. Although it's central, I wasn't bothered by any noise from the street. The breakfast buffet is delightful - everything is freshly prepared and beautifully presented. I only stayed one night this time but I'd definitely book the Malts again when I return to Haarlem.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Would go there again- without hesitation :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    all awesome, maybe a little sign on the corridor for the other visitors to behave and be quiet between 10pm and 6am, some just go sleep earlier or sleep in during vacation, but actually this is not the fault of the owners or minus of the accommodation, but the education and behavior of others...

    Owners - helpful and very nice, absolutely generous

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    A comfortable and friendly experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No bedside drawers to tuck small things away.

    Very well organised business and very good for information. Breakfast runs like clockwork and Henk and Anne-Marie and their assistant are very attentive. Location is good for transport, restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Amazing hosts, central location, near everything in Haarlem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. Best one could ever ask for.

    Fantastic hosts - Henk and Annemarie were extremely accommodating. They let us check-in early (before 1300), also received a free room upgrade. They provide the personal touch and went out of their way to explain Haarlem and all of the sites. The hotel is located in central Haarlem - just 10 minutes walk away from the Haarlem Station (train and bus) and to the edge of town. Also short walking distance are bus stops that go to Schiphol Airport, Keukenhof (tulips), and many surrounding areas. Famous Jopenkerk brewery and Uiltje bar are just a couple of blocks away. Corrie Ten Boom Museum was just around the corner. Breakfast was great and really enjoyed the 24/7 community snack fridge in the breakfast room. Room and bathroom were very modern, beds extremely comfortable, and nice view of the street. WiFi was flawless. Would have liked to stayed much longer! Loved Malts and will definitely return!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Everything is fantastic.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing at all.

    Everything is fantastic. Definitely will stay here again when I travel to The Netherlands next time. Henk and AnneMarie talked to everyone stayed in the hotel and it is just like home.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    Home away from home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a very clean, upgraded and conveniently located B&B close to the landmarks in Harlem. The hosts were exceptionally friendly, hospitable and helpful. They went out of their way to make our stay memorable. The beds were comfortable and the showers had good water pressure and temperature - things that would make you feel at home. Our room was spacious and bright with three tall windows and high ceilings. Attention to detail was evident throughout the place and breakfast was scrumptious. Tea and fruit were complimentary throughout the day. It is a great place for families with children as well. We loved the low key environment away from the stimulus overload of Amsterdam.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    A top qualty small hotel with excellent people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite simply nothing I didn't like.

    The most genuinely friendly staff you could ever meet. Excellent service from the coffee at check-in through to collecting our left luggage. This is not what we would consider a B&B, it is a quality small hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.8
    Central location, comfortable rooms, super friendly owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are not very soundproof, could hear the neighbours talk. Be prepared to climb some steep stairs.

    Very welcoming and helpful staff (the couple owning the hotel), room was large and cosy, good shower, comfy bed, complimentary tea, coffee, biscuits and fruit.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent family owned hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really to dislike.

    Family owned, super friendly couple. They live in Haarlem so tips about what to do, see, where to eat are free :) You can rent a bike there which is great for getting around. Amsterdam central station is about 30min train ride away (10min to Haarlem station + 15min train ride).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent atmosphere, great brakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly owners, who really take care of you. Nice atmosphere during breakfast (owners serve you freshly squeezed juice and aromatic coffee). Hotel is located in a great place close to the city attractions and with plenty of nice pubs, restaurants around. Haarlem is a great city, ideal alternative from Amsterdam, beautiful but quiet, without drunk and loud "party tourists".

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.2
    I was so glad as a female travelling alone for work I chose this accommodation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hospitality at Hotel Malts was wonderful. I was made to feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble for this lovely couple. They really helped me so much with their kindness, humour and smiley attitude! Thank you!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location for a short city trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the very welcoming welcome from the owners, with a tea and coffee and an extensive explanation of what you can do in Haarlem. The room was spacious, super clean and all very well maintained, modern and light. The location was perfect, in the city center, a 10 minute walk from the train station. Double glazed windows, so no noise at all. The breakfast was perfect as well. All well prepared, fresh croissants and yoghurt with fresh fruits and muesli. And really fresh orange juice, prepared on the spot. Loved this place!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    Clean and comfortable within a walking distance from the station and sightseeings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you are unable to check-in during daylight you need to contact the place in advance to arrange things - it was not a problem for us, just mentioning in case other guests also do not notice. Unfortunately we left too many things (three!) behind - not a mistake of the hotel, of course.

    After trying several hotels in Haarlem this will be our place to stay. Within a walking distance from the station and very close to the places of interest. Clean, simple and modern. Friendly and helpful staff. Good restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    Excellent :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent B&B in central Haarlem, very friendly and helpful owners, fantastic breakfast (including vegan options if desired) with a lovely ambiance given by freshly cut flowers on each table :) Coffee, tea and fruit available all day (at no extra charge)!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    9.2
    2 night business trip in the center of Harlem
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No tea or coffee making facilities in the room. There were however drinks available to purchase in the dining area on the first floor.

    Very friendly owner and staff and good central location for the town. Flexible approach of the owner to accommodate my early work start time pre breakfast @8am They provided some food for me to take.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    Lovely owners, charming B&B
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A gap in bed (single beds pushed together) which can be fixed with a mattress topper, extra linen, or a bed bridge, etc.

    Nice people running the place (gave good guidance about Haarlem, a room tour, etc.), a room with a small terrace, a lovely breakfast room with fresh flowers and service. Coffee, tea and fruit available all day (at no extra charge). Very central location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Great place to stay in the heart of Haarlem
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect for all the local attractions, the room was immaculately clean and well presented and the hosts were friendly, informative and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    A great hotel in one of Hollands most attractive and interesting cities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit picky but cycles could not be parked on site, safe storage a couple of hundred metres away.

    Very welcoming host. Excellent central location in the heart of the city centre which has a great choice of places to eat and attractions to visit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Haarlem is really a nice City, very near to Amsterdam...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Haarlem is really a nice City, very near to Amsterdam (aubout 15min by train to Amsterdam Central). Lot's of nice restaurants around the Malts Hotel, ask your hosts for advice. THX to Annemarie and Henk for the wonderful time in Haarlem. kind regards Thesi & Robert

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Incredible
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the steep stairs nothing else I plan on returning and been told I can ask for a room on lower level The hotel is in prime location exactly where you need to be

    The hosts were the best I've ever come across in my travels The place is spotless clean unfailingly Nothing is too much trouble They even got gluten free bread for one of our party

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    I would have stayed longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a small, lovely place. I was met when I arrived, given a coffee. While sipping, I chatted with the owner about Haarlem, what I wanted to see and do, and strategies to use my time well. She gave me great advice. The location of the hotel is perfect. Breakfast was great— a lot of options.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    Friendly hotel in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only small problem we had was that as our room was at the front of the building, we were woken up a few times in the night by the street noise. We would stay at Malts Hotel again, but would ask for a room at the back.

    Malts Hotel is in a great location and our room was comfortable and clean. The owners are really friendly and the breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    the runners are the owners - which makes it very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the runners are the owners - which makes it very nice! They are incredible nice and welcoming, introducing you to the City and the hotel- a very warm and cosy atmosphere!!! Breakfast is remarkably good, fresh and -as far as I can see- dutch; good koffie and daily surprises. Go there!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.2
    We had a wonderful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The proprieters Henk and Annemarie were especially welcoming and helpful and took the time to get to know all the guests. Breakfast was provided personally and there was freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee on the table before you even asked. I cant speak highly enough of Henk and Annemarie. Haarlem is close to Amsterdam, has its own charm and attractions but is a lot more laid back, Access to other North Holland places is just as easy from Haarlem

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    Great central location, great food and wonderful hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing could improve the stay - excellent

    The location is excellent, just off the main square in Haarlem. It's situated above a restaurant up some stairs which are quite steep. Fine for us, but could be a problem for those with limited mobility. The rooms are excellent, good size and have great walk-in showers. There's a small dining area which has fruit and tea/coffee available any time and an honesty bar for drinks. A very nice touch. Breakfast was very nice - continental style with excellent coffee made to order. The hosts were great - both prior to arrival (we needed somewhere to store our bikes) and when we were there. They gave us plenty of advice about what to see in Haarlem and then let us use a room to change into our cycling gear for our cycle to the port. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    Great value and good for younger families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Takes a little longer to walk to the train station (10 mins), but the scenery thru the local streets can make you forget the time. Stairs are a little narrow and steep, but that seems to be how houses were built in those days (authentic feel).

    Very nice and friendly staff. Breakfast items were good. Coffee/tea/cookies included all day. Rooms were spacious (we rented 2 rooms) and bright.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Top notch inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    AnnMarie is a great inn keeper. Hotels Malts is a first class inn. We were very comfortable and had everything we needed. The downtown location was close to everything. However, the double pane windows kept it quiet at night. We slept well. Guarded indoor bike parking around the corner was perfect for us as we were traveling by bike.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    We loved staying at Hotel Malts
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to complain about.

    Very nice room and nice bathroom. The owners is friendly and helpful. Great breakfast with fresh orange juice. Very good cleaning of the room and bathroom during our stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Top accommodation run by great owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    At Malts you are very warmly welcomed by Henk & Annemarie. The room, the location, the breakfast ... everything is very well taken care of and it makes you feel at home after discovering the lovely city of Haarlem.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    Brilliant centrally located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing i didn't like😀

    The personal and friendly welcome on arrival with most appreciated cup of tea. The hosts local knowledge, nothing was too much trouble, great service. Great central location. Lovely breakfast /day room with complementary tea & coffee. I would definitely stay here again and strongly recommend this Hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    Would highly recommend a stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We were made to feel at home from the moment we arrive, nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast room was a lovely fresh feeling room where we sat and relaxed at any time of the day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Choosing this comfortable, convenient, and inviting B&B in Haarlem was a great move!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel Malts was a terrific choice for our stay in Haarlem. This is a really nice updated property on the edge of the historic district, and our hosts were gracious, knowledgeable, and accommodating. They provided us with a copy of their own detailed and clear map of the city, along with great suggestions for sites to visit, all of which helped to maximize our stay. The breakfasts are lovely, with options, and served in a sunny bright room, which can also be accessed after-hours for beverages. Our room was large, clean, comfortable and thoughtfully appointed for our comfort. Very glad we chose to stay here!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    Picture perfect stay in the 🇳🇱
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything about it

    Fantastic wonderful place in the heart of beautiful Haarlem.Rooms are huge airy modern. Hosts are amazing, friendly and very helpful. Very nice breakfast. Great value.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Excellent location, with the staff very considerate and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location, with the staff very considerate and helpful. Breakfast was also fantastic. I would defiantly stay here again, and recommend it to anyone who visits Haarlem. Perfectly located, and handy if you need to travel from the airport using the bus, as the stop is only 200 meters away. Great place, highly recommended!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.6
    An excellent base from which to see Haarlem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being in the centre meant there was a little bit of street noise late at night but not a major problem.

    Very comfortable and convenient in the centre of Haarlem. Hosts were very kind, helpful and attentive. Excellent choice for breakfast. We would stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    Home from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was our second visit to Malts and we've booked again for next year,it's become home from home for us. Rooms are nice, modern and clean. Breakfast is lovely and the owners are great, friendly and helpful and speak multiple languages. Lots of bars, restaurants and cafes on the doorstep. Set in a really pretty area and close to the train station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Charming friendly and great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was perfect.

    Owners were very friendly and helpful. Super breakfast. Charming European style small hotel. Neighboring great foodie restaurant and close to many other great restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    Very central to locations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't say that there anything I didn't like.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. There offered free fruit and tea/coffee throughout the day or night which was very welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.2
    Great location, friendly owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms don't have air conditioning, but there was a fan in the room. Luckily it wasn't so hot that the fan was necessary. Had to sleep with the window closed, because there was a big vent flue that ran up outside the window, presumably from the ground floor restaurant. The restaurant also wheeled their big bins around below at 11:15pm. But I guess this is the price of city centre living!

    Henk and Annemarie were very welcoming, keen to talk through options of where to go and what to see, and have a good system for checking in late in the day when reception is closed. The emails before arrival were clear and friendly. Great location in the centre, within walking distance of everything in Haarlem. Good breakfast and nice to have access to tea, coffee and fruit outside breakfast hours. Haarlem is lovely.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    Great value, room, location, and hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Henk and Annamarie were great hosts. Very helpful, great info, especially restaurants. Very nice room. Haarlem is a fantastic city as a for a base for Netherlands trip. The city is charming with lots to see and great restaurants. 25 minute train ride to Amsterdam, 20 minutes to North Sea beach. Easy trains to Delft and other cities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.6
    nice b&b a
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was comfortable b&b hotel with lovely owners. Both Anna and Hans was so helpful with their always smiling faces. Breakfast is nice for b&b standarts. beds comfortable. area is nice, safe and quiet. its about 8-10 mins away to train station and amsterdam central is 15 minutes away by train. easy to reach.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    In LOVE with B&B Hotel MALTS!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was absolutely NOTHING that we did not like. This place is amazing and we would recommend it HIGHLY!

    The owners were so welcoming and kind. The rooms were renovated, clean and beautiful. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Service was impeccable. Henk and AnneMarie could not have been any nicer. The location is wonderful...in the center of Haarlem, but only 10 minute walk to the train station. Lots of restaurants nearby. Charming city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    9.6
    Exceptional Hospitality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hosts were amazing . The location was very good and so was the breakfast .Both Henke and Ann Marie were warm and ensured that you had the best stay possible . One of the best B&B we have stayed at .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Must stay hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Absolutely nothing!

    Great hotel, Henk & Annemarie make you feel so welcome, check in was super easy and the map given to us by Henk was a lovely touch. The location of the hotel is spot on and so easy to get to from Schiphol airport. The room was a great size, bed was so comfortable and i loved the fact you could control the temperature of the radiator in your room. We usually stay in Amsterdam and venture into Haarlem but we've now been converted, we will defiantly be staying here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.6
    Great Stay and Ultra-friendly hosts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I just hoped we have our own fridge because we bought a lot of cheese=) But, otherwise, it was a great stay!

    In our whole Eurotour, this is the first time that a hote/host has offered us a warm drink upon arrival and a free map with tour recommendations. The hosts are very welcoming. We felt at home. They have assisted us in every step of the way. Highly recommended! The room is also very upscale and the room facilities are superb. I love everything. Fast wifi and cable have english channels. The bathroom is clean, chic and with floor heaters.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    9.6
    Great choice for Haarlem or Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An elevator would be nice, but owner helped us with our suitcases.

    Friendly atmosphere; friendly, informative staff. Very spacious, comfortable and modern room (#9).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.6
    A wonderful total accommodation experience that exceeded our expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds. Two single beds with poor mattresses are not suitable for a married couple

    Excellent breakfast; very friendly staff who went out of their way to make us feel comfortable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Exceptionally well run and friendly establishment. The emphasis is on you the customer, aiding in any way possible to make your stay the best it can be.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    8.8
    Perfect place to stay to get the most of being in Haarlem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like, but could have done without the noisy pigeon very early each morning outside our window! 😜

    Extremely helpful and friendly owners. Perfect location for Haarlem. Good continental style breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    9.6
    Hidden Gem with Smiling Staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would love to see some nice bathroom products (i.e., lotion, etc.).

    Very friendly reception and staff were extremely helpful with information about restaurants, organizing a bike and getting to the airport. The rooms were a generous size and lovely. I had to leave before breakfast and the staff provided a to-go meal. Wish I could have stayed longer!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    10
    Exceptionally Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing that I didn’t like.

    I was 100% happy with my stay in this hotel. Its location is perfect, rooms are comfortable, and breakfast is very good. Owners and employees are extremely friendly and supportive. I strongly suggest this hotel to anyone who is planning to visit Amsterdam or Haarlem.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    9.2
    Nice overnight stay in Haarlem
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    well, nothing. All was good enough.

    The breakfast was very nice, good cheese, bread and fresh orange juice. The team managing the hotel is absolutely friendly and nice. All well, the room very comfortable and for sure I would return if I will have to staya again in Haarlem

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    10
    Hosts were very welcoming and helpful in every way and more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hosts were very welcoming and helpful in every way and more. The place was very clean throughout. Breakfast was very good, lots to choose from. Location was great. Right in the heart of where you want to be and easy access to both bus and train station. Highly recommend The Malts to any one travelling to Haarlem Looking forward to my next trip will definitely be back.... when the weather gets a better :-)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    9.6
    Great little hotel in Haarlem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All good - just be aware of the 2 flights of circular stairs.

    On arrival at Hotel Malts we rang doorbell and was welcomed by Hank. We were early but our room was ready so that was a bonus. There is a steep circular staircase up to 1st floor but he quickly carried our bags up for us. Our room was very light, airy and warm, but as it was a standard room it only looked into an inner courtyard. Although the bed felt very soft it was not saggy and was really comfortable. The bathroom is very well lit and there are good size mirrors in both rooms. Everything was spotless and wifi great. The breakfast room was lovely and light and tea/coffee and fruit was available 24/7. Breakfast was good and consisted of freshly squeezed orange juice, yoghurt, egg, cheese, ham, bread rolls etc. Hank and his wife were very friendly and helpful with maps and suggestions. The Amuse Restaurant downstairs is very good. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    9.6
    Gem of a hotel in the centre of Haarlem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Gem of a hotel in the centre of Haarlem, extremly freindly and welcoming The breakfeast was lovely, coffee was very good and freshly squeezed orange juice every morning

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Bed & Breakfast Hotel Malts traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: