Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Budget Season Star Hotel

Martelaarsgracht 18, Amsterdam City Centre, 1012 TR Amsterdam, Netherlands

#408 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 508 hotel reviews

4.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    4.1

  • Comfort

    4.2

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    3.9

  • Staff

    4.9

  • Value for money

    4.1

  • Free WiFi

    4.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unwelcoming and messy reception area. The hotel was very run-down, and the bedroom really nasty; it was dirty, paint was coming off several places, wifi didn't work, bathroom was very small, aircon didn't work, noise from the street downstairs was very loud.

    Location was OK

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was very old with that many maintenance issues it wasnt funny , the should be closed down !

    Nothing !! Its the worse place i have ever stayed at , in fact they should have payed me to stay there !!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was shabby- not properly lit -only 1 central light - no bedside lights - 2 single duvets on a double bed - carpet stained - shower shabby - the only window was onto a small yard containing bins with the door premanently open so we could not open the curtains at any time so we had no access to daylight - the window could not be opened.

    Leaving

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was way over priced for a 3star hotel, keycard stopped working everyday, the tv was tampered with so certain things wouldn’t work, the only real clean thing about the room was the bathroom

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absolutely worst place for the money we paid. We will never trust your site for information, very disappointed and we will write a review in the Trip Adviser for others to know about your service

    Only bad experience and Disappointment. Poor quality Bed, shower leaking all over and broken toilet seat.Very noisy and could not sleep.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like anything about it. It was filthy, old and dilapidated. Felt very unsafe, did want to even leave my bag in the room. Slept on the bed with my clothes on. Bathroom was a breeding ground for every unpleasant thing you could think of.

    Honestly there was nothing to like. It was filthy, smelly and just gross.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was worried when I walked up to the hotel with how dirty the windows were and how rough it looked outside.Room was small as expected but very smelly drains coming from the bathroom, duvets smelled and we had a single sheet on a double bed, no radiator in the room and check out at 11 on the dot as they are waiting outside your door and knocking for you to hurry up! I paid 380 for three nights and probably would have gotten a hostel that was nicer for cheaper too

    Great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is wrong address on this website and nobody was answering the phone which is horrible. Right address is in other street which is few minutes away by foot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of body wash. Hair dryer not working.

    Budget hotel. Basic faculties. Very good location. A few hundred meter from central station. 7 mins work to the Red Light Distrist

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    its understandable that the building is old, but the windows can be renewed the cold it still getting into the room.

    me and a buddy of mine stayed in Season Hotel for 6 whole nights, .the price was cheap, as well as the location in the hearth of amsterdam five min walk to the central train and bus station, few min walk to a tram that can take u much further into this incredible city overall it was a great experience for us.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed bugs. Bed bugs. Bed bugs. Don't trust people at the reception. Bed bugs are there and the hotel has no intention/money/will to close up and remove them. They just swap bitten guests around different rooms. You don't want to play this roulette.

    Bed bugs. Do not book. Do not stay. There is bed bug infestation. They will tell you that rooms have been cleaned/fumes, etc. Do not trust them. I had 10 bites in one night. I will inform city council about that. Only people from the street sleep there

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no soft lighting in the room and it could have done with a lick of paint.

    Incredibly central, accommodating staff, and the bed was incredibly comfortable! For the price it was amazing value for money for a city break.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything to be honest

    Terrible bed small and uncofortable. Room tiny. Stairs getting up and down are dangerous. Staff bearly speak english. I got bites from sleeping in the bed which i think was bed bugs. Wouldnt recommend at all. And at that we payed mad money to stay there. Never again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both windows were in bad status; tv can be turned on/off only and no chance to change tv channel nor the volume; default channel is MTV and volume is so low, inaudible. No way to solve with the receptionist as it the default setup of their tv's. Not possible to smoke and eat in the room. Wifi only at the reception.

    Airconditioning, bed and the toilet

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - The hygiene is unacceptable. Toilet is dirty. (Molds in the bathtub, on walls, on the toilet seat and on the carpet) - During our 3 nights, no towel and bed sheets replacement, no household also. Moreover, sheets were dirty from our arrival. - The WiFi was catastrophic in our room, it only worked very rarely and for a few minutes (~5mins). - The staff is not welcoming, their cat was constantly walking in the hotel even though one of my colleagues is allergic. - Trash cans and vacuum cleaners were left in the corridor during a whole day. - The air conditioning did not work at all, the window did not close properly. - Also, you can hear everyone in the rooms nearby, walls are too thin. - I will finish this with the best advice possible : don't go.

    - The one and only positive aspect of this hotel is that it is well situated, appart from this : absolutely nothing else is worth the stay. Seriously, you might catch a cold or worse in the conditions that you are put trough.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building was extremely cold, at night the staff wore extra clothing. The heating in the room was from a plug-in electric heater as the aircon didnt work. The bathroom was in a fairlypoor condition and the hot water was more like lukewarm.

    Very close to red light district and any transport. Staff were friendly and helpful. Bed was very comfortable and room was clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was very small, and hardly warm,, the bed very small. I had noisy neigjbours who came late during the night totally high. The host was not helpful and prefered to play on his phone instead

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are just thieves advertise one price on here and then when get to hotel charge more

    There was nothing nice to say about the building at all or the people in the building

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Im just back from this hotel and I never leave reviews on these sites however this time I felt I had to, On first arriving the hotel all looked fine and staff was nice soon as I payed the money the staff attitude changed, I went to sleep quickly and didnt notice anything until the next day bed bugs were crawling all over the bed and walls, Mouse traps under the bed, I complained at reception was told basically to leave the hotel I demanded my money or least half back I was told no,The staff told me the bedbugs wont kill me and I should just be quiet .. So I left my luggage and went for a coffee to try other hotels once returning to collect my luggage I noticed my gifts I purchased for family and friends were missing. Spoke to other guest who warned me the bedbugs and rats not mouse dont come out during the day its only at night when lights are off the bedbugs crawl your skin, Im covered in bite marks, I was screamed at by the staff. This place needs closed down. Please do not book this hotel .Its not a base to put just put your head this place is hell. I will never book through booking.com again.

    Nothing to Like, Hotel must be buying reviews on here.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No light by the bed, only one on the ceiling, with only one switch by the entrance. Only ice-cold water, and hardly enough coming out of the tap to rinse my mouth after brushing my teeth. Therefore not possible to have a shower.

    Great location, comfortable bed, friendly staff (they kept my hand luggage for a few hours after I checked out)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor Service, dirty rooms, outside bathroom, no TV ,no WiFi,( even though they mentioned in the advt) Even they are not listening for feedback as well

    Location is near to the attractions

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NO HOT WATER, NO TV, SO BASIC IT WAS BAD, NO BED SIDE TABLE YOU HAD TO HAVE THE ROOM LIGHT ON AT NIGHT. NO WAY IS IT A 3 STAR HOTEL. I REGRET PAYING A LITTLE MORE AND STAYING SOMEWHERE DECENT.

    THE BED WAS COMFY BUT I GOT A REALLY BAD RASH ALL OVER MY BODY AFTER SLEEPING HERE .. THE LOCATION IS THE ONLY THING...NO VALUE FOR MONEY WHATSOEVER.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff weren't welcoming upon entry (we entered with our group who weren't staying with us) and one of the staff members made a fuss saying "no no not all here" though we only wanted to put our bag in the room. The room was beyond basic, previously staying in the NH Krasnapolsky I knew that there would be a huge difference in quality. However we only had a portable heater that would shake on any mode higher than 1. There were no toiletries upon arrival to wash with (even hand soap). There were stains down the toilet and we had to place a spare towel in the basin of the shower to use it as it was filthy. The carpet also smelt awful whenever you dropped something on the floor. Also the bugs in the room. Definitely wouldn't stay here again and would not recommend anyone staying here until they refurbish. Also would have to pay €2 for a drink (nothing here was complimentary)

    Location is the only good thing about this property.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was very basic but can't complain for the price you pay. Could do with a little decoration and only one towel per person isn't ideal

    Location very close to main streets and station. Didn't experience bed bugs or mice as other travellers have described.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    everything

    First time in amsterdam- I really really wouldn't recommend this place to stay. great location but so untidy. graffiti in room. hair dryer the size of my palm caught fire when switched on. NO room what so ever in bath room to dry off after shower-which had warm water for 1 minute. Was caught short and couldn't wash the shampoo out of my hair! seems as though there are loads of rooms that are squeezed in together as they are tiny rooms. air con broken, stays on continuously so was FREEZING all night. spiders in all corners of the room. 3 massive holes in the wall. paid £350 for 3 nights. MASSIVE rip off. Only positive- room was so bad it forced us to stay out of it as much as possible so seen so much of Amsterdam.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom had such poor ventilation that the floor would stay wet all the time and everything in the bathroom was soaked after one shower due to there being no curtain or shower door. The extractor fan didn't seem to be doing its job as we would come back after 12 hours and the floor was still drenched. The shower was very dirty and didn't work very well. We were on the second floor and had to use the stairs to get to it despite there being a lift you can only get to certain rooms on the floor by the lift. The staff were friendly but not very helpful. I asked about getting a train back to the airport and said i planned on leaving around 3:00am to which we told me there was no trains at that time and he can organise me a taxi instead however upon researching there was trains every hour during the night and early hours of the morning. When checking out the staff member was asleep behind the desk with his hood up and seemed bothered that we woke him up to check out.

    It is located very well and easy to find, you are minutes walk from dam square and the train station. Beds were nice and comfty and air con in the room worked very well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we booked 3 twin rooms and were placed in 2 triple rooms, we were informed this was cheaper by the girl at the counter upon arrival, when using shower the bathroom floor got soaked, the toilet had not been flushed, there was no remote control for the TV, small window in an awkward position not letting light into the room

    beds were very comfortable with soft mattresses and clean sheets etc, location was excellent, wifi was excellent, additional towels were available,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities, especially the bathroom need renovation. Hairdryer not functioning; once I mentioned it at the reception they ignored it for two days. Heating was not functioning ( room was rather cold - mid October, rainy wheather...) Cleaning is a weak point.

    Perfect location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff is rude (only the first day, before the payment, they were a little kinder), they even don't say hello or good morning to the hosts. They don't give you any advice, or the wi-fi password (available only in the reception area, not in the rooms) if you don't ask for it. Rooms can be cleaner. There's no breakfast included, you have only a coffee/candies vending machine in the reception. Location quite noisy because of the traffic outside, even if I was at the 4th floor. Furniture old and poor. A room like this doesn't deserve 50 euros a night per person.

    The location is really comfortable for the tourist who wants to get the center of Amsterdam (Damrak, Warmoesstraat, Kalverstraat, Bloemenmarket) in few minutes by walk, from 5 to 15. Really near to the railway station Amsterdam Centraal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worn down hotel and totally uncommitted staff. No breakfast available although stated on booking.com. Dirty. Chinese staff difficult to communicate with in English.

    The location. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Add a shower curtain.

    It was fine except the shower room flooded as there was no enclosure to the shower. The water was pouring under the door and soaking the carpet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We spent two nights got a terrible infection of bedbugs, took several weeks to heel The staff was unfriendly, will not give us a second key for the room, wifi did not reach the Room.

    location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was bad, dirty carpet everywherw, dirty toilet. The matress was ok but they didn't even bothered to have appropriate linen for the size of the bed: two single duvets for a double bed is not comfortable. Not even a reading light was available. The location is good, but the staff is ultra-suspicious. You just don't feel welcome there. Considering that we paid almost 160 euros for 1 night, I just have to say that it was one of the most terrible hotels ever!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathtub had mold all over, broken tv, power was out on the wall, squeeky bed, I can do this all day. Definitely not a place to spend over 200euros for a night.

    Close to city center

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Dirty ,staff unhelpful, no toilet paper or soap in room .Rat trap under bed , got bitten by bed bugs in the night .and was overcharged by £93 still waiting to get my money back. Do not stay here you have been warned this is a awful place

    Nothing this property is awful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff are quite helpful, but they could have been more friendly to welcome the guests. They seemed a bit suspicious about the guest intentions.

    The hotel is quite convenient, located few steps from Amsterdam's central station. It is surrounded by restaurants, pubs, shopping area, ...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We read reviews there were bed bugs there.We asked at reception if this was true and were advised it was correct she also said that the rooms with bedbugs were shut down and we were put in a room that she said was bedbug free.She was correct and we received no bites.My advice is to ask for one of these rooms

    Location..everything in easy walking distance.bathroom very cramped.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We paid close to 100Euro for one night at the hotel. For that price it was NOT at all value for money. The bed was pretty uncomfortable. The bathroom was very old and needed a facelift along with some good scrubbing and paint job. I wish they paid more attention to the room as well while charging so much !!! :(

    The location of the hotel was very good. It is situated just beside the central station which is handy if you are travelling by plane or public transport. I parked in a car park which is less than 1 minute walking distance from the hotel. However it was very expensive. The reception staff was ok. There was nothing special.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was rude,mice in the room,no soap in bathroom,no breakfast,no wardrobe,dust everywhere,old room..etc.Somebody have to check this place they should CLOSE that ,,hotel"

    The hotel is in the middle of Amsterdam

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The actual hotel we stayed in. Blood stains on the sheets Mold on the carpet Dirty Room Horrible bathroom with a shower that doesn't work You can't open the window so getting the horrible odor our of the room was impossible BED BUGS EVERYWHERE! I'd like a refund if they would have even given it to me. Did not believe bugs were in the room although I GAVE them one. Disgusting, wouldn't even let my worst enemy stay here.

    Getting out of the hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Web site said basic breakfast included but none provided. Common areas not very clean. In general old and tired - the hotel that is.

    Location only redeeming quality.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost everything

    The hotel has a good location but that is about it. Everything else was less than good and more often bad. There's no noise isolation and the staff were not so good English speakers and we didn't even get soap for the WC.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fleas in the bed, staff that didn't speak much English. Charging my credit card with €200 as a deposit, its a lot of money especially at the end of my trip that I could of used in Amsterdam

    The only thing that you are paying for is the location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In my room there was a rat, they would not give me refund anything, they offended me and a rat in the room speaks a lot of quality of the hotel.

    nothing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs new furniture, new door frame as it was broke. Found a mouse in the room that was eating are things and food that was wrapped up. Stairs are abit dodgy going up towards the room.

    The location of the hotel was great for what we needed

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As we entered our room the planned holiday quickly turned into a living nightmare. In the hotel itself the carpets were dirty and also the walls as well and in our room the situation was not better either. As we entered the bedroom the lack of plugs were instantly disappointing and the floor in the same condition as the other parts of the hotel. There was also a wall AC unit which was dusty and filthy,too. Our bathroom was en suite and despite being a budget hotel they should provide the basics which had not happened in this case. We had to ask from the reception both soap and toilet paper since there were none in the room. The toilet was so dirty and contaminated that I almost puked at the first glance. The curtain of the shower was thorn and dirty at the bottom part. The scariest thing happened during the night: we heard some strange noises in the walls which we later identified as mice. Even though the employees were fully aware of the rodent situation and we succesfully changed our room in the middle of the night, the owner was completely in denial not supportive at all the following day. Although we had not experienced mice there in the bathroom there were no glasses at all and the curtain was in the same condition as in our previous room We try to tell him that although it was a low-cost hotel according to the website the normal higenic regulations should be kept. His reply was that we brought some food into the room therefore it is basically our fault. After that I asked him where can I file an official complaint since it is my right to file one. His answer was turning down our wireless internet during the second night of our stay and when I went down he basically lied both to me and my mother: the residents of the room. After that suddenly the internet was up again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wonder why booking.com is damaging their reputation by including such a poor hotel to their list very depressing experience at least based upon the room we stayed in They even did not gave us an Invoice at the time of checking out

    Nothing except location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not very welcoming. I asked a staff member for a suggestion for a good place to eat and she replied no that she couldn't give me one! They did not say hello as you came in and there was no welcome with a smile. Poor customer service. It doesn't cost anything to make your guests feel welcome. Over 5 days we never got the right number of towels and no bathmat. The room had a cupboard to hang your clothes but no shelves and no coathangers. It was useless and just took up space.

    Excellent location and the room was clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything with the hotel is wrong. Unfriendly service, dirty room and messy toilet, electric noisy heaters, fungus on the wall. Definitely not recommended to anyone

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't mind the table with inkmark drawings, or the TV that didn't work, or that there were no nightlamps or that there were no soap in the toilette, but what I did mind was the mouse in my room. The mouse that was going in and out into my room half the night and I couldn't sleep at all.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We normally don't complain in these websites but this is a special case because we found a MOUSE in the room and the situation was really annoying. A part from the MOUSE, The room was so tiny and there were no cabinets. The temperature of the room was so cold and we are now wondering if the sheets were clean. In any case we would recommend this hotel!

    The location is good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    shower was cold staff were miserable and didn't want to help biggest disappointment was I woke up to a mouse in my room

    bed were comfy location was great

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rodents in room 102. In the early hours of the morning we asked for a different room and were given room 201 which thankfully had no rodents. The staff were aware of the problem but offered no refund

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a huge infestation of mice is this hotel. Saw four mice across two days of staying. Bedrooms and in corridors. Really appalling.

    Location is perfect.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would have been nice to have a breakfast option, but can understand why this hotel can't do that. Some staff were great, others were on a 'power trip', it didn't affect me, but I saw another guest treated very badly by a member of the night-shift staff.

    Soundproofing - managed to sleep a lot (jetlag) - double front windows and comfortable beds. Proximity to train station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were terribly rude. A day after paying on arrival,a member of staff let himself into our room and demanded we pay. They wouldn't put breakfast on for us as the hotel was quiet, and when I asked if I could print my boarding pass, staff wouldn't let me use the computer.

    It was clean

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was way too small, cold water in the shower, only hand towels, no soaps, bathroom was too small , twin bed pushed together it was that small, the cost of the room for one night was a rip off but lucky it was only one night we stayed couldn't of staying any longer!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very poor running buffet of sliced bread cheese meat jam n bananas and a sandwich toaster to eat in the reception. Carpets were filthy rooms small not really a hotel could do with a major revamp

    Location was perfect

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise woke me up at 6 am. It was a rat, trying to get sandwiches from my luggage.Later on, after I get rid of a rat I saw how big hole it made in my luggage... Additionally there was no window in my room, poor lighting, the bed was narrow, no place to hang clothes and after a shower the whole bathroom was flooded. I was lucky that there was a scrap of toilet paper..

    I do not recommend anyone to stay in that hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My overall experience was disappointing, starting with the place, the lift looked a bit scary, making noises and weird movements. During check-in, I informed that my wife would come later to check-in and I wouldn't be there to wait her. The employee in the check-in desk said that it was ok, she could check-in later. A few hours later, my wife arrived at the hotel, the shift had changed and another employee didn't allow her to check-in and after some discussion, he sent her to wait me in the street, it was past midnight and I had to leave the event I was attending earlier because my wife was left outside the hotel in the cold night. I tried to talk to this employee to figure out what happened and he was very condescending describing the situation where he found that the best way to solve the situation was to kick my wife from the hotel. He only had to call me to confirm her right to enter my room. Also, he even implied to my wife that I was staying in the hotel hiding from her.

    The location is the only thing reasonable. Close to the central station, quite easy to access.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    HAD TO ASK DAILY FOR HOUSEKEEPING, CLEAN TOWELS, NO ELECTRICITY ON FEW OCCASIONS, WAS OVERCHARGED, STAFF DIDNT KNOW BASIC ENGLISH & WAS RUDE.

    Nothing due to RUDE STAFF, was overcharged for the room, there was no good customer service & breakfast was absolutely rubbish.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    rude receptionist, very poor breakfast, very bad room service, no toiletries in bathroom. "we don't know" and "we don't have" is the usual answer. the elevator is slow, shaking and noisy and sometimes broken.

    nothing

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like the attitude of the staff or their intentions to the workplace the first night we had arrived we had a mcdonalds went out for 1 hour left food in room when we got back there was mice, they was not interested one bit they just said it was fine amd to take food out of room they didnt give us clean towels everyday nor toilet roll so pretty much was really bad.

    The beds was ok

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was tiny and extremely basic. Shower was cold. No facilities other than a coffee machine in reception. Over all very basic hotel which we knew when booking but it was extremely over priced.

    Excellent location right near the centre of Amsterdam and a 2 minute walk from Centraal Station. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was in a very bad state, sink was blocked, hairs in showers from the previous guest. The elevator was broken most of the time it didn't go down to the zero floor had very narrow staircase. Room also need of debugging as I have had a few insect bites after I've returned. Hardly that great other than good location and reasonably comfortable bed. Needs a makeover in my opinion and thoroughly cleaned than seeing gross stuff upon arrival.

    Beds were alright. Proximity to attractions and central station very convenient, restaurants closeby. Friendly approachable staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have hot water for 2 days, very dirty, we had stains on our Donna cover, chips and dirt already on the floor, elavator never worked so we had to walk up 3 flights of stairs in the 28 degree heat, also couldn't lock our bags in a secure place.

    Didn't like any of it, location is great, that is all

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else. The elevator was something out of a horror movie and the rooms had serious hygiene issues. My brother woke up with bed bug bites all over him. There was no soap in the bathrooms. Definitely would not recommend.

    Just the location, it was super central.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The day staff were extremely rude, customer service skills non existant (apart from the lovely lad Anwar who did night shifts, very helpful; just a shame to only be able to get such lovely help at 1 in the morning!) The lift sounded as if it was about to break at any given moment, and was very temperamental as to whether it wanted to work or not! The room was hoovered, wouldn't say clean, and they obviously don't check their rooms properly in between each guest as some rather disgusting items were found underneath the bed..... As a mouse ran out from underneath the bed and went back again, we looked under the bed to find the rodent, we found what can only be described as a used sex toy that had been left under the bed from a previous visit!!!! When mentioned to the member of staff he wasn't even bothered, agreed that they had a mouse infestation and carried on looking at his phone!! The breakfast was absolutely shocking, not enough food for the amount of guests staying in the property, and never a specific time for it to be served, out of our three mornings there we had food only once as it was horrendous..... Would NEVER stay at this property ever again....

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not clean, bed bugs, rude receptionist, no internet, no breakfast, etc. Will never come back!!!

    Only location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like anything

    The worst hotel ever

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very expensive, just a bed! Very noisy, unfriendly staff, musty smell.

    Location to train station Only

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    room was not clean and facility is zero

    location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely Notting

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much to list!

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too expensive for the poor facility.

    Location is very good to close to Central Train Station. The staff members are friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Budget Season Star Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: