Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Martini Hotel 3 stars

Gedempte Zuiderdiep 8, 9711 HG Groningen, Netherlands

#20 of 23 hotels in Groningen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2813 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.1
    Location and fit out of hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Facilities in room basic. No coffee/tea making facilities; no refrigerator. These are essential for an extended stay like ours was.

    Location and fit out of hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    4.6
    For me it was to expensive for what u get.rooms need upgrading.hard to gain accesses
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All rooms need upgrading To expensive for what u get I hate the fact that everytime u get in to the hotel u have to ring the bell and wait for someone to come down and let u in

    I guess it’s ok if u are out in town and u are drunk and need a place to crash Apart from that for me it was the worst place for the price I payed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    I was afraid of the mould (I'm VERY allergic).
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was afraid of the mould (I'm VERY allergic). The hotel put me in another room because of that, and didn't charge extra. The bathroom was basically a plastic cabin, which isn't very romantic, but does keep mould away. No allergy issues throughout the stay! :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.8
    Good location, noisy room, tired hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building seems extremely tired and semi-neglected. Noise from other rooms and the aisle passed through door and walls as they were made of cardboard

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.9
    Noisy but ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower and bathroom in general are very small. I hate shower curtains. Further more is that this hotel is very noisy. At the back of the hotel people are talking and smoking, you can hear people from the other hotel or the wakeup call from the trash collectors in the early morning, also the hallway creates allot of noise.

    The ladies at breakfast and behind the desk (excluding the older lady) are so happy, friendly and always willing to help! It's always nice checking in and see a very friendly face

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.3
    I had a short stay which was fit for purpose but it was very no frills.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very old and worn as was evident in the very old and moldy carpets. There was a shower but no bathroom. It was very compact and not luxury at all. There were no robes in the bathroom and the cleaning staff didn’t clean my room. The bed was very hard and gave me a bad back.

    The location is great The staff are helpful and friendly. It was really great customer service especially considering that customer service in Holland can be rude.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    Really nice hotel in a great part of a nice little city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Fabulous Art Decoish building/interior and a fabulous location. Comfy rooms and helpful staff plus a nice bar and a restaurant next door. The first two floors have the original decor (at least in the communal areas) with fabulous stained glass windows.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Great location, helpful staff, great food and drink.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dislikes at all.

    Very friendly staff, both the receptionist and the barman were exceptionally helpful. The receptionist spoke fluent English and helped with car parking. The barman mixed a great Mojito. Finally, the good was delicious and in extremely generous portions.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel in great area for a night out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pricey drinks & restaurant prices.Staff talked us into buying an upgrade as the room we'd booked didn't have airconditioning & it was above 32° therefore we lost our Booking.com priveliges (even the hostel attached has aircon as standard)

    Nice hotel in great area for a night out

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.4
    No air con in the room have to ask for a different room the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con in the room have to ask for a different room the room they gave use at the start was NOT the the money we paid wasn't happy at all we got moved on sunday evening and room was first class wish I got that room on Friday. And the bar was closed most of the time we were there

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.5
    Restaurant was flexible in setting up our arrangement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was above the entrance which made it a little noisy.

    Restaurant was flexible in setting up our arrangement. When my friends from our student time are visiting Groningen, we tend to stay at the Martini Hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.4
    Small room, cafe a little old style, but the staff was nice
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We've got a room overlooking the inner yard, silent, but the room was super small with a shower that looked like the ones in a sailing boat, just inserted into the room, obviously this room had no bathroom before. We arrived very early morning around 2am therefoe we had no energy to complain, but it was obviuosly their intention to give the guests arriving that late the worst room.

    It was close to the place where we had some meetings.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.0
    Historical modern-style building, nice location, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not too large but for me this was not an issue.

    Martini hotel is located in a beautiful historical modern-style building dated by the end of 19th century. The location is very good, close to the city center (Groete Markt and Vismarkt), 10 min walk from the Groningen Central station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.9
    Good cost/benefit for a short stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decor is a bit old fashion. A remodel in the future would be nice.

    Easy to find, withing walking distance from the train station and to downtown. I was in town for a short stay due to a seminar at the University of Groningen, about 10 min on foot. Nice restaurants and bars across the street. A grocery store next to the hotel was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.9
    Can't say much more than would go back if visiting the town again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All very good, being very picky tea and coffee facilities in the room would have been good however didn't affect our stay.

    After reading reviews we upgraded to a larger room at check-in, room was great a/c nice & clean. Lovely old style bar & dining areas, staff very helpful. Great location, short walk from the station. Would go back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Good hotel, great location, helpful, friendly staff. Beautiful, interesting city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Great location and extremely helpful, friendly staff. Comfortable beds and very clean. Did not eat there as so many lovely places to explore in town. Helpful to have parking space at hotel even though you pay for it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.3
    Bed is comfortable and room is neat.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very small... not ideally for tall or huge persons. Bathroom was tiny but clean. Rooms dont have air conditioning.. too much noise from outside if u open windows for fresh air.

    Bed is comfortable and room is neat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    6.7
    Very nice breakfast, clean rooms and comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the bed was really good, the noise from the bars during night, the really uncomfortable pillows (they seemed like pillows for the couch and not for sleeping) and the unbearable heat in the room (no air con, bad air circulation) made our night really difficult.

    Very nice breakfast, clean rooms and comfortable bed. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    OK for a night.
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture was stained and decor quite dated. No water in room and no water station, had to use the bathroom taps :(

    Bed looked clean and was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location... lots of options nearby for you to get food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed wasn't much comfortable, being honest. The TV remote control did not work properly (changing channels wasn't easy since the buttons on the remote control didn't work)

    nice and varied food was offered. Location is marvelous (the bus stops right in front of the Hotel) you can walk to the Grote Markt and to the Train station too... lots of food options nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    4.2
    I think they didn't deserved 3stars hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel didn't have a phone in the hotel room🙁 so, I have to call receptionist with my own phone. The room only has a small bottle of soap and shampoo and didn't have a toothpaste stock when I asked them. The shower also didn't work well, the pressure in the shower is really low!🙁

    The Location is in the central of Gronningen and the room is clean but it's quite small

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.1
    good location, nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A water cooker could have been nice. Overall it was a little expensive, and 12 euros for a breakfast seemed rather ridiculous (I didn't take it though, so I don't know what you get for it).

    good location, nice room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    One Of The Best
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing bad about the hotel.

    The hotel was clean and very well run. The staff where friendly and very helpful. The food was excellent, and the service was fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable, enjoyable old-ish hotel in the centre of town.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception misgendered me despite having correct information available, and changed my personal information in their systems without my consent. Room a bit loud (busy street).

    Comfortable, enjoyable old-ish hotel in the centre of town. Fabulous breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.7
    Good for a short break, wouldn't have wanted to stay more than the three nights that we did
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room offered was very small but we were given an upgrade at no charge. This room was still very small and it's decor and furnishings a bit tired. Having said that the beds were very comfortable.

    The Hotel was Central to the Town and therefore convenient

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is very small. I am not a large person (1.70m), however, I sat with my shoulder against the sink while on the toilet. The TV is also very small. However, an upgrade for 10€ was offered (to their more modern and bigger rooms), but since we only stayed for one night we decided against it, also because the room that was given was good enough for us.

    Location in the city is really good. There is a bus-stop right outside the door. The trainstation is only 10 minutes away. The check in-and out, was fast but very friendly. Exactly how I want it. The beds were also very comfortable and we had a quiet room (123).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    The room was good (the bed very comfortable), staff very...
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The size of the double rooms are very small and with that mostly the bathroom. Not that handy when you have a tall partner.

    The room was good (the bed very comfortable), staff very friendly and a fantastic location. Also two thumbs up for the great bartender Martin who made the best cocktails.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.3
    nice old fashioned hotel with an interesting history in the city center of Groningen
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the above mentioned 'complaint' :-)

    The excellent service of the staff. Reacted very professionally and quickly on a 'complaint' we had.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    5.8
    The location is great, the service is good too
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room - little facilities and only the bed was clean, the rest was poorly cleaned and especially the bathroom, you could see black stains between the tiles, there was bad water pressure in the shower, the sink was dusty as well. Gladly we did not need to spend much time in the room, which is fine only for an overnight stay but do not recommend.

    The location is great, the service is good too

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.9
    Perfect hotel for enjoying Groningen!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a bit pricy, because you have to pay extra for parking and the breakfast. The bed mattrasses are too soft for me.

    It's a very nice hotel where everything looks nice and it feels cozy. The breakfast is amazing and the so called small rooms are actually spacious with a good shower. The location is perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.9
    Great place for a short business visit.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -Miserable wifi, the connectivity, and speed are great! but I absolutely hate it when I have to accept some terms & conditions every half an hour. - small room, small toilet! I am 187 and it was hard to seat on it.

    - Location, the city is a great and beautiful city and this hotel is located very well in the center. - The Dinner! I was offered ticket for free dinner in a restaurant attached to this hotel, its a really good restaurant, like really good!!! The 3-course dinner would set you 30 euro back if you go by yourself and this hotel offered 2 courses for free. Starter+Main or Main+Dessert.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    The best thing about the Martini is the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I booked a triple room which was big in comparison to the doubles. There are no extras ie. a kettle for tea/coffee, Hairdryer, Iron. I did get a very weak and temperamental hairdryer from reception. I ordered one breakfast but didn't have another...not worth getting up early for and pricey!

    The best thing about the Martini is the location. It is warm, clean and cosy. The staff are very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    Location was great but did not have the best restful night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows were awful - too high, hard and bumpy. Burglar alarms were sounding all night long from neigbor's building or from somewhere.

    Super friendly staff. Got an ugrade for bigger room for additional 10 Euros.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no service at the bar when I arrived. Apparently the management places the costs of having to staff the bar on a quiet weekend above the benefits of hospitality to guests.?

    excellent room, breakfast value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    6.7
    If location is all that matters it is perfect
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The one person room is way too small to the point of being uncomfortable- my normal suitcase occupied more than half of the floor to the point that I couldn’t walk in the room. The bed was incredibly uncomfortable due to it being way too soft and the tv was so small I barely could see it. The bathroom was ok though the shower head creates almost no pressure so it is hard to wash your hair. No extras are provided in the room like a blow drier which is key for such cold countries. The heater was so loud and yet did not work well as at night it got incredibly cold.

    Location was perfect!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.1
    Central located hotel, comfortable beds, dated room
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated room and en-suite, difficulties in closing curtains, on opening curtain, it ran off the rail, remote control of tv didn’t work and there was a broken wall-light

    Central location, breakfast offered. Comfortable beds!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    4.6
    Ive had better...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we booked the room we saw pictures of the lovely hotel and rooms, seemed like a great hotel. When we got our room we were staying in some sort of annex in another building, the room was small, the toilet felt like a boat bathroom or something, for the price I paid I wasnt very impressed. The parking is a joke, I dont know how they can claim that they have parking as when I turned up and asked where to put my car they simply said its full but you can get a in the local park house for 20 EUROs per day. Also the hotel has no room service or mini bar leaving you stranded for refreshments.

    The beds were very comfy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    7.9
    Cosey, friendly hotel close to all the attractions we needed to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, nor bottles of water.

    Comfy bed. Selection at breakfast was excellent. Warm 'fire' in bar and Christmas decs.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.4
    Helpful staff, good restaurant.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was extremely noisy. Could almost hear the people in the room next to me breathe. Similarly, for the street noises, windows didn't block out anything. For business purposes, I would definitely not recommend the smaller rooms..

    Helpful staff, good restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.1
    Good location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms and the hallways could have a fresher smell. The shower curtain could be a folding door to not allow the water on the bathroom floor.

    The location is great and the staff is friendly. The parking is cheaper than in the nearby garage. The beds are comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.5
    Cool building in a good location. Park at the Rademarkt garage.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heater in my room did not do a great job of keeping the room warm. This was my only disappointment. Small point, but it was not possible to use a chair with the small desk as the bed was too close.

    Amazing historic building, renovated and well maintained. Right in the middle of the old town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    6.7
    A 1-night stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are thin and bathroom is outdated.

    Breakfast was good and diverse. Staff was extremelly quick both at check-in and check-out, which is appreciated.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    6.3
    conveniently located between the train station and the city...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    pretty noisy outside the hotel during night, people partying til late night on the street, rooms pretty small with low ceiling, carpets look run down, bathroom also rather old; internet connection was a bit shaky

    conveniently located between the train station and the city centre; good breakfast; nice bar on the ground floor with billard table

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    6.3
    Convenient Location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast price was expensive (the reason why we have not chosen this option), room carpet was dirty, smell of kitchen's restaurant could reach the rooms upstairs

    Convenient Location, friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    8.8
    Very friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking space is too expensive with 15€ per day

    Very friendly staff! The room was clean and the athmosphere was nice...the Hotel is top located in the centre of the city. Close to the restaurants and bars. We will come back!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.3
    Great stay in Groningen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booked based on the pictures on Booking.com, but the room and the pictures did not match. Got an exceptionally small and dated room. To get the relevant room we assumed we booked we had to upgrade for 10e per night.

    Location is great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    5.8
    Cold and small.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was small and cold, the bathroom even colder. A surcharge to stay in a "standard room'? Then it is not a standard room.

    The fresh orange juice was very nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little on the small side for two people but comfy enough so not an issue

    Perfect location! Within walking distance of town and only 5 minutes from the main bus/train station. Staff were friendly, WiFi good, room was clean and warm.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    In all, a good experience.
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was not good. There were for instanse no pegs at all. Also to adjust the direction of the water stream from the shower was difficult.

    The restaurant was very good. Also the location in the city was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    4.2
    Disappointing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping had left my door open when I came back. They had finished hours before. Reception were unconcerned. I was shocked. The next morning someone set off the fire alarm 3 times starting at 6am. Not good.

    It was clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.1
    Doesn’t need to be so expensive and stressful.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra charges for parking, town taxes, expensive breakfast and a misterious charge for bar use/expense. To use WiFi need to log in every time. Unreliable parking

    Location Clean Comfortable Friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    5.8
    Unique one-off experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked the cheapest room available, still EUR 90,45 including breakfast and city tax, and I did get ... the cheapest room I've ever stayed in for a night. Very small size and no air conditioning, so I had to leave the window open - the room was unfortunately at the front of the hotel with a busy bus stop and lots of late night terraces; very noisy for a large part of the night.

    The room was spotless clean and the shower is good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    6.7
    Expected more, should be better, not a good value for such price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The room is noisy: I heard water flowing in tubes during the night many times, it was strong noise; - The room smelled smoky, despite on my special demand; - Ventilation/heating and climat system is also very noisy and installed just over the bed. I tried to adjust the fan speed to minimum but anyway it was too noisy to sleep, so I should turn it off; - No electric kettle; - Bathroom is small and has a shower only with a dense curtain - no to much light in the shower. Such bathroom suits for B&B, but such price one can expect much more; - Breakfast is rich on bread and pies, but not a choice of "serious" food.

    - Location: city center; - Staff: friendly and work quickly; - Environment inside: Big restaurant area and not too many people; - Room size: 18m2 quite spacious, more or less corresponds to price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.5
    Normal hotel for few days
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not very comfortable. No hairdryer in the room. Tiny bathroom.

    The location is great. It's just in the centre. The paid parking is very close. Lot of restaurants and cafes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, well located
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only complaint is that there was no system for saying you did not need the towels or bedding changed. Most hotels nowadays encourage guests to think of the environment!

    Lovely hotel. It is well situated on a main street but not noisy thanks to the main transport being bicycles. We could walk to everywhere in the old town. The downstairs communal rooms were very attractive and pleasant to be in. The breakfast was excellent and the staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. The single rooms were perfectly adequate.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.9
    Groningen is an absolute Gem of a city with a lovely centre where all travel is motor free.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Double bed was really 2 single beds covered with double sheets.

    The Breakfast was great- Yes the Croissants were great, as were the Bread rolls and the Coffee. The location is Great being only 15 minutes walk from rail station but having a bus stop outside and on one of few roads with motor traffic on made it a tad noisier than the heart of city which is completely traffic free.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.3
    Very clean hotel within walking distance of anything you could want.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The tv was a tiny portable set mounted high on the wall. Real shame as there was football on I would love to have seen but the set was just too tiny and far away to focus on. Have not seen a tv like that in over 10 years except in very cheap guest houses so bit of a surprise in such an otherwise lovely hotel.

    Great location with parking at the back (15 euros) Surrounded by countless places to eat and drink and if you want to go shopping I am sure you can find what you want. The hotel is well looked after and the room I had was clean and comfortable and despite being city centre, quiet and peaceful. Breakfast was fine with plenty of choice to suit all tastes.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.9
    Good for 1 night stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small - practically bed and small closet were the only things that were there (as there was no more room for anything else). Toilet/shower was clean, but quite old. Generally - hotel is nice, but needs some refreshment - it seems quite old.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast. Localisation in the very city centre, yet close to Centralstation. Nice restaurant and bar. Many good restaurants in vicinity.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    4.2
    There are other good places to stay in Groningen
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was like going to a french hotel 25 years ago: hardly room to walk around the bed, the cupboard too low to hang an overcoat, the tv was the size of an old-fashioned desk monitor, the mattress was about ok, like the bathroom.

    The location was good . Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.1
    Average-Good for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Value for money not so good. - "Small Room" on the ad means really small, almost creepy (compared to the price, 75€ per night) - Floor in the room could be cleaner - Staff was very kind when we politely complain about the room (which was not that bad but way below expectations VS the price we paid) but they didn't do anything to compensate for our disappointment.

    - Great location. - Staff was polite. - Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.5
    We have booked an half board treatment, but the Booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Booking.com voucher

    We have booked an half board treatment, but the Booking.com' voucher was only 20 euro p.p. and menu prices were higher than that value. There was a menù for half board treatment but was the same every dinner

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC. Had to ask for a fan to cool the room down.

    Great location, lots of grocery stores, coffee shops and restaurants near by. The hotel itself had a restaurant too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.8
    Class in a college town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilet paper was a bit iffy at first

    Avoid the affordable rooms when it's hot weather! The windows barely open up and there's no circulation at all. The beds are very comfy though. The location was a win-win also.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.7
    Great location but pretty basic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms badly in need of refurbishment: paintwork grubby, carpets old, TV old and small, no reading lamp, no phone. Room clean but walls are thin and the room can be loud. I asked for a double bed but got two singles.

    The location is perfect for city centre pubs and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    6.7
    MINI AMESTERDAM
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I think the bathroom is poor because when you take a shower, all the water got accumulated as the hotel got a poor draining system, as there no door only shower curtain, therefore it got plugged up. For a 3 star hotel, its does not reflect the image. The night staff at the bar and the security seem unprofessional because all of them are men, it's almost difficult to order a drink at the bar as the bartender do not give any service to the female clients and the night watch security manager seems to be intoxicated with substances.Female client should be aware of the hotel night management.

    The location is excellent, if you're from Copenhagen to Groningen airport its good because you could just pay 5 Euro and take a bus no 100, it will put you in front of Hotel Martini.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.8
    Good destination for a quick stop in town.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small parking, you have to leave the keys at the reception so that they can move the car and it costs 15 EUR.

    Very quick stop. Very kind personnel, good breakfast, great position.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.9
    A very good location for the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Asked for a morning alarm call which did not happen. The rooms do not have phones and I was told that staff would have to knock on my door but I did not hear anything. Luckily I woke anyway

    A very good location for the city. The room was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    6.7
    Great location but needs more attention to details especially better wifi and building maintenance
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor maintenance - bathroom fan reported as not working on day 1, not fixed by day 5 bathroom and bedroom damp / smelly as a result. Outside window looking into courtyard very dirty, dripping rainwater pipes like water torture all night long. Wifi constantly dropping out and needing repeated login to continue using.

    Good breakfast but cost £12.50 not £11 as advertised on booking.com

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.3
    Fantastic once again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dust in the wardrobe and on the shelf above the bed, also the top of the wardrobe was unbelievably dusty when I took my helmet down.

    Location and happy friendly staff with ample motorcycle parking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    5.8
    Standard for a motel, not a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos make the rooms seem bigger and nicer. There were stains practically everywhere (carpets, bed, walls). The bed was a small double which I found to be very uncomfortable with 2 people. The bed was quite hard.

    The location was good although since it was right on a main Street it was very noisy into the night. I liked the body wash that was included.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    Good accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WIFI did not work on the 4th floor, it was noisy at night, we did not get a remote control for the television.

    Good breakfast, clean room, nice view to a church.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    5.4
    Tiny Sauna's
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Upon arrival we quickly found out that our rooms were on one of the not yet renovated floors. There was no air-conditioning and as the rooms were tiny it made us feel like we were sleeping in a sauna. The red (decorative) bedding had suspicious stains. There was one small closet which was way too tiny to fit all of our stuff even though we were only there for two nights. There was only one extra pillow. In the bathroom there was no place to hang our towels or put the shampoo/soap. The bathroom ventilation was really bad and it smelled a bit funky in there. There was no refrigerator, no safe, no coffee/thee maker and no night stands. The Wi-Fi reception was non existent. The beds were really soft and unsupportive, as if they might be really old. The hotel bar was not open Sunday night, and even though the friendly receptionist told us she could make us a drink in the evening the guy who replaced her was less willing to do so. And as there were no refreshments in the rooms we just had to try and make ourselves comfortable in our tiny saunas.

    The photos of the hotel looked great. And at arrival we were not disappointed. The building is more than a 100 years old and overall you feel like getting a glimpse of history. It's quite the nostalgic experience. The hotel is based in the city centre and all the nice sights are within doable walking distance. The receptionist was nice and allowed us to leave our car a few hours longer after check out so we had time to visit a museum and go to lunch before leaving the city. We would recommend the hotel but make sure you get a room on the third or fourth floor as these are all renovated. Whatever you do, don't get a room with red bedding....

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    7.5
    The position of Hotel is realy good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had 2 beds instead of one big bed. There is no any parking place so it was necessary to find a way to parkhouse by ourselfs. The room was small.

    The position of Hotel is realy good. Rooms are clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    7.5
    We booked the larger rooms which were modern and very...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    one of the rooms first allocated had not been cleaned at all, but this was soon rectified with a smile. breakfast choice was limited

    We booked the larger rooms which were modern and very comfortable, location was excellent right in the center of town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location in Groningen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet price was a bit high for normal food. Some stairs at the entryway and after the elevator on the room floors will be difficult for the mobility impaired.

    Location adjacent to restaurants, grocery stores, and shopping was excellent. Ten minutes walk to either the center market or the train station. Fifteen minutes walk to the fish market.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Martini Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: