Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Max Brown Hotel Museum Square

Jan Luijkenstraat 40-46, Oud Zuid, 1071 CR Amsterdam, Netherlands

#137 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2148 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.0
    Location was great for the museums
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The family room was described as a triple comfort room and the room was only 2m wide , meaning that it was very cramped for the 3 of us.

    Location was great for the museums

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.9
    Enjoy this trendy place!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is small, however this is standard in central Amsterdam.

    Location is very central, so easy to walk everywhere. Plenty of restaurant choices around.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location for visiting this beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Failure on behalf of booking.com to sort out booking error which led to some discussion regarding prepayment at the time of check in. All thankfully resolved with the help of the reception team.

    Excellent location close to the museum square and right on bus and tram route to make it easy to travel around. Good inclusive breakfast. Modern rooms with a fun playful element with the basket ball hoop and basket ball. Welcome pack with the all important map, staff happy to refill water bottles for the days exploring.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    location, location, location😊 and I would say the all the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room a bit too small for 3 person (me, hubby and daughter) would be perfect for 2😉

    location, location, location😊 and I would say the all the staffs that I met, were amazing👍👍👍very helpful, friendly and professional! rating for all staffs ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Located in the best part of Amsterdam, walking distance to...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is narrow, but very clean, comfortable, and homey.

    Located in the best part of Amsterdam, walking distance to most of Amsterdam’s great museums and canals. Bus to and from airport is a mere 1 minute walk away, very convenient for travelers on a tight schedule.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff helped to make an enjoyable stay, but it is tiny.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very, very small. Bathroom was tiny. Needed to step outside to dry yourself.

    Location was excellent. Proximity to museums, shops and transport, made it a very choice for our needs.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.3
    Great location and very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very stuffy as the windows didn’t open, and as it the weather was warm, this made sleeping very uncomfortable. Room was also extremely small and made worse when the luggage was inside.

    Great location and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is very special on its design.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Me and family liked the place, people and facility but we are open minded people. A traveler accustomed to spacious rooms won´t feel good.

    The hotel is very special on its design. Location is just perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.8
    The design was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were tiny. We had booked a twin room and that had been confirmed. When w arrived we had a double bed. After some discussion and a couple of phone calls from reception to management, and despite being told the hotel was full and if we wanted a twin room we may have to move to a sister hotel and pay "half again" because we'd be going to a nicer hotel, we were found a bigger room with two beds in the same hotel for which we paid thirty euros extra.For the price, the room was still small and one bed was actually a very slim sofa bed. Given this was not our mistake I didn't expect to have to pay extra. The breakfast was good but again for the price I didn't expect it to be quite as much like a youth hostel as it was.

    The design was good. The location was fantastic and the bar was lovely, board games were a great touch.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    4.2
    Beds for tiny tiny people
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were ridiculously small. I have no idea how a Dutch person would sleep here .the single beds were no wider that a camping stretcher

    Near museum

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    The Max Brown Hotel Museum Square staff were welcoming and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loft
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs are steep but that is the case with any place in Amsterdam.

    The Max Brown Hotel Museum Square staff were welcoming and provided great information.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.3
    Great location, disappointed in building (too old to be very functional).
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Old building, needed to use tight staircase for breakfast, even narrow steps on stairs to get into the building (with luggage!). Some very strange choices of furniture within the room (not very practical). Room quite small and limited ventilation (no air con, no ceiling fan). Not a very upmarket set of fittings, so low comfort level generally in room.

    Breakfast was fine. Reception staff very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    Very good location and cozy hotel. I would stay here again in future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast is veeery basic. In fact it's fruits, some vegetables and boiled eggs (only boiled!), you can also make sandwich. But it's o any way.

    I liked the hotel and room design - mix of modern and coziness, very Dutch:) Comfortable beds and pillows. Small bar in the hall. And very good location - close to museums, centre is walk-reachable, but aside from noise and lots of tourists.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.0
    Enjoyed Amsterdam but would want a better hotel next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I must admit I was a little disappointed with the size of the room we were allocated - it was tiny and v cramped!! For the price we paid I was expecting something a little bigger

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    The staff and the location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was 10 square meters for 3 person. It was extremely hot in the room however the temperature was 24 degrees celsius outside. There are only two small window.

    The staff and the location is perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Great location, great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! 😁

    Location was great! The hotel is on a lovely quiet street, just minutes away from a tram stop and loads of museums. While our room was compact, it was lovely and clean, with space for everything. Bathroom was spotless and surprisingly roomy! Breakfast was good, the usual continental choices, breads, cold meat, cheese, cereals. The staff were always on top of clearing away and filling out more food. All the staff we dealt with were very friendly. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, 😀.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    Stylish hotel let down by packed capacity
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s expensive for what you get. We had a double, which is basically a box room in the muggy basement. You can’t even open the window for people looking in. You can hear everything in the next room. There are many rooms and the communal space can’t cope with all the guests. Breakfast was absolute chaos: couldn’t get a seat, two rawkous hen parties, coffee machine was broken, no mugs, no juice, just bread and cheese. I let the staff know and they just said it’s because there’s so many guests at breakfast. It felt like a cheap hostel in the end.

    The location is great and the bar was nice and the most of the staff were helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Mixed feelings on my stay there
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airco. Poor breakfast. Sound isolation is so-so. Window could be open only partly. Huge staircase to the entrance door, no help from staff with luggage. Their luggage room is a high stillage in narrow corridor, difficult to put stuff there.

    Nice trendy tiny hotel with lovely decorated rooms (although small) in great area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    The bed was really comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No aircon and difficult to bring bag up the front stairs.

    The bed was really comfortable. I would have appreciated it more if there was airconditioning. Hotel was not the usual hotel but I do like the creativity and uniqueness. Must try!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    4.6
    The interior of the hotel is certainly lovely and very close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is not cleaned properly. Cleaners just left the bedding on the floor after cleaning and there’s visible dust on the floor. Reception seems to be understaff all the time. Breakfast area is very crowded and not clean.

    The interior of the hotel is certainly lovely and very close to the museums

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location, friendly staff, clean
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small crowded rooms, no air in the bathroom & shower, the windows don’t open in some of the rooms, no access to one side of the bed, small beds, not enough vegan options in breakfast (vegetables)

    Great location, friendly staff, clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    An excellent quiet location with its own late night bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs ( no lift ) were very steep. Not much space for clothes.

    Friendly, eccentric. The room though small had adequate lounging space, though not much by way of clothes storage. The included breakfast was good. The location near the major art museums was quiet and attractive though not very close to bars and restaurants. The bathroom was modern and well designed for a small space.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.8
    Ireally enjoyed my stay, hotel in a lovely residential area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More cushions to sit on in the bedroom, the wooden framework a little hard on my derriere.

    There were no croissants but good breakfast, good coffee, staff constantly looking after us.Found the steps down to breakfast, difficult, but at 81 I managed, just slow. All staff very friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    Perfect for a weekend away, breakfast included was a bonus !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the price we pay, the single bed was way too small. Not enough lighting in the bathroom too.

    It was located at the famous museum square, with quick access to Tram and airport connection bus! The staff at information desk was very helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    Amazing, enjoyable place to stay but sadly missed air conditioned room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning was very much missed as we had such beautiful weather and higher than expected temperature. The bedroom was very humid at night. The rustic fan while visually very pleasing, was quite noisey while operating and was not adequate in cooling the room. This would be the only complaint and sadly hinder rebooking at Max Brown again...

    All staff were so helpful and friendly at all times. Breakfast experience was very relaxing and loved the breakfast buffet selection. The area is beautiful and appreciated the smooth hire of bicycles for 2 days... loved the charm and character of the building..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    Great staff, incredible location, very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    walls and door are paper thin. You can hear everything from other rooms and from the hallway Not very disabled friendly, with HUGE steps to access the hotel and the restaurant to take breakfast

    Great staff, always helpful and kind, we had a problem with our bed and they change us room without hesitate. We loved breakfast, not a lot of options but all quality products Loved the room and in general, the hotel designed The location is perfect! near museums, the tramway station, it is indeed the best location to explore the city, while staying in a quiet, nice and posh neighborhood

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Perfect for a city break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is in a great location near museums, the park and a short walk from the centre. The staff were very friendly. The room was small but great interesting decoration and clean. Lots of good choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Great hotel with character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Great place to stay if you’re in Amsterdam

    Great hotel with character. Super convenient to museums and public transportation. Would have stayed here longer if able!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Puff cake mmmm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    The quirkiness of the room had everything you needed and some lovely modem touches Great stay max Brown hotel like van Gogh pure art Amsterdam

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.8
    Location & staff = fine stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was even smaller than I expected but we weren’t in it enough to matter for the 2 1/2 days.

    Super helpful and friendly staff. Easy check in and out. Bicycle rental great value. Good breakfast although a bit crowded at times. Location outstanding.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.6
    Funky, safe, friendly, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a little tight. Not a big problem though.

    The location was fantastic. Walk to museums, canal boat tours, restaurants, and coffee shops. Exceptionally friendly & helpful staff. Very good breakfast included.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Charismatic & friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are seriously compact.

    Great staff. Great location. Quirky, charismatic hotel with lots of atmosphere. Rooms are very small but cleverly done. Nice simple breakfast. Great with the reception/bar/snack area open 24/7!! Very comfy bed, nice shower, large towels, tall mirror etc

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    Great Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Small beds, small bathroom. Could hear some noise from the hallways..

    This hotel is super close to the museum and walking distance to a lot of other places. The rooms are super small but my husband and I didn't spend a lot of time in them. The stairs are a little steep, but walking down the street I realized this may just be the way all the houses in amsterdam are. the breakfast was your typical european fare of meats and cheeses and bread.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Coming back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Loft
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bike rental could have been cheaper or inclusive to the hotel stay.

    Location, bed, basketball hok, culture corner in the bar, and the breaksfats. Totally worth of money and stay for 4 nights, right in the heart of Amsterdam, museum square is in 2 mins of walking and the tram station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.6
    The best location in Amsterdam!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only criticism is of the breakfast which was perfectly fine but for the price I would expect a little more than the usual buffet.

    The room was very comfortable, staff were helpful and the location was perfect. Tram on the doorstep and no shortage of amazing restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.6
    The location is recommended for families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The steep stairs but I think that is common in Amsterdam.

    The location is recommended for families. It is walking distance to the museums, tram & bus stations, I am Amsterdam sign and other tourist attractions. The room and toilet are clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    The breakfast was really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No croissant ? :) A bit too pricey

    The breakfast was really good. The hotel is located in a street just next to the Rijksmuseum but it was very quiet. There are lot of public transports around the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small, but expected in Europe! Also the single bed felt smaller than a normal single bed..

    Great spot and so easy to get into the centre of town (walk or tram)! It was nice to stay a little bit away from all the mayhem and there’s great restaurants, museums, and shopping in the area!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    A fun boutique hotel, great location - great to use as a base for an active city break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattresses on the beds need to be improved / upgraded. Breakfast needs to be expanded - although staff were open to requests for the next day.

    Location is fantastic, bar and staff are available 24/7, service was great. Rooms were well presented.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.8
    Really nice stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loft
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The loft is ok for 4 people. Non a big room but not small too. It's charming, clean, in a strategic position near museums, tram to city center, bus (also 397 direct to airport, 30 min.), and to Singelgracht canal (boat tour start in front of hard rock cafè). Breakfast ok, Booth sweet and salty.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    6.3
    Was a good stay thanks to the location, otherwise i would say it is too little for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too small. 2 people cannot walk in the room together. Half of the room was seperated on a higher level with a ladder which was not very convenient for me as i am pregnant. The bed was next to the wall so my husband had to jump over me each time he get out of the bed. Walls were so thin i could not even sleep the first night as i was hearing people walking talking taking a shower etc. breakfast was ok but i was expecting much more for the price. And somehow it took us around 30-45 minutes to check in as there was an issue with the room we booked so they had to give us a different room and then they had to change it for the second time and asked us to carry our unpacked luggages from one room to another ourselves as there was only 1 staff at that moment. Not a big issue but you would expect more from such a high rated hotel.

    Location was perfect, the athmosphere of the hotel in general was good and it was clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.5
    It filled my needs but I would choose an other place for a private trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The estate in iti self is what it is. Demagnetization of the keycard happened three times during two days... The breakfast was really nothing extra...

    The surprice with the beer and the chips on the bed in the evening were rellay nice!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel for exploring all that Amsterdam has to offer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was slightly small but we knew this before booking, we were traveling as a couple so no problem!

    The hotel was located in a lovely part of Amsterdam, close to many museums and not a long walk to the canal district either. The included breakfast was great for a quick bite in the morning or just a good coffee! The toiletries were a plus for me also as they smelt great!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    2.5
    Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked this hotel for one night when my flight was cancelled. Less than an hour later, I tried to call but no one answered. I emailed and no one responded. I ended up not staying here and ending up paying for the room. And, I would not stay here in the future for their failure to respond.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.6
    Lovely, quirky and friendly
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, with very friendly staff. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Fun decor. Staff were helpful and accommodating. Good value for the room prices too. Definitely worth a stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Location excellent , management and staff exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing this is a great hotel

    This hotel is right in the heart of Amsterdam location is excellent. The rooms are small because it’s an old building not a Novotel. Small rooms but excellent interior design to make the best use of space. All of this is nothing compared to the excellent staff and management. Or holiday went badly wrong when my wife fell whilst crossing a road and badly broke her arm. The staff at this hotel were beyond great,so helpful , so kind and so practical. Even the hotel maid offered to help in any way she could. Life is not measured by things that go right it’s how you respond when things go bad. I cannot praise this hotel enough. But the staff make it above and beyond. 25 stars from me.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    I loved this hotel so much I didn't want to leave!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I loved this hotel so much I didn't want to leave! It's beautifully decorated and had a wonderful atmosphere. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. After reading some reviews I was concerned about the small rooms, however I was pleasantly surprised, the rooms were small (as stated) but me and my partner had more than enough space! The location was perfect. The hotel is located on a beautiful quiet street, with the airport express bus stop at the end of it. The Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh and Moco Museum are pretty much on the doorstep! It's about 30 minute walk into the centre but there is a tram stop at the end of the street which gets you there in about 10 minutes. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Amsterdam now.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    highly recommend, centre location and brilliant hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom, in particular the shower was very small, feel as though I couldn’t move around in it properly. Although our room had been upgraded for free, it was still on the small side. The cleanliness and furnishings made up for this though as we got by during our stay.

    The hotel had a really modern vibe to it which me and my boyfriend appreciated like the basket ball hoop in our room. Also the hotel was effective in communication, if we wanted our room checked over whilst we were out ‘please come in sign’ was very useful. Perfect location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.1
    Nice decor, great location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basement smelt like damp Our room looked onto the street and was very noisy with smokers standing outside the room at early hours. Floorboards above were also very creeky. The room we stayed in should have been cheaper based on the above negatives. Otherwise a very nice place to stay

    Nice decor, great location, friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location in a welcoming hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Care had to be taken going down to the breakfast room as the stairs were narrow and a little difficult for some members of our party but help was always on hand.

    7 friends stayed for 2 nights in this quirky hotel in the museum quarter. It was conveniently placed near Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum also public transport. The staff were extremely helpful, booking museum and tram tickets for us. They were always on hand to give recommendations of places to visit and local restaurants. The reception come bar was cozy with aromatherapy candles burning. There was fresh fruit and water available on the bar. The rooms were clean and there were fresh towels every day. The continental breakfast was enjoyable. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    Amsterdam even better with Max Brown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only thing that was a little inconvenient, was the bed. even though it was a comfortable bed, it was a double bed, made of two single mattresses, that made difficult to sleep in the middle with my wife. It kept slipping away and creating an uncomfortable gap in the middle of the bed. That's the only thing that I felt it could be solved to be perfect.

    Everything was excellent! Friendly and prompt Staff. Great bar, great breakfast, perfect location, great and clean room. The hotel has a very hip and contemporary decoration, which we loved, and an ELEVATOR - vary rare in Amsterdam. The room and the bathroom were clean. brand new and comfortable. Location absolutely perfect, walking distance from main areas and main metropolitan transportation. Staff friendly, welcoming, always ready to help. We had a wonderful time With Max Brown

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.6
    The location to tour was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location to tour was great. The museums were close and the tram station just a block away. The staff was excellent! The spiral staircases were adorable. The breakfast was always good with great staff. The room was small, but normal for European travel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.3
    Great location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We got a 3 person room, which was really a room with two singles and a small fold out bed. This room was tiny. Not really big enough for 3.

    4 person room was a great size. Breakfast was great but gets v busy. Hotel great location near the main tourist spots. Easy to get the bus here from the airport instead of the train in.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.6
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast diner was too small for the size off the hotel. And ran out of eggs on the last morning which was disappointing as we didn’t have time to wait for others, staff didn’t seem that bothered

    The style of the hotel is great, something different

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    One of the most inspired choice for a city-break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In the morning is a lil' bit noisy; the walls are thin.

    People very friendly and helpful. The best thing: 1 minute walk from the hotel to the airport bus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.6
    This is Style!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    excellent breakfast even with organic and healthy products.

    we stayed at this hotel for our trip to Amsterdam from 06 to 09 March. hotel with young staff is very friendly, beautiful location a mix between vintage and hipster style! our room was a bit small but very functional, excellent cleanliness of the rooms. Perfect location for visiting the museums, within walking distance we had the tram that took us directly to the center. We want to go back to Amsterdam soon and we will definitely consider it again. I recommend it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.2
    Very nice Designer hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small room and stairs in hotel were so steep.

    Very nice Designer hotel. Good breakfast, clean room, friendly staff and great location in the city. The bus from airport #397 - very convenient to go there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.3
    Apart from one cold night my experience was lovely I would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was not given a heater for the room when I asked for one

    Room was very cold I asked reception for a heater and was told my heating was working therefore he could not get me a heater to use as they only give them out if heating in the room was not working. It was ver drafty and my head was cold so cold I slept with my hat on and a cardigan.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    Loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Realy great location! Within a walking distance from almost every touristic places in the city. The room was clean and the breakfast was nice. Public transport to the airport and also to more remote parts of the city was great. The staff was realy nice and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Best location in Amsterdam. Very nice, clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loft
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast room was a bit crowded.

    I recommend Max Brown Museum Square Hotel! This very nice hotel is located in a quiet street in the best part of Amsterdam for visitors who like to go to the van Gogh museum, Rijksmuseum, Vondelpark and Canal cruise. A short walk to shopping and city center. Nice clean rooms, nicely decorated. Great breakfast with good selection. Helpful staff in the reception. Short walk to good restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    We got a room on the ground floor and due to people talking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We got a room on the ground floor and due to people talking under the window during the whole night it was difficult to sleep. I asked to change room and was given a smaller room on the 3rd floor which was ok as well as a kit for a better sleep! Though the staff was kind, smiling and veryhelpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.1
    I will stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Microscopic room!

    Best staff and location. Beware the small room.I've been in bigger closets. Also our room was by the stairs and thus quite noisy. Would definitely return but specify a quiet room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.6
    Easy access from the central station on public transport. everything within walking distance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small space in the bathroom.

    Very helpful staff. The healthy breakfast choices. Elevator is a superplus point in the small hotel in Amsterdam. Just 5 minutes away from Rijksmuseum/Gogh Museum. 1 minute from the tram/bus stop.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.2
    Amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On booking the check-in time is 14:00, but the property said the room will be ready at 15:00. Not a problem, just thought the information on booking should be accurate, if the property cannot guarantee the hour written.

    Awesome hotel with friendly staff. the location was great, just 5 min to the Rijksmuseum, and 10 min to Van Gogh Museum, in a very nice part of the town. The breakfast was good, although the room gets crowded pretty fast so I recommend going before 9:30, to find a seat.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    3.3
    From the outside looked lovely unhelpful and uninterested staff and tiny room should be singles
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very in helpful gave a € 50 euro room deposit only received €40 back shower didn't work and there only answer was yeah this sometimes happens room was so small could move . Shoukd never be a double only just enough room for one

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.8
    Room modern, clean and bed was lush.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    only bedroom no space for seats and only a shower that got cold after a few mins. Very steep stairs. access.

    Room modern, clean and bed was lush. Modern feel but old style property. Lovely location. Very steep stairs. Would stay again yes.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.3
    Good place but with a few reservations. Helpful staff were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room v small & stuffy. Bed crammed against walll on one side so difficult to get in and out of it.

    Staff were wpnderful. Lift essential. Location perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.6
    LOVED the hotel, super comfy beds, and a basketball hoop in your room?!!?!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price! This was very high, would have appreciated a little more space, a little more luxury for the top dollar we paid!

    Beautiful hotel, full of character! Friendly, helpful staff, perfect location and a truly fabulous breakfast!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    6.7
    Beware of room size !!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This time I booked a twin room and was greeted by a room no wider than a person with there arms out...ie I could touch the walls both sides of the room making the room very claustrophobic. The bed was so narrow I had to sleep on my side which I found very uncomfortable. The toilet was unusable for some one my size (185cm/110kg)and really poorly laid out. Really disappointed!!!!

    I do like this hotel having stayed previously with my family. however.....

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    10
    A really comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the description said the room was small, the bathroom was very small.

    The staff are really friendly and very helpful and the hotel is very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.3
    We had a great time in Amsterdam and our only complaint was the size and arrangement of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very small with the double bed pushed up against one wall. The bed was very high which made it even more difficult to get in and out. Also it would have been nicer if there was a chair in the room.

    Location was excellent. Just around the corner from the museums and the bus from the airport stops at the end of the road. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    6.7
    The staff was extremely nice and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are extremely small. They are not suitable for two people, and it was even too small for one. Additionally, the hotel is quite noisy. My room was located near the staff's room and there was a constant noise coming out of there during the whole day.

    The staff was extremely nice and welcoming. I had arrived early in the morning and my room wasn't ready yet, however, the receptionist had managed to speed up the cleaning process and get me the room earlier than the standard check-in time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.6
    Good location. Rooms are small but bed was really comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cups in the room were difficult to drink from have a weird lip and handle got really hot.

    Bed and pillows amazing and staff very friendly and hepful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    Short but definitely sweet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Fantastic hotel, great staff. Very comfortable although room is small, the atmosphere and pillows made up for space issue. Would definitely recommend and return.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.6
    It's got a cool vibe!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's an old building so you can hear other guests moving around in the hallways which could disturb you if your a light sleeper

    It's got a cool vibe! All the staff are really friendly - there is a bar area where you can play board games while you enjoy a cocktail. It's a perfect location for the museum's as they are all in walking distance.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Max Brown Hotel Museum Square traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: