Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Netherlands hotel reviews
  3. Noord-Holland hotel reviews
  4. Amsterdam hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam Amstel

Reviews of MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam Amstel

6 Julianaplein, Oost, 1097 DN Amsterdam, Netherlands

#209 of 443 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1598 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2019

    9.6
    We enjoyed our stay and will recommend it to anyone needing to stay in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 6-Bed Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pillows were really soft and it felt like you just lay through them. That was about the only complaint we had in our room.

    The room fit our needs perfectly. Staying as a group of 6, the split bathroom was great to have! The beds were comfy and everything was clean. We also enjoyed the lounge downstairs and the kitchen where we could cook. The fact that the train station and the metro station was right next to the hotel is a great bonus and made it super easy to travel.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    7.5
    I totally recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was great, except for the breakfast.

    I totally recommend this hotel. Great location, really good facilities, very clean, next to the metro station. Also there was Tram that connects you with the center. Nice neighborhood and safe.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2019

    9.2
    The staff were friendly, and the location was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In the level 1 rooms you can’t open the blind without feeling exposed as the bus station is directly across. The window was partially frosted glass (which was appreciated) but had little influence.

    The staff were friendly, and the location was very convenient. The room was nice and the guest kitchen was useful.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2019

    9.6
    Fantastic themed hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 6-Bed Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Prices of cocktails for what you get wasn’t great

    The hostel was designed beautifully with nice colour schemes, the toilet separated from the shower was very useful

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2019

    9.2
    Great Weekend!
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We would have liked some space to hang clothes.

    We really enjoyed staying here! The room and bathroom were clean and large enough. It is literally a stone's throw from Amstel station!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    8.3
    It was so close to the metro station where you could easily...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Family Room to 6-Bed Room (Only Bunk Beds)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not enough toilet roll for 6 people and had to share one shower.

    It was so close to the metro station where you could easily get into the centre of Amsterdam. The rooms were very clean.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2019

    10
    Friendly and dynamic staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly and dynamic staff. Very good location - metro, train and bus station are near the corner. Central Station is 10 min ride by metro. Guest kitchen is a brilliant idea, also playing zone for kids. Late check-out by 14:00 for 10 euro is very much charming.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    10
    Easily located, minutes away from main tram line and central...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 6-Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, place was tidy. Safe and ticked all the boxes.

    Easily located, minutes away from main tram line and central station. Place was clean, had lockers and late check out available. Would stop here again with out a doubt.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    8.3
    We really enjoyed our stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We really enjoyed our stay here. It was perfect for a weekend trip. The centre is a short trip on the tram which is beside the hotel. Great staff, clean room, would stay again!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    7.5
    Location is just next the amstel station, perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No water heater to make coffee/tee, no cup, etc. Room temperature was cold, couldn't increase the ac temperature

    Location is just next the amstel station, perfect

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    7.5
    Worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One elevator got broken and wifi did not work one day. Windows were very dirty, although the view from 5th floor was nice.

    Very good location. Border of Amsterdam, but it takes 2 min to Metro or to tram. Tram takes 20 min of beautiful ride to city center. Metro takes 10 min.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    9.2
    Modern open hotel in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were told that we were not able to drink alcohol in our bedrooms. I am not sure why this is as people were allowed to bring their own food and drink and consume these in the communal area in front of the bar. I don't really understand why you aren't allowed to enjoy a glass of wine in your room before settling down for the night.

    Rooms were very spacious and the bathroom was nice and clean with a big shower cubicle. Staff were very friendly and helpful both at reception and at the bar. Location of hotel is fantastic. Behind the hotel is situated the train/metro station. The Metro system is incredible easy to use and is excellent value for money. City centre metro station is only 3 stops away (10 minute journey). I would definitely recommend this hotel and I am hoping to return to Amsterdam and this hotel again later in the year.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    7.1
    Rooms are very spacious, and location of the hotel is really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It could've been a little bit cleaner, and our bathroom heating wasn't working.

    Rooms are very spacious, and location of the hotel is really great.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2018

    8.8
    Convenient access to train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 6-Bed Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Convenient access to train station. Reception staff available and pleasant. Room was a little snug for a family of 6 including teenagers but was clean.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    9.2
    Access to a kitchen and a washing machine was an unexpected...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Access to a kitchen and a washing machine was an unexpected bonus. There was a friendly family/backpacker atmosphere and amenities in a hotel setting. Luggage lockers so you could be secure after checkout but before leaving the city/country was great. The train, metro, tram and busses were right outside the door but there was not noise associated with these services. We would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel and good staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A member of the staff who was very rude and unprofessional. Very disappointed. The cleanness was poor. After a few days our room was still dirty although we told to the reception. They changed just the bin bags. Heating and aircondition dead.

    Expet for one member of the all staff , the rest of them was very professional, kind, smiling and useful. Great position very close to the metro, kitchen very clean and plenty of tools and stuff. Room very nice with a desk and chair Pleanty of useful facilities

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2018

    5.8
    Only plus was that it is close to the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Passive and uninterested staff. Housekeeping was really poor, they did not clean the room. Only took out the trash from the bin and dirty towels.

    Only plus was that it is close to the train station.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2018

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no way to open the windows so it got a little stuffy

    Great location. Hotel has an amazing concept that lets you cook yourself and meet new people easily. Rooms were spacious and modern

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2018

    6.7
    Good location but staff very slow in reacting to the need to look at cctv.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 6-Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My backpack was stolen at the hotel lobby. And there was zero urgency to check the lobby’s cctv. Instead i was asked to go to lodge police report at tht same night. So the bag is gone.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2018

    7.1
    The cleanliness of the hotel and apart from the heating the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The heating in the room wasn't working, I asked on 3 occasions for it to be fixed however it never was. The staff were lovely however one member of staff was very rude to myself when I asked about the heating.

    The cleanliness of the hotel and apart from the heating the room was good.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2018

    5.4
    We left our car in the private parking close to the hotel,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We left our car in the private parking close to the hotel, is not a safe area, the window was broken and our luggage was stolen. And the hotel is quite far from the main center.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2018

    7.9
    Convenient single-night location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ventilation system in the room rattled, which was annoying and required earplugs to ignore. The beds are on the small side (80cm width), while there would have been room for "normal size" lits jumeaux.

    Cannot beat the location, so close to Amstel Station. Rooms are basic but do the job. Staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2018

    9.6
    The room was clean, spacy and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room to 6-Bed Room (Only Bunk Beds)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the location is far from amsterdam central, you need to change the train from airport. It makes difficult to access the hotel if you travel with children and lot of bagage. However it depends on the location you want visit.

    The room was clean, spacy and tidy. WIFI setting was very easy. There is share kitchen at the Lobby floor which was helpful for set up family meal.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2018

    6.7
    value for money, good and clean Hotel, room big and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 6-Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Please add water kettle in the room, its so difficult to run down every time need to drink tea, Thank you

    value for money, good and clean Hotel, room big and very nice.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2018

    9.6
    Very clean, easy to go to and from the center , very easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No microwave or deep freezer in the kitchen only 1 fridge for all the guests and it was full so it wasn’t efficient at all Also a mini bar in the room would hv been nice

    Very clean, easy to go to and from the center , very easy access to metro , bus and train just 2 mins walking

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    9.2
    Not a central location but right beside a south end train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not a central location but right beside a south end train station. New and clean with the option for a great breakfast. Big bathroom with an excellent shower.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in and Check out was very easy. The room was very clean. But what takes the top spot was the location of the hotel. I would highly recommend it.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    7.5
    Good, but with expensive extras
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 6-Bed Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Luggage storage is paid (and quite expensive if you're in a group). The 6 person room doesn't have much space and the individual drawers under the beds are really heavy and noisy. Couldn't get the A/C to stop blowing cold air. Breakfast is too expensive.

    The shower, toilet and sink are all in separated spaces, which is useful in a room for 6. Nice decoration in the entrance hall. Really easy to get to the city center or to the airport, by metro or train. Each bed has it's own lamp and electric outlet (with an extra USB charging port)

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    7.5
    efficient, good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night

    Corridors were not very clean and noise from corridor was audible.

    Clean and efficient, good location, no frills. Good for short stay. Value for money.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    7.9
    Clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Located not in the city center (5-stops ride with subway from central train station). Ventilation in our room was quite noisy.

    Clean room. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    8.3
    Clean, convenient and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    would’ve been great if they had a late night snack bar or some sort of tuck shop as past a certain point in the day there would be no shops open near the facility.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. I found getting to central dam was very very easy as the bus and train station was a 2 minute walk from the hotel. Would visit again!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    8.3
    Close to central, clean and easy to find hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We couldn't open a window and when we arrived on the Thursday we were told there would be no hot water Friday from 9.00am to 6pm. This was resolved the next day it wasn't dealt with greatly and we had no apology from the girl checking us in.

    This place is situated next to Amstel train and metro station making it very easy to get to Amsterdam Central, it takes less than 10 mins. The room was really clean and warm.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    6.3
    The location is perfect!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Uninterested staff, did not even bother to ask how the stay was after check-out. In the middle of the night the fire alarm went off, to be silent again after 2 minutes. The bed has two very large knobs on the headboard witch I bumped with my head several times at night, overall cleanness was not great and the water from the shower did not drain.

    The location is perfect! Just near the Amstel station and other facilities.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    3.8
    Worst of all my trips
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The manager and the staff of this hotel is very incompetenz. They double charged my stay for more than 300 Euros. Even I questioned them in front of the reception, the receptionist lied and required me to pay extra. After the trip and sending my bank statement and the invoice to them, I called four times international calls within 2 weeks. After a month, I still didnt get any respoinse and money back to my card. Such unresponding hotel. Btw. The staffs is surprisely incompetence.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    8.8
    Was very clean and amazing value for money, Amstel station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Family Room to 6-Bed Room (Only Bunk Beds)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff could have been a bit friendlier, they do their job but it’s not hard to give your guests a smile

    Was very clean and amazing value for money, Amstel station is literally opposite making it easy to get to central and the station has shops in making it more handy

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    6.7
    Could be a 10 score hotel if they solve set of problems.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    While they probably follow the concept of Citizen M hotels with larger rooms and hostel-like beds my staying there was not pleasant due to following reasons: 1. Impossible to completely turn off noisy AC/ventilation 2. Although all bathroom fitment looks new there is a problem with water drain in the shower 3. Design of the rooms is simply boring 4. Fire alarm goes on in the middle of the night - it happened twice during four days stay at midnight and at 6 am. Of course, no fire, just technical problems. 5. Luggage lockers are €1/h or €8/day and you DON'T get a receipt. 6. While stuff is generally friendly they just started their job in this hotel and don't know many things. For example, housekeeping would knock to you door at 9 am to say that you have to check out at 11. Why?!

    New hotel, convenient location for my needs, good breakfast for the price, good enough Wi-Fi, nice lobby.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    8.8
    Good prices, Everything was clean and comfy, city center just 10 minutes away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There's a good and various buffet for breakfast but 9€ are a bit too much in my opinion, maybe they should raise the prices a little bit and make it as included in the total amount. There are lots of places to have a quick breakfast just in front of the hotel anyway if you don't want to pay too much for it. Definitely this is not a problem for your stay, as I said everything was quite perfect!

    Everything was very good compared with the price, the place is literally on the square in front of Amstel Metro Station, you can reach easily the city center in 10 minutes. The hotel is new, the room and the bathroom were very clean and comfortable, I would totally recommend it and I will probably come back in this hotel the next time I'll come to Amsterdam.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    7.9
    Everything was very clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was alone but I had a tiny room with 4 beds (including 2 bunk beds). I would have much rather have only 1 or 2 beds. The comforter was barely enough to keep me warm. There was no top sheet. The AC was way loud and cannot be turned off.

    Everything was very clean. Staff friendly. Place looks and feels cool. Bathroom was modern and clean.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    6.3
    In 4 days in a row, NO cleaning service at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The policy of the hotel is a little strange. I work as a receptionist and it seems rare to me paying if you lose one of the key cards they give you in the Check-in. We asked for a taxi the last day we were there cause we were in a hurry and they told us they had phoned the taxi driver, but nobody came, they forgot it. We found another taxi outside. Above all, the worst thing was the fact they didn’t make up our room during 4 days in a row. They didn’t even change our towels. Furthermore, you have to pay if you want to keep the lugagge for a moment there your check out day. The air conditioning is always on, you can’t stop it, you can’t even stop the noise.

    We were happy specially with the beds, all of the were more comfortable than we expected. The shower and the bathroom were big as well.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in could be earlier than 15:00pm. Should have a window which is able to be open for some fresh air in room.

    Nice hotel. Very basic & clean rooms. Right outside the OverAmstel station. Good transport links to centre and to airport. 10 min journey into central on metro.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    5.8
    when i make my reservation on booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    when i make my reservation on booking.com total amount to be debited was Euro 395 but when i came to the hotel they debited Euro 417.36 i.e. which 22.36 Euro more (City tax) ???? cleaning the room was horrible almost they didn’t clean it!!!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    3.8
    Comfy beds, nice location right next to a train station,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the staff was quite unhelpful, we asked about directions to take the bus to the airport but they couldn't be bothered to check the Internet to give us proper directions! the room was rather small for three people we stayed for 4 nights and we didn't get our sheets changed not once! the daily cleaning was quite superficial the location is ok, 10 min in metro to the city center but there are not any bars or cafeterias nearby, so not much to do when you reach the hotel at night the bar in the lounge was very basic and not serving proper food

    Comfy beds, nice location right next to a train station, silent rooms, big kitchen and dining room to prepare light meals

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    5.4
    Location, new facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room service managed to take four towels to laundry and only left two, in a four bed room! And as we notice it after 23h, there was no one available to provide the two missing towels. The floor, specially of the bathroom was not clean at all! Please don't say that I should have contacted the staff, this is not the first time some one complains about and so far the hotel management did nothing!

    Location, new facilities

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic location - would recommend for groups of friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 6-Bed Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a little bit basic and cleanliness wasn’t always on point. Couldn’t work out how to adjust air con in room or turn on heated towel rail. Some staff were really helpful but others were rude.

    Brilliant location next to Amstel station - only ten minutes into central Amsterdam. Beds very comfortable! Lots of space in our room for 6. Good value for late check out - €10 to stay in room until 2pm.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    7.5
    Well situated next to metro & trams.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Long waits at reception desk.

    Well situated next to metro & trams. Good value breakfast - free for children under 12. Staff are generally pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    10
    Good location for transport links
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had to give 20 euros deposit for pool cues when we were right by bar area and therefore unlikely to damage or take them!

    Good location for transport links Clean rooms We liked the ability to use the guest kitchen

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    10
    Location near Amstel station is excellent affording swift...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fresh and modern with an excellent guest kitchen. Bar was pleasant with pool, table football and a pinball machine! Breakfast is great value at €9 for an adult and child.

    Location near Amstel station is excellent affording swift travel to the city via Metro.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    9.6
    Easy going short stay, would recommend the hotel but not for longer than a couple of days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The AC was loud and i couldn’t turn it off. No wardrobe and few hangers to hang your clothes. The breakfast was pricey for the offer. We ended up buying freshly baked croissants and sandwiches for half the price in the station hall 2 minutes away.

    The beddind was extra comfy and ir was very clean. Also very good soundproofing : didn’t hear the neighbours or the road. Very close to the subway which is always appreciable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    9.2
    Perfect for a group looking for Amsterdam fun 👻
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms could use more nails in the walls to hang more stuff, or even some small furniture elements.. it gets really crowded in there when 4 people unpack their stuff, even basic for 2-3 nights.

    We had the 4 people room with one bathroom. Everything was as expected, as I knew the other MEININGER hotel in Amsterdam. The location right in the Metro Amstel station is great, you are downtown in 10 minutes. Good value for your money, I totally recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    9.2
    Much better than the 4 star hotel I stayed in during the conference a month earlier!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Water pressure in the shower was very low. Air conditioning was a bit too noisy and difficult to adjust, but eventually you get used to it.

    Great location, just besides the Amstel station. Easy access to the airport by train within 30 min. Room was very clean, modern, comfy, beds were excellent. Given that breakfast costed us only 8 EUR per person, food selection was good. All necessary equipment was provided. Very spacious bathroom with hair dryer. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    7.5
    New hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were on a quiet floor - but we overheard other guests complaining about noise from dormitories in lower floors.

    Right next to Amstel station so central Amsterdam just 5 stops on metro. Well equipped communal kitchen.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 6-Bed Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cleaning staff forgot to give us new towels and the floor was never swept during our stay

    The location is great. The hotel has easy eccess to everywhere.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    9.6
    Cool modern hotel on metro station! amazing nice place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really modern and new hotel! Nice room, amazing bathroom and everything is so clean. Perfect is location...on metro and train station (1min)...parking on street or next hotel. In hotel is also loby, kitchet! its also really cool for make some breakfast or dinner for lowcost travel. If i travel to Amsterdam i choose this hotel for sure!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    10
    Very good location - nearby metro and bus station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 6-Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very good location - nearby metro and bus station. If you arrive by car, there is a private parking nearby on a quite fair prices. The beds are very comfortable. To sum up - you get more than you pay for.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    5.0
    Not satisfied!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room cleaning service very poor. The towels in the room during our 4 nights stay were not replaced. Each night had to request for new towels at the reception. Very disappointed with the cleaning service.

    Food stalls nearby

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    5.8
    Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    AMATEURS !! All new at the reception, every time we went to the reception they answered "I'm new, I do not know, I have to ask ..." I asked to change my room and after 15 minutes they told me they did not have another room and so.

    Clean

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    9.2
    Clean and tidy accommodation only 10 minutes by train from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only one washing machine and dryer for the whole hotel.

    Clean and tidy accommodation only 10 minutes by train from the city. We enjoyed our stay here was very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    9.2
    Good n Comfortable stay with great location n great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The illumination in the room was bit less.

    Super location, just 5-6 stops from central (3 metro connection), bus connection also....clean room....we used the Guest kitchen at fullest as we had a baby and need for making baby food. Staff was super helpful...They even guided us how to move around Amsterdam and we also bought Metro tickects from hotel. Availability of Groceries is also 200 mts from hotel. Great experience

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    7.9
    Comments
    • Business trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We booked the room in August by Booking.com which was confirmed a few days in advance. The hotel did not have confirmation of our reservation.

    Reasonable price, staff very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 6-Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wish no one else knew about it! Being greedy me.... there were lots of groups/ students enjoying just like us. Lol.

    Truly a gem for families! Awesome location because of accessibility to subway. Spacious. Clean rooms. Brand new hotel!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    10
    New and shining hotel, everything is clean.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For the drawbacks - no wardrobe or shelves.

    New and shining hotel, everything is clean. Located near the Amsterdam Amstel station, but no noise or smells are getting into the room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    10
    The bed was veeerry comfortable and soft.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was veeerry comfortable and soft. Also the cleanliness of the hotel in general and inside the rooms. The location of the hotel is perfect, the Amstel station is right there! You have trains, metro, trams, busses right there! Our stay was excellent!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    7.1
    if you're looking for rest, this is not the right place!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 4 nights

    hostel-style accomodation; for this reason, it is full of youngsters, who're noisy at night

    very convenient to train/metro station: very easy access to Central Amsterdam and Schipol airport

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    6.3
    Not good for business, only teenagers
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lots of teenagers meaning noise, waste in elevator and 16years old girls coming to breakfast in their pyjamas and barefoot Another guest had been provided with the same room key and barged into my room when I was present. Fire alarm set off at 6 am. Basic breakfast with limited choice Staff only spoke English and not Dutch, the language of the country the hotel is based in

    location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location and good conditions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The double bed in the room was actually two single beds put together hence had a gap in the middle of the bed.

    Excellent location next to Amstel train station and bus station, 10 minutes train ride to Central Amsterdam. The facilities were very clean and in good condition.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    8.3
    The charging points were really clever above the beds and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the staff weren’t as friendly as the others... there was the one guy called Chris that made myself and my friend feel very uncomfortable! It was quite late and we went outside one of the doors for a smoke and he came running Down to us saying ‘do you want to get fined?’ To us that almost seemed slightly threatening... we are 2 girls in a foreign country where we may not know every single rule! This made us feel very uneasy for the rest of our stay...

    The charging points were really clever above the beds and the beds were comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2018

    7.1
    okay for one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room to 6-Bed Room (Only Bunk Beds)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very small 6-people room, when you're traveling with 6 people and all of you have even normal-size luggage, where is no place to lay it down. poor breakfast, nothing really interesting to eat. second day of our stay problems with breakfast - there was only one person on breakfast list instead of 6 as we ordered. we had to negotiate and make stuff sure it's a mistake.

    nice, brand new building, just next to amstel station. quite good location, about half an hour walk to the city center. super-comfy beds, everything clean and tidy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2018

    7.5
    Easy to find, comfortable beds, good location - right next...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sewerage smell from the bathroom

    Easy to find, comfortable beds, good location - right next to the tram station, locker storage for suitcases/bags, air con in rooms,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    10
    Exploring Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There’s no free coffee or tea inside the room.

    Staff are very friendly and accommodating especially receptionist name Madonna and bar tender name Bianka. Location is perfect and accessible to city centre near the station. Room is tidy. Breakfast is okay. Great hotel to stay!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    7.5
    A very good hotel with a friendly atmosphere, good welcome and nice food; this offered good locatio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We thought the plugs were too near our headboards on the beds.

    The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean; there was a good range of food for breakfast although some of the boiled eggs were looking cracked and some of the bread a little dry. The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful. The location of hotel was good as it was near the centre and some good nearby restaurants. Although booking.com didn’t offer a very good price on the stay ( for families personally it was expensive for us British), it was a very good hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2018

    6.3
    avoid if more than 2 persons.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You can not open Windows, Only ventilated air. so in the morning you feel as if you run out of air, with dry throat. we took the room with 4 beds, it is too small, and without cupboards. room service is Very "special", they only folds the sheets and they don't change bed's covers even if they are dirty. for towels you need to ask evey days for new onces.

    kitchen in the lobby et hotel position

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2018

    9.2
    I wasn’t familiar with this hotel chain before but would...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I wasn’t familiar with this hotel chain before but would definitely stay there again. Great location and the staff were super friendly. Very clean, comfortable and good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2018

    7.9
    location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    breakfast could be better with some more hot food.

    location is great. though not in the center, it's just besides the metro station and only 4 stations awat to the central station. The hotel is nice and new, and cheap at the moment. really good. staff are friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    7.5
    Play area for kids , 24 h reception, comfortable mattress,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When we came to the reception for check in, around 7 pm , there were 2 receptionists, one man and one lady, and they were busy, i was waiting like half an hour, to make check in. Wich is really, long ,when you are standing and not seating. And when we came no one said " Hello" as they were busy, but that was very uncomfortable situation. I was surprised.

    Play area for kids , 24 h reception, comfortable mattress, pillows, :-) clean!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    5.0
    The reception staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our stay was good enough but somehow we expected a little bit more comfort for the price. Cleaning: The room was not being cleaned (bed sheets, towels, shower soap) until I insisted at the front desk and they marked it on their computer (even so, the bed sheets weren't changed). The next day the room wasn't cleaned again but we didn't bother to ask again. I saw guests clutching replacement toilet paper and fresh towels. Room/amenities: The room was very small for a familly of 4 (as requested and paid). Two of the beds were bunk beds and one was a double bed. The air conditioner was disconnected (even though it's hot in August). In spite of the label 'family friendly', we missed simple room amenities such as a small water heater for coffee, tea. The desk was miniscule and the 'chairs' were metalic drawers extendable from under the bed (although the drawers were convenient for clothes). In spite of the online description, there were no "free toiletries" except for liquid soap in wall containers. The shower hot water was actually lukewarm and the water pressure was low. The toilet broke down during routine use and needed to be repaired (water kept running). The fire alarm woke us up early in the morning on the second day of our stay (I guess that was due to a guest but still not the best experience to see everyone in their pajamas gathered outside the hotel). Overall, the amenities were minimalistic and the hotel had a hostel-like atmosphere fitting for very young guests who may have different requirements than a family or an experienced traveller. This includes the lack of daily room cleaning, minimal room amenities, a common cooking area in the lobby, and, although I don't consume alcohol, I was suprised to hear that it's forbidden to bring alcohol in the rooms (first time I heard that in a hotel in Europe). Summary: This is a new but low-end hotel and the price and the description should reflect that better.

    The reception staff was friendly. The hotel is new and the lobby gets a lot of sunlight. The room was quiet (no external noise). It is possible to prepare food in a common kitchen area and to keep a small bag with groceries in the common fridge. About the hotel location, there are multiple convenient transport connections to downtown and the central station (tram 12, subway lines, train). There are convenient shops and eateries in the nearby station.

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam Amstel Traveler Photo Gallery