Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Netherlands hotel reviews
  3. Noord-Holland hotel reviews
  4. Amsterdam hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Reviews of MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Orlyplein 1-67, Westpoort, 1043 DR Amsterdam, Netherlands

#194 of 443 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 10044 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    10
    A very pleasant, modern, and comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One night we had noisy people next door to us but we got ear plugs that were available in the vending machine in reception. Slept perfectly after that!

    Friendly staff, comfortable beds and nice bathrooms. Very nice place and less than a minute walk from Sloterdijk station!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only downside was that the floor under the beds hadn't been swept but to me that's a very minor thing!

    Hotel was in a great location! Just one stop from Amsterdam central and Amsterdam sloterdijk was a 2 sec walk from the station. Great value for money!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    8.3
    Clean rooms, comfy beds and lobby bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cleaners took our half-full beers, cheese, and other stuff from the table at the bar when we went out for a few minutes! We even left cards on the table because we were playing games, this apparently did not stop them. Bartenders were not hapful about this.

    Clean rooms, comfy beds and lobby bar.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    7.9
    Clean, comfortable and modern accommodation outside of Amsterdam city. Great for solo travellers
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds are hard with not much support however I can't fault much about this property.

    The rooms were utilised well for spaciousness, clean and well lit. Friendly staff and a well priced buffet breakfast available on site. The hotel is close to a metro station and supermarket but there isn't much else in the area.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    9.5
    Clean room, plenty of hot water, too small tho. Lower cost, great value to stay on outskirts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room size for 3, please don't cram 3 single beds in a small room, but, the communal area was nice to relax in so it really didn't matter. Can we please have a food locker,, it was a pain to keep bringing food stores down -will pay extra!! I noticed a lot of people cooking to save on eating out in expensive Amsterdam, so please, a bigger kitchen/dining. Lots of young people, seemed like a hostel, but had a hotel feel to it, so we were pleasantly surprised

    Lovely, friendly, helpful staff. Clean rooms nice bathroom and plenty of hot water and great shower. Room For 3 is cramped, which I find unfair to have a two bed sized room and cramming in another bed. There was no room to open all our cases and we were trippig on them and banging our legs on bed corners. Probs dont need daily room service, and could have even lower costs, we don't need a clean room daily with new towel. Loved the kitchen and clothes wash facilities, but it was really crowded around meal times and with hot plates on centre bench with people constatly edging past during cooking. This was in December and busy but it is small, and being low priced, every man and his dog was cooking. Needs a bigger kitchen. All ages were there, and good social, friendly atmosphere, and great bar with good prices. Long tram, 15 mins to city, train quicker but more expensive, BUT, such great value to stay here compared to staying in town. Really worth it, and great supermarket close by.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    10
    Excellent and comfortable. Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The guest kitchen was a hot mess. So many guests who used the kitchen didn't know how to clean up after themselves, it's such a shame. And there were those who were inconsiderate and hogged the tables despite the long queue at peak hours. Wish the staff could be more in control of the crowd during such hours and ensure that guests clean up after using the kitchen

    Everything about the hotel was a charm. Big spacious room, comfortable beds, thick good quality linens, spacious modern bathroom. And the strategic location right next to Sloterdijk train station and SPAR supermarket

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    7.9
    Very close to sloterdijk train station.
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very close to sloterdijk train station. Everything you need is very accessible from the hotel. Has a late bar, games in the lobby and a place to do your laundry.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    10
    Absolutely Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sixtuple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    Right next to Amsterdam Sloterdijk station, which is just one stop from Centraal. Rooms were clean and the heating was perfect. Staff were really friendly and the value for money was so good!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    9.6
    Clean, tidy & modern hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My only comments are that be aware that city tax is payable as you arrive at your hotel. This shows as being included on your booking.com receipt however the lady at the desk assured me that that was only for the room & not the stay. Also the mattresses in certain rooms aren’t as comfy, in our room we had to used the spare duvets to lay on our bed.

    The hotel was modern & had a funky theme to it. The rooms were clean, tidy as spacious. We stayed in a twin room which had a double bed & bunk beds. The bathroom was spacious with a powerful warm shower. Beds & towels were changed daily. In the lobby there is a bar, kitchen & games for people of all ages such as a pool table, air hockey & children’s toys.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The television in my room was very small but other than that no problems.

    Hotel is very modern looking and staff are extremely friendly. Stayed here 3 times now since 2016 and it’s been brilliant every time. Perfect location as it is beside shops and the train station which are so easy to use.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    9.6
    Very nice and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I loved my stay at the MEININGER. The staff is really kind and the room were NEW, CLEAN AND. COMFORTABLE. They fixed up the room every day. It’s near the Sloterdijk station and it’s really easy to reach Amsterdam and other places. If you think to visit Amsterdam I suggest you to make the 3days travel card provided by the hotel. SUGGESTED:)

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant, practical, comfortable stay with fair value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first hotel I have ever stayed in where you can't make a cup of tea in your own room. For me, this drastically reduces the rating.

    Comfortable and practical rooms and it was a good location with rail and tram links to the centre. Staff were friendly and helpful and we had an enjoyable stay

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    10
    Absolutely loved our weekend here, can’t wait to visit again! 😍
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Super friendly staff, clean rooms with comfy beds and right next to the train station. The eating area was great and there’s even a kitchen where you can prepare your own food if you wanted to. Will definitely be staying here again!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    8.8
    Great place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Lookout for suspicious shady people outside the hotel door, hotel staff should do something about it they are in front of the hotel door fishing for victims. Felt really unsafe. I was approached twice during my stay by shady people, once by a drug dealer and second time by two people impersonating police asking me to pay money.

    Great location and friendly staff great service

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    10
    Fantastic Experience, This hotel never fails!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Sixtuple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Massive thank you to Joseph for being extremely welcoming and sorting out our room with ease. This is my second time staying at this hotel and it will not be the last! Also loving the €2 Tequila shots on a Friday!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    10
    Great stay in Amsterdam!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    Triple room was comfortable. Everything is as described and it exceeded our expectations. Hotel has very good connection with airport and also city center. Breakfast was good. I would return for sure!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    8.8
    Dope
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hotel is extremely cheap for what it offers. Rooms are comfortable, clean and modern. Also the isolation of the rooms is amazing. My group was doing loads of noise and the guys next door didn't say anything. But maybe they were just stoned.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location, close to the airport, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were some lift issues that took over a day to fix but it could be just bad timing.

    Perfect location, basically by the tram/train/metro/bus station. Atm in the hostel, you can buy transportation card at the hostel too. Your room is cleaned every day and you get a fresh towel. A nice bar downstairs. There is a little kids corner for those with families.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    10
    Nice place to stay in
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lifts - for such big Hotel the lifts should be working fully. However that didn't put me off.

    Everything thereafter. 5 minutes away by train from Amsterdam Centraal, better than being in city centre. Between train trams and buses hotel is reachable from all corners of the city. Nice room, very quiet, modern, well serviced and staff are very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    10
    Staff really helpful when checking in, we decided to stay an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to dislike

    Staff really helpful when checking in, we decided to stay an extra night and the staff were kind enough to keep us in the same room also the hotel is located right next to the train station which is very convenient. Great stay

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    9.6
    It is near the Sloterdijk station and very convenient to get...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No kettle or bar in the room to make drinks

    It is near the Sloterdijk station and very convenient to get around Amsterdam Clean rooms and good guest kitchen

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    9.2
    - it’s very near to the train station that you can reach...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - the sheets was unclean i discovered that while going to sleep that was hair on the bed sheet :( and having no phone in the room i couldn’t call the reception so i had to sleep on the blanket! - I was on 7th floor and it took me a while to locate the secondary elevator as the primary ones were out of service. In case more clear signs are available it would make it easy specially for moving with luggage.

    - it’s very near to the train station that you can reach city center in 20min - Lockers are available for luggage storage at fees (small 0.5€ for an hour) - Very live and fun!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    9.2
    A hotel with a fresh vibe
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a bit cold. The beds are in front of the window and you can feel a slight breeze. I slept with a jacket on.

    The location, good connection with the City centre and good value for money.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    10
    The location was excellent, right beside the station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location was excellent, right beside the station. Bed was comfortable and clean. They changed the towel everyday. Staffs were friendly and helpful. They do sell transport ticket at reception.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    10
    - 1 min walk from Sloterdijk train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A coffee machine would be nice along with a filter coffee that is the only option for the moment during the breakfast

    - 1 min walk from Sloterdijk train station - helpful and attentive staff - clean and comfy rooms - good value for money

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    10
    Great location, clean rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The elevators were slow, but it wasn’t a big deal for me to take the stairs as I was only a few floors up.

    The hotel is directly next to metro/bus/train stations and they offered transportation passes at the front desk which made it super convenient to get around.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    10
    Staff were very helpful as they helped us store our bags...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were very helpful as they helped us store our bags upon arrival until our room was ready. Very nice reception level with great facilities (guest kitchen, bar, tourist info). Rooms were comfortable and cleaned daily. The location (30m from the train station) was also extremely convenient for access to the city on a 3-minute train ride.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    3.8
    Had a great trip but it wasn’t made by the hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cleanliness was poor, dust in the rooms, dirty hairs lying around in the corners of the room. Big groups of school children keeping us awake all night. Additional charges that I wasn’t told about when booking. The staff were quite rude and arrogant. Wouldn’t stay here again.

    Had a great trip but it wasn’t made by the hotel!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    7.5
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bit cold looking.. Needed more comfy furniture in reception and bar area.. Didn't like the kitchen.. Looked abit odd strangers all cooking together with no privacy

    Location was good. Room comfortable. Bed really nice

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is next to the train station and really close to a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately the days we stayed now one came for cleaning or tidying the room.We asked them at the check out if this is normal and they said that they usually coming every day.I don't know what happened fortunately we stayed only three days so that was nothing to complain about.

    The hotel is next to the train station and really close to a small super market.The rooms were really big and clean,satellite T.v. and free WiFi available.The staff really helpful and kind if you need tickets for museums and boat trips ask them is much cheaper than to buy them from the museum.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    8.3
    Great budget hotel at excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the hotel does not meet the level I got used to in e.g. Meininger Berlin. The walls are very thin, lot of noise coming from other rooms, incl. loud music during the night. The heating control unit in my room was not working, then I got offered a new room, but the heating there was still not working properly the whole night. By the morning it started blowing hot air...

    Great location good value for money helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2018

    10
    Great, clean and comfortable accommodation just one train stop from Amsterdam central.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Clean and comfortable room. It wasn't fancy however it was all I needed ...that is to give me a good night sleep. The people on reception were really helpful. It is also very close to the station so handy to get in and out of the centre.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    7.5
    great location if you are coming for the Innovation in the Dam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was surprised how small the room was for two people. Also, more fruits would be nice for the breakfast. Unclear information about breakfast and late check out: on a booking.com price was different than what we had to pay at the reception. When we asked for a late check out, we were told that the limit of rooms is reached- would be nice to know that at the moment we checked in.

    staff is very nice. Very clean bathroom and room.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    10
    The bar facilities outstanding and the staff from start to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Sixtuple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bar facilities outstanding and the staff from start to finish where extremely useful and very clued up on local beers and places to travel. Convenient station nearby! Will 100% stay again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    10
    The hotel was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel wasn't in center of Amsterdam but it was 3 min slow walk to a pretty central train station

    The hotel was perfect! We traveled with friends. Staff was super nice and helpful. The hotel was clean and the lobby was so cool! A great way to spend the night playing pool and in the arcade! Also the bartenders were always funny and super nice!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    7.5
    Good Value of Money in Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room haven't enough space to left the luggage open all the time, which will kinda blocked the bathroom door. (One person room). I prefer each room has its own portable water heater for making tea of coffee, it very helpful especially when the need comes in the middle of the night for something warm to drink.

    So close to the train station and Bus Stop (Amsterdam Sloterdjik Station), just a walk away. Near to supermarket which is just next to the station. And I like the public kitchen, although it almost full all the time.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    10
    I like the property because it is near the station, and my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I like the property because it is near the station, and my favorite is they have a guest kitchen, where we can cook! Also they make us more convenient by offering some tickets for the tour, especially the free walking tour.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2018

    8.8
    The food was so nice and the room i booked for 6 people, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food was so nice and the room i booked for 6 people, the room was so big and plenty of space for all of us to walk around and get comfortable! Bonus that train and tram station are literally next door and easy to travel!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2018

    10
    Great atmosphere around the place, rooms were very clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great atmosphere around the place, rooms were very clean and the staff were very helpful. Also the train station been so near the property was great :)

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    10
    Absolutely loved our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absolutely loved our stay. So conveniently located, Room felt like a nice hotel not a hostel at all. Staff were super friendly and helpful! Would highly recommend and would definitely stay here again on my next trip to Amsterdam

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    6.3
    It is what It is
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room cleaning wasn't great . No new items jusy old items made new. No water provided. Bath drain was draining slowly build up of limescale and wasn't cleaned away

    Doors are locked at 11pm Location to station and convenience stores Helpful staff especially Andreas Games/photo booth in lobby area Heating system

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    6.3
    Value for money is OK but consider that the place is rather a hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - There is very little service as the place is rather a hostel. E.g. full price needs to be paid at check-in, dishes need to be returned after breakfast, breakfast price cannot be booked on room - Low quality breakfast: coffee not good, no fruit salad. I can recommend the very close by place ADAM's ID for a nice breakfast buffet (15EUR) - Rooms not very clean at second glance

    - Modern room + bathroom - Directly next to Sloterdijk station. From there on 5 min by train to Amsterdam Central train station - Windows provide good sound isolation considering that the place is directly next to the railway - Value for money is ok

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    8.8
    Budget friendly accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only one lift working #firstworldproblems

    This hotel was so organised & had it all. Reception were so helpful. Hotel had fast internet, locker facilities, a communal kitchen so you could make your own food, a bar area. Next door to a train station so made getting to the city very easy.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    6.3
    Overall was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lift was out of service from the day we arrive until the day we check out and only 1 lift is working. Waiting time is just draining and w8th lots of people waiting. We always have to take the staurs and it's very inconvenient as we were on the 6th floor.

    Staff by FNB and check in was friendly. Coffee was nice

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    9.2
    Cool
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Sixtuple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just one working elevator, sometimes we need to wait in line to reach our room.

    Nice room, nice staff, very good for big groups. Near is shop, train station, bus stop. Via train or bus u can easy reach city center. Hotel have bar and warm sandwiches at night.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    10
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Sixtuple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I don't really have any complaints. There were two power outlets that weren't working and the breakfast was slightly overpriced, but other than that everything was amazing.

    I loved everything. The room was cleaned and the towels were changed everyday. The staff was really helpful and the location is amazing for anyone looking to do some sightseeing. We got a lot for our money and we were very satisfied with the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    8.8
    Simple, Clean, cheap and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was an extra €10 of you chose to buy it, but would definitely not be worth the money! No hot food on offer and only a very small selection of hams and cheeses. The games downstairs were a little expensive but I guess that can’t be helped

    Great location as it’s right next to the train station (which only takes approx 5 mins to the Centruum). Staff were very polite on arrival, and our room was ready early which was great as we wouldn’t have to pay to store our luggage. It’s €1/€0.50per hour depending on locker size, or €8/6 for 24 hours. Bedroom was average, it cost €103 each (4 of us) for 3 nights. We requested 4 bunk beds but instead got a double and two bunk beds which wasn’t an issue. It was a rather small room but was clean and simple. The bathroom was really nice and they replaced towels every day! There was a pool table downstairs as well as a few other games which all cost €1-2 which were good time passers. All in all was a really good, cheap hotel with a great location to go in and out of the centre with ease. We bought a 3 day travel card which made our stay really easy and a lot more cost effective. Would recommend for people to stay here and will most likely be back :)

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    7.1
    Good budget hotel
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1.The triple room we were initially given is tiny. I felt that we would be staying in a store room for 3 nights! Thankfully we were given a quadruple room on the 8th floor which was much better! 2. When you sit in lobby you can smell weed from people smoking outside. 3. My bed was very uncomfortable springs felt as if they were popping under mattress. 4. I would have preferred a hotel near Amsterdam central station as opposed to Amsterdam Sloterdijk.

    1. The general facilities at the hotel were great 2. The breakfast for 10 euro per person is excellent and great value for money. 3. Front reception desk staff are very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    8.3
    We enjoyed the hotel, with nice Staff and communicative. It is recommended to traveler.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Sixtuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. When we came, so many tourist there who want to put their luggage (even I don't know whether they are guest or not), so crowded at that moment. The storage area in 3rd floor is small, we have to waiting in line with other. 2. In our room has no a cup or cups to drink. Water in the sink is drinkable. 3. Too small closet 4. Expensive cost for luggage storage 1 hr = 1 euro, (I think you must upgrade the procedure, maybe for guest you can give the special discount)

    The location is so strategic, next to the Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station, so we don't need much time to go to another place and we can simply explore around Amsterdam. Our room (with capacity 6 persons) is big. Very clean bathroom, bed, pillow, and blanket. Staff can speak English, so no worries if we have no idea about the direction. Then every bed has plug (it is important thing)

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    10
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Next to the trainstation so it’s perfect for getting into the centre with trains running frequently - really friendly staff too with comfortable beds. Perfect for groups of friends.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    9.2
    A good hotel for just a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some lifts were under maintenance during our stay, so only 1 lift working near the reception, otherwise you can use the one in the further back of the hotel. Can't do early check in, you need to rent a locker in the lobby at an hourly rate in case you wanna leave your luggage. No toothbrush/toothpaste in the toilet. They only provide tissues. They clean the room everyday even if we didn't put the "make up my room" sign in the door; new towels given everyday but bed linens not changed. Only one pillow for each bed. On the positive side, none of our valuables got lost. Value for money is reasonable but still a bit pricey for a hotel outside the city centre.

    Location - It's just beside the Sloterdejk train station which is approx 5mins away from Amsterdam central and approx 15mins from Schipool airport by train. Buses to Brussels are just beside the hotel. Spar, Starbucks, and a resto/pub near the hotel. Room - great city view, comfortable beds and beddings, non-smoking, sufficient wifi access, good lighting, near the lift. Security - card access to the room and facility, no card no access after midnight. Quick check-in and check-out.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    8.3
    A great value for the price for a short stay in Amsterdam!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were nice and clean when we arrived, however, during our stay, we found some clothing in a corner of the room that didn't belong to any of us. I'm sure the cleaning staff just missed it, that was the only issue we had during our entire stay.

    Location was really good, next to a tram station. The lobby is great, lots of things to do within the hotel and a bar right outside the doors.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    9.6
    Everything was excellent-the hotel and room was clean, food...
    • Business trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was excellent-the hotel and room was clean, food was very good and staff really nice. Metro station is really close to hotel so there is no problem ti go where ever you want. I recommend Meininger Hotel Amsterdam City West!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    10
    Everything was great except for breakfast and lifts kept...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was poor for the 10 euro we paid

    Everything was great except for breakfast and lifts kept breaking . Staff were helpful. Rooms were clean and comfy. Facilities were good as was the transport links into the centre.A lovely stay .

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    8.3
    Very nice, clean hotel; would appeal to younger residents in particular.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No safes in room, although they were apparently available from reception. A little bit on the expensive side given the facilities/decor.

    Very clean; loads of wardrobe/cupboard space for clothes; bed was comfortable; excellent, powerful shower; Lovely communal areas; good selection of TV stations.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    9.0
    Excellent location, Fab hotel, staff are friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Twin Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were so friendly and helpful and really went out of their way to help. The room was clean, cosy and really quiet. Towels and linen changed twice and I only stayed 4 nights. the shower was powerful. the location excellent. right next door to trains, Trams and buses. came straight from the airport by train and stepped out of the train station and the hotel was right next door. so easy to get right into the heart of Amsterdam in no time. I definitely would stay here again and plan to.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    10
    Great clean hotel, perfect for a short break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Sixtuple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Fantastic hotel - the rooms were clean and well presented. The staff were friendly and the location was perfect being right next door to the train station and only one stop away from the city centre.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    7.1
    It is next to a train and metro, the fact they have a nice...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Twin Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reception when we arrived were not helpfull

    It is next to a train and metro, the fact they have a nice bar and amusement machines you can entertain your self if you stay in.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    10
    Nice & comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    It 's nice, clean and affordable. It has a guest kitchen which is very good for people on a budget. Lastly, the hotel is just a couple of minutes walk to the train station.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    2.5
    Disappointed when standing at the coffee counter i was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Disappointed when standing at the coffee counter i was ignored yet i was the only person stood thier then told to wait after a group of young people came to be served. Also this male employee you have working for you that finds it acceptable to put one euro for himself on the drinks he has served really needs addressing....also only treating English people like this was shocking.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    9.6
    Cheap and comfortable solution, for both young and families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast is quite expensive and not included. To save something you can order at the bar but the products are not that good.

    Nice rooms with big shower and hair dryer included. Free wifi. Possible to rent a locker at a good price. Very close to a big station with many trains to most important destinations.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    8.3
    The location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Twin Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a bit dusty and the first day i got in,they didnt empty the bins . The sheets and towels were clean though

    The location was excellent. The beds were fine . The rooms are a bit small but cosy

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    8.8
    A great budget hotel for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wouldn't recommend this hotel for longer stays. The room we got was tiny and the upholstery of the hotel seems really aged, only some parts have been renewed recently. The breakfast wasn't anything to write home about, but for the price I am not complaining.

    The location of the hotel is great, there are many different ways to get to the city and the airport within walking distance of the hotel. You can't really beat the price of this hotel. In the lobby there are a lot of facilities, like a communal kitchen, a laundromat and a bar.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    10
    Overall pleasant experience. Worth every penny.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only 1 small pillow each, quite a small room for 4 people and the lifts very often didn’t work which wasn’t good as we were on the 7th floor. Also lots of beggars on the front of the hotel near the seats, needed more security to stop this.

    Clean, friendly staff who were very helpful

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    9.6
    First time in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing that this hotel needed we tea and coffee facilities in the room

    Brilliant location right next to the Amsterdam Sloterdijk station, trams and buses were very regular. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, they couldn’t do any more to help. The room was extremely clean when we arrived, and the service was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    9.2
    Clean, efficient, convenient to Amsterdam and area for tourists
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Twin Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 5 nights

    1 elevator of 2 not working so sometimes delays at busy times. Push a lot of info on sales of attraction tickets.

    Right next door to train station with connections from other locations in Europe, Netherlands and close to Airport. No steps from off train to room. Trams and buses to popular areas of Amsterdam nearby. Clean, neat, quiet efficient. good sized room. In an office park with convenience stores and restaurants nearby and bar in hotel. Good service by staff.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    7.1
    Okay value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had to wait over the time for when we were allowed to check-in. My boyfriend and I were exhausted from traveling all day and couldn't rest until nearly 4pm.

    The breakfast buffet had an excellent selection.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    10
    Worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good Location and one station away from Amsterdam Central. Also, there are buses in the early morning just 2 minutes away from the hotel to other cities. The price is definitely reasonable and I would recommend it to any budget-limited travellers.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    10
    Excellent facilities. The lowest price compared to other hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sixtuple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I would have liked the room to have a safe for keeping passports and cash.

    The train station is 100m from the hotel. It takes less than 10 minutes to reach Amsterdam Centraal station. Additional destinations are also reachable from there. There is a small supermarket, Starbucks, pizza restaurant and pub right next to the hotel. It's only 15 minutes by car from the Schipol airport. There is a parking lot next to the hotel which is free on Sat & Sun and on weekdays from 19:00 to 09:00 the next days. Parking space is also available in the hotel for a fee of ~11 euros per day. Room was cleaned and new towels were provided everyday.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    7.5
    Generally, the place is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I found the room quite stuffy as the windows do not open - that was a big shame as I like to sleep with fresh air and i felt it was hard to breathe in the night. Plus the air con was just a fan vent system so wasn't very effective. I also think the mattresses are too hard. But everything else was absolutely fine

    Generally, the place is great! I especially liked the large modern bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    8.3
    Well worth a visit !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For the price paid - there is no reason for complaint.

    Location - right next to Sloterdijk Station. Trains from here get you to Amsterdam CS in 6 mins, while it takes 10 mins to reach Schiphol. Value for money hotel with efficient, friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    10
    Great location, busy enviorment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We left money in room like a few cents nothing big on table and when returning at night realiseing that cleaner been in has lifted it, it may only be few cent but they shouldn’t be lifting it

    Great location, busy enviorment

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location and dog friendly hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pillows were too soft and the shower drain seems to be choked as water will accumulate as u bathe.

    We got a room for 4 and it was well design and we didn't feel cramp. Nice pantry area. And the location was convenient for us to go to Amsterdam central, zaanse schans and Haarlem.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    9.2
    Great stay for a short business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    * My room was small yet nice and clean. * Fairly reasonable price (I paid ca 50 EUR for a small single room per night). * WiFi worked just fine. * Closeness to the train station even if farther away from the downtown.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    7.9
    Great stay with family!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If you arrive earlier than 3pm, the hotel charges additional amount for locker storage. The breakfast was not worth the additional amount paid. If you need to catch an Uber or taxi, you have to climb down a few flights of stairs with no ramp.

    Location right next to the Sloterdijk Station with easy access to public transportation. We had a room on the 8th floor with a nice view.

    Stayed in November 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: