Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City South 4 stars

Joan Muyskenweg 10, Oost, 1096 CJ Amsterdam, Netherlands

#149 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 5115 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The distance to Metro is far and hotel should also provide transfer to central station

    The hotel is Spaces and the food store is very convenient. Overall the stay is good and comfortable. I would like to comment about your front office staff, Ms Kristina (hope I get her name right, she was on duty on June 8 about 3pm at front desk. She was helpful and knowledgable . Her service and hospitality is excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a free upgrade to a room on the 11th floor, which was lovely and quiet and had great views. Located to South of city (airport-side) which was handy for an early morning transfer. Long walk into centre of city but reasonable cycle distance, and plenty of bikes for hire at the hotel. Located on the river, with nice outside bar area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had requested tulips for my girlfriend I was planning to propose at dinner on sat night but no staff even said anything about the tulips ,or about taking the ring to bring out with our drinks during dinner so a little disappointed .still proposed but would have been a bit more special if I could have got the flowers at hotel and done it over dinner all in it was a great weekend .

    Boat ride in to Amsterdam central was awesome for 6euros

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was far too hot in the bedroom and the air con was not great even though window was closed. We didn’t sleep great with the heat even though we had air con on all night !!

    Delighted with the hotel cleanliness. Staff very pleasant. Handy little shop on the ground floor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THE BED IS TOO NARROW. ASKED FOR DOUBLE BED GOT SINGLE.

    BREAKFAST DELICIOUS AND WIDE SELECTION. SITTING ON THE TERRACE ON THE RIVER BANK WITH A BEER IS THE BEST WAY TO UNWIND AT THE END OF THE DAY.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    would be good if shuttle to station was a bit more regular....eould have been hsppy to pay a few euros at night to gey back as place was quiet at night.

    staff were really helpful....managed to give us a room overlooking river. Breakfasts were quite pricey but really really good so something worth paying a bit extra for...buffet style which was excellent quality and so much choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The outside area was rather shabby and could be made a lot better with some bright cushions and comfy seats and difficult to get served. In the rooms we had plastic cups for coffee!! the next night none at all! Umm need to sort this one out please!

    It was a very normal hotel and rooms where absolutely fine and the reception desk good and helpful for information. Having a shop for goods and coffee was a great bonus. The Bar was wonderful for cocktails and open late and really fun staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was located in a pretty deserted area, with no stores near; it looked a little bitt like an industrial area

    Near to the metro station (in 15 min we arrived into the city center) The staff was extremly helpfull and polite, I asked them for help in few ocasions and they handled very quick my requests) Room was bigger than I expected and very modern Very clean The restaurant is very modern and the terrace has an excelent view, near the water Very good value for the money we payed, considering that Amsterdam is a pretty expensive city in what concernes accomodation Decent prices at the restaurant Quiet area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s miles from the centre of Amsterdam and there’s a long walk to the metro station. Pictures on Booking.com don’t resemble the actual hotel.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - We asked for an extra robe and never received it. - We called for new towels and it took ages before they came to our room. We needed to call again. - In the reception it was free lemon/orange water, but it was often empty. I asked the traineee if she could fill it up, but she never did while we were there.

    - Inside design and interior - Healthy hotel shop - Nice restaurant - Service-minded receptionists over all, but they could have done better. Upon arrival they could have given us a city map, explained more and asked if we had any questions. - The shower was huge and amazing - They had a gym, even though it was small - Easy to get to the city center by metro - The hotel helped us to book hotel shuttle to the airport the day of departure - Amazing view from the room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing that I really disliked. Perhaps Amsterdam hotel rates are relatively high in international comparison, hence its a little pricey for the value.

    Location: Close to airport by taxi and a few stops by metro from Ziggo Dome and Ajax stadium. Metro station is 5 mins walk from hotel. Breakfast is good. Overall good experience, nice and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pity location was bit off from the centres nd require good 20 minutes

    Staff very professional , nice hotel and good size room vey light. Staff reception Jos was very helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertise boat transfer to central station - but that actually runs only ince a day. Also bus transfer to metro is complicated. Easier to walk to metro (10min)

    Chose the hotel for its location close to the Ziggo Dome and needed a tripple. Room served the purpose. Restaurant area and outside area really nice to sit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is terrible, Matress really uncomfortable, round down, the toilet bowl brown inside for lack of cleaning, noisy

    The only positive thing was the Staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extended the free shuttle times in the morning

    We didn't get a chance to eat at the hotel or use the leisure facilities. The bedrooms were airy and clean, the room service was great. The staff were very helpful and polite. The Metro station is a 10 minute walk away from the hotel, the hotel put on a shuttle service to the metro each morning 8:30 - 9:30am. Best location for distance to the Amsterdam RAI

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was expensive, so did not eat in Hotel. Area of Hotel was a little out of the way.

    Staff were friendly, Terrace outside was quiet and relaxing. Hotel was lovely.Bar was also very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is a 15 mins walk from Overamstel train station (which then is 15mins into city centre). The hotel does a free shuttle car to the station but only for one hour each morning, would benefit from providing this throughout the day.

    Nice modern hotel with good facilities, very extensive breakfast (though expensive)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the girl who check us in had our rooms all mess up. then when we did get our rooms she gaveme someone else's room. Our room never did get cool and there was no attempt to fix this problem.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    This was the worse Mercure hotel we stayed in and we will be complaining to head office, we have complained at the hotel also, We will never stay here or at another Mercure again, bad experience and bad attitude from one of the staff and a manager.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NA

    staff was very friendly and helpfull. The hotel is less than a 10 minute walk to the tram/transport that brings you into Central Station Amsterdam.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good value for what we paid for. Helpful and nice staff. Try ferry trip along the canal to the city, very enjoyable. Breakfast was good too, reasonable price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In 01. may morning when everyone wanted to go the airport, we had to wait ca 10-15 min to the lift because we had many baggages. But it's not a big deal anyway. :)

    The metro is about 7 min from the hotell, and it takes you to the centrum of the Old City within 10-15 min. Just choice the right one. / The breakfast was great too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The boiler broke, which meant no hot water, and this was found out after using their gym even though the gym staff knew beforehand. The fact that they didn’t tell users was a joke, the front desk man hung up on me when I phoned to ask about the problem and the manager refused to give me any form of refund on the €200 a night fee. I’d expect this from a 2* Hostel in the city but not from a global brand hotel.

    It was only a few metro stops from the city (or a €20 taxi ride), which meant it was close enough to enjoy everything in Amsterdam but far enough away to avoid heavy revellers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have no negative comments about this hotel

    Nice view from our rooms in 14th floor. The breakfast was very nice, and so was the one dinner we had in the hotels bar/restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    How small the room was for the price

    Loved the hotel, thought I’d have a bigger room for the price I paid, the staff were so friendly and helpful, I would definitely come back

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is far from the city centre and a 5 minute walk to the train/metro station. Industrial neighborhood. There are no restaurants and cafes around the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeper Woke us up every morning early to give us the necessary things..so they didnt clean the room after that.. .

    Nice room with a very good bed..also espresso machine in the room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Number of issues with this hotel: Early book in - At a cost of just over £25. The actually price should have been on their reply to my first email request. City Tax - (City Tax may be added) Informed via email after booking, therefore not good value for money should have been added before! Extremely misleading making the hotel expensive - especially as the location was on the outskirts of the city. Staff- Not helpful. Two staff members come to mind as being extremely rood. Hard to find a staff member to ask for help. The ones on the lobby were mainly there to help people check in, so you would wait up to 20 minuets to ask a simple question. Facilities - For what seems like a business hotel they are poor with technology. No computer lobby for guests. Charger cable broke, no one could help nor could they tell me where I could purchase a new one. Worst part of the whole stay would be the cold shower on our last day at the hotel. Called reception to explain we had to check out at 12. After pressing for a solution, 'WE' asked to shower in the sauna. Obviously the key pass didn't work - luckily another guest let us in, as we couldn't be bothered to wait another 20 minuets for help!

    The lounge interior was a nice design.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no hot water on our second day. The staff didn’t seem bothered and were not prepared to take anything off the bill, even though I’d have thought a hot shower or bath is a basic requirement in a hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the carpet in our hotel room which was quite dusty and was dirty in the corners. Also, the hotel chairs were old and worn and the bath got dirty very quickly because the water was going down the drain very slowly.

    The location was very close to the metro station Overamstel which made it easy to get to loads of different places. Staff were friendly and very helpful- provided us with extra sheets and a heater as we were very cold. Mini fridge, safe and wifi were all very reliable and free of charge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They took an Authorisation payment that took 7 days to go back into my account and the staff weren't that helpful at sorting it out. It was just like paying for the hotel twice! Also thought we had breakfast and didn't and it cost £22 if you do want it on the day. They also don't have locks on the bathroom doors which is needed when travelling with work friends.

    The room was perfect for three people. Not a bad distance from the city. Lovely bar

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though it was only a 10/15 minute train ride to the city, I would maybe stay a bit closer next time.

    Staff were friendly and everything was clean!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checked in to our room with open cans on the side

    The bed was massive and so comfy, the sauna was nice and the staff were friendly, definitely would come back to this hotel, amazing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located far from the centre. We can't park a car in the city centre as it's quite expensive and it's hard to find a place. So we had to park a car near the hotel (24 euro per day for the outdoor parking!)

    Breakfasts are very good, we enjoyed it a lot! Rooms are quite old but looks renovated. Staff is friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This seldom happens, but I don't really have anything to add here. If I were to nitpick, I'd say improving the variety and quality of meats and cheeses at the breakfast spread, but it was very good regardless, so it's a great pick if you're staying in Amsterdam.

    I liked everything, the wifi was good, the breakfast was good, the facilities and room were great. It's not right in the middle of town, but we took a stroll from the city centre and that was about 50 minutes. Great staff, lemon water and apples in the lobby, all the small things that make staying in a hotel feel more like home.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautifully decorated hotel with very helpful friendly staff in a perfect location. Only 9 min to city center and 6 min to the airport by the local metro stop. Very much enjoyed our stay and they even stored our luggage for the day after we check out in the morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The straff was not service minded at all. Only one guy who was working in the bar area was helpful. It is no problem to say “bon apetit” or “you are welcome” when something is served. And, I payed over 450 euro for two days and the breakfast was not included and when I asked what to do about this they only said I can buy for 23 euro or pay a coffee for 4 euro. I am working in a reception in a hotel and i have good eyes for what people is doing right and wrong because I am the most service minded staff you can find.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at breakfast were a little rude.

    The breakfast staff need to be friendly. It shouldnt be difficult or shocking or tiresome to order a fried egg.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sliding bathroom doors are weird.

    The hotel is close to the metro. The staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are well equipped and there is a bar and bodega on site in addition to the restraurant. I would stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the checkin process even with online checkin was so slow. Long queue for 2 to 3 desks and no priority desk. Check out was the same experience. In my case I did 2 bookings for extending my stay, and we discuss about it during checking in but 2nd day the key was no operative.

    the overall was good and they are offering real value and differentiation for loyal guests (breakfast, room upgrade, late check out or early checkin, ...). The breakfast zone was crowded and so was very appreciated having a dedicated area with available tables and good coffee.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is further out of Amsterdam Central than I realised, but the metro station is so close and it's so cheap for a 3 day pass so ultimately that didn't matter. Only had milk refilled for coffee on 1 day, when all other bits were re-stocked, bit odd but again no real issue.

    The bed was huge and very comfortable, nice bathroom with powerful shower. The room itself was much bigger than expected, especially for the price we paid

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at the hotel at 10:30 am and the receptionist asked us to walk around and return to 2 pm to check in. He told us that our room is not ready. I checked both the hotel's website and the Booking, and things were not at all. We finally made it up and returned after 3 pm.The room was in building A. There, the bathroom fan made a lot of noise and there was no button to close it. They changed the room to another in building B, but the bathroom sliding door did not close even half. We decided to leave things like this and enjoy the stay.

    Clean room, nice staff, varied breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was lovely. Modern, clean and bright. Very comfortable bed. The staff were very friendly and efficient. It had a very nice bar and comfortable seating area and a lovely terrace, ideal for sitting out at night. Very close to the metro station which was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Gym was very small, steam room wasn't working. With gym, steam room and sauna, we expected a pool also but there wasn't one. Hotel only 7 mins walk from nearest metro, fine if you know which direction to walk in! Hotel not easily seen from station, non staffed station, no one to ask directions two exits from station, one either side of a bridge. We walked to local business who did not know hotel. Found a taxi valeting centre, a driver kindly took us to the hotel. Returned to the station later to access Amsterdam centre and found small sign pointing to hotel by exit on 1 side of the bridge. This could have been clearer.

    large room, plenty of space around the 3 single beds. Very comfy beds. Nice bathroom with bath and shower. Lovely breakfast, plenty of choice, it set us up until mid afternoon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the rooms are not cleaned properly, there were rubbish under the desks and daily supplies are used by previous customers that are not being replaced.

    the front desk are quite helpful and nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing much around the hotel. You would need to travel to town for restaurants.

    The rooms were spacious. The hotel was close to metro station and easy to get to the airport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked more of the coffee that were left out. Also I thought the room would have been a bit bigger but overall it was fine.

    The location was perfect. Only 5 min walk to the metro and very easy to follow. Also the receptionist was very helpful with information of the metro.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Disappointed with the room it was not what we were expecting (very basic). Breakfast wasn't included in the room price. We were offered breakfast at check in for 18 Euros per person per day but felt this was very expensive and declined. If we had wanted to book breakfast after this it would have cost more than 22 Euros!!! Spa facilities were poor. We spent about 10 minutes in the sauna and then left. The steam room was out of order and the Turkish steam bath was not what we expected. There were no staff at the spa. Another couple arrived while we were in the sauna and after looking around they left immediately. The spa facilities advertised were one of the reasons we booked the hotel so this was disappointing.

    Hotel was only a five minutes walk to the nearest metro station. We arrived early and staff tried to find an available room but we had to come back later to check in as there were no rooms ready. Staff were helpful in recommending somewhere to go while we waited.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast price is 22€ per person. Its way too expensive. Parking place is WAY too much expensive. The street park costs you 14€ the full day while the hotel parking is 24€. Hotel does not take care if something happens to you car so why pay more if its the same in the street park? Still, you got free parking if its holiday days.

    overall a very good hotel with excellent accommodations. Metro station 10 min walking. brig a umbrella to the rainy days. free +/- 6 drinks in the room like Pepsi,water,orange juice and coffe.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We, two couples for two nights, were accommodated in single occupancy rooms. Being a former hotel employee, based on my experience, the above is really not acceptable. Carpet was not cleaned on arrival, and after too. Price of the breakfast is overrated

    The staff is the biggest asset to the property

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds and pillows could have been a bit more comfortable, but that's really my only gripe.

    When I booked the room, I requested the best view available but didn't think much of it until the day came to finally check in. When we got to our room, we were astounded. We were high up and had a great view of the city and the Amstel river. It felt very much like a luxury suite. Everything in the room was clean, organized, and comfortable. The staff also went out of their way to make sure our stay was perfect. The location was also great, being only 15 minutes or so away from centraal.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In my opinion pillows were not comfortable. I would suggest to organize a shuttle service to the subway that goes more often compare to now (especially with other hotels opening in the area, closer to the subway, I would consider to offer this little plus).

    Super professional staff, position, spacious rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant was poor in service and quality of food. not impressed

    Nice hotel good facilities and clean. Location somewhat to be desired as remote from local business.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was a fruastration and we wasn’t told about the shuttle to the station, if the shuttle run all day that would’ve been great

    The decor and openness of the main foyer

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot to be honest plenty of facilities ,and the staff were very helpful

    We were just having a short break and the mercure was just the right place

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we could of done with was a balcony as travelling up and down from the 9th floor for a smoke was tiring.

    The room was was a standard size and the bed would fit 3 adults. We enjoyed our stay here, the staff were very friendly and polite. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food in restaurant was very expensive (and only mediocre quality), and breakfast was also ridiculously expensive.

    I was upgraded to a larger room, which had an amazing shower and huge comfy bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was in a quiet location with easy access to the metro. Hotel was clean and tidy. Anything we needed they were more than happy to help. Would definitely stay again and recommend it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very cold ; it is a bit of a commute to the city, only enough tea/milk for one person if you only drink English tea ,

    Staff were very friendly and helpful, reception area really lovely

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The night was windly, and we could hear the wind through the closed window - kind of a bummer when you are on the 11th floor on a chilly night - but the heater in the room more than made up for it so it was okay. Also, the walk from the metro station is enjoyable in good weather - but be ready for the elements of nature :)

    The room was sparkling clean and the bed was very comfortable - size of the room was impressive compared to other hotels in Amsterdam :) The view of the Amstel was really nice (even though the weather wasn't that good during our visit)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very old and outdated looking especially in comparison to the reception decor. The bed was not comfortable and the toilets were very old looking and wasn’t cleaned properly.

    The reception area was nice and reception team were really helpful. The bar decor was also nice and clean but the service wasn’t the best. The room size was ok and the views from the hotel are also nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself was quite easy to find and its within 10minutes (i think 7stops) from central amsterdam. Quite close if you dont mind staying outside of city centre. There is about 5-10minutes walk from the hotel to the metro stop but its a straight forward walk. The receptionist Paula was amazing. We had few problems with our room request but she was very good at sorting it right away! Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. All was perfect.

    Staff are very nice and friendly, especially Ahmed. The room was super clean and beautifully decorated. Spacious, bright, comfortable. WiFi is perfect all around the hotel. They even have detox water up for grab in the lobby. Can’t wait to return to it in 3 days!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa section wasn't completely working and we had to call the staff 3 times, befor someone decided to come and check.

    We stayed at the 3 bed bedroom and it was great! We had a lot of space and all three beds were extra comfy.the Breakfast was also a highlight of this hotel. It had a lot of variety and eveything tasted great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, dinner was unfortunately only average nothing special and not really good quality

    Good breakfast, modern hotel, friendly stuff, little shop with groceries in the hotel, possibility of booking tours/transport/activities in Amsterdam, bike & scooter hire

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room didn't have an opening window and we couldn't get the aircon cool enough. There was a fan but we only spotted it at the end of our stay

    Best location for our group of rowers - would be slightly out of the way for city centre tourists. The staff were outstanding. Every one went out of their way to accommodate us, very rare in a big chain hotel. Great breakfast choice and breakfast ran until noon so you could have a big brunch

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Choice of TV channels The rate of the room per night seemed to be on the higher end

    Great Staff - friendly and helpful Clean and well maintained hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - do not recommend hotel's breakfast (average menu, no Dutch specialities)

    - good location (very easy commute by metro/tube to the airport and the city centre; there is also a boat that leaves the hotel at 9.30 am every morning and goes all the way to the Central Station!) - lovely staff (will answer all your questions and sell you a travel card) - clean and warm room, toiletries (shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, soap) - complimentary coffee, tea and mineral water - wi-fi - there is a 24h shop in the hotel with tasty food, snacks and alcohol - cash machine

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A jacuzzi to go with the sauna and steam room would have been amazing however I was still impressed with the facilities

    The bed was very comfy, the room had a good set up, tv was big and had many English Channels, bathroom was clean and shower was very big

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Firstly, we were given a wrong address. We were told that the hotel was right opposite the metro but we walked for around 10 minutes in the cold with our luggage to reach there. The welcome staff was very nosy and judged peoples countries based on their looks. We had a long waiting time to get checked in. When we entered the room, there was no coffee machine and the staff says that the kettle and coffee powder is the machine. After I made an issue, they upgraded us to a privilege room which was much smaller than our first room. The toiletries couldn't even be open since the design was bad.

    When I had an issue with the absence of a coffee machine, the staff fixed it immediately by upgrading my room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The staff were absolutely fantastic - particularly the night staff. Xadim who checked us in was the friendliest and most helpful member of staff I’ve ever come across in a hotel! The staff were very sympathetic when we had to book another night as our flight was cancelled and made sure we had the same room for convenience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa area was very poor. Was no jacuzzi. Was very creepy going into the spa. No1 around and had to ring to get it warmed up before we could go in.

    Free shuttle taxi to train station was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The metro station it's a little bit isolated and dirty. We come back every evening by taxi from the city center.

    The hotel was very clean and comfortable The breakfast very delicious Very friendly and helpful Staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is not clean. Carpet is very old and not properly clean. The sink was cloughed all the time and the bed side tables are in very bad shape.

    The staff is friendly and the lobby is modern and nice. The size of the room is correct.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The residents bar closes early enough that my only dislike

    Loved its all really shower was amazing rooms was c9mfortable good was really nice ....really close to metro and hotel gave info on exactily how to grt to city centre on metro etc

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City South traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: