Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Centre Canal District 4 stars

Noorderstraat 46, Amsterdam City Centre, 1017 TV Amsterdam, Netherlands

#135 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1039 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    A good stay in Amsterdam, with excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The triple room was quite small, the facilities are good but it can be difficult to move around.

    Good location, within walking distance of everything. Excellent staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Such an amazing and beautiful hotel, definitely will go back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It doesn’t accept cash, nothing else to say as everything is amazing.

    Staff are very friendly, stunning hotel, amazing rooms, everything you expect from a 4 star hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room on the top floor, which being under the roof can get a bit warm. Air con helps, and roof window opens.

    Excellent location, a very short walk from the nearest tram stop. Then a short ride into the centre and to the train station. Also just a short walk to the museum quarter. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    6.7
    Ideal short break in historic city in convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture was a little sparse and i thought that cardboard cups and wooden stick stirrers were a bit basic for tea making facilities!

    Incredibly helpful and friendly staff. We gained help regarding travelling in Amsterdam and transport detaols.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.7
    Avoid if you have asthma.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you have allergies, don’t go here. The rooms are small, and most of all, they are not properly clean. My wife and daughter suffer from allergies, and they had a painful experience in two nights.

    The location is amazing, beautiful part of the city, quiet, close to all key points, staff is friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely city- great fun but watch out for the many cyclists!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only problem was that I had hoped to pay with a different credit card when I arrived at the hotel - however the hotel had taken the payment on the day prior to arrival (this was not what happened on a previous trip and was irritating)

    We didn't have breakfast in the hotel - lots of bagel shops etc nearby so waste of money to spend €20 each on a hotel breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Hidden gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautifully tucked away but close to everything you need. Staff were amazingly helpful after we got stranded due to a cancelled flight home. Room was perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.4
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was not qualified enough. The man at the reception told us that the breakfast is also included in our booking. However at the end of our stay they also charged us for the breakfast.

    The location is great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.3
    People were friendly and location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning in the room was not very good. Set the room extremely cold and it was still quite warm. Bed was uncomfortable and very small (even for European standards).

    People were friendly and location was great. Great value compared to other hotels the weekend we were there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.3
    The bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was old. Cleanliness was less than perfect. Small and dated accommodations for a very high price. In the room you could hear every noise and every door slam in the hotel. They were doing renovations and we were not informed in advance. Makes it difficult to have a nice quiet well deserved afternoon rest.

    The bed was comfortable. Fantastic location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.1
    Loved the city and hotel was nice and in a good location. Room was a little too small though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room too small.

    I liked the hotel and location but the room was tiny and this I why I thought it was overpriced. I would stay here again but would expect to pay less for such a small room. It is located in a nice quiet area close to all the canals and around 30 min walk to the station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful, comfortable and convenient. A treat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a tiny suggestion for improvement could be for Reception to have a box of painkillers. I would have needed one at night and there weren't any available. This did not spoil the experience though.

    I loved the design, especially the Delft blue elements. The choice and quality of the breakfast was truly amazing, and what a joy to find takeaway cups for tea/coffee! Also, this is one of the very few centrally located hotels in Amsterdam with private parking spaces. It felt like a luxury to just take a 10-minute walk to downtown while the car was parked in a safe spot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    The breakfast was good, but expensive.
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small bathroom.

    The breakfast was good, but expensive. The hotel is situated in a very nice neighborhood, pretty close to city center and Museumplein. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit noisy from ally way below but it was night before Kings Day so forgive them for that :-).

    Nice stroll into city centre and for exploring the canals. Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice clean tidy and comfortable room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    the Bed was a dream, the bathroom spacious (by European...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the Bed was a dream, the bathroom spacious (by European standards) and the staff so very helpful and pleasant. A overall wonderful experience, after being on the road for work.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Brilliant in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    From the first moment of arrival the staff were warm, friendly and so helpful It was a special birthday weekend with my daughter and they made it a special memorable weekend. The room was lovely,, the breakfast had lots of variety and totally delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    Really enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would have liked a larger room. There was a fridge but not stocked.

    Room was small but adequate and very clean. The staff on reception were brilliant and gave us all the help we needed. Breakfast was excellent with multi choice foods both hot and cold. Nice district. Quiet but away from the centre if you wanted to be where the action is. Please note that the hotel is cashless so only deals with credit/debit cards.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    Perfect family free days in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room size could be bigger, but hotel is a previously reconstructed building from 19th century, thus it is understandable that you are limited in what you could do with the building.

    Excellent location, good breakfast, perfectly working WiFi, attentive staff, cleanness of the rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    4.2
    Very much enjoyed Amsterdam but would not return to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and situated next to lift, consequently very noisy . Sleep constantly disturbed, enjoyed Amsterdam but hotel spoilt our stay.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.0
    Relaxing, welcoming & I’m planning to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was lovely & I would stay here again.

    Room was comfortable and quiet. Hotel is in a good location. The breakfast choice was amazing. Staff were lovely and very friendly. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.8
    Convient for the centre of Amsterdam and sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sometimes other visitors were very noisy when returning in the early hours and room did not prove very soundproof. Room was quite small,

    Staff were very friendly. The barman was very friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    6.7
    Didn’t think it was worth the money , although probably paid a premium for its location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have been cleaner . Spoke with staff twice about it . Pillows were cheap and nasty - found it difficult to sleep At times there were lots of noise from what I can only assume was the plumbing system , especially at night .

    Didn’t use restaurant so unable to review. Liked the location , very central / no street noise . Reception staff friendly , helpful and polite. Liked the style of the hotel .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location - on a quiet road, yet close to lots of restaurants and bars as well as places to see/visit. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms looked great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small for the amount charged but it was Easter weekend.

    Great location and great staff. Checking in and out were simple. The local phone provided for use was great in helping us find our way. Beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.8
    Really enjoyed our stay here, will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The carpet in the room was really badly stained and made the room look a little grubbier than it actually was. Everything else was great!

    The room was huge, so was the bed. Very comfy too. The hotel was in a great location and the free phone with data was super helpful when out and about and in need of directions. The staff were so nice and friendly, I would definitely recommend a stay here.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    5.0
    Wouldn’t recommend this place, especially not for price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds not comfortable, very small room that did not feel clean. Room was very cold, no heat. I couldn’t tell if the bathroom had been cleaned before our stay, shower seemed dirty and toilet paper was not on the roll.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.8
    Fair value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We picked this location (also) because it has an elevator, but unfortunately when we got there we were informed that the elevator was broken. However, using the stairs for the 2nd floor was not a tragedy for us.

    The room was fairly big compared to other locations in Amsterdam. The design of the room looks a little outdated, but the price was very reasonable considering that Amsterdam is a very expensive town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.6
    A very comfortable and hassle free stay. Highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little too far from train station-but not really an issue.

    Room and bed comfortable-well decorated-excellent facilities-helpful and pleasant staff. A free “smartphone” to take on your travels, with free calls and texts and access to google maps etc. Very good restaurant and menu.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable hotel in perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast good but overly expensive especially as we didn't eat meat or cheese. Loved the fruit, yogurts, choice of breads, jams etc.

    the location was excellent beautiful and quiet area but easy walking distance from galleries and the centre. friendly staff, comfortable room and nice bar.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.2
    Great location with thoughtful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very welcoming, room was comfortable with a lovely bathroom/shower. During the stay it was my birthday and the Hotel staff left a gift and balloons in my room - So thoughtful. The room was cleaned daily, with fresh towels and condiments. The hotel was near the square and a short walk from the centre and main train, tram and ferry service. We caught a train from the airport and a tram to our hotel for around 6€. Lots of places to eat and drink nearby, with lovely walks around the canals.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent Hotel/Service/Location - would definately return and recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The beds were very comfortable. The room was nice. My main compliment goes to the staff, who were very accommodating and very efficient. We were a large group of 21 and the level of service was excellent. Free Wi-Fi in the hotel at all times was much appreciated. They also offer an I-phone device that you can use during your stay (allowing free Wi-Fi and calls).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    Great location. Lovely helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was on the bottom floor close to reception so I could hear every person that entered and left the hotel when they closed the very loud doors because of the thin walls and doors. This resulted in little to no sleep.

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Great location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and staff where brilliant! The best bit was the complementary mobile phone that you can use in the Amsterdam free of charge! A very pleasant surprise, saved us money on roaming charges!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Wonderful and perfect for us with a 10yr old in a quiet residential area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we had a great stay.

    Extremely helpful friendly staff. Lovely residential area. We walked to the restaurant at night along the canal which was lovely with all the houses lit up.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.6
    The Mercure, having picked it out of a long list of hotels off booking.com, exceeded my expectations
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I could not use the table in the room to work from because there was no room between the table and bed to use a chair. Otherwise, everything was great!

    What I liked the most, was the very friendly helpful staff in all departments that I interacted with. In particular, the bartender was so accomodating and friendly. Also the front desk staff also let me use the empty bar area to work on my laptop for business purposes.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    King sized bed was TOO BIG for the bedroom as a consequence my partner had to squeeze past the window to get into bed

    Location and the general ambiance Nespresso machine

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Perfect location in a wonderful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were super helpful and friendly throughout. Quiet, pretty neighbourhood within walking distance to great sights. Good continental breakfast offered and comfortable room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.3
    Great comfy hotel room, walking distance to everywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No English channels on TV, not much atmosphere for a hotel. did not go to the bar downstairs or have the breakfast but there is so much going on outside that you wouldn't want to stay in the hotel.

    comfy bed. Fridge in room. walking distance to everything and tram stop two mins walk away.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    3.8
    Do not stay here, filthy bathrooms and tiny rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a big disappointment for us. We were firstly put in a room on the top floor which had a sloping ceiling in half the room. It was so tiny we were apalled at the size. Thankfully we were moved to another room on the ground floor. This was also tiny. However there was no sloping ceiling so we decided to stay. We then had the problem with the shower cubicle, the drain was blocked and the water rose inside the shower. This was disgusting and something you would not expect from a 4* hotel. This bathroom also had white hairs in it, which were definately not mine. We were told they could move us again, however we decided to stay put as the hotel agreed to compensate us, and we had a short stay. The compensation was ridiculous and nowhere near the disgusting state of the bathroom.

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.8
    A hidden gem in the city of Amsterdam!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The curtain came down on one end of the railing, which was a pity as lots of light came into the room. Beds were not very comfortable. We had 2 single beds with wheels. The mattress wasn't very comfortable.

    Our stay was great! They upgraded us due to our special occasion. Room was gorgeous and we loved the artwork on the wall and Delfs Blauw in the bathroom, very Dutch! Staff was helpful and kind. especially Nienke was a helpful and caring member of the staff, she made us feel very welcome!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    8.3
    Everything within walking distance, lovely staff and clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was quite small for the price we paid and the tea in the room could have real milk next time if possible.

    The staff were lovely and welcoming. The sheets were changed daily and clean room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.3
    First visit to Amsterdam and found this hotel property to be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking !!!

    First visit to Amsterdam and found this hotel property to be a very good choice. Had family with my wife and I ... four rooms all together ... all of the rooms were most accommodating. The staff were tops - very professional. Easy access to public transportation - down the block and then 2, 3, or 4 tram stops away from the many sites the City has to offer - or one can easily walk to them as well. Quick taxi rides to catch either the rail or an airplane.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic stay in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to ask reception for teabags as housekeeping didn't top them up.

    The room was quiet, clean, nicely furnished and the bed was amazingly comfortable. Great location within easy walking distance to museums, restaurants and the city centre.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    Great experience, lovely hotel for New Years. Roughly ten minute walk into dam square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was very small, you had to near enough climb over the toilet to get to the sink/shower.

    Comfy bed! Lovely decor and friendly staff. We was checked in instantly and out the door in 10 minutes to be tourists.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    10
    Clean friendly and relaxing atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doors need soundproofing!!

    Friendly helpful staff. Quiet area but within walking distance of museums,food places and other attractions. Complimentary drinks for not using house keeping everyday. Rooms were clean and cozy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    The location was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was fantastic. We were within walking distance of everything we wanted to do in Amsterdam. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.5
    good hotel for exploring Amsterdam
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with 1 Single Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I got a very small room - make sure when you book to reserve a large one ( there are plenty). bathroom is good but cold (no heating). if you are hyper sensitive you can hear the noise of planes in the far distant but that is very minimal

    the hotel is in a good location - only ten minutes to the centre and to the museums and is situated in a residential area with some nice restaurants within a few minutes walk. the breakfast was nice with fresh orange juice. the bar is basic but the bar keeper is very friendly - nice guy. the restaurant piet de leeuw in the same street serves very good steaks and house wine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    A lovely hotel in a really nice location with very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely hotel in a really nice location with very friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfast choice and excellent little bar for a nightcap before bedtime in our lovely room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.3
    The breakfast is good.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Where to start? Maybe some ventilation would help, the hallway leading to the rooms smells of very old air. Room windows could not be opened, so only the "air conditioning" worked. In a day it made the air nice. The whole hotel is quite old, but it works. Nothing fancy, but it's quite OK.

    The breakfast is good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.5
    Amsterdam is a fabulous place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The price of breakfast at €20 is completely ridiculous and so we avoided it. We bought breakfast for four people at a local supermarket for less than €10 - had we eaten in the restaurant it would have cost €80!!!

    Helpful staff, clean & comfortable and an excellent location - quiet but within easy reach of good restaurants, museums and other attractions.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    Great beds, great staff and great location! 5*
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decor was not to my taste but given how fantastic everything else was - who cares! It is expensive but Amsterdam is an expensive city so I have no regrets choosing this hotel.

    Highlights were the bed/room and the staff. Every staff member I encountered was friendly, polite and professional. The bed was SO comfy and both the room and bathroom were perfectly clean and equipped with anything you might need. Excellent location. Couldn't recommend this hotel more!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.2
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being opposite the lift was so noisy, also we needed our room hoovered again as we felt was clean when arrived. Would have liked a bigger room.

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel. Will come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My friends stayed in the standard room. It's pretty small compared to the upgraded rooms.

    I stayed in the upgraded room and it is very nice and spacious, clean and comfortable. Hotel is very quiet and in a nice neighborhood. Walking distance from main attractions.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Highly recommend this hotel - loved it’
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s more expensive than other small hotels but worth it. Parking is very expensive but then it is Amsterdam!

    Great hotel, lovely room and friendly staff. Awesome location too! Would definitely stay there any time we are in Amsterdam!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    6.3
    The hotel does not take cash in any form and we were not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel does not take cash in any form and we were not informed of this. It was a lot of hassle and messing about for us to move money around onto cards to pay for the trip.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    5.8
    Over priced and noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy hotel. Bins were collected at 6 every morning and it woke us up. The hotel food and drink was very expensive. The cleaners were too eager to clean the room. They knocked every 10 minutes

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.9
    Great reception and excellent advice on the many things we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise was a bit of an issue at times, be it wheeled bags in the courtyard entry, guests coming through the stairs or out of the lift.

    Great reception and excellent advice on the many things we asked.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.6
    Our next visit to Amsterdam would include another stay at the Mecure Canal Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taxi service suggested by the Hotel quoted the front desk at 25euro flat rate charge to get to cruise port. When we arrived at the port ( driver deliberately took a very round about route to get to port - he was obviously not informed by his dispatch that this was a quoted rate) he was not satisfied with the payment suggesting we look at the meter which we already knew would be high because of his route selection. The driver was argumentative and in fact used profanity. We gave him an extra 5euros to get rid of him. Called back to the Mecure to report the incident and are awaiting a reply from them . Had we not walked to the cruise port and the area surrounding the Mecure to get familiar with our location someone unfamiliar with the surrounding would easily get duped by this very untrusting taxi service.

    Helpful staff . Great location less than a 10 min walk to Museums and canal boats. Good restaurants with good value in the area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.8
    Location was fantastic, right in the Southern Canals.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was the smallest I have seen, no bigger than a broom cupboard. Have to carry luggage up flight of stairs at the entrance. Quite expensive for the level of facilities but city centre rates I suppose.

    Location was fantastic, right in the Southern Canals. Nicely decorated and spacious bedroom. Good breakfast, very friendly staff there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We landed 7am and were at the hotel by 8am , it would have been great if we could have checked in to our room before 2 pm so that we could freshen up and if we were offered a complementary breakfast as well

    The breakfast and the great staff all very helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.3
    Fantastic location with clean rooms and comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small but adequate. You wouldn't want to hang out in the room (no place to sit) but that's not why we came to Amsterdam.

    Fantastic location with clean rooms and comfortable beds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.1
    Friendly staff, nice location, good breakfast choices,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room, could use a bit more cleaning, there was dust settled on all edges, even on the handle of the hairdrier

    Friendly staff, nice location, good breakfast choices, comfortable bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    4.6
    staying is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked standard room for 2 days for my family. But very disappointed of one thing, there is no water bottles for staying at hotel. This is the basic amenities for everyone to provide at least minimum quantity. When I asked to the receptionist, they said that no water bottles provided for standard room. Then what is the use for others compliments like coffee powder, sugar, and etc. I stayed in Swiss and Paris at Le accor group hotels which costs were lower than stayed here and staying days more than Amsterdam. But i got basic facility. Here really very disappointed when i heard that no water supply for standard room.

    we like the location of the hotel which is very nearby to the public transport for ease access. One of the receptionist is very kindly and he solved the problem when I had an problem with public transport ticket. His name is Abdi. My family thanks to him.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very helpful and someone was always on duty to answer questions. The breakfast was excellent. This was a very nice comfortable place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    Excellent stay! Loved every second of it. Great location, beautiful hotel and lovely staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff put a 30th Birthday gift (a traditional ornament), card and a voucher for 2 free drinks in the bar, on his birthday (after I requested a little surprise something for him. Lovely touch and really appreciated it! Beautiful hotel with great staff in a lovely area

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.6
    Great little hotel excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con didnt function properly...we were three ppl sharing and it blew onto one person's bed but did nothing to the rest of the room - not ideal in July but not the end of the world.

    Close to everything including Rembrandt Sq.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    Centrally located in Amsterdam
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms could be better sound proofed, but the crying toddler next door was not the fault of the hotel :)

    Centrally located and near tram line for destinations too far to walk to. Staff very helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Amazing weekend in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to fault at all

    This hotel is fab rooms are good size, beds comfy, staff friendly and easy to get to places. Would defiantly stay here again and recommend this hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.3
    Perfect hotel for a fabulous weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfectly located for our needs. There were 9 of us staying from the UK for a hen weekend. Train from the airport then a tram from central station and we were at the hotel within an hour of landing Plenty of amenities nearby and have to highly recommend the pancakes from the Carousel at the top of the street. That was our daily morning treat Staff were very friendly and helpful. I made a muck up with the taxes and currency rates and the receptionist was very patient until we got sorted. Thank you

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.8
    Superb location, great breakfasts and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Annex room didn't have extractor fan in bathroom. Annex room only had a single escape route had there been a fire.

    Fantastic helpful staff who made extra effort to assist.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.8
    Fine hotel but watch out for the hidden charges, taken with no authorisation!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with 1 Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was quite poor and we had issues on checkout where they wanted to charged us for additional breakfast. This is a combination of an issue with booking.com making a reservation for 9 people when apparently only 4.5 people were entitled to breakfast but also the hotels fault for not informing prior to us having breakfast and taking money from my account with no prior authorization - I have also been charged twice for one of the breakfasts but still no refund has been given. The staff at reception were not very helpful and refused to try and speed up the process given we were late for our flight. A really poor way to end a special family trip for my sisters birthday!

    The location was good and they had bikes on site which were easy to hire.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.2
    Great Stay - Quiet Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms while adequate were small and no place to put anything.

    Lovely quiet location near the museum area and the Heineken Brewery. Easy access to the canals.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.2
    Well located hotel, enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good choice for breakfast. Location was good, short walk from tram stop. Hotel within walking distance of Rijksmuseum, Heineken and many restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Amazing - highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our fridge didn't have the free drinks that everyone else had :(

    The rooms were amazing and clean, the member of staff in the bar made us pizzas and cocktails and really made my sisters weekend as it was her hen weekend :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.9
    Good quality in a great location at a fair price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location with easy access to museums, shopping and eating. A superb steakhouse just 50m from the hotel. A two minute walk from the Prinsengracht. Friendly staff - an all-round easy hotel in a perfect location. We didn't try breakfast this time but will next time.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Mercure Hotel Amsterdam Centre Canal District traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: