Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Hotel Groningen Martiniplaza 4 stars

Expositielaan 7, 9727 KA Groningen, Netherlands

#15 of 23 hotels in Groningen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2126 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    King Bed - was 2 twin beds pushed together and made separately. Location was okay. Needed to drive or 1/2 walk to get to downtown.

    Breakfast was very good. Lots of selection. Fresh orange juice. Good coffee. Lots of places to sit. Free parking was an added bonus. Had beautiful weather so we walked to the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I requested a room higher up in the building as (street)noise keeps me awake. This was dealbreaker for me. I have not been called prior arrival, for them to mention anything. At check-in I discovered that they room they had in mind for me was on the 2nd floor, and also not it the main building but in the side building. Despite several times mentioning that the 2nd is not sufficient (reason mentioned) the clerk would not change this. It was also too late to check out alternative hotels. The result was: no sleep whatsoever due to (street)noise. Rooms (1p) can use an update, especially the carpet. The shower is narrow, very very narrow. Breakfast is a 5.5 out of 10. I would not recommend this hotel. Nor will I come back. A complaint letter will be written to the hotel management. I rate my stay a 2 out of 10. Should the hotel wish to contact me, I was in room 226, 02may-03may-2018

    The location was okay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room was like a third world facility - 2 holiday coaches were having breakfast at peak times when people going to business & was a complete mess - more people than facilities!!! This is a hotel for professional people not for holiday coaches - that's what I thought but never again !!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices and other cannot be compared with my review as the location was the primarily choice of the hotel.

    In a solitude place of the city a bit far to the city center but who likes walking it is a good variant. If ride a bicycle, then it is a good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somewhat limited number of electrical outlet sockets. Tiny shower cabinet.

    Located close to the MartiniPlaza event centre, which was my need for accommodation. Also connected by bus line to downtown. Later check out at sundays.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was really bad The cook likes salt me too but this was way too much salt in almost everything The tomato soup horrible with steamed vegetables I think he steamed it for a night The garlic butter way too much salt The steak I preferred a medium steak I got well done In my opinion the cook should be dismissed from his duty

    Location parking

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The buffet was set up all over the room, would be more accessible if it was along one wall. Did not like the scrambled eggs, prefer eggs sunny side up. Entrance late at night could be tricky. Entrance sign in big letters viewable to all, would be recommended.

    Absolutely the best croissants I have ever tried. Excellent variety of cheeses, magnificent bread. Good fresh juice. The buffet was set up all over the room, would be more accessible if it was along one wall. Did not like the scrambled eggs, prefer eggs sunny side up. Entrance late at night could be tricky. Entrance sign in big letters viewable to all would be recommended.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking prices did not include all costs (fine print), which always leads to disappointment... Come on Booking, it's 2018. Hidden costs are something from the past...

    clean comfortable room meeting all expectations.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The busstop is a bit of a walk through a bit of a secluded area. The parking is quite pricey and I dislike that this is not part of the booking price and breakfast is downright expensive.

    The rooms are lovely.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Night shift at second night re issues to get to parking. Hard mattress not easy to sleep. Shower was not fully protected so water was running out of the tub. Refill of nespresso capsules could be done without cleaning the room. Otherwise good.

    Like the premium room. Late breakfast until 12. Parking was reduced and in front of hotel. Quiet rooms. However night shift could be more helpful. Waited for 15 min to get to parking through barrier. Overall nice hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was sleeping in front with the highway in sight. Because of the weekend noise started later but was audible. Stairs did not go over second floor. Elevator was needed to go further. Hotel provided me with room in second floor without trouble. Breakfast expensive.

    Property was clean. Bed was very good if you like a harder bed. Facilities available were good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lazy check-out until 15h00 without hassle was amazing. Ideal for a weekend visit to the city. Room was not very big but very comfortable, the breakfast was very good and until 12:00. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The construction that was being done around the hotel. Guess the couldn't do much about it but it was bit annoying getting to the hotel

    Close to the venue where we had to be. Nice staff and good rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid for breakfast,but found that for price paid ,the hot food section was very limited and what was on offer, was not kept stocked up sufficiently.

    Staff were brilliant very helpful and friendly,would book again to stay hear.Really good hotel very quiet and just on the edge of town so you can walk in or get a taxi for about 8 euros.Thought the cooked breakfast section was a bit limited for the price we paid though.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car park being dug up for large drainage project. Difficult to park an d muddy footpaths to get out of the hotel into the town. Also long walk to get into the town.

    Breakfast room and staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They put brakfast and city tax on your bill for two people even if you havent had breakfast or you have single occupancy. Big debate at check out to get bills corrected for six rooms. Parking is a pain and chargable. Breakfast not worth 17.50 euro a day. Bar manager is a miserable sod.

    Short cab ride in to Groningen.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only a temporary issue I'm sure, but there's quite a lot of building/groundwork around the hotel, which made it difficult to access with a pushchair. Other than that, no complaints.

    Very comfortable bed and no trouble adding in the baby we travelled with when we'd had difficulties booking online. Staff were very friendly and easily accommodated our split schedule.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't mind walking but it takes 30min from the main station by foot. There's no convinient public transport. Need a car.

    It's quiet area where is far from the main station. Clean room, tea facility and comfy bed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant menu was very limited. I'm a vegetarian and there was only one choice including the starters.

    Clean comfortable. Staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The place was a bit far from the city centre.

    The breakfast service was excellent and the room was clean and tidy. A perfect place to stay after a long and tiring day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    it was nice hotel to visist a friend, easy to reach from the highway, and close by the desired location. the bed was comfy and the room was quite dark with the curtains closed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The person ticking guests before entering breakfast room, failed to mention breakfast was not included in our price. Even though it was on original booking (we added one day to our stay). We were charged at 16.50 per person, which was quite shocking.

    Possible to rent nice bikes from the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are small, unworthy of four star qualification (cf. van der Valk Hotels). 9 Euro for a small cognac is criminal. That's more than 5 times the price in normal shops...Why??

    Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are somewhat old. They need some refreshing.

    I had a conference at Martiniplaza, so the location for that was excellent. If you want to visit the city center, it's about 20-25 minutes walk.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price for the room is not so expansive but you pay 17,5€ for a regular breakfast, 7,5€ for the parking (I did not take it but they charge me...). And the confort of the room is low. At the end, for the price, you should find something much better...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No replenishment for the tissue paper in the bathroom.

    Large bed with comfy pillows. The room has a kettle set with tea and coffee and a small fridge. Good breakfast with different variety at your choice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely spacious room with huge bed! Everything you needed was there including tea/coffee facilities and very quiet. Great selection of food and drink for breakfast. There are also tables and chairs outside if you wish to smoke or just relax. There is building work going on around the hotel but it was not a problem.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The day the room was cleaned, the bin wasn't emptied. The breakfast was very expensive for what I ate and the vouchers not accepted. Although it is the same room, the breakfast room isn't in the restaurant! Language barrier?!? I should have been warned by the waitress when I showed them to her before entering the breakfast area. Miscommunication I guess.

    After my first night in a room where the internet was not working well, I was upgraded to the main building as soon as I mentioned it and it was perfect. I collected few vouchers by not having my room cleaned every day. Nice healthy walk through the park to join the centre of town. Kettle, fridge and safe in the room. :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not getting my loyalty points because the booking was made through Booking.com which will make me consider not using Booking.com in future.

    Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location wasn't convenient if you didn't have own transport. Housekeeping was terrible. One day had to ask for towels , room not cleaned , second day at 5.30pm we had to ask again for housekeeping no one had been to our room didn't even replace dirty cups and glasses left used ones on the shelf.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    10 min taxi ride from town centre, nothing much nearby, slightly below par standard corporate fare in the restaurant

    Convenient for the motorway, on site parking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit old and worn. Difficult to get into, and small parking lot. Rooms are a bit small for two, good business hotel, but not so good for family

    A good business hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's not exactly close to places of interests in Groningen, other than the convention center. So probably not the best location if you are there for other reasons.

    Everything was well organised. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I had some problem with shower the first day, mentioned to one of them when I was stepping out the second day and it was solved perfectly. Very comfortable for business travel (right next to a convention center of Groningen). I was positively surprised by the restaurant, and the staff have been very very nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are very small and the hotel did not fulfill my expectations; no fitness facilities or anything special. I would not recommend!

    If you have a conference at martiniplaza the location is good. Otherwise it is not particularily interesting. The bus to the city center leaves every 20 minutes/half an hour only. Breakfast is very expensive.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was some construction happening in the area which caused some noise.

    The breakfast spread was excellent (the scrambled eggs were wonderfully fluffy and not the damp mush I normally expect from mass produced breakfast). The rooms were comfortable if a little cramped (we had a baby pram which just fit). There is a beautiful park in easy walking distance of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only really suitable for an overnight stop on the way to somewhere else. There is a 30 min walk into the town centre

    Staff were excellent. Very friendly indeed. Handy to the motorway and exit ramps

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything about the hotel is BAD. The road noise is truly impossibly loud, and the hotel design does nothing to protect against this.

    The staff are very, very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    parking price is very high , could be less or free for customers. saturday night was loud outside and i could hardly sleep, walls are thin bad isolation.

    clean, near city center, breakfast was very good, got kettle in my room to boil water and drink tee.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Tiny rooms - room wasn't properly cleaned: Bathroom floor was dirty and the cupboard really needed dusting and was sticky. Floor behind doors was always dirty, Sink wasn't entirely clean - rooms are dark - shower is tiny. If you are 180cm or longer u might get a problem. - most of the details aren't well thought out. E.g. The desk chair is uncomfortable, the fridge is so tiny that u can beraly put anything in there, only a maltijdsalat if you put the box on its side. - I had the telephone wake me. It actually didn't. - overall the breakfast was quite good. However, the scrumble eggs had the texture and taste of gum - ugly surroundings In total it would all be fine if it was a 2 star Hotel. But for a 4 star, that simply wasn't enough. Still the price was also rather 2 or 3 star. So I guess it is fine.

    - Free parking - very nice staff - good breakfast - good value for money - easy to reach by car

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel location isn't great: main entrance located at the back of an event centre, wirh currently major infrastructure going on.

    Nice room, all in good order, all clean. Small but comfortable. Staff went out of theur way to make our stay as pleasant as possible

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived at 3:00, at that time my credit card was already charged. So I could unfortunately not pay with my business bank card.

    Nice stay in modern room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was big, clean and nice. The bed was very good, and we slept very good. There was no noise from the street. The bathroom was big and clean. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, modern room and bathroom. A bit small maybe, but that was no problem for us since we weren't in the room a lot. Hotel is close to several bus stops.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Window, though big, seem to be pretty old and not air-tight, it felt cold when standing near. Not a good window view either, but that is something one cannot alter.

    Tasty, fresh breakfast. Comfortable beds, spacious rooms equipped with all kinds of furniture, fridge and set of tea and coffee.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not quiet as required, women talking loud and laughing outside the room at midnight, strange sounds around 1am outside the window, heard sound of running water of other room at 3am, unable to fall asleep until 4am

    clean

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Groningen is beautiful but that is easy to miss from the location of this hotel, on the other hand it is not too far to the city centre.

    Nice bar, nice barman, clean and adequate, clean and pleasant room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a bit noisy in the room during the night, perhaps because our rooms were close to the roadway

    Well the people in there is really kind and helpfull, the rooms were really clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Little noisy, because of the main road nearby. The only window I could open in the room was too high, almost out of reach. Location is not very close to the center ~30min walk.

    Nice hotel, really eco oriented. I received a 5 euro voucher for skipping room cleaning for 1 day. Very warm, nice big TV, free fast WiFi, Kettle with tea and coffee. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. I thought it was all great.

    Very friendly staff and a beautiful, pristine bathroom (which always makes me feel more comfortable). Also - useful having a room safe to keep valuables in. Having tea/coffee making facilities in one's room was also a definite plus.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bath had a hinged shower screen that only shielded part of the room resulting in the shower spray inevitably making the bathroom floor wet to the point that we had to leave towels on the floor. Breakfast was good but pricey at €17.50 per person. The mattress was beginning to show its age.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and stylish.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hand towels were never replaced after the first day nor the floor mat in the bathroom.

    The room was fairly average and not very big yet big enough. Bed was large and very comfortable. It took a good half an hour to walk to the city centre but there is bus which takes you part way and costs €2.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not worth the money. €17.50. Some trays empty and poor selection of what was left. Not a great location if you want to pop into town. A good ten minute walk to the local bus stop then a number 6 in. You can take a walk but your looking around the 40 minute mark with a good pace.

    Rooms clean, very modern and well laid out.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Big trouble with parking. Hotel staff can do nothing in such a case. A lot of noise in the morning due to traffic. Additional costs on top of booking.com prices.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Drinks expensive as was the food.Parking had to be paid for,which we were unaware of.

    Beds comfy,Bar staff excellent,food very nice. Not far from town centre,20 mins walk or ±±±±€12 in a taxi,not bad when four share.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    One thing my partner and i both agreed on was the bed was too hard For us. I couldnt get comfy. But i suppose everyones idea of a good bed is different.our friends all said the beds were good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For travellers without their own transpotration they mainly depend on taxi sevice eventhough Holland is known for a good public transportation systemIf you don'nt mind to walk a short distance this should not be a problem.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My v-pay debit card worked everywhere in the city but not in the hotel. I had to withdraw small amounts from an ATM in the nearby Jumbo supermarket each day to pay for the room. Would be nice to fix this.

    The room was clean and the hotel is near the Martiniplaza conference center, very convenient. Very nice restaurant. The staff was very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room are dark, internet poor, bed hard, view on the highway or a wall.

    Nice personnel in the restaurant, that's the only positive thing of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    - not working wi-fi - far from city center - expensive breakfast (there is not a lot of places around to eat and hotel is just using opportunity to force people to pay for expensive breakfast) - hotel could be better maintained , you can find some not working things like shower cabin, window, etc. - the restaurant menu is very limited, you can eat much better somewhere else for this same price - hotel surrounding is not nice, at the crossing of heavily used motorways

    Normal, small-size room, quiet, decent cleaning service.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Thought there was going to by a small gym in the hotel. Bicycles could do with a bit of maintenance, the one I hired changed gear when it wanted to and sometimes the chain slipped.

    Accessibility and car parking facility. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of breakfast, noisy motorway nearby. Friday night drum and bass gathering around the corner reverberating through the walls.

    Convenient hotel parking, and easy walking/cycling access to city. Usual good Mercure standards. Great breakfast tho a bit pricey.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had some clothes laundered and when they were returned the were still very damp, and had to be packed that way, not nice.

    The hotel was fine, the staff very helpful and the room was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    paying to park

    Having arrived very early (5am) the hotel were still able to check us into our rooms. This enable us to get a few hours sleep before our day in Groningan. This is our second time staying at this hotel & it is always very good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was told at the reception to move my car from the parking spaces located at the entrance of the hotel because I will have to pay to the municipality for the parking. I was also told to park the car somewhere next to the hotel (50m away). I did so and when I checked out I was charged 7.5€/night for the parking in their area... Cleanliness of the bathroom was equivalent to a 1-2 stars hotel. The beds are not comfortable, at least not for someone that was driving almost 1000km and booked a room to get a good rest.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been less expensive for those who didn't want to eat much.

    Excellent price, very clean and comfortable rooms and staff really helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are really small, I stayed there with my 16 year old daughter, three suitcases and two carry-on bags. The room was fully packed with the two of us and the luggage that we could hardly move around. There is lack of storage in the room, so unloading you suitcases and storing them does not help. Even the safe deposit box door needed to be closed at all times to gain space. The parking lot also get full very quickly and at a price of 7.5 Euro/night it is expected to have at least a spot there. They do however allow parking in the nearby neighbors lot in case it is full, but this lot is not gated at all times.

    The hotel overall is good, located near the City Center only 3 bus stops away after a 5 minute walk. There is not much to do near the hotel, so you would have to venture out. Breakfast is good, fresh orange juice, good selection of bread and toppings, and daily fresh pancakes, poffertjes or something else.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minibar was empty, you need to order from reception

    Bicycles are available for renting 15€ per Day, good bikes and very convenient way to go to the Binnen stadt. Good showers and clean hotel with nice breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to pay for parking. The car park was full at times so that meant we had to park in the other car park belonging to another company so there was confusion about payment etc.

    The rooms were lovely and clean. The staff were so friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View outside window, but it was quiet. As it was next to the motorway not much could be done about the view. It did mean it was easy to find though.

    Great choice of breakfast and all fresh

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great breakfast: lovely room: fabulous service in the bar area. Staff were superb. Location is very good for access to Ring Road and wider road network. Getting into Groningen is a little harder.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The housekeeping staff cleaned everywhere else but never made the bed or straighten for the duration of my stay I think they should improve on this.

    The staff were friendly and always willing to help. The bed was comfy and quite large and the WiFi was very reliable.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Considering location on the outskirts of Groningen, city tax and parking costs seemed expensive.

    Very clean room, staff were very friendly. Nice bar area,

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - parking spots were full when we arrived but we were still able to enter into the parking area and then we had to get a ticket from the reception in order to be able to get out again->so there is room for improvement - reception lady very unfriendly

    - great for a business stop - comfortable rooms

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location could be better, although the park nearby is nice for running etc. If you need to drive outside Groningen for business, this location is excellent as you can access the motorways without any of the city traffic jams.

    Excellent staff in the restaurant. Food was also good. The hotel in general is average and does the job for basic business travel. Good quality for the price.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This really is a congress hotel and as such it is a safe bet. Due to this the views out of the standard bedrooms are awfull, the walk into the city takes around 25 to 30 minutes (unless you take the bus).

    The staff were frently and helpfull throughout. The ammenities and the design of the room gives good value for money. The breakfast is worth it if you can get a deal, but dont bother spending 17 € on it.

    Stayed in June 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Mercure Hotel Groningen Martiniplaza traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: