Stays Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Attractions Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Netherlands hotel reviews
  3. Groningen Province hotel reviews
  4. Groningen hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Mercure Hotel Groningen Martiniplaza

Reviews of Mercure Hotel Groningen Martiniplaza 4 stars

Expositielaan 7, 9727 KA Groningen, Netherlands

#14 of 20 hotels in Groningen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 296 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    8.0

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 25

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2020

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very good. Room was excellent

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2020

    7.0
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not 100% clean, hairs on the floor in the bathroom

    Breakfast was good. Fast Check-In &Check out, excellent service both at the arrival and departure

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2020

    7.0
    A nice, clean and well equipped hotel with friendly staff. Too much road noise heard in the hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately there is too much road noise that can be heard, which made it quite difficult to sleep.

    All the staff we really friendly, in particular at the reception and in the bar/restaurant. Breakfast was very good, though somewhat pricey. The evening meal we had in the restaurant was very well cooked and tasty. The room was clean, tidy and well equipped.

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2020

    7.0
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower nozzle did not have an adequate strain of water. Besides, there was a tiny bit of limestone at the shower door joints. The windows were not soundproof enough

    The bed was pretty large and the room is quite comfortable in general.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2020

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    .

    I like it, all stuffs are very kind even the mistake have a little problem on me, they still do their best even give me some favor, it's a really good hotel for you to choose.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2020

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was a bit out of the way and not such a great walk to the bus stop at night. A long walk into town. Didn't seem to be much in the local area such as shops and cafes.

    Extra large bed and very comfortable. Great facilities in the room such as kettle and tea and coffee. Good tv and great bathroom and shower. 20 minute walk to the train station.

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2020

    8.3
    General observations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The break out area next to the reception were guests could relax by reading was not comfortable. I felt like I was in a train station waiting room. It is a shame as there was a fire but the seating arrangement and the actual seats let this area down. Restaurant menu was expensive €18 burger and the menu was limited in choice and did not change during our stay of 7 days.

    The cleaners were very flexible and tried their very best to be accommodating during our stay. 10 out of 10

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2020

    7.0
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not been able to use internet, not helpful @ reception! Not able to use phone,was cut off........no payphones,

    Nice comfy bed,the breakfast,tea and coffee in room,and a fridge!

    Stayed in December 2019

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2019

    7.0
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was very noisy. windows do not isolate against noise from the nearby entertainment area and motorway

    Stayed in December 2019

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2019

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They will charge you for their private parking. The breakfast (19 eur) is too expensive. The shower cabin is very small. The minibar was empty. And, as someone else also pointed out, the bed cover is too short.

    Clean room and bathroom, relatively silent given how close it is to the motorway. Good breakfast, with a decent selection of warm food (eggs, sausages, bacon, hash browns, pancakes) and better than average coffee. Friendly staff. Also a plus is that they have a 24h drinks, sandwiches and snacks fridge next to the reception.

    Stayed in November 2019

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2019

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower had a small glass door which only covered half of the shower. So the whole bathroom was flooded after I took a short shower.

    Free coffee and tea on the room available.

    Stayed in November 2019

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2019

    7.1
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nail on the floor, short bed sheet.

    Staff, breakfast. Quietness

    Stayed in November 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2019

    8.8
    Fabulous
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in a beautiful city

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2019

    8.0
    Pleasant stay great location for motorways also close to centre of city.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 towel in a 2 person room.

    Nice location. Friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2019

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2019

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room took a long time to warm up as the radiators are outside the heavy curtains...warming up the windows.

    Great housekeeping. Thank you.

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2019

    7.1
    A little disappointed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the noise of the road was very unpleasant the soundproofing of the room is not enough

    welcoming staff Bed confortable

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2019

    8.3
    Business hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s almost on the highway

    The bathroom was new, with a very nice rain shower. The room was very functional and the city park is close by. We came by train and rented 2 bikes at the station, so we could reach the center in 5’.

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2019

    7.1
    Good
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very expensive 20 euro/person Parking also very expensive 30 euro/2 days

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2019

    7.5
    OK for the money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On a busy road and not brilliant sound-proofing. Was on 2nd floor and the traffic woke me up at 5am and kept me awake.

    Easy location to find, just off the motorway. Decent breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2019

    7.5
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only think is distance to other restaurant but I was came for work so for me was good Stuff friendly and helpful Room wasn’t hovering through all my stay Food at the hotel was very tasty!

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2019

    6.7
    Pleasant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One can definitely hear noise from the highway all day and all night long. It did not bother me but it might bother lighter sleepers. For some reason the checkin process took several hours. It was weird as they knew who was coming (conference) and still they completely messed up. I understand that the poor soul at the reception did not have any responsibility but telling people who traveled more than 48 hours that they have no idea when the rooms will be ready it’s just not cool.

    Good and clean hotel close to Martini Plaza. The rooms are spacious enough and they have a kettle and a fridge which is nice. WiFi is OK in the rooms.

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2019

    8.3
    Very good
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    25 min walk to the center, not many options for food nearby

    Big room with a desk, great breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2019

    7.0
    A decent hotel, however a little pricey.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed were on wheels so it would slide if you lean on the back wall too much. The shower isn't fully closed off and showering gets the washroom wet.

    Very friendly staff. Really clean and nice environment. Wifi is 10 down, 5 up with 13ms ping. Workable performance for most tasks.

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2019

    7.1
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Het bed was top!

    Stayed in September 2019

Showing 1 – 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: