Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Netherlands hotel reviews
  3. Noord-Holland hotel reviews
  4. Amsterdam hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre

Reviews of Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Piet Heinkade 11, Zeeburg, 1019 BR Amsterdam, Netherlands

#171 of 443 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1607 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    10
    Very comfortable and relaxing hotel with excellent staff, good amenities, great break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were a large group, increased shuttle service would have helped us as we experienced bad weather.

    On arrival reception staff were very helpful and attentive to our needs. Fantastic, friendly and polite staff throughout the hotel. Lovely rooms, great breakfast and hotel amenities. Good location.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel in close proximity to downtown Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant food very good but menu is very expensive

    Beautiful hotel only 10 min walk from Amsterdam centraal train station & centrum. Modern with all the bells & whistles.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    8.8
    Very spacious room with great bed comfort (firm mattress).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain.

    Very spacious room with great bed comfort (firm mattress). The room we stayed in (1004) had a great view of Adam Tower and Eye Museum en the IJ. The restaurant in this hotel is fantastic, good wines, great food (with chocolate pairing too) and friendly staff. Prices of the food are reasonable. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    9.6
    Close to the central station and 1,5km of walk to the most...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Classic Twin View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is right on the water, expectedly very windy.

    Close to the central station and 1,5km of walk to the most popular streets, restaurants and other locations. Nice view on the Eye and water. Spacious room will all the required facilities.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    9.2
    Very good stay overall!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that was not clearly indicated to us in the website and that we discovered on arrival is the existence of a caution of 50 euros (that will be given to you when you leave). But overall it was a very minor incovenience.

    The room is very spacious and the heating floor in the bathroom is a very nice touch! The bed was also very comfy! The staff was helpfull and welcoming!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and modern, great view of Amsterdam and the waterfront
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very little to fault the hotel and staff. Personally, I believe that for €25 per person, the breakfast can be of higher level, but that’s a very personal judgement.

    View was lovely and the accommodation very comfortable. The layout of the bedroom with its living room was very lavish and allowed an extra level of relaxation we appreciated. Breakfast was good and location was reasonably reachable. Overall, we enjoyed the accommodation and will book again for our next trip.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    10
    Excellent location, lovely facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was unaware of the city tax so was a little shocked when this was brought up whilst checking out.

    All of the staff were extremely efficient and pleasant. Our room was upgraded too, such a nice surprise!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    10
    Staff was very helpful especially a guy on concierge counter...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic King View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff was very helpful especially a guy on concierge counter from Jamaica, he helped me a lot for my sight seeing. All staff was so kind and supportive. Loved the room, amenities and river view.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    7.5
    Staff is very friendly, accommodating and professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is excessively expensive. The elevator often was busy and we had a long wait. Very high price for an averaged 4-star hotel. Walk to the city center is about 20-30 minutes at averaged pace (not 6 min. like advertised)

    Staff is very friendly, accommodating and professional. Very child-friendly hotel. The view from the room was amazing. Room was clean and spacious. Great restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    8.3
    The room was very comfortable and the view was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room wasn't cleaned properly when we arrived. Fridge was not working and there was an old stinking glass of orange juice in the hot fridge. I had to remind them after 2 days to fix it even though they took the juice away the first afternoon. The coffee area was also not cleaned with dirty teaspoon and cup missing. Also the toilet roll on the holder had a dark patch on the side like it had been wet.

    The room was very comfortable and the view was great. Restaurant food and staff were excellent.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    5.8
    Unsatisfactory cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately, this hotel doesn't live up to the standard I'm used to with Mövenpick. While the room was spacious and the location perfect, the toilet was dirty and the sofa had a lot of stains from unknown liquids. Not worthy of 4 stars and the hefty price. Also, at check-in they neglected to inform us that the mini-bar is included in the price.

    The rooms have a perfect view of amsterdam and the hotel is located within 5 min. walking distance of centraal station.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    10
    It just perfect location, 5min walk from central station,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They could make a deal with the parking garage to offer discount at parking for their guest who come wkth a car.

    It just perfect location, 5min walk from central station, 15min walk from the Damm and city center. And its also very easy to find if you come with a car.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    7.5
    I didn’t like that housekeeping came in my room when the do...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn’t like that housekeeping came in my room when the do not disturb sign was on the door, also some of the staff became defensive when asked why this happened.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    8.8
    The consierge was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was next to the elevator and we heard it all night long. We complained to manager and he told us “too bad”

    The consierge was excellent. He helped us with our tram questions and got us to train station Nice guy.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    9.2
    Modern and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Twin View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. Everything is good.

    Movenpick Hotel is conveniently located 6mins from Amsterdam Central Station. The Room is huge compared to other centrally located hotels. Breakfast had good variety and quality. The staff are welcoming. Enjoyed my stay here.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    7.1
    Nothing to be honest .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • SLEEP Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff is not as friendly and as accommodating as they should be.. laundry service is day time only .. limited.. and not worth the money for the value provided...

    Nothing to be honest ..

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    8.8
    The location is good and I liked the shuttle service to the...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast gets cold where they need to add more hot food more or heat it.

    The location is good and I liked the shuttle service to the Central Station. Staff were nice especially Johan.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    6.7
    Average size room in great location - incredibly slow check-out process, almost in a backwards world
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sofa "bed" was incredibly hard and really couldn't be considered an extra bed. For an adult it really isn't suitable so you should rethink how a Triple share room is designed, or what "extra" bed is used. While the check-in process was reasonably fast, and we were able to leave our luggage until the afternoon when our room was available, the check-out was hopeless and the slowest I have ever experienced in any hotel I've stayed in. Not only was the process itself illogical, the staff member who served us took a very long time to confirm that we had eaten breakfast (even though we had already told him to add 3 breakfasts to the bill). The fact that we also had to show the credit card again (even though it was shown on check-in AND we signed the form to approve any expenditure on the card - the whole point of providing a card in the first place), the staff member needed to check the number on the card, and we then had to SIGN AGAIN. Every other hotel I've stayed in will process the payment based on the details/card already provided on check-in UNLESS the Client wishes to use a different card, in which case you obviously process it with the new card. We were also unable to do express check-out (again regardless of the fact that we had signed off on expenditure at check-in) so we had to line up with a huge number of other people seemingly checking out (over 30 people) before we even got to the front desk. We were then at the front desk waiting for the staff member to process the payment in the back office (we have NO idea what he was actually doing as he was on the phone 1 minute, then he came out to get the credit card, then back to the computer in the office, then back out to say we need to sign again), which took close to 20 minutes, another staff member then asked us to sign a form again when the first staff member interrupted him to say we had just signed (??).

    The location was amazing as we had just come off a cruise liner at the passenger terminal. It was also easily accessible for Central Station

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel in Amsterdam
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great size of the room, bathroom, view from the room, amazing breakfast. good bar in the lobby. Location is really good, not in the centre of the town, but the tram is near by, everything is walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2018

    7.1
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Found a pair of worn underwear under our bath towels - complained at front desk - woman didn't seem to care, thought it was funny!!

    Location was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    6.3
    Hotel location was good for embarking on the cruise ship and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gift shop wasn't open in the late afternoon or evening and hotel is not close to any neighborhoods that would have a store.

    Hotel location was good for embarking on the cruise ship and the views of the river were excellent. Staff were friendly and check in was quick.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay! Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, staff were super helpful, very clean room. Totally made our stay of Amsterdam a memorable one.Checking in and checking out were really easy, and the city centre is a mere 7 mins (very beautiful) walk from the hotel. To add to all this, there is a Hop on Hop Off point just next to the hotel!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2018

    6.7
    While an impressive landmark of a hotel, it feels like they're relying on the location than quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was not well cleaned: there were pieces on the carpet, found a sock from presumably a previous visitor under our sofa, the window sills were dirty and had (glass?) marks on them, I spotted a dirt blotch on the pillow cover and the sheet to give some examples. If you like walking, as I do, reducing the benefit of the location are construction works that close an important walking path to the NEMO Science Museum meaning you've to take indirect paths to some nearby location instead of a short walk to them.

    Excellent views and the good location are redeeming features of this hotel. Beautiful views of the city and the canals if you've the correct wing. The cruise ships dock next to the hotel, and they make an interesting sight as well. It's just that far away from the centre to be calm at nights, but a short distance otherwise. You can take the very frequent tram 26 to the centre to get to the city in one stop in 5 mins (or can walk in 10 mins). The breakfast was good but not particularly impressive (it's expensive though).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    6.3
    Clean and quiet and very good staff and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SLEEP Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel claims to be centrally located but that is only true if you are taking a cruise ship. Otherwise, the center of the old town is a 25 minute walk.

    Clean and quiet and very good staff and service.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2018

    10
    2 days before and 2 after cruise
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    If taking a cruise from Amsterdam Cruise terminal next door this is your best place to stay. You go out the front door take a left and walk 100 yards are at the terminal. Rooms were fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2018

    6.3
    hotel located very close of city center, great view from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    but unfortunately parking which was recommended is dangerous........someone has broken a window of my car and my property was stolen from the trunek of the car ... parking staff and hotel staff not even called the police ... shock

    hotel located very close of city center, great view from the room,s window .... delicious breakfasts

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2018

    7.5
    The location is good but not as convenient when getting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Checking in took an hour. There was an influx of passengers from a cruise that docked unexpectedly. We booked 2 rooms, each with extra beds and there was a lot of confusion. The manager (Trevor) was very helpful in getting everything sorted out and ensuring the rooms were on the same floor, he even waived the upgrade charges for 18th floor. When we got to the rooms the extra beds were not made, on our way out for dinner, we reminded the front desk staff and it was done whilst we were out. The toilet had a dark stain inside which was awful to look at every day and the bath could do with a good cleaning.

    The location is good but not as convenient when getting around on foot. The tram was across the way but you have to take 2 trams to get to the city center. Definitely a great location for cruisers. Manager was very helpful and accommodating. The views of the water and the city from our rooms were amazing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel in perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was too hard for me. But that shouldn't dissuade anyone from booking this hotel.

    Perfect location for visiting city center and boarding cruise ship. The staff was extremely polite and helpful. Excellent understanding of Celiac disease and gluten free food preparation.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2018

    9.2
    Great location, great views and great breakfast buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price, other than that, no complaints

    Check in was so due to the number registering that morning. Could not get into the room until after three, we arrived at 9am. We did go up for breakfast, a huge buffet with many delicious choices. Self serve coffee's and beverages with plenty of seating. Room was fairly large, clean and comfortable, the view was incredible overlooking the river and harbor and the Railway Terminal. Good restaurant close by, easy walk into the city for bus, rail or stop and go. If your going on a cruise, this is were you want to stay. Room was very pricey but hey, your on vacation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2018

    8.3
    I travel on a weekly basis;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Twin View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I travel on a weekly basis; Georgina and Mana, from the Front Office Team, gave me one of the best check-in experiences I've had in a very long time. Big shout out to them! Thanks!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    9.6
    I will be back here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location not near the Dan Square but you can use the Train to get there

    - Clean Place - Friendly Staff - Quite I love the hotel didn’t expect it to be like this although it location is 15 to 20 minute far from the Dam Square but you can always use the Train 👍🏼. You can buy a Voucher for taxi half the price do t forget that

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location pre cruise tour - cruise ship terminal is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Classic Twin View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little too far away from central Amsterdam - 15-20 minute walk to the central station. Hotel decor had a sterile feel. Hotel shuttle was unavailable due to broken door with no backup provided

    Excellent location pre cruise tour - cruise ship terminal is only yards away and within easy walking distance even with luggage

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2018

    7.1
    Nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Classic Twin View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Generally the staff was great but there were a few rude ones. Especially had some trouble with laundry but the hotel fixed it. Which I think is the best you can ask for. All in all all a good place except a bit out of the way.

    Nice and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2018

    7.1
    The room was clean and nice with good view.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location was 15 min walk away from city center/ Amsterdam Central station. As we had a young kid, commuting was difficult for us. Later we noted they have a shuttle bus. Anyway I prefer some nearer to amenities. The price I believe was high as the location and the room facilities were good but not great.

    The room was clean and nice with good view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2018

    7.9
    Great hotel that is next to cruise terminal
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pricing structure of the rooms did not make sense.

    Staff and bellmen were very, very nice. Bed was very comfortable. It was the next building over from the cruise ship terminal. Wifi had good access and available in the room as well as lobby. Breakfast was amazing with lots of options. If you take train into Centraal, this hotel will pick you up from the train terminal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2018

    8.3
    Free drinks in our excucative room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing important No swimming pool

    Free drinks in our excucative room Public parking nearby 10euro a day good air condition good breakfast Clean Good smiling professional staff inspite of quite busy reception!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2018

    6.7
    Room was comfortable and clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Twin View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Check In and out process is challenging, lines are long, staff is slow at processing, rooms are never ready for early check in especially for guests that traveled overnight to arrive.

    Room was comfortable and clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Classic Twin View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    -

    The price is very good for what the hotel offers, We paid 150 euro for a double room, before we also looked for hostels and we have found only 70 euro for one bench bed in a dormitory. (I booked 1 month before our stay, so most of the other places in Amsterdam were full) Very good breakfast, the staff was kind, Sauna free. Only 15 minutes from the Centraal Station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    9.6
    The staff very , very, helpful and charming!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the bed was too hard for me - comfortable for my spouse. The acoustics in the breakfast restaurant were awful = stressprovoking. Breakfast buffet impressive, but the bread mediocre. But then - I never had good bread in Holland, maybe it doesn't come better? The information brochure in the hotel did not mention the fact that the free shuttle goes from 7.30 - 7.30 p.m. A rather important point!

    The staff very , very, helpful and charming! Very well laid out room & bathroom Great location and a feeling of freedom by being on the water.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    4.2
    Great location, however terrible service and avoid travelling there if you are with your family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Terrible staff handling at check-in, clearly didn't want families - Ended up stealing property (digital camera, hand-bag) from our room which they deny - Room was poorly cleaned, had to end up doing it ourselves

    - Location is very central, and handy to many attractions

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    9.6
    Location: Proximity to Cruise Terminal;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Access to rooms earlier in the day.

    Location: Proximity to Cruise Terminal; Breakfast buffet (as included on ship transfer arrangements, but a overpriced at 30 EUR for independent travelers). Excellent service in the lounge.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    10
    You should definitely stay in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was not any single thing. Everything was great.

    I and my family were pleased with the hotel. The staff was friendly. They answered all of our questions and recommended some sight seeing. We were not waiting variety selection for the breakfast. It was really rich. Room was clean and comfortable. If i visit Amsterdam, that is the place i will stay. It was over our expectation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    9.0
    friendly and professional staff, room with a beautifull...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Sleep Twin View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    at the price above 200 € per night breakfast could be included. bar or more comfortable place for smokers would be nice to have there

    friendly and professional staff, room with a beautifull view, quiet place

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    9.6
    Most enjoyable break great views very close to Amsterdam central would highly recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The city tax because we paid in advance and didn't know we hadn't paid the city tax i would have liked to have known in advance

    The staff was very helpful and went out of their way to help you and the breakfast was fabulous they catered for everyone and their was plenty of it and the view was gorgeous would definitely recommend the movenpick hotel Amsterdam this is the 2nd time we stayed there would stay there the nxt time we go back

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    3.8
    Rooms simply not up to standards for this price and level.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The junior suite was simply a disgrace: -The sofa bed had large stains all over the surface -There was a used fork lying around in the living room -The bathtub was dirty (dirt so thick, you could feel it with your finger) _There was hair in the shower and on the toiletseat -Waterpressure in the shower was extremely low -The stereo was full of stains -The TV in the bedroom could not be used because of a missing remote -The throw on the bed had multiple large brown stains -"Included fruit in the room" consisted of 1 banana and 1 apple -"Included minibar" existed of 2 Heineken, 4 cans of softdrinks and some water. At checkout I informed the receptionist about these problems - no apology and nothing, but I was offered a piece of chocolate.

    The breakfast buffet was nice and had a large selection of food. The cook was happy to prepare an omelet as desired. The executive Lounge was lovely - the breakfast selection was a bit smaller, but you could get everything from the big buffet as well. Interior and design of the lounge were really nice, and the staff was helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2018

    6.7
    OK. But not to be repeated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Certain mistrust of client. Charching extra 100 EURO's on top of the actual room price is bit steep. Spa section that is highly advertised bit lame. They should serivce their thermostats in the showers since the option was hot or extremely hot.

    Location and the view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    8.3
    Memorable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room needed a quick dusting, but when we asked for extra blankets and slippers, the staff were very helpful

    Lovely views, large rooms and convenient location away from the noise and crowds in the centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    9.2
    Hotel with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Just an Amazing place to stay, very panoramic view at the highest floors and just 10minutes walk from the central station and downtown. The room was wide enough, very clean and comfortable. The personnel very kind and helpful. The breakfast is just so reach and tasty, very recommended!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    10
    Comfortable and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was booked full, so my son and grandson had to go elsewhere. We would have liked to all be together.

    Comfortable room, delicious breakfasts and close to the cruise terminal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic view very enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing I didn’t like at the time was the cost but everything else in Amsterdam was the same price or more expensive for the dates we needed. So was relative and we accepted that.

    This was the 2nd time we have stayed at Movenpick. We enjoy the location and don’t mind the walk into the town. It was so handy to the cruise port. We had a room upgrade to the top floor and the view was amazing looking over Amsterdam. Our room was Very clean and comfortable. Staff were lovely. Very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    8.8
    Very nice hotel and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in a junior suite on the 19th floor for two nights and and the room was very warm even with the a/c on. We called the front desk two times and was told someone would check it out, but no one did.

    Room was very clean. Great breakfast. Great location next to cruise terminal and walking distance to the central train station and city center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    8.3
    great stay 1
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    300 Euro for the night was not cheap!

    bed was amazing ! great sleep...the breaki in the morning was amazing , great selection of food they even had parahta!!! caught me off guard! bar closed at 1am which is a little early. however great stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    6.7
    Location and view
    • Group
    • SLEEP Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very dusty in room Had to ask for a kettle as ours was missing More variety of teas We arrived late as our plane was delayed They should have mentioned about the beds at desk and WiFi Ask we were to tried to read all the leaflets I know it was late But room service food wasn’t great Long wait in morning to check out Because of cruise ship passengers

    Location and view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    9.6
    Had a brilliant weekend in an amazing hotel in a vibrant city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was €25 which we felt was a little expensive. Hotel is about 25 minutes from the centre of Amsterdam but we had some slow workers so if you are more mobile it can be done quicker.

    The moment we arrived .... nothing was too much trouble. John on reception was very helpful and polite. The hotel was excellent however we did not have have breakfast and only stayed for one night. Lovely view from our hotel over the river. If you take the river boat tour with hop on hop off it stops near hotel so a great plus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    7.1
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SLEEP Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast price is ridiculously high. I don’t trust the place as we forgot a pair of Nike shoes and they were not handed in...this either means the cleaning staff took them or the room was not cleaned properly and the next guest got them.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    5.0
    Decent location and view from room that's all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fresh towels given were dirty. Room was not made even when the do not disturb sign was not displayed. Laziness of staff.

    Decent location and view from room that's all

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    6.7
    Good location for city tram system.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some staff were nice, some not. One reception gent was borderline rude. Concierge staff was very nice.

    Good location for city tram system. Nice restaurants -breakfast was very good, some helpful staff, some not.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    4.2
    Would not stay here again if going to Amsterdam - and cannot recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you have any problems with walking (bad knees/ankles) - do not stay here. The price for the room was NOT worth it. Amsterdam not a city with 'a view' - so don't expect much of one from your hotel room.

    The hotel room and bathroom were clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    5.8
    Great hotel but bad location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Twin View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Terrible location! 10 minutes plus from Central station & a 25 minutes walk to Dam square. No shops, restaurants or cafes nearby.

    Lovely hotel, good amenities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    10
    A stay to remember and to repeat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were sent on our first night stay to another « hotel « on behalf of the hotel itself because there were no rooms available but it turned out to be a dirty place in a dirty neighborhood.

    Rich breakfast with friendly staffs, quiet atmosphere and amazing view from the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    7.1
    We stayed for 3 nights at Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed for 3 nights at Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre. Overall the experience was fine, thanks to Nancy Philips and the concierge which I forgot to ask his name. We arrived at midnight and the room that was given was dusty and the bathroom sink was completely clogged but because it was so late, we did not want to change rooms. The next morning, we called the front desk about the sink. The phone was answered by Nancy who took care of the problem immediately. The technician arrived promptly and unclogged the sink. We then asked for the bathroom to be cleaned. Nancy suggested that we change rooms instead. The concierge who helped us with our bags was very friendly and the new room was clean and satisfactory. Overall the Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre is a fine hotel to stay in. The location is quite convenient, rooms are comfortable and the views are nice. I would have given a higher score if not for the problem with the bathroom sink.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    6.3
    Could of been a lot better with better room service and cleaners who actually know how to clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cleaners who cleaned the rooms did an awful job and left all the mess in the room. They didn’t change the bed sheets even though there was marks on them from spilt drinks and food.

    the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    10
    Fabulous stay at the lovely MOVENPICK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    View from our room over the water and city and river boats, great breakfasts and access to club lounge for drinks and canapés each evening, quiet position but very easy walk to Centrum. Lovely friendly helpful staff everywhere and. Chocolate tasting each afternoon in the foyer!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    7.5
    Service and price range relation should be seriously checked
    • Group
    • Classic Twin View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check in procedure was litte confusing. Booked 2 double rooms under my account, by naming the guest ( my doughter ) for the second room in the booking. com form. At the ceck in they proceeded with two separate check ins and different price then was confirmed via booking. com with a great discount. When i did present the booking. com confirmation, the supervisor showed up. Finally it all went through. So never forget the booking. com confirmation. Room was clean, but room service forgot a cleaning rag on the floor of the bath room and only 2 cosmetic tissues where left. The TV was not working in my room. Called reception, "we will fix it..." Waited for 1 hour, nobody showed up. Finally left the hotel for city tour, and left the same message at the reception, saying very clear i do expect a runnimg TV when i will return back. TV was working, when i came back! Room service for a snack in the late evening hours worked very fast and properly. Matresses are way to much soft. And my weight is only 82 Kilograms. Even when the tub water is fine and safe in Amsterdam. For a hotel with this name and price range, there should always be a covenient bottle of mineral water in the room. Even the mini bar was empty, but on two floors there are self- service oerations.....?!

    Modern Landmark Hotel with great views at the port, in direct neighborhood of central train station and city center. Good contection by car or ba train. Bicycle rent next door, very convenient. Public Parking Garage in the basement of the hotel, but very expencive with 4 € p.h. or 48 € per day. Breakfeast was nicy and not to pricy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    10
    Great location and helpful concierge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Maid service didnt replenish all coffee items and bring clean coffee cups for day 2

    Bar had good food. Bartenders were personable. Concierge very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    10
    Excellent location and stay at the Movenpick in Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    During our short stay at the Movenpick, we didn't have any issues. Our stay was great!

    The Movenpick in Amsterdam was exactly as we expected. The shuttle service was exceptional and saved us many extra steps coming and going to Centraal Station. We were beginning a AMA Waterways River Cruise and this was our first time visiting Amsterdam. We were offered an upgraded room with additional amenities for an upcharge and it was well worth the cost. The view from our 19th floor room was exceptional! We enjoyed the evening snacks and wine and our morning breakfast was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    9.2
    FRIENDLY, CLEAN AND WONDERFULLY LOACTED
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sleep Twin View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed in a junior suite, which was clean and comfortable and had great views from the 20th floor. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the bar staff were wonderfully attentive. Location is superb and if you walk across the road you can get the 26 tram in to Amsterdam central and this takes about 3 minutes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hotel seems to have deteriorated in recent years. At breakfast and in the executive bar there is nowhere near the choice and quality of food there used to be. Also the cleanliness of the room was an issue. When we arrived there was urine in the toilet bowl. The second day of our stay we arrived back at the hotel at 5.20pm and our room had yet to be serviced and even then things like cups were left dirty and goods weren't replenished. Cleaning staff were very unprofessional but are apparently from a contracted in company, rather than being hotel employed staff.

    Large comfy bed. Great views from the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2018

    9.6
    beautiful hotel, great staff and great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing...maybe a better price!

    beautiful room, modern design of high quality, spotlessly clean and a great view. Very helpful staff - I broke my glasses and they were super helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2018

    9.2
    Took a long time to check in with no line only one person in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Took a long time to check in with no line only one person in front of us. Also no order. That person pushed in and was there after us. Check in should be more efficient and orderly with one line only. Check out should be quicker also, although better than check in.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2018

    8.8
    surely, we will come back!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Clean, well maintained , very comfortable bed, good free internet speed and stunning view( if your room has city view). Also, even if the hotel is located between railway, motorway and Ij river, where boat traffic is quite crowded, the hotel room is very quiet. In fact Movenpick Amsterdam won 2017 Quiet Hotel Award. A very nice place to stay for an Amsterdam holiday.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2018

    6.3
    Not sure I will come back to this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • SLEEP Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I asked for a quiet room and they gave me one by the lift which was working all night and the bed was vibrating with its movement. The breakfast was not very complete and didn't look very clean. After my stay I got a gastroenteritis...

    Location, decoration of the room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2018

    9.2
    The bed was really comfy and huge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We missed the shuttle bus one night because of the fault of a member of staff and they told us it would come back for us even though it was the last one of the evening. We waited 20 minutes and it never came back so we just had to walk.

    The bed was really comfy and huge. You can even choose what firmness of pillow you would like, just by ringing reception and one is brought up very quickly after.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2018

    7.9
    Last minute (like 30mins before checkin last minute) 25th...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In a small bathroom, bathtubs don't make sense and are neither used nowadays unless in a suite or are big spa ones, walk in Showers should be made avail. Mini bar although included with the room only had 4 cans so selection on reasonable payment of the same should be improved. Having a spa with therapeutic services would have been great.

    Last minute (like 30mins before checkin last minute) 25th Dec 2345hrs booking made thru booking.com due to an accommodation which we had booked directly in AMS from another website not being to our liking. This hotel was at a decent location 7-10mins walk from AMS Central Station, bicycles avail for rent at the ground level next to the hotel, near Ams Central, clean and good service, does justice to its name. We were there right on Christmas for 3 nights in some serious windchill so they handled us well at a busy time. Good professional concierge desk with knowledgeable staff. Not much around the hotel other than one cafe and a subway downstairs but if you don't mind walking a bit then AMS central has everything one would want. Good breakfast selection, nice small area at the back for smoking with a heater. Coffee machine was also avail in the room which was nice. Overall a good experience. For a light snack in the night there's a vending machine on the 15th floor. Bus Shuttle to Ams Central was a nice touch every half hour till 730pm but have to book couple of hours in advance thru the concierge as can only accommodate 6-8 ppl at a time.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    10
    Good location, lovely rooms, clean and comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing to dislike.

    Good location, lovely rooms, clean and comfy. Amazing staff, very friendly nothing to much trouble. Would definetly stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Mövenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Centre Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: