Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Monopole 2 stars

Amstel 60, Amsterdam City Centre, 1017 AC Amsterdam, Netherlands

#330 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 926 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ok the bar below, here is the truth - Open until 5am and you can hear and feel the bass right through the hotel, it kept us awake when we got back before 5am. Top tip, stay out until after 5am!

    Location is excellent especially for Rembrandtplatz which is great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was at back of hotel with view of a large grey wall. We were advised by hotel that stairs are very steep (no lift), definitely would not be suitable for anyone with mobility problems.

    Good location. Room cleaned/tidied every day. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room with rooftop windows who can’t be closed. To much light to sleep. Hotel above a noisy bar with music until 2am.

    Nice location near Amstel, central Amsterdam

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole pavement and road in front of the hotel was undergoing a transformation with machinery and workmen which woke us up in the mornings but that was no bad thing. But on the plus side it may have been quieter in the early hours because folk couldn't stand around drinking outside the Queers bar next door.

    A basic hotel but for central Amsterdam a gem. The staff were really friendly and polite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We paid £101 for a single & £110 for a double. Both rooms were described as having a toilet & bathroom. However the single room was not en-suite, & we were told that no other rooms were available. When I asked for the receipt in the morning the receptionist thought that we had been in rooms 4 & 2. When I explained that we were in rooms 4 & 5, he quoted the wrong surname for room 5. Which maybe suggests that one of our rooms had been allocated to another guest that had arrived earlier.

    The receptionist in the morning was very helpful in directing us to the best tram stop for our journey & printed off an itinerary for us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The worst bedrooms I ever had in my life. One of the bedrooms even doens't have bathroom (room number 5). No air conditioner. One bar below doing noise untill 1 a.m. or all night during the weekend. Worst hotel I ever used in my life. Very expensive for a such low quaility.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family room was on the forth floor. The forthset of stairs was no more than a ladder with an unstable handrail. It was dangerous. The window opened a crack onto the neighbouring property - no fire escape. Hot, couldn't get a breeze. Run down.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot in summer; rooms with no windows (i.e. room 12 - apart from skylight) made it impossible to ventilate. Although a fan was provided which helped.

    Great location. Staff very helpful and friendly. Good showers.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Size Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi works very badly in the evenings It’s too hot inside with a closed window. With an opened one it’s too noisy to sleep The bathroom was private but NOT IN MY ROOM Very strange payment&refund policy - the charged me several days before I checked in, then refunded AFTER I arrived, but upon arrival they tried to make me pay 12€ MORE than was indicated in the booking (total price with taxes included). Only after my complaint to the manager he luckily gave me this money back.

    Quite clean Location is amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was at the top of the building and seemed to get very warm naturally - couldn't see any heating I could control. The handrails are a bit wobbly on one of the flight of stairs, which could be a problem if you're not too steady on your feet.

    Very clean room with ample space for me. Very comfortable bed. Complimentary bottles of water a nice touch. Location was perfect for exploring the centre of Amsterdam. Staff were helpful with left luggage on my last day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be advised that they charge a 5% fee for using any card to make payment of the room debit and credit! This was not mentioned prior to arrival The rooms on the front of the hotel are noisy. (The windows let in a lot of noise) there is a bar next door which has loud music and bass going on till 1am on weekdays and 3am on weekends and another bar close which can be heard till 5am

    Good location and beds were comfy Staff were friendly and there was a mini fridge in the room and good tea and coffee facilities. The safe in the room was a great addition which is unexpected

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Size Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was as expected nothing to gripe about. The Dutch know how to party until 4.00 am.

    The building was very old and built to minimise old taxation policies.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner, when we go is spring season, need to open window to have more ventilation, but downstairs very noisy, disturbing our sleeping

    Good location, quite clean and room is big

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is a little bit small, but as you’re not coming to Amsterdam to stay in the room, it wasn’t that bad.

    The location is judt awesome! You’re in the city center and can reach every important attraction and museum within 10minutes walking. Furthermore you’re located in the party area, which was perfect for us. (A group of friends)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no hairdryer in the room, each time you need it, you have to ask for it and bring it back after usage.

    Perfect location, clean room and bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    stayed her on a 2 night break 9th to the 11th April with friends. location is excellent for exploring all Amsterdam has to offer. hotel was great as were the staff. will definitely be returning! many thanks all.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very very noisy, there is a club under it and Saturday night was impossible to sleep. The room are small (but I guess is common in Amsterdam). And they CHARGED 5% EXTRA for paying via credit card.

    the position, in the centre of Amsterdam, between waterlooplain and the flower market

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Size Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room had no heating, but cold air was constantly entering through aircon/ventilation system, no adjustments possible, and through holes in the window frame. Bathroom was outside of the room and required passing through a corridor (even though the booking clearly stated that the room was supposed to be en-suite). Regrettably, this was one of few hotels where I would definitely like to stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Size Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a room with a King Size bed. The room was barely bigger than the bed and had no ensuite bathroom, just a sink (while this is mentioned on the booking page it is still incredible for what seems to be one of their better rooms and the price). There is a club next door which plays loud thumping music until past 3am.

    Clean and in good condition.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms, decor,location , price.

    Very little to like about this outdated place. No money has been spent on it for years.Drab and old fashioned. Not worth the money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We travelled with many bags, a bit of a long haul dragging all our bags from metro with rough walkway surfaces. Also, stairwell in hotel is nearly vertical, a warning for people not in good physical condition when carrying big bags.

    Friendly staff with great location, short walk to main streets and hop on hop off boat.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had no window also the club next door was extremely loud until about 4/5 AM.

    Location was perfect. Within walking distance to all the sights we wanted to see.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoke detectors broken in room but told we would be charged £100 if we touch it or caught smoking. Radiators did not work had to call maintenance SEVERAL times. Windows wouldn’t close shut. Shower cubicle blocked with gunk, offered to clear on day of departure. Charged 5% for using a credit card, actually used a debit card and still fighting for a refund. Spoke to rep on day of departure assured me money would be refunded and someone would contact me. No call or email so called from UK. Promised a call back from manager 4 days ago, called from the UK everyday since departure, keep being told someone will call. No call received. Told to email, emailed twice, no response. Terrible experience, wouldn’t book again!!

    Location, but many other hotels in same location. Do not book!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no lift, (but they help us)

    The room was really comfortable, and the breakfast was really good too. The staff esa nice with us, they help us to carry our bags to the room (it was in a third floor) and bring them down too, but the guy who was at the reception the morning we left told us that there was a taxi parade near the hotel and that was not true (we find one by luck and we were hurry to catch our train!)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One minor downside; the tv reception was pretty rubbish on all channels but the WiFi compensates when you need some down/recovery time.

    Booked the hotel for it’s price and location - Both superb. Family room was clean and spacious for four of us. Staff were friendly. Read some reviews about noise at all hours but didn’t hear a thing whilst we were here (Sunday to Thursday). There is no lift and the stairs were steep but this is described in the booking description and akin with typical Amsterdam properties so actually quite cool and no complaints from us. Returned each day to find beds made and rooms cleaned; great standard of hotel for the money, would certainly book again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a pan in the room with tea and coffee for free. Everyday cleaning was very nice. Perfect location in the center of Amsterdam with all sightseeing’s near the hotel. Good choice for walking Amsterdam.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was slight noise from a near by pub, but this wasn't really an issue.

    Beds and pillows were lovely and comfy. Big tv in the room, lovely view, fridge, safe, free tea and coffee, WiFi...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They asked us for more money for our booking when we arrived because they claimed that "Booking.com" falsely advertised the room price. We weren't obligated as it wasn't our fault, but still it is weird as they knew it and accepted it at the time of the booking. Better call them to confirm the price before you book a room there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Size Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is nice and friendly. But I was not advised in the booking confirmation that the bathroom would be outside of the bedroom. other than that it is good. Location is good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Loud music from bar downstairs and especially from neighbouring club went on till early hours, making sleep difficult - till 5am at weekend!

    Great location, comfortable room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is above a club and I am not over exaggerating when I say every single night just about every hour of the night I would be woken up by screaming and shouting and music and because the room was so hot we had to keep the window open and the noise was deafening

    The location was brilliant not far from any pub or coffeeshop or anything you wanted really and staff were always friendly, had a nice room with a beautiful view over the canal which was really nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room we had was above a club and the noise and base from the music kept us up all night. we asked to move rooms and they said it was not possible. I don't find this fair as they knew we were coming with children, we was not partying all night, we actually wanted to sleep and could not.

    the beds were very comfortable . however the sheets were not clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is a typically Dutch house with narrow and very steep staircases, the glorious field up to our attic room was a little petrifying to climb. The hotel is located on top of a cafe bar/night club which plays excessively loud music until around 5am, again, we were in the attic room 4 floors up and I could see the water in my bottle vibrating with the beat. I can’t imagine what it’s like on lower floors. On our last night when we were headed back to our room and taking some snacks the reception staff gentleman said to us “could you make sure that you put your food and rubbish up high or in the fridge, we don’t want any trouble” make of that what you will. I absolutely would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Very central for tourists. If you don’t intend to sleep, can potentially climb 5 sets of carpeted ladders and want to be bang in the middle of nightlife city then this hotel is perfect for you... I wish I’d read reviews before booking.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really poor acoustic isolation. The walls literally vibrate to the nearby night club's sound beats until 5 am. You will also hear chatter and traffic coming from the streets. OK if you are a heavy sleeper or going to stay out for the whole night I guess.

    The hotel is quite good and well localized - close to bars and restaurants, and at most 20 min walk to main touristic points. Clean and well decorated rooms as well. Simple breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel room was filthy, with mouse traps and droppings under the bed, along with cockroaches. Would avoid like the plague as the staff were rude and unfriendly when we complained and would not issue a refund!

    When we left!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking situation wasn't ideal as there was no hotel parking available, there was no parking around and we had to park at the central station (20 min by foot).

    Typical Dutch house, very cute, but not that stable (staircase). The location was very nice, in the middle of the city center of Amsterdam, great to start sightseeing and close to a lot of museums and other popular points.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were disgusting. The nightclub downstairs was a nightmare. Window frames literally vibrated all night. Literally can hear the DJ Bigging up Mary and Dave at the back of the dance floor. Staff were rude and miserable. Tv was completely broken which wasn’t fun as we got snowed in

    I liked leaving

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there are a few clubs nearby which you can hear at night - nothing overwhelming, just enough to notice. The other issue I had was the skylights - while they're nice during the day they let a lot of light in overnight.

    For the money the hotel is fine.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ALL PEOPLE WANTING TO BOOK HERE PLEASE TAKE NOTE: Every weekend a club which is next door plays music so loud that the rooms of this hotel are shaking. DO NOT BOOK HERE ON A WEEKEND IF YOU INTEND TO SLEEP!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't normally write negative reviews but I think I probably got the worst room in the hotel. The room had no windows other than a skylight so it was very dark and stuffy. It also had no sound proofing whatsoever. It was right next to the reception and the communal coffee machine which makes a very loud noise, so there were constant disturbances throughout the night. To top it off, one of the staff asked me inappropriate questions about why I was travelling alone and didn't have a boyfriend which made me feel uncomfortable staying there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the Queers bar downstairs was very loud on lower floors until early hours. Get the top floor rooms as you won’t hear the noise If you pay the remaining payment on a card when you’re there. They change you an % of your overall bill. When spending £1000+, I wasn’t told this and had to pay extra % which I wasn’t very happy about.

    Walk into town wasn’t very far.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Note that the hotel is next to a theatre which starts to play music from around 10pm. I would like to see breakfast included in the price and although we didn't stay in the room much would have liked to have been offered a room with a view. I also think that an example of the pre-authorisation needs to be made clearer on booking as for some it may come as a shock that you then will be asked to pay the full amount on top of the pre-auth that has already been taken. They could explain that you do have the option to pay using preauth however I had to send a few emails back and forth for confirmation on what I was paying as the pre-auth was taken whilst I was still within time to cancel the booking. The carpet in room 12 could do with replacing and when preparing the room check that the shower gels and hand wash are full as we barely got a drop out of the shower gel but luckily had brought our own.

    This was my second time in 2 years (2016 and 2017) staying at the Monopole and is a must for its location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and basic, barely enough room for two people and a couple of cases. The ensuite was tiny, and the safe didn’t work properly. There is a very popular and very loud bar beneath this hotel which meant not getting a proper sleep over the weekend. The noise from the music and then also the drunk people coming out of the bar was intolerable. We also had a member of the cleaning staff let herself into our room without knocking despite the ‘do not disturb’ sign being on the door.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location; walking distance to many popular landmarks, places to see and visit. Large, very comfortable room. Very comfortable beds. Friendly, polite and very accommodating staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was a little disappointing; paid 6.50 euros and it could have been a lot better - typical continental breakfast but not very good. I recommend having breakfast locally. My TV didn't have good signal either, so was watching scattered images in the late evening.

    I was booked into a room with no windows at first, right by the reception desk. Not great. So I asked to be moved, which they accommodated the next day, and I got a great room overlooking the canal with big windows. Staff were very attentive to my needs, and it was swift moving me to another room. Yes a little noisey, you can hear footsteps from next door, but location is fantastic. Breakfast was a little disappointing; paid 6.50 euros and it could have been a lot better - typical continental breakfast but not very good. I recommend having breakfast locally. My TV didn't have good signal either, so was watching scattered images in the late evening. Having said that, overall nice stay, great staff, conveniently located.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very steep stairs are suitable to guests with mobility problems. Quite a lot of noise from people outside late at night

    Located overlooking a canal. Very close to shops, bars etc and public transport

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Size Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed sheets could have been cleaner. It seems like they have not changed it because of dirt and hair on it. One glass in the room was broken.

    Location is perfect - right in the center of the City.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - It is really noisy! You can barely sleep at night. You hear what the people next to you in the room say. So if you want to go out there and not sleep that much it is fine or if you are staying for two or three nights. - It was kind of cold inside the room. - Not super clean. It's not disgusting but more like in a hostel than in a hotel. - The hotel is kind of cute but it needs a renovation.

    - The location is fantastic! It really couldn't be better we were close enough to walk to the museum quarter and close enough to go shopping and sightseeing at the Dam, there were some places nearby you could have dinner, coffee or a drink. That makes up for the things that weren't that good. - Staff is really friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunatelly, came there, payed everything on the start, came in our room which was number 10, went so much up to the stairs which were so narrow and with broken trail to hold yourself on to. With three suitcases, without any of the stuff not even offering to help. On arrival we were waiting and ringing them for so long to open the door. Stuff not so friendly, speccially woman which was working there last day of our trip. She didn't hang up the phone and she lefted us waiting for her to finish so we can ask her something. View from our room was apsolute disaster. Just walls of the buildings , almost not being able to see the sky. Showers so dirty with someones else hair all over the bathroom. No spoons, carpet and walls destroyed. So loud. Unfortunately, for sure we are not coming back here.

    Location was great and that was it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel had very steep steps leading to the reception area. Our room was 3 additional flights up, the stairs being extremely narrow with no handrail (no elevator). The bathroom was not clean. The towels were thin and worn. Noise from the bar next door kept us awake late into the night.

    The location was close to Rembrandt Square with many restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel was dirty and had many broken items which affected our safety including broken stair railings, broken bathroom tiles, plumbing did not work properly, the sheets & floors & walls were dirty. When issues were raised with staff they were very confrontational and unhelpful. We left after one night! I did not like anything about the hotel. I would rate this hotel at a 1.5 max!

    The location was ok, I liked nothing else and would not recommend this hotel even considering the location was ok.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    LGBT clubs behind, loudy at night, no windows in the room 1€ per printing one A4 sheet with boarding pass to the airport

    Nor far from Rembrandt square, museums and central stations (20-25 minutes on feet)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple of Nike running shoes disappeared from the room, the day we left a suitcase unlocked.

    The hotel is worth the money because of its location (around Rembrandt Square). The room is decent, simple. The stairs are so hard to climb but to be honest, every building in Amsterdam has the same "problem"

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy both within the hotel from other guests and from surrounding bars/nightclubs noise went on until 4 in the morning

    In an excellent location, right in the centre of things. Easy walk into train station

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a little noisy at night but to be expected as it's above a bar and very central but we didn't mind too much

    Right in the centre in walking distance of absolutely everything! But also near transport of wanting to go out of the city too! Hotel kept our bags for us as our flight was later on in the evening

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact our room was on the top floor because the stairs are so steep and hard to climb.

    The staff were lovely, always greeted with a smile 😀👍 great value for money and excellent location 👌💯 would definitely book again if I get a room on the second floor 😂

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms...no breakfast included. Really loud dance bar below.

    Great location. Rooms are small but clean. Stairs are very steep with no lift. Staff was nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no elevator, stairs are extremely steep. There is noisy surounfing (pub next door).

    Very friendly staff, good location. Realtively good price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is above a night club if you get any of the rooms downstairs (Especially no 12) don't expect to be able to sleep until 3 or 4 in the morning. Upstairs rooms are ok

    Proximity to city

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Queers nightclub below the hotel music thumps until around 4am in the morning (sometimes later). Really annoying and disruptive especially given this was our vacation. The taxi service booked through bookings.com (Rideaways) also did not arrive to collect us despite us having paid for the service and trying to contact them for over and hour. Left messages on their answering machine and sent text messages to which we have had no response to date.

    The view from the room was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is situated above a bar/club. Hotel entrance is small door beside the bar and, at night, it is often crowded by drinking people from the bar. This was somewhat uncomfortable when we returned to the hotel in the evening. There are also several other bars in the area. Hotel location is NOT suitable for families or young children. Noise from the bar/club below. Noise and singing starts at 10-11 pm and goes way into the night! Sleep was very difficult given the excessive noise. There is no hotel parking. Hotel arranged for a company to park our car but it cost €72 for 2 days parking - way too expensive! Hotel is not suitable for travellers with a car. The alternative is to use Park & Ride on the outskirt of Amsterdam but that may not be a good option for a family with children and lots of luggage. Carpet throughout the hotel looks dated and could do with a change to freshen up the look and feel of the hotel.

    Hotel location is very central and close to main tourist attractions in Amsterdam. Reception Staff were helpful and friendly - they tried their best to accommodate any request so they get full mark. The free coffee machine in the lobby was a nice touch. Room itself was spacious and adequately equipped (small fridge, safe, TV) and beds were reasonably comfortable if not top class and the bathroom was reasonably clean which is expected from a 2-star hotel. Room had a strange feature;Bedroom floor was not even and had a strange slop in the middle of the room where there was distinct change of floor level in the middle of the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy but not bad. Bike rental was weird and kind of a hassle.

    Fantastic location in the center. Cool wallpaper in the room and lots of natural light in the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't ask to receptionist to print your boarding pass !! They ask you 1 eur for a paper print in black/white! And without any recept!! They talked to me it's about ink cost .. what ?? An ink cartdrige cost 50 eur and print not less than 300 papers. So.. you mean you ask 300 eur to cover the cost of one ink cartdrige ?! It was the only shame..

    Located in the middle of Amsterdam, very beatiful sightseeing and very large room for my family - 2 daughters and wife

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When the parking service returned our car, he parked it on the bike path in front of the hotel. We said it would be better to park it elsewhere but he said it's fine like that. Before we had the chance to leave (too much traffic) a police officer came to our car and said he could fine us 90 Euros for standing on the bike path. We didn't have to pay in the end but we're not happy with the handling of the parking service.

    Very friendly hotel owners, carried our heavy suitcase the stairs up. Nice Fairtrade towels, good lights in the bathroom. Our room was quite and we could keep the window open during the night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms themselves were comfortable, but old. The carpet was shabby, the windows were little and one of them could not be opened. Also, there is noise from the bars outside.

    We were family of 6 (2 adults, 4 children) hat took two rooms. The location of the hotel is superb. Super close to all old Amsterdam site seeing and attractions. You will not need any transportation\ car (and parking in Amsterdam is EXTREMELY high). The room were large enough to accommodate us and there is TV with local children's channel. The steps are very high and if you have small children you will have issues with them stepping up to the rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room we took was on the first floor next to the coffee machine and the stairs. There was no windows or AC in the room, such as a box, like a container and it was over heating, and that was in summer.

    It was a bit near to the center for the money that we paid.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows were massive and uncomfortable so ask for flatter ones. If you at on the top floor the last set of stairs are very difficult to negotiate ... steep and narrow.

    Good location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initially we booked a twin room with private bathroom inside the room. I event sent an email to confirm if there is a private bathroom inside the room. However, when we arrived, the guy at the reception said sorry, everything is full and he accomodated us in a tiny room with the bathroom outside the room and without any apologies or compensation. He said, that the bathroom is only ours and nobody else can use it. However, when we came in the evening, the bathroom was open and there was a trash left definitely not by us! I came to the reception and asked about the fact why there was someone in our bathroom, if it is only ours. But the guy at the reception was trying to convince us that nobody was there. But come on, we are not blind or stupid. Especially, it was not pleasant that the stuff was so dishonest. After this accident I claimed for another room (especially taking into account that we paid for the larger one!) and we got it finally. But this still cannot fix the very negative impression. Definitely, this is the worst experience of hotel booking in my life.

    I can't say anything good about this hotel. I wouldn't recommend it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was very small and with a bad landscape. There were very narrow stairs

    Good location- staff very very friendly and help us (Madhu Shrestha) and good cafe and landscape in first floor

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee was 1 euro/cup in the lobby, 3 flights of very steep stairs could be difficult for some, or if intoxicated. Due to the central location along the Amstel there was a bit of noise until the later hours.

    easy location, big bathroom, big window that opens for airflow on summer nights, great staff. nice big open sitting window in the lobby to people watch on a busy street/canal. Overall, a nice little hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really 'grotty' compared to the photo on the website. Filthy carpet. The initial room we were given was on the top floor, no lift, super steep access like a ladder with a really wobbly unsafe handrail. We changed rooms eventually but at first the staff seemed really unable to make a decision, and told us it was overbooked then the following day there were empty rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is located next to a night club so it's very noisy. There's no ventilation system in the room other than the windows, so it can get very hot in the summer if you keep the windows closed (so the noise goes down).

    Good sized room for 3 people. The hotel was clean and in a good location (walking distance from city centre) and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Size Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room, as in only just bigger than the bed, Hot water pipe ran along the side of the bed creating a sauna effect in the room. This was the hottest night of the year! Bathroom out in the corridor when the advert said private bathroom.

    How close it was to the centre

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was much smaller than shown on teh internet. The hotel is next to a popular bar that is loud until 4:00 AM.

    In the heart of historic Amsterdam.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very small room with no window view. stairs were very steep so no go for someone with disability or injury.

    very comfortable and clean room. clean towels and bathroom which is very important. hot water at all times and very warm room.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Monopole traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: